I was having a debate about whether HECS/HELP loans were contained in the etax software so I wondered if I could download seeing as today is the last day of the financial year. It is possible.
Start Here to get to the software download page. Also, discuss tax... |
| #0 09:50pm 30/06/09 |
Anyone know any good websites/tips for maximising returns?
| #1 09:55pm 30/06/09 |
woo hoo! Refund ahoy! Plus i passed my subject so work is going to reimburse me $1050 - which will go straight into the next one...but still :D
| #2 09:55pm 30/06/09 |
OK so my tax questions.
- List me deductions I can safely use without requiring receipts. - I have a unit that I am currently renting out. I wont receive a payment for rent until next financial year but I am paying interest on the loan in this financial year. Do I declare all that info in 2010's tax return? |
| #3 09:58pm 30/06/09 |
Really looking forward to my refund..
However i have noticed i am paying back my hex debt (on my pay slip). I'm wondering if my refund will take a hit because of hex aswell? |
| #4 09:59pm 30/06/09 |
There will be a question in eTax if you owe HECS and how much (maybe this info auto d/l now?)
If you think you're sneaky and say no when you do owe, eTax will still lodge but the assessment that gets sent out will include a deduction for any unpaid loan repayments. In other words - they know and you'll be hit up either way. Jake - Your HECS repayment is worked out on your gross salary. So you can work out yourself how much HECS you should have paid during the year (based on your total gross salary). If you haven't paid enough HECS repayments it will be deducted from any refund owing or you will get a tax bill to cover the shortfall, after any refund is first applied against it. This whole post is badly worded but I cbf changing it to make more sense. last edited by mission at 22:03:25 30/Jun/09 |
| #5 10:03pm 30/06/09 |
Wild Wizard
The question for HECS in etax just provides the calculation that you get at the end for refund/owed. None of the HECS questions are a part of the actual return sent to the ATO.
| #6 10:03pm 30/06/09 |
Only advice is don't use etax for the first week, two if possible.
They seem to fix all the bugs in the first two weeks and usually those who lodged then get it delayed. |
| #7 10:29pm 30/06/09 |
Yes HECS/HELP is auto-downloaded now (as of last year). shad, research here and don't be a tight-arse and get an accountant. You can claim only up to $300 work-related expenses without records. But don't think they won't audit low deduction claims - the ATO regularly does. In the event you are asked to explain, you have to be able to explain and provide records where required. Pro tip, Kat. |
| #8 10:51pm 30/06/09 |
Your tax time checklist
To help you get the best tax return possible, here’s a few things to tick off your "to do" list today: 1. Are you eligible for the Superannuation Co-contribution? If so, it’s up to $1,500 of free money. 2. If you use your car for work, don’t forget to estimate your motor vehicle expenses. 3. A 20% tax offset is available for out of pocket medical expenses over $1500. 4. Donations of over $2 made to a deductible gift recipient are tax deductible. 5. The cost of having your tax return prepared is also an allowable deduction. 6. Income Protection insurance premiums can also be a tax deduction. 7. Small business owners who are selling business assets can take advantage of extremely generous "small business CGT concessions." 8. You can claim up to $300 of work related expenses without the need to have written receipts. However once your claim exceeds $300 you must have receipts for the full amount. 9. Don’t forget all those miscellaneous work expenses such as union fees, seminars, trade journals, software and home office expenses. Even an appointment diary can be deductible. 10. Check the deductions fact sheet for your specific occupation to ensure that you are claiming everything that you are entitled to. |
| #9 11:17pm 30/06/09 |
f*** yeah tax time, last year I score a cool 6k hopefully I see that again
| #10 11:24pm 30/06/09 |
sweet tax time ... I haven't earned any Australian money since Jan, so I should get a bunch back!
| #11 11:49pm 30/06/09 |
2. If you use your car for work, don’t forget to estimate your motor vehicle expenses. So a mate said that you can estimate up to 5000km without keeping a log book... Why wouldn't everyone just put down 5000 so they get heaps of money back? Last year I actually kept track of k's I traveled, and it was around ~500kms or soemthing, and I think THAT even turned into a few hundred bucks. |
| #12 07:29am 01/07/09 |
yer, you dont have to logbook 5000ks or less with etax
its lucky, becuase i always seem to do just less than 5000ks! |
| #13 07:31am 01/07/09 |
what is the max you can earn before you have to start paying hecs back?
