CSIRAC
So I'm visiting a family member at the PA and i parked on AYR St (side street off cornwall, close to the emergency entry). I get done for "Park in official parking control area longer than permitted maxium-Dutton Park Parking Control area".
I even walked out of the car to check if there were any signs to indicate if there was a time limit or not, and I didnt see any. It wasnt on the yellow line side of the street either. Basically so i dont feel so bent over, I'm wondering if anyone lives near that area and is familiar with this Parking control area. Is it suppose to be general knowledge that you cant park there? blah. crappy. |
| #0 08:55pm 22/07/09 |
No sign No Fine isnt it ?
| #1 08:57pm 22/07/09 |
No sign No Fine isnt it ?There are signs on major roads around the cbd saying the entire area is 2 hour parking unless otherwise signed, pretty sure ive seen those signs around that area too. |
| #2 08:59pm 22/07/09 |
The Match Fixer
No sign No Fine wont take you very far in court.
| #3 09:04pm 22/07/09 |
There are maps online that will delineate the parking areas. Have a look, if its incorrectly given, go to the place and take a photo then fight it.
| #4 09:05pm 22/07/09 |
http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/BCC:BASE::pc=PC_2123
if you don't know that anywhere around the cbd is 2hrs max, you're doing it way wrong cheaper to park in paid parking imo, 1 x 20 dollars every now and then is way better than risking a $60-90 parking fine my gf used to park outside my apartment and even when we were quite careful we still got stung, she parked in an area that was unlimited parking after 7pm but we forgot that at 9am the next morning it was a bus lane long story short i had to go pay $300 to get the car out of the tow yard and then another $90 for the parking fine, heaps gay |
| #5 09:15pm 22/07/09 |
CSIRAC
Ok so according to that website I'm clearly in the wrong. But where the crap is it signed on the actual roads. There were no signs on entry to cornwall st nor was there any on entry to Ayr St.
| #6 09:25pm 22/07/09 |
i got a ticket today for parking in probably the dumbest no standing zone in brisbane that does not affect traffic whatsoever
i'm off to remove the sign and then get the fine waived after all - no sign, no fine! |
| #7 09:32pm 22/07/09 |
^ lol insom
| #8 09:58pm 22/07/09 |
épic™
who rly cares just pay it and move on, what is it 20 bucks or something? lol
| #9 10:04pm 22/07/09 |
JohnnieD
I'm presuming it was $50. The first time I got done, parking near the Dutton Park cemetary on Brisbane Corso, I had nfi Dutton Park was 2hours only everywhere and believe me I was not happy - but now I know I accept it. It especially sucks because I work at the PA and go to UQ from the southside so you have to get to the green bridge by 7.15 if you want a free all-day park for either place.
| #10 10:12pm 22/07/09 |
Parking ticket anyway around Melbourne CBD is $120 these days. |
| #11 10:18pm 22/07/09 |
CSIRAC
Yeah it was $50.
Normally I'd shrug off $50 but 1) bit tight on money atm and 2) theres no f***ing signage! |
| #12 10:33pm 22/07/09 |
Jimbo
dunno what people have said coz i cbf reading it all and im drunk but:
brisbane street parallel to cornwall used to have the close side 2 hours and the far side (from the hospital) all day and as I understood it was 2 hours on all streets closer than that (and carville street which is next down had 1 side 2 hours also) but they have taken down the park all day signs so i have no idea now what the situation is there now. But sounds like you were in a classic 2 hour park (which is notoriously poorly signed) for longer than 2 hours. tough break |
| #13 11:04pm 22/07/09 |
Just use "The Vibe" defense, in Kerrigan v. Commonwealth of Australia.
last edited by infi at 23:31:18 22/Jul/09 |
| #14 11:31pm 22/07/09 |
... and people wonder why I hate the city.
| #15 12:10am 23/07/09 |
I was there on Monday. I parked about 20M down hill from the emergency entry bit, I was on the same side of the street as the entry. There's a 10 min parking sign up there. I was there for 40 mins but didn't get a ticket :D
| #16 02:22am 23/07/09 |
lewd
... and people wonder why I hate the city. its not a city mate, its a big country town. anyone who thinks otherwise fails. |
| #17 06:06am 23/07/09 |
there should be signage... not everyone has the internet to check where they can and cannot park...
so lets say your out and about and you find a parking spot, they expect you to rush off home and jump on the net to check if you're allowed to park there? |
| #18 06:14am 23/07/09 |
lewd
every road/street into a traffic area has the approprate signage.
try not being like a cliche brisbane driver, and be more observant. |
| #19 06:22am 23/07/09 |
No sign No Fine wont take you very far in court. theres signs everywhere |
| #20 07:34am 23/07/09 |
City is a s*** heap for parking. I've just taken to using the parking centre when at gigs and whatnot. Sucks but it's a lot cheaper..
