thread idea shamelessly stolen from NeoGAF but anyway...
I never had a lot of toys (just lego) but the few I had were always cheap and nasty... The poor mans megatron rip off...Rogun! With a conveniently placed trigger and fires caps! http://xs138.xs.to/xs138/09161/a317.jpg http://xs138.xs.to/xs138/09161/b182.jpg I think he's still at my parents place, half broken with no stickers left. I remember covering it in grey tape and pretending it was a ghostbuster gun around 1989 :P http://media.peeron.com/pics/inv/setpics/6382-1.1178163056.jpg This wasn't the first lego I got but I remember getting it for my 5th birthday and having to make it before I went to school Another fake transformer, a gobot. Surprisingly it was actually well made, made of metal rather than plastic. http://counter-x.net/gobots/reviews/series1/rest-q_v.jpg http://counter-x.net/gobots/reviews/series1/rest-q_r.jpg I'm sure one of you were the spoilt kids I knew growing up who had everything, voltron, gi joe, dino riders, he-man, centurions etc |
| #0 07:01pm 14/04/09 |
recently my sister in law bought some antique tricycle off ebay, a metal one from the 1930s~
rusted out bomb of a thing with bent handle bars and all 3 wheels need to be replaced etc - paid <$100 for it on ebay and its a complete write off as far as kids toys go they're doing it so their kids can play with it but apparently if you clean them up and restore them they're worth a small fortune .. I remember my granddad had one we'd ride when visiting, so much fun |
| #1 07:30pm 14/04/09 |
euphoria
I think I've still got that lego fire station somewhere!
| #2 07:33pm 14/04/09 |
| #3 07:37pm 14/04/09 |
a little red tricycle, and my pee pee.
| #4 07:42pm 14/04/09 |
thats cheating
karts are supposed to have the wheels and "axel" from a wheelie bin strapped to 2x4 and bolted with a single bolt (in this case, the steering/structural support beam) to the chassis and a length of rope knotted in either end of said 2x4 for steering |
| #5 07:43pm 14/04/09 |
crazymorton
i had an awesome GI Joe collection
the one with all the scuba diving gear was great in the bath. man he could do some stuff. one that i really remember was this plastic plane on a fishing line with a cardboard runway. you put one end up high, table or chair back, and guided it into land. at about 8 i thought this was so cool. and of course mechano....excellent stuff! |
| #6 07:48pm 14/04/09 |
i had a heap of transformers, im still searching for all the pimp ones i had but this one was my favourite
http://www.tfu.info/1992/Decepticon/Skyquake/skyquake.htm http://www.tfu.info/1984/Decepticon/Starscream/starscream.htm had starscream too, fuk yeah last edited by existence at 19:55:35 14/Apr/09 |
| #7 07:55pm 14/04/09 |
I ask my new employees to hunt down an emu for my 'first computer' and do a basic 'hello world'
no one gets there, but it gives me the upper hand... poor f***ers. truthfully, I'd hire my receptionist's boy and take him under my wing if he'd show an ounce of self confidence instead of buring his head in his 'guilt' last edited by koopz at 20:11:24 14/Apr/09 |
| #8 08:11pm 14/04/09 |
wrong thread?
| #9 08:13pm 14/04/09 |
crazymorton
karts are supposed to have the wheels and "axel" from a wheelie bin strapped to 2x4 and bolted with a single bolt (in this case, the steering/structural support beam) to the chassis and a length of rope knotted in either end of said 2x4 for steering no wheelie bins in my youth....only the old metal garbage bins and the 2 runners on the back of the truck...god i'm old. for go karts we used straight timber, usually form the dump, and wheels off prams, and the seats where those old hard plastic chairs with the legs cut off. |
| #10 08:24pm 14/04/09 |
Steel not cheap s*** plastic thunderbirds toys fav was thunderbird 2 and Captain scarlett Tank ahhh it brings back memories . |
| #11 08:28pm 14/04/09 |
Robin Hood figures
| #12 08:29pm 14/04/09 |
I got my first and only Barbie when I was 8.
http://www.healthpopuli.com/uploaded_images/Dr.-Barbie-1987-788765.JPG To be honest it is the only toy that rings a bell |
| #13 08:35pm 14/04/09 |
Rukh
Our first computer was a MicroBee 64.
