Topic: chevy badges on holdens?
whats with the new gay fad of putting chevrolet badges on holdens? I've seen heaps in the last few months. Aren't holdens gay enough for these people that they need to gay them up more?
i like it when you see SS badges on old barinas
there alot "gay" in the first post
its just wankish, like soarer owners putting lexus badges on their toyotas
Articuz
agreed..
speking of which saw an ute the other day, and it was major fail.
the knob had "ss" stickers on the car and a chevy badge front and back.

I lolled...
it's actually an old fad..been happening ever since the ls1 was put into commodore..
Corrupt
badges for people who need them if i bought a mercedes or a bmw i would remove the badges.
Maybe the people with SS on their cars are nazis!
I wouldn't call it a new fad either, people have been doing it since I was a kid.
MatchFixer
if i bought a mercedes or a bmw i would remove the badges.
The whole reason why you'd drive a BMW or a Mercedes is because you drive the name/badge. That's what you're paying extra for.
CeMaX
The Soarer was released under two names, ie: Toyota Soarer & Lexus SC400.
yeah but when you buy the toyota, you aren't buying a lexus
thus putting lexus badges on it makes you a wanker

I am +1 for removing badges on cars anyway, if I had a car that stood out I would definitely do it
there are some psychopaths out there who will key/scratch your car or let your tyres down/snap off the badge etc just because they're wankers/jealous etc
The Soarer was released under two names, ie: Toyota Soarer & Lexus SC400.

Wasn't the lexus only a v8 and the soarer only a 6? If so, it'd be like putting SS badges on a Commodore Executive.
The real wankers will know what car it is no matter if it has them or not. I'd be pretty suprised if someone failed to recognize a hummer just because you removed the badges.
I am +1 for removing badges on cars anyway, if I had a car that stood out I would definitely do it
there are some psychopaths out there who will key/scratch your car or let your tyres down/snap off the badge etc just because they're wankers/jealous etc

So in your logic, a bright orange lambo wouldn't get keyed/etc so long as it's been de-badged? A car stands out for more reasons than just the badge. In fact if you're buying a car that only stands out because of the badge then you're wasting your money.
The whole reason why you'd drive a BMW or a Mercedes is because you drive the name/badge. That's what you're paying extra for.

yeah not really

fyi they all look like that in south america

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/PICT0004.jpg

can prob import the whole grille via ebay or some s***
pearls to swine

MatchFixer
yeah not really
s***, you make a compelling case, i'd look into the Law industry if i were you.
no less compelling than your own statement
So in your logic, a bright orange lambo wouldn't get keyed/etc so long as it's been de-badged? A car stands out for more reasons than just the badge. In fact if you're buying a car that only stands out because of the badge then you're wasting your money.

yeah.. great example
now lets use my statement with say, a bmw 315i w/o badges

maxe, of course they are sold like that in SA.. they are sold as GM not holden..
yeah.. great example
now lets use my statement with say, a bmw 315i w/o badges

nah you're still not making much of a point dude, you can't mistake a 3 series for anything else just cos it doesn't have it's badges
Bats***
Here we go again, Jim raging against the minority.

f*** JIM! Stop being such a racist.
so anyway, i thought i'd rebadge my car, whaddya think??

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/4269/badgeitup.th.jpg

http://imageshack.us/img/butansn.png Quickpost this image to Myspace, Digg, Facebook, and others!
people who don't drive bmw's can't, Jim ;)
I saw a black one that I mistakenly thought was a camry or something because it had 0 badges and I was sitting behind it up high in the 'lux

MatchFixer
What I'm saying is your paying extra on insurance, services, spare parts for a BMW/MERC because it's a BMW/MERC. The badge is part of what makes it prestige, not because the badge itself is literally worth 80k on its own, as you seem to have backwardly understood it. So what would be the point of removing the badge? to look less like a yuppy wanker? If that's the case you might as well buy a Nissan instead.
people who are likely to get jealous enough of a car to vandalize it will likely be able to tell the difference between a bmw and a camry.

