As you may have noticed if you've been trying to get to the QGL gaming servers, there are some network issues that are preventing normal pingtimes. If you're interested, you can do a tracert from a DOS box and check out the different routes the magic packets are taking to www.qgl.org and the gaming server (202.139.226.2). This is being worked on and normal service should be restored as soon as possible. |
| #0 10:44pm 19/11/00 |
heardy
gaming server?? so you have one server for all your games? man wats the specs of it? |
| #1 11:32pm 19/11/00 |
^hir0
they're all listed on the right hand side of the qgl.org main page... scroll down a bit and u should see them... i spose i could paste them here but that would be rendundant... much like excessive fullstops... |
| #2 11:47pm 19/11/00 |
Cray YMP We stole it from the government so they couldn't read our emails. |
| #3 11:47pm 19/11/00 |
Trog I have sent you a few trace route's in the past as you know but I may havr failed to mention that the pings get heaps worse after about 3:00 pm. Weather or not this makes any differance I don't know I just put it down to more taffic online after school is out.I'm not sure if anyone else is having the same trouble at that particular time of day but it's a thought. Oh yeah the bad pings seem to continue through the early hours of the morning like 1:00am - 2:00am |
| #4 12:00am 20/11/00 |
You're on optus, right? |
| #5 12:10am 20/11/00 |
My bpa pings are terrible to any of the q3 servers on 202.139.226.2 but I get an excellent ping to the Powerup Tribes server on 202.139.235.201:28001 ?? sweird n stuff |
| #6 12:19am 20/11/00 |
| #7 12:29am 20/11/00 |
Trog:yeah mate thats right I have Optus.Funny thing is though not all Optus users have the same trouble as me. I know of a couple of guys in Sydney that get good pings pretty well all the time.Beats the hell out of me how they live further away using the same ISP and get better pings than I do they can get a ping of 60 - 80 and I get 350+. |
| #8 12:30am 20/11/00 |
plague
BPA Cable is routed thru brisbane. O@H Cable is routed thru sydney. BPA ADSL is routed thru melbourne. That clear anything up? pLAGue |
| #9 12:40am 20/11/00 |
thats because all of optus is routed thru sydney, so you go from bris, to syd, back to bris where as syd guys go from syd, stright to bris [useless, q was already answerd :] |
| #10 12:41am 20/11/00 |
plague
Errr, all that applies for Brisbane users, dunno about newhere else :P pLAGue PS soon to be PlagUE when I get ADSL :) (a week or so) |
| #11 12:42am 20/11/00 |
Well thats f***ed!!!I spend more time at QGL's site than any other because I like it so much.And if I could get a half decent ping on the QGL cs server I wouldn't play anywhere else.Apart from the fact that it is the by far the hardest server to get into. Oh yeah give us another CS server please please please even though I'll get crap pings on them to but at least I'll have a better chance of getting into them. |
| #12 12:47am 20/11/00 |
GreyMATr
heh, should be fairly obvious why pings are s*** to qgl servers but can be fine to the powerup server, just look at the ips, 202.139.226.* 202.139.235.* different subnets, different routing (also QGL != powerup :p) |
| #13 01:02am 20/11/00 |
plague
main () { QGL == WebCentral; WebCentral == Powerup; printf("Stfu ghey s***kunts"); return 0; } |
| #14 01:24am 20/11/00 |
bad pings to qgl make ppl go crazy |
| #15 01:25am 20/11/00 |
plague
Oh, btw... if you want to get technical, if your not actually on powerup or ozemail or optus, then if you "connect to QGL" then your connecting to Optus, not powerup. pLAGue |
| #16 01:26am 20/11/00 |
say what? |
| #17 01:34am 20/11/00 |
plague
Resolve the IP for QGL and youll see |
| #18 01:37am 20/11/00 |
