Topic: TF2 Heavy Update Teaser Site Released
Hit up QGL on steam, we're all there.
Holy f*** this looks like fun!
Must...finish...studying.
i love it when it when i backstab someone in the face but hate it when im on the receiving end
I took 6 stabs at a soldier the other day, not one of them registered. I was pissed off as f***.
How do you get your videos, is there a ingame replay/recorder that I haven't heard of

I use the in-game demo recorder every time I join a server, in the event I do something ridiculous and want to put it on youtube. Then it's just a matter of playing back the demo with uncompressed avi output on. Import into VirtualDub, compress to xvid.

Problem is the demos don't often survive a game update (demo files often change significantly between versions), so if you want to save a special moment, make sure you don't delay more than a day or two.

I might write a guide up in a couple weeks.
Wow I didn't even know there was a demo recorder built in.

Yeah drop console 'record blabla' when finished 'stop'.

So awesome they included steel. I was one of the ones saying 'why the f*** no steel with the pyro update'.

Love valve atm. tf2! What other game gets seven maps and all this other s*** for free? Compare that with cod4 console players paying for like 3 maps.
Hmm boxing gloves to give you 5 seconds of crits.

I remember when this Steel map came up on a server once. Our team didn't even defend, we figured the faster we lost the faster we'd get to play on a proper map. Worse than Hydro.

The GuVna
Having to kill an enemy with them though to receive the 5 seconds will be tough I reckon.

Still it will be humorous to see all these flailing punches on the servers :)
not too surprised with the gloves. they were pretty much a given. i think pretty much everyone will be using them.
I don't think the 5 seconds will be useful unless they other unlocks are quicker then the minigun.

By the time you switch and spin up that's 2 - 3 seconds gone.
I imagine if the heavy was defending, and all the enemies in the area had been killed, he could wait with his gloves for the first pyro or whatever to come rushing out by himself, give him a punch, and hope that a few more of the enemy are more than 2 seconds but less than 5 seconds away. Maybe if during your spin up time you could pop out from behind a wall where you could cover a little more area with your minigun. Still would probably get owned if trying to do this without any backup.

last edited by thermite at 08:03:48 14/Aug/08
wonder if it carries over to the next round. i can see heavies meleeing the other team once they have won a round for the crit at the beginning of the next.
There's actually an achievement there which looks like it will be about owning in the first 5 seconds after spawning. Doesn't actually say that but it's called "5 second plan" and the icon is a teleporter.
ROFL @ some of the achievement names
most guess would be, kill (number of players) within 5 seconds of teleporting.

or

kill (number of players) within 5 seconds of them teleporting

last edited by ravn0s at 08:16:08 14/Aug/08
I'm hoping the 5 seconds of crit is the from the start of the next attack. So you get the hit. Then you have as long as you want to switch weapons. Once you starting firing (not spinning) the 5 seconds starts. That would be worth while.

AAAAAHHHHH SOOOO MMUUCCCHHH BLLOOOOOOOOOODDDDDD
^^thats my take on it. the 5 seconds start when the first bullet flies.

also a hint at the next class that will get unlocks?

http://i33.tinypic.com/2ptcew3.png

silenced pistol for spy?

last edited by ravn0s at 13:02:56 14/Aug/08
Been reading through a few comments on various gaming forums.

Few rumours:
- Heavy now has a lethal taunt similar to the pyro ryu move
- unlock 2 is a chain gun that decereases opponents speed with damage sacrifice
- unlock 3 is a sandwich that gives you a health bonus (wtf)
- New payload map will have a cart that you can build SG's on
- New mode will use smaller versions of existing maps that will appeal more to the competitive community
- heavy will be able to remove stickies a lot better

Anyway I guess we will know in 5-6 days. Best 20 bucks you'll spend this game.
- unlock 2 is a chain gun that decereases opponents speed with damage sacrifice

im hearing 25% less damage for a 50% speed decrease

- unlock 3 is a sandwich that gives you a health bonus (wtf)

like that popeye rumour that was going around. apparently will give 100 health

- New payload map will have a cart that you can build SG's on

when gr came out valve talked about a payload map like this. hopefully its true.

