Topic: ING - FREE $123 bonus interest today only
too good not to share, shamelessly taken from ocau.

There seems to be ING banners poping up around the place offering $123 if you open a Savings Maximiser account before 11pm tonight - 10/05/05. Their usual offer is $20 or something, so this looks like a good deal.
Doesn't seem to be any catches. But you must apply by clicking on the banner.

The Sydney Morning Herald site has one, as does ninemsn

EDIT: It seems the banners aren't there anymore :o wonder why... here is the link that the banners went to anyway...

Seems like a rad sort of account that I'd like to have anyway... but there's nothing stopping you getting the money, taking it out and closing the account.

While I'm at it, there's a few other bonuses for opening accounts with other banks... this from ocau also.
I may as well just quote the fella - AzzKikr
I'm going to share a little gem I found recently. It's the HSBC Online Savings Australia Account (http://www.hsbc.com.au/personal/accounts/osa.html) and basically gives you everything you need at a bank, with no fees. All you need is a $2000+ starting balance, and this doesn't have to be maintained when the account is open.

Features:

Quote:
# A high 4.75% p.a.1 interest rate
# 5.5% p.a. on deposits greater than $500,0001
# Fee-free banking options within Australia
# Unlimited HSBC ATM transactions
# Five free ATM transactions per month, at any bank ATM2
# Free BPAY®, EFTPOS and GiroPost®
# Free automated Telephone Banking access
# Cheque book option3
# Instant access to withdrawals
# Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
# No minimum balance after opening
# Link to your online broking or margin lending account

So what about the free $50!?!?!?!? I WANT THE MONIES!!!!

Well, HSBC are running a promo with Money Magazine. Go to the special URL (http://www.hsbc.com.au/moneymagazine/), and key in the barcode from the April, May, or June editions of Money Magazine. When the account is open, HSBC will credit you $50.
A valid barcode you can use is 9313006006138

So yea, that account looks like the allround best account, but to get the $50 bonus when you open an account, you gotta have 2G :/ Plus to get the application approved you need it signed by a leet person who you've known for at least 12 months...

the leetos that can sign are:
1. A member of :
a) the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia; or
b) The Australian Society of Certified Practicing Accountants; or
c) The National Institute of Accountants.
2. A legal practitioner (however described) of Australian Federal, State
of Territory court.
3. An employee of an Australian Bank who is authorised by that Bank to
open accounts with the institution.
4. Commissioner for Oaths of an Australian State or Territory. .
5. An Officer within the meaning of the Defence Act 1903.
6. Diplomatic or consular officers of an Australian Embassy, Australian High
Commission or Australian Consulate either in Australia or overseas FATF
member country (refer to 'Overseas Member Country' below).
7. International HSBC Bank employees (in a FATF member country - refer to
'Overseas Member Country' below) authorised by the Bank to open
accounts.
8. Judges and Masters of Australian Federal, State and Territory courts.
9. Justice of the Peace of an Australian State or Territory.
10. Member of the Legislative Assembly of the ACT, Northern Territory or
Norfolk Island.
11. Members of the Australian Federal or State Parliament.
12. A Member of the Australian Federal Police or of the police force of an
Australian State or Territory who in
the normal course of his or her duties,
is in charge of a police station.
13. A Member of the Australian Federal Police, or of the police force of an
Australian State or Territory, of or above the rank of a Sergeant.
14. Notary Public (in Australia or in a FATF member country - Refer to
Overseas Member Country below).
15. Senior member of an Australian municipal, city, town or shire council.
16. Stipendiary Magistrates of the Australian Commonwealth, State or
Territory.

Bit of f***in around, but hey, $50. And a rad fee free account.

Esanda also have what appears to be a catch free $20 bonus for signing up to a savings acc. www.esanda.com

dafugg
hmm, not much f***ing around when your mother is a jp :)
commbank you just lost 2k from my account biatches
signing up for ing now :o
I've been thinking of getting a joint ING direct account for my and my gf, but she has been a crazy bitch lately, so I might just make one myself.

bargain knows his bargains.
what about if i already have an ING account?

Can I open another and get this 123 ???
YoungNastyMan
The offer is only open to people who have never had a Savings Maximiser.

