Topic: Kyle and Jackie-O stunt fails
ABC News article.

MP3 included

The incident occurred on 2DayFM's Kyle and Jackie O show, when a mother rang in to get her daughter to take part in a lie detector test about her experiences with sex and drugs.

After initially sounding uncomfortable with the questioning, the girl started crying and said she had been raped when she was 12.

The mum is a total dumbf*** for subjecting her daughter to this process in the first place. I would give her an uppercut.
I f***ing hate Kyle Sandilands. Biggest c*** ever.

Poor girl.

the more bad publicity these wankers receive the better.
kyle and jackie o are d*******s too.

Poor girl.
do not post about that s*** here, they love the controversy and love that people discuss it. just ignore them and hopefully kyle and jackie o will f*** off into oblivion.
It's the mum's fault. Clearly in denial about what happened to her daughter.

Kyle just choked; what are you mean to say to that?

last edited by thermite at 17:28:38 29/Jul/09
My thoughts exactly infi.
I don't listen to the radio but it sounds like that female DJ is a far better person then the poor girls mother. You know you're a f***ing bad parent when a radio DJ shows more compassion to your own child then you do.
I was waiting for the mum to say, "this teaches you for being such a slut". She sounded like she honestly had no clue about parenting.
DM
The mum is a total dumbf*** for subjecting her daughter to this process in the first place

This should be classed as child abuse. Poor girl already has a bad enough start as she's been raped at such a young age. Along comes mum, hooks her up to a lie detector while on a radio show to ask quests about her sex life.

Not having the segment at all to begin with would be a good start. It's pretty bloody wrong to pry into the sex life of a 14 year old girl, which is also illegal for them to have so why is it ok to put it on the radio?

Also watch the latest P&T: Bulls***! episode to find out about exactly how accurate lie detectors are to begin with.

last edited by DM at 17:54:29 29/Jul/09
Who the f*** approves a radio programme to include a q and a with a 14 year old girl about her sex life? That's one of the creepiesf thinngs I've ever heard of.
I'm pretty much kyle's double I was going to dress up like him, put his voice on and do some stupid s*** in a shopping centre or something and youtube it.

He should have turned to her Mother and called her out for being the biggest whore on Earth for publicly humiliate her on public radio.

Also, he could have popped the mother right in the mouth. Then proceeded to rape her in the studio. Preferably with his dragon cock.

last edited by typo at 18:49:13 29/Jul/09
am I blind, can't see the MP3 anywhere??

They edited the article an hour ago, so I assume they removed it,

Someone want to host it?
I got asked daily if I was Kyle when he had shoulder length hair and goatie. I dont quite look like him now cos my hereditary baldness has kicked in the last couple years and i now shave my head.
I have the mp3.... at work.
It is on newsltd and fairfax websites. HARD STUFF TO FINDZOR.

http://media.smh.com.au/?rid=51554
That was just wrong.

The mum is an idiot.

Kyle is an idiot for asking is that the only experience you've had.

Jackie was at least a little nicer about it.

But I agree with DM, they shouldn't even have it on the radio underage sex is illegal, she is 14 for f***s sake!
kyle and jackie didn't know that she was raped for everyones fyi here.. so i don't know where all the hate comes from...

kyle was in shock and choked when he said what he did.. havn't we all said something in our lives that we regret?? for kyle it was unfortunately on the radio australia wide :/

last edited by Martz at 19:21:00 29/Jul/09
kyle and jackie didn't know that she was raped for everyones fyi here.. so i don't know where all the hate comes from

So you see nothing wrong with a middle aged radio presenter having a 14 year old girl on for a quick chat about her sex life?
Crash

i dont listen to the show at all. I dont think all the blame can be pointed towards kyle although he did make a silly mistake, they obviously didnt know about what had happened and were apologetic about it. The mother knew and still asked the question wanting to know about her sex life. The blame should be on the mother.

