brett
The First Da vinci Code trailer has just been released with the full movie set for release on may 19.
All I can say is I hope it does the book justice. http://www.apple.com/trailers/sony_pictures/da_vinci_code/large.html |
| #0 12:51pm 15/12/05 |
none of the trailer links work for me
| #1 01:16pm 15/12/05 |
I havn't read the book, is it like Harry Potter?
| #2 01:19pm 15/12/05 |
Nah - Harry Potter is more realistic. |
| #3 02:08pm 15/12/05 |
dice
^
hahahahahaha |
| #4 02:12pm 15/12/05 |
looks alright, well cast with the exception of hanks, I don't remember anyone getting dumped into water though?
| #5 02:14pm 15/12/05 |
Guess I should read the book or something. Seems like everyone else has. Well everyone that relies on public transportation at least.
| #6 02:20pm 15/12/05 |
Don't read the book, its terribly average.
| #7 02:20pm 15/12/05 |
it's not that bad, it's just a "popcorn" book :)
| #8 02:21pm 15/12/05 |
trog doesnt like anything without dragons. books good but u can only really read it once. the casting of hanks is a bit iffy
| #9 02:31pm 15/12/05 |
The casting of Hanks is a cheap trick to further enhance its mass market appeal to make sure it'll rake even more money that it doesn't deserve.
| #10 02:32pm 15/12/05 |
You seen the movie? And dont say you've read the book, we know how much weight THAT carries. last edited by casa at 14:37:30 15/Dec/05 |
| #11 02:37pm 15/12/05 |
neimad
If you can get hold of it, the illustrated version of The DaVinci Code is excellent. Only available in hardcover.
Might even give you a finer appreciation of the art and locations involved in the story. |
| #12 02:56pm 15/12/05 |
dice
^ nah who cares
ey trog, what's your favourite fantasy book atm? |
| #13 02:58pm 15/12/05 |
ive got the illustrated version. its great being able to actually see paintings, locations, etc that are described in the book.
| #14 03:00pm 15/12/05 |
Don't read the book, its terribly average. Thanks trog, I took this advice some months ago when you mentioned it was crap. Have met a few people who said exactyly the same thing, so you saved me the grief. Just finished reading a Biography on Steve McQueen, man what an insight into that guy and his life ect..it was one of those 'I can't put this down' books. I'd recommend it to anyone who is into biography's for sure. |
| #15 03:18pm 15/12/05 |
Rips#
Sweet! I loved the book - I find the Illuminati really fascinating. Jean Reno is probably one of my favourite actors and Ian McKellan rocks. Tom Hanks to play the main character though, eeeew. Trailer looks good, will definately be looking forward to this one.
| #16 03:20pm 15/12/05 |
Lunch
I enjoyed the book, I only just read it last week and didnt read it due to the hype surrounding it but I thought it was a good light read.
Very similar writing style to Michael Crichton imo. I cant watch the trailer at work, but Tom Hanks I agree seems to be a terrible miscast just for a name. |
| #17 03:26pm 15/12/05 |
I haven't read the book - I don't normally just read a book because it's "in fashion" at the time (which seems to have been the case with this book) - but I think I will now...I'd like to see what the fuss is all about.
Plus I'll inevitably see the movie and I hate seeing the movie before reading the book. |
| #18 04:46pm 15/12/05 |
trog just wants to be different
| #19 04:49pm 15/12/05 |
ive got the illustrated version. its great being able to actually see paintings, locations, etc that are described in the book.That doesn't really say a lot for the quality of the writing in the book. |
| #20 05:26pm 15/12/05 |
^
Very true. On second thoughts I might just see the movie and start on my Bryce Courtenay novel. Now THERE is a man who can write! (/awaits rant about how all of his books are so damn long...o well...they're SOOO worth the read). |
| #21 05:32pm 15/12/05 |
That doesn't really say a lot for the quality of the writing in the book. im just saying that its better to actually see it in the book while u are reading rather than looking it up on the net later on. when i first read the text version i wanted to go to the comp ever 5 mins to see the s*** he was righting about was true. with the illustrated book u dont. last edited by ravn0s at 17:53:36 15/Dec/05 |
| #22 05:53pm 15/12/05 |
I liked power of one by Bryce Courtney, almost every other book I have read of his sucked imho.
