Topic: So.... how about this heat?
f***ing hot today, woke up about 10 and jumped straight in the pool, BOM shows it was 27.5c at 9am :(

Had the ceiling fan full blast and then brought in a small portable and it was still stinking hot last night

I got Left 4 Dead but I don't know if my machine will hold up in this heat for too long so I haven't played it yet :/
I f***ing hate summer but I hate people that walk around all day grinning about it even more. I'd damn near give my left leg to be in the US right now.
Articuz
even worse. the f***ers that have air-con and brag about it.
^ What Taipan said i come from Scotland and the heat Cains me every year even though ive been in oz for 35 years.
eu4ia
even worse. the f***ers that have air-con and brag about it.
What heat? 24 degrees in my place right now. Forget global warming, I burn my carbons with pride.
Its hot? It does kinda look hot outside, have to turn another aircon on.
Reduaram
The heat is not a problem.

The cold is not a problem.

The sudden switch between the two on the same day is a problem. Damn those french for nuking near us and screwing up the weather.
Articuz
it's humid!
hey, hot enough for ya? ;)
The humidity and lack of movement is the problem
Just to expand on my first post. The people I absolutely can not stand the most are news anchors and the weatherman/girl. The way they grin and giggle over the awesome summer day they are forecasting the following day and how wonderous it is that summer is here. Yet these same a******s would barely set foot outside an airconditioned room/house/car all f***ing day.

I mean seriously these people carry on about the arrival of summer like they have been hold up in a log cabin in the Arctic for the past 10 months. The only people on earth that should have any right to grin about summer are people that live in sub zero conditions for 90% of the year.

Yes a pointless rant .... f*** you I'm hot and pissed off :P
eu4ia
Taipan, I'm with you on this. I love spring / autumn.
DM
I'm a cold person. I love being cold and i'm real resistant to it. I f***ing hate summers. It's the only time of year when waking up, i'm already sweating and feel so drained of energy. Even more than usual. Can't we do a futurama style solution to this heat and just put a giant ice cube in front of a massive fan?
Farseeker
I'd damn near give my left leg to be in the US right now.
Yep, I got home yesterday from a 3-week holiday in the US -- TAKE ME BACK! in general I think I am better at dealing with extremes of heat than cold. The one day that was windy and -9c, walking down the streets of manhattan, I certainly was thinking of the queensland heat I was missing out on.. for a moment. Okay, not really :)
Another reason i love living on the top of the hill, and not in the west of brisbane. Bloody beautiful sea breeze!
hay guys, i have aircon

planning pretty much to go to the supermarket and that's it. lazy new years day aw jeah
crazymorton
ducted air-con on 23 all day and night
pool for those invigorating morning swims and late arvo beers
what heat?

i'm with the carbon burners!!
sparrow

Omg, what I wouldn't give right now to be in 30+ heat, rather than -30! I really hate winter, the only thing that makes it bearable is skiing (why I'm over here). I'll swap places with any of your whinging f***ers any day! Nothing better than summer, beaches, heat, tans, sweat, and aircon ;)
Yeh f*** this and f*** Al Gore, I'm putting the air-con on, full-bore!
Yeah nothing better than sitting in a pool of sweat while you are watching Tv it's awesome. You know you can actually go outside and enjoy the beach and swimming at other points in the year right? It doesn't have to be hot enough to fry an egg on the pavement before swimming actually becomes something worth doing.

See what gets me about these sicko summer lovers is that it actually takes a s***load more effort to be comfortable during summer than it does during winter. Winter is simple, more blankets more cloths and more cuddling up with your other half. I can warm myself up with a little heater a foot long... find me and aircon that size that makes me as comfortable during summer and I might rethink my opinion.

I am on the verge of pulling a Homer Simpson and pitching a tent in front of an open fridge :)
sounds to me like you are a soft f*****
Are you kidding me? It's bloody 18 degrees outside! I'll take some of that heat from you...
simple solution you moaning bitches... get air con.

mmm, 22 degrees ftw.
Was there really any need for a comment like that in here spook? Uptil that point this was a lighthearted bitch about crap weather. I can only assume you are taking a shot at me since I am the one thats had the most to say in this thread.

I can see how you might assume that based on my comments. After all based on your comment I can assume that you are an antagonistic asshat that takes cheap shots to make yourself feel better about ... well ... being you.
I am on the verge of pulling a Homer Simpson and pitching a tent in front of an open fridge :)

The dog is either in the bathroom lying on the tiles, or at the foot of the refrigerator waiting for someone to open it
Stinking hot. I've got a fan 50cm away from my face though so it's awwwwright ;D

I can assume that you are an antagonistic asshat that takes cheap shots to make yourself feel better about ... well ... being you.

It's called a troll.

last edited by Phooks at 16:08:05 01/Jan/09
its only about 32 but the humidity is way up.
I got an air con in the bedroom but i only put on from around 9pm at night.

anyone seen those pvc rainwater tanks converted into pools ?
they got one at a tank shop at chermside.
one of those under the house would be awesome.
Going to the beach today andyesterday was stupidity. Temp said 40degrees today, f*** that. I'm keen for the cold in the US in a week! It's the win. Hot sux.
Going to the beach in the Summer is stupidity?

Get air con, jump in a pool or go to the beach! It's Summer, deal with it.

When Winter comes around everyone complains it's too f***ing cold. Put a jumper on!

