Next we'll be celebrating Thanksgiving Day, bloody seppos.
http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/8665/n55148446514425687713yh5.jpg http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/n55148446514425687713yh5.jpg/1/w243.png |
| #0 11:32am 31/10/08 |
Halloween is awesome. I'd much rather have a party for Halloween than celebrate s*** like Easter.
| #1 11:33am 31/10/08 |
Yeah, 4 years ago, maybe 2 kids (same family) 2 years ago, about 20 people.
Last year over 50 f***ing kids asking for candy. WTF is this s***. The ONLY good thing about Halloween is the sluty costumes that often come with it. |
| #2 11:35am 31/10/08 |
Furgle
Halloween is awesome, Thanksgiving is pretty good too. I like pie.
It helps if you're married to an American. Party at my place tonight. |
| #3 11:35am 31/10/08 |
i doubt i'll see trickers/treaters in my suburb... it's too ghetto.
| #4 11:40am 31/10/08 |
Next we'll be celebrating Thanksgiving Day, bloody seppos. any excuse for a party will be embraced by Australians. especially when it comes with girls dressing up in lara croft/nurse/cat women/french maid outfits. |
| #5 12:05pm 31/10/08 |
I don't know whether to get the bags of lollies or be "that guy" in the street that sticks up a sign saying "NO TRICK OR TREAT FOR YOU"
| #6 12:09pm 31/10/08 |
the 7 deadly sins outfits are the way too go.
| #7 12:12pm 31/10/08 |
I dare kids to trick me, I have a carton of eggs standing by....
| #8 12:13pm 31/10/08 |
f*** halloween and f*** kids (trick or treating, and not literally)
| #9 12:20pm 31/10/08 |
Why hate halloween just because you wrongly believe it's American!? Yay for candy and yay for costumes.
| #10 12:24pm 31/10/08 |
i'm DJing at a halloween party tonight. zombie sluts ftw!
| #11 12:24pm 31/10/08 |
Splash
stop calling it candy
they're lollies in Australia |
| #12 12:36pm 31/10/08 |
f***ing candy
f***ing seppos f*** off with this american bulls***. any halloween c***s come to my door, im gonna tell em to f*** off. |
| #13 12:39pm 31/10/08 |
It's not american :p American's made it fun though.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halloween#History_of_name |
| #14 12:43pm 31/10/08 |
the modern interpretation with halloween is synonymous with america.
| #15 12:48pm 31/10/08 |
well maybe it is time to take it back?! f*** them taking over things and then it getting jaded by association. |
| #16 12:51pm 31/10/08 |
Why hate on Halloween so much? Don't you think tt would have been so much fun as a kid??? I hope it gets widely accepted by the time I have kids!!
| #17 12:52pm 31/10/08 |
i wouldnt send my kid out to accept food from strangers, and im certainly not about to go out with them and ask strangers for food;
talk about asking for trouble; |
| #18 01:00pm 31/10/08 |
Agreed with Billy. I wish it had been around when I was a young'un.
| #19 01:04pm 31/10/08 |
It's times like this when I'm glad to have a dog that lives in the front yard. Haven't had any JWs or other doorknockers for months now. It's fantastic!
| #20 01:18pm 31/10/08 |
Ahhh, the Wonders of All Hallows Eve. the time of the year when the border between our world and the spirit world is at it's thinnest, it just makes me want to build a huge bonfire and wear silly masks to scare them off! whose with me!
| #21 01:22pm 31/10/08 |
I made sure I brought a bunch of lollies in case we get any knockers.
