Topic: I'm going to Canadaaaa!

Leaving on the 28th November... taking off for about 6 months.

What I'm chasing is any info from anyone who has been there, or even researched going there etc.
Anything at all would be much appreciated :)

ie, accomodation/jobs/things you have to see/things to not bother seeing/good research sites/best place for getting settled in/clothing..

The aim is to obviously work at a ski field, but if we have to stay somewhere a bit out to round up more cash or something, then so be it.

My girlfriend has done lots of bar/hospitality work, whereas I havent... so I'm thinking it might be worthwhile to atleast do a quick bar course?

Also, would anyone happen to know what you need to get a drivers license over there?
Someone I spoke to seemed to think you need a manual license or something? *shrug*

Thanks.
-Matt
bone some canadian chicks over there!
Bar course don't mean s***. Go to a nightclub and apply for a job as a glassy. That's what I have been doing for the past 5 months and you learn invaluable experience from doing that if you want to work in a bar. Personally I'd hate to work in a bar it sucks.

If you want to be a glassy be prepared to do some disgusting s***. Cleaning vomit after vomit after vomit, to sticking your hands down toilets to fish out the glass that some c******* has shoved down there, to scrubbing down the walls that some c*** has bled all over. You also earn f*** all money.

last edited by fpot at 10:32:38 26/Sep/06
dice
k cya
Bar course is absolute poo, waste of $300... it's experience that counts I found out later :(
I think you'll find it's Canadia. Make sure you say that a lot while you're over there.
have fun ey?
jobs on the fields are hard to find. in fact from what i've heard every year there are more people over there trying to find holiday work than there are jobs. so be prepared to look around - though this might've changed since people i know have been there. but good luck man i've always wanted to do that
vancouver, its like a bigger brisbane and the people are just as friendly
ur meant to actually tee up these ski field jobs before u leave australia. They're limited, and u have to get in early to get them. They have agents here who hire the aussies...u cant just turn up and expect to get something.
Where do you plan on going? At some point I'd like to get around to visiting Vancouver, Toronto and Montreal... Vancouver looks awesome.
and yeah, i did a bar course and went to a pub asking for work. i got work as a glassy where i found the way people get behind the bar is to lie and say you have worked behind a bar before
Awww! CANADIA EY!
I want to go there when im a bit older and saved up some cash monies.. In fact i want to go there for 6-12 months also. I have no idea why, but i'll do it one day :-)

When i get home from work i'll dig up some emails i have with heaps of information from a friend of a friend who back packed around the world but stayed in Canada for a fair while.
Canada, ey?
ive got a load of family in canada and wouldnt mind heading over sometime to say hi and stuff
Where were you a glassy at tung?
cool, have a good one
infi, ok! I'll need a distraction for my girlfriend.

fpot, I didn't think it would actually count for anything -- but it might be a small indication that I wouldnt have to be trained from scratch.

Le Cock, common sense already told me that :) And yes, I will be.

Raven, unsure yet -- will start in Vancouver I assume.

Joanna, that would be awesome! thankyou very much :)

Canada, eyyyy
I don't know alot about this, but don't you have to show that you have some sort of employment lined up already before they'll let you into the country? Or at least alot of money so they know you won't become a drain on their system.
Leon Trotsky
http://www.monster.ca/

Good for jobs - have fun.
1. learn to say AY!
2. go to Banff summer or winter...
3. learn to say AY after everything AY!
4. VERY IMPORTANT, in the wild things will kill you and eat you, and there is lots of them AY!
5. go Niagra Falls AY!
6. ride the Trans Canadian train, then drive back in the other direction AY!
7. when yo get to British Columbia turn left and drive to Alaska (only if summer) be sure to go via Dawson City then when you cross the border go to Chicken Alaska AY! http://www.chickenalaska.com/chicken/index.html
8. don't play with yellow snow AY!
9. its will get cold, colder than you have ever been before in your life unless you come from Antartica... AY!
10. do the lakes district, northern territories again only in summer... AY!
11. speed, fly, just don't stop, ever for anything unless its essential when passing through Qubec, there is nothing to see there, nothing but arrogant french people with chips on their shoulders AY!
12. tell everyone how asks you, "are you from Australia?", just so "nah I'm from Newfoundland AY!"
13. wear a flano...

