Hi Folks,
I probably should wait until its visible on the App Store but... nah. My first iPhone app, GigCal 1.0, has been accepted as "Ready for Sale" and should appear on the App Store in the next day or two (hopefully sooner rather than later). You can check out what its about at http://apps.ludavico.com/. Here's a blurb. Also, I'm happy to say that no-one else has made this type of app (at least searching on the AU store). GigCal is an application designed specifically for performing musicians, bands and/or groups to manage their gigs and events and provide specialised gig related features. Such features include event set list creation, emailing of event details and set lists for printing, artists' song list creation with lyrics and the ability to email song lyrics to friends or band mates. http://apps.ludavico.com/images/GigCal_Smaller.jpg This has made my day! |
| #0 12:03pm 20/01/09 |
Nice work dude, sounds cool |
| #1 12:16pm 20/01/09 |
Cheers. I'm already working on v2.0 and its not even fully released!
| #2 12:17pm 20/01/09 |
dRanged
Yep. Hope the $$ rols in eh?
| #3 12:18pm 20/01/09 |
Yep. Hope the $$ rols in eh? While I'm not expecting any sort of figure, I'm certain that it could attract a bit of attention since nothing else does this kind of thing. But dreaming-wise, I hope to make $30K, pay off my uni loan and buy a VT commodore. haha. If I make half a mil, I'll buy a house. And then the BAS forms will rock up... UGH last edited by 3dee at 12:23:45 20/Jan/09 |
| #4 12:23pm 20/01/09 |
i was reading about some young fellas who made "ifrost" (frosts up your idevice)
apparently its raking in the cash for them |
| #5 12:46pm 20/01/09 |
Yeah iSteam I think its called. APparently they made 11 grand in first month or week or something. Rediculous! ANd its just a novelty app!
| #6 01:05pm 20/01/09 |
^ f***ing hell!
Bet there's not nearly as big of a market for nokia apps! why didn't I choose iPhone over my n96?! oh wait...that's right, cus it rocks! :D |
| #7 01:20pm 20/01/09 |
Bet there's not nearly as big of a market for nokia apps! I think it's more the way they executed it. I never ever used the app download stuff on my Nokia(s). Whereas with iPhone its a big and seamless feature of the iPhone as a product and for developers, the SDK is likely much better (and easier to use) than Nokia Symbian development. |
| #8 01:23pm 20/01/09 |
I think your market is pretty small. Performing musicians? There are probably under 50k of them in Australia. Assuming one in ten has an iphone there is a market of 5000, who then see the need to buy this program?
Don't like your chances, soz.. |
| #9 01:43pm 20/01/09 |
agree^
| #10 01:51pm 20/01/09 |
I think your market is pretty small. Performing musicians? There are probably under 50k of them in Australia. Assuming one in ten has an iphone there is a market of 5000, who then see the need to buy this program? I know I'm not targeting the majority. But, for that minority, its a very useful app. I'm in that minority and are using this app myself. Like I said, I don't expect anything, but it would great if something did come out of it. Besides, I have it initially released in Australian, United States, United Kingdom, New Zealand and Canadian stores so I've got a bit more audience than just Australia. last edited by 3dee at 13:59:43 20/Jan/09 |
| #11 01:59pm 20/01/09 |
I think your market is pretty small. Performing musicians? There are probably under 50k of them in Australia. Assuming one in ten has an iphone there is a market of 5000, who then see the need to buy this program? im guessing from this: It is priced at $4.99 AU ($3.99 US) it is also available to the americans. |
| #12 01:58pm 20/01/09 |
it is also available to the americans. Yeah. As above, its initially released in Australian, United States, United Kingdom, New Zealand and Canadian stores. But the cool thing is, I can get translations (I'd prolly stick to latin alphabet languages like Italian etc), and then release it more countries. Hell, I could probably release it everywhere but a lot of countries aren't English native so wouldn't do it without translations. last edited by 3dee at 14:05:47 20/Jan/09 |
| #13 02:05pm 20/01/09 |
Google calendars seems to allow most of this stuff aswell...