I used to write choose-your-own adventure style games in BASIC with it. |
| #14 08:37pm 14/04/09 |
hehe reverend... i had them too :D
shado interceptor from the 70s tv series ufo http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/temp/interceptor.jpg spv from captain scarlet http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/temp/spv.jpg eagle from space 1999 (lols) http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/temp/eagle.jpg last edited by demon at 20:49:04 14/Apr/09 |
| #15 08:49pm 14/04/09 |
http://mollybol.50megs.com/Mollyweb/Book/Diary Pics/Lego pirate ship.JPG
Actually I still have this one above my desk here. http://www.collectiondx.com/gallery2/gallery/d/11800-6/Voltron1.jpg Dunno how you could go without this :P http://rahuldesign.files.wordpress.com/2008/10/teddy-ruxpin.jpg Not mine, but my brother had Teddy Ruxpin :D http://www.modelrc.it/Pagine/Modelli/Typhoon/Foto/Typhoon.jpg Ahh, the Typhoon Hovercraft. This thing chewed through a set of 8 batteries in 8 minutes. |
| #16 08:47pm 14/04/09 |
voltronnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
| #17 09:19pm 14/04/09 |
JohnnieD
omg a Typhoon! I had one of those but I killed it after like a week cos I think I put it on carpet or whatever you weren't supposed to...
I never had mechano, Voltron etc. But I DID have Truckerpillar - dunno the actual name, but it's the toy from Big. I really feel like ebaying it because I presume they're pretty rare nowadays. I also had so many GI Joes, they were my favourite. I had a cpl from the first series I think, but obviously none of those real early ones would have all the accessories... |
| #18 09:20pm 14/04/09 |
| #19 09:22pm 14/04/09 |
Bats***
http://www.babypicturesphotos.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/baby-birds-picture.jpg
I used to rescue fallen chicks from trees, take them home and try to nurse them back to health. Pretty sure I killed a few doing this. last edited by Bats*** at 21:31:38 14/Apr/09 |
| #20 09:31pm 14/04/09 |
I had mountains and mountains of lego, that was pretty much it though
| #21 09:26pm 14/04/09 |
Phwoar raven I have the pirate ship (it's in my cupboard but in pieces) and I have that Voltron somewhere too!
| #22 09:31pm 14/04/09 |
JohnnieD
Oh yeah so jealous about my mate who had two of those pirate ships. I'm still obviously cut.
| #23 09:37pm 14/04/09 |
| #24 09:43pm 14/04/09 |
StopShootingMe
I had the pirate ship, but one of my friends had the Lego moon base with real monorail and domes and stuff. Prick.
| #25 09:44pm 14/04/09 |
afx slotcars baby
http://members.shaw.ca/nostalgia/photos2/sc4.JPG http://thechaly.files.wordpress.com/2007/07/afx9946.jpg i was pretty obsessed. i had a folder full of maps of track layouts so i could recreate the best ones. mongie would remember! self serviced cars, i'd solder the worn pickups to save on buying replacements (Y) i bought a set recently to rekindle the dream but it wasnt the same last edited by scooby at 22:03:02 14/Apr/09 |
| #26 10:03pm 14/04/09 |
Matt
Jumping on the pirate ship bandwagon! The red one belonged to my sister but was broken up over the years so I bought another one off ebay. Spent a year saving up for the black one when I was a kid :D
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/6716/bsbskull2.jpg Also had a megazord. I was ridiculously excited to get this for xmas back in the day. http://img106.imageshack.us/img106/7108/megazordg.jpg |
| #27 09:59pm 14/04/09 |
haha f*** yeah raider i had those ninja turtles
here's my kit: http://www.designboom.com/contemporary/waterguns/06.jpg http://71.18.43.125/store8/IMG_7262.JPG http://www.nd.edu/~lego/grp2/www/graphics/lego/8868.jpg http://www.nd.edu/~lego/grp2/www/graphics/lego/8880.jpg http://www.geekets.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/amiga500.jpg http://media.comicmix.com/media/2009/02/16/stretch-armstrong.jpg |
| #28 10:24pm 14/04/09 |
hell yea nitro, i had the super soaker and technic truck too! |
| #29 10:29pm 14/04/09 |
defcon
http://www.redmattersite.com/html/includes/FCKeditor/upload/Image/LukeForums/dinoriders.jpg
dinoriders reprezentyo also had the voltron dood, ninjor turtles and ofcourse, GI-Joes <3 |
| #30 10:32pm 14/04/09 |
Cfunji
Had some good old toys ..
http://www.toyarchive.com/STAForSale/NEW2001 /Thundercats/SwordOfOmens1a.jpg Including the extra armor http://www.bigbadtoystore.com/images/products/out/large/YAM10226.jpg last edited by Cfunji at 22:47:30 14/Apr/09 |
| #31 10:47pm 14/04/09 |
street sharks!
