I have a bit of an issue with the lack of maintained public toilets. I think any place with shops and public transport should be within, for example 500m, of a well-signed and maintained public toilet.
I think that should be a rule! The reason is mainly that it is illegal to s*** and piss wherever you like, but sometimes people do that anyway because there is no choice. There is a protest in my neighbourhood to prevent any development (and there are a few high rises already in the works) until we have things like a public toilet, and a list of other facilities and infrastructure. But I think this is something that should be everywhere. I would like to know that if I'm going to do some street shopping somewhere I will be able to relieve myself somewhere without having to ask in restaurants or go to a service station where I'm not buying anything and ask for the key. I think Hamish and Andy did a prank once where they sent a busload of school kids to some shopping area and had the teacher ask to take 30 students one at a time into some store's private toilet. Anyway, it would be great if my dream was a reality, what do you think? |
| #0 07:05pm 17/12/09 |
I don't know what povo place you live in but here in bogan central there's toilets IN the shopping center complexes, there's also a couple down at the local parks.
| #1 07:16pm 17/12/09 |
The solution is go to Europe. Then when you have to pay up to 2 EUR to use a public toilet (which I saw in Venice, for example) then you will come back here and appreciate the vast number of free public toilets. |
| #2 07:21pm 17/12/09 |
I found some awesome public toilets, top floor of Toowong village...for what is one of the crappiest shopping centres around these toilets were top notch.
| #3 07:22pm 17/12/09 |
Prime real estate in a thermite thread.
| #4 07:30pm 17/12/09 |
sparrow
I do agree with Thermite, despite the other comments. I do totally appreciate the toilets being free after having to pay for them in Europe, but I don't think we have enough. It is a bitch having to hunt around for a toilet when in the middle of shopping. It's fine in malls, but street shopping rarely has enough public toilets. |
| #5 07:34pm 17/12/09 |
Just eat realy bad food so you don't go for weeks on end.
| #6 07:37pm 17/12/09 |
| #7 07:38pm 17/12/09 |
s*** your pants. |
| #8 07:39pm 17/12/09 |
Except when pissed and desperate I have never had a problem finding a public toilet.
I guess we could always use more though :) |
| #9 07:45pm 17/12/09 |
I just use private toilets. Most places have them somewhere. I hate thinking of how many people have shat in the toilet I'm about to use.
Eeewww. |
| #10 07:50pm 17/12/09 |
I always carry a bottle anyway..
| #11 07:56pm 17/12/09 |
Didn't your mother ever teach you to go to the toilet before you left on trips?
Man up. |
| #12 08:01pm 17/12/09 |
hardware
I never seem to have a problem, i'm always within 300m of a public toilet, someone i know's house, work, or a secluded tree.
| #13 08:02pm 17/12/09 |
Seven
I've never really had a problem. Shopping centres have them, but if I'm not near one, maccas are everywhere to pee and I can hold my s***s.
But I still agree on principle. Except they are a haven for drug use if not in a central area (i.e. to scare the non-brazen ones away). |
| #14 08:41pm 17/12/09 |
somewhat on subject - I luuuuuurve the parents toilets in shopping centers.
where was this stuff when we had kid Ver 1.oo ? |
| #15 08:45pm 17/12/09 |
Yer the Parent rooms are awesome! Well many of them. Some of them are really small, others are really big with comfy sofa's and big screen TV's with a play cage and stuff.
| #16 10:43pm 17/12/09 |
I'm not really counting shopping centre toilets as public toilets, they only really serve the needs of the shopping centre most of the time. They're also privately run and on private property, so it's less accessible, and you go by some real estate company's rules, etc..
The main thing is that shopping centres aren't everywhere shopping areas are, there are heaps of these areas with cafes, shops, bus stops, train station etc.. but no public toilet. There are even lots of situations where you do find a public toilet, like in a park, but it's locked. I had one situation in Sydney where you had to pay money into a slot to access the toilet. I paid my money and the thing was broken so I just lost my money, what's up with that! |
| #17 11:19pm 17/12/09 |
There is a protest in my neighbourhood to prevent any development (and there are a few high rises already in the works) until we have things like a public toilet, and a list of other facilities and infrastructure.Wow that seems way too level headed to be true.. |
| #18 11:29pm 17/12/09 |
The solution is go to Europe. £1 on ryanair flight |
| #19 12:17am 18/12/09 |
The main thing is that shopping centres aren't everywhere shopping areas are, there are heaps of these areas with cafes, shops, bus stops, train station etc.. but no public toilet. the public Telstra phone is gone too dude... it's 2009 eh :( I like chatting with the other mothers while I'm hangin' @ Carindale. They're usually casual and easy going... even if they're breast feeding a youngun'. And the nappy jokes keep the lols comin' atm while I'm trying to keep our youngest going back to the throne instead of using her pull-em-ups |
| #20 12:30am 18/12/09 |
I like chatting with the other mothers koopz is double-x?! |
| #21 12:37am 18/12/09 |
'pay that Hoggy..
