rrrocket
I'm looking to buy a car (2nd hand) up towards 20k. I'm not into cars at all so I don't really know what to look for so google can't help me.
Basically I'm after safety, airbags ABS etc., space for pram & kids stuff. I dnn't mind the look of the Nissan Xtrail or should I go for a sedan with big boot? Only serious people with advice need apply. (saying this will probably make it worse) |
| #0 09:12pm 23/04/09 |
Strik3r
R34 4 door meets all your requirements and can be a fun car to drive when the family isn't in it !
| #1 09:15pm 23/04/09 |
No idea on specific makes, but I would stay away from a 4WD, you should be looking for a people mover. The more seats the better, especially if you are going for a family car, it's easier if you can transport kids + friends. If you are keeping it in a garage make sure you measure the space you have and buy accordingly - they can get a tad wide, long, or high
| #2 09:16pm 23/04/09 |
BA XR6
| #3 09:22pm 23/04/09 |
you need some more definite ideas of the car's function. work out what you like first, then we can tell you what's good in the category you like.
| #4 09:25pm 23/04/09 |
Crakaveli
Audi RS6 imo.
| #5 09:33pm 23/04/09 |
*** WARNING SERIOUS POST ***
$20k will get you a 2 year old commodore, with pretty much everything you mentioned. example: click |
| #6 09:37pm 23/04/09 |
No idea on specific makes, but I would stay away from a 4WD, you should be looking for a people mover. By buying a people mover, you would be pretty much resigning yourself to becoming a taxi service. Get something with 5 seats as an absolute maximum. |
| #7 09:40pm 23/04/09 |
Landcruiser GXL diesel, fits upto 7 people or 5 people if you put rear seats down, has decent size boot then aswell.
Toyota rav 4, nice little 4wd. But how big of a car you do actually want? Small car with decent space, or large car with lots of space? If you go people mover, get honda odyssey. |
| #8 09:49pm 23/04/09 |
Don't get a 4wd.
| #9 09:52pm 23/04/09 |
Nothing wrong with a 4wd
| #10 09:53pm 23/04/09 |
rrrocket
Not after a people mover as such, just a five seater sedan sorta. Maybe even a Honda Accord?
| #11 10:01pm 23/04/09 |
Get something nissan or toyota, cheapest and reliable as f***. Anything jap is seriously the best bet.
| #12 10:08pm 23/04/09 |
^^ toyota cheapest, doesnt go in the same sentence
| #13 10:12pm 23/04/09 |
athzhr
Could take a look at a Subaru Outback or a Forester
| #14 10:19pm 23/04/09 |
get the newest big car you can for your 20k.
This means look at a newish Commodore or Falcon, or a Subaru Liberty or Toyota Aurion or something. |
| #15 10:20pm 23/04/09 |
^^ toyota cheapest, doesnt go in the same sentence When it comes to repairing the thing and comparing it to say pretty much any other car, parts and labour are cheap. |
| #16 10:23pm 23/04/09 |
HyperJ
Audi RS6 imo. $20k eh? that might buy you the tyres and floor mats. Take it from me Audi's get bloody expensive to fix when they go wrong..... $250k to spend on a car... Audi RS6 or Aston Martin V8 Vantage.... I know which i'd have.. |
| #17 10:56pm 23/04/09 |
When it comes to repairing the thing and comparing it to say pretty much any other car, parts and labour are cheap. au contraire. my oldass corolla is like $400 for a set of spark plug leads and $1800 for a set of injectors IF YOU CAN FIND THEM. That's what I was told when I asked toyota for some injectors and even oldmac toyota had to track some down from japan. Needless to say I didn't bother getting them. |
| #18 11:13pm 23/04/09 |
Toyota, Mazda, Honda + 4cylinder
= Reliability, Cheap on Fuel, Cheap Rego, Cheap to Repair, Good Resale Value. |
| #19 11:51pm 23/04/09 |
Maxda sp23 or even a ford focus, we have both, with 2 kids and prams etc, they both are pretty good cars, cheaper on fuel than any falcon or commodore, if you dont care about the fuel get a few year old BA, heaps cheaper than commodore's cause more bogans want commodores, and its a better car than the commodore.
| #20 07:07am 24/04/09 |
Buy 20 Sigma's.
| #21 07:29am 24/04/09 |
By buying a people mover, you would be pretty much resigning yourself to becoming a taxi service. Get something with 5 seats as an absolute maximum. If you have enough kids to need a people mover, you're going to be a taxi service anyway. I would ideally love an 8 seater. Two parents, three kids, and each kid able to have a friend along. Anyway, I can't contribute any more to this thread. Good luck rrrocket |
| #22 07:39am 24/04/09 |
Yeah, in all seriousness 20K will get you upto a 1 and a half - 2 year old commodore/falcon/what every toyota makes now/honda sedan.
