I've got a basic gym in the building - but has no free weights. Theres a fitness first in the city but their website is balls (and closed sunday so i cant ring them). Does anyone one here use fitness first, and know what membership plans they have?
Cheers |
| #0 07:35pm 19/07/09 |
re so
Did you know they had a website on this here internets? http://www.fitnessfirst.com.au/
Also, check out jetts.com.au as well, cheaper but not sure if one is in the city. |
| #1 07:40pm 19/07/09 |
Have you thought of buying your own free weights?
| #2 07:40pm 19/07/09 |
Taz
I used to go to Fitness First at Lutwyche. I was paying over a $1000 for a 12 month contract. Bloody expensive seen as the gym a had before that was $600 for a year.
last edited by Taz at 19:43:42 19/Jul/09 last edited by Taz at 19:46:00 19/Jul/09 |
| #3 07:46pm 19/07/09 |
can you read?
Theres a fitness first in the city but their website is balls dont really have enough room in the pad for weights. :S |
| #4 07:41pm 19/07/09 |
fitness first is full of steriod users, i went there a while ago... done my max on dumbells for chest.. (45kg's each) then this big motherf***er bicep curls the same 45's 3 times over.
moral of story, now i go to a quiter gym where i don't get intimidated and pay quarter of the price. |
| #5 07:42pm 19/07/09 |
$28.95 a week cheers. last edited by mooby at 19:45:00 19/Jul/09 |
| #6 07:45pm 19/07/09 |
re so
how do you think I got my text on the left
| #7 07:46pm 19/07/09 |
bigzub, which fitness first did you goto? The one i goto isn't really like that.. just in the arvo/night has all the idiots standing around talking and barely doing anything..
| #8 07:46pm 19/07/09 |
Might be cheaper just to go to some place like Rebel Sport or whatever and buy some weights to keep in your apartment and then use the gym in the building for other stuff. Saves joining up for a year.
| #9 07:46pm 19/07/09 |
Speaking of weights - Anyone have any they don't want?
| #10 07:46pm 19/07/09 |
I've got some 2.5kg, 4kg and 5kg weights you can have Kat. Nice rubber coated ones that wont hurt you.
8-) |
| #11 07:50pm 19/07/09 |
Need more weights to anchor the boxing bag.
| #12 07:51pm 19/07/09 |
Ah, well these prolly aren't what you're chasing.
| #13 07:52pm 19/07/09 |
Bigger the better. |
| #14 07:54pm 19/07/09 |
Taz
Speaking of weights - Anyone have any they don't want? no, but I've got a half a bar you can have. |
| #15 07:55pm 19/07/09 |
Bigger the better I bet you say that to all the boys 8-) |
| #16 07:59pm 19/07/09 |
taz, were you just watching the fat pizza movie.. haha
| #17 09:53pm 19/07/09 |
Also, check out jetts.com.au as well, cheaper but not sure if one is in the city hey what's this gym like? i got a friend interested. are the facilities ok? any trainers around? any classes? if so wats included and wats not cheers |
| #18 11:24pm 19/07/09 |
I signed up with Jetts last night for a free ten day trial. Will try to get down this week and will let you know what it's like. Seems quite cheap, but their opening hours at my local one are like 8:30-11:30am and 3-7pm Monday-Friday, and 9-12 Saturday. The afternoon session suits me, but I guess it might be a problem for people who like to go before work.
| #19 08:37am 20/07/09 |
Zak - those hours are only for 'staffed' hours - the gym is 24/7 with swipe card access.
At least that's how it is at my local jetts at taringa. I went there for a while but it got ridiculously crowded during peak hours and they lacked decent equipment whilst having surplus of s*** equipment. |
| #20 08:45am 20/07/09 |
I've been put off going to FF. There are no plans. They're almostly completely ad-lib. Everyone pays something different. Oh and apparently you'll have a lot of trouble ending your contract too.
| #21 09:26am 20/07/09 |
cheers 3dee. will go with the missus tonight and see what we can negotiate.
| #22 11:03am 20/07/09 |
Unfortunately UQ has become fairly overpriced these days too, but it's still in the cheaper end of the gym membership spectrum.
It is, however, one of the best gyms you'll find in terms of free weights, plenty of options, and virtually no overcrowding. |
| #23 11:05am 20/07/09 |
pcyc at milton is awesome:
good machines (not many of them) we go during the day, so its pretty much empty every day when we get there: costs are awesome as well, i paid $270 for 6 months |
| #24 11:17am 20/07/09 |
FF make it -very- difficult to cancel
| #25 11:25am 20/07/09 |
cheers 3dee. will go with the missus tonight and see what we can negotiate. From what I've heard (in some rather LARGE forum threads around the interblag), its advisable not to join Fitness First. last edited by 3dee at 11:32:28 20/Jul/09 |
| #26 11:32am 20/07/09 |
I have a membership to Goodlife. Can go to any goodlife in Bris (even Australia I think).$27/fortnight.
It's pretty good, can get pretty busy around 6-7.30 but I can usually do what I need. I go to the holland park one, has plenty of free weights, machines, benches, treadmills, bikes, rowers, squash courts, lap pool, sauna and steam room. |
| #27 12:46pm 20/07/09 |
I would probably join Goodlife if not for it being about a 15 minute walk from my work. I would have about 15-20 mins of actual time.
| #28 12:59pm 20/07/09 |
pcyc at milton is awesome: that would be very handy for me, could go at lunch too. but the missus wants to go too after work :S |
| #29 01:28pm 20/07/09 |
I signed up with Jetts last night for a free ten day trial. Will try to get down this week and will let you know what it's like. Seems quite cheap, but their opening hours at my local one are like 8:30-11:30am and 3-7pm Monday-Friday, and 9-12 Saturday. The afternoon session suits me, but I guess it might be a problem for people who like to go before work. Like Le Cock said, this is the staffed times. You can get in 24/7 with a card (though I guess with the 10 day trial you don't get a card as they charge for them?). What was the facilities like when you went in to sign up? Did they have much in there? I'm planning on checking my local one out this afternoon. |
| #30 02:26pm 20/07/09 |
Ah right, didn't read that bit. That's cool though, gives me more time and choice.