- New mode will use smaller versions of existing maps that will appeal more to the competitive community

5vs5 arena battles apparently

- heavy will be able to remove stickies a lot better

stickies destroyed when the heavy shoots them. own the means of production looks like an achievement centered on this.

crock block achievement = survive a crit rocket

if you right click the achievement piccies and read their file name you can pretty much work out what you need to do for each one.

last edited by ravn0s at 13:39:22 14/Aug/08
Do you think they will change the model animations at all? It seems to me for the Medic and Pyro they picked new weapons which the player model could hold and taunt with exactly the same way. Looks like they're going down the same route with the boxing gloves. So whatever the other weapons are, he will hold them in the same way he holds the minigun and shotgun.
If they don't change the taunts then I bet the heavy will be able to do damage with his 'finger gun' draw.

he does:

http://www.steampowered.com/tf2/heavy/images/AchievementIcons/tf_heavy_kill_taunt.pngShow Trial: tf_heavy_kill_taunt.png
If one of the scout achievements is not "kill a sandwich taunting heavy with your bat" I will be extremely dissapointed.
The GuVna
I wonder if the spy can sap the sandwich
if you right click the achievement piccies and read their file name you can pretty much work out what you need to do for each one.

Here's the list taken from the page source code:

Iron Kurtain - damage taken
Party Loyalty - defend medic
Division of Labor - assist medic large
Red Oktoberfest - earn medic domination
Show Trial - kill taunt
Crime and Punishment - kill flag carriers
Class Struggle - kill medic pair
Soviet Block - block invuln heavy
Stalin the Kart - block cart
Supreme Soviet - receive uber grind
Factory Worker - stand near dispenser
Soviet Union - assist heavy grind
0wn the Means of Production - clear stickybombs
Krazy Ivan - kill underwater
Rasputin - take multi damage
Icing on the Cake - kill dominated
Crock Block - survive crocket
Kollectivization - assist grind

Spyalectical Materialism - uncover spies
Permanent Revolution - kill while spunup
Heavy Industry - fire lots
Communist Mani-Fisto - kill crit punch
Redistribution of Health - heal medikits
Rationing - kill shotgun
Vanguard Party - first to cap
Pushkin the Kart - payload cap grind
Marxman - kill midair minigun
Gorky Parked - defend control point
Purge - kill capping enemies
Lenin A Hand - revenge assist
Five Second Plan - teleport fast kill
Photostroika - freezecam taunt
Konspicuous Konsumption - eat sandwiches
Don't Touch Sandvich - kill scouts
Borscht Belt - kill heavies gloves
59fifty
Crime and Punishment - kill flag carriers

^^^ Possibly hinting at new gametype? (then again, flag could just be the intelligence....)
There must be at least one new animation, I can't think of any current ones that will let the Heavy eat a sandwich.
NEW PL MAP!

Sounds awesome, giant map with no seperate stages.

Looks like absolute scout/sniper heaven (but at the same time suck for demo).
cant wait for the new payload map. it sounds awsome.
Spy's will probably enjoy the new map, opene spaces means less chances for people to bump into you.
winrar!

Problem with goldrush is there are several chokepoints in the 3 stages that are like playing russian roulette when running cloaked as spy.

I am really starting to look forward to the update, the teaser site is working on me :P
This looks good, though f***tards are already complaining about it... FFS it's not even out yet!
though f***tards are already complaining about it...

If the last wide map (Fastlane) was anything to go by, there isn't much hope for an even bigger map.

God Fastlane sucks so much >_<
I don't mind fastlane. Though it seems to be in the same category as every single map besides goldrush/2fort/dustbowl. That is the 'no one f***en plays them' category.
Fastlane and Turbine are s***.
That's because they weren't made by valve.

Steel is the only decent non valve map I've seen yet.
I can't even tell half the maps apart they look like the same map to me. I have trouble telling hydro apart from other maps - how much trouble do you think I have telling apart the different stages of hydro?

The TF people really are clueless about how to visually distinguish things. Originally every class looked almost identical, then someone had to school them on how to make characters look different. Unfortunatly they use the same buildings, prefabs, and textures in every level.

You can't say to a mate "I was playing the map with the warehouse" cos they all have a bloody warehouse.
I can tell exactly what map I am playing. I agree some different terrains would be good (jungle, snow, whatever) but:
Game play and map balance > terrain variety
I didn't mind fastlane, turbine sucked many wangs.

I pretty much only play dust or bowl on pub these days.
Dust or bowl eh? :P

Also, thermite you're a moron.
they do need to introduce new settings. the desert setting has got so boring.
Oops dust or gold what was I meant to say :P

That new map looks pretty bulls*** hard for blue team. gonna be demospam like hell. Also looks like scouts, pyros and heavies will be useless.

