![]()  | 

broke my tib and fib playing footy yesterday.  the missus has been kind enough to drop off the laptop.

only got private for extras, not hospital... but cant fault the public system.  | 
| #0 05:53pm 26/07/09 | 

ouch, logan hospital is decent tho.  i've done a few rotations there, it has a lot of good teaching docs 

| #1 06:01pm 26/07/09 | 

That the one near the TAFE? 

| #2 06:03pm 26/07/09 | 

awesome 'sport' you got there

a bloke i was working with in cns was playing a club game and snapped the nerve in his arm.. instant disability.. the nerve never grew back and he lost the use of his arm.. also the game wasnt covered by insurrance so he couldnt work properly any more.. get well soon!!  | 
| #3 06:03pm 26/07/09 | 

yeah, one near the tafe. 

| #4 06:13pm 26/07/09 | 

ouch moobs, I've done the same thing.

had a cast on for 6 weeks... then they took it off for a week, and decided to put it back on for another 3 :(  | 
| #5 06:14pm 26/07/09 | 

get well soon :D 

| #6 06:14pm 26/07/09 | 

how did you manage to break both? 

| #7 06:54pm 26/07/09 | 

lucky you werent black 

| #8 06:58pm 26/07/09 | 

ouch, logan hospital is decent tho. i've done a few rotations there, it has a lot of good teaching docs Loving the self plug there jab ;)  | 
| #9 07:17pm 26/07/09 | 

how did you manage to break both? they're the 2 bones in your lower leg... pretty easy to break both.  | 
| #10 07:33pm 26/07/09 | 

sux2bu 

get better I guess I've never broken a bone in my body, true story  | 
| #11 07:36pm 26/07/09 | 

me either Heardy, ouch I could only assume Mooby, did you cry?  I would have :) 

last edited by Fn at 22:26:08 26/Jul/09  | 
| #12 10:26pm 26/07/09 | 

To me the weird feeling you get when you break a bone is much worse than the pain. 

| #13 10:30pm 26/07/09 | 

ouch, logan hospital is decent tho. i've done a few rotations there, it has a lot of good teaching docs Loving the self plug there jab ;) self plug?? tinu u crazy man  | 
| #14 10:39pm 26/07/09 | 

To me the weird feeling you get when you break a bone is much worse than the pain. Really? I've never had a full break - only fractures. When I've fractured various bones it only felt like a bad fall. Only after a few days of pain, when its still really sore did I go to a doctor and find out something was wrong. However true break probably feels weird and painful.  | 
| #15 10:49pm 26/07/09 | 

To me the weird feeling you get when you break a bone is much worse than the pain.In my experience this is true for a while after a break. I broke my knee pretty bad (physio I saw for rehab at the gabba said usually only see the fracture extend as far as it did in car crashes - the knee bends the wrong way and where the femur/tibia meet, they push into each other until one gives way and the other pushes up into it, depresses the surface and in my case, split the bone almost all the way through the bulbous head to where it gets thin and extends out of the knee - normally get connective tissue damage or the bone displaces too far to heal without surgery, got super f***ing lucky in that regard) but the initial feeling wasn't of pain as much as just your whole body going holy f*** your knee just did something it isn't meant to and a really weird feeling ringing around in the general area of the break. Then for at least the first few hours after, certain positions gave pretty much no pain at all up until the swelling started to cause pain. (and I guess adrenaline had fully worn off) me either Heardy, ouch I could only assume Mooby, did you cry? I would have :)I reckon the real pain begins when you try to sleep the first night after. You burn a s*** load of energy after the break, you probably didn't feel like eating so you got no energy back, the swelling keeps getting worse which makes it hurt more and you start to feel tired cause you cant fall asleep. If you had been playing sport you'll be filthy cause you cant shower. Lying on your back in a f***ed up position with a bunch of bulls*** attached to your leg. The hours go by and you might get 15mins sleep at a time then wake up and be unable to get comfortable to try and go back to sleep. By 5AM I had totally had enough of that s*** so I went to the ER at the same hospital as the orthopod I was seeing a couple hours later and got onto some morphine. (I had gotten some oxycodone but it didn't do much and made me feel sick) Then I just floated through the rest of the day and night, asleep in the hospital. I f***ing hated the hospital too. By the afternoon the next day I wanted to get out of there like it was prison. Had to be on anti-nausia meds cause it turns out I dont do pain killers very well and then half the time it felt like my head was falling through the pillow and sitting up made feel sick. Cycle through sleep, morphine wears out, pain, wake up, more shots, asleep. A couple days like that and I think I would go crazy. I dunno how people with serious illness can handle living in hospitals for long periods, way harder than me... I sort of chipped a corner of my Scaphoid (fracture but right near the corner instead of through the middle) and it just hurt. Nothing crazy, was able to finish the game of rugby I did it in. Then as the afternoon went on it hurt more and more. But I didn't get the weird feeling I got when I proper broke my knee, just pain. So I guess that has something to do with it. last edited by qmass at 23:20:46 26/Jul/09  | 
| #16 11:20pm 26/07/09 | 