I hate them
Isnt there a name for an Adult that hooks a 14yrold girl up to a lie Detector test and asks her questions about sex ?
Pedophile ?
BJay

I agree with Faceman.
Its only worse it was on a popular radio show for everyone to hear.
Isn't their another law that stops questions like this being asked to 14 yr old girls on radio?
Also... cool mum!
Isnt there a name for an Adult that hooks a 14yrold girl up to a lie Detector test and asks her questions about sex ?
Pedophile ?
A pedophile is someone who has sex with pre-pubescent children.
Lets get one thing straight. (Even though we all hate kyle and jackie O and think they are scum etc etc etc)

Its blatant that the real f***wit in all of this is the mum.
The girl's mother then said she had known about the rape.
I think the presenters are a total waste of air and I never even turn on their station let alone hear them so its not like I like backing them up but come on. They were not aware of the rape, the mother was. If it wasn't for the fact that it would probably cause the girl more anguish because she probably still loves the mum, the f***ing mother should be hammered over this. The fact two douchebag djs were willing to put a 14 year old on radio talking about her sex life pales in comparison to knowingly putting your daughter on radio to divulge that she was raped.
A pedophile is someone who has sex with pre-pubescent children.

well then what do you prefer to call yourselves?
So you see nothing wrong with a middle aged radio presenter having a 14 year old girl on for a quick chat about her sex life?

14 is so 2008, I think we're up to 12 now..
Its blatant that the real f***wit in all of this is the mum.

Obviously the mother is a f***head. Many people in the community are f***heads, and shouldn't be breeding. See devil woman baby eater thread for more info on this.

But it was an unbelievably stupid radio segment that should never have gone to air, regardless of the rape. Live discussions with minors about underaged sex has what place on commercial radio?

This wasn't an in-depth piece of socio-journalism. Its a pair of chuckleheads making a ratings grab at the girl's expense. There is an expectation of integrity in professional media broadcasting and this is so far away from that its not funny.

On what bizarro planet should Kyle Sandilands be talking to 14 year old girls about sex, at any time - let alone on the f***ing air?
It doesnt matter if the Mother is at fault.
Does Australian Radio Licenses really allow 14yrolds to be interviewed about sex. I listened to this show last year sometime and he was asking sexual themed questioned to teen girls so its most likely a common theme of the show.
Makes you wonder what kind of Audience this show is aimed at.

In fact he may have broken another law by naming the Under 16 victim of a sex crime.
well then what do you prefer to call yourselves?
/b/tards ?
it's true
Makes you wonder what kind of Audience this show is aimed at.
Seriously? As if it wasn't obvious what audience s*** like the pussycat dolls, lady gaga and the rest of that s*** is aimed at? (f***ing teenage girls you twat)
The Match Fixer
Calling terrorist attack on b105...

wait.. that's me!
I like Lady GaGa
JamesBlunt
must have been a traumatic experience for the girl i can't even begin to understand what that sort of experience does to a person.

being on the kyle and jackie-o show i mean.
In fact he may have broken another law by naming the Under 16 victim of a sex crime.

her name was never stated and you would have heard the bleeping of name specific information from the broadcast.
Hahaha, this is the most overhyped s*** ever.

She is a 14 year old with a f***ing massive attitude problem as you can tell from her tone and stupid to boot, not too mention a liar as we heard early in the piece.

Yeah she was raped**

** By raped, she got drunk/high at a party, f***ed some unpopular kid, knew her friends would laugh at her and called it rape.

Sorry, but a real rape victim would not be so foward with bringing it up the way she did. Attention whore ++

As for kyle, $20 says his next transcript has that question written down. In pure f***ing shock of having the teenage dramawhore r-bomb drop in his lap on live radio he just went too the next question, you can hear it in the way its delivered. I dont like him, I think he is a tool, but I think this is being blown way out of proportion.

That's quite possible Eds, but if this somehow means he gets banned from the airwaves then I'm all for busting out the lynch rope now. He's a pompous prick with virtually no redeeming qualities..
Hybr|d
She is a 14 year old with a f***ing massive attitude problem as you can tell from her tone and stupid to boot, not too mention a liar as we heard early in the piece.

Yeah she was raped**

** By raped, she got drunk/high at a party, f***ed some unpopular kid, knew her friends would laugh at her and called it rape.

That would single-handedly be one of the stupidest things i've ever heard from a user of this board. I'm not going to claim she does/doesn't have an attitude problem, because, well frankly, you would be an idiot to draw conclusions off a short, one time radio broadcast. Oh Wait.

The thing i find most staggering, is that you think (Potentially/Jokingly whatever) a 12 year old was drunk/high at a party and f***ed an unpopular kid. Twelve years old, that's f***ing primary school in many instances.

Personally, even if she lied, who cares? Kids do that s*** all the time, but, ppresuming it was true, f***ing hell i can't believe she was subjected to that s*** over a national broadcast. The stupidity of the mother is unquestionable, but i can only assume sandilands has downsyndrome after this

Watchdog all bark, no bite

‘‘We’re not on a time delay, but even if we were, I wouldn’t have dumped the segment,’’ he said.