If none we will just sit at home eating lollies and playing with my knockers.... AM I RITE? |
| #22 01:23pm 31/10/08 |
Furgle
pics or lying.
oh.. wait... |
| #23 01:26pm 31/10/08 |
Haha
| #24 01:30pm 31/10/08 |
1xgaz + 1xwhite sheet mit holes = ghostgaz. Lasiest dressup idea ever, it's gonna be a hit!
| #25 01:57pm 31/10/08 |
why not celebrate 4th of July while we're at it.
| #26 02:08pm 31/10/08 |
I can't wait for some american to abduct and rape/murder/poison heaps of kids over in america on halloween so all the madness can end.
| #27 02:12pm 31/10/08 |
You should be proud QGL, this week laughs have been delivered in abundance.
| #28 02:12pm 31/10/08 |
I can't wait for some american to abduct and rape/murder/poison heaps of kids over in america on halloween so all the madness can end. A kid was abducted in 1992(or 8) in Oil City in America. Instead of cancelling Halloween entirely, the council made the trick or treat time 4pm. This year, it's going back to night time because a 10 year old girl and her mother convinced the council to do so. |
| #29 02:14pm 31/10/08 |
Bitching about Halloween is silly. Australia has always been strongly influenced by other cultures, and probably will do for a long while to come.
I don't see anyone complaining about celebrating St Pat's? |
| #30 02:17pm 31/10/08 |
halloween is this kind of fail (also, we dont complain about st pats, coz its about cool things like drinking too much)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~davidbroughton/escalaterfail.gif |
| #31 02:18pm 31/10/08 |
i cant stop watching that gif
| #32 02:19pm 31/10/08 |
dRanged
they are friggen nuts about it
Anyone turning up to work tomorrow without a costume is gunna get shanked, also huuuuge party coming in a few days.. im leaving before the riots start ;P |
| #33 02:23pm 31/10/08 |
halloween is this kind of fail (also, we dont complain about st pats, coz its about cool things like drinking too much) Its lame because its not for you Spooky, its a kid's and weirdo's holiday :p |
| #34 02:26pm 31/10/08 |
not my kid:
and yer taggs, i must have watched it 30 times this morning, i was just hanging for a chance to post it; |
| #35 02:27pm 31/10/08 |
I don't see anyone complaining about celebrating St Pat's? Because our original colonial heritage was largely from Irish and Catholic backgrounds. Not many yankee settlers here. |
| #36 02:27pm 31/10/08 |
Haha you say that now!
But when Sppok Jr is looking at you with big liquid eyes in a few years time wondering why daddy is being so mean and all his friends are having so much fun? |
| #37 02:28pm 31/10/08 |
Nawww.. Spook Jnr is so cute
| #38 02:29pm 31/10/08 |
exactly what i was going to say infi
plus st pats is my birthday, so it all works well. |
| #39 02:35pm 31/10/08 |
Get this... the kids mum comes over my door the other day and gave me lollies to hand out last night. They obviously didn't want they kids getting canned corn and a bag of pasta.
| #40 02:47pm 31/10/08 |
Because our original colonial heritage was largely from Irish and Catholic backgrounds. The point isn't the cause of the cultural influences, just the fact that we import lots of culture. Most of our calendar events don't 'belong' to us due to the limited nature of our history. We bag on Halloween despite it being a bit of fun for the kids then step inside and cook up Spaghetti Bolognese and garlic bread! Comparisons to 4th of July and Thanksgiving don't work because they are American national holidays with specific North American context. We'd never celebrate American Independence just like they wouldn't celebrate ANZAC day. Halloween is much more general and is rooted in Western European tradition anyway - its just the trick or treating that's a new spin nicked from the yanks. |
| #41 02:53pm 31/10/08 |
i disagree. you can't compare food with recognising a holiday.
i like a bit of chinese food, that doesn't mean i celebrate chinese new year |
| #42 02:55pm 31/10/08 |
I might buy some snack sized mars bars and milky ways. Then hope no kids come over so I can eat them through the week.
| #43 03:01pm 31/10/08 |
ok let's start having homecoming too!
it's all american crap. i'm happy to watch it on tv, but don't infect our kids' brains with it, by making it a school activity. |
| #44 03:04pm 31/10/08 |
haha infi, infecting our kid's brains with Halloween?
