http://www.catsinclothes.com/hoodie-red-cat.jpg
http://critteristic.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/09/cute-cat-sleeping.jpg http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e242/samsayswhat/cute-cat.jpg http://hung1610.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/cute-cat-sleep.jpg http://www.innocentenglish.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/cats-kitten-sink.jpg http://www.pictureplates.com/anmpt016.jpg http://www.iphonewallpapershome.com/images/2009/03/cute-cat-jump-iphone-wallpaper.jpg this parody thread is now awesome. Also, i didn't make the defence force guys. Apparently i'm not officer material. :( doubly also, the guy pretty much bluntly said to me all patrol, armoured driving and rifleman/guard jobs are s*** and i shouldn't do them. i was crushed :( |
| #0 06:42pm 27/07/09 |
I was going to call you a f***** but you posted cats and I like cats so, post more cute kitties I suppose.
| #1 06:43pm 27/07/09 |
Who gives a f*** what anyone thinks. Just go with your heart damn-it!
| #2 06:44pm 27/07/09 |
It's ok, I hate cats so I'll call you a f*****.
| #3 07:00pm 27/07/09 |
i agree 1000% with wart
| #4 07:08pm 27/07/09 |
I was going to call you a f***** but you posted cats pussies |
| #5 07:10pm 27/07/09 |
gtfo phooks you underage b& newfag.
| #6 07:23pm 27/07/09 |
you give me an idea for warm winter dish
9 cat stew |
| #7 07:24pm 27/07/09 |
Replace cats with puppies an you sir have a winner stew
| #8 09:18pm 27/07/09 |
Detonator
Its over already "ban" is lifted
| #9 09:35pm 27/07/09 |
StopShootingMe
Keep Caturday in /b, please.
Did you bomb out in the Officer Selection Board or before that? |
| #10 09:41pm 27/07/09 |
JamesBlunt
Also, i didn't make the defence force guys. Apparently i'm not officer material. :( let me guess you failed the cup test because your balls hadnt dropped yet |
| #11 09:43pm 27/07/09 |
I want a puddy tat |
| #12 09:52pm 27/07/09 |
CATS!!! My favourite!!
| #13 09:54pm 27/07/09 |
gtfo phooks you underage b& newfag. who the f*** are you calling a 'newfag' Dint ? |
| #14 09:55pm 27/07/09 |
eightyeight
lol top thread would read again
| #15 10:16pm 27/07/09 |
Did you bomb out in the Officer Selection Board or before that? Assessment day. I didn't have the experience/qualities of a leader they said. Wasn't class captain/prefect, didn't know the types of leaders (aside from authoritarian and motivational), couldn't talk about leaders in my life, wasn't in cadets, didn't memorize enough defence protocols. pretty depressed about it actually. |
| #16 10:17pm 27/07/09 |
haha so in other words, you pretty much new nothing? That'd be me, hand me a gun & send me off to the front line & hope I hit something because stuffed if I could lead anyone to victory. You should see how many little guys I sacrifice/send to their death in the C&C games :D
| #17 10:30pm 27/07/09 |
This thread is top notch.
| #18 10:32pm 27/07/09 |
so in other words, you pretty much new nothing? No, I studied a fair amount actually. |
| #19 10:39pm 27/07/09 |
why dont you become a grunt? I know some dick said that gunner/driver a s*** jobs but not everyone starts out as a leader, some have to learn it.
p.s you really want to shoot arabs that badly? |
| #20 10:44pm 27/07/09 |
not if he wanted to be an officer
| #21 10:47pm 27/07/09 |
foo
Sounds like your recruiter is trying to point you in a direction he's got positions to fill. Trust me, the combat corps are where is it at, I'm in armoured corp in aslavs and it is the f***ing bomb. However I know for a fact we now have no more room in our units for new soldiers, we were screaming for them 4 years ago and have now finally filled up the positions and then some.
