Calories in > Calories out = Gain weight. Just because you think you eat heaps doesn't mean you actually are. I was just starting to type more on this but orbitor's link says it all. |
| #20 10:21pm 17/03/10 |
TOM
pasta bru
| #21 10:23pm 17/03/10 |
Offset, took me a whilte to crack 70 and I had to put in some effort considering my lifestyle. Best way to put on weight for me (Disclaimer: very unhealthy) was my frozen pie diet. I filled my freezer with pies. I felt like a snack, I'd eat a pie. Bit hungry before bed, pie. Pie, pie, pie. I can't eat pies anymore though. Also, I put on weight everytime I've been to Germany because of breakfast (frühstück) which for them is basically a roll with cold lunch meats, cheese and sometimes yoghurt or toast with jam. If you don't normally eat breakfast then start! |
| #22 10:24pm 17/03/10 |
I have pretty much hit a glass ceiling with my weight I think, I've never been over 155kg's and i pretty much hover around 140-150 these days
that said I'm not the comic book guy, I'm just lanky as f*** and you would never pick that I'm 150kg~ I eat f*** tonnes, every day - no matter what I eat though I dont ever go higher than 155 |
| #23 10:27pm 17/03/10 |
pre 25, i didnt eat the best, drank lots, never got over 75kg. after 25 that changed. now ive gotta do lots of exersise & i eat extremely well.
| #24 10:29pm 17/03/10 |
I have pretty much hit a glass ceiling with my weight I think, I've never been over 155kg's and i pretty much hover around 140-150 these days thats pretty fat matey last edited by Spook at 22:30:54 17/Mar/10 |
| #25 10:30pm 17/03/10 |
150kgs?!! thats like more than 2 of me.
| #26 10:30pm 17/03/10 |
your just jealous cause your short davey
| #27 10:32pm 17/03/10 |
Nothing will make you gain weight faster than Sugar soft drinks.
3-4 cans of pepsi per day will make you gain weight. I think Sugar Soft Drinks should be banned. They are addictive, unhealthy, rot teeth, increase weight and lead to diabetes. |
| #28 10:32pm 17/03/10 |
I just got back from 4 weeks in Italy with the misses. Eating s*** loads of pizza, pasta, coffee and ate the exact things as she did, just more of them. We did do alot of walking however. We weighed ourselves yesterday and I lost 2kgs and she gained 5, lols. |
| #29 10:32pm 17/03/10 |
i hope you put her on the treadmill and chucked the rocky tape in straight away!@
| #30 10:34pm 17/03/10 |
i hope you put her on the treadmill and chucked the rocky tape in straight away!@ Sounds like you might need to take a bit of your own advice mate! |
| #31 10:36pm 17/03/10 |
she could be pregnant !
| #32 10:37pm 17/03/10 |
neffo
Hey, teq, are you working from home yet?
| #33 10:39pm 17/03/10 |
athzhr
Personal trainer friend of mine was telling me about the three different body types there are:
Endomorphs - Fatties Mesomorphs - Athletic build Ectomorph - Skinny as a rake, can't put on weight |
| #34 10:40pm 17/03/10 |
Calories in > Calories out = Gain weight.I don't buy it. I sometimes eat 3000 calories in a single meal, I don't put on the slightest bit of weight. |
| #35 10:43pm 17/03/10 |
What kind of meal are you eating for 3000 calories chub?!
| #36 10:43pm 17/03/10 |
Wrong. I know a guy who eats more than fat guys and doesnt gain a gram. Me, well, i eat very little but still seem to have enough energy for the day. Never been a big eater. Cant eat more than half a pizza by myself |
| #37 10:44pm 17/03/10 |
GB
I sometimes eat 3000 calories in a single meal, I don't put on the slightest bit of weight. But you have real big s***s right? |
| #38 10:45pm 17/03/10 |
There's growing evidence to support that different people have different bacterial makeup in their gut allowing them to glean more nutrients and energy from foods than other people do. Thus, same food is converted into more energy for some and less energy for others. |
| #39 10:48pm 17/03/10 |
I sometimes eat 3000 calories in a single meal, I don't put on the slightest bit of weight.I think its more what you have for "dessert" |
| #40 10:49pm 17/03/10 |
iWhoop
Different metabolism. (I for example, have metabolism from my mother's side - they all have trouble with weight) - where as my father's side are all basically 5'10, 55-65kgs. Pleasure on the lips, murder on the hips. |
| #41 10:51pm 17/03/10 |
What kind of meal are you eating for 3000 calories chub?!500g pack of pasta with a lot of sauce (stuff like olive oil and meats adds up quickly), a stack of cheese and a big drink on the side. That's about 3000 calories I think? |
| #42 10:57pm 17/03/10 |
it's only 3000~ if you're eating the *entire* thing yourself ^
I usually end up with 2-3 bowls of left overs when I make pasta I'm 150kg in my facebook profile pic -> http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs084.snc1/4582_111460305490_536220490_3159825_2052935_n.jpg |
| #43 11:03pm 17/03/10 |
Photo illusion. All your weight is flopping at your back. Also, you have rather chunky looking cankles.
| #44 11:05pm 17/03/10 |
I'm just a g-unit
| #45 11:09pm 17/03/10 |
I'll give you the unit part!
| #46 11:12pm 17/03/10 |
Genetics or age, I've got a 30 year old mate who eats the worst diet, drinks beer non stop yet is still skinny as hell. It's gay, I have to work for it heh.
| #47 11:13pm 17/03/10 |
i eat like s***, do barely any exercise and aint huge, my body responds really well to it.. i just.. gotta do it.. but i've signed up for the gym so hopefully should lose some unneeded kgs
| #48 11:17pm 17/03/10 |
nat
I was reading about a few trials where they took a bunch of people and stuck them on like 5000 cal a day diets for months on end, strictly controlled the amount of physical activity they did, and then assessed the results. Some people got physcially ill and couldn't go on, some gained alot of weight, others not much, and some none at all.
