Topic: Electric razors
JohnnieD
Hey, I'm wondering who here uses an electric shaver/razor. I'm not really interested in which models are best (please feel free to recommend ones if you want) but I just want to know if they are actually worth the money. From memory (maybe advertising) they are quicker and easier and give less razor burn. Plus in the long run they might be cheaper because blades are so bloody expensive. Thanks.

Edit: yes I have searched google but I'm after genereal ppl's opinions
I had some Phillips thingo back when I was a teenager. Shaving with a razor gave me really bad skin so I stick with the eletric one. Can't really remember it so that's all i can tell ya.

while i only shave once or twice a week, it still would have saved me heaps of dollars...

and i get a close shave with zero cuts
Yeah I use a Philips, just got a new one to replace the last one that broke after nearly 12 years. Nice and quick and easy which is especially good given how much I have to shave... had that one since I could grow a beard, i.e. when I was 14.
i use braun and philips... to be honest i use both cause they both good in different areas..
BassMan
to be honest i use both cause they both good in different areas..
...like your crotch & face areas?
StopShootingMe
I have the ducks nuts of Braun shavers. Doesn't achiee as good a result as a razor, but it's easy and doesn't require the same preparation...
I have a 5 yr old Braun.

To sum it up an Electric Razor never gives as close a shave as a good razorblade but just for everyday keeping it neat and tidy its pretty good and way faster and more practical than using the blade and shaving cream everday.

Therefore they are great for the daily mow down but if you're going out and want a decent close shave hang on to your razor blades.
^What he said^

I need to use the electric job everyday (very quick and convienient) but if I use the old razor I can get away with every second day.

last edited by mission at 21:32:16 18/May/08
JohnnieD
Thanks for the replies
From memory (maybe advertising) they are quicker and easier and give less razor burn

Depends, my crazy thick celt/sicilian hair has issues with most brands. Philips in particularly used to give me really bad shaving rash (sucked after paying all that money). Remmington was good for a while. Neither did a great job.

Now I just use a razor good shaving lubricant.
i just use a normal razor that vibrates :/
i use a $20 big-w razor which was designed for trimming neck hair and such, had it for 2-3 years and its 100% to this day
lost the charger but my nokia phone charger seems to do the trick

as said, its not as close but its so quick and easy
i have always wondered about electric razors. no one has been able to convince me it can shave as close as a blade.
Has anyone tried to convince you? I thought it was pretty common knowledge that they dont.

Mine (braun prosonic) doesnt shave as close and misses spots, probably takes a bit longer, but no cuts or shaving rash.
i haven't found an electric razor that can achieve the same results as a normal one. And for the fact that they take about the same time, i call them inferior. If i have a shave with an electric in the morning, by 2pm its time to shave again. Not fun, esp when you go into meetings and someone whispers to ya 'forgot to shave today eh'. hurrr.
who would seriously say that to you though, wouldn't you have to be one of these retarded f***ers that says s*** like 'mondays eh?'

edit: and yes electric razors aren't as close as normal razers, duh
and no you can not shave as fast as i can with an electric razor, I can do my whole face in 60 seconds and walk out the door (leaving the hairs in the sink)

I like it because I get 0 razor burn and theres no mess except the hairs
yeah, that's pretty much the type of person teq
boba
I got one of those braun self cleaning jobs

it's ok but doesn't do as good as a job as the real thing but I hate shaving so it's fine
i just use a normal razor that vibrates :/
I tried one of those, didn't like it. Just stick with the Mach 3s, when I bother to shave, which is pretty rare (especially at the moment).

I am waiting for next-generation razors - with 7 blades! Or are they up to 7 already.
smash them mr hardware
I am waiting for next-generation razors - with 7 blades! Or are they up to 7 already.

i think theyre up to 8
quattro titanium ftw
lol at 'strange rash' posting in the razor thread
blahnana
Chakas' razor broke for like a week and before he could buy a new one he looked like Forrest Gump after he'd run across the country and back a few times.
Actually, in the week and a half between my old one breaking and getting a new one I did grow a pretty reasonable beard.
blahnana
If by "reasonable" you mean down to your navel, then sure.
Are you suggesting I could have stood in on a ZZ Top gig without anybody noticing?
cut-throat razer. cheapest method of shaving & aids concentration :D
a concentration of aids?
+1 for sticking with mach 3's.
i havent "shaved" in 3 years. i just use a beard trimmer, and always have stubble. chicks dig it.
shaving (with a blade) is all down to technique.

shower first, leave the beard wet. lather up. hold the blade loosely at the end of the handle, and do lots of light passes with the grain. don't hack at it to get it all done in one pass. when its all done, use an aftershave.

i only shave like twice a week if i can and i grow a pretty thick beard. i use a mach3 power and some gillette shaving gel or some s*** and a some nivea for men aftershave. takes a bit longer but f*** cuts and rashes and s***.
I used one once, it was f***ing great! Very keen to get myself one.
its about time for your second shave surely protius?
Nah not yet, nearly!
also +1 for nivea men aftershave soothing balm

used to get brutal razor rash and this completely fixes it.
nivea men aftershave soothing balm

I get pretty severe ingrown hairs along the jaw line (I'm guessing cos if I'm in a rush, I'll just do from the jaw hinge to the chin in one swoop). Reckon this would fix it? I always thought it would be kinda faggy buying something like this, but then it can't be any worse than having razor burn/ingrown hairs.
imo it would fix it or atleast reduce the pain..

On my kneck i got this patch that always hurts when i shave it just because of how close it is to the skin.

Now i can shave it and it will still hurt but the balm stops the irritation and redness.

Haklin
Man last year I decided after years of shaving with a blade to try the new Philips shaver (400 bux). Because I've got crazy thick/fast growth using the blade was getting quite annoying...Well..thank f*** for the 60 day return policy.

If you've got a thick bristles forget electric. I lost 25 bux out of the deal (had to pay for postage costs direct to philips) but at least they honoured the 'return policy' fairly and quickly.

If you are going to buy one ask the store what sort of return policy they have. And try to get one that stipulates 'if you don't like it, money back'.
Fnukle
I have I use a Gillette Fusion razor for when I can be bothered, otherwise I use my electric fancy one which stays in the car while im driving to where ever I gotta be.
applor
I used to use the mach3/power variants but moved to the Quattro and stuck with it coz BigW sell the 4box pack of blades for $30 which is nearly half what you pay for the others (and it shaves well)

Question of interest though, how often do you guys change razors if you shave once a day? For me, between 1 to 2 weeks I guess...
I'd say yeh a blade lasts 1-2 weeks.

The 4 blades on the quattro was too much for me.

Your right though, blades are a fkn wrought.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rort
I used to use the mach3/power variants but moved to the Quattro and stuck with it coz BigW sell the 4box pack of blades for $30 which is nearly half what you pay for the others (and it shaves well)

since when does a 4pack of mach3s cost $60? more like $20.
why the hell are the pack of blades so expensive?
why is a $20 dvd player cheap but a $20 pack of razors expensive?

very zen don't you think.
Some Fat Bastard
Don't shave. I haven't for over 20 years, just trim the beard every now and then. The only problem is my beards all grey so it makes me look close to 60 when I'm only 47. But who cares, the missus doesn't so I don't.
Question of interest though, how often do you guys change razors if you shave once a day? For me, between 1 to 2 weeks I guess...
I prolly shave with a razor between 2-4 times a month and keep the blades in for at least 6 months I'd say. I must be lucky because using older blades doesn't give me a rash and I don't seem to have any problems getting a semi-clean shave anyway