Ah the Recession, it's really hitting home now.
Just got told to start looking for a new job because they're cutting staff, I'm moving back to Brisbane because I'm about to be a Daddy we want to be closer to family who's hiring? (hint; the answer is pretty much 'no one') Experience * Linux/BSD/Solaris admin (redhat, ubuntu, debian, freebsd, netbsd) * Network admin (cisco, juniper, foundry etc) * Vmware (esx, clustering etc) * Web dev (php/mysql/apache) * Mail admin (enterprise clustering exp.) have a manual drivers licence, 12 points and a reliable vehicle, don't mind traveling available within a week or two tops - just have to haul my stuff back up to Brisbane. |
| #0 10:08am 25/02/09 |
Twinsen
Bad luck indeed dear sir.
| #1 10:28am 25/02/09 |
That really does suck. My sister lost her job a couple of weeks ago and now her fiance is potentially going to be made redundant too. Really hope that you don't or you're able to find a new job asap, especially with your missus about to have a baby :(
| #2 10:30am 25/02/09 |
cheers, I won't be letting it get me down even if i cant find work in my normal field until after the recession it wont stop me from putting in the effort somewhere else I might even put off moving back to Brisbane until after the kid is born if I could find another job down here just sucks at these big companies would rather cut jobs and mess with peoples lives than have to tell their share holders they only made $5 billion instead of $6 billion edit: just for laughs, chuck in 'Linux' as the search term with seek and select Brisbane or Sydney There's about 3 results for each search 12 months ago there was like 20+ pages last edited by tequila at 10:39:20 25/Feb/09 |
| #3 10:39am 25/02/09 |
| #4 10:38am 25/02/09 |
Good luck mate, times are tough out there particularly in IT. I had the threat of being made redundant around Dec so I started looking for jobs and the job market in Dec/Jan wasn't too bad.
However now it seems the same jobs have dropped their salaries by 20% and there's a flood of highly skilled people going for lower paying jobs or lower grade jobs then what they would typically be doing. If I hear of anything I'll pass your details on. FWIW, whats your years exp in each of the technologies above and last job title. |
| #5 10:51am 25/02/09 |
Why work? You'll be living it up on Ruddles hand out and the baby bonus.
| #6 10:55am 25/02/09 |
awesome TiT, just sent through my res ;)
| #7 10:59am 25/02/09 |
Bad luck, champ. Bad timing too with the kid, but I'm sure it'll work out alright. I might be joining you soon. Automotive is crap at the moment - I'll work out about mid-April whether my company will survive 2009. |
| #8 11:00am 25/02/09 |
hah yeah, baby bonus will cover diapers for the first few weeks and I gave my ruddles hand out cash to the bushfire appeal because I'm opposed to the whole idea
Ticman, about 7 years experience w/ linux admin same with php/mysql 6 years networking 4 years vmware |
| #9 11:03am 25/02/09 |
vbcoder
Reason: Abusive |
#10 04:24pm 25/02/09
Harsh. Kick a guy while he's down!
| #11 12:48pm 25/02/09 |
when else do u kick them? when they are standing upright? ... i dont think so
| #12 01:10pm 25/02/09 |
Good luck with it teq, im in the same boat, my company closed its doors offically yesterday and I am on the hunt for a new job. Got some positive leads tho.
How are you at windows sysadmin stuff? Iv seen a heap on seek lately. Also WetaFX in NZ needs a unix admin.... |
| #13 01:17pm 25/02/09 |
in your case though vbcoder it'd be more like sucking cock to pay dues than 'earning' really
| #14 01:17pm 25/02/09 |
Crusty old man
Put some shoes on Jim...
| #15 01:22pm 25/02/09 |
works slowing down everywhere. My mate is a qualified plasterer and hasnt been able to find work in over a month. Hopefully we get this bonus soon and they start spending some money on infrastructure.
| #16 01:25pm 25/02/09 |
rofl teq, you were boasting about a week ago of your 100k+$ salary... now who's earning more?? me you idiot. still me I've still got a job until the end of the financial year if I want but I'd be stupid if I left it until then to start looking wouldn't I? I consider myself fortunate right now, I feel for ya Eds I'm lousy at windows admin because I've never really had the desire to learn last edited by tequila at 13:33:17 25/Feb/09 |
| #17 01:33pm 25/02/09 |
vbcoder
jim stop confusing yourself with me. i actually have a fulltime job and dont feel the need to charge your mum to give me blowjobs
| #18 01:38pm 25/02/09 |
lol good one
| #19 01:50pm 25/02/09 |
aight so who's the troll... own up...
| #20 01:53pm 25/02/09 |
I'm glancing around for a new job cause I'm insanely bored at my current job (Telstra). Need more a active role but I don't have too many "I.T ish" skills like networking, linux and all these bizarre acronyms I hear to do with I.T. stuff. More just programming/web stuff (C++, PHP, XHTML, MySQL etc).