| #14 02:13pm 20/01/09 |
Do you need to have access to an iPhone to make something like this? Is there an emulator?
| #15 02:31pm 20/01/09 |
Do you need to have access to an iPhone to make something like this? Is there an emulator? There's the iPhone Simulator which hooks into XCode but you need a Mac as the toolchain is all Mac. |
| #16 02:47pm 20/01/09 |
can you tell us a bit about the process of getting your program approved by apple?
| #17 03:08pm 20/01/09 |
last edited by 3dee at 15:29:54 20/Jan/09 |
| #18 03:29pm 20/01/09 |
What %age does Apple take from you?
| #19 03:40pm 20/01/09 |
30%. But I have a feeling there was 5% extra from the tax treaty between US and AU goverments (reduces tax to prevent double taxation).
I'll have to see how it goes anywayz. |
| #20 04:01pm 20/01/09 |
From what I can tell from the reviews people write in the AppStore, there are a lot of people who would be willing to pay for this, regardless of whether or not they have a band.
For the most part, I'm not into misleading the public, but because you're a "local" and anyone can write a review of an App, I think QGL should get on board and give you a heap of good reviews and 5 star ratings, just to get a bit of a bump up the App list. I think if you make the top 25 App list, you'll make a fair bit of bread. So let us know when it's up and I'll write you a 5 star review. |
| #21 04:37pm 20/01/09 |
Register an ABN and GST and send a few forms off to Apple, while entering other bank details etc Was registering for GST a requirement to deal with Apple? or did they just recommend you do it? |
| #22 04:51pm 20/01/09 |
cheers bh
It's up now actually. Just searched on my iphone. Just search "gigcal". The link is obscure so can't type it on iPhone. |
| #23 04:52pm 20/01/09 |
Yeah they require you GST regardless of whether you make more than the threshold ($75K).
| #24 04:53pm 20/01/09 |
Actually BH just remembered you have to buy it to review it.
| #25 04:55pm 20/01/09 |
paradigm
That's very cool, just have to sit back and watch the cash roll into your bank.
| #26 04:57pm 20/01/09 |
smashingpumpkin
Do you see you sales as realtime, weekly, monthly etc???
| #27 05:01pm 20/01/09 |
Yeah they require you GST regardless of whether you make more than the threshold ($75K). That sucks :( Assuming they require you to provide them with a valid tax invoice to be paid your 70%? |
| #28 05:04pm 20/01/09 |
iTunes link
Not sure about sales. I have a feeling you can see daily. But the payment is kept until at least $250US is made (per store) then up to 15 days after end of month you get the dosh. |
| #29 05:11pm 20/01/09 |
so its a calendar for giggalos?
| #30 05:15pm 20/01/09 |
Actually BH just remembered you have to buy it to review it. You sure? If so that must be a fairly new thing. |
| #31 05:15pm 20/01/09 |
You could release it anywhere around the world and the end result would be the same, $0.. Because we all know Muso's have no money ;D Seriously though, Good luck for the program and hope it serves you well. Seems like a good idea. Enjoy your soon to be new boat :D |
| #32 05:31pm 20/01/09 |
expand your market and give it added functionality for DJs too :D
nice work man, hope you make some phatl00t |
| #33 05:36pm 20/01/09 |
Submit an enhancement request :P
You could release it anywhere around the world and the end result would be the same, $0.. Pretty much. I'll be buying s*** with the funds hahaha |
| #34 05:49pm 20/01/09 |
If you start making s***loads of scratch dude its mos def worth talking to an accountant about how to deal with it all. Keep that in mind!@# |
| #35 05:51pm 20/01/09 |
Yeah, cause I have no business experience whatsoever :S
| #36 05:54pm 20/01/09 |
Yeah, cause I have no business experience whatsoever :SI coulda sworn you wrote something above about not knowing what the ABN stuff was all about but maybe I imagined it |
| #37 06:00pm 20/01/09 |
Yeah I know what an ABN and GST is, I'm just a business, tax and form newb. I was happy when I could just chuck in my income into e-tax and hit NO 30 times. But now it might be a little more complicated :P Def gonna go see the TaxMan
| #38 06:05pm 20/01/09 |
^ You'll probably have to do a yearly bas, remember 10% of what you receive is the taxmans GST......in addition to 15-30% of the NET (ie after 10%) income less expenses. You'll have a GST bill guaranteed, and depending on your regular refunds, may have tax to pay on the income.
