Just came back from seeing this at South Bank. Holy f*** it was awesome, did the comic justice.
Needed less wang though. Had nice boobs though. Discuss. |
| #0 08:22am 06/03/09 |
Mantorok
Did they really change the ending? Y/N
| #1 01:44am 06/03/09 |
Yeah this is probably my #1 want to see movie of the year so far anyway. Glad you enjoyed it Midda
| #2 01:48am 06/03/09 |
OMG DOCTOR MANHATTAN DOESN'T WEAR PANTS!!
(I'll prolly watch it this weekend, in a small, empty theatre not filled with fanboys) |
| #3 01:58am 06/03/09 |
DM
Saw it today, f***ing loved it. Rivals TDK best comic based movie so far. I went in knowing nothing about the story or characters but when I left I had fully understood everything. Usually with comic to movie adaptations you seem to miss things along the way and never really get them. None of that here. Also it should come as no surprise that Rorschach is now my favorite western comic hero (anti-hero mabye?) ever. f***ing hell that guy was awesome. His short back story that was given was just so perfect in setting up his character.
Needed less wang though About my only gripe with it. Really? we NEEDED to see neon blue penis? They couldn't of just kept that thong looking thing on him the entire time? last edited by DM at 02:12:50 06/Mar/09 |
| #4 02:12am 06/03/09 |
^ I havent seen the film yet but I've read the graphic novel just recently.
In regards to 'old blue balls' (Dr Manhattan) Alan Moore succeeded in breaking new boundries in 'superhero' themed comic books. He combined alot more adult and realistic themes such as poltics, aging, rape, nudity, sex etc whilst in the semi fictional realm of 'superheroes'. The reason that Moore had Dr Manhattan appear nude in some frames is that he has become almost like a God in that he has been reborn as an entirely new being at a molecular level, that has the power over time, physics etc and does not see himself as a normal human anymore, hence his complete disregard for clothing. |
| #5 02:49am 06/03/09 |
Did they really change the ending? Y/N Yes, they did, but it wasn't really a bad change. Spoiler: Instead of Veidt faking an alien invasion, he fakes an attack from something/someone different. I think if they actually did the fake alien invasion, a lot of people would have been like "wtf is happening?" |
| #6 08:18am 06/03/09 |
Yeah, the ending is pretty much intact, the exact nature of Spoiler:
Veidt's attack were slightly changed, but it has no less impact, and everything else plays out exactly the same. In a way, I liked the change, because before I saw the movie I couldn't help but think that the whole Spoiler: alien invasion threat that Veidt engineers and the giant genetically engineered alien he teleports into new york would come accross as pretty corny and dumb on the big screen, so the way they did it, was the best possible way they could imo. But yeah, it was amazing, I was blown away by it. Couldn't possibly be more faithful to the novel, and its just an incredible movie, not even an incredible superhero movie, just an incredible movie full stop. |
| #7 09:30am 06/03/09 |
this all sounds pretty cool :D i've never read a watchman comic or book but i've watched a dvd doco on alan moore & he is out there!@# :D i'll hae to check it out.
| #8 11:05am 06/03/09 |
boba
are you only going to be able to enjoy/understand this movie if you're not a comic book nerd?
| #9 11:11am 06/03/09 |
I went with 3 mates who hadn't read it, and they all enjoyed it and understood the plot fine.
Though I just talked to a workmate who said a bunch of parts of the film made no sense at all to him. I'm not sure what parts he was talking about, but I don't see why you wouldn't enjoy the film without having read the novel. I recommend it. See if you can borrow the book from Khel, I'm sure he'll happily loan out his copy of Watchmen. |
| #10 11:52am 06/03/09 |
going to see tonight. sounds like a good storyline.
| #11 12:13pm 06/03/09 |
I didn't particularly enjoy it :o Seems i'm in the minority though.
It wasn't a bad movie, but I wouldn't tell anyone they would miss much if they decided not to see it. Some fairly nice gory scenes and pretty good effects/acting all round. Just wasn't overly impressed by the whole movie. |
| #12 12:55pm 06/03/09 |
DM
Let me guess, your eagerly awaiting Night In The Museum 2 huh?
| #13 01:13pm 06/03/09 |
I'm holding out for Toy Story 4!
| #14 01:14pm 06/03/09 |
4?? I thought it was 3 that's in production...
| #15 05:44am 07/03/09 |
defi
I thought it was very nicely made. Everything was crisp the acting was excellent and the mini stories in the storyline was f***ing entertaining.
