Okay, we have a problem (oh I love how spending lots of money on wants is a problem :p).
We pretty much do half tv watching half movie watching. The tv will be mounted (ah HA mount) so no kids will touch it. It will be in an area that can be light or dark. Plus a whole lot of other mumbo jumbo elvis is cluey about So pretty much we are stuck. Which way do we go? Because it sounds like half of our requirements point to lcd and half to plasma :( |
| #0 03:41pm 09/07/08 |
The tv will be mounted (ah HA mount) so no kids will touch it. It will be in an area that can be light or dark. Plus a whole lot of other mumbo jumbo elvis is cluey about No idea what any of this means. Buy a plasma. You'll thank me later. |
| #1 03:43pm 09/07/08 |
hooking a pc up to tv?
lcd: actualyl screw it, just buy an lcd anyway, no one bothers with plasmas anymore nice sony or samsung and you'll be laughing; |
| #2 03:47pm 09/07/08 |
Aren't they being phased out or something due to power? Or did I just get a few snippets off buzz words and create my own uneducated story?
Yes it will be hooked up to a computer - myth |
| #3 03:48pm 09/07/08 |
pretty much;
| #4 03:54pm 09/07/08 |
They're both good, so just go with whatever one you can afford to get in a bigger size imo.
| #5 04:09pm 09/07/08 |
Plasma's use power differently to LCD's.
LCDs have a large constant draw from their backlight. The LCD panel is made up of pixels which are each made up of 3xSubpixels. To create white, the panel lets all light through. To create black, the panel tries to block out as much of the backlight as possible. Power draw is always constant (give or take a little). Plasmas don't have a backlight. They're made up of individual cells made of 3x subcells. R+G+B. To create white, all of the cells are completely on, which is the max power draw for the plasma. To create black, all of the cells are completely off, which uses no power (give or take). So, while LCD's always use about 60% of the power used by a plasma, a Plasma's power draw fluctuates based on whats on the screen. - I just stumbled upon this gem... Its as if it was written for Spook. e-bay Australia buyers guide - Plasma v LCD Some highlights... Picture Quality -- Natural Motion -- Power Consumption last edited by mongie at 16:32:09 09/Jul/08 |
| #6 04:32pm 09/07/08 |
Holy f***, who cares? That was a really convoluted way to basically say "yes, Plasmas use significantly more power overall". With the latest LCD and plasmas, just about all of those things you mentioned are non-issues. The only big difference now are the black levels, and even that's not really as big of an issue as it used to be.
As I said above, I reckon just go for whichever one you can get biggest in your price range. If you're looking at new generation plasmas and LCDs, you'll be happy with either one. last edited by Midda at 16:39:24 09/Jul/08 |
| #7 04:39pm 09/07/08 |
I still say plasma, it just always looks better than lcd tome, sure lcd looks good for playing xbox/ps3 and cartoony movies, but on normal tv and movies, they just look pixelated.
Then again a super expensive Sony bravia LCD probably looks great for most things, but its just so much more than a similar size plasma. 52" sony bravias are over $5000 when you can get a 50" panasonic plasma for $3000, yes its 2 inches smaller, but 2 grand more, you could get another 42" plasma for that for the bedroom/other room, I know what i'd prefer. |
| #8 04:42pm 09/07/08 |
Or you could just buy a Samsung, since they make the panels for Sony anyway. For $3000 though, would a 50" Panasonic plasma even be 1080p?
| #9 04:50pm 09/07/08 |
any lcd review that says there is motion blur/ghosting/dragging is several years old, or they are looking at s*** panels;
ffs, even my s***ty cheap lcd in teh bedroom doesnt have an issue with high speed stuff, like the footy viewing angles also are pretty much a furphy unless of course you want to sit at some rediculous angle to watch tv: |
| #10 04:51pm 09/07/08 |
I love how the term "conventional" is used in mongie's quote. Not current technology, or latest. Guide created: 01/10/06 (updated 09/07/08) It would be interesting to find out what if anything has been updated in there since October 06. My LCD doesn't have any of the "problems" that are described in mongie's article and I bought it over 18 months ago. Like most things, you get what you pay for. |
| #11 04:56pm 09/07/08 |
For $3000 though, would a 50" Panasonic plasma even be 1080p? Yep, Panasonic Plasma that can be found for about 3k is a 1920x1080 panal. |
| #12 04:59pm 09/07/08 |
Just get the biggest HD panel you can get within your pricerange from a good brand.