the only reason people de-badge a 315i or a mercedes C180 is so that others might think they own a 328i or a C320 and aren't actually pov.
teq I guess if the only part of the vehicle that's visible is higher than the top of the window sill you might be forgiven for making that mistake

booyah, the insurance on my '08 X5 is proportionally cheaper than the insurance on my '05 patrol - X5: $1000, patrol: $800. X5 replacement cost is about $160k, patrol is about $60k.
service? I've put 27,000k's on the clock of the X5 and it hasn't had a single service yet. It's due in about 5000k's and it'll cost about $500 and be good for another ~30,000k's. my patrol had had 6 services by the time it had 30,000k's on the clock and only the first one was free - the rest were $200-$400

spare parts? I guess if I kept the vehicle longer than it was out of warranty I'd care about that, but yes you're right there - they are typically more expensive

if I could be assed, I'd write a big spiel on exactly what you're getting when you buy a nice european car. you absolutely get what you pay for, and it far outweighs whatever amount is simply 'paying for the brand'. incidentally, where do you think 'the brand' comes from in the first place? there's a reason it has the brand perception that it does, which makes your entire premise kind of silly

pics of said 315i plz
Whenever i see a car thats Made In Australia i get warm fuzzy feeling inside that my Taxes paid for at least half that car to be made here.

The Australian car industry is worse than a Welfare mum with 6 kids on Struggle Street.
MatchFixer
I agree with you in saying that you're not just paying for the brand but for the quality of the brand, because that's just obvious. I was trying to come to terms with removing the badge from a car that's obviously high quality. It's a high quality car and the consumer's perception of the car is associated with it's brand, so what purpose does it serve removing the badging from it? that's not say to the car isn't high quality anymore because it doesn't have it's high quality brand on it either, obviously.

A couple of years ago i owned 318IS BMW, and even though it was 95 a model it still was a BMW, badges and all, and as nice as it was for me to drive, the fact that it was a BMW was good enough for me to own at the time.

edit: just dugg up a photo of her, man i miss that Big Mammas Warts :(

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v104/zeezee/Cars/DSC01554.jpg

last edited by MatchFixer at 19:08:31 22/Mar/09
I'm not a fan of debadging either, I don't really know why people do it. It's actually listed as a no cost option by the manufacturer too, so it's obviously pretty common - although I can't say I see a lot of european cars without their badges. To me it seems a bit tacky

i normally feel, if its debadge its been in accident and they didnt want to pay the $50 for the new badges
lols americans motors
I'm gonna put a chevy badge on my toyota, what do you think about that then huh? and a lexus badge on my holden.
Ospi
debadging makes no sense to me at all.
MatchFixer
Unless your drive a an R33, in which case a submarine brand will be more appropriate.
pfft lol the chevy badge is now the badge of fail.

GM is about to keel over in a few weeks.

What once was a symbol of bogan pride is now just advertising that you're endorsing a collapsed car company.
eP
chev badges because the engine is a chevy engine... makes sense.
lexus badge on my holden.

welcome to the toyota lexcen (VP commodore)
Infidel
most new cars people buy in europe are debadged, mate couldnt explain why other than you only keep the badge on if you have the top model. Ie. if you have a 320d you takie off but if its a 335d it stays.
chev badges because the engine is a chevy engine... makes sense.

How does that make sense? Maybe all those people with nissan silvias that fit 1jz's to their car should put toyota badges on their car because it has a toyota engine etc. The badge denotes who made the car not the motor.
fyi picked this up for my car in the USA

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/dump/Image934.jpg

UNGH $$$$$$$$$$
Habib
The funny thing is, in the US they pull off the Chevy badges and put Holden ones on.
CactusSupreme

I recently bought a dark green 1996 Holden Commodore manual ute and it hasn't got any badges... I wasn't very happy when I went to look at it but it is my first car and I'll probably sell it for a 4wd when I get my P's. But on another note my mum and dad wanted me to get a RWD 6 cylinder ute? I reminded them that I'm 16years old, on my L's, and probably not mature enough to be trusted with it. But I'm happy I have my own car, without badges..
MatchFixer
I have the sudden urge to staple a pizza to your head.
yer i'm more of a de-badging man, like the subtleness of havin no labels.
sLiNky
How does that make sense? Maybe all those people with nissan silvias that fit 1jz's to their car should put toyota badges on their car because it has a toyota engine etc. The badge denotes who made the car not the motor.

Just like Sang Yongs (sp?). They come out badged as Sang yong but then have a big merc badge in the middle of the boot because the engine is a merc engine.
Saw a large silver LEXUS badge on a Lancer yesterday.