| #14 07:51am 01/07/09 |
Higher Education Loan Programme (HELP) and HECS repayment thresholds and rates
2008–09 HELP repayment income (HRI*) Repayment rate Below $41,595 Nil $41,595–$46,333 4% of HRI $46,334–$51,070 4.5% of HRI $51,071–$53,754 5% of HRI $53,755–$57,782 5.5% of HRI $57,783–$62,579 6% of HRI $62,580–$65,873 6.5% of HRI $65,874–$72,492 7% of HRI $72,493–$77,247 7.5% of HRI $77,248 and above 8% of HRI *HRI= Taxable income plus any net rental losses, total reportable fringe benefits amounts and exempt foreign employment income. |
| #15 08:19am 01/07/09 |
Thanks mission, very helpful |
| #16 08:23am 01/07/09 |
yay tax time, I love etax
| #17 09:00am 01/07/09 |
Clubby
My house mate is an accountant so he's my tax bitch! ... Love teh Tax Time ...
| #18 09:05am 01/07/09 |
Cant wait, only worked half the year, so should get some nice loot back.
| #19 09:06am 01/07/09 |
Clubby
I put an extra $300 a fortnight into tax and didn't claim tax free threshold hold etc etc (kind of a force myself to save program, and yes I know a long term deposit etc would be a better option cause I would be earning interest but I'm bad with money and this is a sure fire way to force me to save).
Should add up to a nice amount. |
| #20 09:11am 01/07/09 |
I did a bunch of 50-60 hour weeks at post for 6 months, then went back to ~$200 a week centrelink for the rest of the year.
Should get several thousand :D I'll get back 100% of the 30 cent bracket at least :D Straight into the jump account, should get 50-100 skydives worth. w00t, I love tax time. |
| #21 09:32am 01/07/09 |
Did you elect to pay tax on the Centrelink monies CHUB? If not your expectations of a fat return may be cause for sadface.
| #22 09:41am 01/07/09 |
Lits
I was a bit late getting last FY's tax done and found out that my old employer (left them in January this year) had never paid a cent towards my HECS debt. Needless to say, I ended up with a bit of a tax bill and was quite irate.
I'm not quite sure what to expect this year. I'll have at least six months where there have been no HECS contributions at all. I'm hoping that doesn't bite me in the arse again. |
| #23 09:48am 01/07/09 |
Did you elect to pay tax on the Centrelink monies CHUB? If not your expectations of a fat return may be cause for sadface.Na, I didn't. $200 a week though, that's $80 out of threshold, 80x.15 = $12 x 26 = $312. I still don't fully understand income tax, but I'm pretty sure I'm under $30k for the year (or very close). I was paying a s***load of 30 cent bracket tax during those Christmas weeks at post, few hundred a week... if indeed I'm under the $30k that means I get 100% of that (any money paid in 30 cent bracket) back yeah? last edited by CHUB at 10:03:10 01/Jul/09 |
| #24 10:03am 01/07/09 |
I was a bit late getting last FY's tax done and found out that my old employer (left them in January this year) had never paid a cent towards my HECS debt. Needless to say, I ended up with a bit of a tax bill and was quite irate. Did you tell them that you have a HECS debt? |
| #25 10:14am 01/07/09 |
My tax is already submitted. Although, mine is fairly straight forward.
I earned just over the 2nd level HECS threshold, but I have a buckload of self education expenses to claim (textbooks, internet, depreciated assets (laptop, desk, stationary, chair, bookcase). Which put me into the lower break so tax win for me. |
| #26 10:53am 01/07/09 |
Hrm if there is something that is lacking on the internet - it is a concise listing of rebates, offsets and deductions that you might be eligible for.
Like: I would like to know as a single, low income earner, what kind of deductions rebates or offsets i could apply for? Or are these just automatically processed if i use the etax software anyway? I'd expect that if i'm earning 29K per year full time work and paying $67 of my $576 weekly pay packet to the govt i'm not going to get much. Well i didnt give tax much to begin with but its not like i'm paying the tax office a whole lot either. I'd like to think of all the crappy earnings i got in a year at least i'd be able to get something nice at the end of the financial year, but i guess i should be happy the govt gave me some money at all this year. |
| #27 11:08am 01/07/09 |
it is a concise listing of rebates, offsets and deductions that you might be eligible for. This is why you should get a bloody good tax accountant. I pay ~$150 per return but my accountant manages to find rebates and deductions and all sorts of other crazy s*** that I couldn't even imagine let alone think would get by the tax man. Plus next year you can claim the accountants fees as a deduction! |
| #28 11:14am 01/07/09 |
Like: I would like to know as a single, low income earner, what kind of deductions rebates or offsets i could apply for? generealy bugger all, because you payed bugger all tax in the grand scheme of things. Massive deducations are generealy reserved for the higher end of town or contractors who run there own business. |
| #29 11:24am 01/07/09 |
I'm not sure if it would qualify as consice, but the ATO website has all of its Tax Rulings etc if you can be bothered/smart enough to look.
