sharkuul
Just watched the best piece of journalism on tv, today tonight, and was amazed at the sally mcClelland(spelling?) interview by channel 7 half-wit commentator pat welsh. wtf was going on ! it looked like she was either genuine and totally shocked (dont think she was) or she has some sort of mental disability/disturbance. When I was driving home with hamish and andy on the radio (no pun intended) they did an interview over the phone with her and she seemed normal. When I watched today tonight and saw the pat welsh interview trackside I was like wtf is she retarded or something. Then anna Corren (reporter on the show) interviewed her and it was in between the interview on the radio and the pat welsh one in terms of wierdness.
Anyone else think this sally mcclelland is odd? it must also be said that she did a great job winning silver etc etc (even though the yank had to almost fall for it to happen) i just think shes wierd. any1 else wowed by her wierdness? |
| #0 07:18pm 20/08/08 |
sif greazy
Who the hell are you talking about and what did she do that made her retarded? Because at this point in time going by your post you're the retard.
edit: It's spelt Sally McLellan last edited by sif greazy at 19:27:04 20/Aug/08 |
| #1 07:27pm 20/08/08 |
umm she just ran the race of her life and was maybe a little surprised and lost for words at going from a nobody to a silver medallist
you are unaustralian f***en! |
| #2 07:24pm 20/08/08 |
quack quack quack quack quack, Mr. Ducksworth.
| #3 07:24pm 20/08/08 |
crazymorton
funny i said the same thing to my wife....heard her on ABC radio today and watched 7 tonight. and said to the wife she sounds a bit weird....
but the missus watched her on Yum Cha and said she was ok.....i was torn between she's a spaz or she's over excited....either way i don't care she did an awesome job and good luck to her...as far as i'm concerned she can do whatever she wants!!! |
| #4 07:25pm 20/08/08 |
Was just having the same conversation with my boyfriend. Definitely sounded like a retard to me, very very slow girl.
| #5 07:27pm 20/08/08 |
haha yeah I thought she was a downer. Probably just shocked though.
| #6 07:28pm 20/08/08 |
she was f***ing off her dial on excitement
massive fail by the op shes a legend |
| #7 07:35pm 20/08/08 |
How is she a legend? Wow she just came second because lucky for her the girl that was smashing it f***ed up. Its almost steven bradbury-esque. No legends here just luck.
| #8 07:47pm 20/08/08 |
Just watched the best piece of journalism on tv, today tonight Seriously, no-one yet? Nothing on TT could ever be considered journalism, let alone good, let alone the 'best'. It's a tabloid made for the week minded and, well, retarded. You're retarded. Thanks for playing. |
| #9 07:47pm 20/08/08 |
How is she a legend? Wow she just came second because lucky for her the girl that was smashing it f***ed up. Its almost steven bradbury-esque. No legends here just luck. you dont play much sport do you? |
| #10 07:52pm 20/08/08 |
He probably doesn't know that she was almost a paraplegic from a cycling accident around 6 months ago. Spent ages in Hospital and had to go nuts getting fit again in time for the Olympics.
Also I heard her on JJJ's hack this arvo. The interview was done at 4:00am Sally's time and she was a very normal sounding person after doing heaps and heaps of interviews. So the trackside interview was probably piss poor journalism and a massively waked on Adrenalin athlete. |
| #11 07:58pm 20/08/08 |
I guess the thing is, you run as fast as you can, but you still have to get over the hurdles... If the american f***ed up - she obviously wasn't able to run at the speed she was running at?
PS: Obviously mega hyped up... |
| #12 07:59pm 20/08/08 |
er, i think that was anna mears that was nearly the paraplegic:
sally is the young hurdler she was interviewed just after her race |
| #13 08:01pm 20/08/08 |
She reminds me of the abatoir-chick off bigbrother this year. Good on her though, awesome performance.
| #14 08:13pm 20/08/08 |
Kilos
quack quack quack quack quack, Mr. Ducksworth. Gordon, stop quacking. |
| #15 08:23pm 20/08/08 |
Don't be haters, be supportive of her amazing performance and getting some medals on the board for Australia.
| #16 08:27pm 20/08/08 |
Dodgymon
I thought the same thing but I used the term bogan but good on her. The second interview the day after she was fine.
