-=CluBCaT=-
I know a lot of you work in IT so thought I Would throw something up here just incase anyone knows of anything going. Experienced Sysadmin in a finacial institution (running about 130 servers at headoffice and same at DR).
Bachelor of IT (computer software development) and Dip of IT. Training in IBM Lotus Domino, MS SQL 2000, Citrix, Checkpoint Firewall Security (provided by DiData) Run a variety of systems but a lot of virtualisation (Using VMWare ESX clusters with EMC SAN backend), Veritas Netbackup (and VCB for virtual machines), Windows 2000-2008, AD 200-2008 etc etc Not looking for stupid money or anything probably around the 50-60k mark and I would be happy. Just looking to make the move to Brisbane :) Let me know if you know of anything .. cheers. |
| #0 09:48am 16/02/09 |
PRO--GEM
Not looking for stupid money!! Man I've only got a cert IV and a Diploma of IT in network engineering, doing desktop support and basic sysadmin work, and I'm on 50K. With your quals and xp I'm sure you could get paid quite a bit more.
| #1 11:09am 16/02/09 |
-=CluBCaT=-
I'm willing to take money around that region for a job. Managing a user environment of over 1000 machines at the moment over WAN throughout all our branch network etc pretty much australia wide.
| #2 11:17am 16/02/09 |
Gesthemene
I think it's more a matter of needing a job rather than looking to maximise his salary at this stage. Now is *really* not a good time to be looking for work and I feel really sorry for all those poor bastards out of work, through no fault of their own.
Of course, if you're out of work and it IS your own fault, then suck it up :P |
| #3 11:28am 16/02/09 |
Carson
http://whirlpool.net.au/jobs/ is a good place to keep your eye on. |
| #4 11:30am 16/02/09 |
-=CluBCaT=-
Yeah been checking out career one, seek and whingepool :)
I'm currently employed an the company I work for just posted a 16% growth on the same time last year so my job here is secure if I want to stay. last edited by -=CluBCaT=- at 11:36:08 16/Feb/09 |
| #5 11:36am 16/02/09 |
Out of curiosity where are you based now?
| #6 11:53am 16/02/09 |
-=CluBCaT=-
Toowoomba at the moment. It is just a life style change I am looking for hence why the money doesn't mean that much.
| #7 12:15pm 16/02/09 |
Now is *really* not a good time to be looking for work and I feel really sorry for all those poor bastards out of work, through no fault of their own. Give me a week and I wont have a job.......AWESOMENESS! |
| #8 12:47pm 16/02/09 |
Its gonna be hard finding work at the moment, my suggestion to you is if you have a stable job getting payed ok, then stay where you are for the time being.
I.T is REALY tight in brisbane at the moment, and even if you get a job, you might not have it in 6 months. I was made redundant just over a month ago, I found a job in 3 days, but I think i was just lucky. Heaps of people have been made redundant at the place I used to work. You dont work for suncorp do you? |
| #9 01:08pm 16/02/09 |
-=CluBCaT=-
Lol no not for suncorp. They already removed most their project management etc I believe.
| #10 02:31pm 16/02/09 |
Yep lots of people have been cut at suncorp.
| #11 02:42pm 16/02/09 |
Bats***
It's a good time to be a student. |
| #12 02:56pm 16/02/09 |
it's never a good time to be a student, studying is s***
| #13 02:58pm 16/02/09 |
-=CluBCaT=-
agreed I don't think I Could be a student again.
| #14 03:29pm 16/02/09 |
smashingpumpkin
it's never a good time to be a student, studying is s*** sif. two months of study, ten months of holidays. add to that $400 a fortnight for doing nothing and you get the cruiseiest lifestyle ever. |
| #15 03:42pm 16/02/09 |
$400 a fortnite wouldnt cover my first weekend
i need cash to have a good time |
| #16 03:48pm 16/02/09 |
Pretty much. Being a student sucks hard. Glad I only got 12 months left.
| #17 03:52pm 16/02/09 |
smashingpumpkin
i need cash to have a good time get a job? 150x2 + 400 = 700, enough fun for anyone, unless you need prosties. |
| #18 03:54pm 16/02/09 |
darksidepoints
That whirlpool link is a good one, I never thought of looking there. I've been in the job market for a couple of months now and can't believe how little luck I'm having. Thinking of doing a CompTIA A+ course to get a piece of paper to prove I can do stuff I already know how to do and going to look for technician work. Fixing things is fun. I think when you have a IT diploma and 5 year of retail exp and you keep getting rejected from Dick Smith and Harvey Norman it's very sad indeed :( Perhaps they don't believe me when I say I would rather work retail than doing an IT job behind a desk and think I'll leave as soon as a programming job comes along. Shame I was telling the truth about that. |
| #19 04:14pm 16/02/09 |
150x2 + 400 = 700Tell me how this maths works, good sir. |
| #20 04:17pm 16/02/09 |
funky
150 bucks a week at a casual job, 200 a week on the kevin rudd surf team, equals a total of 700 a fortnight
| #21 04:39pm 16/02/09 |
Bats***
I think its $150/w rent help bulls***. It is plenty of money to live on and some left over to have some fun.