The only thing that i didnt really like was some of the costumes. For some reason i just thought they could have been a bit dulled down. |
| #16 11:49am 07/03/09 |
This movie gets 10 from me. A rich complex story with background and detail. All the key elements of a graphic novel brought to the big screen. Fantastic action scenes, breathtaking sets costumes and special effects.
I was totally into it. The gf thought it was too violent. |
| #17 11:55am 07/03/09 |
The comments here on the movie seem much more positive than on another forum I read:
"If you want gore and slow-mo fight scenes, then see the movie. If you want the story, watch this [the complete motion comic bluray rip]. So much is cut from the film that the meaning of what they kept often feels hollow or contrived." "Just saw the movie, let's hope this will get the bad taste out of my mouth. Thanks." "If you watch the movie and then read the book, you will enjoy both. If you read the book and then watch the movie, you'll complain about the movie having changed stuff." |
| #18 12:17pm 07/03/09 |
going to imax tomorrow morning to see..
soundtrack is awesome aswell, can't wait to see how they mix the songs into the storyline |
| #19 12:35pm 07/03/09 |
Bats***
It was ok, it really spazzed out at the end. I never understood why they spent so much time night owls and that whores relationship.
| #20 01:27pm 07/03/09 |
anyone know where to buy the comics from?
| #21 02:11pm 07/03/09 |
| #22 02:54pm 07/03/09 |
anyone know where to buy the comics from? a comic book store and most book stores now sell graphics novels. |
| #23 03:08pm 07/03/09 |
where's a good comic book store..haven't seen one in donkeys years..
| #24 03:10pm 07/03/09 |
also agreed on needed less big blue wang.
i was really looking forward to seeing it, hadnt read the comics though. i was disappointed, still looking forward to the xmen and terminator movie hope they're not as zZZz |
| #25 03:11pm 07/03/09 |
Those complaints thats natslovr posted sound like the same sort of people who complained about the lotr movies because they weren't exact word-for-word adaptations of the book. I haven't read the book for a while, I'm gonna read it again to refresh my memory after seeing the movie, but I didn't think they left much out at all, they covered nearly everything, even included a lot of stuff I assumed would get left out. Some of it might have happened in a slightly different order to the book, but it was done that way so it would work as a film; what works as a book, and what works as a film, are rarely one and the same.
The only really major change I can think of, is the change they made to the ending, but it really didn't change much. Sure theres some minor things I reckon they could have done better, Niteowl could have been more pathetic, they could have shown a bit more of Veidt and actually showed us some of the stuff he was doing that made him the smartest man in the world instead of just saying he was the smartest man in the world, but they're pretty minor quibbles that in the end, didn't really make me enjoy the movie any less. |
| #26 01:50am 08/03/09 |
We went with another couple and unfortunately the movie bored the s*** out of all of us.
I very rarely wish for a movie to hurry up and finish. I thought the CGI, acting and Picture was great, however I still felt like I was waiting for something to actually happen. Really slow, lots of talking, dragged on for aaaages, fight scenes were great however I don't understand how these 'Watchman' with super speed and s*** turn out to be normal people with infact no powers, with the obvious exception of Dr Manhattan. Why all the dick and f*** all titty?? last edited by Fn at 01:54:00 08/Mar/09 |
| #27 01:54am 08/03/09 |
thought this movie was pretty boring for the most part
very nice cinematography though |
| #28 01:52am 08/03/09 |
haha I guess you blokes caught a 9:30pm session as well :)
| #29 01:56am 08/03/09 |
So is it boring like The Dark Knight? That movie felt like it was all over the place.