Thus why i asked about GST requirement, basically apple want to claim a 10% input tax credit from you, and make you pay the GST, thus the requirement to be registered. If you don't have to provide them a valid tax invoice and it's not specifically stipulated in the contract (between you and apple), i'd be inclined not to register for GST. It's up to Apple to check with the ABR that you are registered for GST before they claim the credit. But yeah...at the end of the day it's only 10% But really depends what the contract says, whether your a partner in the sale or whatever. Apple probably have their bases covered unfort :( PS keep invoices etc for all of your computer programs etc you needed to buy to develop the program. Internet expenses etc etc. |
| #39 06:31pm 20/01/09 |
Keep receipts from expensive restaurants for "business meetings" as well.
| #40 06:39pm 20/01/09 |
Will do ;)
| #41 06:43pm 20/01/09 |
taking clients to a night at the ballet too ;)
| #42 06:44pm 20/01/09 |
TMWNN
A colleague of mine at work has some games up on the store and is pulling down some pretty nice $$ from it (over $3g a week(.
Seems a pretty sweet way to earn bucks as a solo developer if you know your s***. |
| #43 06:51pm 20/01/09 |
3K a week f*** yeah.
Pity I won't know anything until tomorrow really. |
| #44 06:55pm 20/01/09 |
Good luck mate! I think this program is a nifty idea and I know stacks of people who would use this program if they were gay enough to buy iPhones :P
I'd get it translated into Spanish first if I were you. It's the fourth most common native language in the world and it uses the Latin alphabet! |
| #45 07:00pm 20/01/09 |
this is really cool.. if u need a good review let me know where to type it!
| #46 07:08pm 20/01/09 |
You'd have to buy it first :)
They closed that loophole a little while ago (competitors posting 1 star reviews...) I'd get it translated into Spanish first if I were you. It's the fourth most common native language in the world and it uses the Latin alphabet! Yeah my goal is to have a few non-english translations (not by Google ha). |
| #47 07:27pm 20/01/09 |
I'd get it translated into Spanish first if I were you. It's the fourth most common native language in the world and it uses the Latin alphabet! is this a joke??? Why not get it translated into the 1st, 2nd and 3rd most common languages first??? |
| #48 07:41pm 20/01/09 |
^^ can china and india buy iapps? ^^
| #49 07:46pm 20/01/09 |
I'm gonna put it on the Huttese store one day.
| #50 07:46pm 20/01/09 |
i suggest posting this on the gamearena forums as well as any other forums you know of.
| #51 08:03pm 20/01/09 |
is this a joke??? Why not get it translated into the 1st, 2nd and 3rd most common languages first??? Because they're not latin-based, and I'm pretty sure it doesn't need to be translated into English? There's a lot of different answers as to the top 5, but almost all have English and Spanish as the primary Latin charset languages.
Also looking at the list of popular languages, a lot of them are for cultures where iPhone ownership and gig scheduling probably isn't a big priority for most people. last edited by Hogfather at 20:17:27 20/Jan/09 |
| #52 08:17pm 20/01/09 |
Maybe it's because I don't know what "latin-based" means, but why not suggest to translate into Mandarin, or Indian, for example?
| #53 08:17pm 20/01/09 |
Also, someone needs to report iTunes to the ACCC or whatever it's called, because so often the description will advertise a different price to the one actually listed. It's f***ing gay and annoying.
| #54 08:18pm 20/01/09 |
épic™
i have epic ideas for apps. alas no mac
| #55 08:20pm 20/01/09 |
kos
Edit: nm |
| #56 09:19pm 20/01/09 |
Latin alphabet is the A-Z alphabet that so many languages use.