Sick of sitting down in the one chair all day without talking to anyone just processing data crap! But I Seek is pretty bleak atm. |
| #21 02:21pm 25/02/09 |
Bad luck doode, yeah like what's everyone else is saying, time is tough out there, reminds me of the tech crash of 01. At least they gave you plenty of notice to look for work and not just give you a month or something.
Good luck with it. |
| #22 02:21pm 25/02/09 |
rofl teq, you were boasting about a week ago of your 100k+$ salary... now who's earning more?? me you idiot. Tequila can always go out and get another job. You on the other hand will always be a bigger f***head. |
| #23 02:27pm 25/02/09 |
You on the other hand will always be a bigger f***head. So Teq is a f***head, just not as big a f***head as vbcoder? |
| #24 02:29pm 25/02/09 |
it's great working in a sector that is completely unaffected by recession. i am being flooded with resumes!
| #25 02:33pm 25/02/09 |
Sick of sitting down in the one chair all day without talking to anyone just processing data crap! But I Seek is pretty bleak atm. So true. If i had the time to do the training before my kid is born I would happily go and get a job out of IT. I was thinking of something semi recession proof and also an emerging sector - Solar Panel tech (install/etc) it combines the new 'Green' fad with Energy, energy being one of few things that will be largely unaffected by the economy in the future plus I'd get to play with solar panels and thats always a bonus So Teq is a f***head, just not as big a f***head as vbcoder? I love you guys :P last edited by tequila at 14:34:20 25/Feb/09 |
| #26 02:34pm 25/02/09 |
it's great working in a sector that is completely unaffected by recession. i am being flooded with resumes!Gay porn? |
| #27 02:34pm 25/02/09 |
sparrow
I know most of you are more focused on fulltime career type work, but does anyone know what the causal job market in bris is like atm? |
| #28 02:34pm 25/02/09 |
your work experience may be limited dan, but it's childcare and aged care you silly gay porn obsessed little boy.
| #29 02:38pm 25/02/09 |
what aged care facility doesn't need a full time on site IT guy, infi? sorry to bud... try Whirlpool Just got a call about this role, Interviewing 10.30am in Brisbane on Friday :) I love you man last edited by tequila at 15:09:17 25/Feb/09 |
| #30 03:09pm 25/02/09 |
what aged care facility doesn't need a full time on site IT guy, infi? hahaha kiss me later BTW it was my 2000 post :) |
| #31 03:12pm 25/02/09 |
For the successful applicant a salary package will be negotiated between $40-60K based on experience. I know Brisbane is cheaper than Sydney.. but it aint THAT much cheaper! They want an CCNA (or higher) with VoIP (Call Manager & Asterisk) experience. Sure the market is down but that salary range is way off the mark. |
| #32 03:12pm 25/02/09 |
yeah I've already spoken about that, it's about 20k off the minimum mark I was looking for and she said it's fine anyway come in and we'll negotiate
| #33 03:14pm 25/02/09 |
vbcoder
Tequila can always go out and get another job. You on the other hand will always be a bigger f***head. the whole point of the thread is that he cant . although the last couple of posts may look like he has an opportunity, he's still on s*** money AHHAHAAHAHAH |
| #34 04:16pm 25/02/09 |
Dodgymon
I do not envy anyone looking for work at the moment.
In the last 2 weeks I have had a flood of resume's been sent to me and even those of previous employees as well (even the one that left on bad terms) so things are getting tough out there and I might even have to lay off staff if things don't improve. Good luck! |
| #35 04:22pm 25/02/09 |
tequila yeah I've already spoken about that, it's about 20k off the minimum mark I was looking for and she said it's fine anyway come in and we'll negotiate Wasted 1337 post count :( |
| #36 04:23pm 25/02/09 |
just as a general commentary, i am trying to sell some land, get some bank finance and fill some vacancies in my centres at the moment. I have also been running a lot of promotions in shopping centres and newspapers.
