And the people that prefer it over Queensland weather.
this was the biggest piece of khel bait they had in the store |
| #0 09:15am 30/01/09 |
Ross
Yeh and they are s*** at all sport and basic services
| #1 09:20am 30/01/09 |
I would bite, but I'm too busy dying
| #2 09:24am 30/01/09 |
I would bite, but I'm from Tasmania really. |
| #3 09:31am 30/01/09 |
Twinsen
Tasmanian Devils bite?
| #4 09:36am 30/01/09 |
with both heads! :D
| #5 09:37am 30/01/09 |
I hate Melbourne and the type of people they have.
But f***, I feel sorry for them. |
| #6 09:39am 30/01/09 |
what type of people do they have ?
| #7 09:40am 30/01/09 |
melbourne is awesome
also, people that dont like the heat are soft imo |
| #8 09:41am 30/01/09 |
seconded, melbourne is awesome.
and basic servicesYeah, like public transport. BS. |
| #9 09:44am 30/01/09 |
what type of people do they have ? wogs n goths mostly, mostly. |
| #10 09:44am 30/01/09 |
what type of people do they have ? I lived there for at least 6 months and walking down the street if you looked someone in the eyes it meant you wanted to have a go at them. Coming from here where you can walk down the street look at another human, smile and say hello it was a huge shock. They are all so self absorbed in Melbourne and that is just my g rated version :D |
| #11 09:51am 30/01/09 |
you sound like you're a bit too G-rated in general
| #12 09:51am 30/01/09 |
Beats my r rated days!
| #13 09:54am 30/01/09 |
I lived there for at least 6 months and walking down the street if you looked someone in the eyes it meant you wanted to have a go at them. Coming from here where you can walk down the street look at another human, smile and say hello it was a huge shock. I moved to Melbourne from Tassie and have lived here 11 years. I think Tassie is a lot friendlier than Melbourne in general - when I go back to Tas it weirds me out a bit, but I like Tassie friendliness. I disagree about everyone wanting to have a go (sounds more like Adelaide), but I agree that Melb peeps are more self-absorbed. |
| #14 09:57am 30/01/09 |
you'd think tassie would be friendly seeing as you're all related...
| #15 10:12am 30/01/09 |
Coochie
walking down the street if you looked someone in the eyes it meant you wanted to have a go at themI gotto agree there....was in Melbourne over Easter a few years ago and walking from our hotel in the CBD to a club about 500m away we saw something like 3 fights plus my friends wife got hassled by some dudes...all within 30mins of arriving in the city. Then on our second night there we saw a massive fight in the Casino between two huge black (like Barrack Obama black, not Kathy Freeman black) dudes fighting an entire pack of lebs. They started beating each other with chairs and what not from restaurants. The funniest part was about 10 security guards all looking very swish in their suits all stood around doing nothing until the black guys backed off then they started acting super macho like they prevented the outbreak of WWIII. I guess I kind of don't blame them though...the criminals (and the police) in Melbourne seem to enjoy shooting people unlike in QLD where you're not likely to get shot no matter who you fight (with a couple of recent exceptions - but they were probably Mexicans anyway). Only there for a long weekend but definitely got the impression they are not a friendly bunch of people the old Melbournites. |
| #16 10:17am 30/01/09 |
I was in Melbourne once for summer ; it was a hot day and I remember hearing a few of the Mexicans talking about complaining about how humid it was. I didn't even notice any humidity at all; it was a total dry heat (hot as balls to be sure if you were in the sun, but nowhere near as muggy as a Brisbane day). Hot weather ftw |
| #17 10:19am 30/01/09 |
hot weather FTMFL
| #18 10:23am 30/01/09 |
sparrow
I agree melb weather sucks, but because it's do temperamental, and especially s*** in winter. Hot weather ftw - especially dry heat! 45 dry heat is so much nicer than even 35 humid. Or at least I used to think that before I moved to Brisbane and was brainwashed into thinking humidity is awesome. Also, I didn't notice that melbourne people were that agreesive, but they were WAY more into fashion, and much snobbier than Brisbane folk. |
| #19 10:26am 30/01/09 |
Sure. It sucks when it's hot.