The only real reason (in my app) non-latin languages are a bit difficult is that the Venues list is sectioned into A-Z. So you'll see headers from "A" to "Z" with the venues sorted into those. Its easy for Latin based languages because you can just do "#ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ". What would a Chinese alphabet be?!? |
| #57 09:30pm 20/01/09 |
paradigm
I sent out some mad advertising for you! I twittered everyone to check out GigCal, it's made by a friend.
| #58 10:07pm 20/01/09 |
I'll give it to a band member and then get them to write a review, and I'll throw it up on MacTalk.com.au for you.
| #59 10:35pm 20/01/09 |
Keep receipts from expensive restaurants for "business meetings" as well. Yeah ahh...no. The majority of "business lunches/dinner" cannot be claimed - unless travelling. |
| #60 10:38pm 20/01/09 |
Cheers exo and paradigm :-)
I just wanna see some results tomorrow! Hopefully something has happened by then... |
| #61 11:00pm 20/01/09 |
but why not suggest to translate into Mandarin, or Indian, for example? I assume by 'Indian' you mean Hindi. Hindi and Mandarin Chinese use non-Latin script, so they would probably be more difficult or expensive to translate. Usually, the more closely two languages are related, the easier they will be to translate between one and the other. English, Spanish and Hindi are all Indo-European languages, meaning they are more closely related to each other than they are to Mandarin. They should translate between each other more easily than they would to Mandarin Chinese. English and Spanish are even more closely related, so they should translate more easily between each other than they would with Hindi. If you looked at translating something from Spanish to Portuguese, you'd find that it would be quite easy as the languages are so closely related and share large collection of cognates and grammars. The Romance languages (i.e. languages that were a result of Romans combining with local dialects and languages) use a Latin script, and while a lot of their words use those fancy symbols above letters, they are gradually being phased out as most of them are superfluous and do not form minimal pairs in written script. Most Germanic languages and many Slavic languages are in the same boat. |
| #62 12:01am 21/01/09 |
Ha, I posted on GameArena and some Vagabob prick flamed me.
Then it got removed as advertising. I love the internet. last edited by 3dee at 09:45:44 21/Jan/09 |
| #63 09:45am 21/01/09 |
Ha, I posted on GameArena and some Vagabob prick flamed me.We remove everything commercial as advertising on GA; you never had a chance. If you were some random newb posting here your post would have probably been smashed too :) |
| #64 10:08am 21/01/09 |
Haha yeah I figured adverts would get disintegrated on sight on most forums.
I'm feelin' the love, i'm feelin' it. hahah. Now I just gotta get our bassist to buy it and give me a sweet review >< ha |
| #65 10:13am 21/01/09 |
Great explanation CT. Now I get why what I was sayig was dumb:)
| #66 10:32am 21/01/09 |
trillion
all this iphone love needs a little balancing out
http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/7456/thegoogstg9.jpg |
| #67 01:20pm 21/01/09 |
You've got a G1? I'm somewhat jealous.
| #68 01:26pm 21/01/09 |
| #69 01:28pm 21/01/09 |
Sounds good. I wrote some an event managment website, with the ability to sell tix online.
I got an idea i was gonna write for wm6 phones, sell on handango. |
| #70 02:25pm 21/01/09 |
Awesome. Yeah there's some ticket apps I think but mine won't be doing that (too complicated for me tbh). Also, this is so lame.. Apple introduced promo code creation for developers to seed their apps to reviewers etc but they only work in the US store ... Sigh. What about the other 70 odd App stores???
