The Match Fixer
Just a quick heads up for those who catch the caboulture line (and Shorncliffe line as well perhaps?), a few hours ago someone threw themselves under a train at Nundah station and made a mess of it.
Cops, ambos you name it everywhere. Expect delays. |
| #0 02:34pm 30/07/09 |
yeh Nundah makes you feel like that
| #1 02:30pm 30/07/09 |
Trains running again on Caboolture and Shorncliffe lines http://www.translink.com.au/alert_qr.php Ahh the good 'ole Police Incident. Everyone knows what they mean. At least it means trains home by the time 5pm rolls around won't be affected. |
| #2 02:30pm 30/07/09 |
In grade 7 I saw someone do this 10m away from me at South Brisbane. Didn't see anything except that he got down then instead of running across the tracks like we thought, he lay down and the train went over. Was pretty bizarre feeling really.
| #3 02:34pm 30/07/09 |
Selfish c***.
That driver is going to be all sorts of f***ed up as a result of this. If you're going to off yourself, do it in a way which doesn't directly affect another person. |
| #4 02:36pm 30/07/09 |
Yeah well suicidals do tend to be a little narrow-minded.
| #5 02:40pm 30/07/09 |
The Match Fixer
That driver is going to be all sorts of f***ed up as a result of this. If you're going to off yourself, do it in a way which doesn't directly affect another person.Said dead person doesn't have regard for his own life let alone the feelings of others, so i dont think many suiciders fit into that category. You're right though, it's the epitome of selfishness. last edited by The Match Fixer at 14:46:15 30/Jul/09 |
| #6 02:46pm 30/07/09 |
I could think of better ways to go
and f*** yes I would take out some people with me, |
| #7 02:47pm 30/07/09 |
The Match Fixer
tequila: inside the mind of a suicide bomber.
| #8 02:54pm 30/07/09 |
life is such a wonderful gift. why people even consider these things is beyond me.
| #9 02:59pm 30/07/09 |
That driver is going to be all sorts of f***ed up as a result of this. If you're going to off yourself, do it in a way which doesn't directly affect another person. ^^^^ This. Both my Aunt & Uncle were drivers for NSW Rail. Both went through this, although in my Aunt's case it was an accident when some bogan couple parked their ute on the tracks while they stole sleepers, but thankfully she didn't suffer too much long term. My Uncle on the other hand has suffered through multiple people throwing themselves in front of the train whilst he was driving. Ended up an alcoholic because of it & was one of the main causes them getting divorced.. So yeah, not cool. Not cool at all. |
| #10 03:02pm 30/07/09 |
Stop Looking At Me Swan
Nundah represent
| #11 03:16pm 30/07/09 |
Before the suicide his life wasn't quite on track.
| #12 03:29pm 30/07/09 |
</news-thread>
<pun-thread> last edited by 3dee at 15:32:49 30/Jul/09 |
| #13 03:32pm 30/07/09 |
Mantorok
Sounds like his life had come off the rails.
| #14 03:35pm 30/07/09 |
The way QLD Rail employees treat paying customers (like thieves), they should be subjected to a life of misery for it. That's what you get when one company monopolises a service that people rely on. You just wait till I am the mayor of this stinkin town.
| #15 03:48pm 30/07/09 |
It didn't take too long to turn into a pun thread.
| #16 03:48pm 30/07/09 |
thermite you really are a f***ing douche.
| #17 03:53pm 30/07/09 |
Lits
You just wait till I am the mayor of this stinkin town I think you'll find it's the State Government, not the Mayor who controls the trains; at least for now. But I wish you the best of luck with your political aspirations, at any rate. |
| #18 04:14pm 30/07/09 |
But I wish you the best of luck with your political aspirations, at any rate. I don't, he sounds like a freakin' lunatic. |
| #19 04:23pm 30/07/09 |
you know what - some of us grew out of high school mentality after high school
last edited by thermite at 16:34:44 30/Jul/09 |
| #20 04:34pm 30/07/09 |
Haha, come on you guys. You have to pay for everything in 2009. Get used to it
| #21 04:35pm 30/07/09 |
you're a douche, public transport is there to HELP you
it runs at a huge loss, the only way they make money is off the freight arm of the rail network. |
| #22 04:36pm 30/07/09 |
The way QLD Rail employees treat paying customers (like thieves), they should be subjected to a life of misery for it. That's what you get when one company monopolises a service that people rely on. You just wait till I am the mayor of this stinkin town. Yeah - the drivers are to blame for the actions of head office. |
| #23 04:38pm 30/07/09 |
Nathan
The way QLD Rail employees treat paying customers (like thieves) I only catch the train occasionally, but I dont have any idea what you are alluding to. |
| #24 05:49pm 30/07/09 |
Mantorok
I only catch the train occasionally, but I dont have any idea what you are alluding to.I guess having to show a ticket is the same as being treated like a thief. |
| #25 05:51pm 30/07/09 |
i'm jumping on the train too... f*** u thermite
| #26 05:53pm 30/07/09 |
I only catch the train occasionally, but I dont have any idea what you are alluding to. When they caught him stealing they called the po-po on him those bastards! |
| #27 06:02pm 30/07/09 |
JamesBlunt
someone else lost their iphone i'm guessing
| #28 06:35pm 30/07/09 |
pretty dramatic way to do it
not as much as walking on the train and touching the overhead cables but still pretty dramatic at any rate his funeral will be next week |
| #29 07:44pm 30/07/09 |
it runs at a huge loss, the only way they make money is off the freight arm of the rail network. haha yer but QR still manages to have huge business parties for the execs |
| #30 07:55pm 30/07/09 |
lewd
you're a douche, public transport is there to HELP you maybe the trains are, but the bus system is privately owned in brisbane. and they aim to run at a profit. thats why the service sux in some areas, they wont have a run that wdont guarantee passengers. |
| #31 08:04pm 30/07/09 |
This happens all the time in London. So many times I had a delayed or cancelled train due to 'a person under a train at ....'
