Uruguay hosts biggest BBQ, grills 12 tons of beef
More than a thousand barbecue fanatics in Uruguay grilled up 12 metric tonnes (26,400 lbs) of beef on Sunday, setting a new Guinness world record while promoting the country's succulent top export. In support of my Uruguayan brethren, I also cooked a massive BBQ :- With plans to fire up the smoker I headed down to a local bulk butcher. I went straight to the cheap cuts and started grabbing meat. First up was a big chunk of pork, I had plans for some lamb, but they didn't have any shoulder. I then picked up some sausages that were marked down, and a whole chicken as well. Finished by grabbing some marked down beef ribs, and a jar of 'cajun' spices. I got the smoker to a warm 100 Celcius and prepared the meats. At various points during the process I added Hickory chunks, and mesquite as well. Pork I peeled back the skin flap back off the pork and gave it a good rub over with the cajun mixed with brown sugar, then put the flap back over and rubbed it as well. This went into the smoker right away as it would take the longest to cook. http://lh3.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHL-lB3mtI/AAAAAAAACuw/BhORr-lCU8o/s288/DSC03618.JPG http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHMHFB3mvI/AAAAAAAACvA/Hh1UZUXjLUU/s288/DSC03620.JPG This stayed in the smoker all day, and turned out like this :- http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHNMFB3m-I/AAAAAAAACw8/WGCyYjFpImQ/s400/DSC03635.JPG Sausages The sausages were simple, I just dumped them in a tray and rubbed them all over with sweet paprika. http://lh4.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHLb1B3mnI/AAAAAAAACuA/kG68J5Xa9eQ/s288/DSC03611.JPG http://lh3.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHLhlB3moI/AAAAAAAACuI/4oOwXiG_bNM/s288/DSC03612.JPG They went into the smoker for about 2 hours in total. http://lh3.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHMMlB3mwI/AAAAAAAACvI/REsgKegfxq8/s400/DSC03621.JPG Beef Ribs The beef ribs got a good coating in Cajun Seasoning and then was smoked for about 3/4 of the time the pork was. http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHLtFB3mqI/AAAAAAAACuY/H9Z4RMJEOeo/s400/DSC03614.JPG http://lh4.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHNG1B3m9I/AAAAAAAACw0/nq6ieKRjM8Q/s400/DSC03634.JPG Chicken While the rest was in smoking I brined the chicken in salted water, beer, and maple syrup. I then marinated it in Nando's Peri Peri sauce. http://lh6.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHMcVB3m1I/AAAAAAAACv0/xLXgEW0vj-E/s400/DSC03626.JPG Not long after the sausages came out the chicken went in. After about an hour I poured off the excess marinade, and used a tray of coals to try and crisp up the outside a bit. http://lh6.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHMsVB3m4I/AAAAAAAACwM/mA97BevJC2U/s400/DSC03629.JPG |
| #0 02:04pm 14/04/08 |
I have to say it made for an awesome lunch today :D
| #1 02:07pm 14/04/08 |
With all that meat its no wonder it was hosted in the you are gay country
| #2 02:07pm 14/04/08 |
MISSery
Where are the vegies???
| #3 02:08pm 14/04/08 |
The sausages were simple, I just dumped them in a tray and rubbed them all over with sweet paprika. Heh, suss. |
| #4 02:08pm 14/04/08 |
in my dreams stinky prepares me lunch, and its all sausages
| #5 02:11pm 14/04/08 |
Where are the vegies??? Who the f*** cares |
| #6 02:13pm 14/04/08 |
MISSery
ur mum
| #7 02:15pm 14/04/08 |
Chuck another sheep on the barbie?
| #8 02:20pm 14/04/08 |
What a way to express yourself, rubbing potions and ointments into various meats and then serving it to eds
| #9 02:31pm 14/04/08 |
idol prefers to express himself using the marmet technique
| #10 02:37pm 14/04/08 |
This s*** has got nothing on your average Sunday afternoon at the Casagrande Estate. http://casa.nowuckingforries.com/whatsforlunch.JPG |
| #11 02:46pm 14/04/08 |
You have a small sausage casa.
| #12 02:49pm 14/04/08 |
italian sausages ftw :) |
| #13 02:54pm 14/04/08 |
The meat in that photo looks very unappetising. You need to use a higher heat on those steaks, heat the plate up for at least 20 minutes before cooking, and don't overfill the hotplate otherwise you'll lose all the heat.
| #14 03:11pm 14/04/08 |
way to boil the s*** out of that steak in it's own crap casa, stinky's is rad
| #15 03:25pm 14/04/08 |
Yeah casa maybe you should delete that post too.