My ping goes to s*** as soon as it hit's webcentral |
| #19 01:52am 20/11/00 |
thats crazy! |
| #20 01:55am 20/11/00 |
oh, btw, if you REALLY want to get technical, all of qgl is running off my linux box, which is connected to my 14.4k modem |
| #21 02:04am 20/11/00 |
Hmmmm QGL at home |
| #22 02:10am 20/11/00 |
keep us posted on whats happening trog, so far my pings are back to 100, from 300 :/ |
| #23 03:17pm 20/11/00 |
It appears to be the fact that the games server is in the Powerup subnet (as someone has pointed out), which is routed differently to stuff in WebCentral. Powerup are (afaik) investigating. |
| #24 03:59pm 20/11/00 |
trog: it was fixed for like, 1 min, i was getting 10-15ms pings to ra3 now its back to 150 :( |
| #25 04:20pm 20/11/00 |
yeah same here resilient, but i was silly enough to think that it was gonna stay like that so i jumped in. did you see me? um but yeah its rooted again :/ and i did a trace route and it was...well you know what it is. all that s*** i see in tracert may aswell be in polish or spanish cos i have nfi what it means anyway hmm it was almost fixed again :/ |
| #26 04:43pm 20/11/00 |
yeah i saw ya :P now they are all dead :D |
| #27 04:45pm 20/11/00 |
Nathan
test |
| #28 04:47pm 20/11/00 |
test |
| #29 05:04pm 20/11/00 |
Bad
Is anyone's BPA like fully f***ed now? Like cant connect to like o@h servers? |
| #30 06:01pm 20/11/00 |
ok now this is screwed up - on cable Pinging 202.139.226.2 with 32 bytes of data: Reply from 203.166.16.46: TTL expired in transit. Request timed out. Request timed out. Reply from 203.166.16.46: TTL expired in transit. Ping Statistics for 202.139.226.2 Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Loss = 2 (50% loss), Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms Then later i pinged again and got 2 packets back with approx 200 and 248 TTL and an extract from a tracert: 3 1648ms 105ms 11ms ext-router.qld-remote.bigpind.net.au [24.192.65.3] lets not go back to the days of high ping and s*** slow downloads on BPA, even my dial up wasn't this bad! |
| #31 06:08pm 20/11/00 |
audi-tone
I KNOW WHAT U f***ING MEAN THIS IS s***TING ME OFF I"M GETTIN HEAPS AND HEAPS OF f***ING PACKET LOSS s*** WHICH IS NOT!!! NORMAL I AM GETTIN PISSED OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YETi |
| #32 06:24pm 20/11/00 |
gomer
whinge whinge whinge. wanna trade for my 33.6 dialup? |
| #33 08:37pm 20/11/00 |
plague
I've just been informed that Telstra's Backbone has crashed from several sources (shock horror... their excuse was water damage :P). Can some QGL admin that knows what there talking about (*cough* *grin*) verify this? pLAGue |
| #34 08:40pm 20/11/00 |
Ad
w00t!! time to break the 1st post barrier, i am getting 400 ping on qgl but 17 on [SA] server?? what is wrong plz, f***en hell squarkyD u didnt have to take up the whole page with ur tracert s*** did u?? yup just come round to my house and get my cable modem gomer, i wont stop u:P |
| #35 09:42pm 20/11/00 |
audi-tone
OI gomer i'll trade ya mate i'll get better pings than what i'm gettin atm :- it takes like 5mins to load up this f***ing page!!!! :( cya's all goin to bed :P -=YETi=- |
| #36 10:39pm 20/11/00 |
Ad, I would guess that they are probably on different networks within the data centre and get routed differently. At the moment, the Internet is broken anyway, so blah. |
| #37 11:09pm 20/11/00 |
cyph
f***ing internet is broken again. |
| #38 11:13am 23/11/00 |
Whats with all the crying about packet loss? what is this packet loss you speak of? I came back from schoolies to notice that everyone on the qgl ra3 server had a ping over 200, yet my (BPA) was still the same as normal at -30ms? still didnt see any packet loss either. |
| #39 06:47pm 24/11/00 |
| #39 |