But in Melbourne, you just wait a couple of days and it drops from 38+ to 18 or less, in 45 minutes. Those cool changes are farken orsm. |
| #20 10:30am 30/01/09 |
sparrow
Sure. It sucks when it's hot. I for one disagree, I love the heat and cry when it drops below 25. |
| #21 10:35am 30/01/09 |
Hot weather ftw I love hot weather but I hate the way my gf has to f***ing sook about it over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over ... You get the idea. |
| #22 10:38am 30/01/09 |
menopause eh pinky
| #23 10:38am 30/01/09 |
menopause eh pinky Nah, just cut and paste mate. A bit of Ctrl+C, Ctrl+V action. Or Ctrl+Shift+Insert, Shift+Insert if you're one of those. *EDIT* Ah, I thought you were having a go at me, but I see you are having a go at gf, lol. Yeah, you know, I like the older ones, what can I say? |
| #24 10:44am 30/01/09 |
Beats my r rated days! there were r rated days? i would have said more ma rated, unless i misssed some of the pix; |
| #25 10:45am 30/01/09 |
you're a quick one pinky
| #26 10:46am 30/01/09 |
there were r rated days? i would have said more ma rated, unless i misssed some of the pix; Let's not get QGL into another debate about classification |
| #27 10:47am 30/01/09 |
Ross
I was referring to electricity and water. Melbourne is like the rectum of australia. All the bottom feeding trash is attracted to it. It makes a lot of sense to me that Pinky lives there.
| #28 10:48am 30/01/09 |
I was referring to electricity and water. Water, yes. It's tough when it doesn't rain. Everything suffers from farming, to sports fields, to your knees from running on said sports fields. Electricity, no. That's a new one. Never had a problem with that myself. Are you referring to some specific case in recent history? AFAIK we've never had a problem with electricity. You can argue about the environment and coal power and what-not, but there's no shortage of supply at least. As for bottom-feeding trash, not really sure exactly what you mean. Business people? I don't think it's disproportionate - it's like anywhere with 3mil people - you get all types. |
| #29 11:01am 30/01/09 |
I am not well travelled (no comments :P) but Melbourne has been the only city I have seen a junkie throw up on the floor a a train carriage and have the people around him do nothing but say "Oh that? yeah, it happens all the time. Just ignore it"
o_O |
| #30 11:07am 30/01/09 |
*EDIT* Ah, I thought you were having a go at me, but I see you are having a go at gf, lol. Yeah, you know, I like the older ones, what can I say? wtf...where's your "last edited by bla at time/date"?! Ninja edit?! HAX! |
| #31 11:08am 30/01/09 |
I am not well travelled (no comments :P) but Melbourne has been the only city I have seen a junkie throw up on the floor a a train carriage and have the people around him do nothing but say "Oh that? yeah, it happens all the time. Just ignore it" Yeah, I dunno how I'd handle that situation though - I think most would struggle. I would probably get off at the next stop. Not a good idea to help a junky TBH. In terms of safety though I have rarely felt unsafe in Melb. I've been around the place a bit and the most unsafe I have felt was in Rome or Prague (equally unsafe) - they are tourist vultures who would f*** you up as soon as look at you. I haven't been to anywhere not recommended for travel on smarttraveller though, so I haven't been places that are genuinely unsafe - as in, potential-to-catch-a-bullet-in-your-chest-cavity unsafe. @ Fireblood, must be QGL-only thing. I'm at AusGamers forum. |
| #32 11:15am 30/01/09 |
Ross
What are you talking about!! The last few days there has been 18000 homes effected by intermittent power.
| #33 11:33am 30/01/09 |
wtf...where's your "last edited by bla at time/date"?! Ninja edit?! HAX! Editing less than a minute after first posting doesn't add in the timestamp. |
| #34 11:34am 30/01/09 |
Yes it does (unless it is the OP) or maybe it doesn't |
| #35 11:35am 30/01/09 |
I've only spent a week in Melbourne but I found everyone to be really friendly. Was there with a friend and we had plenty of people on the streets smile or talk to us. Melbourne weather in winter rocked imo
| #36 11:37am 30/01/09 |
What are you talking about!! The last few days there has been 18000 homes effected by intermittent power. Meh, my office is 35km from my house. Neither were affected. 18,000 is a f***-all proportion of Melbourne. And how often does that happen anyway? Not a reason to stay away from Melbourne, put it that way. |
| #37 11:39am 30/01/09 |
Hot weather is balls. Just f*** off already.
| #38 11:42am 30/01/09 |
| #39 11:59am 30/01/09 |
When you gotta go, you just gotta go
| #40 12:15pm 30/01/09 |
Crakaveli
Went down to Melbourne a few times last year. One time was for the international air show. First few days were like the hottest in a few years then the day we went to the show they got the most rain in however long ago.