| #22 05:16pm 16/02/09 |
typical student logic.
| #23 05:55pm 16/02/09 |
Yep lots of people have been cut at suncorp.More cuts coming this Friday I believe. A lot of experiencing guys getting let loose onto the market atm... |
| #24 07:00pm 16/02/09 |
sif. two months of study, ten months of holidays. add to that $400 a fortnight for doing nothing and you get the cruiseiest lifestyle ever. yeah $200 a week you're f***in living it up mate |
| #25 07:04pm 16/02/09 |
goon + lemonade ftw i hear on $200 a week
| #26 07:07pm 16/02/09 |
If you live at home and have no expenses $200 a week ain't that bad. It's more play money than I have every week :(
| #27 07:12pm 16/02/09 |
who the f*** lives at home with no expenses....
what about: board, phone bills, petrol, car insurance, rego... |
| #28 07:15pm 16/02/09 |
$200 a week wouldn't even buy a quarter of a study desk, pathetic
| #29 07:19pm 16/02/09 |
thats y heaps of uni students are dealers :P
| #30 07:22pm 16/02/09 |
darksidepoints
who the f*** lives at home with no expenses.... Me, I have a pre-pay phone to pay for, and petrol and that's it. I often think about killing myself though. I get $200 a week from Newstart and it's f*** all, I would not want to live on that for three years while studying. I was fine living on that when I lived on a mountain in the middle of no-where and had nothing to spend it on but beer, but here in the city where there are places to go and things to buy it sucks. |
| #31 07:24pm 16/02/09 |
$200 a week = petrol and a half
u could barely survive i spose..... |
| #32 07:24pm 16/02/09 |
Back in my late teens I was only earning about $180/wk yet I lived like a f***ing KING! Share houses, parties, booze, city .. living the dream.
| #33 07:34pm 16/02/09 |
smashingpumpkin
150 bucks a week at a casual job, 200 a week on the kevin rudd surf team, equals a total of 700 a fortnight that's it. come on, if you can't live at home on 350 dorrah a week you must be some kind of cristal sipping royal. sure, i wouldn't turn down an iPhone or something better than an old camry, but i don't really feel the need to go any better atm as the chillin lifestyle just can't be beat. |
| #34 07:41pm 16/02/09 |
smashingpumpkin
$200 a week = petrol and a half u could barely survive i spose..... how do ya clock so many k's in a week? even if i go down the coast three times in a week, i wouldn't use more than $100... |
| #35 07:50pm 16/02/09 |
Infidel
I think I'm going to be in the same boat as clubcat, want to leave Europe and go back to Australia. Sydney preferably. Seek definitely doesnt look as populated as it used to couple of years back.
| #36 08:07pm 16/02/09 |
heritage building society??
| #37 08:15pm 16/02/09 |
Bats***
typical student logic.Nothing wrong with being happy with what you have. Mr-I-am-a-rich-f***. |
| #38 08:19pm 16/02/09 |
aussiemuzzz
This one is simple...why would you want to leave CBA? Great working conditions and I love my job...most days!
| #39 08:56pm 16/02/09 |
Nothing wrong with being happy with what you have. Mr-I-am-a-rich-f***. there's nothing wrong with either way; some people chose to live a comfortable life with the house and 2.3 kids, some people want money / fame / power whatever |
| #40 09:04pm 16/02/09 |
Not looking for stupid money or anything probably around the 50-60k mark and I would be happy. dude.. I have no quals what so ever and I am on twice that... the only advice I can give is: live and breath what you do. Allow others to make you look like a God behind the keyboard. Never, ever take on an apprentice... in this industry people either make it happen all by themselves or they don't. I just wasted 10 years of my life trying to change that - I failed. while there is no 'I' in team.. however, "I" am the guy on staff who is being paid properly because I put the effort in. I hope this helps last edited by koopz at 21:15:22 16/Feb/09 |
| #41 09:15pm 16/02/09 |
-=CluBCaT=-
Spidz: Yeah currently at HBS.