Get off your ass. |
| #30 11:34am 01/07/09 |
uni fees = awesome deduction
all the k's i drive from southbank to gardens point too ;) |
| #31 11:45am 01/07/09 |
paveway: by uni fees you mean text books? I mean if you're on HECS what uni fees are there apart from books?
| #32 11:52am 01/07/09 |
yeah, generally uni fees aren't deductible, even if you pay upfront! Only text books etc.
| #33 12:07pm 01/07/09 |
it's study directly related to my occupation
so apparently that counts, nigga greazy, i paid second semester last year up front. the semester just gone is on hecs last edited by paveway at 13:04:39 01/Jul/09 |
| #34 01:04pm 01/07/09 |
You are wrong Pave.
Because it is directly related allows you to deduct text books etc but NOT fees. The Uni fees are already subsidised by the Government, you really thik they will allow it as a tax deduction as well? Fee paying domestic post grad courses are probably the only fees that can be deducted, if inline with your work. Undergrad CSG? No chance. Doesn't matter if it is upfront or HECS (it's the same thing). last edited by mission at 13:09:33 01/Jul/09 |
| #35 01:09pm 01/07/09 |
University expenses 101:
Hecs - Not claimable. It's specifically excluded under the ITAA. Up front - If YOU pay it, and you there is a sufficent nexus between the course and your incoming producing activity, ie: Paralegal doing a law degree, then your up front expenses can be claimed under s8-1 ITAA. |
| #36 01:20pm 01/07/09 |
MatchFixer
Ok so what about this:
- I'm doing a master's in business marketing - My study is directly related to my work - My work have agreed to pay for my fees but haven't don so yet as they're waiting for my results (i'm getting a 6 & 7 for my 2 subjects) - I've bought text books from my own expense - I still haven't formally agreed to their study program as I'm unsure whether or not to be tied up with them for the next couple of years - I travel between work and uni via car and train - I've also purchased a laptop for uni and work. My question is, what would i be allowed to claim in terms of study expenses? Paging Fireblood. last edited by MatchFixer at 13:27:40 01/Jul/09 |
| #37 01:27pm 01/07/09 |
Also, there's a little known section in the ITAA 1936 which states the first $250 are non-deductable.
HOWEVER, if you have an expense, which is not allowed as a deduction under one of the negative limbs in s8-1, ie: capital expense - for example, a laptop, you can use the capital expense as your $250, and then claim the depreciation on the asset. |
| #38 01:23pm 01/07/09 |
Up front - If YOU pay it, and you there is a sufficent nexus between the course and your incoming producing activity, ie: Paralegal doing a law degree, then your up front expenses can be claimed under s8-1 ITAA. I maintain this is incorrect, unless it is a non-cgs course. There is no difference between paring upfront (in a HECS course) and putting your fees on HECS. You still pay for it either now or in the future. If the above quote was the case, your HECS repayments are would be deductible (they are not). Paging Fireblood. |
| #39 01:24pm 01/07/09 |
are you 100% on this mission or are you speculating?
my missus does my tax and she's pretty confident she knows what she's talking about. been doing it for years, says her accountant did it aswell you might be on the wrong end of the stick here mission old mate oh s*** 10k posts |
| #40 01:28pm 01/07/09 |
- I'm doing a master's in business marketing Course fees - yes (non cgs) provided your work does not pay for or reimburse you. Text books - yes Some travel will be deductible, look up the ATO website. I believe work to uni will be deductible, check for the other journeys. |
| #41 01:28pm 01/07/09 |
Booyah, Textbooks = yes - self education expenses Travel between work and uni = yes - self education travel expense. Also; apprortion your home internet costs if you want to get really trick, you could claim the electricity based on the % of the floor area which is used as a home office. As above, the $250 will apply, however if you have $250 of excluded self education expenses - capital, private and domestic, etc, you can offset the $250 with those. |
| #42 01:28pm 01/07/09 |
CGS = commonwealth government supported?
If so, my up front = non CGS. Also, the only reason HECS is non deductable it is specifically excluded under s82A of the ITAA 1936 as a loan under the Higher Education Support Act 2003. So if you are enrolled subject to a loan under the HESA 2003, you can't claim, including any voluntary contributions, but it you are an up-front payer you can claim it. |
| #43 01:32pm 01/07/09 |
MatchFixer
Thanks doods, i'm seeing an accountant but i thought i'd check here first.
Looking more forward to it now! |
| #44 01:35pm 01/07/09 |
pave, I too studied while working (in the same field) so I was in the same boat. Studying accounting no less.
