Big decision for me, haven't done the console thing since Master System II.
I'm thinking Wii or 360. Haven't even seen one yet so I need a little help. I don't even understand how the cartridges work these days, are they DVDs or Flash drives now? I also know they have some sort of internet capabilities - will they connect to my router, or do I need to subscribe to a special ISP ? Which one has better games? I have previously enjoyed such console games as Alex Kidd, Wonderboy, Sonic - I also liked Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat on arcade, in computers it's pretty much always been fps types like Doom, Wolf, Duke Nukem 3d, uh the CS and Day of Defeat years, GTA, Jedi Knight II, and more recently I enjoy the HL2 source games. I have seen the ads for Mario Party - that looks fun. I am not really into games that look medieval and have warlocks and trolls in them. I actually played the Xbox on the projector at the last QGL lan, I didn't really enjoy that experience. I found the Halo game hard to pay attention to visually, and the controller difficult to use. But it seems to me like serious gamers prefer the Xbox these days, which is a surprise, so perhaps I am willing to give it another crack. So as a modern console noob, the Wii is quite appealing, but I don't want to make a big mistake and not be able to play potentially decent games. I am also interested in whether it is possible to pirate games. Think what you will of that, but if I'm buying something this expensive I would consider that as an added 'value' and it may influence my decision. |
| #0 06:24pm 21/09/07 |
360 ftw
| #1 06:25pm 21/09/07 |
Yeh... aside from the fact that my Wii has been broken for months, it still wasn't getting used when it was working. Definitely fun to have to use now and then, but if you want serious gaming go the PS3.
| #2 06:26pm 21/09/07 |
Kilos
360 for sure
| #3 06:31pm 21/09/07 |
i own both 360 and wii.
wii is s*** for day to day gaming but good for a laugh with friends. 360 has the games AND the people to play against online, right now. if you want to play your console the day you get it, get a 360. if you want to buy a console and wait a couple of months for the possibility of some good games and a substantial amount of people to play against: get the ps3 (or a wii). also: ps2 was awesome, but sony f***ed the psp, who says they wont f*** the ps3? xbox has it right here, right now. |
| #4 06:34pm 21/09/07 |
tough choice
no doubt the 360 has awesome games but ive been using a wii for the last couple of months, and i love it high quality games, games that EVERYONE wants to play (partners, non console players), cheaper than 360 (well, was) id go a wii |
| #5 06:35pm 21/09/07 |
Get a Wii if you want to play Wii Sports 24/7 and a handful of play through and forget zelda/metroid/mario games, Get a PS3 if you want a s***-hot console with no games worth playing and a region locked Hi-def movie player or get an Xbox 360 if you want s*** loads of decent games but the risk that it might crap out on you (there's a 3 year warranty MS warranty now so not as big a deal).
| #6 06:42pm 21/09/07 |
Morgan
360 has different versions.
core has no hdd, premium does 20gb. wii is mad fun, most fun is had with multiplayer however. yeah wii can connect wirelessly or via cable with the addon. xbox 360 comes built in with ethernet port. they just work over the net. media is still discs. if you wanna play the old games you got xbox live arcade or wii virtual console which are both subscription services... last edited by Morgan at 18:46:14 21/Sep/07 |
| #7 06:46pm 21/09/07 |
icewyrm
Find some friends that have them, play them for a few days. Make the decision based on your own playing experience, it's the only way to go.
| #8 06:51pm 21/09/07 |
fyi, res evil 4 on wii was single player and the most fun ive had gaming in a long time
lots of new wii games are coming out multiplayer games on wii are awesome we did tennis in the boardroom at work the other week, and there was a large group of us laughing histerically for a good portion of the nite that said, i cremed my pants watching a mate play gears of war on 360 and id buy one, just to play forza |
| #9 06:52pm 21/09/07 |
I'm thinking of buying a 360, but I don't have a broadband net for it, so which one should I get?
Should I go premium or just get the core? |
| #10 06:53pm 21/09/07 |
can you connect to the net wirelessly with xbox360?
| #11 07:04pm 21/09/07 |
^^ yes with a wifi adapter
+1 for 360 I'm thinking of buying a 360, but I don't have a broadband net for it, so which one should I get? as far as I'm aware the only difference is the cable, controller and perhaps the storage options you get. All xboxes come with free (silver) xbox live membership, mine came with 1 month free gold membership trial which caused me to waste my entire cap in about a week downloading all the awesome arcade games on xbox live :( last edited by whoop at 19:19:01 21/Sep/07 |
| #12 07:19pm 21/09/07 |
I also agree that the Wii is only really fun as a multiplayer device.