IT IS COMPLETELY DEAD. no one is spending any money at all. then i goto Carindale on Saturday morning and the place is packed. What is everyone doing? Are they going to shopping centres just to window shop? What is largest recent consumer purchase you have made? |
| #37 04:29pm 25/02/09 |
What is largest recent consumer purchase you have made? An automatically inflatible matress for the inlaws to use when they came up on the weekend. $80. The fact that it had a slow leak in it and they ended up sleeping with their feet above their head, priceless. I too was at Carindale on the weekend and it was packed. I hate shopping centres. With a passion. last edited by mission at 16:44:23 25/Feb/09 |
| #38 04:44pm 25/02/09 |
What is largest recent consumer purchase you have made? Recent: New pair of jeans. I lost some weight and had to step it down a size or two so I'm feeling chuffed. Largest Recent (2 weeks): Airfares to Brisbane. |
| #39 04:48pm 25/02/09 |
he's still on s*** money AHHAHAAHAHAH I'm still on 150k+ until July you douche ;) I'm a contractor though, so I don't mind stepping back into 80-100k jobs and being permanent, perks like holiday pay and sick pay etc sound dreamy at the moment What is largest recent consumer purchase you have made? not much, I'm cutting back myself .. probably this new printer fwiw; i'll never buy another brother printer again oh ^^ I just got some air fares to brisbane for the mrs & myself too actually, but I'm trying to write that off as an investment in my future now that I've included a job interview in there last edited by tequila at 16:54:42 25/Feb/09 |
| #40 04:54pm 25/02/09 |
niklaos
bugger mate, hope you find a job
my work is only getting busier (centrelink). probably a good idea to check www.apsjobs.gov.au, the IT pay points can be reasonably decent (not as massive as private sector) if you want secure work. |
| #41 05:04pm 25/02/09 |
employers have been screwed for so long i wouldn't expect too many "dreamy" jobs to fall in your lap. i would however expect to have to take a far larger pay cut than you ever expected.
| #42 05:05pm 25/02/09 |
dreamy just entails returning to full time work, not having the stress of contract renewals etc
like if I get sick and I have to take the day off, I'm out nearly $700 if you don't show up, you don't get paid - and fair enough too also over christmas and what not when companies close down and you're out of work for 2 weeks you aren't getting paid so you have to plan ahead for those times etc I used to like it but now that I've got more than one mouth to feed.. contracting actually sucks |
| #43 05:14pm 25/02/09 |
You said you worked for an agency, who were filling numbers for telstra...
dare i say it, ring up telstra and see what happened to your job? or see what they're doing interms of getting the work they're no longer paying the agency for?? |
| #44 05:16pm 25/02/09 |
nah I work for telstra via an agency
come the end of financial year they're cutting a heap of contractual basis staff so they can pad the bottom line the agency has no idea whats going on, they just get a yes/no from telstra as to whether or not my contract gets renewed or not I know exactly whats going on at telstra, they're not being transparent on the issue - quite a few people are going to be out of a job very shortly I just figured it would be better to try and find a job now than in 4 months when x000 other ex-telstra employees are also looking for work .. |
| #45 05:20pm 25/02/09 |
shopping centres don't look any different to me, still a hive of activity. business as usual for the most part.
largest purchases I've made recently were a guitar amp, some jewellery and a watch. |
| #46 05:22pm 25/02/09 |
niklaos
maybe axia or optus might be hiring soon :)
| #47 05:32pm 25/02/09 |
dranged
Try Alcatel.
| #48 05:45pm 25/02/09 |
heh yeah not a bad idea actually, I'm sure telstra being retarded (not submitting their NBN proposal) has had quite an impact on the staffing requirements going forward
| #49 05:48pm 25/02/09 |
versace sunnies
also school teacher guaranteed job during recession :/ |
| #50 05:48pm 25/02/09 |
I'm lousy at windows admin because I've never really had the desire to learn Ahh just what employers love to see, employees who aren't willing to learn stuff if it doesn't directly relate to their job or aren't forced to learn it. |
| #51 07:12pm 25/02/09 |
uh right.. its like saying to a plumber, how about you learn how to wire up that light fitting?