/end-rant-about-season-ranters
dont like hot?

f*** off out of qld to a s***hole southern state.

thread closed.
19 degrees here at the moment, best summer ever. Getting to sleep in with the blankets pulled up in the middle of summer is fan-f***ing-tastic.
Except for the days where its over 40 and everything is covered in a layer of dust right khel ?
Just turned the heating up.. getting a bit chilly out there tonight.
The dog is either in the bathroom lying on the tiles, or at the foot of the refrigerator waiting for someone to open it

haha my staffie charges to the fridge everytime i open it, and wont move when i try to close the door (until i start shoving him in further, then he bails)
Anono
i take it your mostly fat people. cause i had the ceiling fans on medium and all was good. ahaha pool of sweat, try pool of tears, you cry babies.
went for a swim before

felt like i was swimming in soup
some a******s nextdoor to my parents built some stupid looking 2 storey box shaped house with a very high wall. Its got some kind of siding on it that reflects the heat a way from the house. and into my parents house.
The afternoon sun hits it and bam the heat from the afternoon sun comes into the oldeys house on that side and then they get the sfternoon sun on the other side too.

...was thinking if its possible to do something Legal wise.
It wasn't that hot where I am, probably peaked at 30 but it was damn humid. The problem with humidity is that it carries the heat so there is no chance of relief from indoors, shade or wind.

The only answer is sweet sweet aircon.
Currently 2 degrees and cloudy here. Predicting a high of 5, but I think that is wishful thinking. Couldn't even go out on NYE because of the flu. Would currently trade for Brisbane weather.
...was thinking if its possible to do something Legal wise.

put mirrors on your parents house that take the light, focus it and reflect it right back at the other house.

LOL, I wonder if you burnt their house down doing this, if the neighbors would be liable as they are reflecting first.
Except for the days where its over 40 and everything is covered in a layer of dust right khel ?

Its been extremely mild this summer, haven't had any 40 days at all yet, and only a handful of days that have even topped 30.
It was a steamy 34 degrees yesterday during the middle of the day on NYE. Last night got down to about 16 degrees.

Tomorrow is going to be a nasty 22c.

That's right, Brisbane never gets effected by freak weather conditions.

You really are getting retarded in your old age.
cos making a comment about a particular place, means you're also saying that the place you live in is never subject to the same issue
My Boner hurts
typo ... khel's a big boy he can defend his own generalisations with out you. Aren't you married ? shouldn't you be over the gay crush for khel ?

Khel has already admited it can indeed get stinky hot in Melbourne via the use of the words "this summer" and "yet".

And there is no weather in Brisbane that gets close to Melbourne freaky (storms in storm season are not freaky). Walking off a plane on Christmas day into 9degrees and then less then a week latter to be closer to 40 then 30. Hard place to holiday, you have to take clothes for 4 seasons.
AGR
Can't sleep x_x
I'm not over my gay crush for you obes
let typo have his
Im a tradie, I work in the s***
We were driving back from the Coast yesterday and when we drove onto the highway, got a huge blast of hot air in our faces and then all the way back at 100km/h. Hot wind in your face at 100km/h = the looose.
Um, close windows, then switch on aircon?
Um, 87 turbo VL commodore with non-existant air con...
eu4ia
some careful analysis has identified your problem:
with non-existant air con
Articuz
looks to be a pretty cool overcast day today.. hopefully more showers will come.
get stinky hot

did somebody call me to this thread?
looks to be a pretty cool overcast day today.. hopefully more showers will come.

Yeah the BOM images had the whole of QLD and parts of NT and NSW completely covered in clouds last night.
Ah what a beautiful day today appears to be.... this is the kind of summer day I could grow to love :)
Lynx
Your in the same boat as me 3dee
I've got a 90 falcon and the aircon is stuffed. It will cost me $1200 to get it fixed.
Yeah was pretty hot but seriously I'd put up with a couple of hot days like these a year for the rest of the beautiful weather in Brissie :)
australian cars - built for australia
ac in the parents house, nice.
Yeah I didn't really care about the heat since I was down the coast having fun in the surf. And it wasn't hot in the car since we were going highway speed. Its when you have work clothes on (i.e. full pants and tucked in shirt) that the heat sucks, at least until you can run into the air con. Sweat like a motherf***er in those clothes.
it's actually pretty good today, overcast and a nice breeze
Heh Im a Tradie too, and a Kiwi so sometimes im working in the sun which is most unpleasant.
But you take the good with the bad so it's all good.
australian cars - built for australia

And nazi soccer wagons are designed for taking over the free world!
k

Well you haven't seen heat untill you have lived i Darwin. I now live in canberra and the wind is rediculious. Have trouble openeing my car door that is how bad it is. Today is a brisk 15 degrees. Brisbane is not a hot place.
Note to all: "your" and "you're" are not the same damn thing
your not wrong
harden up or get aircon you f***ing pussies

summer rocks. stop your bitching taipan
Lol f*** you Free.

How are ya anyway mate ... been a long time. Hope you had a great X-mas and new year.
There's ya problem, I don't wear pants to work.
Don't you work with old folks or something infi? Well you do at least you'll fit in.
its not as hot as kat.zip.
Oh you
if it gets much hotter I'll be running around naked, so am happy to make a stinky.zip if people want it.
... it depends on what tie you are wearing.