When it comes to viewing experience, size is a massively overwhelming factor imo. Really draws you in and makes it more pleasurable rather than going 'oh yes, i had to settle for a 32" rather than 50"+ but the colours are so realistic! Honest!'. |
| #13 05:10pm 09/07/08 |
^^What he said.
A quick Google (taken form the Panasonic website) puts a 50" 1366x768 plasma at $4,399 for RRP. |
| #14 05:13pm 09/07/08 |
bah, RRP means nothing, the 1920x1080 panasonic plasma most places have sticker price of about $3300 and jb just had on special for just under 3k
http://www.theelectricdiscounter.com.au/asps/productpage1.asp?model=TH50PZ800A&extwarranty=4EWPPT4000 that one. last edited by `ViPER` at 17:20:57 09/Jul/08 |
| #15 05:20pm 09/07/08 |
| #16 05:18pm 09/07/08 |
thats sites awesome.
| #17 05:26pm 09/07/08 |
Panasonic for plasma or Samsung for LCD, they are both good without being stupidly over priced like Pioneer/Sony. Go into a store and compare and choose which one looks best to you.
I've got the 50" Panasonic, it's pretty good but then I haven't run any consoles or a PC on it since I do that on my smaller LCD which is also pretty good. As far as I know the real difference is that you can replace the backlight in a LCD if it dies or gets dull but plasmas become landfill after a few years of use because the lights die or get too dim and can't be replaced. In other words if you go with plasma, get the extended warranty. A quick Google (taken form the Panasonic website) puts a 50" 1366x768 plasma at $4,399 for RRP. Mine is 1080p and cost me $3000 about 3 months ago from the Good Guys. last edited by deadlyf at 17:30:05 09/Jul/08 |
| #18 05:30pm 09/07/08 |
but plasmas become landfill after a few years of use because the lights die or get too dim and can't be replaced. I'm pretty sure it'd take like 10-15 years or so before that became an issue. |
| #19 05:30pm 09/07/08 |
I still say plasma, it just always looks better than lcd tome, sure lcd looks good for playing xbox/ps3 and cartoony movies, but on normal tv and movies, they just look pixelated. This man speaks the truth. I just did a bit of research and settled on a Panasonic Plasma. For the money you simply can't beat them. To get a comparable size LCD with comparable picture quality you'd pay at least $1,000 to $1,500 more. LCD's really only start to get a good picture (ie: no or very little motion blur) at around the $3k mark. Beleive that it is obvious and the lizelating looks like balls. (Smaller LCD's may avoid this though). Also really consider if the extra $'s are worth it for 'Full HD'. Don't just assume it is cause most people can't tell the differnce when viewing at a normal distance. Best value on the market by far is the Panasonic Plasma 42". Can be had for $1,300. Bargain. last edited by mission at 20:41:41 09/Jul/08 |
| #20 08:41pm 09/07/08 |
We have a 42" plasma, 1080i, purchased it for $800 with 5 year warranty. Very happy with the size, it is a bit blurry at times. After watching it for a while you start to pick up on the bits that you pay an extra $500-1000 for. So when it dies I'll get a much better quality product and be able to appreciate the improvement.
Also, don't worry about paying extra for 1080p unless you plan on buying (or already have) a Bluray player and wanting to watch movies at 1080p. last edited by Tollaz0r! at 22:54:42 09/Jul/08 |
| #21 10:54pm 09/07/08 |
Samsung LCD's ftw
| #22 11:21pm 09/07/08 |
I've been spending quite a bit of time of late checking out mate's plasma and lcd purchases to see what's what and how they look.
