Any QGLers' have connections with water tank suppliers and/or concreters?
| #0 01:03pm 21/07/09 |
yup, team spook needs a couple of water tanks at least:
want as much rebate as possible |
| #1 01:05pm 21/07/09 |
Back off Spook, I asked first. You're such a copy kat!
I need two plus bases & pumps and thought someone on here might know someone (or be someone). I have the plumber to fit it all |
| #2 01:14pm 21/07/09 |
who is your plumber and is he cheap?
i need a decent plumber, have all other tradies sorted: i need all the stuff kat needs, and slimline tanks (fully rebated if possible, will make use of grey water) |
| #3 01:16pm 21/07/09 |
I tried to get a bunch of plumbers - all of them stood me up and didn't bother getting back to me with a quote.
So I found a plumber through a friend. He seems to know what he is doing but he wanders in and out whenever he wants and isn't very good with contacting me. Apparently I am just expecting too much and that is what they do :) I didn't have anyone else to compare his prices too, but he came well under how much I expected him to be. If you want his number let me know. |
| #4 01:21pm 21/07/09 |
I know a plumber and he is more than decent. |
| #5 01:21pm 21/07/09 |
I tried to get a bunch of plumbers - all of them stood me up and didn't bother getting back to me with a quote. that must be a plumbers thing i even tried zubzubs guy and he did the same |
| #6 01:27pm 21/07/09 |
Access Water Tanks. tell em Russ sent ya.
| #7 01:30pm 21/07/09 |
infi, they have no website. They can't be legit!
| #8 01:32pm 21/07/09 |
you don't need a website to sell water tanks fyi. they just sell s***loads to the new home industry and used to be my tenants. good blokes.
| #9 01:35pm 21/07/09 |
If you aren't connecting to mains water and house (i.e., garden watering and maybe washing machine and toilet flush) do it yourself. It's very easy. Elvis would surely be all over that since he looks pretty hands-on with building stuff. For mains water, what I mean is when your water tank is empty your appliances revert to mains. You need a plumber to hook that in because it's illegal to contaminate the mains system with rainwater - so it has to be done properly. For reference I priced up a 5kL 1.85m diameter x 2.1m high cylindrical water tank for $829. For a base I have laid half a cubic meter of sand. I had to dig it in 100mm or so into the ground which is pretty much clay in my area. Here is the manufacturer of the tank we want: http://www.urbanpolytanks.com.au/ Here is the actual tank that was $829: http://www.urbanpolytanks.com.au/uploads/images/install-2-fix.jpg |
| #10 01:39pm 21/07/09 |
Pinky, they will be connected to the toilets and the plumber is already arranged to do it all. I just need to arrange tanks and tank stands (ground won't be enough).
infi, will give them a call last edited by Kat at 13:40:59 21/Jul/09 |
| #11 01:40pm 21/07/09 |
Ours is a 'Clark' tank from a memory.
It sits full 95% of the time as it isn't connected to anything (other than garden hose). Lucky it only cost us $50 after rebates etc. |
| #12 01:41pm 21/07/09 |
Pinky, they will be connected to the toilets and the plumber is already arranged to do it all. I just need to arrange tanks and tank stands (clay won't be enough). Ah, k. I just put down sand because a mate of mine put in a 20kL tank which is a whole lot heavier and his has been sitting on sand with no probs. He only ordered a meter of sand for his tank, so I figured ½ cubic meter would be enough. The word on the street is that when the tank fills then it will sit perfectly horizontally on the sand because it will always settle that way. I dunno about slim-line though. I would be tempted to attach that to the wall or build a more reliable base to be certain. I just mentioned the clay because if you have soft soil you might want to box in the sand with sleepers or some other structure which I have seen done a lot. |
| #13 01:43pm 21/07/09 |
infi: the whitepages says they don't exist |
| #14 01:47pm 21/07/09 |
gremlins last edited by Kat at 13:52:33 21/Jul/09 |
| #15 01:52pm 21/07/09 |
| #16 02:10pm 21/07/09 |
tell em Russ sent ya. and get punched in the face amirite? |
| #17 02:12pm 21/07/09 |
no you get a nice phat discount, you silly n00b
| #18 02:14pm 21/07/09 |
They didn't want to talk to me :( They only deal with trade customers.