| #30 02:15am 08/03/09 |
where's a good comic book store..haven't seen one in donkeys years.. http://www.acecomicsonline.com/ it only lists the store in the city. there is one in annerley aswell: Ace Comics & Games: Shop 18, Annerley Arcade, 478 Ipswich Road, Annerley, QLD 4103 Ph: 07 3848 7362 last time i went to the annerley one they had watchmen on the shelf. cant remember how much it was though. |
| #31 10:57am 08/03/09 |
Expect to pay around $43-50 for the Trade paperback. I think Borders had it as well for $50 last I checked.
| #32 11:52am 08/03/09 |
Theres Daily Planet on Elizabeth st down near the wintergarden too, and Comics Etc on Elizabeth st opposite the myer centre.
| #33 11:55am 08/03/09 |
MatchFixer
So is it boring like The Dark Knight? That movie felt like it was all over the place.Oh dear. I think the movie 'he's just not that into you' would be more your type of movie. |
| #34 11:56am 08/03/09 |
Yea mate, 9:30pm at Indro, you at the Browns one I assume :)
| #35 12:13pm 08/03/09 |
I'm waiting for Tight-Arse Tuesday to give my review.
| #36 12:40pm 08/03/09 |
MatchFixer
I was given 2 gold class tickets but i'm not sure if it's even worth seeing it on the big screen let alone in GC :/
| #37 01:26pm 08/03/09 |
Pretty boring, too long, s***ty CG, 5/10.
| #38 02:21pm 08/03/09 |
I was thinking 4.
imdb has a rating of 8.5. pfff |
| #39 02:31pm 08/03/09 |
nah garden city gold class f***les
I don't think I've seen the inside of the browns plains cinema =] |
| #40 02:33pm 08/03/09 |
http://www.fishpond.com.au/Books/Fiction_Literature/Comics_Graphics/General/product_info/2533436/?cf=3&rid=1313029540&i=1&keywords=watchmen
I picked up the paperback from Fishpond in December for $30 and it's still the same price. I grabbed another book at the same time to take advantage of the free shipping for orders over $50. They were out of stock on one of them for about a week (can't remember which one now) so with free shipping I would have been happy if it was delayed and shipped together, but the one that was in stock shipped early anyway. <ebay>Highly recommended A+++++++!</ebay> |
| #41 05:23pm 08/03/09 |
will check those stores out this week. Didn't go see it today, will go on weds to imax, when everyone is at work
| #42 05:59pm 08/03/09 |
I thought it was a pretty f***ing impressive conversion from the comic - but I didn't reallllly like the comic much either and it translated pretty directly to the movie. Great effects, I really liked the character conversion/actors, I thought Rorschach was great, excellent fight scenes... I found the movie a bit long and heavy going though - but that's EXACTLY how I found the comic. I reckon it was a really well done movie though and well worth seeing if only for the fact that it's not a typical s***ty Hollywood movie. If you get into the story (which is pretty cool, just didn't gel with me for some reason) I reckon you'll be impressed. |
| #43 10:44pm 10/03/09 |
jadz0r
are you only going to be able to enjoy/understand this movie if you're not a comic book nerd? Nup, I haven't read the comic and I understood it fine. For the most part I liked it. I thought that some of the scenes looked a little amateur in the CG department (considering there was some awesome special effects). Some of the acting was a little lame too. Needed more cock imo |
| #44 11:52pm 10/03/09 |
Crash
you love blue balls dont you jared :D |
| #45 11:56pm 10/03/09 |
thought it was a great movie, little iffy bout the ending. and you can tell exactly when it was written, (1985?) as it seems to be that the author of the graphic novel was predicting that the invasion of Afghanistan would lead to nuclear holocaust, all it led to was the fall of the soviet empire, kinda ironic really.
| #46 12:26am 11/03/09 |
There was something about it that I didn't like. Overall I found it really good and a really solid movie from a technical aspect, but I just didn't come out satisfied enough for it to have been a omg awesome movie. Maybe it was the storyline or maybe it was the movie being built up slowly and my expectations of a big ending being let down.
| #47 07:34am 11/03/09 |
That's precisely how I felt after The Dark Knight. Underwhelmed from the hype, and thinking it were about 30 minutes too long..
| #48 09:15am 11/03/09 |
I pretty much completely agree with Saint. I didn't really feel like they made the whole WWIII a big enough issue until the end, where I was like, Oooohh that's what's going on. On then the problem was solved before it ever really felt like a big deal.
