Topic: Gay pub can ban straights
A MELBOURNE pub catering for gay men has won the right to refuse entry to heterosexuals in a landmark ruling at the state planning tribunal.

The owners of Collingwood's Peel Hotel applied to ban straight men and women to try to prevent "sexually based insults and violence" towards its gay patrons.

The Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal last week granted the pub an exemption to the Equal Opportunity Act, effectively prohibiting entry to non-homosexuals.

"This is one of the only free venues with live music in the area, so certainly some people may feel a bit unhappy about the decision."

story

I bet that if any pub or club tried to do this to keep out gays would seriously cop some crap. I know they mention that it's to allow gays to have a space of there own, but it doesn't really promote equality. I hate to see how they would check if you're gay or not...
"excuse me sir, if you would just step over here and suck this dick, then you can head straight on in!"
trillion
Just wondering, where would lesbos find themselves in this one? Some of them getting around could easily pass for men to the untrained eye; and they'd probably suck a dick or two to get in somewhere.
re-read the first sentence
Ironic discrimination?

What if a homosexual person wants to bring in a hetrosexual friend? I can see there being some backlash.
that's profound
theyre allowed to.. that doesnt mean they will

also, if a woman sucks cock to get into somewhere, im pretty sure that means theyre not really a lesbian even if they do have larger testicles than some men

last edited by Freewheelin at 01:02:16 28/May/07
But isn't it ridiculous that you need the government to tell you that your business can discriminate?

It should be a business's right to discriminate not just against white, affluent breeders who don't particularly need protection from the government, but against whomever it feels like.

if they keep making enough money with the loss in clientele and possible boycott from people who don't like their discrimination, then good on em
Yeah this is stupid. How exactly are they going to tell gay men from straight men? I know some pretty macho, 'blokey' gay guys who seem straight, and I also know some mincing, sissy straight who seem gay. They should sell their gaydar tech to make a profit.

Overall, I'm guessing they just have this in place to deny access to anybody who looks like they're there to start trouble. Surely if a straight guy rocked up with a gay mate for a drink and some live tunes they'd be cool with it. I think the sad part is that a business would feel a need to make a law like that in this day and age. What kind of neanderthal, pig-headed f***tard goes around starting trouble with somebody for being gay? Any c*** who wants to take a swing at one of my gay friends just for being gay is gonna have to face me too.
undercover security doing random chatups inside the pub would be awesome

"sorry i´m not gay"
"going to need some backup in sector 4"
choke him.
I reckon they'll do the old "there's something stuck to the bottom of your shoe" trick. If the subject lifts their foot up before them and looks down to check, they're straight. If they lift their leg up behind them and look over their shoulder to check, they're gay. It's bulletproof. There's the fingernail test too.
isnt doing this discrimination against straight ppl.. god i hate what the world is coming to...

This sets a pretty dangerous precedent. It's going to make it much easier for bars to ban gay people without issues.
oh but raven when that happens the gays will have an up-roar and fight it and win because its discrimination against a minority... its life, the majority get f***ed over and over by the minorities slowly taking control over everything
damn gays...
"This is LESBOS!"
I agree with whoever said business owners should be allowed to discriminate against whoever they want.
korbs
Seems silly that they would ban all straight guys, since first and foremost they are a business and they'd be stupid to turn away all that business offhand.

I wonder if there is a serious problem though- do straight guys go to 'gay clubs/pubs' just to throw some insults around ? I would have thought that if the pub made itself known as a gay pub, then that would be enough to turn away most of the 'prejudiced straight bloke' demographic.
they have been given the right to refuse entry, doesn't mean they are going to refuse entry to every straight person.
Seems silly that they would ban all straight guys, since first and foremost they are a business and they'd be stupid to turn away all that business offhand.
I agree; how hard can it be to find people doing "sexually based insults and violence" and throw them out/have them arrested?
i can picture it now, a picture of a stereotypical mincing gay and a sign saying 'you must be this gay to enter'
ahahah insom

first to photoshop that wins a cookie
you must be this gay to enter
hahha
blahnana
well played
Jim I think you have set the threshold a little high imo
boba
but what of the straight guy who likes an appletini
i'll (h5) that!
Coochie
If they're just doing it to be able to selectively turn away people who look like trouble why can't they use the techniques every other niteclub uses...the wrong shoes/you've had too much/we're too full etc...the too many guys one probably wouldn't work at a gay man bar.