Heading down shortly, will give you the heads up when I get back. |
| #31 02:37pm 20/07/09 |
supreme
I have a membership to Goodlife. Can go to any goodlife in Bris (even Australia I think).$27/fortnight. It's pretty good, can get pretty busy around 6-7.30 but I can usually do what I need. i also go to this gym, i reckon its a really good spot but yes can get extremly busy at 6 on a weekday. but thats the only time most people can go so what can ya do last edited by supreme at 14:49:21 20/Jul/09 |
| #32 02:49pm 20/07/09 |
Ok back from Jetts @ Camp Hill. It's fairly small, probably 5 treadmills, 10 bikes, etc. Good selection of free weights, but no bench or free squat due to the fact it's unsupervised most of the time. There didn't appear to be any change rooms/showers either, but that's not an issue for me as I am only around the corner. Think it's $21.95 per fortnight, or $470ish for the year. I got a ten day free trial, and if I join up before that runs out they halve the sign on fee (normally $99). Didn't get to use the equipment this afternoon as I had to dash, but I reckon I will probably join.
| #33 04:51pm 20/07/09 |
that would be very handy for me, could go at lunch too. but the missus wants to go too after work :S Argh, don't go with a chick unless you're trying to impress her, otherwise the gym just ends up being another place you have to put up with bitching and nagging. |
| #34 05:15pm 20/07/09 |
Ok back from Jetts @ Camp Hill. It's fairly small, probably 5 treadmills, 10 bikes, etc. Good selection of free weights, but no bench or free squat due to the fact it's unsupervised most of the time. There didn't appear to be any change rooms/showers either, but that's not an issue for me as I am only around the corner. Think it's $21.95 per fortnight, or $470ish for the year. I got a ten day free trial, and if I join up before that runs out they halve the sign on fee (normally $99). Didn't get to use the equipment this afternoon as I had to dash, but I reckon I will probably join. I checked my local one out also. It's not massive, but there's a pretty wide range of pin weights. There are free weights (dumbbells) and there was a bench with a barbell but I'm going to assume they remove that when not being staffed (I could imagine people dieing trying to be a hero when no one else was around and pinning them self with 140kg on their chest heh). He told me about the free signup also, going to head down with the GF on Friday (she can't get there during their staffed hours to sign up and has friday off) and give it a go. He told me the 10 day trial thing was really only a 2 day trial, if you don't hand the card back in after 48 hours you are assumed to have joined or something and have to pay? But meh, no contracts, no join up fee ($20 for the swipe card) and $17 something a fortnight (family thingy), can't go wrong. |
| #35 05:56pm 20/07/09 |
i was going to jetts at ashgrove, but have slacked off that last few months. damn you alcohol.
though yeh the place is pretty small, but is good being able to gowhatever hour you want. and yeah, going during 5pm-8pm is just ridiculous |
| #36 07:53pm 20/07/09 |
I go to Goodlife in the City. I get my membership for $31.50 a fortnight because I work for DTMR. It's 33.50 normally, and there's usually a joining fee but they seem to waive it as a special every second month. I'd recommend it; they have good gear, plenty of classes to chose from and friendly staff. It's also cheaper than Fitness First.
| #37 09:14pm 20/07/09 |
Goodlife is the win. Cheap compared to FF which is dumb priced. Chermside represent...
| #38 10:07pm 20/07/09 |
supreme
chermside goodlife is masssive. some crazy roid heads go there
| #39 10:54pm 20/07/09 |
i live close to that jetts gym at camp hill. i had a gander through the window when i was getting some pizza capers (yum). equipment looked decent but the clientčle looked like roid takers.
| #40 07:45am 21/07/09 |
Maybe they were just people who prefer to work out than eat fatty pizza?
| #41 08:52am 21/07/09 |
goodlife looks really good, and very close. cheers guys.
| #42 09:05am 21/07/09 |
haha billy!
| #43 09:39am 21/07/09 |
Maybe they were just people who prefer to work out than eat fatty pizza? i do both so i win :) |
| #44 09:53am 21/07/09 |
Hehe. Franco Columbo would eat pizza during competitions to keep up his energy cause it's such high calorie food (and because he's Italian lolol).
| #45 09:55am 21/07/09 |
Coochie
I also heartily endorse Goodlife...I go to the one at South Brisbane. I go at lunch time and there is usually only 2 or 3 others there. Looks hell busy after work though.
I only pay $50/month which is pretty good with I think it was $20 joining fee and no contract. That is a special deal for my work...but doubt it would be much more for randoms. Why is everyone so scared of the roid heads? I used to go to Thors at West End which is full of them and whilst some of them are douche bags it's not like they go around bullying people or anything...they just keep to themselves...nothing to be scared of. Unless your daughter is dating one of them. |
| #46 10:32am 21/07/09 |
heh, we're looking at thors also as we just work around teh corner:
would be good to be able to go twice a day, or just once a day for longer; |
| #47 10:35am 21/07/09 |
Farseeker
I go to Jetts Mt Gravatt, I'm a 'foundation member' - no joining fee, no contract, and my rate is $17.95/fortnight. It's awesome, all new equipment.
| #48 11:11am 21/07/09 |
yer, i saw that deal being advertised in shopping centres;
sounded pretty good, no catches? |
| #49 11:13am 21/07/09 |
Coochie
heh, we're looking at thors also as we just work around teh corner:Thor's is great...might seem a little intimidating at first but as I said above the body builders just mind their own business. Lot's of friendly people there...all the regulars say hi to each other and those who like to have a little chat. There's also some funny characters there...always good for a laugh at. Only reason why I changed to Goodlife is because it's across the road from my work so I can go at lunch time. |
| #50 11:28am 21/07/09 |
I go to Jetts Mt Gravatt, I'm a 'foundation member' - no joining fee, no contract, and my rate is $17.95/fortnight. It's awesome, all new equipment. None of them have contracts supposedly. i live close to that jetts gym at camp hill. i had a gander through the window when i was getting some pizza capers (yum). equipment looked decent but the clientčle looked like roid takers. That's kind of odd, I wouldn't imagine body builders using a gym like that. Almost all of it is pin weights. |
| #51 12:15pm 21/07/09 |
Farseeker
Yep.. another nice thing about foundation membership is if I choose to stop the fortnight payment, I get a month free. also get a free PT session - and the option of 5 more for $50 or something. pretty awesome.