my biggest arguement against large (40+") lcds atm that it just doesn't suit the media I'd be pumping into it. most of the dvds/avis I play aren't high def (kids stuff, sci-fi collection, chick flicks for the Mrs), nor are most tv eps I have. most of my favourite old tv shows are never going to be re-leased in high-def.. this stuff looks like arse on my mate's 50" Samsung LCD (and my 22" at fullscreen for that matter). they look fine on my brother in-law's plasma.. I wasn't expecting the plasma to look good as I checked it out after the LCD and expected the same thing to happen again. as for reading text - the lcd has it hands down for clarity. I just don't use the tv for cruising the net though. I lot of peeps would I suppose :/ I'm leaning towards a plasma atm.. what do you reckon of these Mongie? last edited by koopz at 01:08:58 10/Jul/08 |
| #23 01:08am 10/07/08 |
icewyrm
I'd go LCD. The anti burn in snow and fast screen dimming times on the plasma here at home annoy me. Well, assuming that LCDs aren't much more expensive for the same size.
| #24 06:55am 10/07/08 |
Mass
I've been doing heaps of research on this lately as I am getting ready to buy a 50" screen. After reading heaps of info and reviews from www.dtvforum.info and www.avsforum.com I am definitely buying a plasma.
I won't be gaming on the plasma and thats the only advantage the LCD has over plasma. I've looked at all the screens from a variety of sources and I don't think I could happily watch TV and movies on an LCD (yes even the Bravias). I currently have a HD SONY CRT, and I know I won't get as good a picture as that has on either Plasma or LCD, but the plasma is by and far the closest to it. I'll be running only the HTPC on the Plasma. |
| #25 07:14am 10/07/08 |
pretty much what ive read is plasma's are best for tv and movies. lcd's are best for gaming.
| #26 07:48am 10/07/08 |
lcds are better for pcs also
which is what my tv is primarily used for (all medias off laptop) dunno what koopz is smoking, but i can watch 720p media and it looks awesome, or just normal quality dvd rips and they look fine; it actually looks just like a decent pc display, only its 50" |
| #27 08:25am 10/07/08 |
I'm leaning towards a plasma atm.. what do you reckon of these Mongie? Good for the price Koopz, but I think its probably previous gen. Current panasonic FullHD 50" is 30000:1 contrast + 134 billion colours and around 1300nits of brightness. Could someone please explain to me what makes LCD's better for gaming? or for connecting a pc? (serious question) last edited by mongie at 08:34:44 10/Jul/08 |
| #28 08:34am 10/07/08 |
Okay, we have a problem (oh I love how spending lots of money on wants is a problem :p). Oh, believe me it is. At the moment there's three expensive items I want (Dell 27", $799; Thylacine 221 frame, $2200; Canon EOS 450D+cards, $1200), and though I can easily afford all, I only want to spend the money on one of them. Personally if it were me, with the Plasma vs LCD decision to make, I'd buy a decent LCD. Current panasonic FullHD 50" is 30000:1 contrast + 134 billion colours and around 1300nits of brightness. I was just thinking, you know how there's those people who think they're audiophiles and think they can tell the difference between things like 44kHz and 48kHz, and have to buy $500 cables, I bet you that somewhere out there there's the same kind of d******* for video who thinks they can tell the difference between 30000:1 and 30001:1. last edited by Raven at 08:36:41 10/Jul/08 |
| #29 08:36am 10/07/08 |
Well elvis is one of those weirdoes who can tell the difference. Our mythtv is connected by pbrycr something or other, because it looks better. I can't tell the difference between that and s-video or avi but I am weird.
He won't go to the extent to get $300 cables but he will make sure it is all set up so it looks proper. I just want to watch tv and play wii damnit! |
| #30 08:50am 10/07/08 |
Could someone please explain to me what makes LCD's better for gaming? or for connecting a pc? (serious question) no burn in for starters (yes, i know newer plasmas have protection, you still hear of people having problems with burnt in images on newer plasmas) when i was looking for my tele, i checked plasmas with a laptop in the store, i didnt like the image as much as lcd: didnt hurt that lcds were all higher res's at that stage either: its just a crisper image from my pc on an lcd (at its native resolution) last edited by Spook at 08:51:40 10/Jul/08 |
| #31 08:51am 10/07/08 |
Mass
If you treat a plasma like any new CRT it will be fine. There will be some image retention in the first 100-200hrs but will disappear after that time.
