Topic: what is the best anime movie..?
fat pizza

My favourite anime movie atm would have to be spriggan.

I also like the series noir and read or die..

what is everyone elses fav..?

Movie?
End of Evangelion, visuals were stunning.
Series?
Evangelion
My website?
www.evangelion.com (lame plug yes)

but anyway, other good series/movies include...
Lain / FLCL / Love Hina / Photon / Kiki / Perfect Blue (out on dvd now, oooher) / Lupin III / Patlabor 1 and 2 / Etc Etc ...
series

bubblegum crisis
Silent Remorse

Cowboy Bebop Movie
Castle of Cagliostro
Patlabor ONE (Sequel Blew)
Macross Plus
Castle in the Sky
Perfect Blue

SR! sif, patlabor 2 was funky, so what if it didnt have the same action, it was about the mystery, ooOoOOoo
Silent Remorse

bubblegum crisis

Thats not a movie.

SR! sif, patlabor 2 was funky, so what if it didnt have the same action, it was about the mystery, ooOoOOoo

Action owned the "mystery oOoOOooo" :D
fat pizza

3x3 eyes i also very good. yes lain is good also scuzzy
fat pizza

did anyone like the 'ghost in the shell' movie??

yes, hell you dont need to ask that question its like the base of a staple anime diet, Gits and Akira, get them on dvd right NOW!
acrylic

i really digged akira out of all the anime ive seen, it just makes me feel warm and fuzzy everytime i watch it

Movie:

Akira
GITS
Ninja Scroll
Evangelion
Wings of Honemeissi (or whatever)

Series:

Evangelion
Gunsmith Cats
Cyber City Oedo 808
Devil Man

Thats every anime Ive ever seen. I liked em all ;)
fat pizza

do you like 'read or die' that is preety cool

sifnt cardcaptor sakura
fat pizza

sifnt noir doesn't rock

sif your not gay
Silent Remorse

fat pizza is a strong newbie.

Symptoms include:

Creating threads with no point.
Posting like he's been here for ages.
Having a stupid arse nick.
Ember

the best anime movie ever would have to be one that doesn't exist
Cheeseman

Princess Mononoke is one of the best ive seen... or rather, the only one ive seen =P

I need to get more of them though. Anime is good s***
Cailean

ninja scroll was awesome.
Cam

you rock ember...now shut up
Movies:
Ghost in the Shell
Wings of Honneamise
Patlabor 1 and 2 (the second one rocked just as hard as the first!)
Akira (KKAAANNNEEIIIDDAAAA!! ! ! What's happening?!?!)
Ninja Scroll
And I haven't seen it yet, but judging by the series, the Bebop movie would rock!

Series:
Macross Plus
Robotech
COWBOY BEBOP

I love Bebop and Macross
also I've been watching lain a bit and it seens pretty cool..haven't realy got into it much yet tho

Akira sure opened my eyes to new things...

do any local uber cinemas show these flicks?

Silent Remorse

Dendy has shown a whole Japanime festival last year, which included Princess Mononoke (FANTASTIC!). But Perfect Blue wasnt shown in Brisbame recently like it was suppost to, just Sydney and Melbourne :(

u cant go past the original;
akira;
Cam

haven't seen perfect blue yet. . .

go buy Perfect blue, its quite a interesting pice of art
Cam

I would if I had the cash, but I got more important things to spend my muni on =P

I went to a lan down Tassie way once, and was pretty impressed to see that they paused mid-lan (not everyone... but most) to watch an anime flick. This was when I first layed eyes on Akira... and man - didn't it burn my eyes >:)

It'd be prety uber if we could kick the PS2 lovin for a bit @ the next Qgl to watch a Manga classic on the big screen... I've no idea of the legals involved with said viewing but hey, it was so cool at the time I can't help but mention it here. Whatchya reckon Scuzzy? Got something to share with as all @ the next Qgl uber-lan?

Gawd it'd be f***ing sweet if the admins went for it.
SD Gundam

This movie they had at BAS about this japanese police man who got into lots of trouble an was simple minded.
Mick

they all rock :)

I thought Princess Mononoke was a stand out in the fray.

also Patlabor was brilliant...

ninja scrolls and ghost in the shell rule, and even Street Fighter 2 was rad, the fight scene at the start between sagat and ryu was so mad!

