top_left top_right
bottom_left
Next Event: Unknown | Forum Rules | QGL Website | Event Registration
openFolder AusForums.com
iconwatfolderLineopenFolder LANs
iconwatfolderLineopenFolder QGL
iconwatfolderLineopenFolder QGL Forum
Author
Topic: Steam Scam just popped up (fake free game)
koopz
Posts: 7834
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
A scammer just randomly PMed me in Steam, attempting to convince me to log into their site with my Steam credentials to get a free game Steam game of my choice.

best avoid that one if you see it eh

http://img33.imageshack.us/img33/6105/freesteamgame.jpg
system
--
trog
AGN Admin
Posts: 27485
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

you got that as like a private message in steam?

edit: for s***s and giggles, I always go to sites like that and enter in fake details... sometimes trying a couple times with slightly different passwords. I figure if they're collecting them, the more broken ones they get, the better.
Crakaveli
Posts: 3489
Location: USA
Yeah i've seen a few of these pop up before, you'd have to be pretty stupid to click.
TicMan
Posts: 4881
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
So did you get your free game yet?
Khel
Posts: 13458
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Their broken english really doesn't help sell the authenticity of it either.
Mr Hardware
Posts: 5239
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
probably mulims
FaceMan
Posts: 1265
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
never trust a witch.
Pinky
Posts: 1976
Location: Melbourne, Victoria

The random capitalisation is a dead give away that they are scammers. Or uneducated. Don't trust either.
ctd
Posts: 7427
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Meh no matter how many times companies like valve say "WE WILL NEVER ASK FOR YOUR PASSWORD OR CDKEY" people still do it :P
re so
I can't read
Posts: 4823
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
The random capitalisation is a dead give away that they are scammers. Or uneducated. Don't trust either.


It's interesting, I think, how much effort they'll put in to doing a scam such as this but not even bother to try and write something that seems slightly legitimate. The fact it works is even better though.
eXemplar
Posts: 2257
Location:
From what I've heard, Valve is pretty good with Steam account related complaints. As long as you can prove you've purchased stuff on the account in your name (ie, your credit card/paypal name etc) you don't really need to worry about the account getting stolen.
trog
AGN Admin
Posts: 27486
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

's interesting, I think, how much effort they'll put in to doing a scam such as this but not even bother to try and write something that seems slightly legitimate. The fact it works is even better though.
Well most of them don't have english as a first language, I assume.
Superform
Posts: 5730
Location: Netherlands
yeah its a bit of a stupid place to pull a scam.. you cant get my credit card details from steam so if i email them with my details they will hand the account back..

pretty stupid to try
mission
Posts: 5328
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
I like how the spell Adresse E-mail.

Maybe they are Mexican?
koopz
Posts: 7835
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Well most of them don't have english as a first language, I assume.


a combination of dealing with both Joe Public and international dealers/suppliers/IT support has led me to a stage where I no longer expect people to speak, read and/or write coherently.

I must admit, they made that webpage look very convincing.
DM
Posts: 1075
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
If you fall for this and give them your details then you don't deserve to have a steam account.
skythra
Posts: 1277
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
If you fall for this and give them your details then you don't deserve to have a steam account.

What makes steam such a intelligent place that you should lose your account for being gullible?
$ack
Posts: 733
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
To contact us, send email to @support.steampowered.com

lol, failmail
Pinky
Posts: 1995
Location: Melbourne, Victoria

I like how the spell Adresse E-mail.

Maybe they are Mexican?

Adresse is correct German for 'address'. And the structure of 'Adresse E-Mail' is pretty french/spanish/german (Romantic, half-breed genetive/possesive form). I reckon they speak a Romantic language - could be Spanish (Mexico). Could be Africa (French, in parts).

I don't think German because Germans would usually write only 'E-mail' or worst case 'E-mail-Adresse' from what I have seen, but the spelling is curiously German.
system
--
Not a new post since your last visit.
New Post Since your last visit
Back To Forum
Advertise with Us | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
© Copyright 2001-2026 AusGamers Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.
Hosted by Mammoth Networks - Australian VPS Hosting
Web development by Mammoth Media.