Topic: Good spots for camping
nat
Looking for a good spot to go camping with a bunch of mates.

Looking for somewhere that is within an hour or two drive from Brisbane. Only prerequisites is that it's within an hour or two drive from brizzy, and needs to be on the coast somewhere where I can have a surf. Other than that i'm totally open to suggestions :)
http://camp-fear.planethalflife.gamespy.com/de_dust0029.jpg
Dodgymon
Moreton or Staddie I would recommend.
exemplar thats a desert dude, not the coast.

youd be better off in dm3 near the red armour and rl area. plenty of water there
rainbow beach , inskipp pt. or frazer island ... further south n you'll be lookin at caravan parks coz the coast is so built up these days. inskipp n frazer you can camp on the beach (gotta get a permit though i think). the surfing isn't so good in this area though as it has protective reefs which makes the swell pretty small... but if you go a bit south from rainbow beach there are some decent surfing beachs (unpatrolled). unless you meant the south coast in which case i have nfi.
+1 for rainbow
moreton is closer and feels so far away when you get there,

or, red armour and quad damage.
If you have a 4wd;
Double Island Beach camping (Or the Freshwater Campsite if you need toilet/Showers) is good and it's a short drive up to the point for Surfing.
Morton is really good.
Fraiser too.
Some good beach Camp sites on Straddie

Non-4WD;
Heaps of Caravan Parks on Straddie too.
Rainbow
Inskip is ok
Just camp on Cylinder

Easy walk to two nice breaks
Easy walk to Bottle-O and little Pub
Easy walk to breakfast

& you get the most beautiful breeze through there at night, plus there might be some youngins for you to abuse
Flinders is the best if you have a larger group though. Open fires ftw.

As long as the beach is still accessible.. storms have been knocking out the Point Lookout access last few years :(
Just camp on Cylinder

Yeah, if you're lucky, you get a whole 2x2m Square all to yourself too!
You could even pay for two areas, how expensive that would be!@#?
The Cheapest camping I could see at Cylinder (For Single Adult) was $25.
So 2 Sites is just over 11 times more expensive then a Beach Camp site.

You also wouldn't have to put up with Young kids Crying or Slightly older young kids being cocks.
another vote for cooloola/rainbow
One f***ing massive vote for Broken Head Caravan Park/ just south of Byron. It is f***ing awesome. It was so cheap when we stayed there, and it is not too big and secluded. Although it isn't literally on the beach, it's less than 200 metres walk away and when you hit the beach you have about 20km all to yourself. First time I stayed there I went out for a surf in a huge surf and struggled to get out the back, when I did I realised there was a pod of dolphins less than a stone's throw away! We've stayed there a couple of times since then and it has never disappointed us.
definitely a bit further away than 1 or 2 hours from brisbane tho mate :)
Yeh it's about 2 on a good run from memory.
double island point
depends where you live north or southside.

2 hours from southside best would be down byron way for sure. plenty of parks around but also just find some deserted beach and camp off the beach in teh scrub.

if northside definately head up cooloola region. even bight the bullet and head up as far as walkers point/ 30 mins south of bundy is a nice spot.

i reckon bight the bullet sacrifice about 3 hours of driving and the isolation will be right up your ally tiger. if its not your style bugger the swell and go west life is peaceful there. (pun overload sorry)
couple of blokes ..huggin.. kissin... thats some serious s***.

if you were big on surfing im sure youd know all the spots along the north and south coasts anyways so if its just swimming you are after heaps of sweet waterholes and rock pools and stony creeks all around brissie in a 3 hour radius. you will find a place to camp and drink your piss and smoke your stuff if thats what you get into.

last edited by sleepy at 21:16:50 19/Sep/07
ne f***ing massive vote for Broken Head Caravan Park/ just south of Byron. It is f***ing awesome. It was so cheap when we stayed there, and it is not too big and secluded. Although it isn't literally on the beach, it's less than 200 metres walk away and when you hit the beach you have about 20km all to yourself. First time I stayed there I went out for a surf in a huge surf and struggled to get out the back, when I did I realised there was a pod of dolphins less than a stone's throw away! We've stayed there a couple of times since then and it has never disappointed us.

haha. my family camped in that caravan park for like the first 14 years of my life religiously every year at christmas..

