mscactus
Would have been their fathers...not their mothers..
| #1 12:25pm 23/09/07 |
My bro's mates, gotta be. He was telling me last week about the shopping spree
| #2 12:35pm 23/09/07 |
The fact that they looked under age and where loaded up with stupid amounts of alcohol?
Edit: Some one deleted their post, carry on. |
| #3 12:43pm 23/09/07 |
Originally posted by paveway: Uh, alcohol in plain sight? EDIT: Way to delete jerk. |
| #4 12:43pm 23/09/07 |
damn private school kids
they are always the bad eggs |
| #5 01:01pm 23/09/07 |
That is a f***ing insane amount of booze, I even told my bro that, luckily he didn't go cos he was up north at some rowing gig
| #6 01:04pm 23/09/07 |
my mates parents just bought him a $850,000 gt bentley sports coupe for his 19th bday :(
i wish i had his parents :P |
| #7 01:34pm 23/09/07 |
my mates parents just bought him a $850,000 gt bentley sports coupe for his 19th bday :( Are you serious? |
| #8 01:38pm 23/09/07 |
my mates parents just bought him a $850,000 gt bentley sports coupe for his 19th bday :(pics or lying! |
| #9 01:41pm 23/09/07 |
bulls***. I dont believe that.
| #10 01:41pm 23/09/07 |
850k bentley for a present = please excuse us for the neglect and don't turn to crime to get the long lost affection you have always been seeking.
| #11 01:51pm 23/09/07 |
If it's true, Alize is right.
But BS is in the air. |
| #12 02:09pm 23/09/07 |
better parents would have bought a hooker as well
| #13 03:13pm 23/09/07 |
jealousy fireup!
| #14 03:20pm 23/09/07 |
850k bentley for a present = please excuse us for the neglect and don't turn to crime to get the long lost affection you have always been seeking. Or maybe its simply that some people have enough money to buy a bentley. |
| #15 03:40pm 23/09/07 |
Never knew there was a bentley worth that much.. What model is it so I can look it up and see what it looks like!!??
| #16 03:56pm 23/09/07 |
What's your mate getting for his 21st?
| #17 04:00pm 23/09/07 |
lmnt
you know what kind of girls those cars attract? they should have just got him herpes.
| #18 04:07pm 23/09/07 |
So for a 1 week holiday, 9 days and there's 3 of them? assuming the cartons are 24 packs?
14.2 beer cans 1.7 cans of rum 0.88 cans of vodka cruisers 0.15 of a bottle of rum 0.07 of a bottle of jagermeister liqueur 0.19 of a bottle of vodka 0.07 of a bottle of tequila 0.04 of a bottle of malibu 0.07 of a wine cask Per Person. Per Day. |
| #19 04:11pm 23/09/07 |
i could manage that
| #20 04:15pm 23/09/07 |
Jum
they're idiots for getting such an unnecessary amount of booze, but if 1 of them was 18 what grounds did the police have to confiscate it?
| #21 04:35pm 23/09/07 |
I think because minors had their names written on the bottles they could probably say the intent was there. Otherwise, i can't see how they could take it either.
| #22 04:40pm 23/09/07 |
The police probably said something like "Ok we can take this alcohol, or charge the 18 year old with supplying alcohol to minors" not really a hard choice.
| #23 04:43pm 23/09/07 |
Was also curious as to how they got charged.
The police probably said something like "Ok we can take this alcohol, or charge the 18 year old with supplying alcohol to minors" not really a hard choice. Well i mean obviously it looked like it was going to be drunk by the under age ones - but i dunno - how can they do anything about it? How is it different from a parent driving their underage child with a carton in the boot? |
| #24 04:57pm 23/09/07 |
Because in one case it's the kids Parents, and in the other it's not?
| #25 05:02pm 23/09/07 |
Well would it be any different if the parent was instead some un-related 30 year old?