But we'll see.
That's a very constructive argument Farkturd. Maybe I'm not a moron, maybe I'm someone who has spent 6 years studying design psychology, virtual environments, interfaces, etc..., and feels very passionately about making things intuitive to our monkey brains.

last edited by thermite at 16:16:28 15/Aug/08
why should they make it intuitive?

I thought getting to know the maps inside out was part of the challenge of the game. I have mixed feelings about them even having the big signs that say "INTELLIGENCE -->" and "<-- BATTLEMENTS" etc and the big arrows telling you which way to the next capture point.

You should expect to get owned if you don't know how to get to the intel or where the health/ammo packs are or where to put your sentry or where the nearest capture point is or etc etc etc

Having a map that is balanced for each of the classes and provides some sort of challenge to the attacking/defending team (depending on the situation) is much more of a priority than having them each having a unique initial impression.

The TF people really are clueless about how to visually distinguish things. Originally every class looked almost identical, then someone had to school them on how to make characters look different. Unfortunatly they use the same buildings, prefabs, and textures in every level.

Maybe I'm not a moron, maybe I'm someone who has spent 6 years studying design psychology, virtual environments, interfaces, etc..., and feels very passionately about making things intuitive to our monkey brains.

One of the reasons why they can pump out new maps, game play styles, achievements and weapons like they do for no cost is that they reuse a lot of what they have. Pre-fab buildings and textures.
Being someone who has studied this sort of thing before, you would know how long it takes to produce quality textures/structures/animations and so forth.
I'd rather the new terrain and game play and weapons, then have half of it and a maps worth of new textures. A lot of other TF2 players probably have similar feelings and Valve give us what we want.

Also, the Heavy update asks for people who aren't happy, to email in and let them know of what they would like to see. Perhaps you should fire a nice email their way.

Also 6 years? You finishing honours/masters?
Good point Cerb, it is meant to be challenging, but the reality is that everything only looks so samey because it's a game and not a real environment. I don't think there is an intentional challenge given to new players to learn similar looking maps - it's an unintentional problem. The premise of the game is that the characters live/work in those places so they should have no problems finding their way around, right? :P

Being someone who has studied this sort of thing before, you would know how long it takes to produce quality textures/structures/animations and so forth.

Yeah 5 minutes :P That's our competition timelimit for creating game textures. It's good sport. And using the same prefabs over and over tends to be frowned upon, for the very reason that everything starts to look the same.
I don't think the textures need to be anything special either.

I'd say the reason they are doing so much negative stuff is that the developers come from a Quake / Half-Life background which are notorious for reusing textures and prefabs.

Also 6 years? You finishing honours/masters?

No, I finished 2 years ago.
Then make a game that has more options then TF2, sell it for slightly cheaper and profit.

Or perhaps reusing the same environment gives the game a certain feel that they don't want to stray from.
They said one of the reasons they used the same textures is to keep the downloads down. They use textures from cs and hl2 as well so your steam folder isn't 20000 years big.
Thermite, the majority of the TF2 community don't care.

Sorry to put it so bluntly.
N-Dude
So the rumor about a new minigun that slows opponents was right - meet Natascha. Good call.
It's becoming less of a big deal with I'd say almost the entire community having broadband connections.

They should do a Christmas special or something and throw in some snow textures :)
holy s*** 100% slowdown? gonna be hard to kill and run away from them heavies now.
yer its goin to be impossible for scouts to kill heavies now :(
bah just realised i read it wrong. its not 100% slowdown, its 100% chance to slowdown on hit. so the slowdown could be anything.
Notice the background is a forest environment also ;)

And the achievement descriptions have been updated:

Konspicuous Konsumption: Eat 100 sandviches.

Heavy Industry: Fire $200,000 worth of minigun rounds in a single life.

what?

These achievements look hard compared with the pyro achievements. Not impossible though.

last edited by ctd at 12:23:47 16/Aug/08
Party Loyalty: Kill 50 enemies within 3 seconds of them attacking your Medic

For a sec I thought this was a late April Fools attempt or something.

