Topic: So Hyundai Getz's are economical
hardware
Drove the great ocean road yesterday in a white three door hyundai getz manual
Used 29.09L of BP 91ron petrol for 458km
that's 6.35L/100klms
and i saw 5000+rpm several, several times. Avg speed was probably about 55kmh.
I was surprised, i expected closer to 10L per hundred than it was.
tomsmum
if i went 55km/hr in my patrol id probably get 7lt/100km... that's like 1000rpm
i bet that was a thrilling drive

i did it in an audi a6 and have no idea how much fuel we used

where did you drive to?

we went out to warnambool over night in a bed n breakfast and drove back the next day
Yeah we are doing the ocean road thing after australia day. Was going to get a nice car....but damn they are expensive! Anyone have any good/cheap (oxymoron?) luxury car rental places in melbourne?
hardware
Yeah thats what i should have done pave
i left melbourne in the morning and went as far as the twelve apostles
and then went back again, with lunch and stopping places to take photos and walk on the beach and have icecream etc i didn't get back to melbourne until dark, which doesn't happen until after 9pm.

and 55kmh was an extremely varied speed ranging from corners i couldn't possibly take at more than 20kmh (feels slower than walking) and the occasional blip up to 120.

those getz's have a sweet, sweet motor, happily revving to 6200rpm or so and a rather close and low ratio gearbox, 100kmh is 3000rpm and often when i think i'd need to change down a gear i'd actually need to change down two
Wifey has an older Getz and it's brilliant, my dad just bought a new one a few months ago and it's quite zippy too.
yeah luckily a guy i work with is from melbourne and he said to do it like that cause you won't get that far in 1 day

V6 A6's are pretty slow and the automatic was f***ing annoying in the winding bits, luckily it had tiptronic and awd so i was able to keep a decent speed up, never got down to 20km/h heh
Yeah we are doing the ocean road thing after australia day. Was going to get a nice car....but damn they are expensive! Anyone have any good/cheap (oxymoron?) luxury car rental places in melbourne?

Some please answer this man's question.

it's a nice drive, I last did it xmas 2005. about due for another visit down that way soon I guess.

this is the route we took, was in the pootrol
http://jason.qgl.org/gallery/albums/Xmas_Trip_2005/normal_2-xmas_2005_2006.jpg

some pics from the great ocean road part:
http://jasonb.smugmug.com/AusTravel/Xmas-Trip-2005/4781615_e3ssK#P-13-15
I've never driven the Great Ocean Road, but I have been a passanger for it. Must be almost 10 years ago now I was in the back of Dad's 80's series Cruiser.
Edit: Was 1997, 12 years ago :/

Looks like a Vic High Country trip is on the books for late next year, so maybe we could swing a little ocean road into the trip.

i left melbourne in the morning and went as far as the twelve apostles

How many of them are left standing now? Even when I was down there a few were toppled with quite a few more well on their way.
a mate & i rode the great ocean road in 1989 after watching wayne gardner win the inaugural phillip island motorcycle gp :D we left all our gear at a motel in melbourne & had a blast with a group of bikers from adelaide who were going home from the gp. we only went about halfway to adelaide n then turned around & went back to melb. nice scenery... i think! ;p~
lol showing your age demon
But I thought the whole point of driving scenic route is to drive slow enough to see the scenery not just blast through them? So what's the point of getting a fast car and drive through scenic route?!@
it's great for the first half an hour

when you have hours of it ahead of you plus a stop at the 12 apostles anyway you can't f*** around or you'll get caught driving it at night and in our case we had to check in at a certain time at the place we were staying so i had to give it a boot when we realised how far we had to go and how much time we had
I took the Mrs to Tassie for a few days last Friday, and to our surprise Avis flicked us a Lancer instead of the Getz. (really wanted the Fords XR6 though)

We only clocked up ~350 clicks running around Lonnie and Devonport, though she used just 1/4 of the tank. I'm no huge fan of Mitsubishi cars, though the new Lancer certainly is good on the juice. The car only had 2000km on the clock though. Dunno what they're like once you've loaded 100,000 in there :/

last edited by koopz at 11:37:16 13/Nov/09
He just had a hire car for a few days in Adelaide.

We were supposed to get a mid-size but they gave us a large. Ended up being an Camry, auto of course.

I can tell you this, the combination of 4 cylinders, auto and a reasonably large car was bad.

General pottering around was ok but it was pretty crap on the highway needing to drop down to 4th (5 speed auto) gear to tackle any kind of incline sending the tacho to 4,000rpm. While the engine was relatively smooth it wasn't particular quiet at that rpm so 'cruising' at 100-110km/h when any kind of incline was involved was a noisy affair.

In fact the auto box was a piece of s*** all round. Surprising being a new box from a reputable manufacturer.

We used to have the previous gen Camry (but manual) and it was much better, probably due to the manual, I dunno, but this was pretty ordinary. Our 1.6 CRDi has way more guts and cruising ability. I guess it was just a reminder how crap most petrol engines are.