I have often thought they should create a suicide line. Basically a standalone piece of track, long enough for a train to get up a head of speed. Unmanned, just runs back and forward. Have one of those ploughs attached to each end so it could push any human debris out of the way. People could go out there, do their thing, and not interrupt anyone else's commute. I think I have problems. |
| #32 08:20pm 30/07/09 |
The Match Fixer
Zak, watch 'THE MIDNIGHT MEAT TRAIN' starring Vinnie Jones.
Nothing to do with getting run over by trains, but since you're such a sick man you'd get off watching it. |
| #33 09:14pm 30/07/09 |
I have often thought they should create a suicide line. Basically a standalone piece of track, long enough for a train to get up a head of speed. suicide booth |
| #34 09:16pm 30/07/09 |
Crakaveli
Lol @ Zak's idea. That'd be pimp.
| #35 09:17pm 30/07/09 |
Zak, you were normal until you detailed the plough.
| #36 09:25pm 30/07/09 |
lewd, the bus system in brisbane is city council owned and runs at a major loss
| #37 09:44pm 30/07/09 |
If it were up to me, I'd abolish public transport fares and pass the cost on to car users. f*** people who overuse cars. The money from ticketing covers a very small percentage of the cost of running public transport. Then we spend millions of dollars on fare systems (e.g. Go Card systems, ticket machines, staff to sell tickets, people to enforce fare payment). People who think fares make any significant contribution to public transport or think a public transport system can be run at a profit is clearly ignorant of how public transport systems are funded.
IMO the money saved from scrapping the fuel subsidy should have gone straight into funding PT. |
| #38 09:44pm 30/07/09 |
If it were up to me, I'd abolish public transport fares and pass the cost on to car users. f*** people who overuse cars. f*** you, im not riding on no stinking public transport |
| #39 05:16am 31/07/09 |
sparrow
Public transport is awesome (if you happen to live close to some). Brisbane totally needs a subway though. I'm currently in NYC and remembering just how frikkin awesome subways are! |
| #40 07:49am 31/07/09 |
train driver's get paid when this s*** happens
| #41 10:15am 31/07/09 |
Pretty much the plotline of this movie...
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/6/62/Main_portrait.JPG/400px-Main_portrait.JPG |
| #42 10:18am 31/07/09 |
You obviously don't drive, Crizane. f***ed if I'm paying more to drive! The train stations are already crowded enough.
| #43 11:11am 31/07/09 |
Trains dont run anywhere near chapel hill, kenmore, brookfield, pinjara, moggill, etc. I don't really care how good trains are for what, I'm not going to take it.
Yeah there's also no parking near indooroopilly for the train (or taringa, or toowong). Its sad because my work is an hour drive away on the northside, on the same line which runs past indooroopilly. The station is 5min walk from my work. So if i could catch a train at 6:30am i'd maybe consider it to not deal with ICB s*** and play my PSP/laptop/phone instead (its dangerous to do those things in the car even if the traffic is stopped). |
| #44 11:39am 31/07/09 |
kr0wb4r
I guess having to show a ticket is the same as being treated like a thief. http://steven.macintyre.name/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/rapeshoplifting.jpg |
| #45 12:25pm 31/07/09 |
You obviously don't drive, Crizane. f***ed if I'm paying more to drive! The train stations are already crowded enough. nnnguilty. I haven't owned a car for about 3 years now. The only time I really miss it is for grocery shopping. Don't hate on me just because I'm smart enough to live within 5km of where I work. Petrol prices can only go up from here, buddy. Driving a car is going to cost you more and more until it becomes prohibitively expensive. We're living in an age of an unprecedented abundance of energy. Just remember; the oil we've burned through over the last hundred years was created over tens of millions of years of the sun's energy being harnessed by plants... I'd hate to be so lazy and ignorant that I were forced to be so reliant on an expensive piece of metal and plastic. f*** you, im not riding on no stinking public transport Man up, you big softy. It's not that bad :P |
| #46 06:41pm 31/07/09 |
Don't hate on me just because I'm smart enough to live within 5km of where I work. Petrol prices can only go up from here, buddy. Driving a car is going to cost you more and more until it becomes prohibitively expensiv Because I don't want to live in Queen St Mall? |
| #47 06:53pm 31/07/09 |
Because I don't want to live in Queen St Mall? You work in the Queen St mall? There are plenty of good places to live within a 5km radius of there. |
| #48 06:56pm 31/07/09 |
my car is now way way cheaper than public transport
i caught the train to work once when i was inbetween cars appart from rubbing up against all the school girls, it was horrible |
| #49 07:08pm 31/07/09 |
I catch the train everyday to work anyway. i manage to get the good times
appart from rubbing up against all the school girls, it was horrible lol |
| #50 07:24pm 31/07/09 |
hooray for philosiraptor!