No aussie has ever won a medal in that event and she did it. I doubt many people could string together a sentence if they were in a similar situation. Personally I see this a bigger achievement than Stephanie I'm sick of hearing about her Rice. |
| #17 08:30pm 20/08/08 |
i watched her interview last night after her heat and she is like yuour friend you only ever invite over and never take out to dinner because they're embarassing
| #18 08:33pm 20/08/08 |
She's just a bit of a bevan but no doubt she goes like the clappaz.
| #19 08:35pm 20/08/08 |
shes got the body fellas thats for sure. all sweaty and toned. try and concentrate on the important things please.
| #20 08:36pm 20/08/08 |
I dont get why people say that when people win becuase another person buggered up that its any less of a win. The other person couldnt perform on the day, they lost that its. The winner was the best person on the day end of story.
Like that ice skater guy, all the other guys couldnt finish, he could, he wins. |
| #21 08:44pm 20/08/08 |
| #22 08:56pm 20/08/08 |
jadz0r
I suspect this is the interview?
I wouldn't say she's retarded. Just full of adrenaline. Wouldn't you be pumped if you had busted your balls training all these years and get an Olympic medal? OP fail. |
| #23 08:59pm 20/08/08 |
I'm just sick of Channel 7 playing the f***ing race over & over ad nausea. Sure I've counted at least 3-4 replays (not counting the news) so far, much like they did with all the swimming wins..
Glad they don't have the rights for 2012. |
| #24 09:01pm 20/08/08 |
Yes, it was Anna Meares that had that massive cycling accident and recovery, not Sally McClelland.
| #25 09:08pm 20/08/08 |
nah, just looks like a stunned bogan to me
also Nitro, backstory please? |
| #26 09:21pm 20/08/08 |
HyperJ
I love the Sunrise 'adjusted' medal table, they somehow they have Australia top and have just missed out the countries that should be above them.
| #27 10:25pm 20/08/08 |
Isn't the adjusted table based on a per-capita basis? Or maybe, they want to look patriotic. I'm sick of seeing their Olympic ads.
As for the thread topic. She did sound totally retarded in that post-race interview. The whole idea of post-race interviews is retarded though and the guy that's doing them at the athletics is retarded. The guy at the swimming was even worse. I bet she regrets the interview now. Hopefully, she has told Channel 7 to stop playing it and it can soon be forgotten. |
| #28 10:38pm 20/08/08 |
She sounded a bit like Sean Penn's charcter in I Am Sam. But yeah, she's prolly f***ed after running her guts out.
| #29 10:45pm 20/08/08 |
omg channel 7 sucks. Aus are playing usa in street ball tonight and we had to painfully sit through a womans softball game that went 10000000 years into overtime because none of them could figure out how to hit the f***en ball to get a run.
Missed half the game of watching maybe one of the most decent things at the olympics (usa bball team). Especially seeing if they get in a biff with the aussie team. Now just as I have posted this they have skipped over to some athletics f*** me dead. |
| #30 10:54pm 20/08/08 |
there is no more beautiful sight than two girls kissing.
| #31 10:54pm 20/08/08 |
two girls performing mutual cunnilingus?
| #32 10:57pm 20/08/08 |
Articuz"
imagine if she won gold...
edit: that photo's hot! |
| #33 11:04pm 20/08/08 |
Isn't the adjusted table based on a per-capita basis? Or maybe, they want to look patriotic. I'm sick of seeing their Olympic ads. shouldn't it be based on the number of competing athletes not the actual pool they are selected from? |
| #34 11:06pm 20/08/08 |
two girls performing mutual cunnilingus? loook im not c***hater, in fact im proc***, but its gets awfully messy and kissing is sensual. |
| #35 11:12pm 20/08/08 |
Haklin
Man can't f***ing wait for the 200m sprint final tonight!!!! Bolt is going to tear it up!
| #36 11:15pm 20/08/08 |
what time is it being broadcast?
last edited by infi at 23:19:32 20/Aug/08 |
| #37 11:19pm 20/08/08 |
i could see a bit of mercedes corby in her.