Such studies obviously don't do much to explain what might cause these discrepencies, but certainly show our bodies don't all play by the same rules when it comes to eating/exercising and weight gain. |
| #49 11:26pm 17/03/10 |
skinny dudes who think they eat heaps....don't. Rubbish, I lived with a mate for years. We basically ate the same food almost every day, although he always ate a bigger lunch. Neither of us had weight problems, but I was always a fair bit bigger. Me: 6'3 & 100kg, him 6'2 & ~80kg One day I did my knee and stopped exercising, but of course I kept eating the same food, maybe a bit less. I blew out to 117kg in about 2 months and bf% went from 11 to 25. My buddy was actually trying to gain weight and started eating even more, he still couldn't get past 80kg. It's now about 7 years later, he still eats mountains of food and weighs 78kg and I've continued to struggle despite making a concious effort to eat well/less |
| #50 11:27pm 17/03/10 |
nat
...I just thought that with our all the advances in science and medicine and our understanding of the human body these days we would have worked out the reasoning behind this ages ago...but it seems we haven't!
| #51 11:29pm 17/03/10 |
I feel that drinking and taking drugs reduces your kidney and liver function which seems to slow my metabolism down. If i'm healthier I can eat more and it goes through me.
| #52 11:34pm 17/03/10 |
Murderer
Drugs, even cigarettes increase you're metabolism. Everything has to do with it I guess, you eat fatty food, you should burn it off. Unfortunately, Some peoples life styles don't allow them to keep in shape. For instance, I was starting work at 12AM one week, then finishing at 12AM the next. Really screwed my body clock and life around, would wake up at 2PM with 2 hrs to get to work, fast food is so much easier. Not that I was pigging out, or eating macca's every day... but basically the only exercise I was getting was at work, and walking to/from. If you are that worried about weight etc and looking after yourself, the first step would be to goto you're gp... Maybe, a gym?? Or gathering with friends to walk with on a nightly basis etc? My mother use to weigh 188kg (She was one huuuuge bitch)... she use to walk 6km a night and goto the gym, got down to like 80kg or something unreal and won some "Weightwatches" thing.. Discipline, knowing you're body is the best way.. you don't have to do 3hrs a day at the gym to trim/bulk up. |
| #53 11:39pm 17/03/10 |
...I just thought that with our all the advances in science and medicine and our understanding of the human body these days we would have worked out the reasoning behind this ages ago...but it seems we haven't! are you retarded or what? |
| #54 11:45pm 17/03/10 |
skinny dudes who think they eat heaps....don't.Rubbish, I lived with a mate for years. ok, what i'm saying is the people trying to put on weight and saying 'i couldn't eat any more or i'd burst' just aren't eating as much as they think they are. or aren't taking in the calories they need to. Try GOMAD (gallon of milk a day) on top of 6 meals a day, plus tablespoons of olive oil twice a day. That's eating a lot metric s***load, and virtually anyone will put on weight with that. |
| #55 11:53pm 17/03/10 |
Drugs, even cigarettes increase you're metabolism. I notice the more I drink (spirits and diet softdrink or soda water or water) the quicker I lose weight. If I drink beer etc it just piles on. I guess it's the sugars (carbs) being turned into alcohol during distilling vs beer being full of carbs etc? When I drink I don't eat much also. |
| #56 11:55pm 17/03/10 |
Most of the kilojoule content in beers and stuff is the alcohol itself. That's why low carb beers being a healthier option is pretty much a crock of s***.
| #57 11:57pm 17/03/10 |
There's a documentary by the BBC called Why Are Thin People Not Fat. It is pretty cool. I think they double the calorie intake, but aren't allowed to do any physical activity for 4 weeks or something. |
| #58 12:00am 18/03/10 |
I have pretty much hit a glass ceiling with my weight I think, I've never been over 155kg's and i pretty much hover around 140-150 these days How tall are you? Because I'm 6'5", weigh 98KG, and I wouldn't call myself skinny. I don't think of myself as fat either, but I certainly would if I had an extra 50KG of fat on me. |
| #59 12:07am 18/03/10 |
Once I hit around 30 I found I was putting on weight easier then in my 20's. Although that prolly had a lot to do when I got my first pc when quake came out. Instead of going outside I was spending hours in front of the computer playing games.
At the moment I'm trying to bulk up a bit. Not sure how much I weigh but it's prolly around the 100kg mark. I really should buy some scales so I can keep track. But as long as I don't turn into a fat slob I'll be happy. Also teq, you don't look 155kg in that pic. You don't look fat so you must be one tall motherf***er. LOL |
| #60 12:08am 18/03/10 |
neffo
Most of the kilojoule content in beers and stuff is the alcohol itself. That's why low carb beers being a healthier option is pretty much a crock of s***. First part isn't true, second part is. |
| #61 12:21am 18/03/10 |
iMatchFixa
My heaviest weight is 73kg, i've been trying to get to 75kg (i'm only 175 cm's tall) but after months of gym i just can't crack it god damn it. I fluctuate between 70 - 73 kgs. I think i eat a fair amount but since these days i play soccer 3 times a week and do gym 3-4 times a week i reckon i definitely need to eat more. Getting more ripped but i want gain some size first then rip that s*** when i'm at the right size. |
| #62 12:31am 18/03/10 |
Hmm okay where do all the kilojoules come from then? wolframalpha says there is 162mg of sugar in a 'beer' which is only .162 grams isn't it? And it says there is 7 grams of carbs which is also a pretty small amount.
