Topic: Favourite drinks?
Coochie
So to those who have graduated past drinking XXXX and Jim Beam what are some of your favourite non-standard drinks? By non-standard I mean not the following...I realise lots of these are nice but I don't need people on the Internet to tell me they exist:
Beer
Wine
Basic Spirits

My three favourites are:
Southern and Coke w/ muddled lime
Southern and soda w/ lots of muddled lime - basically a health drink
White Russians

Anybody got any personal favourites that are a delight to drink after you've had too much beer for the night?

And to those who shouldn't be part of this thread based on the qualifier in the opening sentence but are going to flame anyway I'll save you the trouble:
VB rul3z!
Only f*****s drink Southern!!
I'm an Aussie bloke so I drink nothing but RUM!!!

Ok thanks for your input now go keep counting down the days till the Vic reopens.
Vodka+Chinotto...an acquired taste but beautiful if you're into it.
I don't think graduating to southers technically makes you any more/less refined than a rum drinker.

And to qualify, i don't drink XXXX/VB/Rum.

But i'll always enjoy a bottle of glenlivet 15yo (scotch).

If what you mean is, what is your favourite cocktail, then you should probably just ask that.
Amoretto sours mmmm
Gesthemene
Most people probably know that I'm a mad keen Scotch fan by now, so I'll keep those recommendations out of this thread.

However, I also used to run a cocktail bar. Some of my favourites are:

Martini

Noilly Prat Vermouth
Bombay Sapphire Gin
Twist of lime
No olive.

French Martini

Vodka
Chambord
Pineapple juice

Gin & Tonic

Bombay Sapphire Gin
Tonic Water
wedge of lime

Bacardi (or Vodka), Lime & Soda

Bacardi or Vodka
Lime
Soda water
Ice

Enjoy!

Summer:
Vodka lime sode
Bacardi & pineapple (or you can buy this coconut pine juice, yum)

Winter:
White Russians
Port
Bourbon & Coke

last edited by Kat at 13:29:48 19/Sep/08
beer in a tallie or pint
wine, in a box
pure grain alcohol & distilled water ... purity of essence, peace on earth.
Coochie
I don't think graduating to southers technically makes you any more/less refined than a rum drinker
I can assure you Southern and Coke w/ muddled lime is a different level of drink to rum and Coke. Note the muddled lime is an essential part of the equation....a straight Southern and Coke is on par with a rum and Coke.

I'm not saying there is anything wrong with drinking rum - I often drink it myself...but I'm not looking for suggestions of various basic spirits and standard mixers...I can figure those out on my own.

Vodka and Chinotto...that is the sort of suggestion I'm after...something I never would have thought of myself. Thanks. Will give that a go soon. I quite like Chinotto.

Vodka, lime (fresh always. never cordial) and soda. And it's cocktail variation - caprioska (or something like that)
Vodka, cranberry juice with a dash of soda

Tomahawk
1 shot tequila
1 shot cointreau
2 shots cranberry
2 shots pinapple

Coochie
Gesthemene - I've never tried a French martini - I've always thought they sound too sweet and not martini like enough?

I don't mind a dirty gin martini when in the mood. s*** I just got in the mood. This isn't a good topic of conversation for Friday afternoon when you are about to start working at a bar :)
Coochie
Vodka, lime (fresh always. never cordial) and soda
a classic that surely will never die. I sometimes throw in a very short squirt of cordial however just to give it a little sweetness....but tons of muddled lime is essential.
Bit over cocktails, used to really love them when i first tried the few interesting flavours that were out there, but in reality most cocktails, even popular girly ones like the cosmopolitan, just seem like someone has thought "I wonder how much dirt and nasty s*** we can put into a glass and people will still pay for it ?"

I'm starting to enjoy beer - which one? The cheaper the better it seems. Once it's cold you can't tell. I usually go the carlton cold.

Alternative to that is bourbon and coke cans. Again.. cheap usually, although the 'bulleit' burboun with like 8% is great for getting sloshed.

Totally don't go for wine, even the stuff I kind of tolerated back in the day, just tastes like battery acid to me.
you sound like a bit of a fag tbh

wild turkey + coke
let me tell you that the day that people drink rum and cokes from martini glasses is the day that favourite drinks take over.

edit: paveway has met coochie?
i thought you would be drinking saki in preparation for asian culture dominance
Pork

Non-consensual underage sex:

Raspberry Vodka
Red creaming soda
Passion pop.

Proportion as desired.
wild turkey + coke + ice

love it!!!
Coochie
i thought you would be drinking saki in preparation for asian culture dominance
I'm actually having a birthday party with domino tomorrow night....and we're serving spring rolls! talk about the asians taking over!

you sound like a bit of a fag tbh

wild turkey + coke
Does it make me any less "faggy" if I told you I bought the booze for above said party yesterday and it was XXXX, XXXX Gold, Kilkenny, UDLS and various spirits for shotting (only because the theme calls for cans of beer and shots and they were the only three beers I would fathom drinking that came in cans)?

