Topic: Rant Thread - Pizza Hut
Imperial
So, i rang the generic 1300 PIZZA HUT call center number and went to place a delivery order to my house (camp hill). Turns out the usual store that delivers to my house (cannon hill, why?) has no power. So i asked if i could please have it delivered by the carina store wich is literally 10 minutes away tops from my house and where i pick up from. They told me the carina store could not do it because i wasnt on their "list" of houses and streets that they deliver too.

So i kept asking why why why until they finally put me through to the carina store where she gave me the same response. By this time i was getting so frustrated and started talking to her as if she was a child or something, insisting they should deliver me my pizza. She couldn't even enter my order into the computer system for some stupid reason, so I ended up getting my order taken on a piece of paper and she couldn't even tell me the total cost of it.....

End Rant.

Anyone else had bizzare issues with pizza hut and their "lists"?
Mantorok
Don't all pizza chains work like this these days? Each store only covers their delivery area.
as far as I know its the same at every large chain pizza place.

pizza capers is better anyway.
serves yourself right for ordering a s***ty pizza from s***ty pizza hut/dominos
One store cannot just start taking extra orders during peak dinner hour because another store looses power. They would have such policys in place for a reason. They don't have the capacity to deal with an entire other delivery area due to a blackout. If they say yes to you they say yes to everyone.

They are drawing the line and obviously not committing to an order they cannot fulfill.

Get off your ass and drive to the store or order from another place.

^^ Plus 10 minutes is a fair distance to drive, it'd be a 20 minute round trip for that delivery driver just for that pizza, then there's all the other pizzas on the way and by the time he gets to yours it'd probably be cold.

I stopped ordering pizza hut when they stopped giving you vouchers on their website you can print out and the vouchers you get in store are 3 months out of date.

So i kept asking why why why until they finally put me through to the carina store where she gave me the same response. By this time i was getting so frustrated and started talking to her as if she was a child or something, insisting they should deliver me my pizza. She couldn't even enter my order into the computer system for some stupid reason,

I think their system works on phone numbers or something and if the computer doesn't have it I guess there's no manual way to enter it. I suspect it's like trying to vote at a place you're not registered for, a few voting places around your area will have you on their list but go outside that zone and they're like wtf no vote for you.

last edited by whoop at 19:12:37 22/Dec/09
should've just ordered dominos
enjoy that spit / floor cheese ;)

Blegh to Pizza Hut and blegh to dominos. Don't you have a real pizza shop anywhere local?
Imperial
Failed thread.
real pizza costs real dollars.
paying $6.95 for a fairly filling and relatively tasty slab of cheese and sauce from dominos is good value imo
possibly part of their franchise agreement that they won't deliver to customers outside of their designated area?

either way you're a colossal f***wit for acting like that just because a shop won't deliver you pizza you fat tosser.
pick the pizza up you lazy *&%^.
re so
Stephen Bradshaw wouldn't settle for this Imperial. Get back on the phone and make sure they understand english.

Oh, you got your pizza, damn.

last edited by re so at 19:22:30 22/Dec/09
My favourite part was when he described the pizza place's behaviour as bizarre.
You live in Camp Hill but didn't think to get it from Pizza Capers? f***, you're stupid.

But to answer your question, no - delivery areas and streets are hardcoded into the Pizza Hut system. I worked there years ago and did mapfile updates when we were taking on new stores. There's no way that the callcentre, or the stores can change it.

Suck it up, and pick it up, princess.
Imperial
I guess i must still be living in the days of ol' where you'd ring your local (closest" pizza hut and have them deliver your pizza. Oh well, that floor cheese was nice though.
Mephz
A normal person would have just accepted that it wasn't going to happen and tried elsewhere.
I think you might have some psychological issues that you raged at a person down the phone for something they have no control over, and for something you did have control over (ordering elsewhere).
Azaria
How come you had to ring up to order? Was the Wow pizza delivery service out of action as well?
Don't you have a real pizza shop anywhere local?

not here in Qld dude.

they only exist in Northern Tasmania.