This wreaks of gay activists just trying to make a point.

Lots of Lebs cause trouble at niteclubs but you can't ban Lebs from clubs (rightly so) so why should you be able to ban straight people?

That being said I'm not going to loose sleep about not being able to go to a flaming gay bar. But what's next? Signs out the front of bars saying "No n*****s"?
this seems silly.. but.. y do you guys care so much? theres plenty more gaybars you guys can hang out at and pick up in..
It's all about discrimination Superform, it's ok for gays to ban straights but not the other way around. Not really fair.
this is qgl afterall superform
Waiting for the straight white people only no jews or irish club.
do we really care?
i dont think we do, unless we are a little uptight (and possibly gay and trying to hide it)
myWhiteWolf
theres plenty more gaybars you guys can hang out at and pick up in..
this is possibly the most dumbest statement ever.

wow.... just wow...

Brilliant publicity stunt, imagine the f*****s queuing up to get in there
this is possibly the most dumbest statement ever.

someones in denial
why do you fags care that you can't get into a gay club
whoah, I just had a flashback to 11:28am and 12:57pm when superform and spook ALREADY ASKED THE SAME QUESTION&*@^#%@
is that like a Lost flashback. did it make the whoosh sound?
i personally would like to hear the faghag point of view
good point persay...

who will the gay guy palm there faghag off to when they come up and try to crack onto you and you tell them your straight...

gay guy: "oh thats cool, u should meet my (100kg) friend"
"Ironic discrimination?

What if a homosexual person wants to bring in a hetrosexual friend? I can see there being some backlash."

I think they wouldn't ask the question they'd just... assume.
the most dumbest

This is possibly the worst grammer ever.

I dont think they should be allowed to refuse entry purely based on someones sexuality. Especially when it is not something physically obvious in most cases, like 'This is the gentlemens club, and I can see your boobs'.
If they dont want conflicts with their clientelle, then they should be refusing entry for other stupid things like incorrect dress, like someone else mentioned.
This ruling has just opened a whole can of worms, people who are going to use this ruling as precedent in their cases, and then god help us.
Im frankly surprised that a decision like this could be made in our country at this time, I thought we had come further.
Also, I didnt know a whole lot of heteros liked hanging out in gay bars, unless of course your with gay friends or something. Interesting.

Oh and this has all come about because people are mean and intollerant.

/rant

last edited by captivate at 16:13:04 28/May/07
It's all about discrimination Superform, it's ok for gays to ban straights but not the other way around. Not really fair.

It would probably be ok to ban gays from "straight" bars if gays caused straight people enough grief by the same means as in this court case.
If they dont want conflicts with their clientelle, then they should be refusing entry for other stupid things like incorrect dress, like someone else mentioned.

They probably already do reject people for those other things too.

I'm all for banning people from clubs who are most likely going to cause trouble. That's why I like the RE - anyone can go wearing whatever they want and they are all as likely as the next guy to be killed by a bouncer.

cJay
Hotel reports homophobic backlash to ruling on patrons
The owner of the Peel Hotel in Melbourne says there has already been a backlash after the pub won the right to turn away heterosexual patrons.

Hotel management applied to the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT) for an exemption to the Equal Opportunity Act.

It is concerned about the growing number of heterosexual men and women directing insults and abuse at its mainly gay patrons.

Owner Tom McFeely says there has been an increase in abusive homophobic phone calls to the Collingwood hotel since the decision became public.

"The phone honestly hasn't stopped ringing and that's sad but it also in my head demonstrates the need for this type of thing, because there is still quite a bit of homophobia within the general community," he said.

The VCAT decision gives the hotel the right to refuse entry to people considered a threat to the safety and comfort of its patrons.

why would you want to hang out at that place anyway ?? unless you are that way inclined.
It's not really that we'd want to hang out there Skitza, it's the fact that this place can now discriminate against others, and no doubt others will attempt to do the same thing. It's opened a pandora's box.
homosexuals regularly engage in a repulsive, unhygenic act. So who cares what they think anyway.
They allow a pub to ban straight people from going in yet they rip down the ES "n*****" Brown stand.. where's all the justice in this world gone!
when did f*****s become so open... burn em all.
Suckah-Free
What a bunch of f***ing f*****s.

It's like hetros have become a minority all of the sudden and the homos are out for revenge.

