I haven't been paying a lot of attention to this because you can't go a year or so without a big fire that knocks down a couple houses or whatever in one of the lesser states. I read on the Internets earlier today though that 65 people had been killed and was blown away; totally didn't appreciate how insane it was. Just watching the news now and the toll is in the 80s (possibly to go above 100) with 700 homes wiped out. The footage is pretty amazing as well, just whole suburbs looking just smashed by the fire. Just found out a friend of mine's mother has lost her house and was lucky to get out with some of her pets. Crazy. The feds are kicking together $10 million as an emergency fund for fire relief (seems a little trivial compared to $100 million to stop naked people on the Internet, but whatever). Fire seems like something we figured out ages ago but this sort of craziness just makes you realise how insane it can get. Also, apparently some of the fires were lit by arsonists. Holy f*** I hope some people catch those a******s lighting fires. |
| #0 11:16pm 08/02/09 |
It's 84 people dead now..
Bigger death toll than ash wednesday.. 31yr old in sydney was arrested. There are fires in sydney aswell, just no where the scale of those in melb Trog, explain comment about how we figured out fire ages ago.. last edited by Damo at 23:19:15 08/Feb/09 last edited by Damo at 23:20:36 08/Feb/09 |
| #1 11:20pm 08/02/09 |
Surely the arsonists, if caught, could be charged with manslaughter?
| #2 11:17pm 08/02/09 |
NanaPeel21
One of the lesser states eh? |
| #3 11:18pm 08/02/09 |
that's right, lesser states
now this is a cause I would happily give $950 of my tax money to |
| #4 11:20pm 08/02/09 |
they've already said those caught & convicted will be charged with at least manslaughter, if not murder
if i caught someone lighting them, I'd just chuck the guy in his own fire and say 'diaf' thats about all they deserve, prison would be way too cushy for these guys apparently they're just finding car after car full of bodies watching way earlier this morning they were saying the death toll was at like 24 and they expected it to go "as high as 40" so hearing they're now expecting at least 100 dead is pretty insane +1 Jim - how much was the stimulus part again? like $12bn or something first thing I thought when they said '$10m relief fund' was why are they putting a cap on how much relief they can give? |
| #5 11:28pm 08/02/09 |
treeoflife
There are sure to be more charities joining in soon but if you have a particular preference, the Red Cross and Salvation Army are open to donations.
Australian Red Cross The Salvation Army last edited by treeoflife at 23:33:23 08/Feb/09 |
| #6 11:33pm 08/02/09 |
how do so many people die in a bushfire in this day
surely we have some kind of evacuation procedures in fire prone areas by now |
| #7 11:45pm 08/02/09 |
Yeah, they had pretty regular news updates on tv about it here throughout the night, and I remember watching and hearing them say that there was 14 people dead and they were predicting it could be up to 40 people dead, with 100 homes lost, and I was pretty shocked then. But 100 people dead and 700 homes wiped out is just insanity.
A friend of my mother lost her house and all her dogs (she is a show dog breeder and had about 20 dogs). They were evacuating and had packed as much stuff as they could in the car and had all the dogs loaded into a trailer behind the car. The house was already catching on fire and they were about to get in the car to leave when a fireball jumped over to the car and set the car and trailer on fire, so they bailed out and just ran for it. The dogs weren't so lucky :( |
| #8 11:50pm 08/02/09 |
surely we have some kind of evacuation procedures in fire prone areas by now It spread EXTREMELY fast yesterday, because not only did we have fire, we had gale forced winds blowing. A lot of places ended up surrounded by fire and people were cut off and couldn't evacuate. It was just out of control, the fire brigade were even losing their trucks to it, they'd already lost 3 trucks last night, maybe more since. last edited by Khel at 23:53:01 08/Feb/09 |
| #9 11:53pm 08/02/09 |
holy f***ing Christ, I've been through natural disasters, too many cyclones to count but I've never ever seen so much destruction and death. I just can't believe its real.
| #10 11:52pm 08/02/09 |
treeoflife
To think that 55 died in the 7/7 London bombings, this bushfire death toll is pretty insane.