I want both accounts!
that I do strex. I should have called this thread "bargain's bargains #34"

I need 2G before that HSBC offer runs out, then link the ING one with it for totally fee free banking. :D

f*** the online fee hikes gettin round now. 50c per online transaction? Get f***ed. I'll be pissing off my commbank account too, dafugg. Just to find a leeto now.
heh opening an account called 'Phat Lewt'
w00t!
done and done
thanks for that
aww man that sux

I've had an ING account for 5+ years (or whenever they first started here) why can't they give me some bonus interest for being loyal!!!
rodolphe
so what is the catch with the IGN one ?? Surely there must be something in place stopping ppl from opening the account, scoring the $123, then closing the account...
dafugg
honestly it can't be worse than commbank anyway.. although here's something i thought about:

how common are the atms that support their free transactions here in bris?
ahhh f***

my printers rooted and now i cant complete the application!!

ffs now i gotta call them up :(
rodolphe, I'm pretty sure they're assuming that most people will think the account is awesome and stick with it. I know I probably will.

good point dafugg... dunno.
But even if the HSBC atms aren't that common, there is still

# Unlimited HSBC ATM transactions (even if they're scarce)
# Five free ATM transactions per month, at any bank ATM2
# Free BPAY®, EFTPOS and GiroPost®

Free eftpos is big.
dafugg
jeebus that's a sweet deal.
i think my local commbank manager just threw up a little in her mouth
yeah, ive got a classic acc with westpac, and a credit card with commonwealth.

westpac wasnt happy when i said that i had got a credit card with commonwealth, and was changing my normal everyday account over to them, and opening up an ing account basically because:

they wouldnt give me a credit card
their maxi savings account has no bonus deposit,
and for someone thats been with them for over 10 years, they really didnt try hard at all to kepe my business ;)

so big ups to ing, and commonwealth for giving students benefits!
Erik-the-Red
heh opening an account called 'Phat Lewt'
bahahhahaha, i love it
doesn't it have to be the same name as your personal account tung.. your personal account is called phat lewt?
BOOST
i signed up to the ING acccount just then.

stick that up ya commonwealth with your bulls*** fees!
you choose from a list of names for your account, not your account name holder.

like, car, house, savings, etc

i chose other, and Phat Lewt
bump

just so late comers won't miss the thread. offer runs out at 11 tonight.
Jem
did any of you read through the whole terms in conditions?

i signed it up, but almost everyone i told about it suggested 'its probably a scam or has some sort of catch'

whats the catch? no one gives away money
Meh I signed up. Even if u don't get free money it's still a good savings account.
I guess ING realise there are lots of people out there that have always considered getting an account but just never got around to it.

$123 made it worth my time to fill out their forms and setup an account. Something i'd been meaning to do for about two years, just never got around to.
Yep I'm the same as natslovR.

I await my 4 cartons of beer :)
N-Dude
f*** yeah, I'm opening an account with both of them. Free $173! But I reckon I may even stick with the HSBC account, because of the five free transactions at any ATM, cos Suncorp is actively removing them, and don't have any at UQ.

Suncorp ain't too bad to me, I have that sub-account that gives me 5.4% interest compounded monthly, and I have instant access to my money. So it's almost identical to ING, but I can get to my money instantly... which isn't always a good thing.

Thanks bargain!
god damn it no printer :(
AdamtehGreat

sweet! Thanks champ. Just signed up :D
aw man, where do i get the forms to print again? it just closed itself.
möoby
sweeeet! i was going to sign up for this yesterday! im sick of suncorp metway taking $4.50 per month and i havent used the account for 3years. (well, just deposting £ into it each month)

i wonder if i can transfer direct into ing?
I don't have a printer connected to this computer so I was just going to print it from another. Could I print from the preview?
I had the same promblem with no printer connected. I just saved the frame and will print at a printer later. I spoke to IMG and they said that the online rego process doesn't actually do anything, but you NEED to send in that actual form from the website to get the CA$H.

I asked him do i have to fill it out again and was told Yes. So I filled it out again and then just emailed the frame of the preview to an account with printer access.
im the same as natslovr.. been meaning to sign up.. but now this has sweetened the deal and i signed up immediatly.
Even if you just leave that $123 in there until you youngins retire (say 45 years) you'll walk away with $1,389.55.*

*won't be 'worth' the same as what it is today though. Still pretty nice of them :)
ffs.

does anyone know of somewhere on the northside (like net cafe or office store) where i can get on the net and print this s*** out?

help quick..
Strex: Download and install fineprint: http://www.fineprint.com/products/fineprint/index.html

print to it. 'Save' the print. then you can install fineprint and print later from a computer with a printer. Just copy the .fp file you saved to the computer with a printer and fineprint.

