yellow_feet
Where do I need to go to find cheapish 'youth' (read: skinny leg, low waist) business pants? I've been to Myer and seen Fred Bracks ($70 pair) - totally awesome, but they only have a limited range of styles. David Jones have Mossimo for $300 a pair and I'm guessing tailored pants will be just as expensive.
Anyone know of any shops around Brisbane? |
| #0 10:31am 25/07/08 |
Tarocash (indro, dfo) has some elegant pants that you can wear to work if you're trendy and have an equally cool shirt, not a shirt+tie kit from Lowes...etc..
| #1 10:35am 25/07/08 |
| #2 10:36am 25/07/08 |
pants and business do not mix.
| #3 10:42am 25/07/08 |
Check out ed Harry. $40-50 bucks for business pants.
Don't know what your on about with "youth" but youth fashion and business shouldn't mix. And maybe i didn't get the memo, but I doubt there would be very many acceptable tight business pants out there :| |
| #4 10:48am 25/07/08 |
I don't ever get any business gear from anywhere but Tarocash and Myer. If you can't find anything stylish enough in those two places you either fail at style or you're gay.
| #5 10:53am 25/07/08 |
yellow_feet
Myer have a huge range of pants, however they're made for older men who wear their pants above their belly button. The style these days is to wear them a little lower (duh), however a lot of places do not sell a style that reflect this!
They're not the homo-skinny-jean-type pants that a lot of the emos wear, they're the stylish skinny legs that are still fairly loose but not as baggy as older man trousers. For example, Fred Bracks (http://www.fredbracks.com.au/default.asp?id=23) pants are the skinny type, compared to Reserve/Country Road or any other brand like that. |
| #6 10:59am 25/07/08 |
yellow_feet
I haven't tried Tarocash - will do though.
I'm happy getting it from Myer, however they don't stock the Fred Bracks anymore! :( edit: I should clarify that it's 'youth business', rather than the youth fashion and business mix |
| #7 11:01am 25/07/08 |
tarocash |
| #8 11:06am 25/07/08 |
Yeah, Tarocash has been good for this kind of thing. JAG and yd too at times.
| #9 11:10am 25/07/08 |
Mantis
I just got a nice pair of black pants for work for $100 from YD on the weekend.
Most of my stuff comes from either YD or Tarocash. They are more exy than other places but their shirts are heaps better. |
| #10 11:45am 25/07/08 |
Where can I get business pants that will show a generous portion of my under garmets?
I wear witty cartoon under garmets that match my witty cartoon tie, so I think it all fits in quite nicely. I also walk with a slight lean to one side. |
| #11 11:50am 25/07/08 |
hmm, never been to YD before, looks worth checking out.
| #12 11:56am 25/07/08 |
Myer have a huge range of pants, however they're made for older men who wear their pants above their belly button. I have not found this to be the case. |
| #13 11:56am 25/07/08 |
me either
| #14 11:59am 25/07/08 |
also Powerhouse have some half decent ones too... or Always Habbit
| #15 12:00pm 25/07/08 |
danthepirate
I have found Ron Bennett at DFO near the airport to be good.
I can usually pick up woolen pants for $60 - rrp is a claimed $160 or something. Last time I was there the guy said they were moving most of their stock to the Jindalee DFO store. last edited by danthepirate at 12:58:20 25/Jul/08 |
| #16 12:58pm 25/07/08 |
heh skinny leg, do you wear skinny leg jeans too?
f***** i bought some YD pants recently, they are pretty nice |
| #17 01:09pm 25/07/08 |
yellow_feet
heh skinny leg, do you wear skinny leg jeans too? No I don't. And if you read my previous posts, they're not exactly skinny legs, it's the name given to thinner legged pants. Douche. |
| #18 01:26pm 25/07/08 |
Well shouldn't they be called 'Thinner Leg Pants' rather than 'Skinny Leg' pants if they aren't exactly Skinny Legs?
| #19 01:29pm 25/07/08 |
yellow_feet
Mate I just wear them I don't name them
| #20 01:48pm 25/07/08 |
wouldn't want to be caught wearing 'normal' business pants hey?
| #21 02:08pm 25/07/08 |
this thread seems to imply tracksuit pants are not business pants. Did I miss a memo?
| #22 02:09pm 25/07/08 |
boffiend
I have found Ron Bennett at DFO near the airport to be good. Likewise. Good range of different styles, and helpful people. |
| #23 02:11pm 25/07/08 |
depends if you work for a real business or not, trog.
| #24 02:36pm 25/07/08 |
this thread seems to imply tracksuit pants are not business pants. Did I miss a memo? Ohhh look at you, Mister Fancy Pants. |
| #25 02:48pm 25/07/08 |
and ugg boots aswell trog?