I specifically asked the Tax lecturer as the legislation is a little ambiguous - his answer no, cgs (or undergrad) course are not deductible as they are subsidised by the Government already. No double dipping. General rules Take note of the bold. http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.asp?doc=/content/18843.htm&page=3&H3 last edited by mission at 13:39:48 01/Jul/09 |
| #45 01:39pm 01/07/09 |
If so, my up front = non CGS. It's the same thing, you just choose to pay it upfront rather than defer. Look at your invoice, it will state: Fee Category = Dom HECS UPFRONT STUDENT PAYMENT WITH DISCOUNT (HECS-HELP) Therefore not deductible. Do I have to keep going over it!?! last edited by mission at 13:44:51 01/Jul/09 |
| #46 01:44pm 01/07/09 |
Out of curiousity who's your tax lecturer?
| #47 01:44pm 01/07/09 |
Yes, you twit. Because I was talking about full-fee paying students not supported by your cruddy HECS.
| #48 01:45pm 01/07/09 |
I did it a few years ago and it was Stephen Marsden. One of the better lecturers I had.
I said all along that Fee paying Domestic was deductible.... Ok, granted I miss interpreted your post fade. Just re-read it, soz. Just saying 'Paying Up-Front' is missleading as HECS can also be paid upfront but isn't deductible. last edited by mission at 13:52:21 01/Jul/09 |
| #49 01:52pm 01/07/09 |
Ahh k. I just finished adv. tax law. Thought the same person might have taken it. The ATO website is great for joe bloggs, but it is obviously slanted to the ATO's interpretation. Also, a lot of the "law rulings" aren't law at all, they are just their side of the story.
For example the, the FCA just ruled against the FCT in Anstis v FCT , yet the ATO has said on their website that people shouldnt use it in their tax returns, because the ATO doesn't consider it good law. Arrogant pricks. |
| #50 01:52pm 01/07/09 |
ATO loses 50% of the time. They don't know s***.
| #51 01:54pm 01/07/09 |
^^ And they only win the other 50% because people don't have the balls to take them on.
If you're ever lucky enough to be in the FCA while a tax matter is before the bench, you will see the absolute distain everyone, including judges, have for the ATO. |
| #52 01:59pm 01/07/09 |
Lits
Did you tell them that you have a HECS debt? I did. It seems they were paying it during the previous financial year, but must have just "forgotten" or some s*** when the next FY rolled over. Their HR/Payroll department pretty much had a revolving door hiring policy. I swear they had 100% staff turn over every month. |
| #53 02:08pm 01/07/09 |
oh wells it's your responsibility to monitor your PAYG Lits
| #54 02:15pm 01/07/09 |
his is why you should get a bloody good tax accountant. I pay ~$150 per return but my accountant manages to find rebates and deductions and all sorts of other crazy s*** yeah that sounds like a good idea. My tax return should be about 200 dollars - and my accountant will probably take 150, leaving me with... |
| #55 02:35pm 01/07/09 |
Plus next year you can claim the accountants fees as a deduction! Plus the cost of getting to and from the accountant! |
| #56 02:38pm 01/07/09 |
Lits
oh wells it's your responsibility to monitor your PAYG Lits Yeah, silly me for expecting my employers financial department to be competent. |
| #57 02:44pm 01/07/09 |
Yeah, silly me for expecting my employers financial department to be competent.Well yeah, i look at my pay slip every week to make sure i get paid right. Always have always will. |
| #58 02:49pm 01/07/09 |
CHUB, if you see this ...
I still don't fully understand income tax, but I'm pretty sure I'm under $30k for the year (or very close). I was paying a s***load of 30 cent bracket tax during those Christmas weeks at post, few hundred a week... if indeed I'm under the $30k that means I get 100% of that (any money paid in 30 cent bracket) back yeah? All that matters is your final total for the year. You owe 15 cents in the dollar for your centrelink money assuming that you didn't make more than 33k when working for 6 months. This adds up to about 780 dollars over the 6 months. Roughly, if you were taking 730 per week (gross) when working then I think this should even out. If you earned less than that you may have underpaid tax (depending on lots of stuff like claims HECs etc), and amounts over it will see the overpaid 15 cents in each dollar returned. |
| #59 02:58pm 01/07/09 |
yeah dude, that 5000km claim that spook is talking about is f***en awesome, it gives me like $1300 back straight away!
| #60 03:07pm 01/07/09 |
oh wells it's your responsibility to monitor your PAYG LitsYeah, silly me for expecting my employers financial department to be competent. This is a very common error. I have had similar problems with my employees who are mostly engineering grads with HECS/HELP debts. At the end of the day, yes, it's your responsibility. Secondly, it's neither here nor there. You have to pay the same tax in the end whether you pay it through the year or not. Worst thing you can do is sook at your employer. Don't do it. I have yelled at more than one employee for doing that. Don't bite the hand that feeds you, regardless of whether you think they are to blame or not. It can ONLY f*** you up long term - nothing good can possibly come from it. |
| #61 03:08pm 01/07/09 |
oh s*** 10k posts you know you're getting older when you're; a) posting in a tax thread and/or b) have 10k posts |
| #62 03:25pm 01/07/09 |
nah i just haven't had an account perm banned
though i know dan is looking for a good reason to |
| #63 03:35pm 01/07/09 |
I'm just old without the post count :(
| #64 03:48pm 01/07/09 |
i am young(at heart) with a f***ing massive postcount
| #65 03:51pm 01/07/09 |
phew, I'm glad that said postcount!