| #63 12:30am 18/03/10 |
So weight loss tip of the day is start smoking or doing drugs?
| #64 01:25am 18/03/10 |
Crusty old man
So weight loss tip of the day is start smoking or doing drugs? Woo!! |
| #65 01:53am 18/03/10 |
Once I hit around 30 I found I was putting on weight easier then in my 20's. Although that prolly had a lot to do when I got my first pc when quake came out. Instead of going outside I was spending hours in front of the computer playing games. yeah same ... late 20's my metabolism definately slowed down. Moved to america and the damn high fructose corn syrup in everything hammered me. I shut off all carbs for just over a month and then introduced them back slowly ... lost nearly 10kg and haven't gained any back yet. Still trying to keep off much heavy carbs ( pasta, rice, potato, etc ) and no surplus sugars ( random junk, leaded soft drinks, etc ). |
| #66 02:18am 18/03/10 |
funny rock
to the OP: why don't you post a food log for the next 7 days?
| #67 03:10am 18/03/10 |
rippetoe's 5x5
gallon of milk a day then tell me u dont put on weight |
| #68 06:09am 18/03/10 |
I was like this until a few years after uni, and realized I was about to hit 70kg so took up cycling - I'm 5'10. Before too long I was back down to 63kg. Recently I've been eating s*** and not been riding so much, and have gone back up to 69kg, and aim to cut that back down.
I'm happy to go back up to 70kg if it's muscle, but realistically my BF% is around 17%. |
| #69 06:43am 18/03/10 |
My calorie intake is pretty small. I don't snack, I don't tend to ever crave food unless I'm obviously hungry. I eat fairly healthy food, 3 meals a day with something small at morning tea. I also stop eating when I'm full, regardless of how much food is left over. I don't exercise much at the moment, but in the past I have had to take supplements when going to the gym. And I'm skinny as a rake. The most unhealthy item in my diet at the moment would be caffeine with 3 coffees a day. I drink probably 6 beers a week for my alcohol intake, normally done over the weekend. The wife believes my weight is due to my small intake after watching my habits, and I would have to agree. |
| #70 07:47am 18/03/10 |
Nathan
To lose weight, calories in < calories out is true. What isn't true, I would say, is that your body absorbs 100% of the calories in the food. As someone who definitely has to work hard to keep my weight in check, the perspective I like to take is that the people who can eat heaps of crap and not gain weight are actually defective - their bodies only extract a low percentage of the energy in the food they ate. By contrast, my body extracts almost all the energy content; very efficient at energy extraction - but undesirable in our world where food is plentiful. 500 years ago, these skinny people who cant gain weight would be dead, but alas in today's world an efficient body is just an unwanted burden. |
| #71 09:41am 18/03/10 |
Offset
ok, what i'm saying is the people trying to put on weight and saying 'i couldn't eat any more or i'd burst' just aren't eating as much as they think they are. or aren't taking in the calories they need to. Try GOMAD (gallon of milk a day) on top of 6 meals a day, plus tablespoons of olive oil twice a day. That's eating a lot metric s***load, and virtually anyone will put on weight with that. The problem I faced when trying to eat like this was I kept falling sick. I don't know, maybe my stomach has shrunk and just could not digest all the food. When I was trying to eat myself silly the next day I would find myself stuck on the toilet flushing away all that food i just ate:( Now I'm on a smaller portion size 6 meals a day diet and I'm going to cut out alcohol. |
| #72 09:45am 18/03/10 |
build up your intake over a period of time dude, you'll get used to it in a few weeks. |
| #73 09:53am 18/03/10 |
RockitMan
I think genetics has a large part to play but of course I don't know how. Because some lucky people no matter what their size - skinny or bigger, always stay really lean (as in low bodyfat), even without exercise. Whereas others will carry bodyfat even if they're skinny. |
| #74 11:15am 18/03/10 |
Don't know how I missed this thread yesterday. Genetics is a huge part of weight. Also, thinner people also tend to have "less efficient" bacteria in their gut, so they excrete more of the calories that larger people tend to absorb. Calories in vs calories out is like one of those amazing laws of the universe. Studies show it doesn't matter if you cut calories by restricting carbs (eg Atkinson diet) or by cutting out a portion of protein/fats/carbs - it's the number of calories that makes the difference to your weight. Generally people are really s*** at knowing the amount of calories in their food. This is a real problem with the way we educate people about healthy eating. Healthy eating is NOT avoiding "junk foods". It's understanding the calories, nutrients and vitamins that humans need to be healthy and grow. I'm 25, skinny as a rake, but eat an enomormous amount of calories including 2 deserts daily...and I know I'm not the only one. The problem with this is that "2 deserts daily" isn't necessarily an enourmous amount of calories. What else is in your diet? To eat an enourmous amount of calories is actually really hard work - for me to gain weight, it took me eating four meals a day to the point where I felt sick each meal. Even then, I was only getting about 4000 - 5000 calories. I have a couple of very lean, skinny friends, and they complain that they can't put on weight, even though they eat heaps of food. When I ask them what they actually eat, they almost always say they don't have breakfast, or only have a piece of toast or a bowl of cereal. Then for lunch and dinner they still wouldn't come close to what I eat when I'm trying to LOSE weight. |
| #75 11:29am 18/03/10 |
I should also point out that people who get more than 3000 calories in a single meal probably don't do that every single day. If you're trying to put on weight, you need to increase your calories you consume on every single day. A lot of skinny dudes may eat huge amounts of food sometimes, but I'm betting that there are a lot of days where they eat far, far less than bigger dudes. |