Akira...

Anyone ever watched Eat Man? Quite a good anime.

Though Akira would still prolly be the all time best anime movie.

i still don't get the whole akira thing, it never seemed that special to me.

just wondering how many of u have seen nausica, best anime movie hands down no questions about it, followed by porco roso

monoke was good, but meh, it just didn't have a good fell to it imo, lots better work out there, i put it with blood, the last vampire.

as for gits, good, considerd a classic with akira and ninja scroll, i think u would have to put them down as the most watched trio of anime ever. but i don't know if that makes them the best anime movies ever, so yeah.

the bebop movie was good, but not great. how anyone could put that up there is beyond me.

perfect blue was good, i can see how some one would like it, was rather entertaining.

oh, and on the patlabor series, they both rocked.

best anime series ever

mahoro
kenshin
love hina
flcl
lain.

i'd just like to say, that if u haven't watched mahoro yet, do so, and soon, it's f***ing fantastic.

oh and castle in the sky is laputa, if i'm not mistaken
Moridin

I loved the bebop movie, cant wait for the dvd version.
My favorite series is love hina, followed closely be noir, eva, bebop, jungle wa itsumo hale nochi guu, read or die, lain and mahoe senshi riui. I buy quite a lot of anime soundtracks too, Ive got eva OST 1, Noir 1, 2 and blanc dans Noir, Lain, Read or Die, and MGS2 (not strictly an anime, I know). I saw GITS in the cinema in canberra too, would have been better if I hadnt seen it so many godamned times!

ohhh perfect blue.

is it really that good?
I heard it was meant to be some love drama thing?????

sifn't Gyver wasn't a mad series!!!
Scuzzy, did u happen to watch "X"?

and there was another movie similar to it made some years ago.
The main character was a very young girl who help a crystal sword in her body????
I dunno but that was the first fantasy anime movie I liked.
GITS still rocks.

and FLCL rocked too!

even though it was in Jap, it was damn funny!

as if u woudl watch dubed anime

VANDREAD ROCKS
power

cam I rock gee thanks i think?
why is that?

Ember

Oooher, patlabor 2 is on SBS this Saturday 2nd @ 10:00pm
Einstein™

mm i would except seeing the sequel first is a bad thing (in my case seeing terminator 2 before the first, the first officially blows)

Akira was pretty good, Fist of the North Star, that was also very very good =)

Have Ghost in the Shell on DVD, bonafide classic, need Akira to add to my collection, and one day if i get the money, all the Evangelion movies =)

As for all these other series, i missed most of them i think, and don't think i'll ever get around to watching them considering some people STILL CANT f***ING TELL THE DIFFERENCE between ADULT anime and CHILDRENS anime.

People who suggest to me to watch dragonball Z and sailor moon? f***ing suck my cock you uneducated pricks, just because it's anime, doesn't mean all ages are supposed to watch it.

Bad

dragonball z isnt just for kids.... dragonball z f***IN ROCKS

and dont tell me that im a noob for watching dbz, cause i have seen a f***load of 'real' anime as some of u put it.... and its better but dbz is still top s***!
Scythe1o1

I agree with Einstein, I can't understand why people like DragonballZ.

The Castle of Cagliostro! :D
fat pizza

don't diss dbz, it rocks!
Scythe1o1

why?
fat pizza

samuri x is a great series also....

but we all can't forget the golden oracle of anime 'Sailor moon'
fat pizza

sailor moon is what got half of us all into anime..

sailor mercury is my favourite
fat pizza

dbz rocks da haus, thats why scythe101
fat pizza

i can spell well
^Meta^

Mahou Senshi Riui, Hale Nochi Guu, Love Hina, Noir, FLCL (Furi Kuri), Read Or Die, almost Anything by Hayao Miyazaki (He rawwwwks, did stuff like Mononoke Hime, Lupin III: The Castle of Cagliostro, Nausicaä of the Valley of Wind, Porco Rosso, My Neighbor Totoro, Click here for more info ) Dual, Record of Lodoss War, Ah! Megumi Sama, Evangelion, Those who hunt elves, Sazen eyes and s***loads more of what I can't think of right now