How about: "Kill an enemy within 3 seconds of them attacking your medic, 50 times"

last edited by parabol at 12:44:30 16/Aug/08
Heavy Industry: Fire $200,000 worth of minigun rounds in a single life.

what?

please dont tell me we have to start buying ammo

edit: actually might have something to do with the meet the heavy vid where he says each round costs $200. that means only 1000 rounds need to be fired

last edited by ravn0s at 12:52:04 16/Aug/08
I can see a bunch of people letting rip 1000 rounds in spawn while eating sandviches, just for the achievements.
I can see me using the unlocker and getting the 3 unlocks in 5 seconds.

What douche farms these days?

I got nearly all the achievements (~95%), legit, through random play... but it took weeks... in the meantime I enjoyed the unlocks.
God among men chub
You got problems ctd.

I like the achievements, they're fun when they pop up from time to time... lots of people don't know about the unlocker.

Unlock the 3 milestones now so you're not at a disadvantage, then enjoy getting the achievements properly at your own pace.

It's the best of both worlds.
Descriptions added to achievement icons.

Konspicuous Konsumption: Eat 100 sandviches.

$20 says replacement for shotgun has something to do with sandwiches.
the rumour is that you eat the sandvich and gain 100hp
do you have difficulty getting in and out of cars CHUB? I thought head size may be an issue for you.
Sif use an unlocker, I felt super dirty setting up the pyro taunt kill with someone. You have to get them normally.
this is cool. feign death plug in for the spy

that is pretty rad, but i find its already a bit confusing with all the s*** the the spy has already. lots of buttons to press cloak, disguise, sap and stab an engie already.
That's pretty cool. Wasn't feigning death a standard spy feature in previous TF incarnations?

I play sometimes on a server called "Ultimate Party", Engies can build 2 sentries each, and also everyone has a jetpack - so the heavier classes can move around pretty quickly, and also the spy can do flyby stab and sap. Lots of fun, if you don't care to have a serious game, because you can also talk to the enemy on voice chat.

That's pretty cool. Wasn't feigning death a standard spy feature in previous TF incarnations?

yer there was feign death instead of cloaking in tfc.
I think the spy already has enough tricks. I would like to see an ammo count on the sap. Maybe like 6 saps and then he has to get ammo.
I would like to see an ammo count on the sap. Maybe like 6 saps and then he has to get ammo.

hell no thats a terrible idea.
nope its a good idea. ur a terrible idea.
It's an OK idea. Thing is you can already stop the spy from sapping too much by, you know, killing him rather easily.
IF you put a limit on sappers, all you'd find is that a spy only saps the sentry at first, then just gets more from the dispenser of the engineer.
all you'd find is that a spy only saps the sentry at first, then just gets more from the dispenser

Which is perfectly acceptable and expected.

It means you have to pick your targets carefully instead of insta-sapping a million things continuously.
When I play engy, I try to build with the spy in mind. I'll put the dispenser in the way that a spy is most likely to come, if any of my team mates jump over the dispenser they are very likely a spy.

I try and put Tele in places that are away from my dispenser/sentry set-up. A lot of noobish spies try and sap the tele, alerting me to their presence.
N-Dude
Valve have now announced Arena mode. Seems like a bit of senseless fun, with more emphasis on single-person heroics. It sounds like this mode will become popular for clan matches, but less-so for pub games.
arena mode revealed. sounds cool and comes with a new alpine setting.

edit: bah beaten by a minute

last edited by ravn0s at 12:03:00 19/Aug/08
tf2 is f***ing awesome.

that is all.
Andrew
Shotgun replacement predictions!!!!!

Place your bets:

Super-shotgun - more damage, less ammo per clip/slower shooting speed

Grapple - grapples enemies (brings them towards you)

Sandwich - heals 100 health

Lame shotgun variation - same as shotgun, but has some speacial crit thingy or something

None of the above
Grapple - grapples enemies (brings them towards you)

And one where you do like a fireball of ice and FREEZE the enemy for a few seconds allowing you to walk over and uppercut them with your gloves.

or one were you throw a hat and it cuts someones head off.
eye laser beams anyone?
sandvich in one hand, shotty in the other. sandvich gives 100 hp and shotty is less accurate and does less damage because he isnt holding it with two hands like he usually does.
arena looks like s***, a bit too much influence from the cs team i think.
I was thinking the exact opposite, I think the arena setup sounds awesome, I love when it gets to sudden death, not sure if the novelty will wear off though.
sudden death s***s me to tears, i'm more of an offensive player.
Arena sounds like my type of game. f*** yeah tf2.

tf2 has had like at least 5 zillion content updates for free. Shows that there is still hope for free updates.
dont see why you cant be offensive when it is sudden death, you just have to be good.