| #76 11:34am 18/03/10 |
I use the following awesome system: there's two types of people in the world - those that walk on escalators, and those that stand still. If you're a stand-still personality then you are a dormant/sedentary type that does everything slowly and using as little energy as possible. If you're a walker then you're more active and more energetic in everything you do. The walkers burn more energy and are thus more skinny. SCIENCE! |
| #77 11:36am 18/03/10 |
your science is wrong troggles;
im a walker, but i get fat if i dont work hard not to |
| #78 11:37am 18/03/10 |
I use the following awesome system: there's two types of people in the world - those that walk on escalators, and those that stand still. If you're a stand-still personality then you are a dormant/sedentary type that does everything slowly and using as little energy as possible. If you're a walker then you're more active and more energetic in everything you do. The walkers burn more energy and are thus more skinny. Actually, walking is a pretty useless exercise in terms of burning calories. Your hypothesis may be correct that generally people who are more active (and walk on escalators) burn more calories, however this gives no indication of how many calories these people consume. People who walk on escalators will still be fatties if they eat far more calories than they expend. |
| #79 11:41am 18/03/10 |
sparrow
What billy says actually makes sense. I used to think that I must have some amazing genes or metabolism or whatever, but I soon realised I just don't eat that much. Sure, what I eat isn't healthy, but it's still not alot overall. |
| #80 11:43am 18/03/10 |
are you retarded or what?Why are you abusing the guy? He simply stated how his assumptions were wrong. I doubt you could even tell me why science hasn't solved the mystery apart from saying "it's complicated lol". Stop being a dick, foreskin. |
| #81 11:45am 18/03/10 |
Nerfbringer
Don't you eat HJs like twice a day Sparrow? :P You do play a lot of sport though. |
| #82 11:47am 18/03/10 |
Hungry Jack's twice a day still isn't a lot of food... In a double whopper meal with large fries and DIET softdrink, you'll be getting about ~1100 calories. If you did this twice a day you'd only be getting 2200, which is about what most people need each day. You don't need to "play a lot of sport" to burn that off - it gets burned off from keeping your brain active and your body temp at a constant. |
| #83 11:56am 18/03/10 |
How much does brain activity burn? I feel like I think crazy amounts all day every day; its pretty rare that my brain 'switches off' (like when I'm watching TV). |
| #84 12:10pm 18/03/10 |
sparrow
Don't you eat HJs like twice a day Sparrow? :P I wish. That would be my heaven. But if/when I do that, I start feeling like s***. And I don't play that much sport. Hungry Jack's twice a day still isn't a lot of food... In a double whopper meal with large fries and DIET softdrink, you'll be getting about ~1100 calories. If you did this twice a day you'd only be getting 2200, which is about what most people need each day. You don't need to "play a lot of sport" to burn that off - it gets burned off from keeping your brain active and your body temp at a constant. lol who gets diet softdrink? Also, the uni seems to be trying to keep my body temp a constant freezing. How much does brain activity burn? This is why you're skinny clearly |
| #85 12:19pm 18/03/10 |
I asked Professor Jason Mattingley that same question and he said he doesn't know if anyone has done the study to determine if thinking harder burns more calories (but it's not his specific field of expertise). From memory, however, the brain uses ~80% of the glucose you ingest. |
| #86 12:23pm 18/03/10 |
I'd be highly surprised if "thinking hard all day" makes you burn more calories... your brain is constantly active, and all we know from fMRI technology is that it seems like different parts of the brain recruit different amounts of blood according to which brain area is involved in whatever you are doing. However, this doesn't mean that your brain is using more energy overall, just that it's distributing it unevenly. |
| #87 12:25pm 18/03/10 |
You don't need to "play a lot of sport" to burn that off - it gets burned off from keeping your brain active and your body temp at a constant. This could have something to do with the type of computer games you play, the more brain stimulating, ie, rpgs/rts where you have to think more could possibly burn more calories than say spamming dumb s*** in an fps, or say, watching tv etc, which would explain why your brother is so dumb! :) |
| #88 12:30pm 18/03/10 |
^As insanely awesome as that idea is, in most computer games (Tf2, counterstrike, wow, starcraft), most of your decisions and thoughts are automatic.
It's like driving. You might think it would take a lot of brain power but a large portion of it has become automatic, as compared to 'learning to drive'. This is why people who are great at online games do so well. Their reaction time is faster 'coz they don't really need to think hard. last edited by Phooks at 12:57:38 18/Mar/10 |
| #89 12:57pm 18/03/10 |
When i was 18 i was 62kg and 6" tall. I started training more and went straight up to 67kg which i stayed there for 8 years. It was only when i started to hit 25 my metabolism started to slow down. But i also felt when my metabolism started to slow down i actually started to slow down in some of things i was doing also. i stop competiting last year and went from 67kg to 73kg and now i have started crossfit training and up around the 75kg. I eat alot however i find i do eat because i need to and hungry (im hungry like every 30mins). I found protien shake help alot but you need to do heavy weight lifting.
| #90 12:53pm 18/03/10 |
I would love to f***ing know why you gronks are quoting your height in the imperial system yet quote your weight in metric.