Pizza delivery should include grog and smokes... why peeps here on the mainland haven't tapped in to this yet is f***ing beyond me

that's a good point. The PP guys didn't like that when I suggested that a while back. PC is a superior product **hehe hi there console gamers**

I think they're getting sick of me asking them to come to Qld... they've blocked about 5 of my spam email accounts now :(

last edited by koopz at 19:34:39 22/Dec/09

last edited by koopz at 21:21:26 22/Dec/09
haha what kind of idiot insults a bunch of angry teens then puts them in charge of making your food

i treat the bros at my local dominos like royalty
haha what kind of idiot insults a bunch of angry teens then puts them in charge of making your food

Dammit! I just stopped by to post this same observation.
enjoy that spit / floor cheese ;)

Pizza delivery should include grog and smokes

Because its f***en illegal you idiot.
Seven
It's a chain business. If one part of the business cannot fulfill its function, the others must pickup the slack - they are under the Pizza Hut umbrella for a reason. It has its benefits, this is one of the disadvantages.

Delivery driver casuals exist for a reason. Tough s*** for Pizza Hut, serve your freaking customers.
XandraX
A lot of pizza stores are franchises, if another store delivered your pizza they would be stealing from the franchises territory. At Dominos you can enter any phone number you want, but only the streets in the store's territory will show up. That stops territory stealing and also makes the database quicker to search, and prevents fake streets from being specified.

In short, they were right, you were rude.
Tremble
As I understand it from my time working at dominos, a store can be fined thousands of dollars for taking orders/deliveries in another stores delivery area. Not all stores are 'corporate' stores and a lot of them are owned by different people, so the money is going into different buckets.
CSIRAC
If youre willing to eat from pizza hut then you're just as welling to eat from dominos. sif waste time arguing with people on the other line. the time spent arguing could of been spent ordering pizza from their main competitor.
Murderer
Pizza hut make the best mass produced pizzas imho.

I havnt eaten from dominos / pizza hut etc for years.

Fkn frozen mass produced bulls*** it is.

I knew a girl who was a manager of one of the stores and she was on like $14.50.

Screw that crap I won't work for anything less than $18hr.

And she's a manager.

Nothing better than a hand made pizza.

Especially wood fired.
/thread

dudes a knob
Mantorok
paying $6.95 for a fairly filling and relatively tasty slab of cheese and sauce from dominos is good value imo
You're doing it wrong.
lols

serves yourself right for ordering a s***ty pizza from s***ty pizza hut/dominos

sums it all up
Because its f***en illegal you idiot.

only if you have teenagers delivering it Tiny Fatty

nah pretty sure you need a license to sell both tobacco and alcohol
Kilos
The PH guys didn't like that when I suggested that a while back. PC is a superior product

Are you meaning to say that you mentioned to a Pizza Hut employee that you feel that Pizza Capers is a superior product?

Why would you tell us this? What do you expect would happen? Jesus christ.
only if you have teenagers delivering it

HAHA. you sir have no idea what you are talking about.

In Queensland to operate a bottleshop it has to be part of a hotel with a Liqour License. I think the law states a hotel can only have a maximum of three detatched bottleshops operating under the liqour license of the hotel.

So I am sorry to say that you are completely wrong. Unless pizza hut starts buying pubs anytime soon no way it is going to happen. Furthermore good luck convincing any pub owner to run his bottleshop with a pizza kitchen that cooks up pizzas at the same time.

Also you are wrong about the person having to be 18 to sell liqour - all he needs is a RSA in Queensland.

Feel free to resort to petty insults to satisfy your own stupidity.

Need more evidence read up on it HERE
Are you meaning to say that you mentioned to a Pizza Hut employee that you feel that Pizza Capers is a superior product?

my bad - meant PP. post fixed
HAHA. you sir have no idea what you are talking about.

dunno - let's compare experiences in hospitality. plz don't insult me with what the govt says what should/should not happen and what really does.

the longer you live you more you'll experience the meaning of the phrase 'money talks and bulls*** walks' matey.

I'm concerned about getting something I want done - and these guys (PP) in Tassie to actually find a creative way to go about it.

