Topic: Stolen boat

Mate of mine had his boat stolen last night.

Last night my Malibu Sunscape 21LSV was stolen from my yard. My car was in front of the boat and it was broken in to then pushed out of the way.
Rego on the boat is TOPFUN, White and Blue with Indy Air tower and Skylon Rubicon 450's on the tower. If anyone has any info or sees it in there travels please let me know.

http://dingo.net.au/topfun.png

If anyone sees it in their travels let me know.
Some Fat Bastard
Was it insured? Still doesn't excuse the dog who stole it but it would certainly go along way to get over the grief.
Sounds pretty pro, doubt that boat ever coming back, not exactly something you take for a joy ride...

yeah it was insured.
justrev

"not exactly something you take for a joy ride"

if it's called "Top Fun" why would someone not take it for a joyride?
Plasma
Hilariously they can't have taken it far, have you checked the marina/docks etc? I'd do a stakeout :)
Someones about to have a merry xmas
time for someone to post a "I found a boat" thread

http://www.ausgamers.com/images/sigs/10037678.jpg

^^ What is that!?
justrev

It was a personalised avatar, but I did not realise no-one uses pics in sigs anymore .
im on a boat, im on a boat. everybody look at me cause im sailing on a boat
Aw man that sucks, they're a sweet boat.
Where is your mate? Is he Sydney based as well or Brisbane?

See lots of Malibu's when we go skiing on Brissie river but cant remember ever seeing TopFun. Will keep an eye out for it when we go skiing.

We park our boat out the front too, but it's mostly hidden by a retaining wall and a garden so it's hard to see from the street. All the neighbours would know it's there though. Usually a car in the way, but not always.
We keep a trailer hitch lock on it at all times when it's not hooked up to a car, they're pretty hard to break, but given work hours and a bit of perserverence it could easily be broken off...
Twinsen
Boats and Hoes
Sommescum

Did he look under the cushions on the couch. It's amazing what you find back there

"Take a good hard look at my mutherf***n boat." *sing*

Damn annoying. Hope you find it and the thief gets what's coming.
A family friend has a boat similar to that, assume it's a wakeboarding boat.

Theirs was around 100K so I am assuming this was around the same amount of coin.

Hope he gets it back
Buying a boat is a fail. But stealing a boat - that's an even bigger fail.
Some Fat Bastard
Infi, just because you get a kick out of lifting the skirts of grannies doesn't mean everyone else does.
Hilariously they can't have taken it far, have you checked the marina/docks etc? I'd do a stakeout :)
Haha, good luck finding one particular boat in Sydney Harbour. Especially with the holiday traffic they would be getting around now.

But if the boat was on a trailer it could be anywhere by now anyway.
You'd be pretty f***ing dumb to steal a boat and go around with the original name still plastered all over it...

Yeah criminals are pretty dumb in general, but thats taking it to a whole new level.
euphoria
im on a boat, im on a boat. everybody look at me cause im sailing on a boat
haha, that song also popped into my head when i first opened the thread.

also, that sucks - hope you find it or insurance provides a better one.
myWhiteWolf
Yeah criminals are pretty dumb in general, but thats taking it to a whole new level.
assuming criminals are dumb is a good way to get your s*** stolen.
I've been restoring a boat and it dawned on me how ridiculously easy it would be to steal a boat and re-register it without it being traceable.
Dodgymon
That sucks. Also a bad time of the year to lose your boat too.
They really need a better way of tracking boats considering they more than likely cost more than a car. Maybe with a bunch of trackers built into the bottom of the hull...yeaaaaah that would work.

My brother parks his fishing boat out on the street because council has problems with him parking it on the council owned front part of his yard and it's too big for the driveway. I'm surprised that someone hasn't driven off with it yet.
euphoria
Also a bad time of the year to lose your boat too.
There's a good time?
hardware
middle of winter isn't so bad
b j p
I had my boat stolen in a simlar fashion a few years ago. Guys pushed the fence in, and pulled the boat out of my yard. I woke up as I heard the boat go over the gutter. Looked out my window to see 3 guys hooking it onto a beige XD falcon station wagon. Ran outside to give chase but grabbed keys for a car that was parked in, by the time I went back inside and back out I didn't see which way they went, I picked the wrong way. Went straight to the cop station, they couldn't give a @#$3, made a report but never even got so much as a call from them. I called them a few days later and was told someone would call me back, they didn't. Useless pricks.

Generally these things are taken straight to containers to be shipped interstate. Resprayed, lightly refitted and resold. There just isn't as good a system of Engine numbers and Vin numbers on registered boats in Australia.
Dodgymon
What I meant was because of it being so close to christmas and all even though it is insured he isn't going to get a payout or replacement anytime soon.
Also I am sure most people would want to use their boats over the break so yeah I guess it is a bad time to lose it.
Some Fat Bastard
I have a hugely thick stainless steel chain concreted into the retaining wall where the boat's parked and I chain the boat with it.
Generally these things are taken straight to containers to be shipped interstate.

Where'd you get this information?

Generally these things are taken straight to containers to be shipped interstate. Resprayed, lightly refitted and resold. There just isn't as good a system of Engine numbers and Vin numbers on registered boats in Australia.
Wow! that seems crazy to me, not knowing anything about boats. I would have assumed that (given that most boats seem to cost more than cars??) they would have at LEAST as good systems for tracking as the rest of them.

Surely someone has invented hidden GPS tracking things for things like this?
That boat looks like a transformer with those metal hands sticking out to the sides. Maybe it just transformed and f***ed off!?
Nice boat, wouldn't mind one of them myself

http://www.malibuboats.com/boats/sunscape/21lsv

the boat is priced from $56,000 to $59,000 as seen here.

that's the base model 21LSV, it does have some cool s*** though
They really need a better way of tracking boats considering they more than likely cost more than a car. Maybe with a bunch of trackers built into the bottom of the hull...yeaaaaah that would work.

I think most cost more then a car, some more then a house :D
deeper
that's a sweet lookin boat
HyperJ

that was a sweet lookin boat

fixed
it still is

just someone else is enjoying it lollerz