| #66 04:04pm 01/07/09 |
Special Text
nah i just haven't had an account perm bannedI don't want anyone permabanned. I was even petitioning for Axis to be unbanned. However I'm more than happy to dole out 1 week timeouts to anyone that just wants to thread-s*** or just flame people without contributing anything. |
| #67 04:05pm 01/07/09 |
Twinsen
I'm in the IT field and purchased a computer second hand? can I claim that or does the computer need to be brand new from a company with an ABN? otherwise I could say that I purchased the computer for $X more than what it is worth?? a mate sold it to me?
last edited by Twinsen at 16:57:13 01/Jul/09 |
| #68 04:57pm 01/07/09 |
tax time just means i get to pay some more bills yay
| #69 05:33pm 01/07/09 |
I'm in the IT field and purchased a computer second hand? can I claim that or does the computer need to be brand new from a company with an ABN? otherwise I could say that I purchased the computer for $X more than what it is worth?? a mate sold it to me? are you using it for % time for work? yes, you can claim it; just need receipts (if asked for them) remembering also you only get to claim depreciation of asset, not price of asset; so i guess if its second hand it will depreciate less theres a chart around somewhere on how much depreciation you claim |
| #70 05:38pm 01/07/09 |
Twinsen
Thanks Spook.
I do quite abit of overtime at home, but because I am on it so much gaming hahha the work % will be quite low. thanks for answering me :) |
| #71 05:40pm 01/07/09 |
Sanchez
Bit sad that my first post is in a tax thread, anyhow... Many of you seem quite learned in the ways of John Q Taxman, is anyone able to answer this?: My other half started uni Semester 2 last year, and only got around to lodging her tax returns for the last three years at the threat of not getting her stimulus payment (and my constant pestering). She got her assessment letters today, and they have taken out the HECS incurred in July-Dec 2008 from her 2006 tax return!! Is this right? I would have thought they would only start deducting HECS from the following year's return, but going by this it looks like whatever is in your accumulated HECS debt account at the time a tax return is lodged will be applied regardless of how old the return is. Any thoughts/expertise appreciated. |
| #72 06:28pm 01/07/09 |
I use my car constantly for work now, Ill be under 5000km because I only started a few months ago, but can I claim fuel and servicing to the car as well? Am going to an accountant but am curious to know :)
| #73 06:54pm 01/07/09 |
well it is money you owe the government, so why shouldn't they?
| #74 06:55pm 01/07/09 |
My thoughts exactly infi.
| #75 08:29pm 01/07/09 |
Eds, there are several methods that can be used for claiming motor vehicle expenses.
Check ATO website. You can use whichever one gives you the best deduction (provided you meet that methods criteria). EDIT: you can't claim from home to work or work to home. last edited by mission at 22:16:20 01/Jul/09 |
| #76 10:16pm 01/07/09 |
For those of you claiming motor vehicle expenses, are you actually traveling between two places of work?
| #77 10:06pm 01/07/09 |
pretty sure spook sits in 1 office all day, in west end
| #78 07:57am 02/07/09 |
Yeah I reckon Spook is just exploiting the loop hole in the tax with regards to vehicle expenses i.e. claim it without log book if it < 5000km/year even though you cannot claim the travel from home to work and back (unless it's for specific purpose like after hours I believe, I never claimed it.).
It's all well and good to "enjoy" these loop holes but, just wait until you get audited, you wouldn't think it's so cool then.
Also no you can't cliam HECS/HELP fee because it's already subsidised like mission said it's double dipping, uni fees, books etc on the other hands are deductible. I did the same thing you did, study IT while working in IT and still I couldn't claim HECS and I was upfront paying student. I'd get yours check by a proper accountant paveway. |
| #79 09:10am 02/07/09 |
^ What OPEC said. Basically if the person who is doing your tax has not been to uni and AT LEAST done a tax subject or two, I wouldn't be trusting their "but I've been doing it for years". Or "the accountant did it in previous years", the amount of clients that heard what they wanted to hear is just rediculous - also there are f***loads of dodgy tax accountants out there.
| #80 10:36am 02/07/09 |
I used my car to drive to the data centre and back to the office. Definitely did 4999.99km's worth of trips in the last year.
| #81 10:38am 02/07/09 |
They finally updated the e-tax program...