Do you actually for one second believe that Maccas burgers are actually '100% Aussie Beef' because that is what the packaging indicates to any 'reasonable person'?

what planet are you from?

think outside the box for just 5 mins. you can go back to your regular day to day when you resume work tomorrow I promise

PS - yes Pinky - before you ask. Jimmy Boags Preium :P

last edited by koopz at 21:34:40 22/Dec/09
Maccas
I used to manage the Carina store and yeah the system is hard coded. It was f***ed cos there were many places we had to deliver that were closer to Cannon Hill/Camp Hill and vice versa. They change the areas sometimes but stores don't want it cutting into their revenues. Also $14.50?? maybe for a shift supervisor but not for an ARM/Manager.

Also, f*** you for getting angry at the chick, she doesn't control the way orders are placed, you probably made her night miserable over that s***. I would have told you to go f*** yourself if you talked to me like that.
Spinnies > Pizza Capers > *
Koopz.

Just keep throwing around wild statements that have nothing to do with the pure fact that the comment you made was wrong.

Way to bulls*** your way out of an argument.

edit: Maybe I didn't make myself clear. I don't care about your pipe dreams about a pizza/booze delivery service. The flat out fact is you won't get it done in Queensland so keep dreaming. If you had any experience in the hospitality industry at all (since you claim too) you would know how much it costs to obtain a liqour license and how hard it is to get one.

Just keep attempting to insult me because you are wrong. It might make you feel better.

last edited by Tiny at 21:49:44 22/Dec/09
You're a dick Imperial and I hope someone spat in your pizza.

Koopz I would trust the words of a maccers manager over your paranoid self.
it's maccas bro, not maccers
in my head, that was in the perfect Pauly (fat pizza) voice ever

overpriced crap did you say?
I don't even have to read the responses to be sure it's been said but you're a cock gobbler don't have a hissy fit at kids who work in fast food just cause s*** doesn't go your way and also go get the pizza yourself you lazy f*** if getting Pizza Hut is so important to you.
Pizza Hut are s***! Dominos are s***! And Pizza Capers are almost s***...except for their blue cheese bread!

Pizza Capers used to be awesome but somethings happened in the last few months and their pizza's are tasting like ass. I'm guessing they've become quite popular and they're too busy to bother making pizzas taste good and they're just pumping them out the door as fast as they can.
Gabby
Haven't had a problem like this but i've had a frozen and recooked moth in a pizza I oredered from them... arseholes.
Forgot to mention Eagle Boys are f***ing s*** too. f*** their pizzas are oily as f***!

overpriced crap did you say?

No, I said pizza capers is better anyway :)

Pizza Capers is a franchise as well I believe and you can get crap stores, The gap store for instance.

The one near me puts an incredible amount of topping on and they taste awesome!
you had any experience in the hospitality industry at all (since you claim too) you would know how much it costs to obtain a liqour license and how hard it is to get one.

When I was looking into it a liquor licence was actually rather cheap depending on what you wanted to do with it.

Edit:

Earth and Sea pizzas FTW.

last edited by Syco at 23:12:23 22/Dec/09

GOOD 'N EASY PIZZA DOUGH

FOR DOUGH:

1 pkg. active dry yeast
1 c. warm water (105 to 115 degrees)
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. salad oil
2 1/2 c. flour

If using self-rising flour, omit salt in dough.) Note: Unbleached flour can be used in this recipe.

Dissolve yeast in warm water. Stir in remaining dough ingredients; beat vigorously, about 20 strokes. Allow dough to rest (about 5 minutes).

Heat oven to 180 degrees. Prepare topping/sauce. Divide dough in half. On lightly greased baking sheets, pat each half into a 10 inch circle. (Continue to flour fingers when patting dough into circles.) Spread sauce on each circle. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and oregano. Arrange your choice of topping on top and sprinkle with Mozzarella cheese. Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until crust is brown and filling is hot and bubbly.

Makes 2 pizzas.