| #26 03:03pm 25/07/08 |
i think trackies look pretty suave
| #27 03:27pm 25/07/08 |
Myer have a huge range of pants, however they're made for older men who wear their pants above their belly button. The style these days is to wear them a little lower (duh), however a lot of places do not sell a style that reflect this!you must have a weird navel, or you think bib & brace overalls are pants I've been wearing pants for at least 2-3 years and have never found a shop selling pants designed to be worn higher than the navel. The vast majority of pants are designed to be actually worn - not dangled around the knees as though you shat your pants |
| #28 03:43pm 25/07/08 |
yeah what the f***? i didn't even know there was such a thing as 'skinny leg' and 'low cut' in business pants... and i don't wear mine high at all, on the contrary i tend to find it annoying with how short they are because i'm tall
| #29 03:46pm 25/07/08 |
pants pants pants pants
| #30 03:49pm 25/07/08 |
I've been wearing pants for at least 2-3 years Before that it was skirts. |
| #31 04:10pm 25/07/08 |
you're a quick one infi, a real quick one
| #32 04:20pm 25/07/08 |
hahahah i loved it!
| #33 04:22pm 25/07/08 |
:D~
| #34 04:27pm 25/07/08 |
cmon its friday gimme a proper smile xD
| #35 04:28pm 25/07/08 |
| #36 04:32pm 25/07/08 |
JESUS TAPDANCING CHRIST WHAT IN THE CHRIST IS THAT CREATURE!!! It looks kind of stretched to be honest
| #37 04:38pm 25/07/08 |
oh my
| #38 04:42pm 25/07/08 |
Can admins get banned? :D
| #39 04:43pm 25/07/08 |
why should anyone get banned for posting a smile?
hang on this is reminding me of the watermelon incident.... |
| #40 04:45pm 25/07/08 |
| #41 04:49pm 25/07/08 |
ahh the watermelon incident, what memories
| #42 04:52pm 25/07/08 |
WTF MUM?!?!?!
| #43 06:36pm 25/07/08 |
with all them warnings you think I wouldn't have viewed image... on the train.
| #44 07:01pm 25/07/08 |
Hahaha
This thread just got better |
| #45 07:02pm 25/07/08 |
Gentlemen, we are at our predetermined vaginal critical mass. One more vagina and this whole thing could blow sky high.
I lied. I just like saying vagina. Vagina. |
| #46 07:21pm 25/07/08 |
Myer have a huge range of pants, however they're made for older men who wear their pants above their belly button. I used to work in the Myer mens department, and we've never sold pants that came over your belly button... Nor is there "low cut" or "skinny leg" versions. I think you must have those confused with womens pants |
| #47 07:48pm 25/07/08 |
I used to work in the Myer mens department, and we've never sold pants that came over your belly button... Nor is there "low cut" or "skinny leg" versions. I think you must have those confused with womens pantsYou mean pants dedstined for a vagina? |
| #48 07:51pm 25/07/08 |
yellow pages dude.
get something custom made. just choose a few peeps and go with the people who earn your trust. there's nothing sadder than seeing a rep walk in to make a deal that you know will pull millions his/her way in the next few years and s/he doesn't even have the sence to dress the part. sadder still are people who have this in store and don't even know it, yet blow the opportunity because of how they presented themselves. I kid you not - that's most IT 'professionals' I've come in contact with |
| #49 03:10am 26/07/08 |
heavy_rocker
How much does tailor made clothing cost?
| #50 09:16am 26/07/08 |
Go to Rodjer David
| #51 09:20am 26/07/08 |
get something custom made. just choose a few peeps and go with the people who earn your trust. there's nothing sadder than seeing a rep walk in to make a deal that you know will pull millions his/her way in the next few years and s/he doesn't even have the sence to dress the part. Yeah cos the only good trouser is a custom made trouser...Who the hell gets their work clothes custom made? Just go to Tarocash and be done with it. As for the rep pulling millions, pretty sure most reps pulling millions would have presented well to get the job in the first place. Who are these mysterious million pulling unkempt reps you speak of? Seriously, if you don't know where to buy your pants from by now, it's a sad state of affairs. Here's a clue...go shopping. Or better still post it on an internet thread primarily concerned with computer games, cos that's where all the fashionistas hang out. |
| #52 09:25am 26/07/08 |
BOHEMION
These guys have helped me out in the past.
Harrisons Menswear, 136 Racecourse Rd, ASCOT 3268 2127 Mitchell Ogilvie Menswear, 190 Edward Street, Brisbane 3031 3888 |
| #53 09:25am 26/07/08 |
PRO--GEM
I get my work business pants from trade secret, decent brands and they are all like $30, unless you need a pair to go with a suit (which you should really be buying together anyway) they have all sorts of styles and shades for business work wear. I recommend.
| #54 11:09am 26/07/08 |
Check out trade secret at chermside off pie street, that place is a freakin goldmine.
| #55 11:17am 26/07/08 |
I get my work pants from Hard Yakka, Sif Business pants. They rip too easy.
| #56 12:08pm 26/07/08 |
tell him to be more gentle scott
lols! |
| #57 12:45pm 26/07/08 |
if you work in admin or retail - shop at Tarocash
| #58 12:02am 27/07/08 |
IMO if you're in the process of buying business pants, you're probably confusing "youth" with "Old fart". Hence your predicament.
Also; More like predetermined vaginal clitical mass. amirite? last edited by Phooks at 01:01:49 27/Jul/08 |
| #59 01:01am 27/07/08 |
| #59 |