I think it promotes team play more, the medic means more when you cant get health any other way, including dying and coming back in 15 seconds. Engineers are needed more for he dispensers and defence from the sentrys.

Arena mode sounds great, and thermite should be happy with one of the new maps.
XandraX
It's only had content upgrades because they released it with bugger all content. They've been able to get everyone's money from the start, while gradually releasing the actual game. Good business model, but wouldn't work if the game wasn't so good.
I can't figure out if XandraX is complimenting valve or trolling them.
A little from column A and a little from column B.
so when does the actual update come out?
It's only had content upgrades because they released it with bugger all content

The game costs what, $20US? How much content were you expecting?
so when does the actual update come out?

tomorrow i think
So they will give the last announcement along with the update? I thought it would be out wednesday american time.

I hope it is tomorrow though woot
Who cares about Arena... I'll give it a bash, no doubt it will be fun.

Basin is where it's at though, payload maps are f***ing awesome... if it's anywhere near the quality of Goldrush I'll be extremely happy.

Plus people will be playing CP_Steel, WIN!
Plus i can get heaps of points by just whoring the cart right chub?

I Do agree though, gold rush is aswesome and this new payload based map looks pretty cool.
Plus people will be playing CP_Steel, WIN!

Agreed, awesome map. Best tf2 custom map.
Plus i can get heaps of points by just whoring the cart right chub?
If that's how you like to get your points, of course you can.

I prefer to kill people instead ;)

/bait

Steel will be awesome I reckon after people get used to it, I think some better strategies will evolve to get E early instead of just going through the A - D progression which is how 99% of the games ended.
when is the heavy update going to be released?
Tomorrow day apparently.
I was playing Goldrush as Demoman today, holy crap is it easy to rack up the points on that map.
the sandwich is out, heals 120hp, which is a good chunk, nearly half?

Now all you need is a hotdog that gives you ammo somehow
HE PUNCHED A HOLE IN MY BLOOD!
Also, the update is out now.
HE PUNCHED A HOLE IN MY BLOOD!

sounded more like "he punched out all my blood"
N-Dude
thermite.Newsletter.Subscribe(me);
I had a quick bash of the arena mode, it was fun. Not too many Heavies around yet.
Everyone is playing the new PL map on interode and I am banned from internode. Go gamearena.
Your fault for being BANNED!
arena is alright. not as much fun as normal maps.
Anyone notice this?
Increased The Kritzkrieg's uber-charge rate bonus from 10% to 25%
That's awesome, I really enjoy the krizt and now that it charges substantially faster I think it's balanced against the regular medigun.
Sandvich... f***ing LOL

om nom nom nom... om nom

I was just spamming away to reach my 100 sandvich achievement and there was random heavy speak in there along the way.

Something about the sandvich telling him to kill everyone hehe

http://steamgames.com/v/index.php?area=app&AppId=5073
Meet The Sandvich video

last edited by rubba-chikin at 16:01:36 20/Aug/08
Can't wait to get in game now.
tis amazing game!
icewyrm

Loving the update
Got my 3 unlocks already.

So far natasha has left me underwhelmed, sandvich is funny, but pretty useless.

KGB are lol too, but swing really slowly.

New arena mode seems ok. Badwater was good fun. New environment is good.
Pretty much agree with frakture although I don't have the KGB yet. Arena is... arena. Same as any other team arena mode in other games. Waiting for the lose, I hope they just make it two teams.

I reckon it would be cool to have 4 teams playing at once with a yellow and green team or something.

that would be the s***.

the only thing i dont like about arena is the random teams. i would like to choose which team to join.
I reckon the concept of randomly swapping teams is a good idea, but the idea of having a 16 player game on a 24 player server is rubbish. Let everyone play or f*** off.
Yer, the admins should limit the number of people allowed on the server to the maximum allowed to play.

As for the 4 teams, anyone remember 4fort4?

It was s***.
Badwater basin is pretty good. Really starting to like it.

Raped as a spy. Soo many places to hide.
does anyone do the unlocks properly?. I dont think many do, cause theres no way youd have all 3 unlocks from normal play already.

They should stop the achievement help servers, seems kinda silly to me.
The easiest way to do them, without risking getting banned (Hi CHUB) is to start your own server, add bots and then mow them down.