Have fun, oh and don't believe anyone who offers you a Blue (its a beer), think worst beer every and then some AH!
Cr@ckerJ@ck
I loved Canada, If your an Aussie you will be well looked after.
I didn't get a licence but drove around a bit, I think all you need is a current Australian licence and your set. Lots of jobs, women and food to be had. It can be expencive for food and accomodation on the mountains unless your a lift operator.

I spend 3 months in Whistler and during that time traveled to Banff, Jasper Alberta, ect... f***ing awesome time. Oh and the ski/snowboarding gear over there is dirt cheap so don't buy anything before you go!
Get an international license.

http://www.racq.com.au/cps/rde/xchg/racq_cms_production/hs.xsl/Motoring_Int_Motoring_Foun_motor_intl_drvpermits_ENA_HTML.htm
Crusher
asif! labatts blue is an awesome beer. one of my favourite state side beers
I'll need a distraction for my girlfriend.

problem solved

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/8201/fistofadonissa5.jpg
Is really simple you either like Blue or you like Molson, that pretty much covers the main stream beers, like VB, XXXX or Calton does here in Australia. Except they have s*** loads more beers as well as US mainstrem beers.

http://rememberrainier.com/

Since I spent a lot of time on the west coast of US and Canada Rainier beer was very popular and I quite enjoyed it.
You dont need an international license
http://www.lonelyplanet.com/worldguide/destinations/north-america/canada?v=print

If you confine yourself to one region, the best way to experience the country is by car or Recreational Vehicle (RV). Canadians drive on the right side of the road, as in the USA. A valid driver's license from any country is good in Canada for three months.

Since he is going for 6 months he will require an international license!

Been there done that for 14months.
oh word, I didnt realise there was a time limit, props
Best to be asking those types of questions at http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/offices/missions/sydney.html
hotel indooroopilly fpot
Bj
That's what I have been doing for the past 5 months and you learn invaluable experience from doing that if you want to work in a bar. Personally I'd hate to work in a bar it sucks.

INVALUABLE experience like toilet hand fishing, but working behind a bar would suck lolol

If you want to be a glassy be prepared to do some disgusting s***. Cleaning vomit after vomit after vomit, to sticking your hands down toilets to fish out the glass that some c******* has shoved down there, to scrubbing down the walls that some c*** has bled all over. You also earn f*** all money.

hahaha! ohh man. that was a good laugh

funny how you try pay me out about working outdoors, when your shoving your hands down toilets 500 c***s have pissed all over not earning in a week what I do in a day. good to see your finally learning your path

that just made my year haha
I am a security guard now and spend most of my time standing around talking to chicks and kicking stupid c***s like you out while legally causing them immense pain.

Nice try though.

edit: also I'd just like to add that when I typed that I was thinking (and this is the truth) "I bet bj will read this and be like LOLOLLOLO PREORDER XBOX GAMEZ I AM TEH MANZ LOL". You seriously are the most baitable s***kunt I have ever seen on the interweb.

last edited by fpot at 17:10:44 26/Sep/06
2. go to Banff summer or winter...

Canada is good, been there 4 times. banff is full of aussies. got a few mates over there.

leaving it till november might be a bit late tho, all the good jobs will be taken, but you never know.

canada is getting pretty exensive, at least for basic food ect. that was comapring it to London prices even. but ive heard aussie is about the same now. anyway, have fun eh!
Bj
Vomit cleaning! hahaha - it doesnt matter what job you ever have now son

Haha security, you couldnt force a grasshopper out of a backyard let alone cause someone "immense" pain haha ahhh man, your a classic

Your mum must be so proud
work as a porte or valet driver in a hotel, thats where the phat loot is.