http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/3673/matss18.jpg biker mice from mars http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/6898/1215825090120231608223.jpg beast wars http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/8100/roptimusprimal094.jpg last edited by ravn0s at 22:44:40 14/Apr/09 |
| #32 10:44pm 14/04/09 |
hah biker mice, that was the best cartoon ever
| #33 10:43pm 14/04/09 |
The GuVna
One of my all time favorites, Mask : Raven
http://www.jeebstoys.co.uk/mask_raven.jpg - Guns folded out from the wheels hub caps - Shot a buzz saw from the front by pressing button on the roof - Tail would pop up from a button on the back - Doors opened up to wings (pretty sure these broke over time :( ) - Whole front of the car flipped upside down (was meant to be a submarine also) - Wheels folded up ala Back To The Future 2 Style Man... now I want to play with it, think its buried deeep in my parents attic though |
| #34 12:25am 15/04/09 |
The GuVna
Also this! :
http://digilander.libero.it/omega87/images/gargantua.jpg Robots & Matchbox cars = win. The "Brain" Car looked sweet to :) |
| #35 12:27am 15/04/09 |
The GuVna
Last one.. for now
Wetwired I see your Gobot, & I raise you "Red Alert" :) http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41W4NQG2G9L._SS400_.jpg http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41D1WJ8YMDL._SS400_.jpg Now I best get my old butt to bed |
| #36 12:42am 15/04/09 |
Since no one else has spammed a pic, I had a heap of these (and Lego, TMNT, Transformers, MASK, etc)
http://www.miss-amazonas.com/my MASTERS OF THE UNIVERSE Collection-Dateien/mymasters.jpg And looking at these always reminds me of Skeletor and Gang. :) |
| #37 01:43am 15/04/09 |
we made long wooden slingshots - sorta like this but less gay.. just 2 u nails in the end with rubber bands and a leather pouch on a long stick with a handle underneath nailed in
http://www.metacafe.com/watch/1307287/wooden_slingshot/ then we would head up to here and shoot each other with rocks awesome times other wise we would sit on our skateboards.. the lil skinny ones and ride down eildon hill i dunno how non of us was seriously injured View Larger Map |
| #38 02:01am 15/04/09 |
OMFG Stretch Armstrong bahaha.. i had one of those.
Also had heman stuff, and was mega jealous of my mate who had skeletors castle etc. |
| #39 07:14am 15/04/09 |
Ahh, the Typhoon Hovercraft. This thing chewed through a set of 8 batteries in 8 minutes. !@ i had one of those, it sunk in the pool after it ran out of b82rez then i took it to school and tried to supercharge it with a much larger battery, it died a painful buzzing death and holy s*** the leggo brings back memories, I loved my lego pirate ship/castle etc |
| #40 09:18am 15/04/09 |
All those pics bring back some awesome memories, particularly the lego and transformer stuff.
| #41 09:40am 15/04/09 |
i had nearly all of the star wars figurines and heaps of cool models (exploding speeder bikes from return of the jedi)
but my best bit was the darthvader carry case! http://members.iinet.net.au/~davidbroughton/darth.bmp if i had kept all my figures in tip top condition im sure they would have been worth a mint! but i shot most of them to death with an air rifle i also had f***tons of meccano and lego (and a cool air rifle which i used to shoot up all my s***) |
| #42 11:31am 15/04/09 |
Lots of Lego. We'd go down to our grandparents with our folks at the Gold Coast and we'd always ask for 5 dorruh to get one of those small Lego packs when we went to the shopping centre. f*** Lego was the bomb.
| #43 02:13pm 15/04/09 |
I still have a large collection of those old Kenner Star Wars figures - some in excellent condition.
I reckon they'd be worth a bit nowadays.. |
| #44 12:07am 16/04/09 |
http://www.jeebstoys.co.uk/mask_raven.jpg WTF? I don't remember any Raven in M.A.S.K. Was he a bad guy? I always wanted (but could never afford) that cool lego sports car thing up there, I did however have that pneumatic truck thing. I also had a cool space ship that detached into 3 or 4 separate things but a neighbours kid came around one day while I wasn't here and started playing with it, took bits off & lost them. What a bastard. *shakes fist at neighbours undisciplined brats* (he let himself in and no one even knew he was here). |
| #45 02:36am 16/04/09 |
3x0dus
ah lol, had everything in the first post.
then mainly lots of lego, to the extreme, 3 milk crate sized box's full of it, couldnt get enough. didnt have to be the wacky tecnix or the later on fancy stuff lego brought out, just the simple bricks, would make stuff for hours and hours. |
| #46 03:41am 16/04/09 |
*sniff*
I had a .22 and a .303 that I could use at the schools rifle range... Wasn't allowed shangai's or that sort of thing cause it might have hurt someome My ol man wouldn't let me ride a motorbike or play with smash up derby toys either (cause I might turn into a hoon), I felt so deprived... oh, and I wasn't allowed to play video games as they were a waste of time! |
| #47 06:36am 16/04/09 |
| #47 |