I use that dough, made the day before preferably but I have used it after only one hour and it still went down alright
just buy a leggos pizza base sauce (I mix it 1:1:1 - pizza sauce:bbq sauce:tomato sauce)

my general fav is
* prosciutto
* feta cheese
* kalmata olives
* semi-dried tomatos
* mushrooms
* oregano/garlic to season

I usually do a random for the second base

http://unix.org.au/~brett/brisbane/food/pizza.jpg
this;

http://www.leggos.com.au/image-cache/kk-tomato-past-pizza-sauce-2pk-140g-280-340.jpg

1 of those 1:1:1 or 1:1 with another sauce of your choice does two bases effectively

last edited by tequila at 23:55:51 22/Dec/09
so much agro in this thread

Did u f*****s get sand in ur vaginas at xmas shopping today or something? Christ.
over in good ole holland we have this site that has all the delevered food in your region, you pick what u want order, pay over the net using Ideal and its delivered within 20 mins

f***in tops

the other night i ordered 3 times from dominos (late night chicken strips ftw) no problems and service kept getting faster and faster

almost like some kind of pizza delivery service there eh ^
over in good ole holland we have this site that has all the delevered food in your region, you pick what u want order, pay over the net using Ideal and its delivered within 20 mins

I imagine Amsterdam would have paved the way for some really excellent junk food delivery services
Bonez

Delivery driver for PH here (extra bit of cash and the tips are nice)

Each store has it's own designated area to deliver and they are not allowed to deliver to other stores areas, except where those area's may overlap.

Delivery times and price are kept lower this way.

As a driver it amazes me what type of people order pizza, Saturday nights are really good to see the weirdo's and some people can be real jerks, c*nts to us drivers. Some people you just want to smash the pizza in their face because of how rude they're being.

And if you live within 500m of the store, don't order delivery, order pickup, please, what a serious waste of 8 dollars.
pizza hut is all but dead, most stores looks like a dump with staff they found at centrelink with no teeth.
Bonez

pizza hut is all but dead, most stores looks like a dump with staff they found at centrelink with no teeth.

LOL, too true that.

At least without teeth they don't eat the profits.

The stores also look like that to deter would be thieves.
1 pkg. active dry yeast
1 c. warm water (105 to 115 degrees)
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. salad oil
2 1/2 c. flour

not a bad start. I always do dough measurements in weight though as cups vary depending on the type of cup used ( i.e. proper dry ingredient cup vs pyrex jug ) and different flours have different weights/cup ( all purpose, bread, etc ) gets pretty important to be really precise when you're trying to make hard breads like Ciabatta.

For pizza dough I use the strongest bread flour I can find ( 14+ protein count is golden, but all purpose is okay ... cake is bad ). Here's my usual recipe

300 g flour
200 g water
8 g salt
8 g sugar
25g olive oil
sachet of yeast.

my target for pizza dough is around 75% hydration ( water:flour ratio ) which is wetter than most normal bread doughs. Unless I'm doing a quicky base I usually use my sourdough starter and skip the yeast all together.

Knead the hell out of it, if you haven't got a mixer it will be harder to work with as its a wet dough, but if you keep your hands floured it's doable.

I let it rise/prove for at least an hour ( or a day in the fridge ) then punch it down and shape into balls. I then hand flatten them out and show off my mad pizza spinning skills, or if I'm feeling clumsy I just spread it out by hand ( never a rolling pin ).

Also for cooking the pizza, I put my pizza stone under a grill/broiler at full strength until it's rediculously hot and cook my pizza on it under the broiler. Usually only takes 5 minutes to cook the pizza and is as close to a proper pizza oven you can do at home without a big lump of clay with a fire in it outside.
About the only thing I can cook well is Pizza. I used to make dough for a living at Pizza guts before I got a real job.

The following message is approved by The Chef Wife so pay attention it is f***ing Food Gospel, right?

I usually just use the force when mixing the dough so I have no idea what ratio, I just know when it feels right. I reckon its drier than stinky's dough, I don't need to flour the bench or my hands to kneed it although its a weee bit tacky.

My mix is a couple teaspoons yeast dissolved in warm water with oil to get the little f***ers happy then mixed into the flour. I use home brand flour, it does the trick!

My sauce is epic, made up of a slap-dash array of tomato sauce, bbq sauce, tomato paste, garlic and chilli with a teaspoon or so of herbs. Just use Italian Herbs you get from a jar at the supermarket, not freshly picked ones from the f***ing garden.

I'm a recovering fat c*** and don't like doughy pizza anyway so I roll it for consistency. Note that Pizza Hut thin & crispy dough is rolled so I'm not totally making that bit up on a whim.