P.S I work in a bar and I have to say a high proportion of turkey drinkers are f***wits. They rock up in their good going out Holden Racing Team shirts and ask for a turkey and if you happen to be out of turkey and tell them they can only have Jim Beam they scoff at you like they're some sort of snooty upper class yuppy being told he can't have his favourite brand of olive in his martini. BUT THEY'RE ACTUALLY BOURBON DRINKING WIFE BASHERS ON $30 A WEEK ABOVE MINIMUM WAGE WEARING RACING CAR SHIRTS. LAADIDAA!
WreckTim
anything and everything, i don't care really.

Canadian club and irn-bru thats what ive been drinking lately, tis ok. but normally beer and the darker the better.

also oktoberfest brisbane is on this weekend.

Gin & Tonic

Bombay Sapphire Gin
Tonic Water
wedge of lime

Yes. This man has taste :) I also liked Tanquiry Gin
We have tried to find nice drinks. But you are pretty limited I find.

Vodka, gin, white rum, dark rum, bourbon, wine, sparking wine, beer.
Coochie
Canadian club and irn-bru thats what ive been drinking lately, tis ok. but normally beer and the darker the better.
irn-bru might be a little hard to find in bars...in Australia anyway....but it does sound like a very interesting drink!
Oh and,

Campari on ice with fresh OJ, fresh lime.
elligah craig burbon.. yum yum.
coochie i think my staff will be bigger than yours tomorrow night,
it's ok, just come out of the closet no one will think any more less of you
i like milk
lol troll harder pavegay.
simE
coopers pale ale, steinlager, bourbon, cognac
Fixity
atmo' i've been leaning towards heather myst scotch and gingerale. but, i really wann try stones gingerbeer but can't find the ruddy thing. I've seen them in cans, but the one i remember from (cough) as a kid was a tall bottle and u added it to a softdrink.
chivas reagal + coke/dry + lime ^(ginger beer is awesome to have with scotch)

vodka + OJ/ PJ (just pouring an absolute 100 + OJ, yumm) http://www.shoppersvineyard.com/img/productImages/04277.gif

canadian club + dry/coke

jager bombs or jager + coke

bicardi 151 shot or + coke

yum yum yum
Coochie
atmo' i've been leaning towards heather myst scotch and gingerale. but, i really wann try stones gingerbeer but can't find the ruddy thing. I've seen them in cans, but the one i remember from (cough) as a kid was a tall bottle and u added it to a softdrink.
you can get Stones ginger-beer in bottles....although often hard to find...went to three bottle-o's recently and they said they were out of stock. It's hell nice though...I'm guessing if you're planning on drinking it with scotch than don't plan on operating any heavy machinery that day.
hef
Cointreau, lemonade and lime
Bacardi and coke is how I f***en roll, bitches.
3xVB tallies for $11 is the best. Cheaper than a six pack and you don't have to go to the fridge/esky so often
funky
stones ginger beer can be had from the bottleo up the road from the paddo, not caxton st but further up givens tce.

bacardi and coke, sometimes with lime

scotch and dry

also vodka,lime and soda

would be my go to mixes for spirits, but I generally drink beer. loving bluetongue and gage roads at the moment, fantastic pilsners.
Opec had a sex change
pipsqueek cider is quite good if you find it, its from the little creatures dudes.
trin, lets make out, yor the only non homo in this whole thread
said one homo to the other
tiger beer.
you can get Stones ginger-beer in bottles....although often hard to find...went to three bottle-o's recently and they said they were out of stock. It's hell nice though...I'm guessing if you're planning on drinking it with scotch than don't plan on operating any heavy machinery that day.

if you bought it as a kid & added soft drink that sounds more like stones green ginger wine than stones ginger beer... coz the ginger beer is nice by itself but the green ginger wine is a bit syrupy by itself. same with adding scotch... thats usually done with green ginger wine as well n is called a 'stones mac'.
stones ginger beer is non-alcoholic i thought?

also, lols at the masculine chest pounding over alcohol... children.
WreckTim
3x VB tallies and a bottle of stones green ginger wine. now thats a party.

yeah i just get the irn bru from coles.
I was really suprised one day when a Mate suggested Scotch and Lemonade.

Yes, lemonade.

Now this is a guy that will spend $200+ on a bottle of scotch to drink. I thought he was mad, crazy even, but he inststed I tried it and I must admit it was really nice. Cant use the really sweet Lemonade (like 7UP) but homebrand and/or Kirks and the like do a really good job.
No I wouldn't (And neither would he) ruin good Scoth by doing this, but for cheaper ones like JW or Teachers it goes down really smooth.