| #52 01:37pm 21/07/09 |
Everyone gets a free PT session. After that you're supposed to negotiate with the PT as they're private contractors that just work out of there, maybe for foundation member they pay half or something.
| #53 01:44pm 21/07/09 |
Had the induction thing recently (haven't actually been in to work out) and their cardio machines have iPod plugs so you can watch videos/listen to music from your iPod/iPhone on the screen on the machines. Pretty cool.
| #54 07:22pm 24/07/09 |
Just had my first session at Jetts - it's pretty cool, think I will go ahead and sign up. It wasn't very busy, but I guess that's Friday night for you. Machines were nice, and yeah the ipod connector is a nice feature. There is actually one toilet and shower there afterall. Would be nice to have a water bubbler but they have a massive vending machine selling bottles of water, so I guess they need to make their money somewhere.
| #55 07:36pm 24/07/09 |
with jetts being 24x7, whats stopping you giving your card to your partner to go in and use your membership?
| #56 07:42pm 24/07/09 |
with jetts being 24x7, whats stopping you giving your card to your partner to go in and use your membership? They have cameras, when you swipe it takes an image. If they notice it's not the person (they store an image of the card holder on the computer) they get fined $150 and have their membership cancelled. I asked if I forget mine and go with a friend or partner and we just used theirs what would happen, they said fine/cancel, you always have to swipe yourself in. So if you go in with a friend they need to swipe then you need to swipe. |
| #57 07:54pm 24/07/09 |
Infidel
I would buy my own weights and did when I lived on the gold coast, f*** paying 700 yearly gym. Did go to a smaller one that was 350 a year but then it shut down.
| #58 08:16pm 24/07/09 |
I would buy my own weights and did when I lived on the gold coast, f*** paying 700 yearly gym. Did go to a smaller one that was 350 a year but then it shut down. We're paying around $400 for Jetts. |
| #59 08:31pm 24/07/09 |
I need to go somewhere other than my home to work out, I either don't have space (when living in a unit) or I'm too lazy to do it once I get home
So I need to integrate it into my routine on the way to or from work 400 bucks is too good (Russell Peters) |
| #60 09:12pm 24/07/09 |
we go to the gym at work
its awesome motivation ++ when u have work buddies paying yuo out for not going plus, going tot he gym > working |
| #61 09:16pm 24/07/09 |
Any of the JETTS members have any issues with their RFID card? I signed up on Wednesday and went in tonight to work out but the lock wouldn't unlock. The light only flashed green for a second (rather then stay lit while the lock stays open as others I've experienced do) but no clicking and no open door :(
I'll send them an email I guess. |
| #62 12:04am 27/07/09 |
signed up to jetts today, exactly what I need / have been waiting for
24x7 access works well for me and I also hate contracts++ will report back with my huge guns soon |
| #63 01:34am 27/07/09 |
They have cameras, when you swipe it takes an image. If they notice it's not the person (they store an image of the card holder on the computer) they get fined $150 and have their membership cancelled. do you really think someone checks the photos everytime someone swipes? Now we just need a thread about workouts and diets!!! Compound lifts or die!!! |
| #64 08:22am 27/07/09 |
in a cast for upto 4 months, so prolly wont need gyms for a bit. could do upper body when leg doesnt hurt so much. will need it after tho.
| #65 03:03pm 27/07/09 |
sif working out legs anyway, its all about the chest/guns/shoulders
:) |
| #66 03:09pm 27/07/09 |
nah do your legs, it's worth it and helps the rest of you get bigger aswell
| #67 03:23pm 27/07/09 |
i run for my legs and they are already huge
i dont want them any bigger; |
| #68 03:29pm 27/07/09 |
do you really think someone checks the photos everytime someone swipes? Of course not, it just takes them to look at you doing it wrong once to cancel and fine you though. |
| #69 03:40pm 27/07/09 |
running doesn't make your legs big
| #70 03:48pm 27/07/09 |
my legs are big already, im trying to get them to slim down some
| #71 03:49pm 27/07/09 |
Nah, your legs are small. I know that because you don't squat :O Squat or die. Squats and/or deadlifts will smash your whole body, especially your "core" that everyone is so worried about (but it will srsly help protect against general day-to-day injury if you do them right).
My basic workout at the moment: Squats Wide grip chin ups (behind head) Dumbbell bench press Shoulder press (behind head) Bent over t-bar rows At least 4 sets per exercise (plus warmups) and anywhere from 5 - 20 reps per set, depending on what I'm doing. Each session we cycle the exercises, so the first exercise will be the last exercise in the next session. Any days I'm feeling extra energetic, I chuck in supersets with other stuff, like cleans, deadlifts, push-ups etc. |
| #72 03:50pm 27/07/09 |
im all about the core!
trying to help my previously fragile back; we do a particular muscle area per day; mondays = shoulders tuesday = moobs wednesday = back thursday = go to pub day friday = do what you feel like day i do squats occasionly on the smith machine, dont like doing it free weights coz im worried about my back last edited by Spook at 15:56:16 27/Jul/09 |
| #73 03:56pm 27/07/09 |
I've just finished 6 weeks of german volume training. Which is 10x10, have to start failing around 6th set, last 2 weeks i've done few sets all the way to 10 without failing which was hard to do that.
Doing leg work will increase your upper body workouts, like you won't believe. I was doing upto 140kg deadlifts, got upto 105 flat bench and 95kg incline bench before i finished my strength phase. Don't know what it's store for me next, seeing PT on wednesday for it. I'm going for overall size in the end, want to compete. Spook, are you doing good mornings? they are great for lower back.. |
| #74 04:00pm 27/07/09 |
Spooky, don't be embarrassed by using light weights if you're worried. Everyone has to start somewhere, and it's much better to start light, get your form right, and work up. You're body will be better off in terms of results and injury-protection. I used to squat with just the bar, and even now I use tiny weights for most lifts, but I'm still huge because I have superior form.