| #11 11:55pm 08/02/09 |
trillion
If you've ever been out bush doing back burning on some scrub, you'll have a fraction of an idea about just how quick loud that front would have gone through that place. One guy said it was raining down on him fire with charballs searing through his shirt. He was one of the lucky ones.
| #12 12:20am 09/02/09 |
Yeah we've just donated for the VIC bush fires and NQ Flood. And when we get the cash from uncle Krudd, we'll give that to them too. f***ing sucks having this sort of stuff happen to you, worst if they were deliberately lit.... f***ing fire bugs scums.
| #13 12:21am 09/02/09 |
poiuty
Treeoflife - thanks for the red cross link, can we get a banner happening?
| #14 12:33am 09/02/09 |
Quarry Road, where one of the fires was, is less than 4km from here. Just a few hundred km down the road from that is where the old 20 mile marker used to be for the Melbourne CBD. There's then been fires in Wandong, Kinglake (which I'm sure you've heard about by now as the town is basically gone), Harkaway, Narre Warren, Beaconsfield, Chum Creek - all of which form a nice kind of border around the east of Melbourne. 10km away you're just getting bigass burnt pieces of debris falling.
Next door work at the local council, but they've been pulled to do work on fire-related sutff. They've said what they're reporting on the news doesn't relect how it actually is, and they've been asking them not to report unconfirmed deaths - but the initial sweeps it's bascially a body in every second car they're finding on the side of the roads. A toll of 180 wouldn't be unheard of once they go back and do the offical counts. |
| #15 05:47am 09/02/09 |
people lighting these fires deserve murder charges
| #16 06:01am 09/02/09 |
| #17 06:36am 09/02/09 |
Carson
The fires got pretty close to my house. In about 10mins the tempreture went up heaps and there was a heap of ash and s*** in the air. We ere very lucky though as the wind changed direction and the fires didn't come any closer to our house. There are some lucky people near me. One of my friends had to evacuate on friday and were told they'd most likely lose their house on saturday. Luckly for them they managed to protect their property. There's also a house near me, all the land around it is burnt but the house is left intact. |
| #18 07:43am 09/02/09 |
Of course, news are continuing with their brilliantly professional level of journalism:
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25025989-2862,00.html Some kilometres before reaching Healesville, the fire went nuts, razing every house in its path. |
| #19 08:32am 09/02/09 |
it's not really any wonder some of these people died
i was watching the news after the cricket last night, one of the reports one of these people said thta her mum wasn't leaving and that she was going to get in her spa with a towel over her.... and in the same report they said some people broke into the local pub to hide in the cool room apart from the obvious jokes about drinking in the cold room, did these people seriously expect to survive if the pub caught on fire because they were in the cold room? it's pretty f***ed up, i feel sorry for people etc but that one bit had me really thinking what the f***... |
| #20 08:37am 09/02/09 |
i guess that area is a property hotspot.
| #21 08:43am 09/02/09 |
| #22 08:49am 09/02/09 |
Yeah, it's 30 min up the road from my house. Two mates I play soccer with live in King Lake but haven't been able to get onto them. One of them his family owns the local pub so I hope they are alright. The town is completely gone, razed to the ground. I find it interesting that noone seemed to have any warning. I mean, surely these days the telcos could just SMS a warning to everyone with a King Lake address or something like that. |
| #23 08:54am 09/02/09 |
better than that I know for a fact they can broadcast sms to every cell within range of specific towers
| #24 09:08am 09/02/09 |
This sure is a major tragedy. And like Trog said I wasn't giving it too much attention until yesterday morning and then moreso on the news last night. Some of those fires are crazy.
