Topic: The decline of western cultural dominance
With the impending western economic collapse and the rise of asian dominance so too comes the decline of western culture.

No longer will asian countries mimic the west.

Tonight I saw that hole in the wall show on channel 9, which is a blatant rip off of the japanese tv show.

The beginning of the end.
are you high?
how do some people manage to get stuff so wrong
yeah, because western TV gameshows are usually SO entertaining

ID LIKE TO BUY.....A VOWEL!
maybe you should have bought a network cable instead?
sif greazy
wish japan had won, seriously anime all day long.
Anono
jim, how do ppl so nieve like u get by in todays world?
go anywhere in a major australian city and tell me you dont play "spot the aussie"...
at least americanisation wasnt going to be too bad, i mean they are far too far up their own asses to bother coming and literally taking over aus. asian on the other hand are a virus, just like the maxtrix said. they breed, consume, spread and consume.

last edited by Anono at 21:01:47 17/Sep/08
how do some people manage to get stuff so wrong
this is about as lol as peak oil theory
sif greazy
why is the peak oil theory "lol"? It's not like its been disproven.
3x0dus
Borat : The seeking of decline of western cultural dominance for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan
aP
misspelling naive pretty much sums it up.
man if u think maccas and intel and tiger woods and nickelodeon are going out of fashion you are high.
Fish and chip shop hamburger > everything in the universe.

Tonight I saw that hole in the wall show on channel 9, which is a blatant rip off of the Japanese tv show.
I wouldn't say that Western culture is dominant. There's about 4 billion people in Asia and about 1 billion in Africa. I wouldn't say most of the people in those regions would be Westernised in their day to day life.

watch as starbucks slowly gets replaced with bubble tea vendors.

watch as starbucks gets replaced by a financially viable franchise
The more foreigners the better! Gives me a job

I'm not even going to bite, that ones just too easy.

there.. now this thread is making some sense
yeah, because western australian TV gameshows are usually SO entertaining
you obviously never watched "press your luck", hosted by ian "turps" turpee.
3x0dus
hahah turpie was such a champion.

Whammy ftw, the noise was lols.
DM
so... western dominance is in decline because we are taking tv shows from japan? If anything we need more of these. Wipeout and Hole in the Wall should only be the start. We need that silent library type show they have for sure. f*** that is hilarious.

*give it a bit. it gets funnier as it goes along

If given the choice to watch that or televised karaoke (idol), it's not exactly the money of the box is it?

last edited by DM at 03:23:47 18/Sep/08
brisbane neeeds more asian sluts anyway
how coincidental ... i was out drinking last nightand there was this chinese guy who said he really is in europe to learn and understand more about westerners. i then asked him about tibet and he gave the usual tibet attacked china story and firmly believed it.
It'll be a pretty sad (and f***ed-up) day when this happens, as despite our flaws most of the non-western world is like a gutter compared to what we have served up :/

But hey, we all know the Chinese and North Korean governments (and electoral systems (*cough*)) can do no wrong, so I guess it's not such a bad thing on that front either. Plenty of other countries aren't much different.
i still drink ze coka-cola... symbol of free west! :D
I don't even know where to begin with the ignorant f***tards in this thread.
you could start by elaborating on that arrogant comment.
Arrogancy is believing that western society is doomed because of a few TV shows or proclaiming "Spot the aussie" when Australia is built on being a multi cultural society.

Australia is built on accepting people from all nationalities and cultures and the bogans that think Australians should be white and drive a Holden should be taken out and stabbed with ninja stars while dragons eat their fleshy remains.
What ticman said.
What is Australian culture?
Racism.

We need a f***head Australia policy. I thought it was ridiculous that many people outside Australia believe we are a racist nation but I guess I just dont hang out with enough bogans.
just to clarify, i am all for multi cultural australia and i for one welcome our new asian overlords.

i was pointing out that ENTIRE (not just .au) western culture will soon be dominated by asian influences, rather than the other way around. (Australia has been positively influenced by our asian neighbours for a long time).

i'm looking forward to the food and the philosophy, but dislike the the tv.
i don't see it myself. in fact, every time i goto singapore or malaysia they seem more western than they did in previous visits.. more macdonalds, more western tv shows... maybe it's eastern culture that is watering down from western influences! or maybe it's coz a few random observations by people that aren't experts on culture doesn't mean jack s***.
Agree with demon, my last trip to Korea was in August and the place is incredibly westernized. Albeit probably due to the Korean war and the heavy American influence over the past 50 years but there's people driving Chevy SUVs, fashion is very western and everyone is swinging around to western foods more than traditional Korean.