2nd day in and I've already got my group cert :D |
| #82 04:16pm 02/07/09 |
i often drive into work on the weekends for work stuff, and i go see clients all the time to tell them their data stinx
luckily i do all my posting on qgl at work, because my computar at home is 100% for work stuff! as is my internets and phone lines |
| #83 04:23pm 02/07/09 |
Yeah I reckon Spook is just exploiting the loop hole in the tax with regards to vehicle expenses i.e. claim it without log book if it < 5000km/year even though you cannot claim the travel from home to work and back (unless it's for specific purpose like after hours I believe, I never claimed it.). so... let me get this straight. if they audit you, they will only ask you for log books if you have claimed over 5000km of travel on your car correct? |
| #84 05:18pm 02/07/09 |
Twinsen
so... let me get this straight. if they audit you, they will only ask you for log books if you have claimed over 5000km of travel on your car correct? Yeah defiently, it's an audit. I'm doing that, as we're on the Gold Coast and data center in Brissy + different offices all around the Gold Coast... maybe done about half of 5000KM, but ~3hours of work writing it all up will surely be worth the tax offset!. |
| #85 05:54pm 02/07/09 |
Yeah defiently, it's an audit. you completely fail at comprehension ill type it again with bold tags so... let me get this straight. if they audit you, they will only ask you for log books if you have claimed over(above,higher,greater than) 5000km of travel on your car correct? |
| #86 06:11pm 02/07/09 |
i see no bold tags
| #87 06:19pm 02/07/09 |
It's not just about the log book, I assume they would question you about what type of travel you do and make a judgement about whether it sounds reasonable for your profession (plus check that you actually own a vehicle and there isn't a work vehicle available to you, etc), and then confirm travel distances and frequency etc with your employer.
| #88 06:30pm 02/07/09 |
Infidel
I'm pretty confused about what to do this year. Its the first year I have had no income in Aus so not sure if I should still be filling out a tax return or not ... dont think I will be returning anytime soon.
| #89 06:49pm 02/07/09 |
When did you leave infidel?
And did you:- sell your home? move bank accounts? buy a house/sign a long term lease in holland? long term employment contract in holland? What are you remaining family ties to australia? this tax ruling should explain what you need - http://law.ato.gov.au/atolaw/view.htm?docid=TXR/TR9817/NAT/ATO/00001 You should also consider where your domicile is - http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.asp?doc=/content/36263.htm |
| #90 07:08pm 02/07/09 |
Spook, you tax-plan like a blue-blood liberal.
| #91 07:10pm 02/07/09 |
let me get this straight. if they audit you, they will only ask you for log books if you have claimed over(above,higher,greater than) 5000km of travel on your car Trick question, can't claim more than 5000km. period. Look up other ways of claiming if you go over 5000km. To all the noobs just claiming 5000km because you don't need a log book.....you still need a DECENT reason to justify the 5000km. Eg if you drive your car to work every day, and drive it home. And RARELY leave the office in your car for work purposes - then it is doubtful you will have racked up 5000km. ATO works on occupations (you know? one of the first question it asks you is what you do). So if you are say...."factory worker" or "Retail clerk" you would have a single workplace that you slog it out at, when you start claiming 5000km on your tax, it will trigger the ATOs computers and you'll be more likely to get an audit. Justification isn't just 100km/week either. They may want some form of substantiation, in many cases appointment books will be their best friends. If you are having meetings with clients all over the shop (and to travel 100km a week from work to meeting and back, you will have more than 1-2 meetings). If you can show that you have a number of meetings throughout the year, then they will be happy. I used to always suggest to my clients to make a notation of the KMs in their diaries and add it up at the end of the year. |
| #92 07:20pm 02/07/09 |
I travel approximatelt 4km to the train station twice a day 5 days a week. If I estimate 50 weeks (such as days off and holidays) then thats 2000km in a year just going to the train station. And thats pretty much right.
Can I claim that s***? Do I need "logs" cause I don't log it at all... |
| #93 07:29pm 02/07/09 |
no 3dee. home -> work and vice versa isn't counted.
| #94 07:30pm 02/07/09 |
I travel approximatelt 4km to the train station twice a day 5 days a week. If I estimate 50 weeks (such as days off and holidays) then thats 2000km in a year just going to the train station. And thats pretty much right. What part of NO work-home, home-work didn't you understand? |
| #95 07:32pm 02/07/09 |
Aww. Sad panda
| #96 07:32pm 02/07/09 |
Oh God, the interest on my bank accounts will push me into the next level of HECS repayment rates :(
| #97 07:53pm 02/07/09 |
wicked
i will be sweet as then im a sparky and we have sites from as far north as caboolture to as far south as pacific pines |
| #98 08:45pm 02/07/09 |
mscactus
Someone at work told me I can claim my $121 per month that I pay for my private car park in the building at work. Would this be right or can I only claim a percentage?
| #99 09:06pm 02/07/09 |
no, you can't.