shes from the same region of qld she would make a hell of a drug runner. especially with her fence jumping ability. |
| #38 06:46am 21/08/08 |
http://www.google.com.au/search?q=Sally+McClelland&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a
I hope she isn't searching for her name on google today. |
| #39 07:38am 21/08/08 |
Hahahaha
Oh dear 8-) |
| #40 07:57am 21/08/08 |
"And then I was running and I was like shiiit.. and then she fell over and ..."
she sounded like a major bogan in that i/view |
| #41 08:15am 21/08/08 |
hahaha we successfully googlebombed Sally McClelland
| #42 08:32am 21/08/08 |
| #43 08:48am 21/08/08 |
So wait... somewhere out there is a person named Sally McClelland who's just discovered she's a retard because some athlete is percieved to be one?
It just keeps getting better. |
| #44 09:15am 21/08/08 |
I noticed someone on whirlpool couldn't spell her name right either. As for a successful bombing, better luck next time I guess. This thread shows we can do it.
| #45 09:40am 21/08/08 |
slyin
I thought she did well. Was good to see someone that emotional and genuine after they've just won a medal at the olympics. Shows how much it meant to her.
| #46 09:52am 21/08/08 |
I think she has a few kangaroos in the top paddock.
Even Cathy Freeman has better media presence than her |
| #47 09:55am 21/08/08 |
Don't crazy and woman usually go together?
| #48 12:46pm 21/08/08 |
Speaking of epic events, who just witnessed the Womans beach volleyball match being played in pouring rain? The yanks had white swimsuits on to boot. Needless to say, it was mesmerizing.
| #49 02:22pm 21/08/08 |
can't wait for sally's mates to join qgl and start s***.
that'll be awesome. |
| #50 05:12pm 21/08/08 |
Backpunch at the next Olympics?
| #51 05:14pm 21/08/08 |
YAY! I've been thinking this since I first saw her interviewed after the heats. At first I couldn't work out exactly what is was about her that really really bugged me. Then, after hearing her speak some more, I realised it - she's just really, really, really dumb.
"And then, I thought to myself, I'm doing it! And I WAS doing it! Is this REAL? Are they going to take this away from me? But they CAN'T! They CAN'T take it away from me!". |
| #52 05:27pm 21/08/08 |
blahnana
Yeah, I was trying to watch the morning news and had to keep flipping channels everytime she started speaking.
Not that the morning news programs are good stuff anyway. |
| #53 05:35pm 21/08/08 |
so wait...
The Olympics are on? |
| #54 05:47pm 21/08/08 |
Articuz"
| #55 06:19pm 21/08/08 |
sharkuul
Scooter u smacktard when i said today tonight was an amazing piece of journalism i was being sarcastic. im pretty sure every1 else got the joke but you. every1 knows its s***, biased, misinformed etc.
your idiot rating just went up... btw I am happy for her for winning a silver but as has been expressed on the thread thus far she was quite odd at the time... |
| #56 07:57pm 21/08/08 |
dammit, perhaps this might explains why I haven't seen the latest Good News Week as a torrent. I get crappy tv reception
| #57 09:56pm 21/08/08 |
Not a retard, just a bogan. She's from beenleigh (i think)
| #58 10:01pm 21/08/08 |
Holy crap, that video was painful to watch.
| #59 10:03pm 21/08/08 |
Nailbomb
it almost sounds like she has a lisp but not quite.
| #60 10:35pm 21/08/08 |
"Gotta run my own race, just gotta run my own race. And you know what? I ran my own race, I actually ran my own race for once..."
I saw that interview 3 times in the next 10 mins after the race on the coverage. The news just started after then in the f***ing today tonight they played it again. |
| #61 10:41pm 21/08/08 |
we gotta win this race
lemonade, that cool refreshing drink |
| #62 11:32pm 21/08/08 |
if I won a medal at the olympics when I and everyone else in the world thought I was in with no chance, I'd probably talk like a retard too.
She just came across as a girl who was way too excited to think straight. They talk like that after Jim and I double team them too. |
| #63 07:10am 22/08/08 |
jesus that video was bad
| #64 07:24am 22/08/08 |