I didn't work out fuel consumption but I guess we did around 400km and used around 35l, so probably around 9l per hundred, mostly country roads.

last edited by mission at 11:56:17 13/Nov/09

I bet keato's V8 would SMASH my getz in fuel economy
General pottering around was ok but it was pretty crap on the highway needing to drop down to 4th (5 speed auto) gear to tackle any kind of incline sending the tacho to 4,000rpm. While the engine was relatively smooth it wasn't particular quiet at that rpm so 'cruising' at 100-110km/h when any kind of incline was involved was a noisy affair.

I'd have to say the same for the Lancer eh.

the highways in Tassie is single lane with the occasional overtaking lane - so we were stuck behind semis most of the time, doing only 80-90 clicks. the car had absolutely bugger all power on the open road, and Launceston bieng a very hilly place really showed up the lack of grunt.

still - it was great on fuel. looking at my earlier estimation.. it prolly was more like 300kms that we did. it wouldn't surprise me if this thing had a range of almost 900kms.. but I doubt it'd be over that.

great on fuel - but piss poor on performance. I guess power = $$$
Did you have the air con running in the Getz or was those figures with it off most of the time?
is there any other way for aircon to be than running?! :D
b j p
that's really not that good. My gf has a 2L Ford Focus Zetec and it gets 6.8kms across a tank and that included driving around town. I can tell you which would be the more enjoyable drive of the two.
Clubby
Current reading:
123Klms (of driving around the streets of Brisbane city)
4.7L/100Klms

Overall:
50,000Klms
5.1L/100Klms

Honda Civic Hybrid that I thrash and surprisingly is nice to drive (this is of cause with air con on everywhere etc).

I don't think 'nice to drive' means what you think it means
thug
My lady and I did it ( Great Ocean Road) last year in a new lancer, with those "auto/Manual gearboxes" had a lot of fun driving it, good for the hills and stuff.
Gave it to the car heading back to Melbourne too.

last edited by thug at 16:53:38 13/Nov/09
I can tell you which would be the more enjoyable drive of the two.

What? The GF or the Focus? :D
this is the route we took, was in the pootrol

Hey Jim,

View Best 3(.5) states of australia tour in a larger map

Can you suggest which way for a two week adventure drive? In regular cars, not offroading, but both good cruisers! Different coloured lines are for different options.
Infidel
I wouldnt call 6L/100 and a getz at that economical haha ....
Aside from Nowra -

ahahahahahahahahahahahaha, ahahahahahaha, ahahaha

- why did you skip the south coast of NSW Jim? I'd much rather cruise through Jervis Bay, Ulladulla, Bateman's Bay and Bermagui than visit bloody Canberra.
took a detour to cooma to visit me grandad and then cut across to merimbula for a few days where my dad was on holiday to say g'day to him as well

I was born and grew up in sydney, and spent huge chunks of my childhood camping all over southern nsw and northern victoria so have seen all that country before anyway

skythra: the coastline will probably have the most sightseeing, but if you've seen the coast before and don't have the attention span of a teenager or gnat, inland is a nice change. depends on you and the ppl you're going with I guess. also, that entire trip I outlined above can be done with a reliable 2WD vehicle - the strzlecki track is basically a huge dirt highway, I was cruising at 130kph along a good chunk of that. watch out for bulldust though! and take a s***load of water
the strzlecki track is basically a huge dirt highway,
Makes me sad - sadly won't be able to take the two cars on that.

Just looking for any kind of roads you thought were memorable, places which stood out worth seeing.

Chances are the inland road on the way back both to save time and to really get a good cruise speed going.
yeh I would have to say on that trip the coast route especially southern nsw and around the vic coast toward melbourne, and then again on the west side of melbourne through torquay and onward via the great ocean road were all pretty memorable. I also love the scrub/desert out west too, it's kind of ugly and barren yet beautiful at the same time. pretty much all australian scrub is for that matter imo. which is why I've always loved driving around in it instead of going overseas

there's a few other trips on that pic site of mine I linked, mostly in s/e qld but also one through the simpson desert and one to cape york if you're interested in seeing a glimpse of some of the scenery. all from 2004 or 2005 onwards when I finally got a digi cam
the highways in Tassie is single lane with the occasional overtaking lane - so we were stuck behind semis most of the time, doing only 80-90 clicks.

koopz old son, i think you were on the wrong roads, when we were in tassie, they were glorious huge highways for hte most part with long sweeping corners that had me wishing i had the skyline there with us

roads in tassie were awesome sauce

teehee
http://members.iinet.net.au/~davidbroughton/wee.jpg
i would skid the whole great ocean rd

then crash
Cheers Jim!
in LA in july, rented the 2010 ss camaro 6.2L tiptronic 6spd