Parking is a shutheap everywhere really. They put no stopping signs f***n everywhere they can sting people. |
| #21 08:07am 23/07/09 |
You'll pass a enormous sign somewhere along the roads as you head towards the city that advises every street after that point is a 2 hour zone.
The signs are pretty big... not that easy to miss. |
| #22 08:15am 23/07/09 |
If they charge anything like the cbd, which is like $40+ for 4 hours then you werent far off from what it would have cost u anyway.
| #23 08:29am 23/07/09 |
If they charge anything like the cbd, which is like $40+ for 4 hours then you werent far off from what it would have cost u anyway. Its actually quite cheap, at least at the one near the Zoo. I think I was there for about 3 hours and only got charged about 10 bucks or something. This was on a Fri night. |
| #24 08:48am 23/07/09 |
No sign No Fine isnt it ? I got done last year for parking in one of the residential streets near uni last year after parking there 3-4 days a week for the last 3 years and never once having a ticket before to let me know I was doing the wrong thing. (Nor had I seen anyone else with a ticket) Only sign there was that you can't park there Tuesday mornings in rubbish collection time. I tried arguing it but after like 4 months of them thinking it over they decided that no I would still have to pay it and that they have ticket inspectors there every single day and that I'd obviously been lucky... for the last 3 years. |
| #25 09:23am 23/07/09 |
Any Hospital (in QLD) at least is 2HR MAX parking zone, it's roughly 500m-1km radius around the hospitals. my mum works at PA, and she parks whereever she finds a spot.. Never had a ticket. |
| #26 10:07am 23/07/09 |
Reminds me of my first parking ticket in Melbourne. I live about 1km from the local junction (Camberwell) and we were heading up there for dinner. I'm all keen to do the 10minute max walk but nooooo, wifey is all whiney about it being cold and sprinkling with rain so I suggest we go lazy and get the tram up but nooooo, wifey doesn't want to goto the effort of figuring out when the tram comes and time herself accordingly.
So we then have to take the super lazy method of driving up there, f***ing around for 15 minutes trying to get a car park, I find one near enough to the restaurant that it's not an equal walking distance from my goddamn house only to find it's a permit parking zone after 8pm and I got hit with a $90 parking ticket. In addition to all this being her fault (clearly it is), I then find out the ticket guy came past 2 minutes before I got back to the car and surprise, we had to stop and wait while wifey ran off to the toilet because she couldn't hold it the 30 second drive home and there's my 2 minutes. :ANGRY FACE: |
| #27 10:25am 23/07/09 |
haha ticcles
i feel your pain brother |
| #28 10:27am 23/07/09 |
Coochie
my mum works at PA, and she parks wherever she finds a spot.. Never had a ticket.yeah I work at Mater...works out cheaper to park on the street and cop the odd fine every now and then rather than paying $110 or something for parking/month. Now that buses are getting good though I use them instead...much more relaxing form of transport. Although I would only ever use the busway ones...hate the sucker buses that drive on the civilian streets. |
| #29 10:37am 23/07/09 |
Someone mess up angle brackets... :P
| #30 11:31am 23/07/09 |
Mephz
Wow, finally managed to work out how to delete that mess and fix the forum!
Anyway I was trying to link this map: http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/bccwr/lib261/dutton_park_parking_control_area_map_.pdf - It has the 2HR MAX area filled in incase you need to park there again. Anywhere outside it is non-restricted. Inside it however there are a couple of remote places that are actually (or used to be, No Limit). Across Dutton Park Train tracks there is a No Limit street. (unless its changed) A side street + the hospitals back doorstep is technically owned by QR and there's a few places to park there that isn't ticketed by council or hospital. my mum works at PA, and she parks whereever she finds a spot.. Never had a ticket.Outside the highlighted area perhaps, or otherwise extremely lucky. - I did park a car for a few months on the restricted streets without getting a ticket though. last edited by Mephz at 11:42:37 23/Jul/09 |
| #31 11:42am 23/07/09 |
yeah I work at Mater...works out cheaper to park on the street and cop the odd fine every now and then rather than paying $110 or something for parking/month. I used to work in a building above Roma St Train Station. They hardly ever checked the train parking out the back so I'd just park in there and not even bother getting a $2 ticket for 2 hours then go out at smoko and get another (after 4 hours the meters were turned off). I got one fine of $40 over a whole year, cheaper then the $1000 odd for parking haha. If I used the kings parking it would have been $2500 odd a year. |
| #32 11:52am 23/07/09 |
No signs huh? This one's on Ipswich Rd heading towards the PA from the city.