When homos attack, lawl.

it's like most things though...

i've never heard of an all male gym, however there are a bunch of female only gyms... now if someone made an all male gym (who the f*** would want to) $20 says there would be outrage from women...

kinda the same thing here.. but what straight guy would go into a gay club anyway? besides existence?
Interesting they had to go to all this trouble. In queensland licensed venues are allowed to refuse entry for any reason (for example where I work you can't enter if you have any large visible tattoos) so if we didn't want homos we'd just tell them they are too drunk or something.
The pub is not banning straight guys from entering. It won the right to refuse entry on the basis of sexuality. The owner said they're not gonna blanket ban straight guys, it's so they can turn people away if heaps of straight people show up, to ensure that the gay patrons can act freely (ie pash other gays or whatever they do) without fear of insult / assault / embarrassment whatever.

The decision essentially enables this pub to do exactly what other clubs do - turn away guys when there are already too many dudes inside. I don't understand how people can be upset about this decision. Unless you are an ignorant homophobe. Pandora's box - pfft.
what nubbin said. I love you
Lets just wait and see then as to how many other sites/venues will try to use this as an excuse to refuse entry to women, men, over 30's, under 30's, blacks, whites, people with beards, people who wear bandanas etc.
f*** yeah, their business, their right to refuse entry to whomever they feel like

anything less is communism
Lets just wait and see then as to how many other sites/venues will try to use this as an excuse to refuse entry to women, men, over 30's, under 30's, blacks, whites, people with beards, people who wear bandanas etc.
Pssst, this is already happening and has been happening for years.
I'm an ignorant homophobe, but the decision doesn't upset me
anything less is communism

Anything more would be akin to apartheid.
Jim wins the thread, poor Torg :(
i say "BAN 'EM ALL!!! and let GOD sort em out."

or was that "SHOOT 'EM ALL!!! and let GOD sort 'em out"

well ban 'em then, shoot 'em then, let god sort em out.

it took 45 federal marshalls to bring me down.... now let us never speak of this again.

**i liked the "grammer" "grammar" slip up. i see what you did there... or did you. hmmm**

i agree with most here. it goes dead against equal rights which is nearly a catch cry for homos. i guess it goes against the whole definition of equal in the phrase equakl rights. i think a business can descriminate against whoever they like. they will have to deal with the consequences however with some crazy violent motherf***ers who wont take a walk elsewhere if they arent welcome. but hey thats why they hire big guys/girls who can fight. (well at least in groups)

i dont know the laws on this much at all but i'm pretty sure you can refuse to sell items in a store to people or knock people back in a hotel/motel/resort for no real reason. why not a club. they do everywhere for various reasons.

pull up a bit of carpet for this one...

i hooked up with a girl at a christmas party once and it was kinda a strange situation being the girl was one of the bosses sisters. we didnt have many places to go because all of work group were all over the city in different groups. we wanted to go somewhere for a few more drinks so wandered down to valley. we figured knowing there were no known poofs at work if they spotted us there there would be bargaining power right there.(well we came to that conclusion later) we didnt get any hassels there. we paid for our drinks found as quiet a spot in a gay bar you can find -- dooz dooz dooz -- and got to know eachother really well. well except for the dragons and ninjas of course.
and got to know eachother really well.

You forgot to finish the story.... Then you went home with a fat gay guy and got pounded up the ass
but yer clubs pretty much already do this all the time anyway, i wasn't let into the gpo last weekend because some dude infront of me was wearing the same shirt.. what a c***
Nah raider they'v implemented the same rules at GPO man and you mus'nt have been gay enough because the GPO is filled with homosexuals and has always been branded a gay club because the GPO is so f***ing gay.........
raider are u hideous :(
FurryBear
The VCAT decision gives the hotel the right to refuse entry to people considered a threat to the safety and comfort of its patrons.
Safety, this is the key component that they used. According to all reports, their application was filed on the basis that the gay patrons felt threatened and harassed by hetro and female patrons. They would most likely have cited sexually orientated verbal abuse, and probably supported the application with reported assaults etc.

This will open up a can of worms, as it now gives other establishments the ingredients they need to ban certain groups of people on the basis of safety. For example:

"Pubs banning blacks, whites, lebs, italians, or any other social order based on religion, sex or nationality on the basis that the patrons feel threatened by violence and abuse from that social group."