Everything I've read says that the phosphor trails when playing games on Plasmas are very distracting. You can play but its a bit annoying. I am leaning towards the 50" Full HD Panasonic, they are due in late July but I will probably wait another month or two and hopefully snap one up for around $2400. |
| #32 08:55am 10/07/08 |
I was looking at Samsungs and the 70" is $49k OMG
That's just under $700 per inch and a massive jump from 50" |
| #33 09:02am 10/07/08 |
Anono
new plasmas dont have burn in problems, they have some image RETENTION to start with like said above, but not burn in.
1080p plasma are the same for pcs as lcds so spook is talking about old tech. gaming has never been an issue with ps3, xbox360 or a minor bit on COD4 on my folks 50" last gen plasma so the new ones with better performance will be even better. got a 800 series panasonic plasma . |
| #34 09:14am 10/07/08 |
i think when major companies are abandoning plasma manufacturing , you have to ask yourself, "why?"
| #35 09:30am 10/07/08 |
Only one... Pioneer. Mainly because they're a low volume manufacturer.
They'll still be selling them too... Just Panasonic panels. |
| #36 09:39am 10/07/08 |
That's just under $700 per inch and a massive jump from 50" The question is, is $700 per extra inch worth it? |
| #37 09:41am 10/07/08 |
I've never had any complaints (or noticed anything wrong) with my plasma when connected to my 360?
They do have some minor image retention, mainly if I'm playing a game with a "hud" that doesn't move and isn't translucent. After maybe 30 minutes, it might leave a feint shadow on screen and once the "hud" is no longer displayed, it takes about 5-10 seconds before the shadow is gone. I can live with that for better colour reproduction and black levels. |
| #38 09:42am 10/07/08 |
heh, just wait till you have a collection of burnt in channel watermarks and logos. that will look real nice. |
| #39 09:58am 10/07/08 |
yer, after hours of gaming with my wii and using my pc nonstop on my tele, i have no noticeable marks on the screen
in fact it still looks as awesome as the day i bought it |
| #40 10:02am 10/07/08 |
i think when major companies are abandoning plasma manufacturing , you have to ask yourself, "why?" Probably the same reasons that Beta was canned and endless other products. It's what the marketing people can convince the consumers is better that will win out, but that doesn't mean it is better. |
| #41 10:12am 10/07/08 |
if only there were more consumers with your super eye for detail mission, perhaps plasma would have won out
unfortunately (for plasma) most of us have lazy eyes that cant detect motion blur like you can |
| #42 10:22am 10/07/08 |
Anono
spook seriously in what reality do you live? LCD has in no way "won out" or even come close to winning out.
Plasma is more appealing IQ wise then LCD at $ for $, " for " comparisons. Get a 50" plasma (pz800) from panasonic and you will be happy. Get a 46" LCD from samsung (series 6) you will also be happy. it will just be smaller but if you dont see them next to each other who cares. both are $2898 on wiki page. |
| #43 10:31am 10/07/08 |
sLiNky
| #44 02:05pm 10/07/08 |
haha, i remember the kogan thread on whirlpool
that was some fun reading! also, lolz anono |
| #45 02:13pm 10/07/08 |
| #46 02:17pm 10/07/08 |
Trog posted nipples! Ban!
| #47 03:01pm 10/07/08 |
Anono
http://www.cnet.com.au/tvs/0,239035250,240036500,00.htm
| #48 05:42pm 10/07/08 |
Anono not only are you a noob for not being able to link s***... but its a s*** article...
They are trying to say a good street price for 42" standard def plasma for 2grand. and "many TVs still have analogue tuners" ... not that I saw (other then the cheapest of the chinese spec stuff). |
| #49 05:56pm 10/07/08 |
re so
My Panasonic plasma still has an analogue tuner, it's just really really well hidden. I've never used it though - flicked to it once by accident and it looked so bad.
| #50 07:05pm 10/07/08 |
^^ Same. My LCD has an analogue tuner, but it also has a HD digital tuner. I had the TV for months before accidentally stumbling upon the hideousness that is analogue television.