I don't really take a liking to Dbz
Drail Siege

My fav anime movie of recent times is Jin-Roh (must see).
Of all time prolly Akira.
fat pizza

i have one question for you all...

where the hell does everyone get their anime from???
Drail Siege

we pay for it of course, where did you think we get it? ftps and file sharing progs? thats ridiculous! so are the multitudes of anime irc channels that distribute anime for all. Absolutely ridiculous.
^Meta^

Not forgeting LANs
fat pizza

well apart from the obvious answer of paying for it.. well duh!(no offense).
c0rr

best movie evar is

http://www.avexnet.or.jp/avexmode/animation/initial/images/ini_toptitle.gif

fast cars BROMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

http://www.geocities.com/japanese_model/Pictures/evo4pt.jpg

http://www.angelfire.com/games2/Aminam/images/rx7sturning.jpg

http://www.geocities.com/generatorgawl2002/truenolevin.jpg

random pics which arent from the movie (movie is wayyyyys bettter then the series :o
c0rr

haha tung, asif im not vandread kinG!
^Meta^

Only good thing in ID is the carz, characters are a bit sloppy.. Vandread rawks though :)
c0rr

initial d is all about the cars, sif 4th stage isnt out on japanese pay-per-view as we speak!
wog

DRAGON BALL Z MOOFIE 12
c0rr

hahaha, whats the giant fat devil thing say wog
wog

JANEMBA JANEMBA!

samurai X = kenshin thx

oh and dbz is the gay so is wog

Dragon Ball Z rools the schools

DRY YOUR TEARS! WERE GOING TO THE PARK!
Bad

JANEMBA JANEMBA!!!!!!

i\'d rather watch sailor moon

\"Whats the matter? Havnt you ever seen a man wearing a pink shirt before!?\"

- Vegeta
Bad

sailor moon is on fox kids everyday or something
Bad

Hello? Servant Woman! Bring me a drying cloth at once!!

- Vegeta

PANTZ
[Q]

These are all crap. The best is end of evangelion or Mononoke hime. There is nothing else. :)
Haven\'t seen COWBOY BEBOP movie, but the series was cool.

FLCL is the best series I have seen. One of anyway.
Bad

Grave of the Fireflies is my fav movie followed by Perfect Blue
Cam

Sifn\'t Macross Plus...I don\'t get why people haven\'t mentioned it...scythe has like 3 of the soundtracks or something.

DRAGON BALL Z FAWKIN RAWKS

hahahahahahhaa @ servent woman

\"You needent worry about the publicity. If reporters show up at our house, I\'ll just destroy them!\"

- Vegeta

how many ways do i have to say it, mononoke was gay
Cam

haha my mate got the vcd\'s of Mononoke from Hong Kong. Problem was they were in Japanese and subtitleed in Cantonese =D I got like 30 minutes into the first one and gave up =D
Bad

yeah mononoke was really s***
fat pizza

what are you on about, mononoke was good

goodly s***, right up there in the s***, i'd put it a good s***
SD Gundam

dragonball z isnt just for kids.... dragonball z f***IN ROCKS

and dont tell me that im a noob for watching dbz, cause i have seen a f***load of 'real' anime as some of u put it.... and its better but dbz is still top s***!
You're not a n00b you just must be real bored to sit through episodes though I mean it took mounths just to get to nameck when it should have taken two weeks. The series is just too f***ing slow. It's amied ate kids if you watch japanese adds for the toys and s*** you see 10 year old kids I don't know how you'd get 10 year olds to watch it though maybe brain washing.

People who suggest to me to watch dragonball Z and sailor moon? f***ing suck my cock you uneducated pricks, just because it's anime, doesn't mean all ages are supposed to watch it.
Salior Moon isn't too bad subbed but Dubbed it is afful.

Anyway the Kenshin OVA's rock.
Bad

i must admit the frieza saga went for ages... but after that it went fairly quickly (tho in some of the andriod saga there were some filler episodes) and comming up the the saiyaman/world tournament/buu saga now dbz is just totally awesome fun to watch
acrylic

you can watch dbz once a week and be up to date wiht it
Bad

i'd like to see you do that in the new sagas.. miss 1 or 2 eps and you will have to actully think to understand whats happened ;P

screw thinking

ps, bad rawks
c0rr

gay sites for my rad initial d pics dont work

boo hoo ><
Silent Remorse

DBZ is total crap - like a 1000 episodes of grunting, flying, bad engrish and dodgy plot.