You could start with a valid argument against the point. This one falls far from it.

Example:

A: Asian countries have stopped mimicing the west.
B: You're a f***tard.
A: Good argument!

Agree with demon, my last trip to Korea was in August

I assume you mean South Korea?
This thread is lulz on so many levels. I wonder if domino/Anono spent nye in 1999 in a bunker preparing for the sky to fall.
f***. its not like its going to happen overnight, but it will happen.

asian countries are currently dominated by modern western culture, but i think you will find that in 50 - 100 years western culture will be dominated by modern asian culture. not traditional asian culture. modern.

TicMan its not like you go to south korea and everyone is rolling around in horse drawn carts building castles.

ahahaha...

fag.

edit:

but i think you will find that in 50 - 100 years western culture will be dominated by modern asian culture.

even if that were true, that's hardly 'soon'.

last edited by taggs at 12:00:15 18/Sep/08
sif greazy
We need a f***head Australia policy. I thought it was ridiculous that many people outside Australia believe we are a racist nation but I guess I just dont hang out with enough bogans.
A large number of white Australians are racists.
haha this is so retarded

domin0 why don't you fill us in on some of the details of your fantasy of asian culture dominating us?

A tiny number of white Australians are racists.

A large number of ethnic "Australians" are racists.

I had a 3some with natalie portman and sarah michelle gellar.
a much larger number of asians are racist. hell, they are even racist against each other... mainland vs hongkong / mainland vs singaporean / chinese vs japanese / han vs non-han / indians vs all the rest (not to mention all the indian sub-classes n wotnot... real fkn racism there!) :p it's only coz australia has declared itself to be multicultural that racism even means anything here.
i'm not racist, i just hate abos

Yeah.. I don't think you will find many Chevy's in North Korea unless their preparing them with C4.

asian countries are currently dominated by modern western culture, but i think you will find that in 50 - 100 years western culture will be dominated by modern asian culture. not traditional asian culture. modern.

I'm not sure that will happen. I think that Asian countries are a lot better at opening themselves up to the rest of the world where as your typical western countries want to keep everything the way it is. Australia is in a unique position to have that western foundation but then embracing what Asia has to offer.

We take for granted how much better we have it here, even such things as food choice. I was in Ireland on my honeymoon and could not find any where to have any remotely authentic Asian food. After 3 weeks of meat + 3 veg the only thing I wanted was a decent stir fry.

TicMan its not like you go to south korea and everyone is rolling around in horse drawn carts building castles.

I know. The point I was trying to make, albeit badly, was that Asian countries are becoming western a lot quicker than western countries are becoming Asian. You will always have your pockets of cultures sticking together when in a foreign country like China town or little Italy but as a whole I can't see us putting Japanese translations on every street sign (as they put English translations on signs in Tokyo) or schools teaching kids Korean (as Korean kids spend years learning English and going off to English schools).
i like chinese. they're eager to please, they're cute and they're cuddly and come up to my knees.
Articuz
personally, I think japs are cool...

I think the best outcome that we can hope for is that western culture and eastern culture reach a sort of equilibrium. That way we can eat mcdonalds until it almost kills us and then use miracle eastern medicine cures to heal us so we can continue our buddah prayer sessions before we watch the simpsons in peace.

we've got the abo syndrome...

- we came in and took there land, they are racist towards white ppl.
- asians are slowly taking over australia (look at sunny bank, u would b lucky to find a person who speaks english u can understand there) so we r racist :)

sif greazy
A tiny number of white Australians are racists.

A large number of ethnic "Australians" are racists.