| #51 07:49pm 31/07/09 |
I'd hate to be so lazy and ignorant that I were forced to be so reliant on an expensive piece of metal and plastic. let me guess, you dont have kids? yeah I though so, get back to me when u can drop the kids to daycare, get them to the doctors when required and so on. What if u need to, um I dont know, to go somewhere that doesnt have public transport, what do you do, I bet you have friends that drive u places, or u just dont go anywhere. |
| #52 08:21pm 31/07/09 |
+1 for not having to rely on others for rides...
| #53 08:55pm 31/07/09 |
I heard the guy was attempting to 'do the locomotion' |
| #54 09:00pm 31/07/09 |
What if u need to, um I dont know, to go somewhere that doesnt have public transport, what do you do, I bet you have friends that drive u places, or u just dont go anywhere. Airport, city, Valley, South Bank and all my friends' houses... pretty much everywhere I go is reachable by PT. |
| #55 02:13am 01/08/09 |
Brisbane has no concept of a public transport system, try London man. |
| #56 07:02am 01/08/09 |
To catch a train to my work, it would take over 2 hours, 1 way because all the trains have to pass through central.
To catch bus, it again would take over 2 hours. So by the time I walk/ride to the train station and get to the third stop I could be at work if I drove. By the time I've walked to the bus and hopped onto the 1st connection I'd be at work if I drove. If I use the Translink travel finder thingy from my house to work it gives me no options. Yer, public transport in Brisbane is awesome! |
| #57 09:17am 01/08/09 |
pretty much everywhere I go is reachable by PT. "Pretty much everywhere". So what do you do if you want to go to one of those other places that isn't reachable by PT? Or you I don't know, want to go somewhere you don't normally go and it is not reachable by PT, what do you do then? If I use the Translink travel finder thingy from my house to work it gives me no options. Journey Planner. Does it still give you no options, even if you extend the walking distance to the maximum? I think it's 4km. Bit strange if there are no options within 4km. |
| #58 09:54am 01/08/09 |
Mind you, 4km is a bit of a walk if you're on a deadline.
| #59 10:00am 01/08/09 |
If I extend range then it will, the options are catch bus X, then Y, then Z, have a nice day.
| #60 10:01am 01/08/09 |
"Pretty much everywhere". So what do you do if you want to go to one of those other places that isn't reachable by PT? Or you I don't know, want to go somewhere you don't normally go and it is not reachable by PT, what do you do then? I couldn't name a place I need or want to go to that badly that is not accessible via PT. You're welcome to suggest something. |
| #61 01:43pm 01/08/09 |
My mother works with the train drivers husband.. apparently the bloke wasnt all there who jumped.. he was with a friend at the time..
QR had given him 3 days off.. how compasionate |
| #62 04:33pm 01/08/09 |
The Match Fixer
Yeah the person that i picked up from the train station said the guy that jumped was with a bunch of friends. One of the so called friends was apparently shaking when ordering a drink from the machine..
| #63 04:40pm 01/08/09 |
nymphetamosa
If it were up to me, I'd abolish public transport fares and pass the cost on to car users. f*** people who overuse cars. I am unable to walk more than 10 to 20 meters as I broke my back 10 years ago. Where I live is dictated by how much rent I can afford. I have 4 kids, the nearest bus stop to the city is further from my house than the station is, which is just over 1 km away, how do you suggest I get around with out my car? Taxi's are way too expensive and hey I can't take all the kids in a taxi, most only seat 5. Very few buses have the drop down floor needed to get my wheel chair on the bus, and not one person has ever offered to fold it up and put it on board for me; and most older stations have stairs not ramps. Without my car I would never be able to leave the house. I haven't owned a car for about 3 years now. The only time I really miss it is for grocery shopping. Don't hate on me just because I'm smart enough to live within 5km of where I work. Intelligence has nothing to do with how close you can live to where you work, your comment in point, I used to be able to move to where my job was when I was single with no kids, but children need stability.You are LUCKY to be able to live close to your job. You work in the Queen St mall? There are plenty of good places to live within a 5km radius of there. You're right, there are plenty of places to live within 5km of QSM. But 1. They are already all lived in and 2. Not everyone can afford $500+ a week in rent just to live near their place of work, and as the accomodation near QSM is apartments, a family of more then parents + 1-2 children couldn't live there anyway. |
| #64 01:14pm 04/08/09 |
My bro found a dead dude at Boondal Station the other day too, must be the week for it
| #65 01:15pm 04/08/09 |
The Match Fixer
Only on the northside...
| #66 01:48pm 04/08/09 |