Topic: New Concept Bar Fortitude Valley
Someone's trying to lure the gaming console geeks out from their darkened den:

Booze'n'Consoles

Yay or nay?

Maybe Strange Rash can flog his new drink there.
totally yay, i had thought about doing this a couple of years ago, but never got off my ass.

should be an arcade though, not console games.
yay:

obviously its not going to be a place for massive nites out, but sounds like a fun place to pop in for a drink and a bit of mario karting early on;
isnt yahtzee one of the owners?
I see this lasting for about 6-9 months. Interesting idea, but would have to be done perfectly. I think most of the appeal will wear off after one or two visits.

Good luck to the dude though, I do like the local game community aspect (hosting launches etc.)
qgl night out.. hey!
Raisty
Yup looks like Yahtzee is one of the owners, and possible gaming trivia night host
The Mana Bar

Sounds interesting
yeah imagine all the f***en aids infested gamepads :S sounds hygienically disgusting. All the guys that go for a piss every 20min and not washing their hands, mmm yum.

They should think about placing bowls of alcohol wipes around the joint.
yeah imagine all the f***en aids infested gamepads :S sounds hygienically disgusting. All the guys that go for a piss every 20min and not washing their hands, mmm yum.

Maybe you should just get back in your bubble, bubble boy.

The real issue is how do you avoid it becoming a massive sausage festival?

^ what he said. sounds gross

last edited by infi at 11:44:18 19/Feb/09
Without pandemic anymore that's a fair few less regulars they'd get, what's left in the valley now? Krome and CA?
All the guys that go for a piss every 20min and not washing their hands, mmm yum.

No different to pokies.
cant say the germs would be an issue to me, but im not a bubble weirdo
Zaphod
If you read's Yug's post on AG.com, the emphasis seems to be "this is a regular Valley bar, there just happens to be people playing games in the corner".

So it's not going to be some geeky internet cafe (hopefully), and therefore shouldn't be a sausage fest.
so i guess you don't wash your hands after taking a dump either. charming.
Sounds interesting, but I just get images of the Bunker with alcohol.

And the nerd smell. :shudder:
i wash my hands after taking a dump:

i dont spend all day worrying that i touched a tap, that was touched by other hands that were unwashed and most likely covered in poo particles
Zaphod
Gotta love those sensor-activated taps though...
i dont spend all day worrying that i touched a tap, that was touched by other hands that were unwashed and most likely covered in poo particles

Yeh me either to be honest, although I do avoid touching high-traffic s*** like the rails on escalators and try to steer clear of sick people.

Then again the last time I got the flu I spent five days in the hospital and six weeks on crutches ... I might not be normal!
woot I can finally pick up chicks with my leet mario kart skills

first the report that gamers get more sexual partners and now this

like you're going to pick up there anyway, it will only really get the ugly oddballs and geek girls of which any moderately attractive ones will probably have a geek boyfriend anyway
Speaking of cool new bars, Cloudland looks like it will be awesome

http://www.cloudland.tv/

Interesting idea but from experience I know you can't trust random people to be careful with property that's not theirs. Unless there are deposits being put down some people aren't gonna treat the equipment with respect.
I suspect they would only be touching the controllers, poo fingers and all?
poo-smeared controllers.
Zaphod
Yeah it'd just be the controllers, so no worse than people handling, say, pool cues..
i think if you worried about poo particles in todays society, the only option really is to stay home all the time:

And the nerd smell. :shudder:

I tend to walk on the other side of the mall these days.

Speaking of cool new bars, Cloudland looks like it will be awesome

http://www.cloudland.tv/

Yeah, and there's an entire thread on it here!
Eagerly awaiting the first drunken Guitar Hero guitar smashing rampage.

It's only a matter of time before a gang of wasted jocks come in and start terrorising the nerds with their sneering and their collar grabbing. Faced with a concentrated enclave of their natural enemy, surely the jocks will see it as a potential "fish in a barrel" situation.

But then the nerds will have their revenge...
Sounds like a good idea for a movie.
smashingpumpkin
what's the difference between pre-drinks and mario kart at someone's place prior to going out? apart from pricey alcohol...

i can't see it lasting too long either.
Maybe you should just get back in your bubble, bubble boy.

lol f*** off, bubble boy haha.. In public I have no issues but these controllers will get really grotty, even worse than fkn escalator handles. Imagine all the s*** your mouse and keyboard keys accumulate and you get this build up of s*** you need to wipe off every now and then.

And the answer to your real issue is that it's going to be a sausage fest, you don't go to a console gaming bar to pick up chicks.. Maybe go there for a few drinks with m8's and an hour or 2 of gaming then hit the clubs.
Interesting idea but from experience I know you can't trust random people to be careful with property that's not theirs. Unless there are deposits being put down some people aren't gonna treat the equipment with respect.
Pretty much.

Consoles aren't designed for public use like arcade machines. Add in alcohol and that s*** is going to get destroyed.
Add in alcohol and that s*** is going to get destroyed.

very true:
damaged poo-smeared controllers.
I imagine it'd work similar to pool halls

You pay for your time and hand over a license/id card only then are the controllers handed out.

If they come back poo covered or damaged you are going to be paying for them to retrieve your ID.

Even so they'll be going though GH controllers on a weekly basis I reckon.
Zaphod
what's the difference between pre-drinks and mario kart at someone's place prior to going out? apart from pricey alcohol...

Well what's the difference between staying at home drinking and going out in the first place??

The point is you get the best of both worlds, ie. you're out, but you still can play some games..
the real question is, will they have ddr?
Zaphod
You pay for your time and hand over a license/id card only then are the controllers handed out.

Yep, it's not a new concept - the Vic used to have a Wii upstairs in the club bit, which worked this way, and there was never any problems AFAIK.
They would probably wipe down the controllers every night, oops there I go about hygiene again :/
at first i was like 'lol who cares about communal controllers' (much like infi's mum) but then thinking back to the bunker. those keyboards and mice were pretty repulsive
no chicks = loose. hot birds go to cool places where theres blokes, not nerds.

exactly. ill stay at home or mates house first.

Well what's the difference between staying at home drinking and going out in the first place??

umm...f***, if you have to ask that then maybe your too young to go out an know what muff is.
Zaphod
umm...f***, if you have to ask that then maybe your too young to go out an know what muff is.

I'm not the one asking that, I know there's a big difference. Same as there's a difference between playing Wii at home and out in a bar.
i'd rather just go out and not play games at all
Didn't the Vic have a Wii setup...? Before it burnt down of course.
The Vic's Wii burnt down!! Holy crap when was this?
TMWNN
f*** not the escalator handles, how has the human species managed to advance this far with these deathtraps in our midst!!
Doubt this would work very well.
Needs some arcade style machines I reckon
It's a licensed place so they should have security anyone f***s with the equipment they get thrown out. Plus you'd assume it should be 18+ only so that might help a bit too.