Linux admin != Windows admin two completely different things |
| #52 07:54pm 25/02/09 |
just about every unix admin i know hates windows with a passion and wouldnt be interested in working with windows also
and yer, ive never been interested in contract work, seems like an effort having to look for jobs all the time i much prefer stable boring old underpaid full time (with long service leave) |
| #53 08:23pm 25/02/09 |
i much prefer stable boring old underpaid full time (with long service leave)Spook is right. That's why 99% of people 'put up with' $70k instead of reaching out for an unstable $100k, cos if the good times ain't rolling, they don't want to be earning $0k. Also Public Service for lyfe. |
| #54 08:38pm 25/02/09 |
i do wish i was in the public service
| #55 08:41pm 25/02/09 |
i want cushy 100k govt job with a 30 year pension
I also just found out everyone at the job where i was previously (full time @ hp milton) had to take a minimum 5% pay cut |
| #56 09:59pm 25/02/09 |
yeah i hear ya, i heart govt.
if i stay at my current level for the rest of my life, my wage only growing with CPI, i could retire at 60 with absolutely no money except for owning my house and live very comfortably for at least 30 years. |
| #57 10:29pm 25/02/09 |
put up with' $70k I'd love $70K, but I'm only 21... |
| #58 10:36pm 25/02/09 |
i could retire at 60 with absolutely no money except for owning my house and live very comfortably for at least 30 years. Huh? No money, live comfortably...... I'm confused. Or is my sarcasm detector broken? |
| #59 10:45pm 25/02/09 |
No, i'm saying that's how good the public service looks after its employees super wise.
| #60 10:50pm 25/02/09 |
Well you'll still have money, just in Super.
What rate do you get? |
| #61 10:51pm 25/02/09 |
He'd be pumping alot into super... gots to love salary sacrifice and all that
| #62 10:52pm 25/02/09 |
i think the govt rate is 12.75% and then i salary sacrifice 5% on top of that.
You get less than the 12.75% if you don't contribute the 5%. |
| #63 10:56pm 25/02/09 |
Govt is like 12% or 17% Super I think
| #64 10:57pm 25/02/09 |
So I'm doing alright on 17% :) Plus you automatically opt-in (but you can opt-out) of an additional 7% of after tax contributions. Can Salary Sacrifice this though, just not a great deal of benefit, if any when you consider charges etc.
Just wondered if they were all basically the same. last edited by mission at 23:02:20 25/Feb/09 |
| #65 11:02pm 25/02/09 |
Yeah but you have to live to 55 to get the benefit.
f*** that, like I'm going to make it to 55. |
| #66 11:03pm 25/02/09 |
yeah, same theory. anyone our age who only has the 9% and expects to get to retirement age with little to no money is kidding themselves. There will be no pension (and neither there should be, it's not the govts job to pay me to live just cos i'm old and didn't do anything constructive towards my future for my 40 year working life).
Yeah mission i salary sacrificed mine, but also grossed it up to counteract the extra govt charge of 15% on untaxed voluntary super contributions. Also chub, it's only 55 for people born pre 1960, for people born post 1965 its 60.(and a sliding scale in between - hi demon. :) last edited by MrHardware at 23:06:35 25/Feb/09 |
| #67 11:06pm 25/02/09 |
Seriously, screw that.
If I ever reach 60, I'm going to be one of those crazy hobo's that has no safety net built up. |
| #68 11:15pm 25/02/09 |
No offence Teq but seriously whose dick do I have to suck to get paid $150k a yr?
Jebus Christ if I was getting paid $70k+ for fapping about in I.T I'd feel like I've won the Lotto. reality check++ |
| #69 11:26pm 25/02/09 |
Infidel
Is it really happening all over Sydney? I am hoping it wont be too hard to find something around July when I move back. Seek looks to have a lot less ads than what I remember. I pretty much have the same experience as tequilla except I've got windows platform experience too. I noticed there was barely any next to no jobs in Brisbane as well.
| #70 11:37pm 25/02/09 |
take your high paid jobs and shove em.
i get paid 50k, have access to govt salary sacrifice, govt super and various other perks, have absolutely no responsibility, 6 weeks annual leave, 13 weeks long service and access to 10 weeks sick leave after 20 years service. Public Service for lyfe. yes. quite. I also just found out everyone at the job where i was previously (full time @ hp milton) had to take a minimum 5% pay cut government would grind to a screeching halt if they tried that s***. |
| #71 11:38pm 25/02/09 |
i had the public service dream and threw it all away...
| #72 11:48pm 25/02/09 |
Corrupt
Newbase at new farm around the breakfrest creek hotel area they are lookings for administrators i think.