When topping the pizza, don't go overboard (especially if going for a thin base). Less is often more. In general I go sauce, bottom cheese - not a full covering, maybe 2/3 of a handful, onions / mushies / capsicum, then meats, then top cheese - about a handful.

I have no doubt that this recipe is 'wrong' but its f***ing delicious so it works for us! I can be in and out of the kitchen in about 90 mins with the above mojo, with an hour break while the dough proofs.
BOOST
wow qgl forums are pretty much: i know i'm in the wrong/being a jackass but i thought i'd come on the internet and look for someone to make me feel better about how much of douchebag i am.

ref: airport cutoff thread. this thread.
CSIRAC
nahhhhhhhhhhhh man
wow qgl forums are pretty much: i know i'm in the wrong/being a jackass but i thought i'd come on the internet and look for someone to make me feel better about how much of douchebag i am. this

wow qgl forums are pretty much: i know i'm in the wrong/being a jackass but i thought i'd come on the internet and look for someone to make me feel better about how much of douchebag i am.

the only thing worse than a whinger whinging about a op whinge thread is a follow-up whinger whinging about the way the whinger whinged & how it seems that all the threads these days are whingers whinging about something or other. in short : waaaaaahhhhhhhhh! :D
Imperial
wow this thread is the longest thread i've ever started, I just wanted a pizza
Bonez

wow this thread is the longest thread i've ever started, I just wanted a pizza

Pizza is a very touchy subject for all gamers. It is the staple of our diet, our breakfast, lunch and dinner during long gaming sessions. When mixed with the proper amount of Jolt cola a gamer can last for weeks with nothing more than a stack of cold pepperoni lovers pizzas.

This is why your thread is so long :P
i don't think that's why the thread is long at all
BOOST
the only thing worse than a whinger whinging about a op whinge thread is a follow-up whinger whinging about the way the whinger whinged & how it seems that all the threads these days are whingers whinging about something or other. in short : waaaaaahhhhhhhhh! :D

irony much?

hey stinky, I'm about to experiment with a sourdough starter.. I've heard some things about warm weather not being so great. Given it's middle of summer here should I hold off til it gets a bit cooler?
I ended up getting Eagle Boys for lunch and surprisingly it was f***ing nice. I got that base with the cheese around the crust and it kicked some serious ass.

So I will retract my comment on them being s***ty atm. The rest still stand.

I think someone needs to give Tiny back his flour bag so he settles down a bit.
I imagine Amsterdam would have paved the way for some really excellent junk food delivery services

you'd think so but amsterdam is bulls***, everything shuts at midnight and you can't get a god damn thing.
not even a cheese sandwich and a pack of smokes. i tried.
And if you live within 500m of the store, don't order delivery, order pickup, please, what a serious waste of 8 dollars.

sif I'm going to leave my own party to get pizza yo, you earnt the f*** out of that $8

stinky, I normally don't bother with the measurements anyway - I just keep chucking stuff in until the consistency is right
sif I'm going to leave my own party to get pizza yo

The space magician gave us wimmins for that.
Had Dominoes today at work - we got a vegetarian, Hawaiian and a cheeseburger. All were pretty average.
just got $4.95 pizza
cheers mantorok
Mantorok
It's the only right way to buy Domino's pizzas.
gonna bookmark that site for when we buy kids like 30+ pizzas
hey stinky, I'm about to experiment with a sourdough starter.. I've heard some things about warm weather not being so great. Given it's middle of summer here should I hold off til it gets a bit cooler?

I did mine during a summer of 60 days of 40+. you'll be fine :)

This website has all the info you'll need ( http://www.sourdoughhome.com/startermyway.html ) on starting a new starter. I followed it and it worked perfectly.
Bonez

sif I'm going to leave my own party to get pizza yo, you earnt the f*** out of that $8

Mate, parties I do understand, but most of the orders within walking distance of our shop that I've delivered were for 1 or 2 pizzas to either single people or couples.
sif pizza hut

/thread
kr0wb4r
I can never take pizza in australia seriously again after the Pizza I bought in Milan. 12 bucks for a seafood pizza that literally came out with fresh prawns (still in some shell), oysters, muscles, octopus, calamari, and other s*** on it. man it was the G. Only pizza I've ever had that came with a bowl to put all the crap in.

I want to go back and have another one.