http://www.grabup.com/uploads/c6f8dfa2e074affb272b171e20d7a9b0.png And here's one coming from Ipswich http://www.grabup.com/uploads/285ba8b10d3123c4d3c91776f4beaf41.png Oooh, fairfield road! http://www.grabup.com/uploads/3d03c045625e5d3a30e46389d06101df.png learn2read, nub - be aware of your surroundings while driving. last edited by exo at 12:03:16 23/Jul/09 |
| #33 12:03pm 23/07/09 |
Exo, if he's parking where I think he is there's one that says 10 min only also heh.
| #34 12:01pm 23/07/09 |
hmm pwned by google street thingy. niccce.
| #35 12:07pm 23/07/09 |
Oh, and how's this for a sign on the STREET YOU'RE PARKING ON
http://img.skitch.com/20090723-dyt6d1j221cnbg6e5b5kx875a3.png |
| #36 12:10pm 23/07/09 |
That sign is obscured by tree leaves and therefore would not stand up in a court.
| #37 01:23pm 23/07/09 |
Make sure your rego is on the ticket before you pay it. If your rego is on the ticket why on earth didn't you just stick it in the windshield of a nearby car?
| #38 01:44pm 23/07/09 |
That sign is obscured by tree leaves and therefore would not stand up in a court. And what of the other signs he passed upon entering the traffic area in the first place? |
| #39 02:51pm 23/07/09 |
They are blurry therefore they would not stand up in court.
| #40 03:24pm 23/07/09 |
But if you cant see the sign then you cant be fined.
| #41 04:27pm 23/07/09 |
| #42 07:23pm 23/07/09 |
Corrupt
Free parking for me in the CBD for as long as I like :P
| #43 07:33pm 23/07/09 |
Bump thread -
Got a $50 fine for parking in the Gabba area during the AFL game. The street had no limit parking signs on one side, but no signs on the side I parked on. There were plenty of other cars on the side I parked on. Turns out there is some special rules about parking around this area when events are on. * a two hour parking limit applies on all unsigned streets Monday to Friday 7am to 7pm This is a bit ambiguous about it. It doesn't actually say that you can't park on the other side. Also, the street I parked in is officially a part of the "East Brisbane" suburb, and not Woolloongabba. So basically, how the f*** could I know this s*** without having googled it beforehand (and who would do that)? Do I have a case? |
| #44 11:40pm 15/08/09 |
all unsigned roads very ambiguous |
| #45 11:49pm 15/08/09 |
The road I parked in had signs. Just not the side i was on.
So the road I parked in was NOT an unsigned road. |
| #46 11:52pm 15/08/09 |
no case
| #47 07:17am 16/08/09 |
There are a few signs around mentioning (very briefly) the parking rules during a gabba event. There's always a flashy light sign just before the story bridge saying there's an event on, but it's just about expecting delays and nothing about parking. I don't think you'd really have a case. I guess they'd just that the gabba parking rules have always applied and that it's up to you to look up whether there is something on there before parking. Can always try though.
| #48 08:55am 16/08/09 |
They have signs up on all major entrances to east brisbane/gabba about the parking restrictions, you've got no case at all. The only exception that is made is residents cars, which might be the cars you were talking about.
Basically, you got nothing. |
| #49 09:29am 16/08/09 |
You could front up to court and may get off on a warning instead. However it probably isn't worth your trouble.
| #50 10:02am 16/08/09 |
dranged
Makes you wonder what the revenue difference is in parking fines from 'absolutely zero parking' zones to 'parking under x, y, z conditions with 1, 2, 3 clauses'. Honeytrap?
| #51 10:26am 16/08/09 |
Yeah... probably where they get a large portion of their fine revenue.
I can see now that where I parked was technically a place where you could be fined - but I don't know how anyone could know not to park there without having someone tell them about it beforehand. I don't think the way I went had one of those big signs - i went along Earl Street into Logan Road into Wellington Road. It seems you can lodge an appeal by writing - I guess i'll try that just in case before I pay. |
| #52 10:49am 16/08/09 |
It's 50 bux, did you not get $950 not that long ago?
| #53 01:15pm 16/08/09 |
Nah, I'm just a poor student trying to support the local AFL team.
| #54 01:24pm 16/08/09 |
| #55 01:27pm 16/08/09 |
Guess I need to haul out streetview again to prove people's idiocy.