Yeah - thats entertaining.

bah, did anyone actually watch the original DBZ?

it had violence and sex.
u get to see dudes heads blow up and blood and guts and stuff!!! :D

I was wondering where I could get every EP or Movies of "ID" from?
If anyone has them I would kill for it.
I mean KILL!!

[Q]

FLCL as a series rocks my world. Mononoke was cool. Really clean animation. You had to see it at a cinema, that was mega cool. (Village twin had it on a while back.)

if u had actually watched the original dragon ball, u wouldn't of called it dbz.
Silent Remorse

Mononoke on DVD is incredible :)

mononoke's gay, s***e story, stupid characters, and the animation aint that great

My favourite anime movie is Forrest Gump!
treeoflife

By any chance could I borrow someone's copy of Graveyard of Fireflies. I've wanted to see that for such a long time now but no one i knew had it. It would be so greatly appreciated...

Moridin

By Moridin
Moridin

Samurai X is such a gay name for a series...its beyond me why they renamed it for a western audience. I was reading about the love hina dubs as well - apparently they are really s***. They removed all the sexually suggestive material (basically what the show is all about), and removed the scene from the first episode where naru and keitaro are in the bath, the bit where she was running around, holding onto him...if you cast your mind back, youll remember what she was holding onto :) ANyway, moral of the story, dubs are bad! Also, Read or Die has the best animation ive ever seen in an anime...I need the 3rd episode!
Unit

mononoke had great visuals, imagination and philosophy. except i thought the plot got reeeally carried away. better to watch the jap version without subtitles :P
Einstein™

my mind could be possibly changed about sailor moon... but it would take some pretty special episodes and some decent subbing to do so

as for dbz, you people think it's just SO COOL to watch it, and you call me a fag for knocking it? haha so funny =)

It's still a kids show, silent remorse summed it up pretty nicely i thought.

I remember watching about 4 episodes, spaced several weeks apart

Each one was a different person fighting bad guys, and goku was STILL flying through the air to come help his friends

I MEAN f***ING COME ON

Doncha think after several weeks of episodes goku would get tired from all that flying and his friends woulda had the s*** kicked outta them just once too many?

Lame guys, very lame, leave it to the kiddies and let it lie

well considering there is what, 200+ eppisodes, the only way they can have plots is a weekly wackey adventure, unlike shorter series (the regular 24) they han focus on the one plot and stick to it. so naturaly there is going to be a big difference in the plot / story base between daily tv series and the rest.
Einstein™

Dammit scuzzy

Haven't seen misato sig for ages =/

just for you Einy...
http://members.optushome.com.au/scuzy/qglsig/qglsig-misato.gif
Einstein™

WOOHOO !!!
Bad

read or die is pretty awesome, ends decent... woulda been better if they made it 6 oav's... but oh well

p.s. giri rocks me
c0rr

sailor moon is so sad, theres that darian guy and everyone knows sailor moon wants to ride his rocket to the moon. Anyway through the series he has like 4 different lame costumes and its so easy to tell its him but the all the gimps in the show are like "WHO THE f*** ARE YOU"
redhat

street fighter ownz u n00bs..ryu is hte f***ing master

and the only decent dragon ball toon is the movie where gohan eats some magic apples freaks out and ends up pissing on a bad guy rofl
fat pizza

i agree with bad, read or die is awesome...
fat pizza

wooohooo, this post passed the 100 mark, and yes i do have a life
^Meta^

Still neva beat da awsome 1000 posts of our Anime spam slaw

and then someone deleted it, boo
Bad

mmmm in rod the characters wernt developed enough, but it was hella fun to watch... hehhe Miss Deep :) lol
Spooon

Hey Does anyone know where i could get the Evangilion Moive from... as in on DVD... not divx..??

japan, if you speak japanese, or wait till around august, should be out by then at least.