I had a 3some with natalie portman and sarah michelle gellar.
That is so hot. Btw giri youre a fat white male, I dont expect you to understand.
It's ok greazy, everyone knows you're a retard after the first time you spoke.

Oh, and your race.
sif greazy

I love you too fat man. Never knew you were so sensitive about your weight.
Maybe some of you are having a knee jerk reaction to Asian culture simply because you haven't been exposed to other ways of life and see Western culture as the only true way of being.

You see a few Asian faces in the crowd (or even quite a few in some areas) and you see a show on TV and all of a sudden we are being "taken over"?
Get a grip.

I would like to see more cultural diversity and synergy, not less. Rather than being scared and hostile to other races and cultures why not take a moment to learn about them and understand the changing world we live in. It is pretty easy to stereotype people and to see them through your own narrow lense of experience, but to me all it shows is laziness and ignorance. It is so easy to hate but it really is just fear that drives you.

To me you sound like a bunch of hillbillies. You can try to make the world a better, more positive place or you can act like a bunch of dumb inbred xenophobic a******s.

Now go away and have a good hard think about it before you post some moronic banjo-plucking sister-f***ing wood-whittlin' monster-truck response.
You see a few Asian faces in the crowd (or even quite a few in some areas) and you see a show on TV and all of a sudden we are being "taken over"?
Get a grip.

are u kiding me... have u ever got in a taxi with a white driver, one that can speak english properly or even one that knows where to go.

i mean, no mr curry man i dont want to take this awesome shortcut u know which takes me through some s*** way that takes me longer and costs me more...

currys and asians will rule the world one day i bet... then they will have gigantic race warz where only one almighty yellow race will come out on top and be the ultimate power!

last edited by Sc00bs at 16:25:58 18/Sep/08
Anono
YOUR OFF IN DREAM LAND. I'm all for multiculturalism as much as the next guy, in theory. BUT its not us that aren't trying to integrate their culture. ITS THE FACT THEY DON'T EVEN TRY TO LEARN OUR CULTURE AND OUR WAYS. s*** there are 4th generation Asians living in sunny bank that cant speak a word of OUR national language, English. AND DON'T WANT TOO either.

I'm all for communism too, in theory, but in practice it fails EVERY TIME. if these Asians came in and brought with them foods, theories and other cultural aspects and tried to integrate them into our culture, awesome. i hate the wankers that don't try. there wont be an Australia soon, it will just be known as Australasia
have u ever got in a taxi with a white driver, one that can speak english properly or even one that knows where to go.
Numerous times.

It's comments like these that prove you are a bigoted wanker and a f***ing moron.

whatever f***face, eat a dick.. thats my opinion and im sure thats the opinion of alot of ppl out there.

Numerous times.

i bet u could count the amount of times u have gotten in a taxi with a white, english speaking taxi driver on one hand

last edited by Sc00bs at 16:46:51 18/Sep/08
I am sure it is too. The fact that you say that to try and vindicate yourself further compounds just how stupid you are.
Yes because that's how history has always worked...the cab drivers sooner or later become the all powerful overlords.

Keep telling yourself you are right and justified in your hatred. Hitler and Mussolini believed that too.

I am sure I have gotten in a cab with a white driver, and I have been ripped off by white people, cab drivers and otherwise. That's life. Contrary to popular belief, not all white people are shining examples of sainthood either.

Hey there are good and bad in all races. Who woulda thunk it?

wait, i got in a taxi and ripped off the driver by pulling a runner.

does that make me a 'curry' sc00bs?
pretty much domino
sif greazy
But scoobs doesnt that mean that asians are more willing to work jobs like driving taxi's than white people? That in now way is a good measure of the amount of asians around.
Man, some taxi operators must just hire curry's or something.
At any one time of a total staff of about 50 cabbies, no more than 3 or 4 would be anything other than fat aussie men.
"modern western culture" ... made in China, designed by Japs, shipped by Taiwanese, sold to you by Korean students and when you have a problem you get supported by Indians ...
im telling you now, those eastern cultures are very friendly and helpful people. i would employ a curry or asian any day of the week.

they work so damn hard and know how lucky they are. got a damn better work ethic than those honkies.