BJ, fpot worked hard as a glassy ad made his own way - sounds pretty good to me. Alot of people don't have Dad's who are 'fence putter uppers' (TM: Orbitor 2006) to keep them from revealing they have the mental capacity of a gnat.
Security guards can legaly cause people immense pain? I was always under the impression that a security guard has no more power than a civilian? Except the ones at SouthBank, apparenlty they have special powers (not to the level of police though)
Hashy
Fpot could be sucking cocks for a living and he'd still be a more respectable person than you.

Stick to posting in the ground not in these forums lmbo

Edit: (talking to spidz)
defcon

i was in whistler for 3 months, workin holiday, go there if u can <3, i was there just for the snow, you sound like u wanna be on the move though, so i guess places like montreal, vancouver are the go, stay away from french canada though, they're asshats. theres a popular tourist train u can go on aswell, forgot the name, it starts from around victoria and heads all the way accross canada to the east coast (or maybe the other way around? D:). if your there for 6 months, i dont know if you've already organized it but through sta travel u can do a swap visa, which is basically a working / holiday visa for students so u dont burn your work visa in canada (u only get it once). somone mentioned banf aswell, theres also big white, a few mountains worth checkin out. If your just backpacking its worth while to become a member with hostel international, they've got joints all over the place and u get uber discounts.
why all the hate against Bj, all he does is tell it like it is.. if anything everyone else is biting from his remarks.
hashy - you talking to BJ or me?
While your over there, don't forget to catch up with Terrence & Phillip an fart on them mkay
Thanks for the info/insights so far guys.
Much appreciated.

Joanna, if you find any emails you have... could you please forward them to hemerage77@hotmail.com -- and maybe posts in here to inform me so I can hunt them out of junk mail ;)

Cr@ckerJ@ck,
I spend 3 months in Whistler and during that time traveled to Banff, Jasper Alberta, ect... f***ing awesome time. Oh and the ski/snowboarding gear over there is dirt cheap so don't buy anything before you go!

What about jackets?
Should I buy a f***off thick one here first? -- I dunno if they are up to the standards of the cold over there, but I guess layers and you win.

Have Thermals/Gloves/Goggles etc so far.
Will be doing some shopping soon for bags and stuff. $$!
cainer you have no idea how it is, so how can you comment on whether someone is telling it like it is?!
yeah you're right i have never worked in a bar, i'm missing out on some invaluable experience
LightAssassin
I'll ask my friend who has recently moved to Cananda on how he sees things (that said he has moved there until further notice).

So I'll hit him up for some info, don't know how useful it will be for a person visiting compared to somebody moving there, but I'm sure there are some helpful tips he could make.

Fpot... hahaha, keep going champ maybe one day you'll make it to chief vomit cleaner. Not knowing what you look like at all, chances are I've handed you a drink to help clear the table as I'm a "Nice Guy" (TM). Funny to think you try and diss BJ out. Are you going to give me s*** because I got into my industry using my contacts... or for my current job I used a agent? I did nothing to get this job other then say to my agent "hey I want a job" 2 months later I was here on contract. Does that make me less a person? HAHA.

I respect the nurses of the world, and those who work with those kinds of things to help others. However, when you work in a night club... hahaha enjoy it. I'd be a pizza boy over a dirty vomit cleaner.

Also, BJ baits you dude, it's fantastic to watch, but I might join in this time... because even I never thought you were that bad. Look out security! Pushing some drunks around doesn't mean your god, wait until the sober guy gets pissed off at you. Then'll you be crying for the others to save you.

YAY Cananda, I hope you enjoy it! Everybody I know who has been there has said it's great!
i worked at a night club, am i lesser for it lightassassin?

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for Spook Edit This Post Click Here to send Spook an email Users HomePage Message User
a agent

Did you have to use a agent to get a job because you speak English so good?
no tung love
love isn't love without a tongue
Bj
I remember years ago out in town I seen tung chasing some fkn hideous looking wilderbeast around and I was like Ha Ha!

I can just imagine fpot standing around thinking hes some huge unit because bigw give him a "security" badge to look over the car park while he ponders what next xbox game he'll hit his mum up for when he goes home.