Consistency, plz. Oh Yeah and: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Metric_system_adoption_map.svg In 1999 NASA lost a $125 million Mars orbiter because one engineering team used metric units while another used US customary units for a calculation. last edited by greazy at 13:15:46 18/Mar/10 |
| #91 01:15pm 18/03/10 |
Consistency, plz.6'2" and 128lbs! Happy? Skydiving has f***ed up my metric, wingloadings on canopies is done in pounds, speed is measured in mph and height is feet. It's weird as when a european person visits, they use metric for skydiving... "ok we'll exit at 3200 meters, breakoff at 1200m" and even Australians are like "wtf :S what height is that". last edited by CHUB at 13:19:53 18/Mar/10 |
| #92 01:19pm 18/03/10 |
hahaYou don't need to "play a lot of sport" to burn that off - it gets burned off from keeping your brain active and your body temp at a constant.This could have something to do with the type of computer games you play, the more brain stimulating, ie, rpgs/rts where you have to think more could possibly burn more calories than say spamming dumb s*** in an fps, or say, watching tv etc, which would explain why your brother is so dumb! :) I read a study YEARS ago that showed how playing 'high-intensity' video games (a la FPS games) burned about as many calories as going for a 5km/h walk |
| #93 01:24pm 18/03/10 |
I'd like to know what the control condition was on that experiment :O |
| #94 01:33pm 18/03/10 |
Mass
I'm 35 and can eat anything I like and lose weight, in fact the more sugary, fatty the better. Did I also mention I have type 1 diabetes....might have something to do with it.
| #95 01:39pm 18/03/10 |
lewd
never been overweight...... i eat f***ing heaps........a lot of it is healthy is all. also prob has to do with not being lazy, being highly active, and the most important trait regarding weight control, i stress easily. stress keeps the weight off..... shame ill be dead at 50. most people i see who complain about there weight, drink too much v, and eat way too much sugar, without being highly active. working in an office all day and going to gym after work is not highly active btw. i have a friend who was slightly bulky, now shes a stunner, she works in an office. she also, runs 2 hours in the morning, runs on her lunch break, and does boxing as well. i bring up the office because i fear most of youse work in one, and its a lifestyle that can have you eating lollies with the ladies, and getting caught in a rut. if i did the same, i too would be overweight i reckon. |
| #96 02:38pm 18/03/10 |
I would love to f***ing know why you gronks are quoting your height in the imperial system yet quote your weight in metric. Yeah, it's retarded, but I generally quote my height in feet and inches because more people seem to understand it. When I tell oldies that I'm 196cm tall, they pretty much always want me to translate it into feet and inches. |
| #97 02:43pm 18/03/10 |
konstie
I would love to f***ing know why you gronks are quoting your height in the imperial system yet quote your weight in metric.Yeah, it's retarded, but I generally quote my height in feet and inches because more people seem to understand it. When I tell oldies that I'm 196cm tall, they pretty much always want me to translate it into feet and inches. exact same thing happened to me last night. metric or gtfo. |
| #98 02:44pm 18/03/10 |
sparrow
Consistency, plz.6'2" and 128lbs! How are you that height and weight? I about the same, but only 5"10, and most people say I'm too skinny (I'm not). |
| #99 02:48pm 18/03/10 |
guy lives on a farm where he grows his own food and stuff. what do you expect?
oh and stop hitting on chub he is already taken. |
| #100 04:56pm 18/03/10 |
funky
185cm (6ft1 ish) and ~70kg (move between 68-70kg normally) and i'm generally admonished by most people for being 'too skinny'. heaviest i've been is 79kg after i had a back injury, didn't do any exercise for yonks and drank like it was my job. as soon as i started back into sport the weight fell back off. i've started eating better in the last few years, but still don't have the healthiest diet.
chub, i'm surprised a strong wind doesn't simply blow you over at that weight, i can't imagine being 10kg lighter at my height, let alone an inch taller. according to that website posted earlier (5x5 or whatever) I should be 85kg to not look skinny...think that might be a bridge too far, but wouldn't mind being around 80kg with greater strength. i've just busted my ankle up again, so i will have to modify these plans somewhat, but i had planned on getting into the gym/working to put on a bit of muscle - i've tried before and it's been fruitless but i was going to be more committed and change up my diet at the same time as increasing the weights workload. guess i'll wait to see what the recovery time on the ankle is first. |
| #101 05:12pm 18/03/10 |
How are you that height and weight? I about the same, but only 5"10, and most people say I'm too skinny (I'm not).Consistency, plz.6'2" and 128lbs! 2 miles adn 3/4 of a mile. What do I win? I get 'too skinny' all the time. It s***s my missus, but I don't even care and/or notice. On occassion I answer back (to close friends), "Am I too skinny or are you just a fat f***? That's the question." |
| #102 05:18pm 18/03/10 |
sparrow
2 miles adn 3/4 of a mile. What do I win?I have no idea what you're trying to say I get 'too skinny' all the time. It s***s my missus, but I don't even care and/or notice. On occassion I answer back (to close friends), "Am I too skinny or are you just a fat f***? That's the question." I don't care that people call me too skinny (haven't for ages anyway) - I was merely pointing out that 6"2 and 58kg seems insanely...odd. |
| #103 05:21pm 18/03/10 |
It's funny though that often the people calling you skinny (I've copped some in the last few weeks actually, despite not being text book "skinny") are usually unfit, big or the have noticed the change in your weight (if you've lost a lot of weight) and can't come to terms with the fact that you're slim and feeling better about yourself than they are.