honkies piss up all weekend, cook their brains on pills, don't think twice about calling in sick on monday and then plan ahead for their friend to cover the sick shift with overtime.

i want more asians in our country, ones that are eager to please.

last edited by infi at 17:29:08 18/Sep/08
+ u can pay them in rice
hey be careful rice has copped a caining on the cross rates lately.
manufacturing ≠ culture
engineering ≠ culture
shipping ≠ culture
salesteam ≠ culture
phone support ≠ culture
im telling you now, those eastern cultures are very friendly and helpful people. i would employ a curry or asian any day of the week.

they work so damn hard and know how lucky they are. got a damn better work ethic than those honkies.

I agree that they do work freaking hard. Very focused etc, however the language barrier is sometimes rediculous. Had a lady of eastern decent working as an accountant at my work, and she was meant to be a CPA with 4 years experience. And me as a grad with 1 year, knew more than her and had to help HER how to do stuff (which was hard because I cuoldn't understand a word she said!)

Yeah, China's really motherf***ing friendly.

last edited by Phooks at 17:35:33 18/Sep/08
don't think twice about calling in sick on monday

I'm a "honkey" and have over 850hours of sick leave available... how very un-Australian of me.

And currently am owed some 21 weeks of leave.
Yoghurt! that's a culture!
how very un-Australian of me.

WTF are you doing with that many sick days. They are an entitlement you know, like annual leave.
i like chinese. they're eager to please, they're cute and they're cuddly and come up to my knees.
lol that was cool
Tibet was a dictatorship with slavery before the communist government took over. It's not great now either, but it's much better than it was. If Tibet is ever freed from China, it actually means it's people will be enslaved by the Dalai Lama.
hey i ripped it off monty python^
tibet was always protected by its neighbours as a deal for being a centre of buddhism, chinese expansionism is why its under their sphere
so anyway, back to culture, when china becomes the world superpower, (if its not already) they will lead modern culture. They will consume more and thus producers will tailor their products to what the chinese want and there will be a lot of overflow into our society.

ie look at those fancy cars the rich chinese drive, i want one of them.

or look at the fancy clothes the rich chinese wear, i want to wear the same thing.

also: please stop with the racist bulls*** please.
so anyway, back to culture, when china becomes the world superpower, (if its not already) they will lead modern culture. They will consume more and thus producers will tailor their products to what the chinese want and there will be a lot of overflow into our society.

you mean fashion? ;p it wouldn't surprise me if fashion took an eastern slant but that's not really what i would call 'cultural dominance'. i hope there is more chinese cinema on bittorrent at the theatres coz i really like a lot of chinese cinema.

how western of them ;p
i thought honkie meant someone from hong kong?
YOUR OFF IN DREAM LAND. I'm all for multiculturalism as much as the next guy, in theory. BUT its not us that aren't trying to integrate their culture. ITS THE FACT THEY DON'T EVEN TRY TO LEARN OUR CULTURE AND OUR WAYS. s*** there are 4th generation Asians living in sunny bank that cant speak a word of OUR national language, English. AND DON'T WANT TOO either.
go diaf, or learn chinese so you can smash some of those bitches like tanaka khan does... oh.. and buy cats
also lol:
you mean fashion? ;p it wouldn't surprise me if fashion took an eastern slant
hehe he said slant
im talking about culture: music, fashion, art, dance.

like you have japanese people dressing like english punks or american b-boys.

So is yoghurt is western culture .... what's eastern ?

ps. eating thai for dinner ... there for Goldman and sacks are closing tomorrow
sif greazy
so anyway, back to culture, when arabia becomes the world superpower, (if its not already) they will lead modern culture. They will consume more and thus producers will tailor their products to what the arabs want and there will be a lot of overflow into our society.

ie look at those fancy camels the rich arabs ride, i want one of them.

or look at the fancy clothes the rich arabs wear, i want to wear the same thing.
I totally agree with you.

last edited by sif greazy at 20:51:25 18/Sep/08
i agree less on the arab front because they don't/won't have a massively rich middle class like china will (?) thus they won't be major cultural drivers.
aP
I believe that in reality what is happening is globalization. The influences of all cultures are spreading. I lived in Japan for a year and many people there would lament over the westernization of japan.