*sigh* So, back to square one. Anyone know a place to get some tanks? |
| #19 02:42pm 21/07/09 |
Bunnings usually stock a small range or try irrigation shops.
| #20 02:54pm 21/07/09 |
you'll probably find if you ring up sounding like you have no idea what you want, no where will be bothered to talk to you
if you ring up and go 'i want this, in x y z dimensions' they will probably be more keen to help... |
| #21 02:57pm 21/07/09 |
^ Sounds like good business practice :/
| #22 03:10pm 21/07/09 |
Ahh, I love the assumption because I am a chick I must obviously ring up and act like a ditz.
I know my dimension, I know what colour, I just want someone to sell me some (rang a few places out of the yellow pages, either getting back to me or don't have what I want) |
| #23 03:10pm 21/07/09 |
Kat, I sourced mine from a nusery. They were very helpful. I just wanted dimensions initially to see if I could get a 5kL between our fence and our house. Call Urban Poly and see where their resellers are in QLD. |
| #24 03:11pm 21/07/09 |
This is where we got ours from:
http://www.clarktanks.com.au/Rainwater-Tanks-Clark-Tanks.htm I'm pretty sure I just rang that 1800 number (at the top of the page) and they put me in contact with suppliers. |
| #25 03:20pm 21/07/09 |
Thanks mission and Pinky. I am after colourbond/corrugated iron ones I guess if no one on qgl knows someone then I will go back to the yellow pages :) |
| #26 03:23pm 21/07/09 |
boba
| #27 03:48pm 21/07/09 |
the way you were posting sounded like you were being a ditz about it
| #28 03:51pm 21/07/09 |
Why metal?
Plastic ones are much better. |
| #29 03:54pm 21/07/09 |
Pro tip for getting a tradie to do a job for you, don't ask them for a quote for a little job. Just ask them their rates and make the decision off of that. You're not likely to get the best price if you scrounge around for a quote anyway as they will work out what it will cost and add on %30 for insurance.
| #30 05:06pm 21/07/09 |
Auz_Guy
Not sure if it is a legal requirement but when ordering, don't forget a filter. A mate in Caboolture had his tanks connected to the mains without a filter. Now his toilet water stinks (go figure), after only a couple hours of cleaning the toilet. Not sure about the effect on his clothes after they have been through the washing machine.
| #31 05:58pm 21/07/09 |
If you're claiming your water tank on rebate, it needs to be inspected by the council... in a few months they will all need to be inspected , regardless.
I am dealing with duraplas , only people who make the 5000L slimline, getting that bad boy for $2000 (and thats trade price). If you're getting your pump for around $250 you're doing well. sorry spook... wait 6 months and i'll have my plumbers, drainers and gas fitters license :) kat make sure your plumber puts up rainheads... its the law now.. otherwise they wont pass the inspection. |
| #32 06:11pm 21/07/09 |
Am I correct, there are no state or local rebates for water tanks any more? |
| #33 02:57pm 22/07/09 |
sounds like they all finished up june 30 :(
god damn it; |
| #34 03:31pm 22/07/09 |
that's a good thing. it means the government is no longer distorting the market and causing a bubble in the tank industry. tanks are now cheaper for everyone, not just those eligible for the handouts.
| #35 03:36pm 22/07/09 |
OH NOES
no free money davey |
| #36 03:37pm 22/07/09 |
theres a mob that sells them on the highway just south of morayfield (eastern side of the bruce)
+1 for DIY pinky: shopped |
| #37 07:40pm 22/07/09 |
I gave a 5000l one away about 2 months ago Spook you sucker, it could have been yours!
| #38 10:59pm 23/07/09 |
let me know next time!!!
| #39 05:31am 24/07/09 |