I f***ing hated the hospital too. By the afternoon the next day I wanted to get out of there like it was prison I spend a couple of weeks a year in hospital :( Yes, its a f***ing prison!  | 
| #17 11:25pm 26/07/09 | 

There was 2 good things about staying in the hospital. 

1, my brain surgeon was a hottie, and 2, the girl in the bed next to me was a super hottie.  | 
| #18 11:37pm 26/07/09 | 

^ You were amazingly lucky. 

From experience, the median age for patients is 173 and more public doctors speak Hindi than English.  | 
| #19 11:44pm 26/07/09 | 

I spend a couple of weeks a year in hospital :( Yes, its a f***ing prison!  | 
| #20 11:58pm 26/07/09 | 

Yes hogfather, I was amazingly lucky to get 2 titanium plates inserted into my skull. 

| #21 12:04am 27/07/09 | 

Was that to hold all your brains in?

Did it work?  | 
| #22 12:18am 27/07/09 | 

Yes hogfather, I was amazingly lucky to get 2 titanium plates inserted into my skull.whats with your sarcastic tone. 3 posts up you were gloating about having a hottie as a doctor. last edited by greazy at 00:29:21 27/Jul/09  | 
| #23 12:29am 27/07/09 | 

the milk we got these days just aint what she use to be. 

| #24 12:32am 27/07/09 | 

yeah man, back in the day nobody ever broke bones... 

| #25 01:14am 27/07/09 | 

When I broke my collarbone I thought i had just dislocated my shoulder and it was hanging down, so I tried to like push it back together and holy f*** was that the wrong move. I guess I pushed the 2 bones over each other and now they overlap :(

Worst pain ever  | 
| #26 01:21am 27/07/09 | 

does a fracture count? 

last edited by infi at 04:41:22 27/Jul/09  | 
| #27 04:41am 27/07/09 | 

When I broke my collarbone I thought i had just dislocated my shoulder and it was hanging down, so I tried to like push it back together and holy f*** was that the wrong move. I guess I pushed the 2 bones over each other and now they overlap :( yer, i broke my collarbone a few times a few toes and few fingers also  | 
| #28 05:15am 27/07/09 | 

I broke one of my toes on my 2nd birthday. Dropped a big ass can off pineapple on it right before my birthday party and mum had to rush me to the hospital because my toe was barely hanging on. Just a few twisted ankles here and there otherwise.  

| #29 09:01am 27/07/09 | 

infi, a fracture is a break.. so yes 

| #30 10:22am 27/07/09 | 

A bouncer broke my elbow ages back and I felt NO PAIN until I woke up the next morning and my drunkenness disappeared, then it was all about the ouchys and it swelled to double the size :( had a cast for a month.