I'd say DI for sure, was there 2 weekends ago, pretty nice spot. Going to moreton on sunday.

don't recommend straddie.. prolly coz iv f***ing been there 10 thousand times
heh what a dill I totally misread billy's post, I had read it as broken bay
in the backyard
double island for sure

great beach great camping great fishing surf the point ice man drives up and down the beach with ice milk bread etc short trip into rainbow for supplies whales swim past open fires secluded camp sites what else could you want
nat
that sounds well rad

looks like i'd need a 4WD to get there from rainbow beach though?

the whole rainbow beach/cooloola area is sounding blooding good anyhow, can anyone tell me if i need to book a site for rainbow beach or inskip point? or do i just rock up on the day?
Last time I was there, it was packed, but that was during holidays. Take the mozzie repelent too.
i've only ever required one wheel drive to get to inskip pt... 4wd seems like overkill ;p srsly tho... i've seen people in falcons driving along rainbow beach... depends on how confident a sand driver you are n how much you like digging cars outta sand ;p a 4wd or trailbikes is prolly the go.

you dont need a permit to drive on the beach from rainbow to inskip... but you do need permits to camp on the beach if nothing has changed since i went there a few years back.

also.. after a brief squiz... this site has a lotta infos.
To Camp on the Beach at Double Island you need to pre-book. Same for Freshwater Camp site.

Easiest way to get there is to take the Ferry across Noosa River and drive up Teewah beach. Driving down from Rainbow beach you have to pick the tide so you can make it around the rocks/Trees near the Head Crossing.
Going from south doesn't rely on Tides as much (Though you'd still want to go on a lowish tide)

https://www.epa.qld.gov.au/parks/iaparks/gds/IAGDS030.do
Has most of the info you'd need.
you can't even get up to mudlow rocks now from the closest headland to fresh water.

tehrs about 10thousand dead trees that block the way, at low tide
Last time I was up there you could just make it past those trees +/- 1hr low tide. Had to dodge any big wash though.

Rocks had heaps of beach around them though.

Next time they have a decent tide cycle it will change again....
heh demon I used to take my xf falcon ute up there 10 years or so ago, maybe it was me you saw :D air down to about 18psi, never had any trouble
nat
thanks fellas. i think we're just gonna head up to the campsite at rainbow beach or one of the ones at inskip point since none us have very competent sand driving skillz/vehicles (mitsubishi mirage)

had a look around the websites, doesnt look like we need to pre-book or anything...just rock up on the day, buy a permit, and go look for a place to pitch?

ps. by "treat water before drinking"...do they mean just boil it?
could be jim :D last time i went to frazer island was in 96 i think :P n yer... even on frazer there where ppl getting around in 2wd cars. my werk crew that i went with helped this young japanese couple who were bogged in th sand... & they were on one of those huge touring trailbikes.. i think it was a honda xlv750.. buried upto both axles in wetsand. lol. dug em out n got em going on the hard sand again... all of us shaking our heads as they wobbled unstably off :P

nat: dunno about treating your water... we always brought our own water in massive eski bottles (or wateva ya call those things!@!#) & would refill them at resorts.
camp at Hasting point Caravon park or Camp near Kingscliff just drive distance, about 1 mins.

or maroon dam about 25 mins from beaudesert, they have cabin or tent anywhere.
also carvarvon gorge national park naer roma, it been great over there, they've a good warm hot water by gas and bush walk, I been there by the school camping with students.

They've HQ and events.
He wanted to be near the Beach for a Surf SB :p

Not too sure about Inskip, but if you plan to camp in a National Park campsite some places require you to pre-book yet others just have a 'Self Regestration' booth where you fill out a form and dump your money in at the camp ground.

'Treat' the water is just boil yeah. Treat it the way you'd treat Tank wayer or water from a fresh flowing creek... most of the time i'd just drink it... but thats me.

Edit: As Demon said, usually just carry a 20L water Jug (that will last me 4-6 days) and use the Tap water for Washing dishes and stuff.

last edited by Scooter at 12:29:53 21/Sep/07