I've worked my ass off.. and I'm debt free. I am home with the kids until the end of 2010 last edited by koopz at 00:45:58 18/Dec/09 |
| #22 12:45am 18/12/09 |
How's that working out for ya? I always wonder if I could do that.
I love the kids but holy f*** is it goood to go to work somedays... |
| #23 12:46am 18/12/09 |
CSIRAC
Anyone who has ever been to japan can agree how insanely clean and just plain fancy their shopping mall toilets are. Its just boggles the mind. The best one i saw was in the isetan shopping centre in tokyo. Basically kick the s*** out of any 4 star hotel.
Dont think i really have a point besides.. go japan! yay |
| #24 12:51am 18/12/09 |
I always wonder if I could do that PM sent |
| #25 01:09am 18/12/09 |
this is such a s***ty thread
| #26 10:25am 18/12/09 |
Anyone who has ever been to japan can agree how insanely clean and just plain fancy their shopping mall toilets are. Its just boggles the mind. should see the ones at singapore airport. theres always a dude standing inside and after you do your business he goes into the toilet you just used and cleans it. |
| #27 10:27am 18/12/09 |
public toilets are rarely maintained properly and just become a cesspool of graffiti and poop smell.
sif you wouldn't prefer 'psuedo' public toilets like those run by a shopping centre/maccas because at least you know they hire a mexican to clean the f***ers every couple of hours and that creeps don't smoke meth and make man love in them after dark. |
| #28 10:31am 18/12/09 |
Carson
I just wish they were maintained properly. The worst toliets I have ever used are the ones in Flinders St Station in melb. I was there last week and some guy just took a piss in the right corner as you walk in there. Not even near the urinal! Never going in there again. That place always stinks and is really disgusting all the time. You go in to the stalls and the floors are covered in piss and there is a day old turd sitting in the bowl. Fed Square and Spencer St station toliets on the other hand are much better maintained. |
| #29 10:35am 18/12/09 |
MatchFixa
The reason is mainly that it is illegal to s*** and piss wherever you like, but sometimes people do that anyway because there is no choice.Is there something you'd like to tell us that we don't know about already? |
| #30 10:41am 18/12/09 |
Anyone who has ever been to japan can agree how insanely clean and just plain fancy their shopping mall toilets are. Except when you go outside the big areas and are faced with the grunt pole toilet.. nasty. |
| #31 10:45am 18/12/09 |
Maybe, instead of wishing they were maintained better, you should hope that the f***ing disgusting people that use public toilets show a little bit of respect and stop s***ting on the floors.
| #32 10:47am 18/12/09 |
Didn't your mother ever teach you to go to the toilet before you left on trips? Sometimes that plum just isn't ripe when you want it to be. |
| #33 10:47am 18/12/09 |
^
You need to get into a toilet habit. You should be s***ting like clockwork. |
| #34 10:50am 18/12/09 |
George Michael agrees with you Thermite.
| #35 10:57am 18/12/09 |
You need to get into a toilet habit. You should be s***ting like clockwork. it blows my mrs away that I get up and take a very regular dump at the same time every morning it makes me laugh when I see the confused look on her face like "how the hell does he do that" |
| #36 11:01am 18/12/09 |
When you work in transport, you master the public toilet.
I have probably 300 awesome locations in my head, every suburb in SEQ, some better then others... emergency ones for pissing, deluxe ones for no.2. I've found some pretty awesome ones in executive buildings or research buildings at uni's. There's also a few that have been COMPLETELY forgotten about, it's like your own private bathroom, sometimes you have to jump a barrier or two, but that's the price to pay for luxury. |
| #37 11:09am 18/12/09 |
you should hope that the f***ing disgusting people that use public toilets show a little bit of respect and stop s***ting on the floors. rekn! i always used to think that the shamrock (stepinn) had the most disgusting toilets evah. but a few times i turned up before opening time to do some gig setup & the toilets were really clean & tidy. checked back at about midnight n it's worse than a pigsty! made me realise it's not the hotel cleaners that are slack... it's the retard patrons that can't seem to function like a human being once they've had a few drinks! :/ |
| #38 11:11am 18/12/09 |
| #38 |