310 usd for 24hrs, terrible on fuel, worth every penny, thank you avis :]

last edited by scooby at 12:22:48 14/Nov/09
deeper
fun
hardware
Thread Revival!
So we're back home now, and here's some images:
The Getz in question
http://i34.tinypic.com/a0asxv.jpg
The twelve apostles, or at least 5 of the 7 remaining
http://i35.tinypic.com/fbc6yb.jpg
And the reason why i'm amazed at 6.5l/100k (of obviously airconditioned kays, hey jim) was because of hundreds of kilometres of insanely windy twisty s*** where i could go from 30 to 80 back down to 30 again all within less than a kilometre, rinse and repeat
http://i33.tinypic.com/2150vmx.jpg

last edited by hardware at 21:46:25 17/Nov/09
konstie

welcome to victoria, the place to be.
Speaking of Hyundai, is the guy that does the current ads the guy from Rush?
Jimbo
Looks awesome

Would rather be crucified there than drive it in a getz though
I just got 8.7 l/100k out of my new car, i thought that was pretty rad. That was on the work cycle ie. peak hour traffic too...and included a good few instances of putting various other vehicles in their place.
hardware
nah aye, i was thoroughly impressed with how un-s*** the getz was
drove an accent and a tucson years ago and pronounced all hyundais as heaps of s***, but the 2009 getz and a 2009 i30 diesel has made me reconsider, simply because of their lack of terrible

edit
and what kind of car is that, orbitor?
Infidel
The second photo's really great :( thinking maybe its time to head back home

On topic though, 6.5 for that getz not very impressive still, even with A/C on. I did a similar roadtrip with the missus in September from Amsterdam to the Black Forrest. Drove quite a fair bit around mountains down there with plenty of windy roads and then back along the rhine through france all up about 2k and ended up 6.5L as well, the car was a 1.6L 2009 megane quite zippy. Never thought I would be driving a french car.
hardware: this one...

http://members.iinet.net.au/~m.holmes/s3/s3_2.jpg
koopz old son, i think you were on the wrong roads, when we were in tassie, they were glorious huge highways for hte most part with long sweeping corners that had me wishing i had the skyline there with us

roads in tassie were awesome sauce

when you're rich an famous come down with me and I'll show you how the international targa tassie courses are driven by the locals ;)

there's a 2nd local course up in the snow if 4x4 is your thing mate
konstie

hardware: this one...

sweet ride
Not sure what the new Getz are like, but what killed it for me was how crappy the interior is.
Speaking of Hyundai, is the guy that does the current ads the guy from Rush?

yer, rush, underbelly and he used to do standup with another dude
hardware
The second photo's really great :( thinking maybe its time to head back home
Yeah. I can't take credit for any of the photos, they're all the mrs's handywork.
But yeah, you just can't beat Aus.
yer, rush, underbelly and he used to do standup with another dude

Sweet, I knew I was right.

No I can stick it to my wife (not in that way - although that gives me an idea.....) as she said it wasn't.

Great Ocean Rd is a good drive. Personally I'd turn it into 4 or 5 days. We turned it into 3 and it still felt rushed.
Great Ocean Rd is certainly on my things to do list.

I'd like to hire an MX5 to do it.
hardware
yeah i think an mx5 would be the car to do the great ocean road in
but considering our holiday was only for a week and the main focus was melbourne not wider victoria i wasn't prepared to stretch out the great ocean road any longer. that being said, i can't wait to take a holiday in apollo bay, it was undoubtedly the best seaside town on the road we saw.

Also one thing i learnt from this whole experience:
Rental car companies are cartel like. The Big Five: Avis, Budget, Europcar, Hertz and Thrifty are all ripoffs. Look for local, smaller car companies if you want a cheaper rate, i went with East Coast as they were, get this, a quarter of a time cheaper than the cheapest of the big five for exactly the same thing.

last edited by hardware at 12:03:42 18/Nov/09
Great Ocean Rd is certainly on my things to do list.

I'd like to hire an MX5 to do it.

QFT

I mentioned this in another thread.

I did have a hunt around for a place in Melbourne that hires them but had no luck. I'm sure there would be some where though. Not that I plan on doing it anytime soon, it's just on the to-do list.
you can definitely get them (or at least could) cause a mate got his hands on one a couple of years back for the same road trip.

It's easy to get an Astra convertible too - of course they have nowhere near the dynamics of an MX5 but would still be some good top-down fun.

last edited by orbitor at 12:16:00 18/Nov/09

last edited by orbitor at 12:16:14 18/Nov/09
But yeah, you just can't beat Aus.
This is what i reckon, people always want to go overseas before they've even gone interstate. Learn your own culture before pretending you're cultured when you come back from the UK.
Keato
I do Great Ocean Road 3-4 times a year on my bike, no better way to do it imho. I have done it on my Yamaha XT660, my friends Honda Blackbird 1000 and a 1600 Harley. All very different, was planning a trip in dec with some friends, were going to hire some 3 wheeled Can-Am Spyders.
© Copyright 2001-2025 AusGamers Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.