There's no shortage of them in that age bracket, and depending on what colour you get, can range from 17 - 20k. If you buy them around that old, you will still get the manufacturers warranty untill the end of the third year, so if anything goes wrong, its probably a waranty job. And the commodore and falcons are pretty high up on the safety ratings. not sure about the honda/toyota's but i don't think they'd be too bad. Personally i'd be looking at a falcon or honda, but thats just personal preference. |
| #23 07:43am 24/04/09 |
I'd also say commodore or falcon. You could get a station wagon too which would give you heaps of space. Look at the QLD govt auctions. QFleet.
Cheap on parts...and to insure... And they aren't bad cars. |
| #24 07:52am 24/04/09 |
Corrupt
Subaru liberty
| #25 08:45am 24/04/09 |
Get a fullly shikkk skyline bro!
But seriously, the Hyundai's while having a bad rep the last few years seem to be getting better and better. You can pick up a new mid sized car for that from them packed with features you're after and then some. I guess it depends how long you'd want to keep it though as Korean engines generally aren't too high quality. |
| #26 02:39pm 24/04/09 |
HerbalLizard
Current Family Car is a 99 Subaru Legacy 99 TSR
| #27 02:52pm 24/04/09 |
what's with all the anti 4wd comments?? 4wd = safer
| #28 03:13pm 24/04/09 |
BOHEMION
Subaru Forrester/GT hands down! If you dont mind the Boxy shape. There a great package. It will also suit your budget.
| #29 03:31pm 24/04/09 |
| #30 03:40pm 24/04/09 |
Personally, I wouldn't be spending $18k on a 10 year old car, when I could spend $18K on a 1-2 year old car.
Sorry, but I'm guessing a 1-2 year old commodore/falcon is safer. Even if it is a volvo. e.g. 2007 Falcon Station Wagon yea, until you have to swerve to avoid something and you end up on your roof.... |
| #33 04:09pm 24/04/09 |
Anono
LOL 4wd does not, let me repeat NOT make it safer.
there are 3star ancap rated 4wd that are complete death traps. There are 5star ancap rated sedans that are WAY WAY safer than a 4wd. having said that we are looking at the same sort of range and idea. We are tossing up between a 2005 Rav4 cruiser and a 2005 Forrester XT. reason for a 4wd is because we will ACTUALLY use it as a 4wd. They also both have a good safety record. dont buy holden unless your happy with it being in the shop all the time. Ford mondeo TDi is a great vehicle if you can find one in your budget. Otherwise go for a subaru or honda that is 3-4yrs old with around 60k on the clock. |
| #34 04:18pm 24/04/09 |
HyperJ
mongie's last post ate mine... what's with all the anti 4wd comments?? 4wd = safer yea, until you have to swerve to avoid something and you end up on your roof.... or you want to stop quickly and find your 2500kg of car doesnt want to stop. |
| #35 04:33pm 24/04/09 |
au contraire. my oldass corolla is like $400 for a set of spark plug leads and $1800 for a set of injectors IF YOU CAN FIND THEM. That's what I was told when I asked toyota for some injectors and even oldmac toyota had to track some down from japan. Needless to say I didn't bother getting them. I've highlighted the key flaws in your argument. But I don't know why a set of leads is costing that much, you're shopping in the wrong places. last edited by Protius at 16:42:38 24/Apr/09 |
| #36 04:42pm 24/04/09 |
HyperJ
so you want something really safe with room for all the family? how about this for $13k |
| #37 04:41pm 24/04/09 |
LOL 4wd does not, let me repeat NOT make it safer. To be honest the ANCAP ratings are based on a total of what 3 collisions, it also doesn't factor in vehicle stability or collision avoidance. Roll-over survivability certainly isn't one of the tests. You'd also be surprised just how stable a 4wd can be, even with a boat on its roof. |
| #38 05:34pm 24/04/09 |
buy a rotory
| #39 06:08pm 24/04/09 |
dont buy holden unless your happy with it being in the shop all the time. Ford mondeo TDi is a great vehicle if you can find one in your budget. Otherwise go for a subaru or honda that is 3-4yrs old with around 60k on the clock. Misinformation FTW. Falcadores are pretty much the same these days, don't try to hint that every one of either of the makes are always in the shop it just ain't true. |
| #40 07:09pm 24/04/09 |
LOL 4wd does not, let me repeat NOT make it safer. I would prefer to be in a s*** 4wd opposed to a 5 star ancap rated sedan if say another car was going straight for me.. Due to the sheer size and weight (height also??) I'd feel safer... last edited by Martz at 19:43:04 24/Apr/09 |
| #41 07:43pm 24/04/09 |
haha martz am dumb
| #42 07:26pm 24/04/09 |
If I was in a 4wd, no matter how s*** it was I would prefer to be in it then a normal sedan when a car comes flying at me.. Due to the sheer size and weight, it would be safer... Momentum... Can we please set this up as a sponsored QGL event? |
| #43 07:29pm 24/04/09 |
oops, lol.. rephrased my first sentence but forgot to delete original kekeke
for those that think I'm wrong, please provide evidence to support your claim.. Instead of useless posts like "martz am dumb"... Having thought about it (I would prefer to be in a s*** 4wd opposed to a 5 star ancap rated sedan) I'll take that back and replace the s*** 4wd to a decent one eg sahara, x5 etc.. so say an ancap 4wd of rating 4-5 colliding with a more common 4-5 ancap sedan, I'd prefer to be in the 4wd... last edited by Martz at 19:53:29 24/Apr/09 |
| #44 07:53pm 24/04/09 |
You buy a 4WD to go 4WD, not to use it as a family car.