Fineprint is also awesome for saving paper and printing multiple pages on the one page.
I've had an ING savings account for about 3 years now, and it's awesome. $123 makes it impossible to turn down :)

danke

i am a natslovR lovR
Yea, Jem, alot of people I've just tried to give a heads up act like I'm a gullible fool or something. Pretty f***ing annoying when you're just trying to help and you get these stubborn pricks.

I had a good read of the terms and conditions, and there really is no catch I can see. The only thing I can see going awry is ING blatently lieing and depositing no money with no explination. The chances of that are slim-to-medium-low.

natslovR's on it... ING KNOW it's a great account, so they'll get ALOT of people who WILL keep the account.

The only situation where it's bad is if the savings account that it's linked to has fee's up the yin yang for online transactions, transfering between the two would be gay.
Grosby
I signed up.
If anything I'll withdraw it in a few weeks and buy a bike :P
noooooooooooooo iam too late!!!! site dosnt work!!!!!!!!!
It is working... veeeeeeeeeeery slowly.

ING is getting f***ing hammered.
will i make it in time?
I had the same issue, signed up, got my numbers, and then when I went to the print page, it died, said something like "since it's been a long time since you visited, you must start again"

f***COCARSEs***

anyone have the print file handy? if so could you mail to me? wetwired@bigpond.com
doubt it. I'm trying to sign up for my gf. not having any luck. but ppl ARE still getting through
i got in :)
i got mine all done this mroning

nice work me
its going to slow!!!
5 mins!
5mins to go!!!
3mins
wonder if iam too late
i am too late its says on the form 11:04
bung
WetWired, try logging in to the online banking section and there should be an option to re-print the form.
awesome, thanks bung that worked a charm!
Jem
my account is now setup and working.. but no $123? :s
got bean
it normally takes 3-5 days to transfer money from ones account to the ing account, so wait that long Jem and if no $123 by then ring up
umm if i forgot to write down my access code, how can i get it?
bung
uh oh spaghettio

I just got my $123

thaaaannnkkkk youuuuuuuu ING!
Jem

yeh i checked mine this morning also :)
i got my 123, however it debited more than i expected from my normal account and i got charged 30 bucks overdrawn fee, so i transferred some money back:/ basically i got jipped and only got 93 bucks from ing for it :p
hey tung... this is what some dude said on overclockers

h yeh ING accidently took twice the amount i requested, they refunded all the money back PLUS interest for the couple of days which it happened
i signed up with $100, they took $200 and so they refunded $100 + 7cents interest

I rekon if you call ING and hit em up, they may just swing you the $30 :D

...maybe.
nah it was my fault :) i said to take 30, i forgot that i had told em that when i went shopping and spent money on stuff and didnt leave enough for them to take out without overdrawing. my bad :p
seeing people getting their $123 has inspired me to put my printout in the envelope and mail it off this morning. Thanks!
Eclipsor
Did people that got their $123 get is straight away? Got my activation email today and only my opening balance is there.
YoungNastyMan
came in a few days after the activation email for me.
Goody
seeing people getting their $123 has inspired me to put my printout in the envelope and mail it off this morning. Thanks!

lol same.
Yeah same for me :)

Been sitting on the desk since last week, whatever day it was.
möoby

yeah same, only the opening balance :S
I've just had mine activated, and only has my opening balance....

How long till the $123 bonus came in?
Stokesy
My bonus came in a few days later, and once it all cleared I transferred it straight to my normal account so I can pay off my credit card before I go overseas. I'll probably start using the account once I get back though, it seems like a good deal.
heh, i confuzzled ing with my original sign up, and then redid it with this deal

wifed explained to them that i didnt know what i was doing, so they waived the first sign up and now we are good to go for the cash!
Inspires a lot of confidence - "He's throwing money around, and doesn't know what he's doing"

ING people: *rubbing hands* "exxxcelent."
hef
hahahha raven. :)
I got an email last night telling me that they hadn't received my signed form yet, and to log in to print it off again, yet the day before they rang me to ask for my mothers maiden name, since DO NOT USE THIS FOR ID was not acceptable.
möoby
i got mine
I am now $123 richer *rolls around in cash*

Thanks thread starter!
Got my $123 yesterday. Thanks also to the thread starter :-)
no probs :D

I haven't sent my form in yet :p
© Copyright 2001-2025 AusGamers Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.