Great judgement there Kyle.

When asked if it was appropriate for a 14-year-old to be questioned about her sex life , he said: ‘‘Our show is a real-life show, not some Punch and Judy pre-scripted show. We deal with a lot of real situations and sexuality is one them. I would never have asked the girl those questions myself. It was her mother who asked those questions.’’

How quickly he forgets.

Sandilands hesitated before asking: ‘‘Right . . . is that the only experience you’ve had?’’

The guy is a clown, and he is just playing into this now. Best thing you can do is just not listen to their show, Austereo has shown that as long as people listen they will keep him on no matter his antics.

People will write letters and Austereo will fob them off because people keep tuning in.
i must be the only one that likes kyle and jackio, used to listen to them years ago but meh I find their shows boring recently..

When she's 12 pretty sure thats still rape.

**I havn't listened to the radio show, pretty sure i feel ill enough as it is. I don't listen to their show because its s***, and now it offends me too.
here read this:

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/entertainment/843569/sandilands-blasts-evil-media-over-rape-stunt
Yay, I caught some new fish! :D

But in all honesty 12 - 14 yr olds out drinking and shagging each other seems to be happening more and more. Scary and sad really.
That article about one media complaining that another media is sensationalizing its media. They feel like the review that they created a sensationalist review and victimized the child is unfair and they are the victim of sensationalist media backlash.

Lets be fair, if this doesn't kill their career it can only help.
Seems like the only person who managed to handle the situation well was Jacki O.
Just walked past the TV and there was a guy on the Morning Show (lols) raging about this. Despite the s***ty tv show he had a good point!

I hadn't realised that 'live' radio is broadcast on a 7 second delay just so that they can pull s*** like this off. They totally could have yanked it when she said she was raped and played an ad or pussycat dolls or something, but they pushed on with the segment.

f*** em, no excuses. They exploited that stupid mother and her daughter.
Morning Show (lols)

Heh I watched (am watching) that too (I'm home sick), the in-show ads are sooooo s***!

I must admit though that the ladder looked alright, although the didn't state the price.....

BOT - The producers etc putting the girl on are the ones that need to provide answers.

last edited by mission at 10:38:40 30/Jul/09
Yeh did you see that the 2x grill thingies are apparently worth 250 dorras or something? Bugger that.

Get well dude, I have the baby for the morning...
I've said this before and I'll say it again Kyle is evidence that if you try hard enough you can convince anyone to pay you s***loads of cash even if you are a total c***.

Either that or the Austero Management are the biggest retards in the Industry?
lol just flipped over to 10 and the guy is flogging the ladder on 9am.

Get well dude

ta, I have the chicken pox (bok-bok-erkk), s***s whack :( Won't be back at work for a while...
I have the chicken pox (bok-bok-erkk)
Serious? You didn't get it when you were 9 like everyone else?

Either that or the Austero Management are the biggest retards in the Industry?
Are they? This is like the most press they've ever had! I can't even listen to the f***ing JJJ news without hearing all about this bulls***
can't that cause sterility if you get it when you're old?
or is that the mumps or something
Yeah but because of this stunt will it convice you to start listening to B105 next week when its all over?

Will you be become a religious Kyle & Jackie O listener? Listening for 'x' number of minutes, being exposed to 'x' number of advertisments for toothpaste, erection pills and haircare products?

I think not, young Trog.
Kyle and Jackie-O stunt fails

Yeah but because of this stunt will it convice you to start listening to B105 next week when its all over?

Will you be become a religious Kyle & Jackie O listener? Listening for 'x' number of minutes, being exposed to 'x' number of advertisments for toothpaste, erection pills and haircare products?

I think not, young Trog.
I'm not a giant a****** tho - I'm sure there's people that will go "hey, if I listen to these people I might hear more amazingly shocking stories!"

Why anyone would listen to these a******s ever is beyond me though
Nah I didn't get them when I was young, at least I don't think so (my Mum doesn't remember that I did).

Mumps can cause you to be sterile, dunno about chicken pox. Meh, I don't care though, already have three kids and a vasectomy :)

I used to go driving in my car during the Hot 30 just to listen to Kyle and Jackie, would go and park up a hill at the edge of the forest behind gallipoli barracks and chill out listening to their antics. Then one day some old man who lived nearby came out and said he'd call the cops on me and tell them I was a drug dealer. One day I'm just going to start killing people - you'll see.

One day I'm just going to start killing people - you'll see.