| #45 08:06pm 24/04/09 |
Crusher
Martz, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0kB2SqZqZ0
See how well the 3 star 4wd handles its crash... good luck. And the only 4wd's that end up on their roof is Jim's. |
| #46 08:06pm 24/04/09 |
Stay away from 4WD, they are primarily for 4WDing, not random family car stuff. They cost more then what you need.
If the car is the family car then you should be able to pick up a good, low KM for around $12-$15. You can get low KM cars for less, although they are classed as compacts and are a tad small for a family car. $20K is too much for a second hand family car, unless you have a phat wallet and don't mind spending it inefficiently. If you only need space for 1 baby seat and another child, a front passenger and driver then a compact car would be good. Some have large boot spaces, if you need a baby seat then be SURE that the child saftey attachments are not poorly located. A lot of hatchback type's have the attachments at the back of the car and it pretty much removes your boot space with straps that get in the way. Remember, you need space in there for a small stroller plus enough room to pack cloths and other bags when you want to go on holiday (it will happen). Look at Ford Focus, Toyota Corolla or Hyundai Elentra. Ask any dealers you see about how often you need to change the timing belt. It is a crappy maintenance job that can be labour intensive. A change every 90,000 K's is good, some cars need it at 60,000, others at 120,000 Km's. Also get an RACQ check on any car you are serious of buying, it costs around $170 (cheaper for members). They go over the car in great detail and can spot heaps of problems. It can save you from buying a lemon. It is well worth the money. Trading in your current car may not be worth it, always offer less then the asking price. Enjoy. last edited by Tollaz0r! at 20:29:17 24/Apr/09 |
| #47 08:29pm 24/04/09 |
pff 4wd rocks, putting the baby seat in mine tomorrow and the mrs will take over primary driving responsibilities once bub comes along
but daddy will still take over when it comes time to shift into low range nothing wrong with a 4x4 as family car for your price range I too would suggest forester GT, great reliable car if not GT, subaru RX sedan or liberty |
| #48 09:56pm 24/04/09 |
but daddy will still take over when it comes time to shift into low range Is that what you call your husband? I recommend a hyundai 2nd hand from motorama or something, don't pay more than 15k |
| #49 11:52pm 24/04/09 |
Wow this thread is a piece of s***. I would suggest you take a look at a subaru for all round safety in a family car.