| #51 07:07pm 10/07/08 |
| #52 09:34am 11/07/08 |
even my s***ty cheap lcd has an analogue tuner, dont use it though
| #53 09:58am 11/07/08 |
even my s***ty cheap lcd has an analogue tuner is it a Kogan? :P I'm tempted to buy one of their $1k 32" hd models for my gaming rig atm... dunno if I can handle waiting for upto 2 months for it to turn up though :( |
| #54 07:19pm 11/07/08 |
I support lcd because I have numerous LCD panels. Could we get a team banner going>?
| #55 07:25pm 11/07/08 |
nah, my cheap lcd is a tevion (32") from aldi
it really does have a problem showing up blacks (unlike the sony in the living room) but has no problems with motion blur (mission, you can ask your mum about it, she will tell you), and i only ever watch it in bed, which is straight on, so i woudlnt know if it has issues from side angles |
| #56 07:30pm 11/07/08 |
I love these threads, it brings out the wanker in everyone. |
| #57 07:37pm 11/07/08 |
uma
Reason: Inappropriate |
#58 09:42pm 11/07/08
Morons ... the implication in the thread was that the ONLY tuner the TV has was analogue and that you'd have to buy a set top box.
| #59 08:42am 12/07/08 |
mission, you can ask your mum about it, she will tell you How was she? She does love a younger married man. If you're so insistant on lack of motion blur in current lcd's maybe I'm referring to what I think looks like balls is. A very shmmering pixelation - especially on people faces is when it's most noticable. When we recently went to look at some Tele's my wife, who knows nothing about them at all and has zero preferences on brands, technology etc etc, walked around the store and said (they were all playing the same thing, no....no.....no, and they were all LCD's (including 40" Sony at around $2,300) and one LG plasma. In fact one that had an awesome picture was a Fugitsu SD (yes SD) Plasma - must have found it in the back of the warehouse. The one's she liked the picture of was 46" Bravia and Samsung (yes I know they are LCD but $3,000+ worth) and the Panasonic Plasma's, 42" and 50". ($1,500 and $2,200). So that's a completely unbiased opinion from an average user who doesn't give a toss about specifications on a piece of paper, just evaluating a product on its intended use. So in summary if your budget is under $3,000rrp plasma is by far the best option, over $3,000 a top shelf LCD should fit the bill. |
| #60 09:20am 12/07/08 |
I don't budget on RRP.
| #61 09:54am 12/07/08 |
After a fair bit of research got the Plasma Panasonic full HD 50".
Fantastic everything I've found in either 360, movies or TV format. |
| #62 10:21am 12/07/08 |
Well we finally got around to buying. Went to JB, the guy was a tad cocky and gave us a decent enough price. Went to HN and they matched the price plus gave us a better warranty. I don't normally haggle or do the walk around but I am glad we did :D Sony 1080 24p LCD 100hz, with a 4 year warranty. last edited by Kat at 12:50:13 21/Sep/09 |
| #63 12:50pm 21/09/09 |
RockitMan
I prefer plasma for sure. LCD's just look weird to me. I don't know how to explain it but the movement and colouring, and everything => bizzare.
| #64 12:55pm 21/09/09 |
What size Kat?
| #65 12:56pm 21/09/09 |
We were going for a 42inch but alas, Sony didn't come in 42, so we had to get a 46" :P (and 32" for the bedroom) |
| #66 01:00pm 21/09/09 |
We now have a Plasma and LCD, LCD wins overall.
But if you're on a budget I still stand by my above comments that plasma is better value for money, especially sub $2k. |
| #67 01:03pm 21/09/09 |
haha awesome "had" to get :) congrats, I love new TV day! |
| #68 01:05pm 21/09/09 |
f*** yer, new tv day is aweosme (unless you get a plasma and then it ends up being a sad day)
| #69 01:17pm 21/09/09 |
http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k479/ontheinternet/7391/100_0614.jpg
We only got it for the kids - I mean, what kind of parents would we be if we didn't give our kids a big box to play with |
| #70 01:20pm 21/09/09 |
need more pix of your renos kat
whats left to do? |
| #71 01:23pm 21/09/09 |
New decking is being laid as we speak.