| #73 01:17am 26/02/09 |
eightyeight
you lot should try living on the pension @ a huge 14k a year. dont even whinge that your only making 50/70/90k.
| #74 01:31am 26/02/09 |
When we get to the age of retirement, the pension won't exist.
| #75 02:13am 26/02/09 |
eightyeight
does that also include the disability pension?
| #76 02:22am 26/02/09 |
f*** government super, it makes me angry;
i got mates working the same amount of time i have been, and they got 3 times the super i do :( stupid 9% |
| #77 08:35am 26/02/09 |
government workers are the laziest sacks of s*** on earth. they get paid heaps and do hardly any work.
f*** i'd noose myself if i wasn't doing a job i was passionate about. |
| #78 08:39am 26/02/09 |
When were pensioners food and housing will be free!!
:( |
| #79 08:56am 26/02/09 |
you lot should try living on the pension @ a huge 14k a year. dont even whinge that your only making 50/70/90k.Gimme 88! Try living on a student payment @ 9k a year with lots of conditions attached. |
| #80 09:01am 26/02/09 |
government would grind to a screeching halt if they tried that s***. it's already done.. and while I'm sure it pissed a lot of people off (just so HP could make their share holders happy no doubt), I can tell you now they'd rather have 95% of their job than have to take job cuts > pay cuts it doesn't change the fact that it sucks as for who's dick do you have to suck, well no ones - that is the absolute minimum rate engineering contractors make at telstra / bigpond I am the lowest paid person here I have sacrificed holiday, sick pay & job security to take this role - something I'll never do again because it adds a great deal of stress (will I have a job next week kinda thing) I don't care about the money in the next job I take up so long as I can afford to pay my mortgage and feed 3 mouths my life of luxury is over for the foreseeable future and I just don't care because last night I got to hear my babies heartbeat for the first time. I'll take that all day over a new plasma tv or something |
| #81 09:02am 26/02/09 |
But if it was a new LCD you'd think twice. AMIRITE?
Working long hours to earn bigger dollars at the sacrifice of not being with your wife and kid/s is a bad move in my opinion. It will catch up with you in the long run (ie: s*** relationship with wife and kids). |
| #82 09:18am 26/02/09 |
not when you're 23 it isn't, and certainly not when the baby is sleeping 18 hours a day and is completely unaware of wtf is going on
I'd rather get a jump on it now so I can be with my family more down the track also if I don't start paying off my mortgage now I'll likely never get it paid off now that i've got 18 years+ of looking after a kid |
| #83 09:39am 26/02/09 |
certainly not when the baby is sleeping 18 hours a day and is completely unaware of wtf is going on Sorry but that's wrong. Those early years are just as important, if not more so, than the later years. But as you said, there is other things to consider. Just don't write off the early years as 'they won't know', cause they do! |
| #84 09:46am 26/02/09 |
also, they dont sleep that much for long:
i got to spend two months at home with spook jnr out of his first 12 so glad i did i mite go for 3 months out of the next 12 with my lsl |
| #85 09:48am 26/02/09 |
I can't be made to feel guilty for working 40-50hours a week when I'm the sole income earner for a family of 3..
it's not that long and I would still spend as much time with my kid as I could, outside work hours I'd love to take a few months off when he/she is born but it's just not feasible to have no money coming in and 4-5k+ per month going out in the mortgage and what not I will definitely be taking time off, just not more than a few weeks |
| #86 10:04am 26/02/09 |
Bats***
Should tell your ho to get off her butt and get a job. LOL
| #87 10:12am 26/02/09 |
i sent wifey back to work just after 6 months
spook jnr gets a day with his grandparents and two days a week at kiddycare everyone is happy |
| #88 10:14am 26/02/09 |
yeah my mrs wants at least 6 months with the bub, would prefer 12 etc but i'll only do that if we aren't struggling too much on one wage
where does spoor jr go for the other 2 days a week? i'm dreading the thought of paying hundreds of dollars per week for childcare |
| #89 10:17am 26/02/09 |
Nothing wrong with going back to work part-time.
But people having kids and then sticking them in day care full time after six months or so need a reality check. If you don't want to look after your kids and be a part of their life, don't have them! |
| #90 10:18am 26/02/09 |
petal only works 3 days
the other 2 days a week he hangs at home with her: kiddycare isnt that bad since awesome krudd gives us a 50% rebate; |
| #91 10:20am 26/02/09 |
Yeah that's all good, and I think a small amount of kiddy care is beneficial.