If you're worried about your back then you shoudl definitely do more squats and deadlifts, because it will strengthen the whole area from your waist to your chest, on both your front and back. And remember: don't ever waste time with things like ab crunches. Also, your Friday session should be whatever you did on Monday, so you start your routine again before a whole 7 days goes past. Disclaimer: proceed at your own risk. |
| #75 04:01pm 27/07/09 |
i did those bent over t-bar rows for the first time last week, man they are awesome
| #76 04:02pm 27/07/09 |
whats a good morning?
really i do a fair bit of abdominal stuff (either inclined situps with weights, or the one where you hold yourself on the dip frame and bring legs up to body) and just try and concentrate on using my "core" when im doing all my other stuff; have had a few minor strains of the back (usually after cricket) but certainly its much better now than its ever been; also, with our sessions, theres always a bit of overlap with what we are doing; so today was shoulders day, but i did some preacher bench bicep curls, some additional abdominal stuff nearly always do some bench press/pushup stuff, just do extra on moobs day and yer, i probably should go lighter weights on a lot of stuff i do, im sure my form is pretty bad on some of the exercises i do; the guys im with like to push me hard though; last edited by Spook at 16:06:08 27/Jul/09 |
| #77 04:06pm 27/07/09 |
Damo - what about body weight gains?
I go through cycles of weight gain then maintain. Last cycle I did lasted ~6 months, starting in November @ 83kgs. I peaked in March at 95kgs, and then trimmed back the fat to ~90kgs in April. My overall goal is to get to 100. But I wanna be more careful about it and try not to get too fat during the bulk phase... which is hard without a dietician and a loathing for cardio. |
| #78 04:05pm 27/07/09 |
billy, i think i maybe doing that starting from weds.. already done strength and gvt, so weight/muscle gain should be next on the agenda.
spook, this is a good morning. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iycq-kJann0 *spoiler*nice looking chick to help you through it.. ahah I was 100kg on friday, back to around 98kg since i had a gastro bug all weekend, ate nothing for day and a half, first real meal was today brekkie then subway. I'm wanting to get around the 100-110kg of decent size/mass of muscle. Just annoying that my gut is most noticeable, losing all the weight i have the guy is still the last thing that goes away. |
| #79 04:09pm 27/07/09 |
Spook - stomach exercises are a waste of time. If you do a few sets of deadlifts and squats, your abs will be so smashed you'll wonder why you ever bothered with ab-specific stuff. Also, ab s*** is highly inefficient exercise.
Good mornings are when you wear the bar like a back squat, and you just tilt forward while keep your legs straight, then stand up straight again. I do not do them as I prefer deadlifts and squats. |
| #80 04:09pm 27/07/09 |
that sounds pretty hardcore billy
i started going to the gym coz i wanted to just get in shape at the start of the year i was about 125kg and had never been in worse shape so, joined tony ferguson, started running in the mornings and dropped down to 95kg. Then joined gym with the boys at work and have started putting on muscle (and i suspect a little bit of fat due all the booze on the weekends) up to just over 100kg now, could probably lose another 5kg of fat i reckon hmmm, my old mate always hated me doing abdominal stuff too so its a waste of time? i can feel a nice layer of muscle in under the blubber, surely thats gotta help support my back? last edited by Spook at 16:12:58 27/Jul/09 |
| #81 04:12pm 27/07/09 |
BOHEMION
Madcow is where its at. You ever followed the 5x5 Billy?
| #82 04:12pm 27/07/09 |
holy f*** she looks like should could throw me around like a rag doll
I like it. |
| #83 04:16pm 27/07/09 |
that sounds pretty hardcore billy If you are gyming to lose weight, definitely do NOT do abs - you burn the least amount of calories doing ab crunches compared to every other sort of exercise. Even things like bicep curls and tricep extensions will burn s***loads more calories (especially if you superset them). I know how good it feels to feel abs under stomach blubber, especially when you're making the transition from chubber to athlete. But, your abs will be there regardless of whether or not you're working them out. All you have to do is strip the fat off them. Madcow is where its at. You ever followed the 5x5 Billy? Yes, we alternate between 5 x 5 and high rep training throughout the year. 5 x 5 is pretty darn good, but I don't think it's the duck's nuts like everyone makes it out to be. All that matters is intensity and regularity (and diet and rest). |
| #84 04:22pm 27/07/09 |
im running 8ks a day as well, so the gym work isnt for weight loss, its for muscle gain and general body well being;
| #85 04:28pm 27/07/09 |
FocaL
I read somewhere that ab exercises can be good for beginners where the core muscles are very weak. But crunches/sit ups are not recommended. The recommended exercises were leg raises and prone bridges.
Also diet > exercise for weight lose. I think you have to run a half marathon to burn the energy in a meal at McDonald's. last edited by FocaL at 18:49:01 27/Jul/09 |
| #86 06:49pm 27/07/09 |
yer. reckon;
ive always been very active, played heaps of sport, just never lost any weight until i went the full hardcore diet (tony ferguson) the second i started doing that, started dropping weight still holds true now, im doing way loads of sport, but drinking and eating what i want, weight is creeping back on |
| #87 07:02pm 27/07/09 |
im guna try and drop 30kg by end of '09, whats the best way?
kgo advice plz |
| #88 07:21pm 27/07/09 |
BOHEMION
cardio and diet diet diet
| #89 07:30pm 27/07/09 |
30kg in 5 months.. that's alot..