| #50 12:05am 25/04/09 |
HerbalLizard
We looked at a couple of options
Short List Was Toyota Caldina GTT Subaru Legacy either GT, GTB, TSR Hilux SR5 I currently own a Legacy GT, & now a TSR, the thing to keep in mind with most Subaru is that once they tip the 150k mark they f*** up in grand fashion. Most retards forget to get the cembelt done every 90k and leave it until the 130k mark, the cooling system depending on the model is prone to failure. CV's go pretty quickly as well. Keeping in mind though its no really city driving either, mostly the GT got the s*** trashed out of it, doing 100+km of gravel/ice/mud each week during winter. But so far I have replaced, 2 full sets of shocks, cv's, airflow meter, cambelt, transmission (which was near right afterwards) radiator, head gaskets, rear diff, power steering rack, torque converter. Gearbox is totally fuct now and is stuck in second. Nearly every single person in queenstown owns a Subaru, firstly they are cheap, secondly they hold the road like nothing else, given the price. There is nothing worse than trying to get out of your own driveway and skidding on 15mm of ice so the awd is certainly worth it. They do make excellent family cars, on that note would not recommend a forester... don't like the ride height of them and they have a smaller boot, however with the higher roof getting a carseat in and out is easier, unless you own a two-part system then its not a problem. I would certainly opt for a caldina as they seem to be more reliable in relation getting it serviced, but they are far more pricey at $4-5K more than an equivalent Subaru. And I just want a hilux because as a work vehicle it would be useful with a canopy but totally out of my price range. We brought a 99 Legacy TSR with 56k on the clock for under $9K Nzd ($7k Aud) + onroad (Jap import and we are the first nz owners) Cheaper running costs without the turbo for both insurance and rego and chews less fuel On that note I don't think they do the legacy's in aus, sim to an outback but without the ride height last edited by HerbalLizard at 07:54:51 25/Apr/09 last edited by HerbalLizard at 07:56:29 25/Apr/09 |
| #51 07:56am 25/04/09 |
Anono
FOR GOD SAKE DO NOT BUY A HYUNDAI... wow that is the worst advice i think i have ever seen on QGL and that is saying something.
Subaru is great for safety, but they do hold their value well, so you will often be at a higher price for kms etc then other cars. (ps im glad u said most subarus because we owned a 91 liberty and did nearly 500k kms in it and it was still going strong. only thing it ever had go wrong we the clutch cable went 2 times out of norms.) last edited by Anono at 08:01:33 25/Apr/09 |
| #52 08:01am 25/04/09 |
Please Explain. |
| #53 09:15am 25/04/09 |
I'm also in a car buying quandry, my local car dealer has a H3 and a SMART car both for $15k. They're pretty equivalent cars, so I'm not sure which I should go with.
Or I can just go lease a brand new subaru for $250/month. |
| #54 11:51am 25/04/09 |
Anono
Hyundai cars for the most part are poorly designed, poorly constructed and deliver much poorer performance and comfort for equivalent monies, across most brands mentioned already.
As to holdens, they are terrible when it comes to build quality and mechanical longevity. Having worked for 4 yrs closely with a government transport department of my work in the past and also having a good mate whom works for a car rental company. DO NOT BUY A HOLDEN OR A HYUNDAI. this is from actually experience and knowledgeable sources. |
| #55 12:10pm 25/04/09 |
Had way more trouble with Nissans and Fords than I've ever had with my Hyundai. It is also very inconspicuous, doesn't draw attention from bogans, cops, or ricers who may have an 'opinion' about it. That's the sort of attention you'll get with a suburu.
| #56 12:20pm 25/04/09 |
I'm also in a car buying quandry, my local car dealer has a H3 and a SMART car both for $15k. They're pretty equivalent cars, so I'm not sure which I should go with.Aren't you in Texas? Won't you get shot if you drive a SMART car? Or at the very least, you'll get run over by all the rednecks in their pickups, surely. |
| #57 12:24pm 25/04/09 |
k, so never ever listen to anono is what I got from this thread
| #58 01:47pm 25/04/09 |
yeah seriously anyone saying that hyundai's are s*** hasn't driven one built in the last 10 years.
or at least, they aren't relatively any more s*** than an equivalent toyota. |
| #59 02:48pm 25/04/09 |
Anono
have driven 3 hyundais in the last 2 yrs. all had terrible play in the steering, dreadful long distance comfort and road bumps like a 3week unfeed mule.
but good call jim, glad u dont want decent, experienced advice. its ur choice to be an uniformed consumer with buyers remorse ;) |
| #60 03:57pm 25/04/09 |
rrrocket
okay thanks
So I've narrowed it down to in no particular order Honda Accord Toyota Camry Subaru (something) |
| #61 04:23pm 25/04/09 |
Well rrrocket, you've got some safe and sensible choices there. Just be aware that Honda spare parts are very expensive and Honda makes sure no-one makes aftermarket parts, where as toyota doesn't give a s*** and are very cheap to service generally. The imprezas are heavy for what they are and the liberties i believe are rather overpriced.
| #62 04:48pm 25/04/09 |
Out of those, I would go Honda. Honda seem to be reliable, at least from what I have been told by family members.
last edited by Kat at 17:09:45 25/Apr/09 |
| #63 05:09pm 25/04/09 |
I'll be going Subaru or Lancer when my time comes
| #64 04:59pm 25/04/09 |
^ yeah buy the new wrx cause it's a girls car now.. not happy. New Lancers are awesome!
last edited by Skitza at 17:19:08 25/Apr/09 |
| #65 05:19pm 25/04/09 |
Fixity
shiiiiet~ for 20 k? buy a couple of horses and a cart. the kids will love it..