Playing by yourself is kinda gay 'cause many of the exclusive Wii games are for kids :/ |
| #13 07:52pm 21/09/07 |
First of all do you have a high definition TV? I had a 360 for about a year on a SD display and thought it was okay but then I bought an LCD HD and finally realised what I was missing out on. I remember thinking that the 360 wasn't that much of a step up graphically from an xbox but that all changed when it was running at 720p. What I am trying to say is if you don't have an HD display maybe that will influence you more towards a Wii.
But even then I would probably go for a 360; the games on it far out surpass the Wii. Gears of War, Bioshock, MASS f***ING EFFECT, Halo 3... nothing the Wii has or will have compares to any of those titles. I've never been a big fan of multiplayer on the 360 because you always seem to get matched up with overseas players. I started this thread on SA. That is a huge list of aussie and nz gamertags. If you get a 360 you can whack all those names into your friends list and you'll have heaps of instant aussie contacts to play with (any goons here post in the thread to get the list bigger). I am spoilt for choice because I bought a 360 and my brother got a Wii. I find myself playing the 360 a lot more. Forget the PS3. |
| #14 07:59pm 21/09/07 |
Lynx
Nintendo's online service is totally free. There is no subscription, though you still have to pay for games you download via the virtual console. Nes games are $7.50, SNES $12 and N64 games are $15.
The Xbox360 has the best visuals/sound and online service. The games are great too. Best choice if you want an online experience. As for single player, If your into shooters, Xbox is were the action is. If the controls are too much to handle, get a mouse and a keyboard. Also good for Racing games. If you have friends over often, get a Wii. The multiplayer games on the Wii are second to none. Brawl is going to be huge and will likely outsell Halo3, eventually. As for singleplayer, Wii is looking promising with a Spore title and plenty of Sim games in the works. Medal of Honor Heroes 2, Red Steal 2, Resident Evil and Metroid for the shooters. Super Mario Galaxy is WoWing everyone who sees it. If your getting a Wii, your getting Mario. Wii Sports was a huge hit and come free with each Wii. Be on the look out for the upcoming sequels to the Wii Sports minigames, plus a plethora of casual orientated games. last edited by Lynx at 20:17:52 21/Sep/07 |
| #15 08:17pm 21/09/07 |
Twilight Princess is an awesome game which will immerse you for a couple of weeks on the Wii, and Metroid Prime 3 is due out in a month or so. If you have kids, or are likely to host parties where minigames are the way to go, WiiSports, Rayman Raving Rabbids and Super Monkey Ball are certainly worth looking at.
With the Virtual Console on it, I guess you could probably also get hold of some old games like Mario 3, Mario Kart (Super, 64, maybe even Double Dash for the cube), Rock'N'Roll Racing, Battletoads, and dozens more for the same purpose - and then there's a ton worth playing single player. And of course you have the entire library of GCN games to choose from - Soul Calibur 2 definately being worth a look if you like beat-em-ups. Frankly I couldn't give a stuff about uber-high-res graphics that we see in things like Oblivion, but that's just me. For XBox I bought two games (NHL Hitz and Destroy all Humans), and for PSX I bought one (Soul Blade). |
| #16 08:34pm 21/09/07 |
Playing by yourself is kinda gay 'cause many of the exclusive Wii games are for kids :/ Twilight Princess is definately not a game I'd give to a 12 year old to play. Midna is a nasty little bugger before you learn about her! |
| #17 08:35pm 21/09/07 |
get a ps3 when mgs4 comes out
| #18 08:59pm 21/09/07 |
If you've got a good PC and what something refreshing and different get a Wii. If your PC isn't so good or you want more of the kind of stuff you get on it, get a 360.
If you've got enough $$, get both. |
| #19 09:22pm 21/09/07 |
360, it rocks
| #20 09:30pm 21/09/07 |
I had a 360 for about a year on a SD display and thought it was okay but then I bought an LCD HD and finally realised what I was missing out on. Same here, I thought it looked similar to my ps2 when I first saw it on my tv, then I hooked it up to my computer monitor and holy f***ing s*** does it ever look like absolute sex. Also if you don't have an HD TV you can get a VGA cable from any decent electronics/gaming store and hook it up to a PC monitor, depending on whether your monitor has a removable cord or not you might need a db15 high density gender changer (I got mine from jaycar). |
| #21 10:20pm 21/09/07 |
Tael
you might need a db15 high density gender changerThe Microsoft Xbox 360 VGA cable comes with a gender changer. |
| #22 11:32pm 21/09/07 |
I'll prolly grab a 360 when Guitar Hero 3 comes out. I was gonna wait until Rock Band but I don't think I can hold out until then. Also have to buy Guitar Hero 2 on 360 because I'm not sure if you can buy guitars separately for the 360. If you can locally please let me know.