Same shape as mine (1991), but 10x more beatup, couldn't be more then $500.
Personally i have no troubles in people badging Holdens as Chevrolets. 2 reasons, they are sold in other parts of the world as chevrolets and the LSX motors are Chevrolet motors. Makes sense to me. Just remember this isn't the first time in history that Holden has used a Chevrolet V8 and people have badged them as such, hello 1968.
Do standard $30k 6cyc Commodores have Chev engines though?

The douche I live with at Wynnum had at least 3 big gold Chev badges on his white government looking Commodore.

Along with heaps of blue neons, he even had skulls with blue neons in them sitting around his car.

God he failed.
i put hrc stickers on my trailbike coz they look cool man!
6cyl commodores most commonly have ecotec 3.8L V6s - motors of a buick design. So at a really big stretch, you could put Buick badges on your 6cyl commodore if you like.
how about holden make their own engines, oh right they don't cause they're f***ing s***.
Uh, they do make their own engines. For the past 4 and a half years they've made the alloytec breed of engines, that are made in melbourne and put in commodores, saabs, alfas and isuzus.
Crusher
Just to clear up a bit of misinformation...

6cyl commodores most commonly have ecotec 3.8L V6s - motors of a buick design

havent been any ecotecs in a number of years now. They are 3.6L alloytecs and are made (mostly) in Australia.

welcome to the toyota lexcen (VP commodore)

And the VN. And the VR.

Wasn't the lexus only a v8 and the soarer only a 6?

Lexus also had the SC-300 which was the same 6 cyl as the soarer

X5 replacement cost is about $160k

Jim earns too much money from computer games. I think he needs to donate it to the royal society for the rehabilitation of sufferers of tran.
It's been around for a long time. Hasn't anyone seen the old Monaros with big block chevs in them plastered with Chev badges? I guess they're just trying to say they have a "tough" motor.

I think it's a little better then all the odd-jobs driving around barinas with Opal badges on them :)
Crusher
I think it's a little better then all the odd-jobs driving around barinas with Opal badges on them :)

I dont see any point in de-badging/rebadging cars. If you are embarrased by the badge then you should have bought something else. And anyone who knows anything about cars will know that your 318i with a M3 badge on it isnt a real M3... M3's didnt come with single exhaust and 15" alloys (or plastic hubcaps).

As for the Opel badges... I dont like it. My car is an Opel, but in Australia its badged as a HSV VXR so thats what it stays as. People claim that rebadging their holdens as opels "restores their heritage". Whatever, its just a stick on badge.
Uh, they do make their own engines. For the past 4 and a half years they've made the alloytec breed of engines, that are made in melbourne and put in commodores, saabs, alfas and isuzus.
3 out of 4 of those cars are s***.
CactusSupreme

It's like when you see a really fat ugly chick with make up caked on her face and tight jeans. She thinks it is making her look better when in actual fact it is worse. Much the same as putting gold Chevy badges on your plain old boring Holden.
haha crusher
there are no sufferers of tran, only embracors
havent been any ecotecs in a number of years now. They are 3.6L alloytecs and are made (mostly) in Australia.
Yep, but you'll find there are more ecotec commodores in the wild than alloytec ones, so my statement still stands. my post previous to yours mentions that for the past 4 and a half years they've been aussie made alloytecs. Last ecotec was August 2004.
And the VN. And the VR.
And the VS.
Lexus also had the SC-300 which was the same 6 cyl as the soarer

Yep, the Soarer was badged Toyota Soarer in Japan regardless of motor, and was badged Lexus SC300/SC400 in the US and other export markets. They were exactly the same car, apart from wrong hand drive.
Bonez

I think that the addition of the Chevy bowtie on the Holden's is enduring :|

Makes me kinda miss the US :|

Actually all cars should be rebadged with the Chevy bowtie :P

Even Ford ;P

OK, all sarcasm aside, it is a silly thing to do, but hey it's their car, they can do whatever they want with it. BUT if you're going to put the badges on the front and rear of the car, please remember to change the wheels as well, so the Holden Lion is no longer anywhere to be seen, now that's idiotic.
I suppose following by this logic then 3dee would have to put nissan badges on his VL.

And Jim, is the pootrol diseasel motor a renault design?
nah it's a ZD30
the renault effort is for future models
meh looks better than a lion playing with its balls
the renault effort is for future models
ah k.