Just give me some advance warning so I am not around for that.
n00bsmash

what a pack of d*******s seriously

kyle must needs to get murdered

saw this as a reply to the vid, had 1 lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vj2NIsq7sPo&eurl=http%3A%2F%2Fsaynotorape%2Ecom%2F&feature=player_embedded
kyle is going to be interviewed live on the 7pm show tonight.
with Hughsey? must watch it
At last some rating for the 7PM Project.
I actually started watching it coz everyone said it was so terrible.
i still don't get how that situation could have even started.... talking to a 16yr old girl yer... talking to an underage 14 yr old girl?

f*** kyle and jackie'o and f*** her mother
lewd
that wasnt that bad. if they didnt know.
i dont like shock jocks in general and thats all k & j-o are.
whilst there are 'cool' shock jocks out there (howard stern), i can see why people dont like k & j-o.
australia media personalities are quite lame in general (shaun micallef is an exception imo).
but reactions such as this thread is exactly what they thrive on.
ya gotta have diferent opinions but.......keeps it real.
So how come these two don't get banned from radio for 2 weeks?
lewd
^because they didnt do anyting wrong censorship wise?
im guessing you're making reference to the chasers.
Uh oh they're in trouble now, Kevin Rudd is mad!

It's been cancelled (for now)
Awesome, now he just needs to get hit by a bus or something.
someone told me hes been fired from australian idol
I fail to see the fault of the radio station, the mother doesn't work for them.

Same s*** had matty johns f*** off from TV, and now the footy show isn't even worth watching.
GG nannas
Nah I didn't get them when I was young, at least I don't think so (my Mum doesn't remember that I did). Mumps can cause you to be sterile, dunno about chicken pox. Meh, I don't care though, already have three kids and a vasectomy :)

I dunno what its like down there with the vasectomy but if you got the pox on ya ballsack I have felt your pain brother.
JamesBlunt
it was probably kyle who raped her.
I fail to see the fault of the radio station, the mother doesn't work for them.

Because it was a f***ed up segment before the rape thing even came up?

exactly, they must have known or even had a good idea what sort of questions a mother is going to ask her 14 yo daughter, I mean what else is she going to ask about, did u do your homework, yeah right.

I hope Vile Sandilands and Tacky Ho arent seen or heard from again.
jackie O is a fox:

id like to see her O-face
lewd
jackie O is a fox:

nice boat race, shame about the ham and eggs.....

thats why she wears those dresses that hide her huge waist, and shes generally shown from the shoulders up on t.v.....
not that thats an issue......only when shes described as a fox i guess....
The bigger the cushion
The better the pushin'

Shes a QT but i dunno why she hangs with that loser sandilands.
Every TV show she gets involved with crashes and burns.

I think the reason Idol has got worse is Kyles involvement.
Comparing him to Simon Cowell is like comparing Steady Eddy to Seinfeld.
Some Fat Bastard
What a pussy society.
You're a d*******, enough said.
http://images.smh.com.au/ftsmh/ffximage/2009/08/02/kyle_and_jackieo_narrowweb__300x377,0.jpg

http://jacbowie.files.wordpress.com/2006/11/00071766.jpg

you c***s must be blind
lewd
^ hand hiding waist. loose white dress.......

although recently, yes it looks like shes been jogging.....
she's hawt srsly.
Some Fat Bastard
She seriously needs a makeover on that hair, 70's LA styles are such crap.
Some Fat Bastard
he's hawt srsly.
Fixed.
she looks like a charlie's angel with that 70's hairdo. so dreamy...
i don't get your point lewd, she's not fat

if she was trying to hide something she'd keep her hands away from her waist so as not to make the 'loose white dress' stick to her showing ZOMG HUGE ASS
lewd
yeah, my bad. shes been jogging since that car ad she did....that was a classic example of her hiding her 'fat ass'......
and she used to be the queen of the head shot only.....
yeah shes hot now........
hey, magic can happen

http://www.smh.com.au/national/kyle-sacked-as--idol-judge-20090803-e707.html
Sandilands earns approximately $4 million annually from his television and radio commitments – $2 million from Austereo with a $100,00 bonus each time his program wins one of the eight annual radio surveys, plus another $1 million for hosting Australian Idol.
BAM.

He's earnt so much off being a complete douche that I feel no satisfaction :(
don't forget http://web.kingkyle.com/
^ + 1 x infinity.
i wonder if Kyle has FU money yet?
If find Kyle's income quite well... inspiring!