So I think it is a bit one dimensional to say they are 'overtaking' us.
All i see is that with the modern era of tv, internet, travel that people are understanding more about other cultures, and tiny parts of other cultures are creeping in. just as tiny parts of western culture have crept into the east. no paradigm shift is going to happen.

Cultural take-up is a personal thing. I'm not the one driving a jap import to get my sushi. I'll drive my falcon and get a f***ing pie thanks.
So like yeah and then he like you know and like...
china probably will dominate culture

except for the chinese language, that will never take over as the world language

it's too hard

im not biased or anything
I'm not rascist .. I cant be!

I have heaps of friends and workmates from different backgrounds.

The point I'm leading to is that all these ppl I know have arrived in this country recently and they all learnt english ... some not that good but enough that they can get along in society and be productive.

Therefore one thing that I am intolerant of is New Australians that have been here for more than 5+ yrs or so and cant speak a word of the default language of this country. I have no time for these ppl regardless of their ethnic background... they are lazy and well just rude.

If I had to live and work in another country I would:
a) Learn the language
b) Respect the common value system

Its just mutual respect

yea ok slaps forehead step off the plane in wherever and try to learn the language and "respect" the value system

it's pretty hard to do... english isn't easy either you're just lucky you got that language for free. australians are nowhere near as helpful with foreigners learning english as they are when we travel and try a few words to try and buy their cheesy wares

i think that if tey're in the country for 5+ years clearly they are getting along in a society (maybe not yours) and are being productive in some way
Dont twist my words around.

Yes, we are all perfectly aware that learning another language is difficult but as mentioned previously the majority of migrants undertake this challenge (not straight off the plane!?!) and they at least 'have-a-go' my beef is with the ones who don't.
If I had to live and work in another country I would:
a) Learn the language

f*** that

most european countries speak basic english anyway, f*** learning dutch or czech or any of that bulls***.

noone would move to anywhere in asia other than japan either so thats not even worth considering as an example. Japan does english, "mi so sarry" etc
speaking of "asian influence"

http://cache.boston.com/universal/site_graphics/blogs/bigpicture/nkorea_09_17/nkorea21.jpg
sif greazy

Yes, we are all perfectly aware that learning another language is difficult but as mentioned previously the majority of migrants undertake this challenge (not straight off the plane!?!) and they at least 'have-a-go' my beef is with the ones who don't.
They don't exist.
obes.. i know some ppl have alot of accrued sick leave.. but 21 weeks annual leave.. your employer is stupid to keep that as a liability on his books.. dumbass shouldn't be a businessman

if it was me i would force you to take leave

as for china taking over.. they make good healthy fast food... (mostly) i say go for it.. but chinese are racist as f***.. they have state imposed racism where if you a forigner you get in a different line and pay differently to get on a train etc (so i have heard)
i heard all their vaginas are horizontal!
hmmm a sideways fleshlight. very interesting...

so we'll be buying bmw's ?

oh wait....

go anywhere in a major australian city and tell me you dont play "spot the aussie"...

Did this yesterday walking down Queen Street Mall on my lunchbreak.

They iritate the hell out of me, little mobs of them, moving rediculously slow, looking dased and confused.

I wouldnt have so much of an issue if they bothered to learn how to communicate in english - being in an english speaking country and all.

I remember having a whole lot of trouble trying to order something at Oporto one afternoon - I felt like saying - this is a chicken shop, if you dont understand what chicken is then we have big problems.

Grr.
I could only come up with a couple of appropriate emoticons for this thread: ^_^ and -_-
I wouldnt have so much of an issue if they bothered to learn how to communicate in english - being in an english speaking country and all.
maybe its not an english speaking country.

maybe in this country the different people living here speak a range of languages?

(maybe)
As other people have said, learning a language isn't easy, and some people definitely struggle more than others. I taught a student from Burundi who, after three years of being in Australia, still cannot read simple words like "sat", "big" etc. That doesn't mean that they are not trying. Part of the reason that many people come to Australia is because they feel that here they will be safe, and accepted. Obviously not.
Also we'll be all like in Firefly, speaking with a mix of various dominant languages like Engrishnese.
maybe its not an english speaking country.