Also, Wild Turkey Rare Bread is what I normally drink.
Beer is becks, carlton or vb.

Never got into wine.

Spirits is JD for me.
Gesthemene
Gesthemene - I've never tried a French martini - I've always thought they sound too sweet and not martini like enough?

Coochie, they are quite sweet, but also fairly tart when made properly. Not to mention that they look pretty awesome (purple/cranberry colour, with a thick white head of foam) :)

TBH, they're about as far as you can get from the crisp, clean and dry taste of a decent martini, but they're still ridiculously drinkable. Basically, if you think you could handle drinking pineapple juice but want it alcoholic and with some raspberry thrown in (actual raspberries, not cordial or syrupy s***), then give it a shot.

Edit: Oh yeah, where do you work? Might drop in sometime and check it out :)

last edited by Gesthemene at 16:03:12 19/Sep/08
Jack Daniels & Coke... Drink lots of others but always come back to JD
Coochie
Edit: Oh yeah, where do you work? Might drop in sometime and check it out :)

I work at Albion Comedy Bar and Restaurant...new bar opened by the same guy that owns Dockside Comedy Bar...not exactly a place to go for the drinks alone. Our best scotch is also our only scotch...Johnny Red...actually no I lie we recently got Johnny Black. And we don't do cocktails. I do open a mean Corona though :)
Yeah Stones green ginger wine is the ticket. Add a double shot to a dark and stormy gives it a really nice lift. If you pour it in first though it just sits as a syrup in the bottom of the glass.

I've been into bitter drinks lately and just rediscovered tonic water, f*** it's good. I wanna try it with some tequila but when I went to Dan Murphys this arvo they had a s*** selection of silver labels so I'm going to have to stick with vodka. Should have got some gin I guess.
Gesthemene
Protip: Never, ever, ever shake gin, unless you're mixing a cocktail that has eggwhite in it.

You'll bruise the gin and totally change its flavour, smell and texture. The eggwhite basically prevents this from happening.
So if I took a bottle of gin and shook one glass and not the other you'd be able to tell which was shaken and which wasn't ?
ill answer this one for you obes

"of course he wouldnt and hes a complete idiot if he thinks he could"

last edited by Spook at 16:42:31 19/Sep/08
sounds like coochie has just discovered southern comfort. wwwwaaayyy too sweet, although when i was in edinburgh my mate and i would have a couple of backward russians to get the night kick started. Basically a white russian but instead of milk as the mixer use irish cream, it'll put a spring in ur step!
Coochie
I was really suprised one day when a Mate suggested Scotch and Lemonade.

Yes, lemonade.

Lemonade goes really well with Rum or Southern....could imagine it would go very well with scotch also...if I didn't hate scotch.
CeMaX
Cognac ha me hizzooked! Atm I am slowly indulging through a Bottle of Remy X.O. I got duty free - Nice drop.

Hennessy V.S.O.P.
Remy Martin V.S.O.P.
Courvoisier Cognac V.S.O.P.

Try em now bitches. Traditionally I am a scotch drinker.
Beer in a tally and wine in a box! fark yeah spooka, keepin it real brother! ahah
Coochie
sounds like coochie has just discovered southern comfort.
I've probably been drinking Southern for 4 or 5 years now I'd say....

Basically a white russian but instead of milk as the mixer use irish cream, it'll put a spring in ur step!
I dare say that would put a spring in ur step...although your steps would surely be numbered for the night...I get drunk as hell off regular White Russians...mind you I normally don't start drinking them till I've drunk all the beer I can handle and then get bored of Southerns.
yeah, if ur drinkin em outa pint glasses at home usually 2 would get the night rolling.. then you roll out the door to where ever ur goin.. Just to take the edge off ;)
Coochie
Courvoisier Cognac V.S.O.P.
hell yeah I've always wanted to try Courvoisier ever since the first time I saw The Ladies Man.
Coochie
yeah, if ur drinkin em outa pint glasses at home usually 2 would get the night rolling.. then you roll out the door to where ever ur goin.. Just to take the edge off ;)
surely 2 pint glasses of Irish Cream could not set the night up for great things?
CeMaX
Coochie - You will not be dissapointed. Corvo is probably the sweetest of the 3. Hennessy is the roughest of the three, although still fairly sweet. I prefer mine straight or with Lemonade (a bitter type, not the sugured up s***) over coke. Each to their own though.

I read QGL and rarely post unless it;s something I am passionate about. Cognac wins.

Musashi P30 Strawberry.
Gesthemene
Agreed, cognac and armagnac are awesome :)

One thing I came across when I was in Bali was Strawberry Cream Tequila.

a) who the f*** decides that would be a good flavour combination?
b) who the f*** is dumb enough to drink that?
c) Would you ever let anyone who answers, "me" to questions a or b breed?
Some Fat Bastard
Any beer except that girlie stuff VB. Lager, Draught, Bitter, Pilsener, Dark Ale. I homebrew.