Broadly you cannot claim any expenses on you getting to work or home again. Maybe if your work required you to have your own car to be used during work time for work purposes and there where no other alternatives (ie: free parking) then maybe...... |
| #100 09:09pm 02/07/09 |
mscactus
k thanks.. I was totally confused by the help files in ETax
| #101 09:10pm 02/07/09 |
Humm.... wouldn't that still be classified as your "normal" travel to and from work site? I know it's different from us nerds in the office but still, that's just _you_ getting from home to work i.e. your primary work site and primary occupation requirement. It's not like it's a special requirement part of your job. Unless you're a contractor (i.e. not on wages) and you normally work at a primary work site i.e. in an office somewhere but get call out to do a quote/work on client's site. I could be wrong but... |
| #102 09:13pm 02/07/09 |
Humm.... wouldn't that still be classified as your "normal" travel to and from work site? I know it's different from us nerds in the office but still, that's just _you_ getting from home to work i.e. your primary work site and primary occupation requirement. Depends what he's defined as his home office. Wifey works for herself out of the house so any travel she does to her work places is .. work related travel. WIN! |
| #103 09:43pm 02/07/09 |
It really is sad the lengths people will go to try and claim every single f***ing cent and justify it (even when it isn't claimable).
I am all for making sure you get what you deserve, but the amount of people who take it too far is ridiculous. |
| #104 09:50pm 02/07/09 |
Haha I love owning a business sometimes.
A year or two ago I kept 3 months worth of log book on the car I use for work, and from then on everything (petrol, repairs, tyres, etc) is 100% claimed - including travel to and from work. In Cairns this only amounts to a couple grand a year but its all legit and open to scrutiny in an audit. Much easier than trying to work out how many Ks I did in the year too :) |
| #105 09:56pm 02/07/09 |
Ok, I have a business related question.
Let's say I earned $39000/6100K total/tax through my job wages and I earned a pitiful $345 out of iPhone sales through my ABN and my job/business complexity pretty much ends there. Do I merely state the extra few hundred bucks in the Salary/etc screen? Even with such a basic bit of extra cash, should I go to a tax agent? |
| #106 09:38am 03/07/09 |
Mass
Declare the income.......you no doubt had quite a number of expenses relating to the iPhone software development (internet access, power, computer hardware depreciation, etc etc). You will more than offset the tax you would owe on such a small amount of money and it will also start to reduce the tax you owe from your primary source of income ie larger refund.
| #107 09:48am 03/07/09 |
You will more than offset the tax you would owe on such a small amount of money and it will also start to reduce the tax you owe from your primary source of income ie larger refund. It's not as easy as that. You can only offset any losses against your PAYG income if you meet certain criteria. One of them being having a turnover of more than $20k and another being needing to have been in the black for 4 our of the last 5 years confirm or deny tax man? |
| #108 10:07am 03/07/09 |
Furgle
^ confirm, but I thought it was a turnover of 50k?
I still owe the ato $60k from last year. Always declare your income, even if it's from overseas. Now I get taxed quarterly. |
| #109 10:27am 03/07/09 |
confirm, but I thought it was a turnover of 50k?Yeah pretty sure its closer to that from memory. Had a "small business" but really from tax reasons it was considered a hobby. |
| #110 10:31am 03/07/09 |
I have one more question related to BAS statements. Because I've pretty much only made $345 in one quarter of all my quarters, I just chuck 345 on the bas and dont bother paying any GST (obviously because Im under 75K!)?
Every BAS I've had since 1st qtr has been a nil so I havent even really looked at what I need to put on the damn thing :S. |
| #111 10:52am 03/07/09 |
You still need to lodge them.
But why be registered for GST? |
| #112 10:57am 03/07/09 |
You still need to lodge them. Apple requires GST registration unfortunately. What I mean is, on the BAS, I just state $345 income and $0 GST? I really need to read up on it all... |
| #113 10:59am 03/07/09 |
Did you collect GST on the sales?
| #114 11:03am 03/07/09 |
Furgle
I thought it was if you earn less than $X you don't have to register an ABN, but once you do, you need to account for GST in all sales, even if it's below the threshold.
| #115 11:47am 03/07/09 |
I'm not entirely sure **hmm-face**
My Apple payment summary didnt mention any sorta GST. I think its up to the developer to handle their country's tax requirements. |
| #116 11:51am 03/07/09 |
It's 20k of assessable income not 50k.
Lookup Non-Commercial Losses |
| #117 11:52am 03/07/09 |
So in other words, if I have an ABN and GST registration (merely because Apple requires it) and I know for a fact that I'm not going to earn anywhere even remotely close to the $75,000 threshold, what do I put on my BAS/tax?