| #23 11:45pm 21/09/07 |
when people here say wii is great for multipplayer they mean local multiplayer not online, the online sucks giant donkey balls on wii.
if you want great multiplayer ONLINE go 360 |
| #24 11:50pm 21/09/07 |
I have a wii. I don't like kiddie games and have 2 HD tvs. aww what a bad decision to make hahaha. Now just waiting for the PS3 to be slightly cheaper.
| #25 12:29am 22/09/07 |
The Microsoft Xbox 360 VGA cable comes with a gender changer. must only be the genuine ms cable then coz mine sure didn't :( |
| #26 12:51am 22/09/07 |
Yeah, another vote for 360, so much good stuff on there to play and heaps more coming out before the end of the year. I mean, I have a Wii as well, and I like the Wii, and theres some cool stuff coming out on the Wii, but if I had to choose one console to own it'd be the 360. Also, go for the Premium package, even though the Core package might be tempting because its cheaper, it doesn't come with a hard drive or wireless controllers or a remote control. If you buy a core package, then go and buy a hard drive later on, you actually end up paying more than if you just bought a premium package up front. And dont underestimate the value of the remote either, I never really use it much until recently when I've started streaming videos and stuff off my PC to the my 360 so I can watch them in the lounge room, and its so much easier to control it with a remote in instances like that, I'm a big fan of the remote now.
PS3 isn't really even worth buying at the moment as a games console, it has a lot of potential, and I'm sure over the coming years that potential will be realised, but right now its a pretty hollow experience (and an expensive one to boot). Also, you mentioned you play the original XBox at a LAN but didn't really like it? Well you shouldn't let that influence you too much, cos the XBox 360 has been pretty heavily redesigned and isn't much like the original XBox. Its a pretty sexy beast :) |
| #27 01:59am 22/09/07 |
I'm getting a Wii, mostly because of kids and I want to play games with my Partner who is a bit noobish at games. Wii sports and other party games are what she likes.
Also the little one goes fkn nuts after playing games like Halo2. So I could only imagine the 360 being worse, based on the games available. If it was for just me.... Hrm I'd probably go the 360 mainly for exclusive titles like Mass Effect. Luckily I'm a Gamer so I like playing lots of games :D |
| #28 08:03am 22/09/07 |
I got the Wii.
Once I started talking about it my girlfriend got really excited about the Wii. And so far she's played it more than me. So I guess the social aspect was a selling factor. Nintendos also bound to have more of the classic games available I reckon. Also the fact that it's so different to PC games was appealing. Plus it was cheaper than splashing out on the 2nd best 360. So far it's pretty impressive, but it's all a bit gimmicky, so I'll need a good game to sink my teeth into, maybe some old games if I can get them. Cooking Mama ain't so exciting. Looking at the shop channel thing now... |
| #29 06:03pm 22/09/07 |
Idol if your experience is the same as mine - gf will lose interest with wii and you will be left wanting more gaming games. you'll end up with a 360 in 2-3 months.
| #30 06:34pm 22/09/07 |
There is not one game worth buying on the ps3, add to that all games that have been released on both the 360 and PS3 have run better and looked better on the 360.
No one in their right mind will spend a thousand dollars just to play MGS4 and whatever final fantasy game, because kojima has said that a 360 port of MGS4 is completely possible but it will not come out until after the ps3 release. |
| #31 07:42pm 22/09/07 |
so I'll need a good game to sink my teeth into So does every other Wii owner... So far the best game (that could actually be considered a real game) that I've played on my Wii is Resident Evil 4, and its not even a Wii game, its just a port of a gamecube game with some obligatory Wii controls thrown in. Granted, its an awesome game, so if you haven't played it before then definitely grab it, but if its real games that you can sink your teeth into that you're looking for, you shoulda gone a 360. No one in their right mind will spend a thousand dollars just to play MGS4 I probably will :( As much as I'll hate myself afterwards, and as much as I don't really care about the PS3, I know that when MGS4 comes out I just wont be strong enough to resist. Though thats still March next year at the earliest, so its hardly immiment, I have a little while to pray for a price drop... last edited by Khel at 19:47:43 22/Sep/07 |
| #32 07:47pm 22/09/07 |
crazymorton
+1 360
ps2 recently died....got 360 while waiting for repair.....have since traded to 360 and never going back.... awesome games... |
| #33 08:41pm 22/09/07 |
for those of you who do have a 360 and live (silver or gold) check out the viva pinata party animals demo, I did some of the levels on it :)
| #34 10:34am 23/09/07 |
So close to getting a 360 today after work. JB's at MacGregor only had the Halo 3 consoles left and I don't really wanna pay $150 more for a Halo themed 360. Couldn't be bothered going to Garbo and dealing with crowds so I'll have to put it off for a little longer.