Yeah, its just a country founded by english (yes, technically wasnt recognised as a country until we pilaged and slaughtered) with up until recently a predominantly caucasian, english speaking population.
Mantis
So when you go to other countries you speak their language without any troubles?
Part of the reason that many people come to Australia is because they feel that here they will be safe, and accepted. Obviously not.

Damn straight! Do you know whats happening on the Southside at the moment?
There has been a massive influx of Sudanese refugees around the Yerongpilly, Marooka area.

Anyway, so they get here, and the men see all the new opportunity, chance for a new life - and want to ditch their wives and families. Well, their culture doesnt allow that, so they are quite literally attempting to bash their wives to death, as the only sound way to get out of their marriage. The police on the south side are getting called to these communities on domestic calls more than anywhere else. Most of the men appear to be in on it, all doing the same thing, cover for each other, and nothing gets done.

Rah rah vicious cycle. Do that s*** somewhere else - we dont need it here.

Various accounts from Senior Sergeant with Brisbane Police.
So when you go to other countries you speak their language without any troubles?

I grew up in another country, living there - I knew the language.

When travelling I have always made an attempt to learn before I went, but there is a big difference between chosing to relocate to another country permanently and not making any attempt to speak the local language, and travelling around. Even travelling you have enough sense to respect the local culture and laws etc. We dont have a long cultural heritage - maybe preserving language and communication is all we've got.

last edited by Gratuitously Provocative at 10:31:38 19/Sep/08
if only it were that easy
And what about the people who don't choose to come here? People who are forced to flee their countries? People who come from countries where they have never had the opportunity to acquire literacy in their first language?
Mantis
I think we pretty much have to accept the fact that any open-easily-travelled-to country can no longer just sit back and say "this is our country, act like us".

Especially with countries like Australia that don't have a huge history and "us" doesn't really mean 1 race or 1 laqnguage. For Australia, "us" pretty much means "many races, many languages".

I wasn't even born in this country. (though some count NZ and Australia as 1 country anyways)
gratuitously provocative: those suburbs are spelt Yeerongpilly and Moorooka

ironic!
Yeah, its just a country founded by english (yes, technically wasnt recognised as a country until we pilaged and slaughtered) with up until recently a predominantly caucasian, english speaking population.

yes it was founded by english then five minutes later they said alright everyone in, and shipped lots of chinese, islanders etc in to work the mines and fields and build the country.
..a country first lived in by Aborigines, who speak many different languages. English not being their first.
(though some count NZ and Australia as 1 country anyways)

you mean NZ as an extra state of Australia? :P
people can live wherever they want gosh! just because japan and other countries have restrictive immigration policies why should we.

think global love.
we're all citizens of earth
save your hate for the martians
Coochie
Here are the answers to all your stupidnesses:

1)Why are all taxi drivers black - because driving taxis is a s*** job meaning employers can't be choosy with who they accept meaning they have to accept people with poor English skills.

2)Why don't these black cabbies know their way around - because as with most s*** jobs a lot of people don't stay in the game for a long time (not to say there isn't career cabbies) so don't learn the ins and outs of every street in Brisbane. Would you be so mortified by a white Australian cabbie who had just moved here from Melbourne and did not know their way around? Any cabbie you get who has been working for a few years knows their way around whether they are black or white.

3)Asian culture isn't taking over - the world is becoming more of a global place due to the Internet. People are aware of other cultures far more than they have ever been before. If this lets us pick and choose the best parts of other cultures then I think...know this is a good thing. Our culture is still heavily governed by America. The day the average middle class American starts eating dinner on the floor with chopsticks is the day I agree that Asian culture has taken over.

There is a big difference between elements of Asian cultures creeping in and Asian cultures taking over. Lots of girls like wearing Italian designer fashion accessories....does not mean Italian culture has taken over.