Doesn't take long and is a lot easier than f***ing around with tools in achievement servers.
badwater basin kicks so much ass. i prefer it over goldrush and attacking as spy is a hell of a lot of fun.

i like it how you can kill a heavy while hes eating his sandvich so that he drops it and you get healed for picking it up.
after playing last night for a few hours on node, heaps of people were getting crashing dramas and bad memory reads. I got about 4 in 4 hours, total annoyance. I hope they fix this.
Played a few hours last night.

Played 30 minutes of Arena (arena granary), very interesting, extremely challenging. It had an old school feel to it, I really enjoyed playing scout or soldier.

Then 2 d******* heavies (on opposing teams) sat around for 10 minutes eating sandwhichs on the point while we all sat there going "what the f*** are they doing". That sound is driving me insane!!!!

Basin WINS! What a ridiculously death map. I'm primarily playing engineer, there's an awesome spot that absolutely RAPES on offense. Point C you can run up the stairs + over, then build a SG/tele in the window and it drops straight into their base, but it's IMPOSSIBLE to take down. I throw a ninja SG up there (past C and above) while we're capping point C and the lvl 1 SG takes down 5+ people.

Left a tele there, ~40 teleports, undisturbed.

Besides that, I'm really struggling to find SG spots.

EDIT: Yep, I crashed out 2 times in ~3 - 4 hours, very annoying.

last edited by CHUB at 08:39:53 21/Aug/08
i had a quick game this morning of badwater basin, looks really good, just can't find where to get up to that sniper spot near the second third point?
Point C you can run up the stairs + over, then build a SG/tele in the window and it drops straight into their base, but it's IMPOSSIBLE to take down.

post some pics. i cant really work out where you mean.

it seems a lot easier on blue team compared to blue on goldrush. there was only 1 time lastnight where blue didnt win. they just couldnt get the last point. it probably because of all the damn heavies atm, so it will probably change once everything has gone back to normal.
post some pics. i cant really work out where you mean.
It's not the closest foward base I've found yet, but it holds its ground and provides good teleports.

http://img516.imageshack.us/img516/1565/stairsjj0.jpg

http://img508.imageshack.us/img508/8279/sgtp9.jpg

What the enemy see's coming from final cap, SG up in the window but 99% of the time you have teammates rounding that corner.

http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/295/fromdjr2.jpg

last edited by CHUB at 09:45:07 21/Aug/08
This map is great for engies but it was so easy playing as a spy for once and not worrying about running into people.
im just having fun as spy now with everyone as heavy hehe
cheers chub. thought you were talking about the windows near the stairs in the first pic. that spot looks good though.
arena mode is f***ing awesome.

It really gets my blood pumping when i stab someone since it has such a huge effect on the game... Let alone stabbing 3 guys every round.

f***in' love it.
Ahaha I did the heavy taunt without even thinking about it and killed a guy, it has a lot more range than you'd think!
Basin owns! I'm finally starting to get the hang of it... massive map.

http://img395.imageshack.us/img395/9237/basingn7.jpg

http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/8198/basin2ku3.jpg

Got ya beat :P

http://frakturedreality.ismyhost.net/spyrape.JPG
i have you both beat

http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/4628/plbadwater0000pt6.jpg
http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/4628/plbadwater0000pt6.67f56d96b7.jpg
See ravnos knows how to play, he actualy has some captures on a map that is based around getting captures, where as you other guys just have kills.
yeah, also chub is gay
- confucious
See ravnos knows how to play, he actualy has some captures on a map that is based around getting captures, where as you other guys just have kills.
Yeah, 30+ destructions don't help your team at all.
pushing the cart is for heavies, everyone has there role.

as for bagging on arena earlier, i was soooooo wrong. its pretty awesome.

maps are tight so it never means its a massive camp fest.
DM
Ahah so you're cupoftea chub? you bastard you've dominated me more than a few times when you strap on the demoman boots. I'm Epic Fail Guy
EDIT: Anyone else got a free "guestpass" to TF2 that you can give away?

Ahah so you're cupoftea chub? you bastard you've dominated me more than a few times when you strap on the demoman boots. I'm Epic Fail Guy
I've seen you a fair bit on GR, I'll add you to steam.

Some goldrush fun

http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/1720/demogoldrushsz7.jpg

last edited by CHUB at 08:46:56 24/Aug/08
I think that CupOfTea c*** had a go at me for having a low score
He works one off every night over these screenshots.
just one?
I think that CupOfTea c*** had a go at me for having a low score
Errr, I've never "had a go" at anyone for having a low score... make up some more random stuff while you're at it, don't call people c***s for no reason.