To work out how much protein you need go here - http://exercise.about.com/cs/nutrition/a/protein_2.htm 6 meals a day,3 main meals and 3 snacks. you'll need lots of protein, eat foods which will increase metabolism things like capsicum, pepper and so on. Lots of green foods. consume carbs/large amount of protein first thing in morning to get body charged, have another serving of carbs in arvo, no carbs after 5. Last meal should be before 7pm. try to have some protein before you goto sleep, this will stop your body from eating itself, casein protein is your friend. But in saying that, exercise is the best. The greatest way of losing fat..HIIT!! High Intensity Interval Training. Low, high, low, high and so on.. 30mins of this a day will do you wonders. I was doing an hour when i first started and the weight just fell off me. But it's hard to do hiit for this long if your not use to much exercise. Cross trainer is best for this. Go for a walk/jog is just as good..You want your body to be pushed to limits then start relaxing then you smash it again. |
| #90 07:32pm 27/07/09 |
BOHEMION
30kg in 5 months.. that's alot.. Thats exactly the same time frame and amount I lost. |
| #91 07:33pm 27/07/09 |
im guna try and drop 30kg by end of '09, whats the best way? I believe the biggest loser is taking applications now for couple fatties, gogo |
| #92 07:35pm 27/07/09 |
its 1/5th my total weight
going to try get back into gym 3 days a week to start with, already eating better and yeah something i wanna do just in general so my kid doesn't run me off my feet when shes walking |
| #93 07:51pm 27/07/09 |
im guna try and drop 30kg by end of '09, whats the best way? for serial tony ferguson + cardio u will do it easy |
| #94 07:54pm 27/07/09 |
im guna try and drop 30kg by end of '09, whats the best way? simply cut down how much you eat by half and you will lose weight brett you eat with your eyes something fierce, you really need to eat an amount of food, let it go down and see how hungry you are. work out how much food you need to eat to keep you from being hugry, not how much you think you need to eat and you will shrink your stomach... so you won't be able to eat how much you used to eat the amount will change depending on how active you are, when i did this earlier this year i was hitting the gym and doing cardio only. now i've gone back to weight i've had to start eating a bit more to keep up. just need to get a bit more in tune with your body |
| #95 08:05pm 27/07/09 |
lol what, when was the last time you saw me eat anything
the last few meals we've eaten together you ate exactly what i ate (pizza/sushi/bbq) etc i already have that s*** down pat, i think i just live a bit too much of a sedentary life dunno if im too keen on the tony ferguson style stuff though spook, heard lots of people whinge about how hungry they are after the shake or whatever and basically end up eating more than normal? i get the shakes if i dont eat enough, that feeling where your limbs shake etc pretty sure i dont have diabeetus tho cause i only ever notice it when i skip a meal or two |
| #96 08:19pm 27/07/09 |
paveway has a camera in your kitchen.
and toilet. |
| #97 08:23pm 27/07/09 |
dude the day me you and the bitchez went to chalk hotel, you had about 5 buckets of chips constantly through the day plus the burger + chips after we got there
then back at jac's house you had about 3 cup cakes before dinner while she was putting the icing on.. not sure if you ate more of them after, you had your dinner stole half of mine then nailed dessert(not the cupcakes) then when you were leaving you told your bitchez you were going to get a sundae from maccas.... in comparison i at the same size lunch, had the odd chip then only half my f***ing dinner because some fat prick was steeling it how many plates of sushi do you ever see me eat? 4 usually 3 if i have eaten not that long ago, maybe 5 if i have come from the gym you eat like 7 or 8 regularly you're a big c***, i get that and you're going to eat more than me but you're not going to need to eat double what i eat remember kilojoules in has to be < kilojoules out you're eating that much food, and doing no exercise = weight gain |
| #98 08:34pm 27/07/09 |
Err cardio? No, don't bother with cardio (unless you're a really fit person already). Heavy weights all the way. It's not as hard as cardio, you burn as many calories, and you look good. Better than looking good though, you build muscle that requires more calories to sustain, which means the reduced diet that you're on will be used to maintain muscle mass, not to insulate you. If you're really keen, do cardio a few times a week on top of weights training.
Also, I have to point out the problem with these sorts of comments: Also diet > exercise for weight lose. I think you have to run a half marathon to burn the energy in a meal at McDonald's. McDonald's isn't an evil food. Some of the meals are high in calories, yes, but so is a lot of stuff people eat at home. People need to learn the basics of nutrition - stop worrying about fat content (cept saturated) and think about overall calories and where those calories are coming from. A lot of people might eat a huge bowl of cereal for breakfast before they go to work to sit on their arses all day. Yes, you do need some energy to function at work, but you don't need as much energy as is in most cereals. Protein shakes are great, but don't think that "protein shake" is automatically a good idea - most protein shakes are choc'ed full of calories, and will end up being worse for you than a double quarter pounder (saturated fats notwithstanding). Don't try to "earn" meals either. Just because you jogged for one hour doesn't mean you should go home and eat a massive bowl of pasta. That sort of thing will just leave you putting in as many calories as you just burned, leaving an equal state of affairs. Get to the end of a workout and have a healthy meal - you'll continue to burn fat and metabolize your food quickly, so it's like a double workout! Be very wary of marketing like "all natural" and "healthy options", because s*** like that is just words, and could be totally meaningless when it comes to calorie count. Look at what is actually in the food and understand what that means. A big glass of most brands of orange juice that you will find at the supermarket will have as much sugar or more than what you would find in a can of coke. Sports drinks like Powerade are almost just as bad. These sugary things are great if you're an athlete who needs to do hours of exercise, but if your goal is to lose weight, you don't need to worry about these sugary beverages. Finally, don't aim to "go on a diet" - aim to eat well and lead an active lifestyle. If you just go on a diet, the weight will come back as soon as you leave that diet. Good food plans and weight loss programs should completely re-shape how you think about food. There is nothing wrong with a junkfood meal now and then, even every day, just as long as you know how many calories are in your meals and how much exercise that means you have to do to burn off. weight = calories in - calories out |
| #99 08:44pm 27/07/09 |
Unless you are morbidly obese, you do not need to do Tony Ferguson. It's cheating and you will most likely regret it as sustaining the weight loss is what's the hard bit.