If a complete f***wit can get payed millions of dollars then there is no excuse that I or any other normal person can't do the same.
How do f***wits like Kyle Sandilands get a shot at hosting anything other than a chook raffle at a local RSL?

Not funny, not talented, not good looking.

Because most people passively sit there and take whatever s*** the networks are ramming down your throat this week. Here's an idea. Instead of watching and listening to this rubbish and helping d*******s like Kyle and Jackie O make millions cos you're too lazy to think for yourself, change the f***ing channel. Or better yet, read a book. Use your brain and do something constructive. You might find it's a lot more satisfying and you won't be contributing to bulls*** like this d******* and all the others like him.

Sure there's good TV and radio but God there's a lot of mediocre s*** that gets airtime because people are too damn lazy to actually think about what they consume.

How do f***wits like Kyle Sandilands get a shot at hosting anything other than a chook raffle at a local RSL?

Because he was a supporting reporter for Phil O'Neill back when he hosted the Fox evening show. Phil got sick of Fox, quit, and Kyle took over. They couldn't get a replacement they were happy with, and Kyle stayed on and carried over Fox's 16-25yo target listener base in that timeslot.

Remember, he's in a timeslot who's prime audience is people in high school.
Comparing him to Simon Cowell is like comparing Steady Eddy to Seinfeld

Cept of course Seinfeld is retarded and Steddy Eddy is actually a funny guy.

it is very rare to see wrongness this wrong on the internts, yet somehow, you've managed it twice in one sentence
I'm with you Incred_veg, but I think you answered your own question.
Because most people passively sit there and take whatever s*** the networks are ramming down your throat this week.

IMO, the majority of people are basically told what is entertainment, what to laugh at, and what to pay attention to. The sort of BS that Kyle pulls is cheap and easy for the stations and saves them from having to invest in real entertainment.

Until someone is willing to produce an intelligent program that is cheap, radio stations will regurgitate the same gags, which are in turn lapped up by audiences just because it's there. I'm sure if there was something that was both educational and entertaining (kinda like the Panel), no one would miss the toilet humour.
Apparently it's 'cool' on the Internet to make fun of successful 90s sitcoms, I imagine because most of the newbs associate these with their uncool parents.
There's nothing wrong with making fun of shows > 10 years old. In fact Friends sucked and How I Met Your Mother is the funniest show and totally original.
The Friends dialogue is unbeatable - the writers would continually rewrite the lines based on the audience's reaction and keep performing it over and over until they nailed it - I don't know any other shows that have used a technique like that, usually on sitcoms if a line fails then it is still left in.
seinfeld (the show) was/is funny, some people just dont get the humour though.

I think we are forgetting that alot of people love kyle and jackie-o for some reason, maybe becuase they somehow got popular and cool, so therefore everyone likes them, becuase they are popular and cool, its an evil circle.

I dont get why jackie-o is even still around, is she just riding on her looks?, thers heaps of other random chicks that look better than her, she doesnt seem to have much of a personality. and as for kyle, I dont know how anyone takes him seriously, everything he says just sounds fake, specialy when i saw bits of the idol show, u can tell he's just saying things for a reaction.
CSIRAC
Go watch the latest media watch ( http://www.abc.net.au/iview/#/view/406241 ). It's only 12 mins long and its just slamming kyle and jackie-o. Its great.

Also didnt realise how much of a c*** those 2 are until watching that media watch episode. What f***ing douches.

last edited by CSIRAC at 13:14:10 04/Aug/09
Media watch is awesome. I've never seen/heard that stunt they pulled bringing that chick over then putting her behind a door and making her relative pick the right one to let her stay, what a bunch of f***en wankers, and changing the persons name to sally, was that realy needed?

Looks like I made the right choice with ABC Radio (612 or triple J depending on my mood)
seinfeld (the show) was/is funny, some people just dont get the humour though.

yes, seinfeld is very different to say the comedy of steady eddie, in that its funny, whereas steady eddie is unfunny
also, big time media watch fan signing in:

been watching it for years, love their work
Ditto, I podcast it >.<

Everyone should watch Media Watch, not just for entertainment, but to keep an eye on all the bulls*** in the media that most of us take for granted.
Nathan

Media Watch ++

Billy is spot on, the amount of misreported or just complete made-up stuff in the media is ridiculous.
The Friends dialogue is unbeatable

Surely you can't be serious.
it is very rare to see wrongness this wrong on the internts, yet somehow, you've managed it twice in one sentence

Hey,
I do what I can :)

I have never thought Seinfeld was funny even when it was rated as so. Only thing I thought was worse was the Australian "skithouse" and "Everybody Loves Raymond"

"How I met your Mother" and "The Big Bang Theory" are the s*** tho
Go watch the latest media watch

Yes, thank you for the reminder.