Whole families were cooked in their cars :( I'm sure there were some silly people who made wrong decisions about getting out there, who thought they could fight it off with their garden hose etc. Others just simply couldn't escape. Those fires were been fanned by gale force winds that were constantly changing direction, very unpredictable. These few days will make the history books. |
| #25 09:16am 09/02/09 |
I'm sure there were some silly people who made wrong decisions about getting out there, who thought they could fight it off with their garden hose etc. I used to live in Research in VIC and go to the CFA meetings and they tell you to decide to stay or leave. Well, looking at King Lake now, I dunno why they would even suggest staying. If you stayed in KL, you'd be well and truly f***ed. And what is with the dumb f***s who get asked, "So, what do you do know? Lodge an insurance claim and just wait?" only to say, "We didn't have insurance." Who doesn't have insurance? I would rather not eat lunch for a week to pay for house insurance - it's number one priority if you own a house. |
| #26 09:21am 09/02/09 |
Who doesn't have insurance? I would rather not eat lunch for a week to pay for house insurance - it's number one priority if you own a house. Agreed. I think our home and contents is ~$700 year, as if you wouldn't have it. Even if it was several thousand I'd still have it. People who don't have it have basically lost everything, other than bank accounts and other assets that weren't destroyed (maybe they own property elsewhere). But I suspect if you don't have insurance you probably don't have other assets. Tough gig. But all that pails in comparison to the loss of life. |
| #27 09:29am 09/02/09 |
Who doesn't have insurance? I would rather not eat lunch for a week to pay for house insurance - it's number one priority if you own a house. Try telling that to the family who earns $36k/year or some figure that puts the others just above the figure that would allow them to get anything from centrelink. |
| #28 09:31am 09/02/09 |
Why have insurance ?
If you lose everything in a natural disaster the government gives you a handout. If its isolated you get on the radio and cry. bam appeal gets you everything. |
| #29 09:32am 09/02/09 |
Try telling that to the family who earns $36k/year or some figure that puts the others just above the figure that would allow them to get anything from centrelink. Is it just me or does this make no sense? |
| #30 09:34am 09/02/09 |
Reason: Distasteful |
#31 09:39am 09/02/09
it'd be nice to think for once the qglians could go without the stupid and unnecessary puns just once, this is pretty tragic and they haven't even finished counting the dead yet
Who doesn't have insurance? I would rather not eat lunch for a week to pay for house insurance - it's number one priority if you own a house. try telling the family who earns 36k/year that they now owe their mortgage payments for a house that no longer exists when I was younger my mum worked two jobs in the months leading up to christmas just so she could buy our christmas presents you can't tell me you cant find $3 per day to protect the most vital asset most people will ever attain you dont drive around in even a $500 s***box without at least 3rd party because if you write someone elses car off you're still screwed, your car might be worth nothing but if you owe someone $100k for their audi etc .. |
| #32 09:56am 09/02/09 |
Obviously the news is covering this pretty and on Sunrise this morning they had a guy who was looking for his wife and 3 kids and couldn't get in contact with them. Was absolutely devastating to watch the pain and sadness in his face.
Along with the gail force winds, temps were stupidly high which can cause fires to start if a piece of glass is lying on some dry leaves or someone flicks a cigarette butt out the window. Over the past few weeks wifey and I have been thinking we're struggling as we kick back in our house in Hawthorn or eating out down at the local Laurent - s*** like this really makes you re-asses your situation. Kevvys handouts will be going to the Red Cross and some of our cash reserve is going too - if you have $5 to spare, drop it off if you can. |
| #33 10:03am 09/02/09 |
So do they know it's arson that's the cause or are they just speculating? I assume it would be hard to catch the person unless someone saw them do it.
| #34 10:18am 09/02/09 |
so qgl tolerates puns when a 4 year old girl gets thrown off a bridge, but not when a town burns down.