It's kind of annoying cause I'm actually not skinny. I'm slim and there's areas of fat which I can't wait to ditch. As well, I have muscle (I do push ups, crunches, leg presses etc) but under looser clothes you never see that. Smeh |
| #104 06:01pm 18/03/10 |
Yeah I think the more skinny people eat the more they s*** and not much gets stored as fat. (I say this from experience) Since I turned 35 though I noticed I can get fat if I eat big :)
| #105 06:25pm 18/03/10 |
+1 on the "skinny people don't eat as much as they think" isn't always true.
Times when I've made big efforts to gain weight, including supplements, 6meals + snacks in between etc and yeah, I just found myself taking 3 s***s a day every day. I also fidget like a motherf***er. |
| #106 06:41pm 18/03/10 |
weedy
I used to be like that when i was your age, now im 30 and believe me it does all go somewhere... your metabolism slows down and it all goes into a gigantic beer gut ;) |
| #107 06:44pm 18/03/10 |
chub eat some taro, get it from the markets. will make u big and strong
| #108 07:32pm 18/03/10 |
There's a documentary by the BBC called Why Are Thin People Not Fat. It is pretty cool. I think they double the calorie intake, but aren't allowed to do any physical activity for 4 weeks or something. Thanks for that, watching now. |
| #109 08:17pm 18/03/10 |
I can't believe I'm going to say this but yeah, what Billy Hardball said.
Also... From memory, however, the brain uses ~80% of the glucose you ingest. I was told 75% of energy intake is used by the brain, so what you said sounds about right. |
| #110 08:21pm 18/03/10 |
Some Fat Bastard
I'm almost EXACTLY following the experience of my father, which is interesting, because he was a rake but at 50yo he chubbed out a bit (90+ kg) without changing his lifestyle. Now he has to diet and watch his weight a bit, which he's good at.A bit like me in the sense I was always about 75kg until I hit about 46 years old a few years back. Now I sit around the 83 to 85kg mark but as you can see from recent photos I'm still not fat, I'm not fit though. I've never been skinny but I've never been fat either. |
| #111 08:26pm 18/03/10 |
lewd
your metabolism slows down and it all goes into a gigantic beer gut ;)
your metabolism slows down and it all goes into a gigantic beer gut ;) true that. starting to happen at 33 years old. hard to lose the stomach fat. look like e.t when driving/sitting slouched. |
| #112 08:51pm 18/03/10 |
How are you that height and weight? I about the same, but only 5"10, and most people say I'm too skinny (I'm not).I don't look very skinny IMO, my torso looks normal for my size but my limbs (especially arms) are skinny as f***... little girl wrists (can touch my thumb+finger around them without touching the wrist at all :S I dunno, can you do that?). I sometimes look at my mates and think we're very similar size and I'm shocked to find out they're 70-75kg. |
| #113 09:55pm 18/03/10 |
nope but i can get it around there just barely
my mum was worried i was doing drugs when I was 110kg, telling me I was far too skinny and it wasn't healthy - I was about 19 though and probably doing lots of drugs |
| #114 10:23pm 18/03/10 |
Seven
Brain energy usage In the average adult human, the brain represents about 2% of the body weight. Remarkably, despite its relatively small size, the brain accounts for about 20% of the oxygen and, hence, calories consumed by the body Also states the usage is rather consistent. Please note PNAS world's 2nd most revered journals in Science. Also here Suggesting 40% of weight-gain factors are genetic. There are also thoughts that sleep deprivation may be part of the problem here Also Hogfather, you may have misinterpreted what I said or I explained it wrong - once you gain the weight, it's very easy to stay UP at that weight, much harder to go DOWN in weight (fat numbers remain the same) linky |
| #115 06:48am 19/03/10 |
Also Hogfather, you may have misinterpreted what I said or I explained it wrong - once you gain the weight, it's very easy to stay UP at that weight, much harder to go DOWN in weight (fat numbers remain the same) linky You said that the number of cells changes as you gain or lose weight. Research demonstrates otherwise. I made no statement about how hard or easy it is to stay at any weight. |
| #116 11:38am 19/03/10 |
I was told 75% of energy intake is used by the brain, so what you said sounds about right. I didn't say ~75% of energy intake is used by the brain, I said ~75% of glucose intake is used by the brain. In the average adult human, the brain represents about 2% of the body weight. Remarkably, despite its relatively small size, the brain accounts for about 20% of the oxygen and, hence, calories consumed by the body Is that really how it works?? Oxygen requirement is equivalent to calorie requirement? Or is that just another one of those neuroscience generalisations... A quick scan of the citations doesn't reveal any reference to how many calories the brain is burning, so, in my humble opinion, the jury is still out. |
| #117 11:52am 19/03/10 |
^ Fair enough. Glucose then.
| #118 12:00pm 19/03/10 |
Please note PNAS world's 2nd most revered journals in Science. Ah, no. It's very good and I just submitted a manuscript to it so I really hope it gets in, but it's not even close to #2. The link you have gave number of citations which is not a good measure because it doesn't take into account the number of articles published. The reason JBC is top for citations is because it publishes a huge number of articles. So when you look at citations/article or impact factor JBC (5.52*) comes in much lower than New Engl J Med (50+), Nature (31+) ,Cell (31+), Science (28+), Other Nature journals (15-30), over 100 other journals (many of them specific to a field, and then PNAS (9.38). * This ranks the most cited journal at #323 for impact factor, which is the generally accepted measure of standing. |
| #119 12:07pm 19/03/10 |
The brain burns something like 20-30W of energy on average which is as mentioned, about 20-25%. At rest, people burn roughly 80-100W of energy to maintain temperature. Without doing anything all day, you'll use roughly 5,500 - 7,000kJ of energy just maintaining bodily functions depending on size and everything else.