| #23 06:02pm 15/12/05 |
looks swoit
| #24 06:15pm 15/12/05 |
ey trog, what's your favourite fantasy book atm?I'm mostly reading sci-fi these days - most of the fantasy stuff I read is Terry Pratchett. I enjoyed the book, I only just read it last week and didnt read it due to the hype surrounding it but I thought it was a good light read.Similar to the 'new' Michael Crichton who is writing the same sort of mass market schlock! I recently re-read some of his older stuff (Andromeda Strain, Jurassic Park) and they're soo much better than his newer books. Prey and his newer one State of Fear just read like movie scripts. Da Vinci Code is just poorly written schlock - I say poorly written because of the INFANTILE plot "twist" at the end - he basically does this thing where he spends the whole book making a mystery out of some secret character, and just before he reveals who it is he does this whole section where he leads suspicion away from one character (the actual secret character). Its done in such a way so that you can't go back and go "oh, but you said he WASN'T the secret character" but its just so goddamn cheesy and its such a cheap ruse that it made the whole book feel like it was written for kids. The other thing that shat me was all the religious stuff - because I found it absolutely FASCINATING, until I found out it was all just complete and utter bulls*** that he'd made up and was writing about it as if it was real. It was annoying not just because it was disappointing, but because now everyone thinks they know heaps of insightful stuff about religion because they read this cheapass piece of s*** book. WORSE, it has spawned a billion other goddamn books that now occupy space on my local bookshelves (THE TRUTH about the DA VINCI CODE, THE REAL STORY BEHIND the DA VINCI CODE, and WHY DAN BROWN is a LYING WANKER, and the like), when there's already not enough room devoted to actual other interesting books that are worth reading. In between the fricking Dan Brown section and the Lord of the Rings section there's barely enough room for any new books. ARGGH IT MAKES ME SO MAD!@# There are so many other good books out there that people could be reading! |
| #25 06:31pm 15/12/05 |
The casting of Hanks is a cheap trick to further enhance its mass market appeal to make sure it'll rake even more money that it doesn't deserve. I hear you girlfriend! I am so over Tom Hanks and that annoying voice of his. He's become the next Richard Gere - acts the same in every movie. |
| #26 06:48pm 15/12/05 |
i think trog should write a book.
| #27 07:37pm 15/12/05 |
Lunch
I dont understand you Trog, in another thread you talk about getting enjoyment from the harry potter books, which are purile massmarket tripe, yet you comment on the Davinci code being infantile.
If you read it and take it all as fact even though its obviously has its feet in fiction just like Michael Crichton does, than no wonder you feel angry. His other books follow an extremely similar theme to The Davinci code, they just didnt get the recognition it did via the Mary Magdalene thing. Which really wasn't as big a part of the book as what was eventually made out to be, just a stupid plot device. To say Michael Crichton's old stuff is better than what he writes now seems fully bizzare. His stories have never actually been interesting, just his explanations of science/politics etc were worth reading. They are like easy reading text books with an optional pathetic plot to read if u feel like it. ********************* spoiler for sphere ******************** I just remembered how laughable sphere's ending was. a longer way of writing, "and I woke up and it was all a dream" A sign of a great writer if ever I saw one ;) last edited by Lunch at 19:53:08 15/Dec/05 |
| #28 07:53pm 15/12/05 |
I also don't think Dan Brown is much chop. All his books follow a VERY similar vein. The Da Vinci Code was interesting enough to keep me reading all the way through, but that's it.
And the Harry Potter books rock. As if they're mass marketing tripe, they simply have universal appeal. The world JK Rowling has created is just so interesting and magical. It sucks you in. That's the joy of those books, not the main plot in my opinion. |
| #29 08:58pm 15/12/05 |
orbitor is sucked into a magical world that Sr's are good (lol)
| #30 09:01pm 15/12/05 |
Crusher
angels and demons was a great read, i really enjoyed it. unfortunately everyhting else dan brown has written is predictable crap written on the same rehashed framework. especially da vinci code. I found it tedious and not engaging.. compared to angels and demons which i couldnt put down.
i also agree with trog that new crichton stuff is utter slop compared to his old stuff. its as though he churns out books in the hope they become a movie for him to produce. andromeda strain, teminal man, jurassic park and the lost world, etc etc, fa better reads. These days I am totally engrossed in peter f hamiltons work. the nights dawn trilogy is a fantastic read (3 volumes each 1200+ pages) with so many intersecting story lines and intertwining characters. Just finished pandoras star and need to go buy it part 2 (judas something). I will see the davinci code movie, because it ought to be great "turn brain off" movie action. nothing more and potentially less. |
| #31 09:08pm 15/12/05 |
brett
Digital Fortress was kinda lame-o, I mean who didn't see the NDakota thing coming? (North Dakota)
| #32 09:33pm 15/12/05 |
Now THERE is a man who can write! I dont care that they're long... shame he doesn't write his own books anymore. Power of One was his only good book anyway |
| #33 09:55pm 15/12/05 |
sacred
I haven't read more than a few chapters of The Da Vinci Code. I might end up seeing the movie just to see what the hype was about without having to read Dan Brown's s***house writing.
| #34 10:28pm 15/12/05 |
long books arnt a bad thing, all the better to prop my monitor up with
| #35 10:38pm 15/12/05 |
I actually quite enjoyed the book, I dont really care if its historically accurate or even plausible, but I found it to be a pretty entertaining read. Not so sure about the movie with Tom Hanks though, hes far from the best choice imo =\ Jean Reno as Fache is awesome casting though, he was actually who I pictured in my mind while I was reading the book :P
| #36 12:09am 16/12/05 |
I agree with trog - the thing that really pisses me off about Da Vinci code is all the idiots who believe it to be the truth! What a crock of s***! Although, with Ian McKellan and Jean Reno in the movie, it can't be bad! last edited by AnaRoT at 00:17:36 16/Dec/05 |
| #37 12:17am 16/12/05 |
trog never struck me as a book snob, it's almost fashionable to not like Da Vinci Code these days.