I mean common sense dictates that the cops should have done what they did, but the law just seems a bit iffy in cases like this. |
| #26 05:04pm 23/09/07 |
How is it different from a parent driving their underage child with a carton in the boot? uh, because it is quite easy to argue that the carton in the boot is for consumption by the parent - legal. it's pretty impossible to argue that the huge amount of alcohol they had in that ute was for consumption by the one 18 year old... common sense. |
| #27 05:11pm 23/09/07 |
ps. police searching cars based on the age of the driver is f***ed... is that search entirely legal? that's blatant profiling, how can they argue probable cause from the age of the driver?
| #28 05:13pm 23/09/07 |
mscactus
If they had it packed in the back of the ute for all and sundry to see... someone on the ferry probably called ahead to the cops would be my guess.
| #29 05:16pm 23/09/07 |
you wouldn't need to guess if you had read the article:
The "booze boys" were on their way for a holiday at Point Lookout when they were caught about 9.30am in a police roadblock near the car ferry. |
| #30 05:17pm 23/09/07 |
I didn't think it was an offence for under 18s to drink alcohol. Only to drink it in public, in a licenced venue or to purchase it ?
| #31 05:27pm 23/09/07 |
stop eating silly pills taggs
| #32 05:29pm 23/09/07 |
14.2 beer cans not that much, this dude I knew from tafe probably would have drunk the whole lot himself in a week. He was some kind of crazy when it came to alcohol, I think he's cleaned himself up now though. Good thing too else he'd probably be dead from the ammounts he used to drink. |
| #33 05:59pm 23/09/07 |
obviously they weren't going to drink it all themselves
3 guys with $2k worth of alcohol aren't going to have any trouble making friends (it is after all school holidays) and i'm sure they had friends with them anyway |
| #34 06:05pm 23/09/07 |
StopShootingMe
14.2 beer cans Not that much, whoop? Let's see, I make that to be roughly: 10.8 + 1.7 + 1 + 2.2 + 1.8 + 6.6 + 2.5 + 1.4 + 1 = 29 standard drinks per person per day. Not enough to stay s***faced for a week but still enough to keep the average teenager drunk. |
| #35 06:23pm 23/09/07 |
but i wanna
| #36 06:37pm 23/09/07 |
Or maybe its simply that some people have enough money to buy a bentley. You obviously don't watch "My Super Sweet 16" where the parents have no control over anything they just dish out the money when the kid screams. |
| #37 06:37pm 23/09/07 |
Alize, you watch that f***ing s*** man!?!?!?
| #38 06:44pm 23/09/07 |
It's doable, especially when you are younger. But that is an insane amount to drink each day.
| #39 06:56pm 23/09/07 |
who would that have been whoop? (they guy from tafe, I assume you dont mean me).
| #40 06:57pm 23/09/07 |
Alize, you watch that f***ing s*** man!?!?!? Haha watching MTV is force of habit. I usually watch it for a while if the kid is acting like a spoiled retard and rant at the TV for a while. |
| #41 07:29pm 23/09/07 |
uh, because it is quite easy to argue that the carton in the boot is for consumption by the parent - legal. Maybe it was for that one 18 year old for the whole year? Maybe it was for the one 18 year old and all his other 18 year old mates? Way I see it, the 18 year old was within his rights to have the alcohol, and until he supplied minors with it, he had done no wrong. |
| #42 08:14pm 23/09/07 |
did you guys read the article?
There was that stupidly large brawl on straddy island last year and the cops are ensuring this doesn't happen again - by searching cars for grog and the like - which is a good idea. Even if it was *all* for him (doubtful), there is no f***ing way he needs that much grog for a week or even two week holiday. The brawl last year was fueled by grog, so they are cracking down on it, fair play I say. last edited by HeardY at 20:29:58 23/Sep/07 |
| #43 08:29pm 23/09/07 |
Maybe it was for that one 18 year old for the whole year? heh the way you see it maybe this... maybe that... or maybe the cops had a decent reason for their course of action, whether you think they were in a position to predict precisely how the alcohol would be consumed or not. read the article, it seems to indicate exactly that ..and until he supplied minors with it, he had done no wrong.I didn't see any mention of anyone being charged with an offence, why did you make that comment? |
| #44 08:41pm 23/09/07 |
Licensing laws essentially state that if there is reasonable suspicion the alcohol may be consumed by minors, they can act. Similar to those who sell the alcohol to the customer.