Oh sorry, I forgot you stand around talking to CHICKS too... hahaha ohhh the laughs never end

If you ever happen to come to melbas on the coast come say hi
Bj
Who will you be? the one fetching my bottle out of the toilet I just pissed all over for you? hahaha

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/4201/hitwithladiesri8.gif

I bet your a real big hit with the ladies
I have to admit that is a classicly bad photo

thanks strex >:(

Your comprehension skills are excellent btw.
Bj
Sorry, it seems you have mistaken me for someone who may have given a s***.

Havnt you got a 360 you could be playing, doesnt your mum get pissed after she buys you a overpriced console you still just sit on your computer thinking your some sort of badass security.
LOVE Melbas!!! Looking forward to spending some more quality time there next year when I move to the coast ;)
Captain America

how are you doing this trip? backpacker style or renting out with other people or getting an apartment? in any case i wouldnt worry about taking too much stuff with myself as i'd buy whatever I need on the way ie clothes etc

and like the guys said above skiing work is limited and its something you need to organise before you go there, otherwise picking up the more common jobs would be a good idea like bar work etc ... not too sure about this myself as i've never worked overseas like this but been to canadia once

i really like montreal :D but if youre going with your girlfriend then it might be different for you heh

Captain America

hmm i was at melbas last night :/ hope i didnt do anything dumb cause i had one of them blackouts, oh and bagging other peoples jobs is pretty retarded its something you dont put down just like with how much you get paid, religion or politics
paying out other people about their jobs is not the qgl way
Captain America

i know ;( im just cracking heh
Who will you be? the one fetching my bottle out of the toilet I just pissed all over for you? hahaha
you do seem like one of those knob jockey's who would throw their bottle in the dunny or put their spirit glass in the urinal.

Money doesn't buy class.
I spent 6 months in whistler in the 04/05 season.

A couple of FYI's there's different ways to do things depending on what you're looking for. The only resort I spent time in was Whistler, but I would assume the same applies to all the other major mountains to varying degrees. Late November is well after all the job fairs and cheaper rental properties are gone and over. However, if you're planning to travel around, you don't want to be booked into a six month lease anyway. In whilster at least, the resort operator has dorm style staff-housing that's cheap and flexible for length of stay. It was cheaper if you had a mountain job, but they allowed anyone to stay there if there was vacancies.

Jobs can be hard to find, you can probably forget about bartending unless you're really lucky or something. It's one of the most sought after jobs because of fat tourist tipping, so everyone wants in. Since you're going over so late, none of the local working holiday programs can probably help you secure a job before you go, since it's slim pickings and they seemed to mostly require early starting dates. But again, you could get lucky, look around. We did most of our organising through flight centre's OWH but didn't end up using them to get work.

As for driving, forget about what anyone says about an international drivers license, they don't recognise them in Canada. A working visa nets you 3 months of driving on an AU license, any longer and you'll have to get a Canadian one. That means sitting both a written and on-road exam.

Any more questions ask away.
i dont even have a job!
suckas!

p.s. everytime i see slugman pic i feel like BBQ chips :(
What about jackets?
Should I buy a f***off thick one here first? -- I dunno if they are up to the standards of the cold over there, but I guess layers and you win.

Have Thermals/Gloves/Goggles etc so far.
Will be doing some shopping soon for bags and stuff. $$!

you can get some resonable stuff there, but its all the same s*** as in aus, maybe cheaper tho. US is cheaper by far if you can get down to seattle or somehwere.

Get those NZ ice breakers. Top and bottoms.
Get burton mittens or gloves. Mine cost £80 but i saw them in Montreal for $90candian.
Goggles... oakley wisdoms.

With snowboard / warm s***, you do get what you pay for. And yes, I've been to Greenland and Canada in winter so i know what im talking about.
As for driving, forget about what anyone says about an international drivers license, they don't recognise them in Canada. A working visa nets you 3 months of driving on an AU license, any longer and you'll have to get a Canadian one. That means sitting both a written and on-road exam.

Int licences are BS! Theres a 1945 convenstion that says any licenced driver can drive in any country without resetting a test. I thought it was for 12months, but i guess it varies in diff contries.

you can probably forget about bartending unless you're really lucky or something.

they make a mother load in tips each night... so yes, these jobs are like gold.