Haha DM I was dominating you the other night. :P

Also thermite, you're a useless c*** for having a low score.
http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/7870/plbadwater0001jp5.jpg
http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/7870/plbadwater0001jp5.38090594a1.jpg
yeah i got the guest pass thing to send to someone.

Badwater basin is pretty cool, seems to be stacked againts the offence though, ive only seen 1 team finish it, and about probably 20 not get it. I play sniper on defence and with the long alleys its easy to pick off the heavies. When attacking I go heavy and hope the snipers on my team can take out there snipers.

last edited by `ViPER` at 20:33:41 24/Aug/08
I've capped it out a few times.

It's a bit hard to tell at the moment because theres so many tards whoring up the Heavy. When that dies down and the classes are more evenly spread again it will make a big difference in the offensive pushes.

I'm having loads of fun on defense bounding around as scout behind their lines f***ing up their medics and snipers :)
Seems pretty even to me so far. Certainly more wins than on goldrush.

Will be interesting as people learn the map more.
Viper have you tried offense sniper last point... in the little room with the windows, and 1 of the windows is missing a single pane.

It's f***ing epic, covers one of there spawn entrances and the final point.
Agreed CHUB, i was shooting at a sentry for 2 mins with my revolver before a soldier found out. That window is awesome.
What room are you talking about, dont quite understand where you are talking about.
I can't find a really awesome place to put a forward sentry. the long tunnel reall y f***s things up. and snipers cain me so bad.
Yeah the first cap is pretty easy, once your in the tunnel your home free pretty much. Saying that we did stop one team from getting the first point, if the engineers get setup in that little spot to the left of the first cap point, in the little bunker type place.

As soon as you cap the first point, you gotta get the rooftop above the second cap, if the defence gets setup there its hard to get rid of it.

On the third cap, you gotta clear out that room above the tracks, if the defence gets a couple of sg's and tele's setup there its pretty hard to get the third point.

No idea about the last point, everyone seems to go everywhere, not realy sure where to put sentry's.
Lol I didn't know where to add this

This spy's hl2 spray says "<-- this guy is totally not a spy"

Hahaha I love how the doctor keeps looking at him.
Does DM = Dogmatix Man?
more like this!!

Dogmatix Man
Does DM = Dogmatix Man?

Hi mongie, I still use my own account here, just only very rarely. When I play TF2 I play under the nick "Tim."
we should setup a qgl forums match on the new badwater basin map so everyone can show there "skills".
i would be up for that. start a new thread with a date and time. im sure you'll get people there.
I was just spamming away to reach my 100 sandvich achievement and there was random heavy speak in there along the way.

Something about the sandvich telling him to kill everyone hehe

aahahhaa "You are a loose canon sandvich - but you're a damn good cop!!"
DM
Ahahahahahaha. oh man that video was great. never knew he had so many sandvich related speeches.

EDIT - to avoid double posting i'll just add these 2 here. I found them pretty funny

Lazy ass pyro
http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/8724/lazyasspyrosm1.png

ARRRRRGHH MAH LEGS
http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/3644/aaaarrrrggggmahlegsqa5.jpg

last edited by DM at 11:57:56 29/Aug/08
some guys girlfriend plays team Fortress 2
Dik-tation
^^rofl
hahah at that vid^
she sounds hot.
lol... "why would doctors carry around saws?"
badwater is the best f***in spy map ever =)

so easy to backstab all the heavies + snipers
Sup 15:1 ratio

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/1257/demopwntw4.jpg

So when are we organising this QGL match? I had a few games with SquarkyD the other day but I never seen much QGL around on Internode.
node ftw, I'm usually on after midnight because I can't stand the school kids/noobs on before then. TLNC rock.
I'm usually on after midnight because I can't stand the school kids/noobs on before then

If you don't like kids, stay away from the Gamespace 24/7 Insta-spawn 2Fort server.

That server is all kinds of bad.
Generally the node servers are pretty good. Very few kiddies and griefers.

Although the skill level can be pretty low sometimes :/
So when are we organising this QGL match?

who can organise and setup a server?
While we're at it, my youtube video finally uploaded.

"Spy retreat fail". Damn it felt good :)

We have a GA ladder freeplay match tonight and we will need some extras I would say.

9pm tonight. PM me if you are interested. Goldrush 8 v 8.
pm sent