Still have the kitchen to be done and the new windows and doors put in. Then the house is getting painted. It's looking awesome!!!! Not to mention the colours are now 100% better :D |
| #72 01:25pm 21/09/09 |
how awesome are renos?!
we got a new fence going in today, i scored an extra 8 square meters of yard cleaning out all the junk between our place and next door (and filled skip no 7) we're still waiting on our french doors to go in from the living room to deck and our bedroom to the deck, and a few little bits and pieces, and then i can start on the yard! |
| #73 01:27pm 21/09/09 |
yeah been thinking about a 32" lcd for months and months now
i'd like a sony v series 32" they are kinda expensive though LG seem so cheap <$1000 is that anything that bad about LG ? |
| #74 01:34pm 21/09/09 |
i'd like a sony v series 32" they are kinda expensive though JB have the W series for under $1k |
| #75 01:44pm 21/09/09 |
i'm pretty sure the V series is as high as they go in the 32", i've been looking at them on an off for like 6 months. $1200~ i saw it for at JB on thursday night less 10% for their sale, which i think is over now
missus just bought a 40" V series from JB because her 46" W is a too big for the main room she'll use to watch tv in her new place |
| #76 01:59pm 21/09/09 |
Splash
pave the sony shop at the DFO had a full hd 32" LCD for less than $1000 when I was there on the weekend, not sure on the model though
| #77 02:32pm 21/09/09 |
oh s*** i'll have to check that out
thanks bra V series is full HD, i don't think there is a lower one with full HD in the 32" last edited by paveway at 14:44:42 21/Sep/09 |
| #78 02:44pm 21/09/09 |
The 32inch we got is the W series. Exact same specs as the 46" 1080 24p 100hz
| #79 03:00pm 21/09/09 |
| #80 03:16pm 21/09/09 |
hn extended warranties aren't worth they paper they're printed on. the jb ones are marginally better, but still not worth the money.
| #81 05:49pm 21/09/09 |
XaltD
Samsung LED
| #82 05:53pm 21/09/09 |
cJay
hn extended warranties aren't worth they paper they're printed on. the jb ones are marginally better, but still not worth the money Never had a problem with HN extended warranties apart from the the slow ass process although thats kinda expected when returning goods 3 years later as apposed to a few months. |
| #83 05:56pm 21/09/09 |
that's just super, you've had good luck.
i work for an insurance company (in retail warranties + motor insurance) which does the majority of extended warranties across the country, you wouldn't believe some of the s*** i've seen. |
| #84 06:00pm 21/09/09 |
XaltD
Extended warranties are only worth what the are printed on if you have something go wrong with your item, usually its dead out of the box or just at the 13th month part... all those "3 year warranty" rubbish is a waste of time - its just a manufacturers warranty, get a proper warranty with a no lemon guarantee and a fair wear and tear guarantee. Then its worth every cent, if your tv dies in 4.5 years out of a 5 year contract and you get a new TV - i am pretty sure the TV you are getting to replace it is awesome in comparison to the old p.o.s you just had die on you. Get it.
| #85 06:01pm 21/09/09 |
get a proper warranty with a no lemon guarantee and a fair wear and tear guarantee. bwahahahaha. they all say that. read the T&C as to what actually has to happen before you can claim under the no-lemon clause. |
| #86 06:02pm 21/09/09 |
get a proper warranty with a no lemon guarantee and a fair wear and tear guarantee. I've painfully learnt that the majority big name panels in the greater Brisbane area goto the same place in Coorparoo for repair regardless of the brand. the staff in said repair centre are overworked and given my experiences with crews like this they're prolly also underpaid. after 3 months the boss gave up on expecting our Panasonic 40" to ever be picked up as promised bi weekly. he replaced it with a cheapy that looks pretty much the same given the content that's run on it. it needed a ~$150 psu replacement. if it was up to me I would have just taken it down the Compy Alliance and paid Dave M to do it for me in a few weeks PSU failure is the most common cause of panel failure (next to dead pixels in LCDs). hope this helps ya peeps last edited by koopz at 21:37:08 21/Sep/09 |
| #87 09:37pm 21/09/09 |
XaltD
I meant the extended warranty. I'm in management in retail and from my experiences the extended warranty we sell is actually quite good and i see MANY items just swapped over for new ones. Happens all the time. Manufacturers warranty isn't really worth much.