I never thought I'd see you make a retarded "won't somone think of the children" comment. |
| #45 03:06pm 31/10/08 |
srsly what cultural value has it contributed to our country?
the importance of scary costumes??? |
| #46 03:15pm 31/10/08 |
I never thought I'd see you make a retarded "won't somone think of the children" comment. oh come on. thats totally not fair, the guy is always thinking of children. the importance of scary costumes??? as has been said before its slutty costumes. little red riding hood, nurses, cheerleaders and fmbs everywhere. |
| #47 03:18pm 31/10/08 |
St Pat's day is a Guiness marketing excercise.
I was under the impression halloween and even jack o lanterns have roots back to Ireland as well. |
| #48 03:22pm 31/10/08 |
well that too...
| #49 03:22pm 31/10/08 |
I made sure I brought a bunch of lollies in case we get any knockers. Haha - classic Kat .. made me lollers |
| #50 03:24pm 31/10/08 |
I was under the impression halloween and even jack o lanterns have roots back to Ireland as well. Yes, it was a pagan festival celeberated in Ireland amongst other places. Today's Halloween bears no resemblance to the historical origins of All Saint's Day which originally celebrated a sort of twilight zone where evil spirits could for one day invade the community. Now days its just a bunch of kids dressing up, claiming candy and pranking cranky old neighbours who refuse to participate. What a pathetic sad excuse for a celebration, they might as well go drink the park. |
| #51 03:32pm 31/10/08 |
| #52 03:33pm 31/10/08 |
srsly what cultural value has it contributed to our country? Who are you to say what is culturally valuable, and what is not? Do you realise thatin dressing up as their favourite ghost or goblin kids are without realising re-telling ancient stories about the Celtic fae or Sidh, or classic literature like Frankenstein or Dracula? How can this not be culturally significant? And yet Mother's Day, Father's Day, Valentine's - almost totally materialistic retail invented traditions - are less obviously "American" so celebrating them doesn't raise the ire of the ignorant. |
| #53 03:35pm 31/10/08 |
any excuse for a party is sweet by me
also, slutty costumes |
| #54 03:36pm 31/10/08 |
Do you realise thatin dressing up as their favourite ghost or goblin kids are without realising re-telling ancient stories about the Celtic fae or Sidh, yeah they are doing it but have no idea why. What a lol. |
| #55 03:39pm 31/10/08 |
Kimbo
It wouldn't surprise me if the whole Mexican / South American "Day of the Dead" also had some influence on developing the American Halloween culture into what it is today. Even though its November 1st and 2nd, Day of the Dead is still close enough to October 31st (Halloween) to be very sufficiently suspicous as a commercialised American culture. A lot of the traditions also sound particularly familiar. Just with less of the monastical carving of skulls, visiting and reading grave stones and turned into a commercial candy consuming enterprise.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Day_of_the_Dead#United_States Just a shame we don't celebrate the death of people at funerals, and what they did in life. Maybe that is what a funeral is and this is the day when we celebrate all the deaths. |
| #56 03:52pm 31/10/08 |
yeah they are doing it but have no idea why. What a lol. And if they 'poisoned' the minds of the kids by having Halloween activities at school they could teach them about the historical significance. lol? |
| #57 03:50pm 31/10/08 |
my point is the current manifestation of Halloween has no historical signficance. It bears no resemblance to its origin and celebrates nothing.
| #58 03:51pm 31/10/08 |
my point is the current manifestation of Halloween has no historical signficance. It bears no resemblance to its origin and celebrates nothing. Yeh cos Santa Claus is the true meaning of Christmas? Bunnies for Easter? Saint Valentine is realy the patron Saint of Hallmark?! |
| #59 03:59pm 31/10/08 |
seriously.
