straw hat hippie
Gday, bored of games, want a new one. Not much of a fan of serious games, didnt enjoy metroid 3, loved mario galaxy and this random truck racing game my mate has. Probably prefer not to get party games either. Anything youve found pretty decent lately? Thanks for the help.
(p.s yes hanging out for smash bros and mario kart but im guessing theyll be a while) |
| #0 10:18pm 18/02/08 |
If you can hack the lack of a GUI and enjoy a steep learning curve try Dwarf Fortress. It is a great, complex, detailed, evolving game.
| #1 10:22pm 18/02/08 |
you better not be taking the piss toll cos I'm gonna play that
| #2 10:25pm 18/02/08 |
crazymorton
have you tried mario/sonic olympics?
heaps of fun. |
| #3 10:37pm 18/02/08 |
straw hat hippie
Yeah played it crazy morton. Did enjoy it, but after a long days work cant be bothered moving my arms as vigorously as required to win :P
last edited by straw hat hippie at 22:42:18 18/Feb/08 |
| #4 10:42pm 18/02/08 |
uh..not a fan of serious or party games?...what then? there is no halo on the wii, lol.
zelda/mario/metroid/battalion wars 2? |
| #5 10:59pm 18/02/08 |
Xyzzy
GL on battalion wars 2... been waiting for that for ever
Maybe try Resident evil wii edition(if you haven't already) [edit] Sorry... thought you said "a" fan of serious games, resident evil is semi serious. last edited by Xyzzy at 23:19:49 18/Feb/08 |
| #6 11:19pm 18/02/08 |
Nailbomb
freeze yourself until Mario Kart Wii comes out. I think it's due in the next couple months.
| #7 11:18pm 18/02/08 |
lol mario kart is november in the US at least I reckon. BWii not out here yet ay? Don't really keep up with the AU releases. Too many games to play as it is anyhow.
| #8 12:06am 19/02/08 |
I've had fun with SSX Blur |
| #9 08:16am 19/02/08 |
try any of the res evil series, they are good fun;
definately zelda if you havent played it (although its pretty serious, worth it though, great game) |
| #10 08:34am 19/02/08 |
Wii games? Did you change the subject or can I just not read?
Idol, not taking the piss, that is a great game. You just need to have a ... special .. mind for it hehe :D I played it for hours. 'I'll go to bed right after I finish building my magma forge'.. 4 hours later... |
| #11 08:38am 19/02/08 |
toll, looks just like rogue from the late 80's early 90's
ascii adventure game, was awesome! |
| #12 08:41am 19/02/08 |
Xyzzy
BWii not out here yet ay? Yeah it's been out since october or november in the states, but au is yet to get it. It makes me want to mod chip my wii to get around region locking and import the damn thing. |
| #13 12:15pm 19/02/08 |
Zakk and wiki has has some realy good reviews, never played it myself, looks interesting.
| #14 01:23pm 19/02/08 |
If you liked rouge, I point you to A.D.O.M one of the best of those types of games. Dwarf Fortress is differnt, it has an adventure mode that is a rouge-like. However the main game is where you build up a massive self sustainable fortress by ordering dwarves to mine into a mountain (or the ground). It is really full on with the stuff you can do. If it had great graphics it would be one of the best games ever. |
| #15 02:19pm 19/02/08 |
I have played and finished mario galaxy. It was fun, but I sped through it as I borrowed it.
I now have paper mario to play. I highly suggest buying wii points and downloading the old games :D |
| #16 02:21pm 19/02/08 |
Xyzzy
I have played and finished mario galaxy. My basic impression from the demos i've seen in hardly normal and elsewhere make it look like something designed to give the player the impression that they've taken some very hard hallucinogenics. Does it actually make any sense if you sit down and play it? Not that i'm really that interested in Mario games. |
| #17 02:29pm 19/02/08 |
It is very easy to play once you get into it. It is the same idea to most of the mario games. You need to get stars to unlock future worlds and big stars. At the end of each galaxy you get a big star, you need a certain amount of big stars to get to princess peach.
Nothing new but the controls and you get used to them pretty quick. |
| #18 02:36pm 19/02/08 |
I bought Mario Galaxy and sunk quite a few hours into it... I didn't see the point of the game and struggled to enjoy it while I played it, wondering if it was going to get any better. Maybe I've just grown out of games, or maybe it's because Galaxy was the first Mario I've every really played, but it was just not for me.
I'll sell it to anyone who wants it. Perfect condition. |
| #19 02:50pm 19/02/08 |
| #19 |