| #88 07:22am 22/09/09 |
koopz is talking about the extended warranty! and koopz' experience is pretty goddamn typical. most warranty providers have only a handful (or one) repairer for a particular brand/appliance in a city. so the wait times are rediculous and the repairs often less than satisfactory. if you get lucky and get it replaced.. good for you, but it doesn't happen anywhere near as often as you're making it out to happen. you wanna know how i know? because regularly work in the department that authorises the f***ing things.
and i'm sure you know a whole lot about it... more than someone who works for one of the largest warranty providers in aus and deals with them every day (me). what extended warranties do you sell? because there are only a few seperate providers in aus. hn group, good guys have their own things and then theres the other one which does pretty much everyone else iirc. edit: and i am also talking about the extended warranty. seriously, read the T&C as to what has to happen before you can claim under the no-lemon clause... and how can you say a manufacturer's warranty is useless and an ext warranty isn't... an extended warranty MIRRORS the T&C of the man warranty, except they throw extra exlusions in there. so it's actually less useful. you sound like every goddamn retailer who sells our s***... you don't have a clue what you're selling (which is good otherwise noone would buy them). edited my post to make where i work slightly less obvious, in case the powers that be troll qgl! last edited by taggs at 08:14:55 22/Sep/09 |
| #89 08:14am 22/09/09 |
f*** can you stop ranting and tell us some of these things that need to happen in the no-lemon clause already! :P
| #90 08:59am 22/09/09 |
RockitMan
HN has database warranty system so you don't need your receipt - it's all on their system under your name. I like that.
| #91 09:03am 22/09/09 |
yeah pretty over hearing about warranties
you must be a pretty interesting guy, interesing like an accountant :p |
| #92 09:04am 22/09/09 |
extended warranties are a reinsurance product by a third party afaik. if a long warranty is important to you, then research the actual models and buy one with an adequate manufacturer warranty.
my mate who works for an electrical seller said for example the new model samsungs are coming out with a 1 year warranty, whereas my older model had a three year. why the f*** would a manufacturer wind their warranty back? it shows they believe in their product. last edited by infi at 09:18:54 22/Sep/09 |
| #93 09:18am 22/09/09 |
My Samsung has 2 (pretty sure).
Next they'll have no warranty 3-2-1....0 |
| #94 09:19am 22/09/09 |
Most have a 1 year warranty now...
Officeworks extended warranties used to be great for both the consumer and the retailer. It was a replacement warranty... underwritten by AIG. |
| #95 10:00am 22/09/09 |
Mass
Pioneer TVs had the best warranty - 5yr manufacturer. Shame they are out of the market. The TV price used to include delivery and installation aswell.
| #96 10:05am 22/09/09 |
They also used to cost nearly double what everything else costed.
(They were good though). |
| #97 10:10am 22/09/09 |
Crakaveli
looking at getting a 32" Sony V series aswell, best prices i've seen so far is $1200 from the good guys.. how the hell do you haggle with them and then go somewhere else to get a price match/reduction? a written quote?
I'm a noob to this haggling s*** (gonna pay cash). |
| #98 04:24pm 22/09/09 |
Well my experience with the good guys was quite literally walking into HN's and getting someone's card, i then wrote on the back of the card a price and model number. Walked into Good Guys and said "this is what harvey normans can do, can you beat it?" when they were like oh i'm not sure i replied "the guy was nice so i'll call him because you know he served me first thanks for your time" they walked to their boss after asking me to wait, and i got it slightly better than the price i wrote down.
| #99 05:04pm 22/09/09 |
mongie, not done by AIG any more. we do it :(
rofl, my job makes accountancy look crazy exciting :(++ rofl x2, if you really wanna know fpot pm me. i don't wanna post any more incriminating s*** just in case someone from work reads auslamers, people get fired for posting (admittedly stupid) s*** on facebook about work at my company :(+++ but basically the requirements are so far fetched it simply never happens. i've seen claims paid out i think only a handful of times (5 or less) under that clause in over 2 years. |
| #100 05:50pm 22/09/09 |
Crakaveli
Interesting, JB-Hifi has the 32" Sony V series listed for $995.00 and at the good guys it's $1200. Worth getting a quote then taking it to the good guys and get the price beaten or just get it for 995? Was orignally hoping to only spend $1000 anyway.