They get to play with other kids and adults and do s*** that they wouldn't ordinarily do at home. |
| #92 10:27am 26/02/09 |
yeah i'd happily send her back part time after 6 months i guess
i do want to spend time with the kid and i do want my mrs to spend as much time as she can with it too guess it comes down to balance, not much point working all the time if you never get to see your kids but there's no point having kids if you can't afford to feed them |
| #93 10:27am 26/02/09 |
thats it:
its the balance of doing the best you can earnings wise as a family, but still maximising your quality family time together; petal needs to work, she was bored organising just me and spookjnr, needed to go organise other stuff |
| #94 10:37am 26/02/09 |
But people having kids and then sticking them in day care full time after six months or so need a reality check. It gets to a point where it is beneficial for the child to have interaction with the outside world and not just 'mum' or 'dad'. However in my view 6 months is WAY too young. There will always be some form of displacement be it the working parent or the stay at home parent. It is very rare in my view that both the working parent and the stay at home parent love the way their lives are 100% of the time. Parenthood is about some sacrifice and I don't think a child should be shuffled off at such a young age because one of the parents is bored. Unless one going back to work means the other can work less I really think the stay at home parent should suck it up for a lot longer than 6 months. But that's just my view, what would I know :D last edited by Kat at 10:49:48 26/Feb/09 |
| #95 10:49am 26/02/09 |
I did say full time, as in 4-5 days a week.
| #96 10:50am 26/02/09 |
When I had my eldest I was studying so she was with family and in family day care from a young age. But no more than around 8 hours a week. She thrived on it. I was a single mum, I didn't think I really had a choice as I didn't want to leech off the system for years and years.
My youngest two didn't go to day care until they were over one and the thought of putting them in day care at 6 months was horrible. They were babies still learning and growing and becoming themselves. You miss a lot in one day away from them. My husband had to go to work and he missed out on them I wasn't about to make that two parents just because I was bored. I think if you have the ability to stay at home with your kids then you should and boredom or feeling as if you experience groundhog day every day is just part of the territory. You can make an effort and make sure your days aren't boring or repetitive, so it isn't as if there isn't a way to change the situation without offloading the kid. If you need to go back to work to pay for your kid, then that's just how it is. |
| #97 10:55am 26/02/09 |
spook jnr LOVES kiddycare days;
he also loves his time with nanny and da (and they do as well) yer, i think its healthy that he is exposed to different environments and people also plus we got bills to pay |
| #98 11:00am 26/02/09 |
niklaos
damn kat your signature rocks
also public service 4 lyfe! :) mines only 15.4% super, but i sacrifice more into it whoever said they would neck themselves for not having a job they were enthusiastic about... not all public servants are slobs, me and my team put in massive efforts and see great results in the success stories of our customers (centrelink) |
| #99 05:54pm 26/02/09 |
MatchFixer
My mate just got the notice that he's going to be axed on the 6th of march.
He's in engineering doing drafting but is now looking ever more forward to becoming a cabbie. Good times. |
| #100 07:50pm 26/02/09 |
About time, we desperately need more cabbies.
| #101 08:04pm 26/02/09 |
MatchFixer
Yeah but i don't think latinos make good cabbies.
"Hey esse, where wooj joo like to go? juz pay me in tacos n we call it even aheyy?" |
| #102 08:08pm 26/02/09 |
MatchFixer
| #103 08:22pm 26/02/09 |
On the topic of cabbies:
Caught up with my old boss today; they're being overrun by indians. Why? Well apparently Canada and some other country (denmark?) severly tightened its student visa laws, and at the same time australia severly loosened its. So what happens now is the indians come to australia, either for them to study, or if their mrs is doing a masters or doctorate, the husband can work, either 30hrs a week or unlimited respectively. So that's why we have a crapload of indian cabbies. Apparently there's never been so many cabbies in brisbane wrt number of cabs. Times are good for passengers, cos you know that the maximum number of cabs are on the road at all times. When i was fixing the cabs, we'd have sundays where half the cars were still in the yard, or the night driver would take the car home for his next night shift. Not anymore. Apparently the money is down, simply due to the number of cabs on the road. All 2157 or however many cabs there are allowed in brisbane are on the road all the time. |
| #104 09:35pm 26/02/09 |
Expect those that are in the shop right?