Edit: I just watched the Media Watch episode and what Kyle and Jackie-O did to those ladies in the "Home and Away" segment was absolutely disgusting.

last edited by Triamks at 18:46:46 04/Aug/09
A world where Seinfeld is considered unfunny and Friends is embraced by men aged 18-35? I don't want to live in that world.

I think we are forgetting that alot of people love kyle and jackie-o for some reason

These people are of no worth to society.
he took a mortgage out on a $530,000 rolls royce

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/entertainment/sydney-confidential/millions-lost-as-advertisers-cut-ties-to-austereo-over-kyle-sandilands/story-e6frewz0-1225757999032
From the neuroskeptic blog:
"My Brain Crashes" excuses seem implausible. But I don't think they are really meant to believed. The point is that they could be true, however unlikely that seems. We can prove that someone did a certain thing at a certain time, but the one thing no-one can prove is that they were concious of it. So claiming to have suffered a freak mental accident is the only way of avoiding admitting that you've done something that everyone knows you've done.

There's going to be so much back pedalling, shifting blame, and sob stories from Kyle and Jackie-O, that a certain portion of people will end up feeling sorry for what happened to them. That we should care about the hosts is outrageous, considering what they have done to others.

Fight the urge to feel any sympathy for these idiots. They simply don't deserve it.
i didn't even know much about these pair of twits till i watched that media watch iview that CSIRAC linked. with that sorta history it's amazing they still have jobs.
Fight the urge to feel any sympathy for these idiots. They simply don't deserve it.

qft. the mum deserves a falcon punch too & should never be allowed to give birth again.
Kyle seems to be some kind of Michael Jackson with his finances.
Its alright to spend when the money is flowing in but ...
Haha hell yes!

He has blown it all and all his major assets he doesn't even own.

What sort of nub f***er isn't set for life on 4 million a year.

Hopefully this will put a big dent in the stupid f***wit shockjock style for quite a while to come. If it gets him off Australian Idol that'd be nice too.
f*** this is awesome.
Sandilands - whose earnings last year were tipped at $3.8 million - suspended himself from work after Austereo bosses wanted to install a kill switch on The Kyle And Jackie O Show.

The massive egotism that drove his demands to not have a kill switch running is what has sunk him.

Doing controversial live broadcast interviews without a safety net? He thought he was untouchable, but he forgot that he was paid for by advertisers and that public opinion on his antics could sink him if it got bad enough.

Media personalities can't carry on like rock stars, because they don't actually produce anything and are eminently replaceable.
Is it wrong to think suck s*** you worthless c***, karma is a bitch?
nope, carry on
If it gets him off Australian Idol that'd be nice too.

The news that he was dumped from Idol got out on monday night. He'll be in the first 3 eps as they've already been filmed, but after that will be no more.

ABC News article about it.
Do we really need to keep talking about him..not worth the time.♦

Talk about whom?
Anyone see the ACA story i think it was about "badboys" of TV and how this could be the end of it all, they lumped kyle in with the chaser guys.

I never though of kyle as a "badboy" more of just a f***wit? He doesnt do any of his stunts or act the way he does to rebel against anything, he does it becuase he thinks it will make him more money.
lewd
woah.....that media watch link of CSIRAC's was intense.
i had no idea that they were such complete f***heads.
Australia just loves to see tall poppies fall.

They made a mistake but it's live radio ffs. What Kyle and jacki-o did was no hanging offense, they just need to be more careful and ensure it doesn't happen again.
Did u watch the media watch video that was linked infi?, they seem to have a history of being complete f***wits.
They made a mistake but it's live radio ffs. What Kyle and jacki-o did was no hanging offense, they just need to be more careful and ensure it doesn't happen again.

No. They refused the industry standard 7-second delay kill switch that likely would have stoped this mistake from happening. The rape answer probably wouldn't have made it to air at all - there's a reason why they use these things.

This wasn't a 'mistake', it was a professional foul. Would you have remorse for a CIO who knowingly left sensitive data wide open? They knew the risks of flying without the net and it inevitably f***ed them.

last edited by Hogfather at 14:15:37 05/Aug/09
Look there are plenty of people who are f***wits but it is not an offense last time i checked to be a f***wit.