slutty costumes. |
| #60 04:02pm 31/10/08 |
well to back up what i said earlier on page two and to what the person said about all saints day, it was also the celebration when farmers and villagers began stocking up for the coming winter. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halloween#History
So tonight if you truly want to celebrate all hallows eve, celebrate it in the OLD way. but then you'd be a raving nut job running around in a scary mask setting fire to things for the purposes of warding off evil spirits. |
| #61 04:45pm 31/10/08 |
nah that's not cool man.
| #62 05:13pm 31/10/08 |
one of my fav halloween vids :)
| #63 05:24pm 31/10/08 |
JohnnieD
my point is the current manifestation of Halloween has no historical signficance. It bears no resemblance to its origin and celebrates nothing.So don't f***ing recognise it. Proceed with your life. |
| #64 06:50pm 31/10/08 |
Well I am now "that guy" in the street.. walking back from the train station and the place is CRAWLING with kids all dressed up trying to get free mini mars bars. I feel like a bit of a chump without any treats to give out now :(
| #65 07:21pm 31/10/08 |
when they knock on your door and yell trick or treat just yell trick motherf***ers and pour water and flour all over them.
I think it would be hilarious to eat all the candy in the Halloween bowl and then glue the candy wrappers back up so they look unopened but contain nothing but AIR! I've got bones watching over me this Halloween. http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm190/pointyfork/random/P1000147.jpg last edited by whoop at 19:32:33 31/Oct/08 |
| #66 07:32pm 31/10/08 |
Nice work Whoop
| #67 07:33pm 31/10/08 |
Well I am now "that guy" in the street.. walking back from the train station and the place is CRAWLING with kids all dressed up trying to get free mini mars bars. I feel like a bit of a chump without any treats to give out now :( Well I have a huge container of chocolate and lollies wifey got cos we were caught out last year, and not one of the little buggers showed up. I guess we'll just have to eat it ourselves :( |
| #68 08:09pm 31/10/08 |
I told a mate today that the only possible outcome for Halloweens is this;
a) I buy nothing and every little fecker shows up b) I buy treats and no little feckers show up |
| #69 08:11pm 31/10/08 |
Just started hearing a few "Trick or Treats" around our street. Panicked, coz in the 30 years of living in this street we've never had people come around. I managed to find a few coffee flavoured lollies though haha
| #70 08:12pm 31/10/08 |
sit on the balcany with a hose! hillarious.
unless they're rutheless little f***ers who'll come back and dececrate your house.. |
| #71 08:42pm 31/10/08 |
We had about 3 sets of kids come around. The first set scored the one single chocolate I had in the house.
The next set were dressed up heaps better and got nothing ahahahha! >:D I seriously thought about giving them a tub of yogurt each :/ The set after that were promptly ignored cause I felt too much like a Gimp not having and treats in the house. Next year if I have a bit of time and some money I'm gunna set up a sweet Halloween house... or at least think about it. |
| #72 09:04pm 31/10/08 |
yeah i just had a pair of twerps around
they were dressed like emos except one had a bit of face paint on gave em nothing. i hate this crap. there is no purpose, its just simple infiltration of another culture. it'll only be a few years until it is well and truly set, you just watch. |
| #73 09:14pm 31/10/08 |
yeah i just had a pair of twerps aroundOK, Mr Grumpy Old Man |
| #74 09:44pm 31/10/08 |
yeah, i feel like that a bit. oh well.
| #75 09:47pm 31/10/08 |
gave em nothing. bulls***. i'm willing to bet they walked away with their little heads full of lpg propaganda (and fumes). |
| #76 09:49pm 31/10/08 |
Jum
we've only ever had one set of trick or treaters in our 10 years or so in this house. which is odd, seeing as indro is a pretty decent suburb and with so many schools around here
if we did get any i would send them away with nothing anyway |
| #77 09:55pm 31/10/08 |
and wouldn't they be all the better for it
| #78 10:14pm 31/10/08 |
So funny to see the annual e-rage thread here, just like the 2 x Daylight Savings threads.
