top_left top_right
bottom_left
Next Event: Unknown | Forum Rules | QGL Website | Event Registration
openFolder AusForums.com
iconwatfolderLineopenFolder LANs
iconwatfolderLineopenFolder QGL
iconwatfolderLineopenFolder QGL Forum
Author
Topic: scam? opinons please.
möoby
Posts: 2334
Location: UK
Ok, heres the deal. Few flat mates and I are going snowboarding this season. We've found this site www.planetsubzero.com

A friend of a friend told us about it.

Now, this is where it gets a bit scarry. They want £2800 for the 4months. Has to be paid with a cheque (so cash) 2 months before we go. So no protection from the bank like a credit card.

So that gives them a 2 months head start with 50 x £2800.

The contact number is a mobile (u can just walk into a store and buy a sim card with cash here)

Ive done a who is on the domain, only returns a hotmail address.

[whois.enom.com]

Registration Service Provided By: Domain Guru
Contact: guru@domainguru.com
Visit: http://www.domainguru.com

Domain name: planetsubzero.com

Registrant Contact:
planetsubzero
steph lightfoot (stephlightfoot@hotmail.com)
/
Fax: /
/
/
/, / /
/

Administrative Contact:
planetsubzero
steph lightfoot (stephlightfoot@hotmail.com)
/
Fax: /
/
/
/, / /
/

Technical Contact:
planetsubzero
steph lightfoot (stephlightfoot@hotmail.com)
/
Fax: /
/
/
/, / /
/

Billing Contact:
planetsubzero
steph lightfoot (stephlightfoot@hotmail.com)
/
Fax: /
/
/
/, / /
/

Status: Locked

Name Servers:
dns0.getsurfed.com
dns1.getsurfed.com

Creation date: 09 Jul 2001 00:00:00
Expiration date: 09 Jul 2005 03:19:01


Can anyone tell me where the site is hosted? If its in russia or nigera i think ill bail. Thanks all.
system
--
mission
Posts: 1893
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
I don't know anything about bits you just posted but hotmail and mobile number sounds dodgy.

Cash up front 2 months prior also sounds dodgy. I wouldn't be sending them $5,000. I guess they will have to bank the cheque and it will show up on your statement which account it went into, still not enough protection for me, especially for 5k.
clipto
Posts: 2049
Location: Other International
Did you check one of the many sites that are dedicated to exposing holiday scams?

Looks dodgy as to me.
got bean
Posts: 903
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Did you want to buy a snowboard? $200
Furgle
Posts: 690
Location:
http://www.whois.sc/planetsubzero.com

server in UK, but I wouldn't trust themwith my money
Superform
Posts: 3222
Location: Cairns, Queensland
dodgy
Superform
Posts: 3223
Location: Cairns, Queensland
also steph is a chick

http://www.ifyouski.com/graphics/ifyouski/features/steph.jpg
sheep_pimp
Posts: 506
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
I think it looks legit but the payment method seems abit dodgy. If there is any doubt in your mind dont bother, its not worth it.
rolo_tomasi
Posts: 411
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
cant you drive to France Mooby? Ring them up and tell them you want to pay in person, grab a mate or that Swedish girl and go for a fun/romantic drive.
At least if you have a face you can remember it later when you have dreams of cutting out their heart and feeding it to them after they do the bolt with you hard earned sterling.
Merlyn
Posts: 346
Location: Other International
If you let me know earlier, i was in Paris working on the Motor Show, i could have checked for you.
I have a mate i work with who lives on snowbaording. He is going to Norway in a few weeks, i can ask him how he books everything and let you know if you like.
lmk.
system
--
Not a new post since your last visit.
New Post Since your last visit
Back To Forum
Advertise with Us | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
© Copyright 2001-2026 AusGamers Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.
Hosted by Mammoth Networks - Australian VPS Hosting
Web development by Mammoth Media.