It takes all kinds of people to make up the world, with different political outlooks and different senses of humour or entertainment. I agree this incident did cross the line, but the line they tread is a fine one and society's expectations are changing everyday.

I remember in the mid 90's when I heard for the first time the word "pissed" in prime time TV on 90210. It was like omg, now simpsons and family guy are prime time shows talking about all sorts of minor cursing, gays and racism and stuff.

I can imagine its hard for creative arts trying to run all these gags and stunts. In the current case, they were misled by the subject's mother that there would be no controversial (i.e. criminal allegations). They had no idea this was coming, and that was their fault but they did not set out to be discussing the rape of a minor on radio.

last edited by infi at 14:17:37 05/Aug/09
They had no idea this was coming, and that was their fault but they did not set out to be discussing the rape of a minor or radio.

They chose to have no control at all over what hit the air, because they felt it added entertainment value somehow.

Their own fault, they are professionals (apparently) who understood the risk in their choice to have no kill switch. Don't cry poor because it eventually f***ed them.
They may not have set out to discuss it however being professional broadcasters it would be expected that they consider the ramifications if something they do goes wrong.

It would be funny if it comes to light that the chick made up the whole rape thing.

last edited by mission at 14:29:37 05/Aug/09
They had no idea this was coming,

Granted they didnt know she was going to say she was raped, but the mother was obviously going to ask about sex, and the girl said she didnt want to be be doing the interview, surely they shouldnt have been asking any questions about sex live on radio with a 14yo. And if they didnt think she was going to ask about sex, as soon as the mother did, they could have stopped the interview right there, before the girl had a chance to respond.
As far as I am concerned this is purely about the appropriateness of the time of day this content aired.

If it was Dr Feelgood at 10pm at night they talk about all sorts of insane hardcore stuff. Kids will ring up about being raped and taking it in the arse, STDs, abortion - anything goes.

The girl was not forced to do it, she could have walked out at any time, in fact I don't know why she did.

Kyle and jackie-o were just doing what all ammoral scumbag journos do - exploiting a situation for their own ratings.

It is the responsibility of the subjects to protect their own interests. The mother is solely responsible for this debacle.
Look there are plenty of people who are f***wits but it is not an offense last time i checked to be a f***wit.

it's not an offense but public figure f***wits should still face public vilification for being f***wits in public. to me that's what is happening... the station sponsors have been made aware of just what f***wits they are, with the appropriate consequences.

after watching that media watch i am just amazed they didn't cop more s*** from that dealie with the 2 malaysian chicks they manipulate into making them get down on thier knees & beg... that's fkn bulls*** imo. not just the 2 deads*** announcers either... the whole fkn radio team should get the arse.
she could have walked out at any time,

yeah physically she could have walked out, but you dont know the kind of pressure she would have been under, it probably didnt go through her mind to just not answer.
The girl was not forced to do it, she could have walked out at any time, in fact I don't know why she did.

This is your problem I think. You are treating her as an adult and assigning adult rationale to her decisions.

The reason that she didn't walk out is the same reason the interview should never have happened - she's 14 years old.
i watched the media match and it was patently obvious to me from the start that the two girls would always get to meet.

the whole show centres around jackie-o being a sweetie and siding with the subjects and kyle being one bad muthaf***er. in the end, there's always a warm and fuzzy ending. (unless of course you've been raped.)
In which case it's a warm and runny ending?
oh you didn't go there.
hopefully theres legal ramifications as well..

i'm pretty sure this is illegal

especially for broadcast laws - what they broadcast has to be publicly acceptable.. this is clearly not
/me thinks infi has some liberal friends with money tied into austereo.

I dont think the should be pulled of the air though, maybe just a big fine.

i watched the media match and it was patently obvious to me from the start that the two girls would always get to meet.

I think you totally missed the point of that media watch segment.
the whole f***ing point to these shows is sensational stories. it's like a dwarf going onto jerry springer, and saying i didn't know i was going to get into a dwarf fight.

subjects on these freakshows, whether it be big brother or jerry springer, or kyle and jackie-o have to realise they are going to get f***ed with for their free plane tickets/cash/concert tickets.

I have zero sympathy for the two girls, they got played and they should have known better, that the program would use them for maximum ratings value.

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A FREE LUNCH.
Wow. So the girl who was flown from the states and probably never heard of the show should have known better?

So even after being told exactly what was going to happen, the girls should have assumed something different was going to happen?