Maybe I should go to a tax agent... |
| #118 11:57am 03/07/09 |
Yes you probably should :)
| #119 11:59am 03/07/09 |
Tax and business stuff is too complicated for a young kid like me.
| #120 12:22pm 03/07/09 |
You need an ABN even to be a sole trader - but you don't need to collect GST if under the threshold ($75k is correct). Obviously there are enough people going under the radar here though. Imagine your market folk and the like setting up stalls every week selling jam or whatever - unlikely they have registered business or declare that income. Doesn't make it right - just pointing out the obvious flaws in trying to police the system. You should read this excellent document 3dee: http://www.ato.gov.au/content/downloads/bus76494nat3029.pdf This bit is poignant:
More info: business.gov.au |
| #121 12:43pm 03/07/09 |
There are a few extra questions, like the personal services income etc.
If you can't be f***ed going to a tax agent and can't work out the business section, you could put it in "Other Income" (right at the end) and feign ignorance if you ever get audited. At the end of the day you have claimed the money and paid tax on it. But you should really go through the business section, it should explain all the questions, you will probably be a personal services business, and that just means you are limited to what type of deductions you can claim (but internet costs etc are fine),. Etax is pretty great - but i haven't used the business section of it. |
| #122 12:42pm 03/07/09 |
Cheers Pinky. I guess you could say I went and got an ABN and GST "because Apple required it" haha so as far as knowing the ins and outs of having an extra bit of income via an ABN, I'm completely clueless.
I'll check that PDF out. I might have got the booklet anyway, just never read it (looked boring :P). |
| #123 12:46pm 03/07/09 |
And if you income from things you do on the side, even if you give an invoice and use an ABN, doesnt have to be declared if it can be clasified as a hobby.
Its on the ato website somewhere, but I think from memory its has to be a under a few g a year income and have expenses that basically wipe out the income. |
| #124 12:49pm 03/07/09 |
Thats it viper, the most ive made on a whole would be about 1500 bucks for doing some graphic/web design and some iPhone app sales and a few other things.
| #125 01:15pm 03/07/09 |
Infidel
Fade thanks for that, makes it a bit clearer now. Looks like I got a bit of work to do. Living here now on a permanent contract .
| #126 06:31pm 03/07/09 |
Residency is a very grey area. It's all a matter of interpretation. From an advice point of view you should take steps to establish a permanent base overseas. There's nothing stopping you from cutting all ties to Australia, but you should take steps to demonstrate an intention to stay overseas.
| #127 08:24pm 03/07/09 |
Humm.... wouldn't that still be classified as your "normal" travel to and from work site? I know it's different from us nerds in the office but still, that's just _you_ getting from home to work i.e. your primary work site and primary occupation requirement. i just meant that i get sent to a certain job site at say, caboolture, then get sent to a site at say, 8mile plains, oxley, etc all the time bro :) |
| #128 10:20pm 03/07/09 |
Are naturopath expenses allowable under thprivate medical exenses rebate?
The ATO's website is unclear. |
| #129 11:43am 04/07/09 |
existence looks right according to this dude:
You can claim the cost of trips between home and work where: |
| #130 12:09pm 04/07/09 |
Are naturopath expenses allowable under thprivate medical exenses rebate? Not sure myself actually, but I know certain "pseduo-medical" professions can only be claimed if you have a referral from a GP. Pretty sure Chiropractic services is one of them - no idea on naturopath quick google: (naturopathic consultation and herbal supplements prescribed by a Naturopath may be counted as part of your tax-deductible medical expenses for each year. You need to get a referral to the Naturopath from a doctor before you attend fertility consultation. For more information phone ATO: 13 28 61. http://www.naturaltherapypages.com.au/therapist/1223 Maybe call the ATO to make sure, get their name and s*** also. last edited by Fireblood at 12:16:50 04/Jul/09 |
| #131 12:16pm 04/07/09 |
You can claim the cost of trips between home and work where: i win at tax 09 |
| #132 08:44am 05/07/09 |
Oh man I wish I didn't read Fireblood's post. Now I'm all pissed off on a Sunday morning.
| #133 08:54am 05/07/09 |
Why because you can't claim pot as a medical expense?
| #134 09:36am 05/07/09 |
Infidel
Thanks Fade, the second link you gave earlier sheds more on that. It does seem gray for me and I believe I have taken steps where I could demonstrate I am a non-resident of australia anymore. With the financial year over in australia I have found out my HECS debt is still growing (obviously). If I am no longer a resident should I still be taking steps to reduce the debt? I guess it would be a good idea to do something about it in case I ever return? I never put a big dent into it back in Aus as I just did the end of financial year contributions to it.
last edited by Infidel at 08:25:39 06/Jul/09 |
| #135 08:25am 06/07/09 |
| #135 |