Damn you!! |
| #35 02:55pm 23/09/07 |
those halo 3 consoles look like arse, f***ing ugly colour
if you get one, pick up fight night round 3, I think it's about $40 now and it's an awesome 2 player game |
| #36 04:14pm 23/09/07 |
i want an xbox now, and a 40inch lcd tv please :(
also, anyone have one of the xbox 'elite' versions? if so are they worth getting over the normal super duper ones |
| #37 06:17pm 23/09/07 |
ok new problem.
I have decided I want to buy some old cheap Gamecube games to play on the wii, since they're probably cheaper and more plentiful than wii games. Now I need a controller that can play Gamecube games, which I figure could either be an old gamecube controller, or the 'classic controller' attachment for the wiimote. Apparently the 'classic controller' attachment has the two joystick thumb button things for compatibility with Gamecube games - but I've read on the Internets and such that you really do need an actual Gamecube controller for some games, and you can only use the 'classic controller' attachment for other games like old SNES games. I also notice the 4 button configuration on the Gamecube controller is very strange and might not be good for Mortal Kombat or Street Fighter type kick/punch button layouts... Does anyone have experience with this? |
| #38 08:25pm 24/09/07 |
Lynx
You can't use the classic controller for GCN games that make use of the analog shoulder button, since the classic only has digital.
| #39 08:34pm 24/09/07 |
Tael
GameCube games need GameCube controllers, as the Wii switches to "GameCube mode". Virtual Console stuff uses the Classic Contoller, some games also support the GameCube controller. NES, Megadrive and TurboGrafx-16 games can be played with just the Wii Remote too.
| #40 08:38pm 24/09/07 |
I was also considering getting a new console (Wii to be specific), but it seems like the 360 is better regarded in most aspects. Now that i think about it, the Wii wouldn't be anywhere near as good once the novelty of the controller wore off.
Think i'll look into getting a 360 now especially with Halo 3 coming out, and the fact that i have a HD tv (side note - whats the HD dvd player add-on like.. worth getting one? Or wait till either blu-ray or HD technology has developed more and is more affordable). |
| #41 08:58pm 24/09/07 |
cheers tael
| #42 09:32pm 24/09/07 |
all I wanna know is can i plug my 360 in @ the high res shizzle into my benq fp222 and play in awesome high def? if i can then thats another sold
| #43 09:42pm 24/09/07 |
im waiting till i can afford samsung 40inch lcd tv and xbox360 at the same time. will be awesome.
| #44 09:48pm 24/09/07 |
I found that Wii is the party console... i also found that there lies the problem... all the games pretty much for Wii have been given that party feel with only a select few having a bit more seriousness about them.... 360 has way more games and better gfx.. but tbh fuk microsoft they screwed me over 4 times with my xbox so i aint touching an of their consoles in future.
| #45 10:05pm 24/09/07 |
I know I say this a lot, but I really don't agree that the Wii is the best party console. The best Wii party games are still loaded with problems. Anybody who knows how to play any of the sports in WiiSports will get frustrated at how the game wil PUNISH you for having proper form. Anybody who knows how to take even a half decent drive will scream in frustration as the power meter goes overboard, does that squiggly thing, and the ball ends up in the rough. Ravin' Rabbids can be a lot of fun. The only problem I have with it is different play modes. A lot of the mini games are consecutive play, not simultaneous.
ATM I'd recommend picking up a PS2 (dirt cheap these days) and get things like singstar and guitar hero for multiplayer/party fun, and get a 360 for solo fun and GH3/Rock Band down the track. You'll be all set for some mad party gaming experiences as well as some mind blowing solo player/online experiences. all I wanna know is can i plug my 360 in @ the high res shizzle into my benq fp222 and play in awesome high def? if i can then thats another sold Yeah dude I think one of my old housemates used to do this on the same/similar monitor and it looked a f*** load better than the dodgy SD TV in the lounge. last edited by Crizane Tribal at 22:09:40 24/Sep/07 |
| #46 10:09pm 24/09/07 |
actually i found wii golf compliments people who've played.. i played it for about 4hrs with a mate.. my bro who plays golf few times a month comes home and kicks the s*** out of both of us.
| #47 10:29pm 24/09/07 |
| #47 |