Bourbon in the order of okay to best - Bullit, Wild Turkey, Makers Mark, Labrott and Graham, Wild Turkey Rare Bread, Elijah Craig, 1792, all with coke.

Every white wine variety, every red wine variety, champagne. Too many brands to name.

Cognac and Port. Just about any brand.
rumbo cans. nothing beats bundy. f*** those c***s that start fighting on it but.

if not rumbos ill have beer.
i love you spook, xXoO mwah, i'd take you in the back seat of your skyline anyday
Crakaveli
whatever gets me pissed.
rumbo cans. nothing beats bundy. f*** those c***s that start fighting on it but.

I am a fairly placid drunk, and never get violent!
However I was aggressive AFTER bundy, for a day or two after a big night/morning (~1 bottle)
did you show those accounts who is boss?
Protip: Never, ever, ever shake gin, unless you're mixing a cocktail that has eggwhite in it.

You'll bruise the gin and totally change its flavour, smell and texture. The eggwhite basically prevents this from happening.
bulls***. you can't "bruise" a spirit. the main difference between shaken and stirred is the amount of dilution that happens. shaken cocktails dilute quicker than stirred. also, shaken cocktails tend to have little shards of ice in them, which is fine unless it's for a non-textured drink like the martini or a manhattan.
and eggwhite is purely a textural thing. chock full of protein, when shaken long and hard, produces a lovely foam, which also contributes to flavour and smell as it gets near your nose when you drink.
protip: if people order their martinis shaken, double strain for clarity.

to answer the original question:
martini with millers gin and a grapefruit twist.

negroni. fo sho mo fo. the bartenders drink and an absolute classic. 20ml gin, 20ml campari and 20ml sweet vermouth. carpano antico if you can, but cinzano rosso in a pinch.

kentucky blazer for the winter time. 60ml bourbon (woodford, makers, blantons) heated and lit in a brandy baloon and poured into another glass (while on fire) containing a cinnamon quill, 10ml sugar syrup and a slice of smashed peach.

B&B: Brandy (preferably cognac, but not one that's too good - hennesy vs, vsop, remy vsop, courvousier vsop do nicely) and DOM benedictine stirred in a rocks glass full of ice. i hate DOM on its own but b&b is the s***.

and for the lovers of SoCo, blend two shots of soco with a scoop of blood orange sorbet and a pinch of cinnamon. OMFG. and the ladies will throw themselves at you for it.

last edited by z0r at 19:00:18 19/Sep/08
i like to take an over-priced but average mexican beer, throw in a slice of lime, then pop my polo collar.

sup paveway.
Wild Turkey + Coke

Makers Mark also wins.

Jack Daniels is also win.

i drink grolsch, amstel and any good tripel like la chouffe
30 ml Vanilla Galiano
30 ml Frangelico
3 lime wedges
fill glass with lemonade or soda

15 ml Gin
15 ml Chambord
30 ml Vanilla galiano
Cranberry guice
Lime
ice

Shake and strain

Fark yeah!
vodka + diet coke
vodka + pepsi max
vodka + diet coke caffeine free
vodka + LA Ice MAX
vokda + pepsi lite
vodka + coke

more or less in that order
more or less nf, apart from the collar popping
I go through phases of what I like to drink when I'm out at a bar, but for a number of years I've been stuck on vodka, lime and dry... Mmm.

Opec had a sex change

Well you know it was part of the Tour...
i drank a 500ml bottle of vodka last night, tasty s***, was as frosted as on this wikipedia page

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C5%BBo%C5%82%C4%85dkowa_gorzka
i also forgot bacardi and red bull is another winner. just remembered cos i am drinking it now! xD
scotch
snakebite

done.
oooh, also: the old mother and zen green tea liqueur.
Zaphod
few faves:

Vodka, Cranberry w/ lime
Bloody Mary
Hazelnut (Frangelico) Caprioska
WreckTim
ahh yes the good old snakebite they are delicious.
Coochie:- they key to success is ice man.. always fill the f***er full of ice before you pour em, young'n now days just dont understand..
Lunch
Went out the other night with a group of friends and one of the girls was drinking house red mixed with coke.

Looked absolutely foul but apparently it's popular in Spain. Tasted a little bit like chocolate.

I'll stick to wines/port/scotch cut with a decent amount of water :)
ps http://blog.bountybayonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/captain-morgan.jpg + Vanilla Coke = THE WIN.
Even people who don't like rum like that!
It's sooo smooth and vanilla..mmm
has anybody tried inner circle rum? real good stuff. :D I just got a bottle of Canadian Club 12 years, very nice, and smooth.
got for my birthday 3 bottles wild turkey rare breed.... f*** yeah!!!