Hope you get better soon moobs!  | 
| #31 10:28am 27/07/09 | 

cheers guys.  no surgery for now, got realsed.  two hot nurses who where nice, one english 

| #32 02:59pm 27/07/09 | 

Yes hogfather, I was amazingly lucky to get 2 titanium plates inserted into my skull. Yeh seriously, what gioves? One moment you're all WOO I GOT HOT BITCHES then you're tearing up about being turned into a cyborg? It could be worse - at least they were able to fix you mate :) When I go to hospital they just sort of shrug and look awkward.  | 
| #33 03:06pm 27/07/09 | 

broke my wrist pretty bad a few months ago playing football

they thought it was only dislocated due to the Z shape my wrist/hand was in.. turns out the bone snapped clean in half then one side decided to rest on top of the other side.. that being pulled apart then pushed back togeather along with the anesthetic not working properly wasnt nice. 2 weeks later went back for a checkup x-ray.. wasnt healing properly so spent 2 days in hospital after a plate and 7 screws in. some mistake with my records showed i was allergic to anti-inflametrys so i spent the night in constant pain due to swelling inside the bandage type thing. By morning after not getting any sleep (morphine isnt all it's cracked up to be ) the consulting docter came threw. double checked my records relised the mistake, quickly cut the cast off and gave me the anti-inflam's Long story short dont goto redcliffe hospital. Only reason i went there was because it was the closest hospital to the ground i was playing at. ps - someone stole my havaiana's while i was there last edited by smart at 16:34:18 27/Jul/09  | 
| #34 04:34pm 27/07/09 | 

Nothing wrong with redcliffe hospital.. Having someone very very close to go there quite often and the service is damn good. 

| #35 05:36pm 27/07/09 | 

I would catch a cab with a broken leg from anywhere in brisbane to go to the right hospital.  | 
| #36 05:44pm 27/07/09 | 

Denominator 

I worked on the Refirb on Logan hospital a couple of years ago it is a crazy place to be all the staff there are pritty cool but have a weird seance of humor. I worked on ICU, Short stay, Emergency and Mental health assessment.   

| #37 06:13pm 27/07/09 | 

Can't wait for QE2 hospital to be finished getting upgraded. Had been run down for so long, it's a very well placed hospital in the community. 

| #38 06:20pm 27/07/09 | 

When I go to hospital they just sort of shrug and look awkward. I know exactly you mean, Ive been there (not me with the problems but someone close)  | 
| #39 06:31pm 27/07/09 | 

I would catch a cab with a broken leg from anywhere in brisbane to go to the right hospital. I did my achilles at the indoor center at underwood and got a teammate to drive me to greenslopes hospital, partly cos it was closer to where I lived, and partly cos I had more trust in them than I would have with any hospitals around underwood. I've not broken any bones, but I've had a few other medium- to full-on injuries. Among the worst as far as pain goes was when I had a ganglion cyst on my foot. Basically the fluid between two of the bones in the foot was squeezing out the sides, so the bones started rubbing together. Each step felt like having a knife stuck through the foot. :/ As far as weird feelings go, 20 minutes or so after I did my achilles the calf muscle started twitching a heap, which was half painful, half just very very wrong feeling. But what I found was the worst of all was that there was a particular taste in my mouth right after it went. I got the same sensation when the calf muscle tore 3 months later. That and the sound of it letting go literally haunted me for about 6 months afterwards - I'd get flashbacks to it at random times and it would really take me back to the moment. :(  | 
| #40 06:46pm 27/07/09 | 

Wait till you get gout :( 

| #41 11:40pm 27/07/09 | 

Mr.Bumpy 

I've never broken or fractured any bones, thankfully, but having said that I'm replying from the Royal Melbourne Hospital during dialysis. I had to stay in hospital for two weeks back in April when I was diagnosed with renal failure. I can tell you my hospital stay was about the worst experience I've had, but nothing against the nurses since they were all nice and some were hot. I had a catheter in for 4 of those nights; for most of my stay I had a canulla (tube valve) in both my wrists with a drip attached to one; and for one night i had ECG leads all over my body. For most of my stay I could barely move in bed, not even roll over, because of all the tubes, plus I had my blood tested, my blood pressure and my weight checked every 5 hours, including at night :( Since then I visited the hospital every week and thankfully only required one hospital stay because the doctors thought my red blood cell count was declining again. I didn't have the tubes but my stay was incredibly boring with no TV since it wasn't free and I didn't have private health insurance. I was so bored I looked forward to the hospital meal times. Luckily I had my iPhone and the Ausgamers forums came through, even if I went over my download cap.  | 
| #42 06:39pm 28/07/09 | 

f*** Bumpy, take it easy mate, hope things pick up for you. And Hermi, how damn old are you? lol  | 
| #43 06:54pm 28/07/09 | 

| #43 |