| #16 03:29pm 14/04/08 |
Just because you talk the talk, doesn't mean you walk the walk. Those steaks tasted divine. Don't judge a book by it's cover. |
| #17 03:33pm 14/04/08 |
says you
| #18 03:35pm 14/04/08 |
qgl bbq cook off
| #19 03:36pm 14/04/08 |
Just because you talk the talk, doesn't mean you walk the walk. Those steaks tasted divine. Don't judge a book by it's cover. If you liked them, great, but there are much better ways to cook steak than en masse like that. This is what a steak should look like http://lh4.ggpht.com/username.taken/R_k6up7w24I/AAAAAAAACpg/fOjpfCLmV6g/s400/DSC03589.JPG maybe with a bit of a Pinot Noir reduction sauce http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/R_k6w57w25I/AAAAAAAACpo/hPV08dQJUVY/s400/DSC03591.JPG |
| #20 03:45pm 14/04/08 |
Your steak looks dry and no doubt taste dry because I haven't tasted them, but I'm going to judge how they taste by the way they look so therefore, they taste like s***. Also if you have to sauce the steak, with that much sauce mind you, it just confirms the dryness of it. last edited by casa at 15:50:09 14/Apr/08 |
| #21 03:50pm 14/04/08 |
Wow, you're awfully defensive there Casa. Point out where I said your steak tastes like s***. I suggested that your steaks looked unappetising and offered some advice on how to improve them. If you're not man enough to listen to some advice and instead want to get your sphincter all twisted up about it, then no worries, cook the way you want to cook, as long as you enjoy it that's all that matters.
| #22 03:56pm 14/04/08 |
haha mate im just having a laugh and giving you s*** for sounding like a food wanker, i really couldnt give two s***s*. *sphincter pun ps: they weren't my steaks, I just took the photo. If I cooked them they'd be like blow jobs in a fillet. last edited by casa at 16:02:01 14/Apr/08 |
| #23 04:02pm 14/04/08 |
holy s***e that's a lot of meat.
| #24 04:01pm 14/04/08 |
I picked up a 4 burner "BeefMaster" (lol @ name) the other day (complete with rotisseree), changed the grill plates & burners to a ceramic jobby for better heat distro an the boys (an wench) an I have been enjoying awesome amounts of BBQ's in the meantime. Comes with a sideburner for a Wok as well so I can assist in depopulating the local dog life an strangely enough, admittedely slim pickings here in Sunnybank...
| #25 04:05pm 14/04/08 |
casa: those steaks don't look dry can you explain your joke to me please?
| #26 05:27pm 14/04/08 |
fagpot: its not a joke, they do look dry? |
| #27 05:40pm 14/04/08 |
yer, i just picked up a new bbq from kmart
they were selling their $479 jackaroos for 279 and i finally killed my bbq the other day putting them together sure is fun |
| #28 06:32pm 14/04/08 |
bought a bbq on saturday, all up I spent $998 :/
| #29 07:16pm 14/04/08 |
fagpot: its not a joke, they do look dry?Then how come you said you were having a laugh ie. a joke? Oh I see, what really happened is that you just got owned. Brb, taking the baby to the pub. |
| #30 07:21pm 14/04/08 |
crazymorton
^ lol
| #31 07:25pm 14/04/08 |
Oh I see, what really happened is that you just got owned. Brb, taking the baby to the pub. Haha poor Ben, whats up? I've been playing red alert for the past hour thinking about... well, nothing. Why do you keep on dwelling on this thread? I was just f***ing with the dude and your all in tears trying to stick up for someone else by trying to give me s***? Keep in mind, Obes invented giving s*** to people on this board, and I perfected it. Your tears on my back are like water on a ducks'. Maybe stinky should rename this thread for you to "World's biggest BBQQ" last edited by casa at 19:35:27 14/Apr/08 |
| #32 07:35pm 14/04/08 |
Nothing's wrong, just trying to get the full mileage out of something as stupid as that baby at the pub thread.
And Axis invented giving people s*** on this forum. |
| #33 07:40pm 14/04/08 |
there was nothing wrong with the pub baby thread, i need to revive that, it was a god almighty laugh, even funnier than this thread |
| #34 07:42pm 14/04/08 |
taggs the wogs are going to win mate, don't bother :P
| #35 11:24pm 14/04/08 |
those steaks do look f***en dry.
| #36 11:40pm 14/04/08 |
they're seared at high heat for about 2 minutes, still bloody and pink on the inside, definately not dry!
| #37 08:07am 15/04/08 |
Also look at the second pic, they're glistening :P
| #38 08:44am 15/04/08 |
they're seared at high heat for about 2 minutes, still bloody and pink on the inside, definately not dry!+1 I find 60 seconds per side on an absolutely bulls*** hot BBQ is a perfect steak, provided the steaks are warmed up to room temp so they cook nicely. That's a perfect rare - medium rare depending on the thickness. |
| #39 01:32pm 15/04/08 |
i eat my steak raw straight off a live cow
| #40 02:39am 16/04/08 |