| #49 09:43am 11/03/09 |
I pretty much completely agree with Saint. I didn't really feel like they made the whole WWIII a big enough issue until the end, where I was like, Oooohh that's what's going on. On then the problem was solved before it ever really felt like a big deal.yeh, right - like, you're too focused on all the characters, their interactions, and their backstory, to even really notice that all this other stuff is happening in the background. Then the ending comes out of nowhere and you're like "oh, it was all about trying to do that thing". |
| #50 11:19am 11/03/09 |
brotherly love.. haha
Just got back from seeing it at IMAX. Full on film in storyline, acting and cinematography. I can see why people were complaining about the storyline being all over the place. It reminded me of sin city, where they had multiple stories being told but at different times, where in this case everything was at once. I'm going to have to watch it again, my mind wonders sometimes while watching movies and not everything sinks in first time around. Will also have to read the book. 5/5 |
| #51 02:50pm 11/03/09 |
Nathan
I've not read the comic. I found it pretty average. There's a bunch of stuff happening for a while, you dont really get it. Then someone comes along and talks for a few minutes and explains the last 20 minutes of footage. Repeat a dozen times and there's your movie. |
| #52 03:23pm 11/03/09 |
this all sounds pretty cool :D i've never read a watchman comic or book but i've watched a dvd doco on alan moore & he is out there!@# :D i'll hae to check it out. I've never even heard of watchmen, so does that mean I'll think it's meh?? From all the praise the movie is getting in this thread, i'd really like to see it. |
| #53 04:27pm 11/03/09 |
dranged
Yeah. I thought it was very average, not quite sure how it ended because eventually just walked out on it. 4/10.
| #54 04:27pm 11/03/09 |
Mantis
I think the issue lies in the fact it's labeled as a "superhero movie" when it's nothing like Spiderman or Ironman. Not even really like the new darker Batman movies.
Sure it has "superheroes" but they don't really have any powers and are flawed to the extreme. It's more of a look at a flawed humanity and how some people decide to try and fix it or at least stop it from getting worse. I have heard a description a few times that seems to fit which is "what would happen if some normal people decided to just wear costumes and fight crime". Anyways, i liked it. Better than the typical "dumbed down" action movies that generally come out. last edited by Mantis at 16:40:46 11/Mar/09 |
| #55 04:40pm 11/03/09 |
actually that wasn't my issue with it at all - I'd have felt the same about it if had been full of xmen characters
| #56 04:41pm 11/03/09 |
I have heard a description a few times that seems to fit which is "what would happen if some normal people decided to just wear costumes and fight crime".Well, that's pretty much exactly what happened in the movie and was really the point of it |
| #57 04:45pm 11/03/09 |
Nathan
It didnt bother me at all they were just normal people, if anything I thought it was a nice change. |
| #58 05:24pm 11/03/09 |
| #59 02:36pm 12/03/09 |
Just watched it then and I reckon it was great. Didn't find it hard to follow at all and it was a million times better than The Dark Knight. I do agree it did end quite suddenly though. I was waiting for Dr Manhattan to start laying the smack down on heaps more stuff then what he did.
Also, the chicky babe that played the young Silk Spectre was gorgeous. |
| #60 08:52pm 12/03/09 |
paradigm
also agreed on needed less big blue wang. You honestly thought that was big? hehe Thank God they didn't actually show it while he was giant sized. That would have been an eye-sore. |
| #61 09:05pm 12/03/09 |
Ever since watching this i've had the urge to watch Dr Strangelove...
| #62 09:10pm 12/03/09 |
So I just finished reading the comic and damn.
That's the best comic I've ever read. I strongly suggest you read it. Time to watch the moofie :D |
| #63 11:30pm 14/03/09 |
Watched the movie, and was impressed. I knew nothing of the story and I understood it fine.
Also, props to reading cinemas Harbourtown - showed no ads before the movie, only a couple trailers. Also, they don't have s*** allocated seating like your s***ty brisbane cinemas. |
| #64 11:44pm 14/03/09 |
Bats***
You know what really ticked me off, super heroes werent super at all. They were just normal people with higher than normal agility/strength.