im running 8ks a day as well, so the gym work isnt for weight loss, its for muscle gain and general body well being; You probably won't put any muscle on doing all that cardio. It's going to be one or the other imo. 30kg in 5 months is an awesome effort but don't be dissapointed if you don't hit that as everyone is different, obviously, but a gradual loss will be easier to maintain. |
| #100 08:48pm 27/07/09 |
haha yeah i do tend to eat a lot when im drunk or stoned but otherwise i do alright
im not really going to be that pissed if its not all gone in 5 months, i just need to set some kind of goal to work toward if its unrealistic i can readjust my goal but its better than just saying "im guna lose some weight" i dropped 40kg in 3 months in 2003 or 2004, 5 days a week at gym and i stopped eating 100% s*** food all the time unfortunately as soon as my routine changed (i moved to another state) i basically forgot about gym and a few years later im in a similar position |
| #101 08:58pm 27/07/09 |
what you should do is try and do a normal month say of working out etc, see how much weight you lose and then work out an achievable goal from there
even when we had a few meals when i was in sydney with you, i couldn't help but notice how much food you regularly dominate in 1 meal |
| #102 09:01pm 27/07/09 |
doing weight alone won't help, cardio is the best for losing large amounts of fat. Having lost upto 45 kilos with large amounts of cardio and 1-2 weight sessions a week, i think cardio is the best way for large amounts.
| #103 09:02pm 27/07/09 |
what you should do is try and do a normal month say of working out etc, see how much weight you lose and then work out an achievable goal from there Top advice. Make your goals realistic and measurable. |
| #104 09:16pm 27/07/09 |
Nastiest way to lose weight is a virus, got one right now.. lost about 2kg since saturday..not fun!!!
| #105 09:18pm 27/07/09 |
Usually during illness you'll mostly lose fluids from your body, so don't be suprised if that weight comes back in a couple of days.
| #106 08:42am 28/07/09 |
5 months x 4 weeks = 20 weeks
and you want to lose 30kg's a kilo a week is pretty unrealistic really and dropping weight real fast sets you up to put it back on just as fast |
| #107 08:46am 28/07/09 |
/ad time
dunno if im too keen on the tony ferguson style stuff though spook, heard lots of people whinge about how hungry they are after the shake or whatever and basically end up eating more than normal? man, im a big dude and i love eating (and drinking) to excess, but i had got to the stage where i was determined to do something about it; tony ferguson was excellent: yer, i was hungry for the first week, but you learn to deal with it (plus there are some foods you can eat lots of) so after a week, i was fine with the shakes and my body learnt that it wasnt going to get any more food, so it stopped complaining plus i learnt heaps about what foods i was eating and what foods i should be eating; i would say tony is 60% shakes, 40% education i got awesome results from it and woudlnt hesitate to do it again or recommend it to others; |
| #108 08:48am 28/07/09 |
One kilo a week isn't too hard to lose if you are exercising regularly AND you're careful about your diet like greatly restricting carbohydrates. But like paveway said, and like I said earlier, it's not about dieting and binge exercising - it's about adjusting your eating habits and lifestyle to be healthy so that a healthy weight can be maintained longterm.
| #109 08:53am 28/07/09 |
you just have to teach your body, and more so your mind how much you need to eat
my best example would be a subway footlong, normally i would eat one for lunch no problems then i decided to see how i would go on just a 6" and changing my bread to the lower GI with the honey oat at first i was hungry after eating it for probably 20 minutes after, but once it goes down i was fine. now unless i've been to the gym the 2 days previous i can't even finish a footlong and that hungryness after a 6" goes away after a while and you're content with just it |
| #110 09:07am 28/07/09 |
and that hungryness after a 6" goes away after a while and you're content with just it What about the subway? Bahahahahaha |
| #111 09:12am 28/07/09 |
lololol
iswydt |
| #112 09:21am 28/07/09 |
yeah like i said though the end of year thing is just a goal/marker, i dont care if it takes me twice as long .. i just need to do something about it
got gym orientation thursday, bloody thing doesn't open till august 8th though so im just going to do 30mins each day on the treadly at home before then today for lunch? i think i'll try a 6" instead of a foot long with double meat haha as for 1 kilo a week, i could lose that just by dropping 200grams of s*** food per day .. which would be real easy for me |
| #113 10:20am 28/07/09 |
i'm not saying try and eat the same ammount as me
just cut the size down of what you normally would eat, and see how you go |
| #114 10:22am 28/07/09 |
Billy what's you normal daily/weekly food intake? I gotta say I am a fairly fussy eater and generally don't like too many 'healthy' foods :/
I eat a heap of bread/bread rolls and generally have a large meal at lunch and it's not uncommon for me to have cereal for dinner... I am going to try and get in shape when I head home in Sept, I would have done lots of cardio and less weights... note I am hardly a fitness expert :) I've moobs and a nice old beer gut to get rid of, which is my aim as opposed to bulging biceps etc etc I don't see how weight training alone will strip weight, happy if it does :D |
| #115 10:39am 28/07/09 |
200grams of "s*** food" doesn't equal 200grams of body mass.
