Topic: Some photos with my Cannon SX10IS
eightyeight
Fixed the thread for people with 512mb ram. Give me some tips on whatever constructive criticism is welcome

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/3848/1275025.jpg

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/7452/1275048.jpg

http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/1828/1275047.jpg

http://img516.imageshack.us/img516/5531/1275046.jpg

http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/2742/1275052.jpg

http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/1474/1275051.jpg

http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/2988/1275050.jpg

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/5159/1275024.jpg

http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/7804/1275014.jpg

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/6969/44048.jpg

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/2464/34028v.jpg

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/9343/44052.jpg
Infidel
oh youre gonna blow a few peoples caps with this thread :)
eightyeight
http://photos-h.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724759_5721326.jpg

http://photos-a.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724760_1697837.jpg

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724873_3171374.jpg

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724874_7009371.jpg

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724875_5509372.jpg

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724876_7354061.jpg

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724877_6971556.jpg

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724912_3856781.jpg

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724913_6700108.jpg

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724914_8234281.jpg

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724915_2645281.jpg

http://photos-e.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-snc1/v2602/200/73/681585859/n681585859_2724756_3122227.jpg

lol @ all the bogan mobils...
oh youre gonna blow a few peoples caps with this thread :)

yeah, you should really make smaller versions of the images and provide links to the large versions, not just specify height/width in the html
MoGs
Great photos mate :) The Brisbane city picks are great and you the zoom on it seems friggin awesome!
yeah what the f*** man

photos are huge and killed my computer

plus the ones that loaded were either out of focus, off center, washed out or not really interesting at all
Warning: ADSL2+ 20Mbit death
Honestly, I'd say your nightime pics are overexposed.

Nice though.

I like the one of the casino in multicolour.
heres a photo i took on cootha in non-retarded res

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/IMG_8483_1024.jpg
photos are huge and killed my computer

get a computer not from the 90's

also lol chev badge wanker

heres a photo i took on cootha in non-retarded res

Dude that's no moon! Awesome pic
thread loaded fine for me
fyi, jim has a bmw computer
s*** Maxe, thats a really good shot man.

right place, right time, someone elses lens

absorb my moon!@#

http://trog.qgl.org/up/dave_goldcoast_moon.jpg

I couldn't get the exposure exactly right but it came out sort of ok

edit: f*** that was a beauty of a night:

http://trog.qgl.org/up/goldcoast_moon.jpg

Is that why theres a massive f***ing ring in the middle of the picture?

Nice shot Trog. Where was that?
BTW, I reckon that 1st shot would have made a great setup for an HDR attempt. Ie, grab about 8 exposures at different F stops and ran through some HDR software.

last edited by E.T. at 17:10:10 23/Apr/09

last edited by E.T. at 17:11:08 23/Apr/09

Is that why theres a massive f***ing ring in the middle of the picture?
that's a lunar corona

Nice shot Trog. Where was that?
BTW, I reckon that 1st shot would have made a great setup for an HDR attempt. Ie, grab about 8 exposures at different F stops and ran through some HDR software.
No idea how to do that but I'd love to learn, I should google it. It was just at a place at the gold coast (right on the beach).
i can tell you how to do it on my model camera, but thats it

most annoying part is you have to do it in RAW mode which means each image is like 6 meg and you need to work with three of them

thats a big deal on my machine fyi
bonus attempted HDR content

this is now a photo thread

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/hdr/CRW_5148_49_501_1024.jpg
how long have you been in a wheel chair trog?

rough night at the RE?
I see your moon and raise you a Pelican.

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/4175/dsc0240l.jpg
whatever constructive criticism is welcome

First thing that caught my eye in the brisvegas shots are the buildings aren't vertical, they're all tilted a bit like the camera isn't level.
Give me some tips on whatever constructive criticism is welcome

Hi eightyeight. I'd say the stand out thing with your shots is the lack of composition. You need to be more imaginative with your shots. An example would be, try a slow exposure for night shots so moving objects leave light trails ect. Something that makes it not look like you have put a camera up to your eye, set it on auto and just clicked. A photo should be worth taking otherwise its just something to jog your memory rather than to inspire.

Regarding your shots of the cars & bikes. It looks like you have the camera in a landscape preset. This will cause the camera to use a very small aperture and therefore a very long field of view. These shots need to be more like portraits because the objects in the foreground are the subject of the shot. Try using portraits mode and be zoomed in a bit. You'll find this gives you a narrow field of view, blurring the background and keeping the subject in sharp focus. You'd be amazed what a difference this makes to the shot.

I hope this helps you out a bit.
Give me some tips on whatever constructive criticism is welcome

when you're taking photos, try and imagine the average joe who's going to see it, and try to work out if theyre going to care

like when you post stuff like this and that, its like, so what? Theres nothing on a technical or composition(al?) level that really grabs people. The photos in a given group are just as important as the photo itself, if you know what im sayin

try not to get caught up in the fact that just about anything looks pretty when you're taking it on your brand new rad camera that you spend a zillion bucks on. if you go out and take 100 photos, chances are there will only be 8 that are really worth looking at by anyone else

oh, and on this one again, you've got your cars A pillar or whatever blurring the right side of the image. If your shot isnt 100% perfect, either crop the dumb s*** out, or take another photo. thats why digital cameras were invented by the jews. Dont bother posting up half assed s*** with problems in it unless the problems add genuine artistic value

anyway thats just the stuff i struggle with

holla

eightyeight
thanks maxe and ET I will remember those things for the future :-)