| #35 10:19am 09/02/09 |
so qgl tolerates puns when a 4 year old girl gets thrown off a bridge, but not when a town burns down. subjective moderation is part and parcel of the Internet experience I don't really like the puns at all; but if people want to disgrace themselves by making light of incredible tragedy, that's their business - at some point though you're going to offend someone and they'll take it seriously |
| #36 10:26am 09/02/09 |
Why have insurance ? lol @ your f***ing no-idea-of-how-things-work So far the gov't handout is $1000 per adult, $400 per child. Good luck buying a house with that. |
| #37 10:28am 09/02/09 |
I can't say I was a huge fan of the 4 year old girl puns either, my mrs was pretty f***ing shocked to say the least too
| #38 10:28am 09/02/09 |
So do they know it's arson that's the cause or are they just speculating? I assume it would be hard to catch the person unless someone saw them do it. They are quite certain the Churchill fire was arson and have put up a $100k reward. Although, this is on the back of news last month that the VIC police have not paid any of the $3mil or something rewards owed...so not sure what kind of incentive that will be. But yeah, Chief Commissioner Christine Nixon has said that Churchill fire is arson - she wouldn't say that on air unless they were pretty darn sure. |
| #39 10:30am 09/02/09 |
http://www.smh.com.au/news/national/daring-tractor-dash/2009/02/08/1234027855655.html
Hard listening.. last edited by Damo at 10:53:33 09/Feb/09 |
| #40 10:53am 09/02/09 |
lol @ your f***ing no-idea-of-how-things-work lol @ not being able to detect sarcasm on the internets Well semi sarcasm, I honestly think it is how some tards think. |
| #41 11:00am 09/02/09 |
I got onto mate that has pub in King Lake, he is alright and his house and pub standing. Other mate absolutely f***ed. He's alive but lost uncle, little sister, little brother, house and his grandparents critical in hospital. f***ing terrible. |
| #42 11:05am 09/02/09 |
That's awful Pinky :( I can't even begin to imagine how hard it must be for all those families. My brother's in victoria, glad he's safe but I'm sure there'll be people he knows who have been affected by the fires
| #43 11:09am 09/02/09 |
One of the guys I from the cycling club decided he'd still do his regular ride up the Kinglake on Friday night. Excuse the lack of line breaks - I'm surprised he even tapped out a story at all:
At the end of last week Manny and I decided that she would drive up |
| #44 11:12am 09/02/09 |
We can blame the arsonists for starting the fire - but who do you blame for letting the fire go on? If they designed the area in such a way that fire can move between properties - then I think they should be looking at themselves.
| #45 11:12am 09/02/09 |
You understand that grass burns, and embers get carried by wind, right thermite?
| #46 11:14am 09/02/09 |
retarded post of the thread so far goes to thermite
| #47 11:19am 09/02/09 |
blame mother nature thermite, you idiot
| #48 11:23am 09/02/09 |
I think it's a little early to be giving awards for that. We're not even at two whole pages, there's sure to be plenty more retardedness to come.
| #49 11:24am 09/02/09 |
Bit harsh, I don't think Thermite gets just how windy it was, and probably has never seen a bushfire up close. I haven't seen one in Brisbane since about 84/85 and they were never as dangerous as the Victorian or South Australian ones are.
Thermite, It's not like a bbq where the flames mostly go up and not much except smoke rises. There is a lot of embers, sparks, burning branches/weeds that look like tumbleweed crossed with a molotov.... Burning matter and sparks go flying long distances when the wind is push 60-80km/h. ie. These fires can move faster then a car. And can jump hundreds and hundreds or meters. The only safety measure accusation I think could possibly be bandied around is the complete lack of fireproof shelters in these areas. Underground bunkers like storm shelters where people can avoid the fire. They have fires so frequently you'd think they exist ? ... or are they somehow unfeasible ? It's also worth mentioning that the weather khel loves so much is the reason these fires happen. (cue typo reply about how wonderful khel is) |
| #50 11:32am 09/02/09 |
from some of the shots i saw it was basically like a flame thrower moving across the ground, the flames were practically horizontal.
| #51 11:35am 09/02/09 |
Once these fires get started, there's no stopping them. It awful to see, but that being the case, there's only one thing worse - censorship.
| #52 11:54am 09/02/09 |
On Friday i remember hearing on the radio that they knew it was going to be a bad weekend and thus were preparing. It's just amazing how little there is that can be done even when you know it's coming.