Koopz: I love what I do and am pretty decent at it I think, always at work early and nearly always late to leave they had to force me to take 5 weeks off last year so I was under the 25 days annual leave policy. Just looking for work... got a few job apps in for a few gov jobs but not sure about if I want to contract or not till I find something more perm. |
| #42 10:59pm 16/02/09 |
not sure if its mentioned in the previous posts. but wouldnt you be best to leave out the 'looking for a job to get me into brisbane'
kinda sounds like it will be purely a stepping stone and the long term value of employing you would be unprofitable. this may be all true but IMO it isnt something an employer would want to hear. |
| #43 11:11pm 16/02/09 |
-=CluBCaT=-
Nah not like that at all. My references are more than happy to testify to that (my current bosses etc).
Was employed here on not much money as a Sysadmin and stuck around, if I enjoy what I'm doing I don't care about the money as long as I can live on it. I'm sure it's the same for a number of people in IT, they just enjoy what they do. |
| #44 11:32pm 16/02/09 |
heh, heritage:
ive seen your data, we print your statements :) |
| #45 08:39am 17/02/09 |
-=CluBCaT=-
:O .. insider trading!
| #46 09:48am 17/02/09 |
I think when you have a IT diploma and 5 year of retail exp and you keep getting rejected from Dick Smith and Harvey Norman it's very sad indeed :( Perhaps they don't believe me when I say I would rather work retail than doing an IT job behind a desk and think I'll leave as soon as a programming job comes along. Shame I was telling the truth about that. Dude, maybe you suck at interviews? Or you're not saying what they want you to say? Try the bigger computer stores perhaps? Umart, MSY, Computer Alliance? Officeworks (I worked there for 4 years). last edited by mongie at 10:23:03 17/Feb/09 |
| #47 10:23am 17/02/09 |
-=CluBCaT=-
Yeah I worked TheDiscShop for a few years as a tech in Toowoomba.
| #48 10:28am 17/02/09 |
darksidepoints
I used to be awesome at interviews, I got every job I ever went for until now, so who knows. Maybe I've lost it? Or maybe it's just more competitive. Those are good suggestiong, but all in QLD ;) However Office Works is a good idea, I hadn't even thought of them. Thanks. |
| #49 11:25am 17/02/09 |
Perhaps they don't believe me when I say I would rather work retail than doing an IT job behind a desk and think I'll leave as soon as a programming job comes along. Shame I was telling the truth about that. They absolutely do not believe you. Turnover is one of the biggest annoyances in managing retail stores. Recruitment is as much about risk assessment of the candidate's likelihhod to stick around as it is about getting the best person. They'd rather get someone who will work hard but can't do 'better' than go for a very qualified person who might be just finding a haven during the economic wonkiness. |
| #50 11:38am 17/02/09 |
Nothing wrong with being happy with what you have. Can you make yourself sound any more angsty? Enjoy your $200 a week. |
| #51 12:52pm 17/02/09 |
They'd rather get someone who will work hard but can't do 'better' than go for a very qualified person who might be just finding a haven during the economic wonkiness. this depends on the employee.. years ago when I first joined this forum the average IT company was lucky find good help.. (ie - the average Qgl member). I don't think this has changed that much. Quals didn't change this at the retail level, and from what my brothers tell me at the Fed Govt level, it's the same. good help is hard to find. every business wants employees who are smart enough to go and make their own enterprise a reality. that will never change regardless of industry I believe. last edited by koopz at 01:03:39 18/Feb/09 |
| #52 01:03am 18/02/09 |
Some Fat Bastard
Ticman, when I first started in IT as a Cadet Programmer in 1979 I was earning $5900 a year or $92 a week in the hand. Programmmers were on 14K to 16K and System Analysts earnt a whopping 18K and Management were on like 26K. Huge amounts of money back then.
The 80's changed all that real quick. By the end of the 80's I was earning over a 100k and yet it didn't seem to go as far as 26k did back in 1979. |
| #53 01:41am 18/02/09 |
Bats***
Doesn't that mean you are a wasteful f***?
| #54 02:20am 18/02/09 |
Some Fat Bastard
No, it means I had a mortgage, married and the start of a family.
| #55 08:43am 18/02/09 |
not everyone can get by on $200 a week bats***
| #56 08:55am 18/02/09 |
That'll change real quick when you're all grown up. I was able to get by with the same amount in my late teen and early 20's but all that changed when I have a real job and real expenses. |
| #57 09:03am 18/02/09 |
| #57 |