Face it, if you have ever actually experienced a proper Halloween setting in a Northern Hemisphere (that's right, not just America) location, you wouldn't hate on it for too long. Halloween s***s all over Easter/Christmas/Valentines. Lollies+hot girls in costumes. How could you hate that? |
| #79 12:33am 01/11/08 |
needs more pics of these slutty costumes
| #80 02:25am 01/11/08 |
Buboy
I don't like haloween very much, it reminds me of my dead relatives..... sad
| #81 07:43am 01/11/08 |
hay buboy!
| #82 08:23am 01/11/08 |
yeah even here in London, halloween is quite the thing, the halloween parties with slutty costume galore is fricken wicked!! |
| #83 10:50am 01/11/08 |
groganus
lots of sluts out last night.... was awesome.
| #84 11:01am 01/11/08 |
| #85 11:52am 01/11/08 |
yep we used to celebrate Halloween back in Scotland , its more of an excuse to get on the piss with the neighbors.
| #86 02:22pm 01/11/08 |
Nakor
still needs more pics of said costumes
| #87 02:37pm 01/11/08 |
Lynx
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/9412/wheelienf4.jpg
I think it is time to roll out the wheel chair again. Halloween has a rich enough history to justify having a little fun. And just because you have a hate on for Americans, doesn't mean everyone else has to stop celebrating. Just don't tie the orange ribbon around you door handle. |
| #88 02:39pm 01/11/08 |
its got nothing to do with hating americans
i just think its a retarted idea |
| #89 03:24pm 01/11/08 |
i just think its a retarted idea See while people normally deliberately spell retarded incorrectly ... I am just not sure with spook. |
| #90 04:01pm 01/11/08 |
Where is all the spoot of sexy goth bitches dressed up n s***.
| #91 04:36pm 01/11/08 |
sparrow
i had my first real Halloween party last night, and I am definitely a fan..
| #92 04:44pm 01/11/08 |
I, for one, welcome our new American overlords.
Aussies really are a bunch of sell-outs. "OMG St Pattie's day, I'm one eleventybillionth Irish, woo!". Halloween has been fed to us by corporations as much as it has by American media. Cadbury, Allens and Mars have all been pushing halloween themed lollies and such for years. The advent of girls in slutty halloween costumes is a plus though. I busted a rubbery walking through the city last night. SO much talent in kinky costumes. I'm a bad man. |
| #93 04:55pm 01/11/08 |
sparrow
Aussies really are a bunch of sell-outs. "OMG St Pattie's day, I'm one eleventybillionth Irish, woo!". Halloween has been fed to us by corporations as much as it has by American media. Cadbury, Allens and Mars have all been pushing halloween themed lollies and such for years. I personally fail to see the downside of this so-called 'sell-out', except for those who don't enjoying drinking, candy, and having fun.. |
| #94 06:13pm 01/11/08 |
From www.news.com.au you knew it was going to happen
* 12-year-old boy killed, father and brother wounded A 12-year-old boy has been shot dead while playing trick-or-treat on Halloween night. His family had decided to stop at some houses on the way home from a city event in Sumter, South Carolina. As the boy's father approached a house with his four children, their mother waited in the car. When they reached the door, they heard what they thought were fireworks. The boy, his father, and his brother were hit by gunfire from inside the house. The boy died at the hospital, while his father and brother were treated for non-life-threatening injuries. |
| #95 10:21pm 01/11/08 |
Ej
Sexy goth in slutty costumes trick or treating on my house? That is going to be a whole lot of fun!
| #96 06:25am 02/11/08 |
I had assumed Ej was a girl
| #97 10:34am 02/11/08 |
sparrow
Still could be..
| #98 01:32pm 02/11/08 |
mm tho they did offer to do those virgins for free..
| #99 01:39pm 02/11/08 |
| #99 |