A few of you guys highly rated the boxing lessons conducted at the Milton PCYC, and I've been itching to check it out for months now. I was googling around to find more info but failed dismally. Can anybody hook me up with more info? I remember seeing a site about it late last year maybe with class times, costs and basic info. I figured it would be a fun way to cram in an extra cardio session while learning something that might be useful one day (like the day Existence finds me, hyuk!).
Cheers in advance. |
| #0 09:03pm 23/02/09 |
Deathwalker
I'm not sure about that particular class but i do boxing a few times a week in west end, cheap and a great class. If you are interested just reply and i will tell you more info.
| #1 09:05pm 23/02/09 |
Mantorok
| #2 09:14pm 23/02/09 |
Thanks, Mantorok.
I live in Greenslopes, so West End would be pretty handy for me. Could you hook me up with more info please, Deathwalker? |
| #3 10:16pm 23/02/09 |
Yeah I've been to Boxing classes at Langpark for about 3 years now and I highly recommend it.
| #4 10:24pm 23/02/09 |
i take boxing classes on monday and wednesday at strathpine
| #5 10:49pm 23/02/09 |
I think i see some of you guys around my basketball training...
I might join you soon ;) |
| #6 11:02pm 23/02/09 |
From the description on the website and from what I've heard on here it seems like this class is pretty intense... do first timers puke and stuff? I currently lift weights twice a week, 2 cardio sessions a week (usually cycling or rowing, I'm trying to f*** my knees with jogging) and I walk everywhere (I don't have a car, so much of my life is spent walking to and from bus stops and places). My fitness would be above average, but I just want to be fitter.
| #7 11:23pm 23/02/09 |
if you dont puke then you're not working hard enough
| #8 11:25pm 23/02/09 |
Another reason not to exercise.
| #9 12:09am 24/02/09 |
First class is pretty intense for "most" people yeah even if you're fit, but only because you're body isn't quite use to the training routines. But from the sound of it you're fairly fit so you should be able to get through your first few classes just fine. Also It's not compulsory to do the full 2 hours if you're don't want to. Basically this is how the class normally go: - 20 minutes of skipping the robes. That's roughly 3 mins x 3 sets, and during the "break" from the skipping do you other exercise like 10, 15, 20 sets of push ups, or any other things you want to do like sit ups etc. - 20-30 minutes of running. This can be either run laps around lang park (at reasonable pace for advanced people), or "easier" (it's not really that much easier per se). You may get to do sprints, hill sprints or various other running things - 15-20 minutes of shadow boxing. Around 3 x 4 sets, again with various exercise for your "break" rounds. - If you want, the last 30 minutes are bag works. Generally consists of 4 mins x 3 sets with you and your partner taking turn to hit the bag. Most of these rounds there aren't really a real break, I mean you can get a sip of water etc if you want but Phil (the trainer) normally don't call a break to have water as such. You just grab it between rounds really. I normally spar a few rounds at the end of the class if Phil lets us spar. It sounds like a lot but once you've done it a couple of times it's really quite addictive and a lot of fun :). I find that people in the class are always very friendly. |
| #10 04:28am 24/02/09 |
good setup up milton pcyc
me and the boys from work are members of the gym there and we go for weights at lunch time (from west end) usually hardly anyone there, its perfect! |
| #11 05:43am 24/02/09 |
Crakaveli
i box emo fags down at the skate park monday and wednesday.
| #12 10:48am 24/02/09 |
Thanks for the informative post, Opec. Looks like I'll have to get my hands on a skipping rope. Will a standard one at a sports store be long enough for somebody who's about 6'5"? I reckon the skipping would absolutely kill me more than anything, since I don't really do anything like that at the moment. Sparring sounds pretty fun, how long do you have to go for before they let you spar? When I did karate you had to wait AAAAAAAAGES.
| #13 08:00pm 24/02/09 |
Humm probably not, the tallest dude that I saw using standard robe was probably 6'3" so... I think you may be able to get longer ones though?. Yeah take it easy on the skipping the first few times so you don't injure yourself (shin spin sucks) and just go harder as you progress. With sparring, you'll have to wait a few, it's really up to Phil. But if you're keen he normally try to get you in to a few quick rounds. Though being as tall as you are, it'll be difficult to find someone with similar reach to spar you hahaa. |
| #14 11:29pm 24/02/09 |
$6 per lesson + LP PCYC membership.
Mon, wed and fri, 6pm-8pm. That about right? |
| #15 12:19am 25/02/09 |
i just buy speed ropes from sports stores (like $5)
i even saw woolies selling em im 6"4 and they have plenty of length in them |
| #16 06:26am 25/02/09 |
Phooks, correct.
| #17 02:22pm 25/02/09 |
(shin spin sucks) Do you mean shin splints? I've had that a couple of times and it SUCKS. One of the most unbearable things I've had to endure. I got it the first time from having to run about a K in skate shoes with no proper padding, just the hard rubber sole. Won't try that again. Though being as tall as you are, it'll be difficult to find someone with similar reach to spar you hahaa. Haha, so I'll just mess up some short person then! A mate and I used to spar with those practice Kendo bamboo swords. My mate just didn't stand a chance against me because of my reach (He's only about 5'6"). |
| #18 09:36pm 25/02/09 |
Shin splints are the f***ing worse, you can imagine how bad mine got from doing parkour on mainly concrete surfaces.
All the parkour blokes use a simple vid "titanium ankles" made by a tricker, completely cured my shin splints. |
| #19 09:45pm 25/02/09 |
Is this what you're talking about, CHUB?
| #20 01:24am 26/02/09 |
That's the one.
You would be surprised how the little exercises strengthen muscles that you never really think about. |
| #21 09:09am 26/02/09 |
Yeah that's what I meant. |
| #22 11:03am 26/02/09 |