Topic: creeks
helicoptaaa
does anyone know of quiet creeks/rivers or anything around bris that the mrs and i can goto? the beach is just sometimes too far but we still want to put our feet in the water etc etc and i want to be the romantic. help plz!
what side? south side down cedar creek theres a few spots.
Fun in the mud!
helicoptaaa
preferably north but south is okay. where abouts on southside? suburbs?
one thing i missed heaps in brissy was decent creeks for swimming in :(

best i could find was karumbin rock pools down the coast, but its such an effort to get to;

spoilt for decent swimming holes in cairns, crystal cascades, freshwater creek, greenpatch at gordonvale, behanna
The place out near Dayboro.. damn I've forgotten it's name now. There's another one up near Maleny which makes good for a day trip up to the mountains. Actually I've forgotten the name of all the places I used to go to but remember locations.
PRO--GEM
The one out near Dayboro, is Cedar Creak I believe.
Mt Crosby Wier isn't a bad park. It's the Brisbane river but it's above any tidal influence so it's actually pretty clean.

How long were you looking to drive? There is a few that are within 1.5~2 hours drive.
greenpatch at gordonvale

f*** yeah, I used to go to Greenpatch every day after school when I was a kid. Only lived about 1.5Km down the road from it. Good times.

I'm flying back home to Cairns tonight, I might just have to pay Greenpatch a visit.
Obi Obi Creek at Maleny
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3293/3145228587_e03191a9e4.jpg
deep water bend? its not exactly quiet and secluded but im sure you could find a quiet patch of river bank

View Larger Map
mt mee state forest. the main swimming hole called rocky hole is often a bit crowded on holidays but you can wander up or down the creek from there to find a more secluded spot.
buy a small tinny/runabout ?
why not just hit up Pandanus beach?
Go past Samford along Mount Samson Rd, turn left at Cedar Creek road, drive to the very end of the road, there will be some cars parked there. Find the track that goes into the creek, and go in there, follow the creek along till you get to the rock pools.
Wear some shoes you can walk over rock on. And drive carefully in that area I had a mate who drove off the bridge because the bridge happens to be on a sharp bend and has no railings.

last edited by thermite at 16:57:45 30/Dec/08
^^Google Maps perhaps?

View Larger Map

Obi Obi Creek at Maleny

O there is better then Obi Obi in Maleny.. Maleny was great for creeky swimming goodness.
what side? south side down cedar creek theres a few spots.

I haven't been to cedar creek in about 10 years, is it still full of algae & not suitable for swimming? I remember going swimming in it all the time until we went there one day to find it overtaken with evil algae
Ospi
with all this rain it has been washes clean and is awesome for a quiet swim etc. Being in Samford I head there quite often and it's certainly looking better now than it has in awhile.
Go past Samford along Mount Samson Rd, turn left at Cedar Creek road, drive to the very end of the road, there will be some cars parked there. Find the track that goes into the creek, and go in there, follow the creek along till you get to the rock pools.
Wear some shoes you can walk over rock on. And drive carefully in that area I had a mate who drove off the bridge because the bridge happens to be on a sharp bend and has no railings.

thats pretty much it.
easy to find. just do the local residents a favour and walk up the creek about 500 - 700 metres. dont go walking through their property. they own the road and the tracks but noone owns the banks of a creek. its a good walk walking up to the waterholes at cedar creek (north) there is one down tamborine way too have to be specific which one. ive never been there i imagine its equally as nice)

other options are kondalilla falls. also pretty busy during holidays or weekends. you can actually sit behind the waterfall. there are a few good rock jumps like cedar (north) too. obi falls are nice too but every man and their dog goes there as well. depends how far you want to drive too. Booloumba Creek is a great spot but i imagine there a s*** loads of campers out there. so make sure you take a sniper rifle.

stoney creek around kenilworth is nice in spots too. you have to walk a bit to find a good spot but you are usually ok for numbers cause a lot of people like to park and swim rather that park and walk and swim.

or just go to kings beach for a swim. spent most of the day there. it was crowded as all f*** in the morning. went back after 130pm and it was a ghost town (as far as kings goes)

last edited by sleepy at 19:49:04 30/Dec/08

last edited by sleepy at 19:49:42 30/Dec/08
brekky creek
Everyone knows the best swimming creeks are the ones no-one tells anyone how to get there.
helicoptaaa
yeah, if you're selfish.

thanks all for your input. will spreadsheet it with maps/directions etc if people want?
i used to play in kedron brook as a kid... we would jump on the oil drums and race each other down the creek..

i came back there as an adult and saw i was just playing in a polluted dump.. way to go qld
3x0dus
what.. the oil drums didnt give it away?

Southbank!