| #71 02:31pm 21/01/09 |
| #72 03:12pm 21/01/09 |
hah madness
| #73 03:18pm 21/01/09 |
| #74 03:18pm 21/01/09 |
Crakaveli
| #75 03:46pm 21/01/09 |
Sweeet. First review is 5 stars. Say hes been waiting for this app for ages. (etc etc). uk store
last edited by 3dee at 21:46:24 21/Jan/09 |
| #76 09:46pm 21/01/09 |
simul
Let us know how much money you make :D
| #77 09:37pm 21/01/09 |
Unless its a large "gimme some... GIVE ME IT OR ILL MUG U" figure :P
| #78 10:02pm 21/01/09 |
Mantorok
| #79 11:11pm 21/01/09 |
Har har I've made 30 bucks in the first day :) and hardly anyone knows about it yet |
| #80 11:55pm 21/01/09 |
Great explanation CT. Now I get why what I was sayig was dumb:) Heh no worries. It's kind of my area of expertise. I know heaps of people I'll tell about this app. Unfortunately, I don't think any of them have iPhones :( |
| #81 01:25am 22/01/09 |
i've got alot of ideas.. but unfortunality i have no idea how to program yet even write half a html code... so anyone can point me in the right direction of where i can tell this programmer what i want and KAABOOOM KAAABAAAM?
| #82 03:23am 22/01/09 |
Crakaveli
Iedetonator
| #83 03:24am 22/01/09 |
so anyone can point me in the right direction of where i can tell this programmer what i want and KAABOOOM KAAABAAAM?Your local mosque. |
| #84 03:39am 22/01/09 |
now now fpot, lets stay on topic.. or do you have a.d.d or something?
| #85 03:47am 22/01/09 |
Yes :(
| #86 03:51am 22/01/09 |
i've got alot of ideas.. but unfortunality i have no idea how to program yet even write half a html code... so anyone can point me in the right direction of where i can tell this programmer what i want and KAABOOOM KAAABAAAM? What are they? **runs away with ideas muahahaha** |
| #87 09:11am 22/01/09 |
zubzub, u should just get your hands on a mac and start learnin
ud be up and coding in no time! |
| #88 09:43am 22/01/09 |
Hey 3dee - just out of curiosity has the app started rolling in the money yet? Don't want to know the specific figures but a simply yes/no would suffice on whether or not it has met or exceeded your expectations on revenue.
And if it's exceeded I'll have the Scuderia in Red. |
| #89 10:01am 28/01/09 |
old mate at work has some good ideas for apps but was telling me theres a massive delay on getting the developers kit from apple, like 6 months/12 months
is that right? |
| #90 10:08am 28/01/09 |
Not that I know of? The SDK itself is free download whenever you want. If you want to stuff on the store you have to enroll in the dev program which can take a bit to get accepted (and then pay) but not that long.
| #91 10:10am 28/01/09 |
Hey 3dee - just out of curiosity has the app started rolling in the money yet? Don't want to know the specific figures but a simply yes/no would suffice on whether or not it has met or exceeded your expectations on revenue. Nope, far from it. Made 8 sales first day, 3 the next then 8 each for the next 3 days then 25th i made 2 sales and 26th, none. I need marketing in the music/band arena but are too poor. Its almost like one of those bands that whoever knows of them really loves their music but the rest of us havent even heard of. Sigh. Not to mention the "New" section of the iTunes App Store front page is retarded. It has apps that were released back in September in it. I'm just going to continue making 2.0 a much better product (and its much better in the small amount that I've developed so far) and then push that version. I've also decided to add extra tools to it (in an Extras tab). A metronome is the first one (easy to make). Other one would be a guitar tuner (I'd have to learn FFT algorithms to pull this off). Dunno what else I'd put in there but it would peak more interest. I could try and make it the "ultimate gigger's app". Any ideas for other extra tools? |
| #92 10:43am 28/01/09 |
Also:
"Old and busted" http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/4027/img0004ti3.png http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3682/img00031fb0.png "New hotness" http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/72/copyofimg0004nd1.png http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/1564/img00051is0.png http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/4183/img00061gm5.png http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/9586/img00071nt6.png http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/7421/img00081zi4.png http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/8963/img00091nq3.png last edited by 3dee at 10:54:57 28/Jan/09 last edited by 3dee at 11:11:14 28/Jan/09 |
| #93 11:11am 28/01/09 |
You could look at is using PPC (AdWords is the best/easiest) and build up some specific keyword targetting and pay say 25-50c a click. If you're selling for $5 an app then you should go for a 25% CTR so in theory it would cost between $1-2 to generate the sale but you'd make $3 as profit.