update:
according to manga.com
"Evangelion Death & Rebirth (DVD)" is out on June 25 in the states. so any time after that realy. dunno dates, but i guess if madman are handeling the local release expect more delays there.
c0rr

sailor mooooooon spooties/fan service

http://www.mamoru.net/moon/etmoon.jpg

yay
fat pizza

sailor moon rocks da haus, that is the first anime series that i watched
c0rr

shes a hawtie too :o)
fat pizza

sailor mercury is my fav
fat pizza

she is da bomb
acrylic

i dont know if its classed as anime, but heavy metal 2000 was pretty cool
fat pizza

i absolutely loved the Samurai X series but the movie was a bit of a let down tho...

i just finished watching the read or die series last night and it gets better everytime you watch it
RageSpirit

Hey, long time lurker, first time poster

Been mentioned, but Patlabor 2 and Nausicaa.
Also Blood:Last Vampire takes the cake for digital anime.
fat pizza

mahou senshi riu rocks, it is funny and is also done qiute well.
fat pizza

has anyone got the entire Samurai X series on divx or equivalent, if so can you please bring it to the next qgl lan. me wants to get a copy of that.
c0rr

pfft sif youd call it samurai x, its kenshin bitch.

id bring all my divx kenshin if you paid for my entry to qgl
BrisGeek

yes i have the whole samurai x dvd series
trust and betrayle = the best ever
fat pizza

no sorry c0rr, i wont. but what i will do is attempt to kick your butt in q3 at the next qgl lan and i am sorry for calling it Samurai x but... shut up

it's not samurai x,

on another note, haha blood
SD Gundam

only fags call it Samurai X damn it!!!

Also Blood:Last Vampire takes the cake for digital anime
while that is true, sadly, its plot and character developmet was a tad missing. If it had a real story behind it and wasnt so lacking in the the role of the charaters (take the eternal screeming / freezing lady) it could have been somthing, more so, im shocked this "movie" went for 45 mins :(
spilmer

Yeah Blood looks good but its a bit s***.

http://www.sp-anime.com/img/blood_i/blood14.jpg
http://www.sp-anime.com/img/blood_i/blood15.jpg

RageSpirit

Well, it was supposedly meant to be the first of a series ( i think), until the money ran out..

theres that darian guy and everyone knows sailor moon wants to ride his rocket to the moon

BWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA

What the f*** is an OAV. I seen the term used a thousand time and never found out what it was...
spilmer

Original Video Animation higher poduction values than a series as its shorter (4-6 eps)

I was so SAD when Blood finished in 45 mins!
They didn't go deeper into that chicks past or why she is the only "original" one.

And wtf r those things she is killing?
are they like some sort of hybrid vampire thingies???
The animation rocked so hard!
Too bad the copy I have has no subtitles.... :(
Einstein™

If Sailor Moon looked anyhting like this, i'd watch it =)

http://members.optushome.com.au/einstein97/jpegs/Sailormoon1024a.jpg
zathras

Castle of Caglostro
Wings of Honnamiese
and a few others. I don't watch nearly as much as I should. :(

In other news NGE: Death|Rebirth is soon to be available in OZ, along with Coyboy Beeebop, Spriggan, Armitage III and Mobile Suit Gundam Wing. Oh My Goddess (NTSC, damn) is available on April 10.
^Meta^

And Spilmer comes out of hiding :)

SM got me into drawing anime so im pretty defensive of it.. even if the americans hacked it up with a chainsaw when they dubbed it.

Minako is my favorite character to date.. even though there have been some that have come close. (Mireille, Kirika, Pai, Utena etc.. )

And here is a quick sketch i scanned in..

http://www.kuiki.net/meta/temp/ninjagal1.jpg
c0rr

by digital do you mean cg?

fat pizza

i am the same as meta, ailor moon is what got me first into anime and i loved the series. they should put it back on telly

Einstein™, looks like the one on the right is a tad adventurous with that hand.
fat pizza

looks like she enjoys being a part of that team.. hehehe
Boof

u ppl wrote too much for me to be buggered reading when my eyes can hardly open so i dunno if it's been said or not but u gotta see 'wierd anime' it's hilarious, it doesnt make sense at all. i loved it.

