The brain burns something like 20-30W of energy on average which is as mentioned, about 20-25%. At rest, people burn roughly 80-100W of energy to maintain temperature. Without doing anything all day, you'll use roughly 5,500 - 7,000kJ of energy just maintaining bodily functions depending on size and everything else.
So when you do a 300 Calorie jog, you're not adding a great deal to your daily usage but it makes a difference in the long run. Most people probably burn between 8,500 and 10,000kJ on a normal day without having done any gym or cardio sessions. Swimmers like Michael Phelps apparently eat close to 6000 Cal a day, which is about three times what most people need. He must be doing a f@ckload of training. |
| #120 12:11pm 19/03/10 |
Is that really how it works?? Oxygen requirement is equivalent to calorie requirement? Or is that just another one of those neuroscience generalisations... A quick scan of the citations doesn't reveal any reference to how many calories the brain is burning, so, in my humble opinion, the jury is still out. All I know about that is oxygen is required for aerobic respiration (obviously) which is our dominant method of turning anything into energy we can use, and the brain can only take and use very specific substrates (i.e. mostly only simple sugars while other tissues can use fat and protein too - although all of this is very hazy in my memory so I'd be happy to be proven wrong). If that's true then using 75-80% of glucose and 20% of total energy/oxygen use could be the same thing. |
| #121 12:17pm 19/03/10 |
Matt
CHUB has worms (or is lying about food intake) edit: otherwise you are the very rare exception to the rule (i.e. medical anomaly), eat enough and you *will* put on weight |
| #122 12:52pm 19/03/10 |
Yeah I think the more skinny people eat the more they s*** and not much gets stored as fat. (I say this from experience) Since I turned 35 though I noticed I can get fat if I eat big :) lol i eat heaps but i cant go to the toilet probably go twice a week, but i do eat really healthy. I find i can only go to the toilet alot more if drink protein shakes.. http://www.fitday.com/ Go to this site its free and you put in what you eat on that day and it calculates your calaries and protien fats and carbs etc. you also add in your exercise activity and will tell you if you are eating enough or not enough |
| #123 01:13pm 19/03/10 |
you s*** twice a week!?
christ they must be epic |
| #124 01:40pm 19/03/10 |
you s*** twice a week!? Either that or you live on C-rats |
| #125 01:41pm 19/03/10 |
well, since we're on the subject
I crap maybe twice a day, sometimes 3 times the morning one is clockwork, as soon as I wake up I make a B-line for the loo, the afternoon one is always within a few hours after lunch |
| #126 01:54pm 19/03/10 |
This thread is getting progressively more disguting.
| #127 02:20pm 19/03/10 |
the secret to taking a really good dump is to squat.
If ur not squatting ur doing it wrong. |
| #128 02:27pm 19/03/10 |
Holy s***, FaceMan! No pun intended. |
| #129 02:29pm 19/03/10 |
Once a Day for me. 4:10, like clockwork.
| #130 02:32pm 19/03/10 |
Thanks for sharing.
I miss smoking instead of eating. I was nice and skinny |
| #131 02:42pm 19/03/10 |
you're getting back there though matey!
| #132 02:44pm 19/03/10 |
lewd
Swimmers like Michael Phelps apparently eat close to 6000 Cal a day, which is about three times what most people need. He must be doing a f@ckload of training. or just bonging on...... weight loss is diferent for everyone. there is no such thing as one way to lose weight for all......if your overweight, maybe you need to know your body better. and stop eating all the cakes. |
| #133 02:47pm 19/03/10 |
the secret to taking a really good dump is to squat. Yeah, this is actually true. Japan has a lot of toilets around the place that are look kind of like a urinal in the ground. You squat over them and do your business. I was hoping to avoid using them, until we were at the Harajuku markets, I really needed to take a s***, and the only toilet available was one of these squat-s***ters. I did it, and I was amazed. It was amazing how fast I was able to get in there, drop a few, then get out. Not that it's particularly difficult to take a s*** normally, but squatting is definitely a more efficient way to do it. |
| #134 02:50pm 19/03/10 |
there is no such thing as one way to lose weight for all...... im pretty sure my mate tony disagrees with this |
| #135 03:00pm 19/03/10 |
The health benefits of squatting toilets are pretty much indisputable, humans are meant to squat when they chuck a s***. I don't really see a change happening in western society though. |
| #136 03:02pm 19/03/10 |
weight loss is diferent for everyone. there is no such thing as one way to lose weight for all..... I heard there was a revolutionary new method, scientifically proven, reported in several highly recognised medical journals... ...stop putting food in your mouth. |
| #137 03:04pm 19/03/10 |
I'm pretty sure there are people who can live on sunlight and oxygen Pinky. I read about it on the internet once. |
| #138 03:06pm 19/03/10 |
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inedia
Breatharianism |
| #139 03:57pm 19/03/10 |
lewd
Scientific theories about nutrition and common sense both indicate that a person who follows this practice even in the short term would die of starvation or dehydration. Nutritionists say that carbohydrates, fats, and proteins are the body's only sources of energy.[34][35][36] Even when the body is fasting, it burns carbohydrates, fats, and proteins for energy, and they come from the body's own reserves. A breatharian would first burn glycogen (a carbohydrate) and then body fat and muscle (a source of protein).[37] soooooooooo, yeah nah? sounds like it only works if you believe in magic. and im guessing a breatharian wouldnt live a highly active lifestyle. they should call themselves anorexists perhaps. |
| #140 07:04pm 19/03/10 |
lol i eat heaps but i cant go to the toilet probably go twice a week Yeah, same here! Probably a bit more often than twice a week, but definitely not once a day or multiple times a day, probably only once every couple of days. Maybe it has something to do with me having super efficient fat guy bacteria in my gut that absorbs absolutely everything out of the food I eat so theres not much waste? f*** my fat guy bacteria, they need some kind of bacteria transplant operation so I can get some of that skinny guy bacteria in me. |
| #141 07:39pm 19/03/10 |
I go once a day. Granted I eat a decent amount of fibre. You're not really meant to wait three days to go. |
| #142 08:07pm 19/03/10 |
i go every day coz im not a freak
if you dont go everyday, go to your doctor and tell him "im a freak with bowel problems" |
| #143 08:28pm 19/03/10 |
I miss smoking instead of eating. I was nice and skinny i have seen kat.zip so unless you were smoking at age 9 you were never skinny |
| #144 08:31pm 19/03/10 |
lewd
3 days.......f***
you must feel like so blocked and bloated. i go 4/5 hours after i eat.......... wakes me early sometimes..... oh yeah, i sleep f*** all, thats probably got heaps to do with the skinnies. get up, do a s***, then do s*** ftw !!!!!!! |
| #145 09:17pm 19/03/10 |
You guys are going to have bowel cancer :S no joke.