| #53 12:06pm 09/02/09 |
they should have designed the bush better apparenly
| #54 12:16pm 09/02/09 |
The only safety measure accusation I think could possibly be bandied around is the complete lack of fireproof shelters in these areas. Underground bunkers like storm shelters where people can avoid the fire. They have fires so frequently you'd think they exist ? ... or are they somehow unfeasible ? I agree with this. If I lived in the bush like that I would be worried about bush fires. Whether or not a bunker is feasible I don't know, but 100+ people are now dead so I think you could argue they would be, no matter the cost. But with a sparse population etc, where do you put them? I think I'd have something on my property though where you can take shelter. |
| #55 12:23pm 09/02/09 |
But with a sparse population etc, where do you put them? Homeowners responsibility ? Plus at any public buildings (council chambers/schools/hospitals/post offices) ? |
| #56 12:27pm 09/02/09 |
It's just amazing how little there is that can be done even when you know it's coming. It's amazing how horrific those conditions were out there. Ember attacks were happening dozens of kilometers away from the fire lines. In one case there was a burning branch that was caught in a vortex of fire that flew about 5km down the road. Basically, the fires could change direction on the spot, and fire embers could start new fires anywhere. You simply can't defend against that. It's also worth mentioning that the weather khel loves so much is the reason these fires happen. That's our Obes for you. Even when there's a tragedy happening, he can always stick the boot in, even if it is a tasteless and ignorant example of how sad and bitter he is. Queue some lines from Obes that are older than time ... yes, yes glow-bowling; very funny. |
| #57 12:29pm 09/02/09 |
The only safety measure accusation I think could possibly be bandied around is the complete lack of fireproof shelters in these areas. Underground bunkers like storm shelters where people can avoid the fire. They have fires so frequently you'd think they exist ? ... or are they somehow unfeasible ? Some friends of my friend lived in Humevale on top of a very steep hill, dirt road - no way to escape the fire. They built a fire-proof bunker. Yesterday the family of three was found dead in their house. The door to the fire-proof bunker was open, but they didn't go in it for some reason. I think the reality is that it's very difficult to understand what actually happens in these situations. |
| #58 12:44pm 09/02/09 |
arsonists causing death should be strung out in the sun until they die
| #59 12:49pm 09/02/09 |
Would an underground bunker have to have its own air supply? I would have thought a big fire above would just suck out all the oxygen.. I seem to recall reading something about lots of people dying near fires actually dying from asphyxiation actually googling says its the most common cause of death! |
| #60 12:52pm 09/02/09 |
Some decent pics can be found here:
http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/photogallery/2009/02/08/1234027830488.html The bunker would need it's own air supply, also a PC with broadband access to keep you entertained. I guess some pressurised cylinders would do, just need to wear a mask and hope the cylinders don't explode. |
| #61 12:56pm 09/02/09 |
I'm not saying they could control the bushfires better. But the areas where people died and houses burned down were area designed for human beings to live in. These areas should be made difficult to set on fire. Is that unreasonable?
| #62 12:58pm 09/02/09 |
They may have been difficult but those was/is no ordinary fire.
This has been labelled as the worst fire in modern history (in Australia) so it is beyond anything that could have been prepared for and expected. |
| #63 01:02pm 09/02/09 |
But typo you have to admit khel's weather is a significant cause ?
| #64 01:02pm 09/02/09 |
Would an underground bunker have to have its own air supply? Not sure. I believe the fire goes through very quickly. From the CFA meetings I went to they said that in normal conditions a fire will travel 20km/hr - but I guess if the conditions are right they can move a lot faster than that. They also told us not get into water tanks or swimming pools, because the water can boil from the fire front - but I have heard on the news of a lot of people climbing into their water tanks and they survived. Looking at the photos on our local newspaper, the Diamond Valley Leader, it's pretty amazing. This one in particular. You can see it razed the house and general area, but behind it there's some nice green grass where you could probably have just stood and watched. http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/4541/1fb6cc10579be85bfd28beaor0.jpg |
| #65 01:03pm 09/02/09 |
They also told us not get into water tanks or swimming pools, because the water can boil from the fire front Could you imagine boiling to death? :( Especially from water starting off cold and then getting hotter and hotter and hotter.... Dieing from Fire/Heat would have to one of the worst ways to go. |
| #66 01:09pm 09/02/09 |
Being incinerated alive in a car would have to be one of the worst ways to die.
