Morsar
Hey guys,
Right I've got a few video card issues and before I go out buying a new video card I just wanted to make sure it isn't me being a newb. My PC build is this: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert AMD Athlon 64 3700+ 2x Cosair 1Gig PC3200 (CMX1024 - 3200C2) Gainward 7800 GTX WD 80 gig HDD - IDE Antec Super Lanboy w/ Antec NeoHE 500w PSU In the past 3 hours I've been getting coloured specs on the screen and artifacts and when I try to bring up the start menu the screen starts flickering on and off. On boot I'm getting XP telling me that the video card has caused system instability and failed to complete a drawing operation. Hoping this was caused by faulty drivers I booted in Safe mode and uninstalled the drivers used driver cleaner pro to remove the drivers and installed new drivers but to no avail the same problems occured. Now I'm pretty sure my video card has had it. Now if it is my video card. What video card would you suggest I be looking at to replace the 7800.. A 7900 perhaps? Looking at spending $300-350. Any help would be appreciated. Cheers guys |
| #0 04:57pm 11/06/07 |
RAM on your card has crapped itself, Gainward used to have a decent warranty period. Where did you buy it from? Take it back to them an check your warranty. For around the sorta cash you looking to dish out, try an get either a 7950 or a lower end 8x00 series (8500, 8600, 8800). I have seen quite a few heat issues with the Albatron 8600's so steer clear of them if you decide to swing up that direction.
| #1 05:15pm 11/06/07 |
Sounds pretty likely its rooted, check the heatsink/fan is it clogged with dust? If so clean it and see if it improves. Could also try using something to downclock the card temporarily and see if that stops the artifacting.
Replacement card for that price range 8600 GTS or if you can stretch a little bit futher 8800GTS 320meg version. According to statice.com.au MSY has an ECS 8800GTS 320meg for $379, as long as you aren't a brand whore it would be quite a nice upgrade on a 7800 card. |
| #2 05:17pm 11/06/07 |
Morsar
Cheers for the reply HermiTech. The card is outta warranty probably, I got it from a mate about 6 months ago and he wouldn't have any idea where he bought it or any receipt for that matter.
I'm thinking either XFX GeForce 8600GTS 256M Dual DVI TV Out 675Mhz or Leadtek WinFast GeForce 8600GTS 256MB Dual DVI 675Mhz not sure which. Price is pretty much the same, from umart anyways. XFX = $299 and Leadtek = $285 |
| #3 05:37pm 11/06/07 |
Morsar
Seeing as WoW is pretty much the only game I play atm and very rarely play anything else I'm thinking of going with something similar in the way of performance to the 7800.
| #4 05:42pm 11/06/07 |
Dude if you're willing to spring up to $350 I'd throw down an extra $50 for a 8800 GTS. That way you've got a DX10 card ready for when teh games start trickling out for it, and it kicks ass.
| #5 05:54pm 11/06/07 |
The ATI 2900 is starting to get good reviews.
| #6 06:02pm 11/06/07 |
I agree with DX10 comments. Might as well be prepared...
| #7 06:42pm 11/06/07 |
Dude if you're willing to spring up to $350 I'd throw down an extra $50 for a 8800 GTS. That way you've got a DX10 card ready for when teh games start trickling out for it, and it kicks ass. I have one of these and it does indeed go well. I also saw the nanosuit design in action crysis video last night and omfg I want that game to hurry up and be released already |
| #8 06:47pm 11/06/07 |
If WOW is your only concern an 8600GTS will take care of that no worries.
| #9 12:14am 12/06/07 |
Seeing as WoW is pretty much the only game I play atm wtf? oh crap! I helped a WoW player |
| #10 03:45pm 12/06/07 |
Morsar
Least I don't play on blackrock.. That's gotta count for something
| #11 05:17pm 12/06/07 |