then u get 15k for boos, pretend-spendings-for-a-fake-social-life, and a better computer! |
| #66 05:25pm 25/04/09 |
Definately go with the camry.
| #67 07:11pm 25/04/09 |
Accord/Liberty
Camry That's the order that they belong. Camry's are nothing compared to the other two. The reliability for honda and subaru is remarkable, they never miss a beat. Spare parts maybe a little higher for honda/subaru, but because they are very unlikely to break down, the price of spare parts doesn't really matter. |
| #68 07:19pm 25/04/09 |
Driven a bunch of Hyundais in the last few years and I've preferred almost all of them to pretty well all the other cars I've driven.
| #69 07:32pm 25/04/09 |
What about Mazda's?
| #70 09:20pm 25/04/09 |
rrrocket
hrmm well all valid arguments and not making it any easier...
I guess when I decide, I'll decide by price, age and KM's between the three and take it from there. Hopefully can't go wrong with them. Thanks again for your help, I do appreciate it :) (since I'm a car noob) (but I could kick your ass at duke3d) long live duke! |
| #71 09:35pm 25/04/09 |
rrrocket
okay, since you've helped me this far....
here's a couple i've found... http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=7082343&__sid=120DF3F8788B&__Qpb=true&Cr=13&__Ns=pCar_RankSort_Int32|1||pCar_Price_Decimal|1||pCar_Make_String|0||pCar_Model_String|0&keywords=&__N=1216%201247%201252%201282%204294963801%204294963605%20900%201466&seot=0&tsrc=allcarhome&__Nne=15&trecs=102&silo=1011 http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=6997571&__sid=120D4E5BE229&__Qpb=true&Cr=12&__Ns=pCar_RankSort_Int32|1||pCar_Price_Decimal|1||pCar_Make_String|0||pCar_Model_String|0&keywords=&__N=1216%201246%201247%201252%201282%204294965322%204294965042%20393%20900%201466&PriceFrom=393&seot=0&tsrc=allcarhome&__Nne=15&trecs=131&silo=1011 I"m sorry about the long address. |
| #72 10:03pm 25/04/09 |
Liberty is much better than the accord.
Take fuel into consideration as.. V6 3L vs 4cyl 2.5 Accord has better resale value, but the liberty has better fuel economy. I'm sure you could get the liberty for $12k or very close to it..If all you need the car for is family stuff and that, the liberty is more than adequate for what you need. The V6 is overkill.. Sorry for long links, some info from redbook Accord - http://www.redbook.com.au/used-cars/details.aspx?R=70545&__Qpb=true&Cr=2&__Ns=p_Make_String|0||p_ClassificationType_String|0||p_Family_String|0||p_Year_String|1||p_SequenceNum_Int32|0&__N=2994%202952%204294956040%204294843459%204294965738&silo=1300&seot=0&__Nne=15&trecs=6&__sid=120A8A993B13 Liberty - http://www.redbook.com.au/used-cars/details.aspx?R=97903&__sid=120A8A993B13&__Qpb=true&Cr=5&__Ns=p_Make_String|0||p_ClassificationType_String|0||p_Family_String|0||p_Year_String|1||p_SequenceNum_Int32|0&SearchAction=N&__N=2994%200%204294944089%204294842807%204294965872%204294944067%204294965869&seot=0&__Nne=15&trecs=6&silo=1300 |
| #73 10:37pm 25/04/09 |
Aren't you in Texas? Won't you get shot if you drive a SMART car? Or at the very least, you'll get run over by all the rednecks in their pickups, surely. haha one one the guys at work has one, and apparently it's quite the chick magnet. Austin chicks apparently go for quirky. |
| #74 01:28am 26/04/09 |
Ross
You can pick up a 2 - 3 year old prius for that money. Plenty of room for the fam!
| #75 07:36am 26/04/09 |
nah I'd wait a few more months until the new Gen3 Prius(which looks quite spiffy actually) and the new Honda Insight comes out.
The price of the Gen2 Prius will drop a bit more once these new models come out. |
| #76 10:54am 26/04/09 |
rrrocket
actually i totally forgot to mention....I don't want a V6. Can you get a Accord in a 4 cylinder?
| #77 12:25pm 26/04/09 |
Yah, Accord Euro. Sweet cars (although the 'euro' tag is all kinds of gay).
| #78 02:05pm 26/04/09 |
Normal accord or Euro, both are very nice cars.
Just look on redbook.com.au to check for values of cars to see if people are asking too much. If you can, try hardest to get from a dealer. Most cases you'll get some kind of warranty. |
| #79 05:14pm 26/04/09 |
| #79 |