Your recruiter probably has a bunch of truckie, q-store or spanner slots he needs filled and wants you in it. If you have a dream job in the defence force then stick it out for the one you want, or ask them what they need and have a good hard look at what it is and whether you are interested. The job you do is a massive deal and it varies greatly, and signing up for 4 years can seem like a loooong time if you hate your job. |
| #22 11:00pm 27/07/09 |
yeah phooks.. get in and be a soldier first. apply for officer again once you have a few years and experience under your belt. you will be a better leader once you know what it's like at the bottom.
the light horse (aslavs) are f***ing great if you can get into that, but being a geek you are probably suited to signals corps.. i've got heaps of sig mates and they love it. if you're looking for a full career in the army then definitely set your sights on becoming an officer. after working the HQ for a couple of years I can definitely say it's the way to go. it's a whole other world where you don't get s*** on 24/7 and you have considerable amount of freedom (and better pay of course). set your sites on becoming an aviation officer and hoon around in rad helicopters all day. best job by far (plus you get to work with me!) ps. you probably failed officer assessment cos you like cats, ya poof. |
| #23 12:01am 28/07/09 |
at least he likes pussy dude, unlike you.
f*****. |
| #24 12:07am 28/07/09 |
pretty depressed about it actually Prior prevention prevents piss poor performance. You may not have know about leadership types etc etc (that sort of s*** is phycobabble anyways and possibly open to debate ... unless of course they told you to be prepared for it, in which case stiff) But you should have been able to talk about leaders (role models). Your selection of role models will let their psychs try to pidgeon hole your leadership style. And should have memorized all ranks in all 3 services along with a basic grasp of protocols. Particularly of your preferred corps. eg. If you liked artillery you should have understood at length what a gun was, what a section was, what a battery was, what a regiment was, the role of artillery in a brigade. How many of each was in each. What rank would be in charge of each and what there titles would be eg. BC, BSM, RSM etc etc etc you pretty much new nothing? did he old something ? not if he wanted to be an officer You can become a Commisioned officer via the enlisted / NCO path. It much harder, and you'll be a captain in your mid to late 30s when all the other captains are in their mid 20s. That said at least 2 of my school/childhood friends have done it, and love it. Tho the guys who went to ADFA are much higher ranks. last edited by Obes at 09:25:29 28/Jul/09 |
| #25 09:25am 28/07/09 |
Reason: wtf |
#26 10:07am 28/07/09
Surely if you are so passionate you would have done cadets or something to that effect or known that you had to have SOME of the requirements. Seems like you thought studying at school was enough to make you a leader. Unfortunatly it doesnt work that way.
What the others have said tho, go be an actual soldier for a few years and then retry for an officers position. |
| #27 10:32am 28/07/09 |
You gotta just get on with it mate. Becoming depressed about a setback just won't help - get agro or anything but sadface.
Something I've learned in this s***bag of a life is that you have to use adversity and setback to your advantage. Dwelling on the s***ty things that happen to you is very much habit forming. Find something in the setback to use to your advantage - take the lesson out of it and just push on. Its the first of many kicks in the teeth that the universe will unfortunately serve up. How you deal with them will define your life in a lot of ways. |
| #28 05:23pm 28/07/09 |
its a case of if you want to go aviation, fair enough but you'll get paid double in the civilian world for doing essentially the same thing.
aircraft engineer ftw |
| #29 05:46pm 28/07/09 |
Thanks heaps guys. Means a lot. God damn I love qgl. |
| #30 06:02pm 28/07/09 |
i'm join and be a sniper son, just like mark whalberg.
Meanwhile i had a mate who went from aerospace engineering into an officer course @ ADFA, he seems to like it last edited by Raider at 21:19:54 28/Jul/09 |
| #31 09:19pm 28/07/09 |
was talking to my son last night who is over in timor in the infantry atm, he just got accepted into the sniper course
| #32 09:38pm 28/07/09 |
Mass
better stop giving s*** to Jim.......cause you won't see it coming.
Phooks if you want some advice on what way to go now I can put you in touch with my brother-in-law. He is Lt.Col and about to take command at Duntroon at end of year. He is a career soldier, done his mid-east tours etc, mostly now he trains in classroom (all round the world) on warfare tactics but knows the Army back to front. |
| #33 10:31pm 28/07/09 |
my mate actually said becoming a sniper is probably the most grueling job in the army.. physically and mentally.
your sons going to become arny... jim. i'm actually considering a stint at the moment, got a YOU session on friday.. but i just can't really see myself in there.. i'm to big of a smart arse i'd prob get slapped around silly. |
| #34 10:46pm 28/07/09 |
Did you mention your well defined Spy abilities in TF2?
Obviously not... |
| #35 10:45am 29/07/09 |
| #35 |