I actually like Melbourne but. |
| #41 01:23pm 30/01/09 |
actually where is that fat f*** khel been hiding?
| #42 01:25pm 30/01/09 |
Crakaveli
Melbourne weather in winter rocked imo I love Melbourne winters <3 |
| #43 01:27pm 30/01/09 |
Nailbomb
I was referring to electricity and water. Just out of curiosity, how so? The public transport system here is s***, well the trains anyway. I found the transport system in QLD to be much more reliable though I'm not really a fan of buses in general and the train system seemed pretty small scale compared to Melbourne's. The weather is pretty unpredictable at times and tends to move from one extreme to the other during the various seasons. Sometimes can go from pissing down with rain and freezing to sunny and warm in a very short period of time and it often tends to mess with people immune systems. I am not well travelled (no comments :P) but Melbourne has been the only city I have seen a junkie throw up on the floor a a train carriage and have the people around him do nothing but say "Oh that? yeah, it happens all the time. Just ignore it" Yeah? I've been traveling the train system here most days for over 10 years and never seen anything like that happen. Actually, last week when the weather was starting to ramp up, a lady got off a train a fainted on the platform and about 6 ppl nearby rushed to her aide and stayed with her until station staff came and helped her. It is true that a lot fights at clubs and whatknot break out but it really depends where you go, I've never actually seen one break out to be honest, mainly just what you hear the news. I normally tend to stay away from the scene anyways, rather go to a lan or get some friends around to have a boozeup with some console gaming but all times I've been out to pubs, clubs, concerts or festivals have been fine. On the whole I generally find people in Melbourne reasonably friendly but maybe because I've lived here for so long I'm just used to the way of life around here. You definitely have areas that are just loaded with bogan's (prime example would the area where Corey's 500 person party bash happened early last year) but still plenty of areas around that are fine. I must admit, when I was in Canada mid last year, people there were noticeably friendlier but Canada has a rep for that anyway. |
| #44 01:36pm 30/01/09 |
I find Brisbane too hot but then i see Melbourne and i giggle.
Whats the humidity like down there ? Thats the killer up here. 33 degrees with 80% humidity -_- But doesnt Melbourne also drift down below 20 sometimes in summer ? |
| #45 02:36pm 30/01/09 |
I saw Ruth Cracknell (from Mother & Son) in melbourne once. This was before she was dead. True story.
| #46 02:41pm 30/01/09 |
nice story. needs dragons.
| #47 02:43pm 30/01/09 |
sparrow
I must admit, when I was in Canada mid last year, people there were noticeably friendlier but Canada has a rep for that anyway. I have found that canadians are about as friendly as Brisbane people, ie very, however they are wayy politer. It annoys the s*** out of me - they will wait for pedestrians to cross the road if you're standing on the sidewalk waiting, whereas in bris, the cars wouldn't wait. I hate walking infront of waiting cars. But yeah, just politer in general, not friendlier. So maybe melb people aren't that friendly. |
| #48 02:52pm 30/01/09 |
cross at the zebra crossing mother f***er or shut your mouth
| #49 02:59pm 30/01/09 |
I find Brisbane too hot but then i see Melbourne and i giggle. Have a look at this chart. http://www.theweatherchaser.com/observations/australia/melbourne-victoria.html |
| #50 02:59pm 30/01/09 |
Twinsen
Down near the Rye\Sorrento area this time of the year, it is absolutely overgrown with wogs, my only quarrel.
| #51 03:18pm 30/01/09 |
Whats the humidity like down there ? Yeah, humidity down here is nothing like up in qld, I laugh every time I hear melbourne people bitching about the humidity when it gets up to like 30% or something, they don't know humid. But doesnt Melbourne also drift down below 20 sometimes in summer ? Yeah, this last week is pretty much the first hot week we've had all summer. Up until now its been low 20's and sub 20's through november/december/january. Until recently I was still wandering around at home in tracksuits and sleeping under a doona, in the middle of summer! Paying for it now though :( last edited by Khel at 15:44:31 30/Jan/09 |
| #52 03:44pm 30/01/09 |
This thread isn't complete yet, it's missing typo coming into defend khel and telling me a study proved its not hot at all in Melbourne.
| #53 04:14pm 30/01/09 |
That graph is crazy >.<
| #54 04:16pm 30/01/09 |
LOL, lookin' smooth there Khel.
That photo reminds me of the time at Miskin Street where your brother took a dump in the middle of the hallway. |
| #55 05:09pm 30/01/09 |
nice story. needs
| #56 05:13pm 30/01/09 |
It was pretty awful yesterday at 44C, I'm up at Mt Buller today for Nationals round 4 and it was at least 32, they were going for 26... going for 29 tomorrow.
They're also reporting massive fires like 10 minutes from where I live - at 7 I heard they were at Lysterfield South and the Police Paddocks, about 45 minutes later they were saying the fires had crossed into Churchill Park. To give you an idea how close that is, it takes me 25 minutes to ride from home to Churchill, and there's a decent climb involved. Edit: Have just read on CFA website that the fires around Churchill have been contained, which is good. It got to 46.2C at 17:33 at our place. last edited by Raven at 21:22:38 30/Jan/09 |
| #57 09:22pm 30/01/09 |
Don't know what all these people are complaining about.. 24 degrees inside and watching the tennis.