Also, a lot of subway subs have more calories than maccas burgers. eg. the chicken fillet is packed with fat, and will cost you about 800calories for a footlong (with cheese but without sauces), whereas a big mac will only cost you 480 calories, or about 840 WITH medium fries. http://www.subway.com/applications/NutritionInfo/nutritionlist.aspx?id=sandwich http://www.mcdonalds.com.au/PDFs/NutritionInformation.pdf |
| #116 10:39am 28/07/09 |
yeah i personally go the roasted chicken, there is plenty of nasty s*** at subway if you so choose it
I gotta say I am a fairly fussy eater and generally don't like too many 'healthy' foods :/ I eat a heap of bread/bread rolls and generally have a large meal at lunch and it's not uncommon for me to have cereal for dinner... you're in for a big shake up then, eating mass carbohydrates (breads + cereals) is pretty much the worst thing you can do when trying to lose weight last edited by paveway at 10:48:59 28/Jul/09 |
| #117 10:48am 28/07/09 |
Billy what's you normal daily/weekly food intake? I gotta say I am a fairly fussy eater and generally don't like too many 'healthy' foods :/ One of the best investments I made a few years ago when I was getting to be a chubber was a heart rate monitor that could tell me how many calories I was burning. I would wear this all the time - at uni, at the gym, even at the pub. It would give me a good idea of how many calories I would burn at any given point in time. Then I had to get smart about the amount of calories that were in the different foods that I ate... and gee, what a surprise, the amount of calories I was shoving in my mouth each day was about double the amount I was spending. You can really do your head in worrying about every little thing that you put in your mouth, so it's much better to get a general idea of the amount of energy in different servings of different food, and just use rough estimates. Plenty of exercise will take care of the rest. I would always look at the number of calories in the foods I would eat regularly, like tuna, maccas, subway, and workout how many of those calories are coming from carbs (the ones that go straight to your moobs). It doesn't take very long to work out where you can cut out bits of your diet to have a huge impact on your overall caloric intake. At the moment I am trying to maintain my body weight. I eat 250ml of eggs each morning, made from 1 whole egg and the rest egg whites. If I get hungry before lunch I will snack on a piece of fruit and some nuts. Lunch is usually two tins of tuna, or left over meat from the night before and a big salad. If during the afternoon I get hungry again I will have a protein shake and some more nuts, or just milk and more nuts. Dinner is usually more lean meat, like kangaroo or chicken, with lots more salad. Notice what's missing? Breads and pastas. I typically only eat breads and pastas when I ride to uni, because it's just energy that I don't need. When I'm trying to bulk up in weight, my food intake almost doubles with s***loads more carbs from brown rice. I don't see how weight training alone will strip weight, happy if it does :D Anything that causes your heart rate to increase and make your body burn more calories will "strip weight". For me, intense weight training for one hour would burn between 800 - 1500 calories. |
| #118 10:48am 28/07/09 |
you sure do like nuts billy
| #119 10:57am 28/07/09 |
One of the best investments I made a few years ago when I was getting to be a chubber was a heart rate monitor that could tell me how many calories I was burning. yer, i borrowed a heart rate meter of my mate to see what the old ticker was doing; i ended up changing my morning exercise routine because of the results; start of the year, i would run for 20 minutes, skip for 30 minutes did that for 4 months until i got my hands on the heart rate meter; discovered that running my heart rate would sit on about 150bpm, going up and down depending on whether i was going up and down hills; skipping which i actually thought was a harder work out, i was lucky to hit 130bpm and even if i skipped really hard, would never make 140bpm so ive been phasing out my skipping and doing more running, now i run 40 to 50 minutes and just make up the different to 50 minutes with a lite skip to cool down; i finish my run up a pretty big hill, was seeing 185bpm sprinting up it: funnily enough, when i went to the gym, my heart rate woudl get up pretty high (160+) but wouldnt be sustained as i changed exercises so i woudl say running, is the best way to keep your heartrate consistently high (easily) |
| #120 11:01am 28/07/09 |
ah mate of mine who i hadn't seen for ages was a big fella - he would have been 5'10" and 120kg i rkn. i then saw him about a year later and he was slim as. he told me he lost all his weight by running and swimming.
| #121 11:07am 28/07/09 |
yer, swimming is an excellent work out also
| #122 11:13am 28/07/09 |
i don't know how to swim |
| #123 03:15pm 28/07/09 |
vbcoder
just rape girls amirite?
| #124 03:16pm 28/07/09 |
JC
I'm a bit of a lurker here... there has been some really good advice in here and also some interesting insights.
At the end of the day, if you're looking for sustainable habits and long-term quality results, it's primarily about lifestyle change more than anything else. I'd encourage you to find a good coach, EP, sport psychologist (someone with their head screwed on right that has a good grounding in the direction you want to move towards) to help you further clarify some of your goals/motivation for change (and potential barriers to change) |
| #125 09:31pm 28/07/09 |
At the moment I am trying to maintain my body weight. I eat 250ml of eggs each morning, made from 1 whole egg and the rest egg whites. If I get hungry before lunch I will snack on a piece of fruit and some nuts. Lunch is usually two tins of tuna, or left over meat from the night before and a big salad. If during the afternoon I get hungry again I will have a protein shake and some more nuts, or just milk and more nuts. Dinner is usually more lean meat, like kangaroo or chicken, with lots more salad. That's really no way to live though. |
| #126 10:35pm 28/07/09 |
That's really no way to live though. Sounds almost Atkins like but without all the perks. Edit: I just read back and saw people talking about the Tony Ferguson diet. Something I read on another forum really put me off. They worked out you are taking in about 800-900 calories a day (even with the meal + snacks) and listed the crap they put in the shakes and went off and went into why some of them are very bad. But, hey, if you need to drop weight quick it's probably OK, it's not like you'll be on it for life so no perm damage should really be done. last edited by Syco at 23:10:21 28/Jul/09 |
| #127 11:10pm 28/07/09 |
http://www.crossfitbalboa.com/uploads/balboa/image/voqyk7.jpg
she is fat because she eats carbohydrates. |
| #128 11:08pm 28/07/09 |
she is fat because she eats carbohydrates. Haha, it kind of half makes sense (the diet and what's behind it). Faceman can probably jump in here but I remember reading something about the American government subsidising corn and grain growth then providing extra outlets for its use. Now we eat cereals, breads, processed carb's a hell of a lot more then we did before and as a whole we're getting fatter. |
| #129 11:12pm 28/07/09 |
I stick to a pretty strict diet and it works if you stay with it. If you want to lose weight, you have to. Most people can lose between 500g and 1kg a week so it's not uncommon. You will see fluctuations so don't get discouraged. If you stay away from pasta/bread/rice/beer/carbs in general and eat fruit/salad/protein foods with the occasional cheat day + exercise, you will find yourself losing weight. Energy in < Energy out, it's simple.