And an 18 year old is not considered a guardian for a 17 year old. So yes, the cops were within their rights to do this. |
| #45 08:53pm 23/09/07 |
^
what he said |
| #46 09:32pm 23/09/07 |
lucky the cops caught em before exis rolled the c***s
| #47 09:34pm 23/09/07 |
maybe this... maybe that... or maybe the cops had a decent reason for their course of action, whether you think they were in a position to predict precisely how the alcohol would be consumed or not. read the article, it seems to indicate exactly that From what the news said. The parents were called and the parents requested the police to empty the grog. |
| #48 09:59pm 23/09/07 |
i bet the police bbq was great
| #49 10:16pm 23/09/07 |
saw on the news that they tipped all of it out onto the ground :( such a waste
| #50 10:44pm 23/09/07 |
confiscating it under that premise is one thing, I wonder where justification for tipping it out comes from? I'd have thought it would at least be stored at the local copshop and the owner would have to come pick it up at their expense after a certain period or something
| #51 11:14pm 23/09/07 |
iono man.. 2k for 3 kids aint that much for a week.. i took 1k of alcohol to schoolies just for myself and finished it all..
i slept for 27hrs when i got home, but i did it all :D |
| #52 12:04am 24/09/07 |
saw on the news that they tipped all of it out onto the ground :( such a wasteMan I would have cried :( |
| #53 12:35am 24/09/07 |
sounds like those boys were about to explore each others sexuality to me
| #54 08:01am 24/09/07 |
Watching them pour out the alcohol was pure torture :( All that sweet sweet alcohol - gone.
Surely they could have just seized it and given it to a charity to auction/raffle off? I have to agree with the fact that two teenagers with 19 bottles/cartons of booze for two weeks was highly dangerous and stupid |
| #55 08:05am 24/09/07 |
So for a 1 week holiday, 9 days and there's 3 of them? assuming the cartons are 24 packs? Whoop, there are only 7 days in a week? |
| #56 09:14am 24/09/07 |
one week off, weekend, week, weekend = 9 days
| #57 09:35am 24/09/07 |
We get 2 weeks off :/
| #58 11:04am 24/09/07 |
29 standard drinks eh
say you sleep for a std 8 hours. that leaves 16 hours a day to drink piss. Say you drank piss 16 hours a day. That's just under 2 standard drinks an hour. 1 standard drink is worth a BAC of roughly .02. Your body can disperse .02 BAC per hour. At the end of the day, you have a BAC of .26 - more than 5 times the legal limit. That's nicely drunk. If you paced yourself at 2 std drinks an hour, per person, per day, per waking hour, 3 blokes could polish that amount off and be pretty damn wasted. It is drinkable, however you'd have to be a bit of a madman to have no downtime. Also, i don't know why they didn't just purchase it over there? One bloke is 18, he'd be okay to buy it all. And yeah, as Obes said, i didn't think it was illegal for under age people to drink alcohol, just buy. Also, where exactly were the cops when they found the alcohol? Cos IIRC, 'public place' does not happen until you pass the high tide mark (ie if you're on a ferry/boat/low tide beach you can drink as much piss as you like. amirite?) |
| #59 11:42am 24/09/07 |
they were pulling everyone up when they got off the ferry. anyone who was under 17 and had alcohol on them or in the car got it taken away.
| #60 12:09pm 24/09/07 |
that's some top work by the boys in blue right there =)
| #61 06:29pm 24/09/07 |
spoke to my little bro who's over there at the moment, he was on channel 9 news tonight as one of the kids they interviewed with their faces blurred. he's friends with the kids who owned the ute and apparently that alcohol was for like 15 of them. he got his over earlier but so he's laughing
| #62 06:38pm 24/09/07 |
just another reason why bogans shouldnt breed
or perhaps the reason they do breed so regularly :D |
| #63 06:41pm 24/09/07 |
Hybr|d
Haha just found out the two of the boys in the car were padua and one is ex mt maria.
The ex mt maria is a mate of mine and found out off him that the grog was for him and like 15 of his mates, they just used his ute to take it over. Couldnt stop f***ing laughing. Oh and as for the confiscation, ive heard that point lookout operates under redland shire legislation which allows the cops to confiscate any liquor in the presence of a high-school student regardless as to whether or not they are under or over 18, as a result of the mass fights back in 04/05. |
| #64 10:30pm 24/09/07 |
say you sleep for a std 8 hours. that leaves 16 hours a day to drink piss. Say you drank piss 16 hours a day. That's just under 2 standard drinks an hour. 1 standard drink is worth a BAC of roughly .02. Your body can disperse .02 BAC per hour. At the end of the day, you have a BAC of .26 - more than 5 times the legal limit. That's nicely drunk. Heh... it looks easier when you write it like that. And wasn't this the exact plot of the movie "Cabin Fever"? Haha you guys should totally get it out. |
| #65 11:37pm 24/09/07 |
yeah, but two drinks an hour every waking hour for days on end is just hard work.
| #66 10:33am 25/09/07 |
My point exactly.
| #67 03:28pm 25/09/07 |