I go twice a day, like clockwork... then again I eat 7-8 pieces of fruit daily. |
| #146 09:38pm 19/03/10 |
You guys are going to have bowel cancer :S no joke. Eat All Bran for a week and no joke, they'll have lost their cancer quick smart. Gets the system churning. |
| #147 10:05pm 19/03/10 |
if you aren't going once a day you don't have enough fibre in your diet. eat more grains (unprocessed best), fruits and leafy veges. |
| #148 10:29pm 19/03/10 |
Drink more water too.
| #149 10:39pm 19/03/10 |
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inedia I'm not surprised these kind of cults are rare. Trying to spread your beliefs and convert others while avoiding death is probably tough. |
| #150 10:49pm 19/03/10 |
lewd
Drink more water too. +1 |
| #151 11:33pm 19/03/10 |
I drink about 3 litres of water a day, for breakfast either eat something like all bran, or some toast made out of that Lawsons wholegrain bread. For lunch, usually something like a ham sandwhich, once again with the wholegrain bread, with lots of lettuce. And for dinner usually a steak or a piece of grilled chicken or an omlette with a side of salad. So its not like I eat unhealthy, or am lacking fibre, and its not like I get bloated or drop a 5kg s***, its all relatively normal when the time comes, its just the time only comes every second day or so.
| #152 11:45pm 19/03/10 |
Where's the fruit Khel?
You must get sick all the time without fruit. |
| #153 12:13am 20/03/10 |
Well yeah, I usually have an apple or some dried apricots or something mid morning and mid afternoon, but I don't really consider that a meal. But yeah, I guess I don't eat heaps and heaps of fruit.
| #154 03:30am 20/03/10 |
You must get sick all the time without fruit. Why is that? |
| #155 09:37am 20/03/10 |
i wnna be more like chub and less like me
| #156 09:45am 20/03/10 |
Yeah, for me it's at least once a day, sometimes as frequently as three. I never used to s*** that frequently, but since I've started a regular habit of going to the gym 4 days a week, I seem to be doing a lot more toilet trips. It's fine though, I generally get it all done at work, where I'm paid to be doing it.
| #157 12:51pm 20/03/10 |
pro poopers itt
| #158 12:57pm 20/03/10 |
Haven't pooped since thursday, will keep you guys posted.
| #159 01:46pm 20/03/10 |
I wake up in the morning, drink a coffee (with lots of milk) then go within 30mins I'm lactose intolerant though :/ my wife's on my back about eating cereal each morning, though she is LI too.. and just can't get with the logic. We're over 30 now - no more free rides from our bodies eh. What we're putting in is sweating/breathing/pooping out. I quit smoking for a few weeks earlier this year - I understand why women use so many products that are scented now. |
| #160 05:13pm 20/03/10 |
I exercise around 4 to 5 hours a week . I can't imagine going back to doing nothing. I may not be skinny or super fit but I am getting there. Muscles are forming and I feel overall better. skinny doesn't mean healthy and muscles don't always mean strength
| #161 05:45pm 20/03/10 |
koopz get lactose free milk dude. I'm lactose intolerant as well and that milk is awesome. It's called Zymil btw. Only comes in 1 litres carton no 2 litres etc. |
| #162 06:57pm 20/03/10 |
It ridiculously sweet. However if it is your only option it's a good one. The sugar has already been broken down for you.
| #163 07:14pm 20/03/10 |
got a mate who's put on like 10kg or more from eating high calorie meals every day. Gone from nothing to become pretty shredded for his size..
Just eat like phelps or that fat bitch in the usa.. 12,000calories plus a day.. That'll put some meat on ya. |
| #164 07:17pm 20/03/10 |
Yea Zymil's awesome, it's the only milk that doesn't make me sick. Even soy milk makes me feel like s***
| #165 10:36pm 20/03/10 |
It ridiculously sweet. However if it is your only option it's a good one. The sugar has already been broken down for you. Personally I don't find it ridiculously sweet, certainly sweeter than normal milk. And I think you mean lactose's been broken down not sugar :) |
| #166 02:27pm 21/03/10 |
You must get sick all the time without fruit.Why is that? Hmm, it's a good point. They don't tell you to eat the food pyramid for no reason. I dunno all the reasons, but one good reason is that there are a group of amino acids that your body can't make - non-essential amino acids. Don't ask me why they are called 'non-essential', I didn't name them. Since you can't make them, you have to consume them. Some fruit like strawberries contain high levels of these. Amino acids are the building blocks of protein (among other things). So yeah, on a scale of 1 to 'damn important' they are at the damn important end. |
| #167 07:03pm 21/03/10 |
| #167 |