It's 70% what and WHEN you eat and 30% exercise. Can't stress enough, the time you eat is very important. Breakfast needs to be eaten every morning - Cereal's are full of sugar, f*** them off alltogether. Porridge is about the only one I'll go near.. You pretty much need to kick your metabolism in the nuts and tell it to start work. You also need to sleep a good 8 hours as sleeping burns calories as well. Don't do the shakes, they are not sustainable in the long run unless you REALLY REALLY need them and I doubt any of you guys need them in a hurry even if you think you are overweight, it's a last resort. Work out your BMI as it's a good indicator as much as it may seem out and you think it's wrong, it's pretty close. A normal person will take in around 1500-1800 calories a day. Tony f***yourself is significantly less and this is why you lose weight but you need to change your eating and life habits to SUSTAIN the loss otherwise it comes straight back and trust me.. it will. last edited by Skitza at 23:20:01 28/Jul/09 |
| #130 11:20pm 28/07/09 |
Work out your BMI as it's a good indicator as much as it may seem out and you think it's wrong, it's pretty close. BMI is a useless crock of s***. It doesn't factor in muscle, bone density or fluid levels. Body fat % is the best way to track your progress. This can be administered by a trained professional (such as a doctor), or you can get electronic impedance analysis devices that measure it (these aren't terribly accurate, but better than BMI calculations and beats going to the doctor all the time). As previously mentioned, a lifestyle change is best when wanting to lose weight. Don't just take up a plan for x months then go back to your usual style. Never cut carbs completely out of your diet or consume too little food. This will slam the breaks on your metabolism; making you feel like crap and cause your body to store as much fat as it can. Cut out or reduce refined carbs like white floor, sugar, white rice etc and acquire more whole grains and a wider variety of grains (eat less wheat, get more oats, whole rice, corn etc). Increase your vegetable and fruit intake and keep your meat choices lean. Find healthier, low fat alternatives to meals you love. It's OK to splurge and have the occasional cake or 'tucky ducky, it's just important to make sure the other 90% of the time you're eating properly. I'm also a fan of doing weight lifting and cardio. Increasing muscle mass increases your body's resting metabolism, so you'll burn more energy just by existing. Regular cardiovascular exercise also boosts resting metabolism, so it's important to get those cardio sessions in. As long as you don't over train and you're getting enough protein, cardio should not have an overly significant effect on your muscle gains. |
| #131 11:37pm 28/07/09 |
Never cut carbs completely out of your diet or consume too little food. This will slam the breaks on your metabolism; making you feel like crap and cause your body to store as much fat as it can Drasticly reducing (what some people would consider cutting out, ie less then two pieces of bread worth of carbs a day) your carb (ignoring fibre as it isn't really absorbed) intake can (and generally does) burn stored fats (aslong as they do the other part you said and not starve them self). But then you would probably want to be taking a lot of vitamins etc to make up for what you're missing out on by dodging carb heavy foods. last edited by Syco at 00:36:14 29/Jul/09 |
| #132 12:36am 29/07/09 |
Mephz
discovered that running my heart rate would sit on about 150bpm, going up and down depending on whether i was going up and down hills;There's a reason for this. And it's that your MAX heartrate is actually not a definate -MAX- for 'all activites' at all. Running your MAX heartrate might be 180bpm while your theoretical max might be 196 (for example). Rowing your MAX heartrate might only ever achieve 160bpm and so on and so forth. In short, each individual exercise has a max heartrate you will achieve. In saying that, you only need do achieve anywhere near 85%+ of theoretical max is if training for aeorobic endurance improvement. You can do alot less and still achieve the benefits of the exercise (i.e. glucose use/proteins/fats generally in that order). The closer to 85% of theoretical max and above, the more you'll improve cardiovascular fitness but typically, burn less fat stores than a lower percentage of theoretical max . Or something to that effect anyway, still bit tipsy so excuse any repetition of lack of sense. |
| #133 12:41am 29/07/09 |
as a tall person, ive never been anything toher than obese on bmi scales (194cm/95kg at my lightest)
when i see that its healthy to be like 75kg at that height, something is definately wrong; you would be one stick thin mother f***er if you weighed less than 90kg and were my height; i dont pay much attention to bmi, it seems to be out of whack for tall people |
| #134 05:17am 29/07/09 |
Drasticly reducing (what some people would consider cutting out, ie less then two pieces of bread worth of carbs a day) your carb (ignoring fibre as it isn't really absorbed) intake can (and generally does) burn stored fats (aslong as they do the other part you said and not starve them self). Yeah, most overweight people probably do eat too many carbs (particularly refined). Carb intake should be monitored and reduced in most cases, but never drastically. The lower GI the carbs, the better. I'm in a similar situation, Spook. I'm 2 metres tall and weigh in at 105kg. It sucks for building muscle in terms of appearance. I lift about the same as my gym buddy, but he's more than a foot shorter than me so his muscles look bigger because he's so much smaller. |
| #135 07:02am 29/07/09 |
I'm in a similar situation, Spook. I'm 2 metres tall and weigh in at 105kg. It sucks for building muscle in terms of appearance. I lift about the same as my gym buddy, but he's more than a foot shorter than me so his muscles look bigger because he's so much smaller. heh, i know what you mean; it doesnt help that my gym buddies have been going longer than i have, so im the biggest, but im lifting less weight than they do :( and dont even get me started on chinups! |
| #136 07:11am 29/07/09 |
Sweet Potato, long grain rice, wholemeal some of best carbs you can get.
| #137 07:55am 29/07/09 |
With regards to carbs: you need carbs to survive, and you need carbs for your brain to function properly. BUT, again it comes back to how many calories you need overall for your energy expenditure. If you're sitting around on your arse all day, you only need a minumum of energy from carbohydrates, like the amount you get from milk, fruit, vegies etc.
Sweet potato, brown rice, wholemeal bread, yes, they are probably "better" than their simpler carbo-cousins, BUT it still doesn't mean you can pack your face full of them and not worry. Brown rice, for example, has a LOT of calories in it. It doesn't matter how "good" the carbs are if you're not using the energy. |
| #138 10:14am 29/07/09 |
Calin - Calout = Fat gained or lost
| #139 10:30am 29/07/09 |
Haha, it kind of half makes sense (the diet and what's behind it). Faceman can probably jump in here but I remember reading something about the American government subsidising corn and grain growth then providing extra outlets for its use. Now we eat cereals, breads, processed carb's a hell of a lot more then we did before and as a whole we're getting fatter.No, it's not that people are just eating more carbohydrates, they're eating more of everything. There was a great article in the national geo about this. Pretty graphs that everyone will love, I'll have to hunt it down. |
| #140 10:38am 29/07/09 |
joey
Hey all Anyone know how or where i can get a cheap fitness first gold membership ? I was hoping to pay under $30 a month i know some people pay alot more but then there are quite a few people that pay under $30 and at the moment i cant really afford more than that i want the gold as i work in diff areas of sydney and it suits me to be able to train in diff suburbs there may be someone wanting to transfer their existing membership across, if so let me know pls feel free to pm me |
| #141 07:44pm 24/10/09 |
| #141 |