| #101 07:02pm 22/09/09 |
what the f*** $995
i was there on thursday last week and it was $1200 odd |
| #102 07:03pm 22/09/09 |
Crakaveli
| #103 07:05pm 22/09/09 |
goodguys are s***
| #104 07:30pm 22/09/09 |
LSD
| #105 07:42pm 22/09/09 |
Mongie it was 5 pages ago but couldn't you see the obvious bias in that article you posted?
| #106 07:55pm 22/09/09 |
W > V
| #107 08:16pm 22/09/09 |
DD > B
| #108 08:20pm 22/09/09 |
kat i don't think you got a W for less than $1000 if that's what they are selling the V for..
| #109 08:21pm 22/09/09 |
When we were at JB, he said the Sony 32inch was 985 in reply to Good Guys having them at 995. He said it was the exact same as the 46inch (and that was the W)
No, we didn't get ours for under $1k, because we got an extended warranty We did not pay this price before the warrenty was tacked on http://www.jbhifionline.com.au/plasma-lcd-tvs/lcd-tv/sony-kdl32w5500-32-inch-w5500-series-full-hd-bravia-lcd-tv/436709 |
| #110 08:35pm 22/09/09 |
Crakaveli
Yeah $1400 is a bit out of my range unfortunately.
| #111 07:15pm 23/09/09 |
and i still think you have a V series kat
| #112 07:22pm 23/09/09 |
taggs i want to know more about fpot
he's so dreamy |
| #113 07:31pm 23/09/09 |
Crakaveli
i can tell you about paveway.
| #114 08:00pm 23/09/09 |
i can tell you about paveway's mum.
| #115 08:40pm 23/09/09 |
and i still think you have a V series kat We have the W series. It's kinda hard not to know with the box, model numbers and features |
| #116 06:29am 24/09/09 |
ended up buying a series 5 samsung 32" today, good guys carseldine had a good price on it and i got a hdmi cable for like half price with it
it's a slightly better TV than the V series i was looking at anyway got it for $1070 fyi, i got the second last one |
| #117 05:45pm 27/09/09 |
samsung teles are awesome
ive been pimping the samsungs as much as the sony teles |
| #118 05:46pm 27/09/09 |
we know good tv's dave
| #119 06:01pm 27/09/09 |
Yeah, Samsung make awesome TVs. In fact, don't Samsung and Sony use the same panels? I'm sure they used to, at least.
| #120 06:13pm 27/09/09 |
dan, i just happy u didnt have to settle
| #121 06:14pm 27/09/09 |
We have a 32" Samsung series 5, great tele.
Except its channel changing and FTA guide populating can be slow :( (compared to Panasonic), about my only complaint. last edited by mission at 20:45:30 27/Sep/09 |
| #122 08:45pm 27/09/09 |
| #123 11:50am 01/10/09 |
mongie wails in dispair
| #124 11:52am 01/10/09 |
fyi, plasma has been dead to me for years
| #125 11:55am 01/10/09 |
In other news I was talking to a mate who I haven't seen since I was in Ireland last night and he is a plasma fanboi as well, saying LCD's are s*** for sport (particularly league) I lol'd. Told him to watch footy on a decent LCD not no name s*** and it'll be fine
| #126 11:58am 01/10/09 |
The year the plasma died? (My emphasis) Samsung, one of the three largest television manufacturers still making plasma TVs, said that, although demand was flattening, it had retained a big stake in the technology since launching the world's thinnest plasma display (2.5 centimetres), and integrating wireless technologies and internet television into recent models. <3 Mongie. |
| #127 01:16pm 01/10/09 |
I will also mention... Its not the first time that a superior technology has been beaten for market share...
Betamax anyone? |
| #128 01:17pm 01/10/09 |
I will also mention... Its not the first time that a superior technology has been beaten for market share... But LCD hasn't been beaten? |
| #129 01:24pm 01/10/09 |
lolz saint hi5
| #130 01:26pm 01/10/09 |
I love my Plasma. Can't beat the price/performance to size ratio of Plasma (at the moment). Until they start making affordable 50+ inch LCD screens, I'd still be buying Plasma :)
| #131 01:27pm 01/10/09 |
| #131 |