So when you do a 300 Calorie jog, you're not adding a great deal to your daily usage but it makes a difference in the long run. Most people probably burn between 8,500 and 10,000kJ on a normal day without having done any gym or cardio sessions. Swimmers like Michael Phelps apparently eat close to 6000 Cal a day, which is about three times what most people need. He must be doing a f@ckload of training. |
| #120 12:11pm 19/03/10 |
Is that really how it works?? Oxygen requirement is equivalent to calorie requirement? Or is that just another one of those neuroscience generalisations... A quick scan of the citations doesn't reveal any reference to how many calories the brain is burning, so, in my humble opinion, the jury is still out. All I know about that is oxygen is required for aerobic respiration (obviously) which is our dominant method of turning anything into energy we can use, and the brain can only take and use very specific substrates (i.e. mostly only simple sugars while other tissues can use fat and protein too - although all of this is very hazy in my memory so I'd be happy to be proven wrong). If that's true then using 75-80% of glucose and 20% of total energy/oxygen use could be the same thing. |
| #121 12:17pm 19/03/10 |
Matt
CHUB has worms (or is lying about food intake) edit: otherwise you are the very rare exception to the rule (i.e. medical anomaly), eat enough and you *will* put on weight |
| #122 12:52pm 19/03/10 |
Yeah I think the more skinny people eat the more they s*** and not much gets stored as fat. (I say this from experience) Since I turned 35 though I noticed I can get fat if I eat big :) lol i eat heaps but i cant go to the toilet probably go twice a week, but i do eat really healthy. I find i can only go to the toilet alot more if drink protein shakes.. http://www.fitday.com/ Go to this site its free and you put in what you eat on that day and it calculates your calaries and protien fats and carbs etc. you also add in your exercise activity and will tell you if you are eating enough or not enough |
| #123 01:13pm 19/03/10 |
you s*** twice a week!?
christ they must be epic |
| #124 01:40pm 19/03/10 |
you s*** twice a week!? Either that or you live on C-rats |
| #125 01:41pm 19/03/10 |
well, since we're on the subject
I crap maybe twice a day, sometimes 3 times the morning one is clockwork, as soon as I wake up I make a B-line for the loo, the afternoon one is always within a few hours after lunch |
| #126 01:54pm 19/03/10 |
This thread is getting progressively more disguting.
| #127 02:20pm 19/03/10 |
the secret to taking a really good dump is to squat.
If ur not squatting ur doing it wrong. |
| #128 02:27pm 19/03/10 |
Holy s***, FaceMan! No pun intended. |
| #129 02:29pm 19/03/10 |
Once a Day for me. 4:10, like clockwork.
| #130 02:32pm 19/03/10 |
Thanks for sharing.
I miss smoking instead of eating. I was nice and skinny |
| #131 02:42pm 19/03/10 |
you're getting back there though matey!
| #132 02:44pm 19/03/10 |
lewd
Swimmers like Michael Phelps apparently eat close to 6000 Cal a day, which is about three times what most people need. He must be doing a f@ckload of training. or just bonging on...... weight loss is diferent for everyone. there is no such thing as one way to lose weight for all......if your overweight, maybe you need to know your body better. and stop eating all the cakes. |
| #133 02:47pm 19/03/10 |
the secret to taking a really good dump is to squat. Yeah, this is actually true. Japan has a lot of toilets around the place that are look kind of like a urinal in the ground. You squat over them and do your business. I was hoping to avoid using them, until we were at the Harajuku markets, I really needed to take a s***, and the only toilet available was one of these squat-s***ters. I did it, and I was amazed. It was amazing how fast I was able to get in there, drop a few, then get out. Not that it's particularly difficult to take a s*** normally, but squatting is definitely a more efficient way to do it. |
| #134 02:50pm 19/03/10 |
there is no such thing as one way to lose weight for all...... im pretty sure my mate tony disagrees with this |
| #135 03:00pm 19/03/10 |
The health benefits of squatting toilets are pretty much indisputable, humans are meant to squat when they chuck a s***. I don't really see a change happening in western society though. |
| #136 03:02pm 19/03/10 |
weight loss is diferent for everyone. there is no such thing as one way to lose weight for all..... I heard there was a revolutionary new method, scientifically proven, reported in several highly recognised medical journals... ...stop putting food in your mouth. |
| #137 03:04pm 19/03/10 |
I'm pretty sure there are people who can live on sunlight and oxygen Pinky. I read about it on the internet once. |
| #138 03:06pm 19/03/10 |
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inedia
Breatharianism |
| #139 03:57pm 19/03/10 |
lewd
Scientific theories about nutrition and common sense both indicate that a person who follows this practice even in the short term would die of starvation or dehydration. Nutritionists say that carbohydrates, fats, and proteins are the body's only sources of energy.[34][35][36] Even when the body is fasting, it burns carbohydrates, fats, and proteins for energy, and they come from the body's own reserves. A breatharian would first burn glycogen (a carbohydrate) and then body fat and muscle (a source of protein).[37] soooooooooo, yeah nah? sounds like it only works if you believe in magic. and im guessing a breatharian wouldnt live a highly active lifestyle. they should call themselves anorexists perhaps. |
| #140 07:04pm 19/03/10 |
lol i eat heaps but i cant go to the toilet probably go twice a week Yeah, same here! Probably a bit more often than twice a week, but definitely not once a day or multiple times a day, probably only once every couple of days. Maybe it has something to do with me having super efficient fat guy bacteria in my gut that absorbs absolutely everything out of the food I eat so theres not much waste? f*** my fat guy bacteria, they need some kind of bacteria transplant operation so I can get some of that skinny guy bacteria in me. |
| #141 07:39pm 19/03/10 |
I go once a day. Granted I eat a decent amount of fibre. You're not really meant to wait three days to go. |
| #142 08:07pm 19/03/10 |
i go every day coz im not a freak
if you dont go everyday, go to your doctor and tell him "im a freak with bowel problems" |
| #143 08:28pm 19/03/10 |
I miss smoking instead of eating. I was nice and skinny i have seen kat.zip so unless you were smoking at age 9 you were never skinny |
| #144 08:31pm 19/03/10 |
lewd
3 days.......f***
you must feel like so blocked and bloated. i go 4/5 hours after i eat.......... wakes me early sometimes..... oh yeah, i sleep f*** all, thats probably got heaps to do with the skinnies. get up, do a s***, then do s*** ftw !!!!!!! |
| #145 09:17pm 19/03/10 |
You guys are going to have bowel cancer :S no joke.