The pub in questions would have used evidence of abuse to support their application, but I bet they didn't use the following examples:

1. The gay guy gets beaten up for innocently rubbing the cock of the straight guy who was at the bar minding his own business.
2. The gay guy copping a mouthful from a straight guy and his mates because the gay guy told the straight guy that he looked cute (whilst patting his arse).
3. etc, etc, etc.

I would bet that some legal dude who relied upon penile implants farted in his "mates" face and had an idea on how to make the pub completely gay. Therefore, whilst being bent over his desk, researched the Act and found a different sort of crack to prise open. One then has to ask the question on why they decided to go public with their victory. Surely they would have known that there would have been a public backlash. I reckon they did it as a marketing ploy, to increase the number of patrons. Gays from all over the city will now start heading to that pub, so I reckon that the whole publicity angle was a marketing stunt.

last edited by FurryBear at 10:33:56 29/May/07

I never said anthing about spelling ;)
Draxy
Segregation is never the best solution. I see that its just another thing being blown up, people who are being trouble makers, or upsetting other clientele will be ejected. I'm guessing most gay guys would assume other guys at a gay bar would most likely be gay. So if someone walked up to a straight guy at the bar and said he looked hot or something, and the guy decked him, who would you eject from the GAY bar?
To circumvent these hassles, anyone who is basically there to cause trouble will be ejected. Its not a carpet ban, just based on discretion, which if you have ever been rejected from a club, while 3 hot chicks are ushered through, you have already experienced.

homosexuals regularly engage in a repulsive, unhygenic act. So who cares what they think anyway.

I bet they say the same thing about straight people...
2. The gay guy copping a mouthful

If that happened, I don't think there'd be a problem.

Yo mumma don't complain.
I would have thought it far easier to justify, for the bar owner to reserve the right to eject people for their BEHAVIOUR, not their SEXUALITY.

I *think* management already have the right to remove asshats which just makes this decision completly f***ed up.

The precendent to eject someone because they go the brown instead of the pink signifies how un-Australian Australia is becoming. Next we will have venues there that will pop up signs saying that trendy metrosexuals or jews or mulims will be removed.

The country worked so hard to obtain equal rights for everyone and then this comes along and is just baffling. Ironically it's also the 30th anniversay of the Aboriginal referendum.
Actually I think the irony of this is that if an Islamic or Italian group (or whatever non-Anglo ethnicity) decided to establish a club which reserve the right to evict people of other ethnicities there would be rioting on the streets.

To me this demonstrates how protected and revered the gay lobby has become compared to other minorities.
raider are u hideous :(

nah hot c***, just i was with some mates and the guy wearing the shirt was with a gf, she got him in the slart.. but then we just went back to the down under bar and met a bunch of swedish girls
the real danger here is that we are now in this grey area with half-arsed discrimination laws that favour some groups over others

yes, we have a right to expect the government, police, or judiciary to be neutral and non-discriminatory, as they're in a privileged position to represent the whole community at least in theory.

Discrimination by businesses is another thing entirely and is solved by the free market. Even if businesses decided to refuse service en masse to say, gay men, then new businesses would appear to compensate.

it just so happens that the market has provided like 1 billion other places where straight people can hang out
Hmm I reckon they just want to have a gay only club so they can ride the wild pony in the booth seats, gobble some cock on the dancefloor and not get any complaints from other patrons looking on. Let them have their gay pubs I say, the more they go there the better.

Then we can have our whites only pubs or as infi said the muslim only or jew only pubs...soon we will have our gay only buses and taxis...what a wonderful world.
Exactly Psycho...

I think.

If you arent let in, it's probably a good thing, goes for any club with stupid rules. Why waste your time ? you want to hang with the "in" crowd ?... please.
herr uberpanzer
The comment about banning people for their actions rather than their sexual preference is spot on.

Using the ability to ban as a precedent, should sports teams now be able to ban red haired people because they are more prone to sunburn? Should companies be allowed to not hire females because they are more likely to take maternity leave? Insurance companies can already discriminate against people due to age and sex. What is the difference?

In reality, people can't really get too upset with it though. If you don't want to see gay men getting it on, don't go to the club. Banning (or having the ability to ban, don't tell me it will never be abused) people from going there is a ridiculous idea, and probably only designed to gain interest for the club.
this sounds like gattaca - scary.