Just a note for those who want to watch, Patlabor 2 starts in 30 mins...
fat pizza

is it any good?

helovahellyeah.
fat pizza

ok then, I'm there
fat pizza

do you have the entire kenshin series scuzzy or is this a stupid question. if so bring it to the qgl lan if you are goin

no, actualy i dont have that set. hell even the dvd's i have bought i havent watched yet
fat pizza

what about sailor moon??. i want that series so bad, i know meta has it but it is low quality... very low quality
c0rr

ive got all of kenshin in divx, 24 cds, eps 1-60 are dvd rip and the rest are vhs rip.
spilmer

i think the whole kenshin tv is gonna be released by madman later in the year or at least you can hope it does !

As for best anime movies id recommend the Cowbebop Bebop movie and the Escaflowne movie. Neither of which are in the us i dont think
Bad

bebop movie was s***, was just basically a long episode which wasnt as good as many of the other episodes in the series

and escaflowne movie was total ass compared to the series.. the series layed the smack down on the movie.. (tho escaflowne series wasnt that awesome anyway, just alright :P)
c0rr

bad - its all about vandread tho
pARODY

some good old classic animes... astro boy! :D geforce 5! ninja robots... dna2... jojo's bizarre adventure ova's.. kareshi kanojo no jijou... irresponsible captain taylor.. and the one that hooked me back into anime a few years ago.. mobile battleship nadesico.. even tho the movie was a s*** for story.. i got lain dvds over a year ago.. man what a mind job them last eps are..

flcl.. cool... freaky.. but cool..

excel saga.. truely freaky..

there is just so much anime out there today and now thats its all cool to watch anime cause of dbz and sailor moon s***s me :/

go hardcore... subs not dubs!
hell.. go native.. jap audio only! :D

fat pizza

c0rr PLEASE bring the kenshin series that you have to the QGL lan if you are goin.. i want that so bad.
c0rr

pfft yeah right, download it all yourself like i had to.
Bad

haha c0rr.... im gonna love it how people wont give u s*** at qgls now

c0rr: "hey man can i have this?"
other dude: "f*** u c***, go download it yourself"

im sure as hell not gonna give u anything now
SD Gundam

i think the whole kenshin tv is gonna be released by madman later in the year or at least you can hope it does !
Too bad Madman suck then ehh!

bad rules, the escaflowne series was ok, and the movie was dongs
c0rr

bad - its 25 cds that i downloaded all myself cause no1 wanted it, the momemt i get it all everyone wants to leech it off me.
c0rr

besides bad, id give it to you/giri/ppl that i know, just not random lamers that only come up to me for the sake of leeching

then make em trade u for it
c0rr

trading at qgl,or dear
c0rr

if some1 gets initial d 4th stage before me ill trade you my kenshin for it :o

what about if i got all of the wangdongs manga ?
c0rr

wangdongs?

wangdongs !
c0rr

wangdonG!s
Draffa

c0rr PLEASE bring the kenshin series that you have to the QGL lan if you are goin.. i want that so bad.
Or you could buy it. Just a thought....
c0rr

its not even out yet
fat pizza

I'll get you initial d if ya trade for the kenshin
c0rr

intial d 4th stage
fat pizza

yep
fat pizza

I'll try get it off a friend
Draffa

its not even out yet
but it will be. didn't you see the post a few pages back?

Akira, Ghost in the Shell and the Ninja Scroll.

Enuff said thats all you need to know.
Jaymz

Heh... easy. Akira.

The first real anime I ever watched (I saw Astroboy as a kid, but hell.. that was Americanized). First anime that proved to me that animation isn't just for kids, and not all animation is just "cartoons". One of the best movies I've ever seen, anime or otherwise.

You cannot deny that it owns you.
c0rr

initial d 4th stage isnt even out, nice one bruv
.druid.

i really liked titanic. i thought that was a really cool anime video.
fat pizza

so druid are you comin to qgl or what
SD Gundam

He was talking about Kenshin not initial D cOrr

ur a quick one sd

he wants to trade kenshin for initial d, it's called tradeing, aka swaping
spilmer

ive got all of vandread in svcd now btw C0rr and Black Heaven, and FLCL, and Dual, and the escaflowne movie and the bebop movie and Ah My goddess Movie. Did i mention that these where in SVCD ;)