Another method could be Facebook advertising if you have friends or groups that are like minded - easier to target. |
| #94 11:24am 28/01/09 |
I've tried both Facebook and Google AdWords for little campaigns for things on AG and found I got much better returns from the Google stuff, even with the targeting in Facebook, which I thought was weird. Maybe I newbed it up though, I haven't spent a lot of time on it. But yeh I would definitely go adwords and see how you go; as it is relatively specific I suspect your costs per click will be lower than 25-50c (?) so you might be able to get away with even cheaper advertising |
| #95 11:32am 28/01/09 |
Well yeah they're a few ways of doing it, but tbph, I don't exactly have any money to fork out on advertisement given that I have no idea if it'll actually help at all which is a bummer, not to mention I'm forking out money for recording our EP in 2 weeks and saving up money as I don't get paid for time off. That's the problem with some of us developers, we have no money!
| #96 11:38am 28/01/09 |
Well I've signed up for AdWords with a small $50/month budget so I'll see how it goes anyhoo. Better than nothing.
last edited by 3dee at 12:01:55 28/Jan/09 last edited by 3dee at 12:02:34 28/Jan/09 |
| #97 12:02pm 28/01/09 |
trillion
build it for Android yo
| #98 01:45pm 28/01/09 |
Haha I thought of this app idea this arvo, came home spent about three hours coding, tweaking, and making some artwork, and just submitted to the app store. $2US with 11 string localisations, and destined for the whole world.
http://apps.ludavico.com/?page=colortool What else can I make? |
| #99 10:28pm 29/01/09 |
Can you consume / connect to WSDL web services with the internet connectivity s*** easily with an iPhone?
| #100 10:38pm 29/01/09 |
Don't know anything about WSDL but the APIs consume any normal HTTP server data (along with a bunch of other networking data methods). So if its a PHP page which spits out one of these XML WSDL files then sure. And you can obviously send/receive HTTP messages directly.
| #101 10:45pm 29/01/09 |
is the google adwords meant to be working, i searched specificaly for the musicans calander and no ad.
| #102 10:45pm 29/01/09 |
My budget isn't exactly high but yeah. I've had a few clicks but I'm just getting some trends with my keywords then I might tweak the ad. Sales of GigCal are almost nothing last 2 days :'(
| #103 10:49pm 29/01/09 |
I might take it up to $100 a month for the moment and see what happens with the auto budget crap. Its not like I cant afford $25 bucks a week.
Saving is a bitch |
| #104 10:51pm 29/01/09 |
Bats***
Look 3D, we love you and all but we stopped giving a s*** a while ago. Unless you get rich and start hosting QGL lans again, stop updating with useless content.
Hope you get rich and start hosting lans, Tigers*** |
| #105 11:21pm 29/01/09 |
this just in, newb declares thread over
| #106 11:40pm 29/01/09 |
f*** off bats*** I'm interested in the process, and to see if he does ok. I'm sure others are too.
| #107 11:44pm 29/01/09 |
Isn't that what blogs are for?? surely you could double your adstream with a dev diary or something?? get exo to pimp it on Mactalk au (where they're much more mac friendly)
Great ideas.. Wrong audience, wrong allocation of time/resources to cater for said wrong audience = poor product.. Thats why alot of stuff never sees the light of day, good ideas that are pitched poorly. Get to spamming music forums (does ilounge still exist?? Inthemix etc etc..) |
| #108 12:02am 30/01/09 |
what FraktuRe said.
| #109 12:06am 30/01/09 |
QGL ... LANs... BAHAHAHAHA.
Yeah I'm a semi newb at marketing, but moreso just poor. Been meaning to go on some music forums actually. Frakture are you looking at doing some iPhone devving? Also i'm not posting here to pitch my apps. If youre interested the apple dev process like frak then cool otherwise let the thread visit page 2 in peace. Simple. Or ask trog to crush kill and destroy it. Just get outta my thread if you're just trolling it. |
| #110 12:13am 30/01/09 |
I'd love to if I had the ideas for it, or any experience.. I'm a long way of doing anything useful yet.
| #111 12:39am 30/01/09 |
| #111 |