Dr Manhattan and Rorshack were cool though. I had to look up Rorshack on wiki to understand what was going on with his mask. The rest were just lame. I was expecting USSR to show off its own super heroes. I personally loved the blue wang. My eyes were glued to it when ever it appeared. Truly majestic. |
| #65 12:45am 15/03/09 |
Also, they don't have s*** allocated seating like your s***ty brisbane cinemas. South Bank cinemas > Reading Cinemas. You know what really ticked me off, super heroes werent super at all. That was the whole point. |
| #66 01:59pm 15/03/09 |
^I found the southbank cinemas good, as long as you're not in the imax screen with it's super s*** seating.
| #67 03:44pm 15/03/09 |
I thought the movie was boring as s***. The Comedian and Rorschach were the only characters that came across as well acted and interesting, the rest were pretty lame. I found the human nature angle a bit preachy and over done and the fact that they pushed it through all those side stories made me uninterested in what apparently was the main story line of averting nuclear annihilation.
| #68 03:48pm 15/03/09 |
I still question the marketing for the movie - they made it out like it was a balls-to-walls action fest.
Uh. It isn't. Also, I saw people leaving during the movie. :) Thought the movie was ok. Comic still better...mainly because some stuff just didn't translate well. Alan Moore said himself that the book is un-filmable. In a way, I have to agree. The best parts were the most subtle - the opening credits in particular. |
| #69 01:53am 17/03/09 |
Zaphod
You know what really ticked me off, super heroes werent super at all. They were just normal people with higher than normal agility/strength. What, you mean like Batman.. |
| #70 10:00am 17/03/09 |
Zaphod
Also, I saw people leaving during the movie. :) Maybe they were just going for a whizz? It's a long flick.. |
| #71 04:54pm 17/03/09 |
Nah, they didn't come back.
From memory, it was somewhere between the attempted rape scene, and the (unnecessarily altered) Rorshach origin story. Guess people didn't want a long, drawn out drama with smatterings of intense violence in their "super hero" movie. :) |
| #72 12:35am 18/03/09 |
Let me guess, your eagerly awaiting Night In The Museum 2 huh? Why is it when people hold different opinions about something, someone has to have a cry about it. In a whole the storyline was good but i felt like they should have condensed the content a little. The movie goes about 30-45 minutes to long. For someone who has not read the book they loose interest in this drawn out plot (I would bet the majority of the viewers had not read the book). It needed more action and a little less chit chat. I am glad they choose the ending they did though, it seemed to fit well. (especially to the alternative discussed earlier). I give it 3.5 stars. |
| #73 12:51am 18/03/09 |
Zaphod
Nah, they didn't come back. From memory, it was somewhere between the attempted rape scene, and the (unnecessarily altered) Rorshach origin story. Wow, that was fairly early on in the movie too, IIRC..talk about your short attention spans.. |
| #74 02:53pm 18/03/09 |
treeoflife
I saw it censored in Malaysia (normal for films) and thus avoided all but a couple of penis shots but the blur that replaced it was a little distracting and led your eyes to it. I think I'd rather have cock :P
They cut out some swearing and I presume sex as well. You could tell when they microcut bits out as it skipped like a dodgy dvd and I believe at one point a frame flashed with some words but I couldn't read them (ala Fight Club porn cuts). Otherwise nothing integral was missed. Had to see a film censored by a government at least once. Thought Watchmen was a good one to try. Oh and censorship is ridiculous. Not doing that again. |
| #75 05:54pm 18/03/09 |
Wow, that was fairly early on in the movie too, IIRC..talk about your short attention spans.. You can still get a refund within the first 30mins of a movie. |
| #76 10:02pm 18/03/09 |
| #77 04:03pm 20/03/09 |
hahah so true.
| #78 05:05pm 20/03/09 |
| #79 08:11pm 20/03/09 |
bump: abridged script is now up for this |
| #80 06:40pm 15/04/09 |
Later, BILLY CRUDUP, BILLY CRUDUP, and BILLY CRUDUP are all having sex with MALIN AKERMAN. Suddenly, she stops him. I roffled |
| #81 11:48pm 15/04/09 |
| #81 |