And yes English is the primary language of Australia. Minority groups move to areas like Sunnybank to be with similar people. Yes there is lots of Asian stuff going on at Sunnybank hence why I wouldn't ever move to Sunnybank...there is plenty of other suburbs I can live in with people more like myself. If they want to congregate in Sunnybank then that is perfectly fine by me. I even enjoy visiting their part of town every now and then to soak up some of their culture (read food). Does it piss you guys off that rich people congregate at Hamilton and poor people congregate at Darra? I'd like to think I have more in common with the chinkiest chinga at Sunnybank than the boganest jailbird at Darra.

If they don't speak English then chances are you won't have to have anything to do with them unless you want to utilise their services...eg. going to one of their restaurants. So stop giving a f*** about them...they make my city a more interesting/better place to live so they are welcome in my book.

Just to throw a cat amongst the birds, technically, the chinesse found Australia before the English or Dutch did.

Just saying.
I think the Aborigines found it before the Chinese.
But then again they may have used their boomerangs to kill off the Chinese...

ps. I didn't think the Chinese actually found the land currently known as Australia, but found other cultures that had and shared maps etc etc.
Fixity
heh who gives a s***? asian s***, american s***, none of its ours anyways, and, provided ur not a tv addict, none of its forced upon u. just watch whatever u likes from anywhere in the globe my friends.
ps. I didn't think the Chinese actually found the land currently known as Australia, but found other cultures that had and shared maps etc etc.

Nah, they found it first, centuries before the english/dutch. Well, i presume the aboriginies found it, but who really knows about them.

didn't the abos eat the first chinese that discovered australia ?
NitMangTong
Aborigines aren't cannibals.
o rly?
i hear chinese taste very asian
better than pakies, they just repeat on you.
theglenn01
Obes, the Ming Dynasty sent out a massive fleet in the 15th century. I believe they landed on the northern coast if WA.
yes, they came for the fishing but they stayed for the fantastic selection of local wines.
Obes, the Ming Dynasty sent out a massive fleet in the 15th century. I believe they landed on the northern coast if WA.
they didnt make much of it probably cause they werent smart enough to invent guns
It's funny how people like Gratuitously Provocative bitch about 'Australian Culture' and are all protective. Yet they don't seem to bitch about the MASSIVE amounts of American Media getting pumped into the brains of young Australians. They don't bitch about the MASSIVE amounts of American owned store chains throughout Australia.

Live with it, or you know what, get the f*** out of our country.. HA!
If you want to complain about cultural "invasion" I would, as TollazOr! says, look to the infiltration of American culture before anything else.

For every Sopranos or Simpsons they have given us, there is a dozen Two and a Half Men or Friends lurking in the shadows, ready to corrupt our children with images of ridiculously shallow characters and virtually no redeeming social value whatsoever.
For every John Stewart there are a dozen Tyra Banks and probably a whole army of Ricky Lakes ready to twist any newsworthy story into a feature about their own pathetic life experience. You go girl!

Yes there are cultural differences and sometimes they are annoying to us but seriously, as for the 'omg they are taking over' angle? Surely you aren't that stupid.

the only thing that i find annoying is some people who have almost no grasp on the language, i'm all for helping and patient when it comes to that... but f*** me you gotta draw the line somewhere.
What's more annoying...? A foreigner who is struggling to learn english or an Australian who has lived here his whole life and yet still speaks like a retard?

Because the latter is far more common.
Damn straight! Do you know whats happening on the Southside at the moment?
There has been a massive influx of Sudanese refugees around the Yerongpilly, Marooka area.

these dirty buggers are coming into my beloved salisbury now as well :(

aP
Some of the rubbish spelling in this thread proves that the same people who claim language as their main contentious point are the same ones who are making spelling mistakes.

LEARN THE LANGUAGE OR GET OUT!!!! right guys?

Care to provide a reference ? (I am going to guess this book, you should look at some of the "peer" reviews of that book.

Only references I have seen to China possibly discovering Australia pre dutch/portugese/french/english (who ever the fook found it this week) were maps which labelled it unknown/undiscovered land.
Care to provide a reference ?
What, barely remembered news snippets from a few years ago when that book was released aren't good enough for you?