http://www.grabup.com/uploads/9dc202f0d5cc09777d4b73ee3f55847e.png This sign changes to "15 min parking" during game days, and there's other ones at every main entrance into the Gabba traffic area. I don't think the way I went had one of those big signs - i went along Earl Street into Logan Road into Wellington Road. http://www.grabup.com/uploads/8d049b0cb0b8301f3dcd635e2cc03e75.png Oh, and this one near Suncorp Stadium, because I'm sure this will be the next traffic area that people bitch about: http://www.grabup.com/uploads/f5cd3058992c1e512180e2a80aac59b1.png Seriously, what are you people looking at when you're driving? last edited by exo at 13:32:37 16/Aug/09 |
| #56 01:32pm 16/08/09 |
That is a bit too much to read when you're actually driving and not looking for a park. It's also difficult to make the connection between the sign and the place you want to park. It's like hitting a dog for s***ting on the carpet hours later.
last edited by thermite at 14:15:24 16/Aug/09 |
| #57 02:15pm 16/08/09 |
I can confirm the Martin Street/Logan Road sign is there.
Edit: That is a bit too much to read when you're actually driving and not looking for a park. It's also difficult to make the connection between the sign and the place you want to park. Except the signs are big, they blink the relevant information, and are usually located in 60km/h zones so there's plenty of time to read them. And it says Gabba on it. How does that make it difficult to make a connection when the reason you're looking for a park is because you're going to the Gabba? Furthermore, they're at the entrance to the restricted parking area, you don't normally park there, you park further in, so you're not actively looking for a park at the same time that you should see the sign. last edited by Triamks at 14:21:05 16/Aug/09 |
| #58 02:21pm 16/08/09 |
Corrupt
At your own discretion google refused for cause and diagonally on the back of the letter put a red line through it and write refused for cause.
Do this at your own risk and I highly recommend you research before you do. |
| #59 06:46pm 16/08/09 |
Corrupt
I would like to add that for any of you who act by this premise "just know and obey the rules" You are acting in ignorance and here is a message so that you may wake up.
There probably are around about 15 million or more different rules and regulations in Australia, and at any given time you have at least broken one of these codes or statutes. Therefore it is impossible to act legally without breaking some form of code or statute. This can easily be seen as having no equity. "Fairness" last edited by Corrupt at 18:54:18 16/Aug/09 |
| #60 06:54pm 16/08/09 |
I would also like to add when you have clearly broken the law, proved that there were signs about the law then you should just accept being in the wrong instead of wasting time and resources.
| #61 08:34pm 16/08/09 |
Corrupt
I am responding to greazy's comment to say that statutes and legislation are not law they are statutes and legislation, legislation is the practice of introducing acts, bills, statutes into the legal framework. Legal and lawful are not the same.
| #62 09:34pm 16/08/09 |
funky
STICK IT TO THE MAN
| #63 09:54pm 16/08/09 |
I would like to add that for any of you who act by this premise "just know and obey the rules" You are acting in ignorance and here is a message so that you may wake up. No, I'm not telling you to go and hunt down and memorise every f***ing traffic area in Brisbane...but for f***s sake open up your eyes while you're on the road and you don't have to. |
| #64 10:00pm 16/08/09 |
Corrupt
Exo do you know how to read? I suggest you read my post again and then think about what you wrote.
| #65 10:02pm 16/08/09 |
Except the signs are big, they blink the relevant information, and are usually located in 60km/h zones so there's plenty of time to read them. And it says Gabba on it. None of that matters, there is no way you would understand that sign if you were just driving by. Sure you might catch a glimpse of something something traffic area but you can't really be certain of what it said. You can hardly read it in that google pic, and it's already got the camera angle tilted right at it. By the time you notice it it's gone. It's too much information to process. You're probably busy trying to merge or find a sign to tell you where to go. Plus it's wierd and unexpected and was never mentioned in the road rules, driving lessons, or driving test. I've been done for this at St Lucia, I had parked there everyday for weeks before I got a ticket, and it still took till someone told me to realise what the deal was. And I'm known for spotting s***!! I probably saw it and thought it was something irrelevant to me. It looks kinda ignorable like a sign for trucks or construction work. last edited by thermite at 22:21:21 16/Aug/09 |
| #66 10:21pm 16/08/09 |
So in the few seconds i'm driving past a sign a few meters above me, I should be able to deduce that: in a street which has no limit parking signs (this street is 2km away from the big sign mind you), i am allowed to park on the right side of the street, but not the left side? It's easy for you to sit behind your computer and say that s*** when you can google the specific regulations for each suburb, and look on streetview. Bear in mind that not everyone may have been on the road as long as you, or frequent the same areas that you do. |
| #67 10:45pm 16/08/09 |
| #67 |