The book wasn't 'great' but it was well above average, the ending as Trog said certainly left a foul taste in the mouth though. All the religion crap utterly fascinatied me while reading it, so I couldn't care less if it was made up and I don't see why Trog would care. If it fascinated you while reading, who really gives a s*** that it turned out to be bulls***, it still engaged you while reading the book. |
| #38 12:25am 16/12/05 |
So if a book sucks, put it down and read somethen else.
Well if your sorta filing stuff away as facts as you read and later find out that it is tripe, you have to sorta clean it all out. And u can miss bits and it sucks. last edited by Tollaz0r! at 00:34:05 16/Dec/05 |
| #39 12:34am 16/12/05 |
Just watched the trailer, I reckon Ian Mckellan is miscast as Teabing as well. Hes an awesome actor, sure, but they need someone a bit crazier and more eccentric for Teabing imo, someone who can still pull off serious, sure, but I think Ian McKellan is just a bit too serious. I reckon Peter Otoole would have made a great Teabing.
I don't remember anyone getting dumped into water though? Yeah, me either, maybe its part of a montage or something from when they're talking about stuff that happened in the past? |
| #40 05:17am 16/12/05 |
Rips#
Even Harrison Ford would've made a better Langdon.
| #41 08:42am 16/12/05 |
All the religion crap utterly fascinatied me while reading it, so I couldn't care less if it was made up and I don't see why Trog would care. If it fascinated you while reading, who really gives a s*** that it turned out to be bulls***, it still engaged you while reading the book.It was only interesting because it was religion, and it was only interesting because it was tearing up convential thought about the Catholic church. I was riveted because I thought it was real - I thought this book might change the way people thought about religion! I dont understand you Trog, in another thread you talk about getting enjoyment from the harry potter books, which are purile massmarket tripe, yet you comment on the Davinci code being infantile.The Harry Potter books are a nice, simple read for kids. They have a decent story, the concept of good vs evil, and despite the fact that Harry Potter himself is a no talent ass clown cheating thieving sneaking liar, I think they're a decent read. But they're kids books. To say Michael Crichton's old stuff is better than what he writes now seems fully bizzare. His stories have never actually been interesting, just his explanations of science/politics etc were worth reading. They are like easy reading text books with an optional pathetic plot to read if u feel like it.You never found the idea of a park with cloned dinosaurs interesting? Or a submerged alien device that gives you the powar to make things happen with your brain!!# Even his more recent books are interesting, I just don't think they're as well written - I think he has a different focus these days, which is to make books that get turned into movies. a longer way of writing, "and I woke up and it was all a dream"That's not really what happened - you're sposed to think (or at least, imo) that the chick kept all her powers and the guys willed theirs away. So for them it was just a dream - but the evil conniving woman kept all the power for herself!@# |
| #42 10:15am 16/12/05 |
Lunch
You never found the idea of a park with cloned dinosaurs interesting? Or a submerged alien device that gives you the powar to make things happen with your brain!!# Of course I found that stuff interesting, thats why I said they are like a simple text book with an optional pathetic plot :) The subject matter and his layman explanations of science/technology or politics I find really interesting, but the plots and simple plot devices he uses were always crap. It always felt to me like he was writing for movies. Rising Sun was the only movie conversion of his that I felt worked, and was my favourite book of his too. Which is why I made the link to Dan Brown. The subject matter he wrote about (the illuminati and Knights Templar etc) I find really interesting, but the plot is pretty sketchy. I just dont understand how anyone could take what he writes as fact when it seems pretty self evident to me that its a piece of fiction set in modern day. |
| #43 02:15pm 16/12/05 |
Of course I found that stuff interesting, thats why I said they are like a simple text book with an optional pathetic plot :)I didn't find them simple at all - Andromeda Strain (which I just read again last week) and Jurassic Park are both pretty heavy on the science. The subject matter and his layman explanations of science/technology or politics I find really interesting, but the plots and simple plot devices he uses were always crap. It always felt to me like he was writing for movies.I dunno, JP/Sphere were markedly different from the movies. Timeline less so - and I bet future movies are closer to the books. |
| #44 06:10pm 16/12/05 |
My friend here at work, Justin, is an extra in this movie, he met tom cruise and that french dude onset a few weeks ago.
| #45 07:51pm 16/12/05 |
dont u mean tom hanks?
| #46 08:22pm 16/12/05 |
They have a decent story, the concept of good vs evil, and despite the fact that Harry Potter himself is a no talent ass clown cheating thieving sneaking liar,sounds like frodo baggins! |
| #47 12:15am 17/12/05 |
tom cruise / tom hanks, its all the same, same character in every movie.
| #48 02:48am 17/12/05 |
| #48 |