I go twice a day, like clockwork... then again I eat 7-8 pieces of fruit daily. |
| #146 09:38pm 19/03/10 |
You guys are going to have bowel cancer :S no joke. Eat All Bran for a week and no joke, they'll have lost their cancer quick smart. Gets the system churning. |
| #147 10:05pm 19/03/10 |
if you aren't going once a day you don't have enough fibre in your diet. eat more grains (unprocessed best), fruits and leafy veges. |
| #148 10:29pm 19/03/10 |
Drink more water too.
| #149 10:39pm 19/03/10 |
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inedia I'm not surprised these kind of cults are rare. Trying to spread your beliefs and convert others while avoiding death is probably tough. |
| #150 10:49pm 19/03/10 |
lewd
Drink more water too. +1 |
| #151 11:33pm 19/03/10 |
I drink about 3 litres of water a day, for breakfast either eat something like all bran, or some toast made out of that Lawsons wholegrain bread. For lunch, usually something like a ham sandwhich, once again with the wholegrain bread, with lots of lettuce. And for dinner usually a steak or a piece of grilled chicken or an omlette with a side of salad. So its not like I eat unhealthy, or am lacking fibre, and its not like I get bloated or drop a 5kg s***, its all relatively normal when the time comes, its just the time only comes every second day or so.
| #152 11:45pm 19/03/10 |
Where's the fruit Khel?
You must get sick all the time without fruit. |
| #153 12:13am 20/03/10 |
Well yeah, I usually have an apple or some dried apricots or something mid morning and mid afternoon, but I don't really consider that a meal. But yeah, I guess I don't eat heaps and heaps of fruit.
| #154 03:30am 20/03/10 |
You must get sick all the time without fruit. Why is that? |
| #155 09:37am 20/03/10 |
i wnna be more like chub and less like me
| #156 09:45am 20/03/10 |
Yeah, for me it's at least once a day, sometimes as frequently as three. I never used to s*** that frequently, but since I've started a regular habit of going to the gym 4 days a week, I seem to be doing a lot more toilet trips. It's fine though, I generally get it all done at work, where I'm paid to be doing it.
| #157 12:51pm 20/03/10 |
pro poopers itt
| #158 12:57pm 20/03/10 |
Haven't pooped since thursday, will keep you guys posted.
| #159 01:46pm 20/03/10 |
I wake up in the morning, drink a coffee (with lots of milk) then go within 30mins I'm lactose intolerant though :/ my wife's on my back about eating cereal each morning, though she is LI too.. and just can't get with the logic. We're over 30 now - no more free rides from our bodies eh. What we're putting in is sweating/breathing/pooping out. I quit smoking for a few weeks earlier this year - I understand why women use so many products that are scented now. |
| #160 05:13pm 20/03/10 |
I exercise around 4 to 5 hours a week . I can't imagine going back to doing nothing. I may not be skinny or super fit but I am getting there. Muscles are forming and I feel overall better. skinny doesn't mean healthy and muscles don't always mean strength
| #161 05:45pm 20/03/10 |
koopz get lactose free milk dude. I'm lactose intolerant as well and that milk is awesome. It's called Zymil btw. Only comes in 1 litres carton no 2 litres etc. |
| #162 06:57pm 20/03/10 |
It ridiculously sweet. However if it is your only option it's a good one. The sugar has already been broken down for you.
| #163 07:14pm 20/03/10 |
got a mate who's put on like 10kg or more from eating high calorie meals every day. Gone from nothing to become pretty shredded for his size..
Just eat like phelps or that fat bitch in the usa.. 12,000calories plus a day.. That'll put some meat on ya. |
| #164 07:17pm 20/03/10 |
Yea Zymil's awesome, it's the only milk that doesn't make me sick. Even soy milk makes me feel like s***
| #165 10:36pm 20/03/10 |
It ridiculously sweet. However if it is your only option it's a good one. The sugar has already been broken down for you. Personally I don't find it ridiculously sweet, certainly sweeter than normal milk. And I think you mean lactose's been broken down not sugar :) |
| #166 02:27pm 21/03/10 |
You must get sick all the time without fruit.Why is that? Hmm, it's a good point. They don't tell you to eat the food pyramid for no reason. I dunno all the reasons, but one good reason is that there are a group of amino acids that your body can't make - non-essential amino acids. Don't ask me why they are called 'non-essential', I didn't name them. Since you can't make them, you have to consume them. Some fruit like strawberries contain high levels of these. Amino acids are the building blocks of protein (among other things). So yeah, on a scale of 1 to 'damn important' they are at the damn important end. |
| #167 07:03pm 21/03/10 |
| #167 |