Can't see any heat wave or power outages! |
| #58 09:54pm 30/01/09 |
At least Melbourne is worth going out in
Brisbane is a giant pile of s*** that needs to be flushed down the toilet |
| #59 11:49pm 30/01/09 |
you've been banned from every single licensed venue in Brisbane, haven't you.
| #60 11:52pm 30/01/09 |
Brisbane is a giant pile of s*** that needs to be flushed down the toilet Thats good, keep it up, tell every mexican you know this. That way it might stop the c***s from moving up here in droves. |
| #61 12:04am 31/01/09 |
To give an idea how deranged melbourne weather can be, this afternoon it dropped about 10 degrees, from 45 to around 35, in 8 minutes.
| #62 12:05am 31/01/09 |
Nailbomb
24 degrees inside and watching the tennis. Indeed. This match is pretty intense, well worth watching. |
| #63 12:21am 31/01/09 |
I moved to Melbourne from Tassie and have lived here 11 years. I think Tassie is a lot friendlier than Melbourne in general - when I go back to Tas it weirds me out a bit, but I like Tassie friendliness. just out of curiousity, where in Tassie are you from Pinky? btw - if you're from Hobart you're a dirty Mexican :P yes.. the northern peeps had that joke long before Trog logged on and though it up. come to think of it he prolly ripped from Quake Vision locals :/ last edited by koopz at 01:08:57 31/Jan/09 |
| #64 01:08am 31/01/09 |
something tells me the Americans had it way before the dirty two-headed Tasmanians
| #65 01:23am 31/01/09 |
Crunch
Hehe the wife decided to go to Melbourne for holidays, got there thursday night. Apparently they closed crown casino because of no power, all of south bank was closed, etc. What's with a major capital city that has a hot day or two and can't provide enough power? Pfft.
| #66 12:28pm 31/01/09 |
Murderist
Q. When did everyone stop bagging Sydney people and start bagging Melbourne people? A. When everyone from Sydney moved to Melbourne. |
| #67 12:40pm 31/01/09 |
i heard that a million homes lost power yesterday. any truth to this?
| #68 12:41pm 31/01/09 |
crazymorton
my wife an i love Melbourne and Tassie and the cold....despite the current heat wave down there....
i'm actually applying for a job (internal) in Victoria atm. it's around Clayton....can any of you mexicans advise of decent suburbs around that area if i get it? looking at a nice new to 10 year old house, non bogan/houseing commish areas, $400K - $500k don't care about public transport we're going to keep the fossil fuel industry pumping. |
| #69 01:33pm 31/01/09 |
Glen Iris, Oakleigh, Bentleigh, Malvern, Caufield, most of the suburbs around there are pretty good, and you're close to a massive shopping centre (Chadstone).
i heard that a million homes lost power yesterday. any truth to this? Dunno numbers, but yeah, a s***load of people lost power. The worst cases were without power for 2 days or so and were only getting it back today. They've been load shedding as well to try and help the strain on the power. And an air conditioner in a shop on lygon street exploded and burnt the shop down. Seriously, air conditioners can f***ing explode? How hard to do you have to be pushing an air conditioner to make it explode your shop, thats some hardcore air conditioning. |
| #70 01:57pm 31/01/09 |
kos
I would have said you'd be hard pressed to find anything in your price range in any of the suburbs Khel mentioned (with the possible exception of Oakleigh), but with housing prices falling you may have just picked the right time. Might be worth checking out Dingley area also, they're not too bum-ish there. |
| #71 02:49pm 31/01/09 |
crazymorton
thx guys for the input i've saved these.
i know what you mean kos about timing, it's a double edged sword if i do get the job cause we have to then sell here...although i might rent it out for a while... but we only need a 2-3 bedroomer, (1-us, 1-games/ht, 1 guests) it's only the wife and me. found some nice stuff around Boronia and Wantima, and Ferntree Gully...what are they like?? thanks for the feedback |
| #72 03:17pm 31/01/09 |
Maybe rent your current place and rent down in Melbourne? At least then it will make life easier as moving interstate can be quite stressful and you won't be rushed into selling or buying in the current market.
And I guess there is always the chance things could go belly up and you want to move back to Gladstone, it will make it easier to do that also. last edited by gimpy at 18:28:57 31/Jan/09 |
| #73 06:28pm 31/01/09 |
This thread isn't complete yet, it's missing typo coming into defend khel and telling me a study proved its not hot at all in Melbourne. Hah, the best way to bait you is to pick apart whatever bulls*** is coming out of your mouth at any given moment. Picking apart your s***ty Khel trolls seems to get the juicy bites. Just face it Obes, your glory days are over. It's time to go into an old persons home. I hope you like your kero baths. |
| #74 08:29pm 31/01/09 |
Thank you for completing the thread typo.
| #75 09:13am 01/02/09 |
projectodemon strikes again
I don't laugh at melbourne weather, but I laugh at obes cos he isn't playing left4dead right now |
| #76 10:28am 01/02/09 |
| #76 |