Click Here to See the Profile for fpot Edit This Post Click Here to send fpot an email Users HomePage Message User
Bj

By Dan

What's funny is that you are accusing me of acting tough on the internet, when it is the exact opposite occuring.
Bj

Click Here to See the Profile for Bj Edit This Post Click Here to send Bj an email Users HomePage Message User
Bj

Click Here to See the Profile for Bj Edit This Post Click Here to send Bj an email Users HomePage Message User
Take your little dick measuring contest to private messages.
LightAssassin
Got in contact with my mate, he's sending some info when he's got time. He loves it over there... as long as he's still got a couch when I'm going there I'll be happy.

I missed the fireworks aww.. :(

Tung... I was baiting fpot... I obviously used quality bait haha, missed the small fish and snagged a shark :P Ohh, I do need an agent because of my english skills, I love English professionals, you're all so smart!

Maybe if I make fpot angry enough he'll do a History of LightAssasin piece, haha. You guys get so angsty, it's so funny. It's like Days of our lives internet version. If you actually sit there and get angry about this crap... then maybe it's time to turn the pc off and go outside.

I personally come here for the joke of it all. A guy getting his mum to buy him xbox games, a kid who wasted his late aunts money on a fast car, and for extra fun, the guy who had to sell his car to get his ordered bride over from Iraq. Far too many examples to list haha.

Back on topic, be careful of calling an American a Canadian... some of them go right off. Sure you'll be in Canada but there will be Americans around... and some of them have some hate for it (honestly, they are so similar sounding). The french over there aren't too bad, you just have to accept their culture and speak their language (pretend to at least) and you'll be fine.
I think you'll find it's the Canadians who hate being called Americans...
Bj
haha selling ya rolla for a mail order bride, classic

dont hate pre-arranaged marrages booyah, its the only way you were gonna find a bitch anyway
People from the USA live in North America, people from Canada live in North America, so technically, that makes them ALL North Americans
http://www.hotlib.com/articles/show.php?t=Driving_Regulations_In_Alberta

To drive in Alberta as a new resident, you may be required to take a drivers test, depending on where you originate from. Your current driver's license will be valid for 3 months from your date of arrival. If you hold a valid international driver's license then you have 12 months or until ...

I don't know what part of you need an International drivers license to drive longer than 3 months in Canada, you'll also need one for the USA unless they have changed their policies.

If you get caught driving without on you will be deported, this breach will not allow you back into Canada ever again...

Most cops won't bother because of the paper work, but all it takes is to get that one that is having a bad day and it by bys...
Regulations must differ from province to province because BC transport wouldn't acknowledge my international license at all. Since my job required a bit of driving I had to get one. The test was pretty mindless anyway as they all drive autos over there and thier licensing doesnt distinguish between auto/manual vehicles.
this thread is informative on a few levels.

Helps someone out with a trip to Canada
Informs us of the vagueness of Intl. Licenses
Reconfirms that BJ is good at putting posts in the ground and not much else.
Bj
Im pretty good at paying out your jobless wife also, but someone must of felt it would hurt your feelings too much and skipped the nuking and went straight for the delete, I was pretty proud of that effort.
or maybe noone else is impressed when you masturbate over your own sense of self-worth and delusions of "success" by posting them on the internet.
Depends what you define as jobless.

I reckon motherhood is a 'job' but some don't.

Working for daddy on the other hand could be construed as chores for a bit of pocket money.

In the words of a famous deads*** "Dug another hole dad, it's filling with water"

It's even funnier in real life.
Bj
Was she the one on today tonight this week after the baby bonuses?

LOLOLOL Nah that was you mum LOLOLOLOLO DYSWIDT ???
BJ sure posts alot during the day for someone building fences!

Haven't got the baby bonus yet, but when I do I'll be sure to invest in a new fence.
Electric Fence ?
Thanks heaps for the info so far guys.
And more.. please spam it :)
AENIMA
I just got back after being over there 18 months, I haven't gone through this whole thread but if there's anything specific you want to know ill help ya out