last edited by Triamks at 23:36:56 26/Feb/09 |
| #105 11:36pm 26/02/09 |
MatchFixer
MrHardware i heard a rumor that the reason why there are so many siekhs around (fully sik bro lolz) is because one of them was killed as a result of a racial attack in Melbourne some time ago ... as a result a massive wave of siekhs came up to brisbane (only to be abused by bogan who think they're a bunch of terrorists). Hence the reason why you see them everywhere working all sorts of jobs like cabs, trolley boys, seban elebans and toilet cleaning.
| #106 11:42pm 26/02/09 |
Experience I hate to say it, but right now I am being asked to think up new ways to have our receptionist do the bottom two of that list so I don't have to hire a lacky. The drop in standards s***s me almost as much as the act that I'm going to have to take this action seriously and find someone willing to do both at an insulting pay level :/ have you tried http://jobs.overclockers.com.au tequila? |
| #107 01:04am 27/02/09 |
Infidel
if I have kids i will have them raised by lions
lions or wolves |
| #108 02:44am 27/02/09 |
What the hell koopz? receptionist/IT Admin?, who the f*** came up with that idea. Why do people think that they can just get someone on staff that can do IT aswell as another role, it boggles the mind. Its like they figure that they use computers so it mustnt be that hard to fix them, idiots.
| #109 10:36am 27/02/09 |
You could be quite right booyah, that may be a contributing factor too.
One thing's for sure, the fat aussie cabbies don't like em, cos they work in groups and they're on the phone to each other telling em where all the work is. Good for the people of brisbane however, as they're aiding people to get a taxi quicker, albeit by means not condoned by yellow cabs. As a general rule of thumb, indian cabbies are clean, polite and with a GPS, everyone knows brisbane instantly. Largely aussies are ruder to indians than indians are annoying to aussies. Also that's a f***ed idea koopz, you're just asking for problems. Pay peanuts, get monkeys. |
| #110 10:39am 27/02/09 |
thats so weird booya, ive seen quite a few sikh trolley boys around lately!
| #111 10:40am 27/02/09 |
Actually it depends on the work required, and the systems in place.
Basic mail admin (add, remove, modify accounts) and s***ty WYSIWYG web dev or CMS-based s*** could easily be filled by a regular office administrator. I have a client who has their website content directly maintained by the section staff for example. I can totally see the IT side getting bumped up a bit and the pay being kept the same at the moment. If Cairns is any guide there are a bazillion php/mysql guys out there at the moment who will work for food. Its s***house but its the way that things are at the moment. |
| #112 10:46am 27/02/09 |
Found a web/graphic design job @ QUT for 6 months which looked right up my alley so off went the resume. Only required HTML, JS, CSS and some PHP for $47K pa (few more Ks than current job) + super.
| #113 01:54pm 27/02/09 |
| #114 09:30pm 01/03/09 |
hey kat doesnt the sacrifice of stayinf at home for the kids also mean that you do the housework so that when hubby comes home he can spend time with the kids? Ooooooh ur soooo modern !
| #115 09:50pm 01/03/09 |
hey kat doesnt the sacrifice of stayinf at home for the kids also mean that you do the housework so that when hubby comes home he can spend time with the kids? Ooooooh ur soooo modern Yeah because the modern family is working SO well..... Just started (4 weeks ago) with the Government! Decent pay for a graduate accountant (11k more than my last job....with a 2k payrise 01/07/09 and about the same each year - guaranteed, not to mention the fact of other payrises or changes in roles etc) Good timing I believe! Wanted to go overseas at the start of next year.....Canada and the UK.......not looking so great at the moment! |
| #116 12:03am 02/03/09 |
As a general rule of thumb, indian cabbies are clean, polite and with a GPS, everyone knows brisbane instantly. Largely aussies are ruder to indians than indians are annoying to aussies. Generally that's right. I got in a cab at Park Rd and asked to be taken to Eagle St and the cabby had no idea where it was. He started to punch it into the GPS and couldn't work out the GPS menu so eventually I had to tell him where to go to get to one of Brisbane's busiest streets! And as an example of the second sentence, I had the complete opposite coming back from Melbourne airport yesterday. I told the Indian cabbie where to go (direct route down CityLink, through tunnel and off at Toorak Rd) and he started to question the way. I told him to just drive my way and then he turns the radio on and pumps the volume up while I'm trying to talk to my mate who's with me. f***er++ |
| #117 09:57am 02/03/09 |
| #117 |