Even after being told off camera that they can't back out, they should have known that they can back out?
i dunno, go ask the dwarves.
For the record, I think a clear distinction needs to be made between different types of stupid people.

There are stupid people who are fully aware of what's going to happen but then go ahead anyway. For example, the mother of the raped girl.

Then there are stupid people who get lied to, and unfortunately don't have the critical thinking skills to defend themselves. For example, the two girls.

There is a huge difference between these two groups. We should let the first group suffer in their own stupidity (unless it affects others, like the poor raped girl). BUT sometimes we need to protect the second group. It is not their fault that no one taught them any better.

There are stupid people who are fully aware of what's going to happen but then go ahead anyway. For example, the mother of the raped girl.
I would agree that she was stupid, but I doubt she could have predicted that things would go down the way they did. I don't think she deserves any less criticism because of it (seems like she failed Parenting 101 across the board really) though.

The problem is you can't ignore that group and let them suffer. Because almost always others are sucked into the black hole of their stupidity - like the poor raped girl. I dunno how to make people not be stupid though.
Nathan

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A FREE LUNCH.

Various TV programs regularly run feel-good promotions so we can watch (or listen in this case) to the happiness of two long-lost relatives meeting. The "no free lunch" comes from you having to publically share that moment with viewers. What their show did was a complete dick move, though I cant comment on whether someone would expect such a ridiculous "twist" on Kyle's radio show.

Personally though if I was the girl who won the competition, as soon as they announced their "twist" I would be hiring a lawyer and go after them for breaching the terms of the competition.
JamesBlunt

there was some bloke on top of her how do you think she could have managed that?
dranged
'sif he's got the arse. Extend-a-publicity in full effect. Kyle will be back in couple of weeks (after a nice holiday no doubt)

I;m the girl in the op.

I dunno how to make people not be stupid though.

Ritalin. Ritalin makes everything better.
Ritalin, isn't that the legal speed stuff (well legal if you geta script)? If so, I'll have 20 boxes please.
you thinking of dexamphetamine?
I've been on ritalin before during an experiment, and it was f***ing awesome. It made me totally pwn the task (very boring attention task that I found really fun and exciting while high!)
sounds exactly like fizz!
Def Ritalin after reading Billy's post.

My nephew is on it.
Let's medicate a whole generation.
Any
Let's medicate a whole generation.

Nothing wrong with this concept at all... Depends on the medication.

Measles / HPV / Smallpox vaccines ftw. Flouride ftw. Ritalin... maybe not.
My nephew is missing 1/4 of his brain due to brain surgery to remove a tumour when he was 18 months old.

He needs all the help he can get!

It's actually pretty amazing how resilient kids are. Doctors said he will probably die years ago. Now he is at school.
mission - out of curiosity, which part of the brain did they remove? I'd like to run some tests on him :O
anyone else expected to see jackie-o's jugs after this fiasco?
Hahah you freak me our Billy.

I wanna get me some ritalin now, I have a boring afternoon of drudge code crunch work that I don't wanna do..
I hear Red Bull & Stilnox works a treat.
I'm not exactly sure, maybe his back left.... I don't remember.

He's turning 7 this year so his operations where a while back now however he still suffers from seizures every now and then and is on numerous drugs to control this.

He has the Ritalin in the mornings before school so he pwns all the tasks, otherwise he doesn't really give a s***.

The results from the ritalin have, as far as I know, all been positive.
if they dont have any long term affect then why arent they giving them to random people?
anyone else expected to see jackie-o's jugs after this fiasco?

im with you greazy! bring em on!

I hear Red Bull & Stilnox works a treat.

nubs, can you write up a few prescriptions for stillnox, my doc wouldnt give me any :(
if they dont have any long term affect then why arent they giving them to random people?

The do least harm principle.
I'm not exactly sure, maybe his back left.... I don't remember.

He's turning 7 this year so his operations where a while back now however he still suffers from seizures every now and then and is on numerous drugs to control this.

He has the Ritalin in the mornings before school so he pwns all the tasks, otherwise he doesn't really give a s***.

The results from the ritalin have, as far as I know, all been positive.

s*** - sounds like he's been dealt a tough slog. Probably more important than the drugs and all that is the environment he's raised in - so if he's doing well, the family should take credit!
w00t!
If you have a few people in your house and you all get sick dont all get Codral Cold and Flu Original. Mix it up a bit cos 4 packs of codral going to the same address in a week will put 6 CIB agents at your door about 3 months down the track.