Terrible. |
| #67 01:11pm 09/02/09 |
I seem to recall reading something about lots of people dying near fires actually dying from asphyxiation I can kinda guarantee that if you're trapped in a fire, you'll want to go via asphyxiation rather than the other potential options. As for water tanks, it depends on the size of the water tank and what's around to fuel a fire. The tank we have out the back is 1,000 liters, that thing would boil pretty quickly, but if you had a 10,000l tank you might be okay for a while. Also, boiling water is like the whole frog thing - if the water boils slowly while you're in it, you're less likely to notice until it's too late. Jump in an already boiling tank of water and you'll notice it (well, and die) pretty quickly. |
| #68 01:11pm 09/02/09 |
they say if the water gets hot enough over a long enough period of time you don't even notice, but i still can't imagine it being much fun
personally if it was getting to that stage i'd try my best to destroy the tank and send water spilling in every direction to disperse the flames as best as possible actually I wouldn't get in a water tank anyway, maybe a dam or a lake - but not a small confined space which is essentially going to turn into a kettle when applied to heat |
| #69 01:15pm 09/02/09 |
Hellerphant
I'm down in Traralgon and they were terrible on Sat/Sun. Two of my mates lost their homes in Traralgon South and Calignee, and a guy I've known since High School was killed, trapped in a shed. They couldn't make it back to the house, which had a FIRE CELLAR. It's crazy as, at 4pm Sat arvo the high beams were on my car and couldn't see three feet infront of me. Drove 3km out of town and could see the huge flames no dramas, heading right for the power station, Loy Yang. It's sad times down here that's for sure |
| #70 01:25pm 09/02/09 |
I believe the fire goes through very quickly In the army as part of the fire fighting training we actually got told that if you got stuck in front of a grass fire run as fast as you can straight through it with out breathing *shrug* |
| #71 01:28pm 09/02/09 |
In the army as part of the fire fighting training we actually got told that if you got stuck in front of a grass fire run as fast as you can straight through it with out breathing *shrug* Maybe that was a special instruction, just for you Obes... :-P Or just for the grunts. To fuel the fire while the officers escape, hehe. |
| #72 01:51pm 09/02/09 |
there was a family on sunrise this morning that hid in their cellar/bunker during the fire and survived;
they said the roof was glowing red hot |
| #73 01:58pm 09/02/09 |
I hope the Big Picture do a photo thing on this |
| #74 01:59pm 09/02/09 |
^ asin boston.com photos?
| #75 02:02pm 09/02/09 |
Red
I've been doing a lot of reading about fires the last couple of days, and firestorms are f***ing frightening. The size and intensity of the fire creates and sustains it's own wind system, forcing itself along at up to 100km/h (or more!), regardless of the surrounding weather conditions. The ash clouds from firestorms can even create lightning, which can subsequently start more fires.
The Wikipedia article on Firestorms is quite interesting. |
| #76 02:27pm 09/02/09 |
The ash clouds from firestorms can even create lightning, which can subsequently start more fires. Which was exactly what was happening out our way. That's how the Chum Creek fire started, from memory. |
| #77 02:34pm 09/02/09 |
Does anyone have Fuzzy's details? I vaguely remember him moving down to country Victoria a few years back.
| #78 02:34pm 09/02/09 |
he's all good, got a bit of a smokeout but luckily it shifted away from the new place he's building
| #79 02:41pm 09/02/09 |
Just heard back from my sister in law and her husband and they're ok. Got a bit worried cause she didn't reply for ages....
| #80 02:48pm 09/02/09 |
burninated
| #81 02:50pm 09/02/09 |
more pics
http://www.news.com.au/gallery/0,23607,5037339-5006020-2,00.html last edited by tequila at 16:25:09 09/Feb/09 |
| #82 04:25pm 09/02/09 |
| #83 03:52pm 09/02/09 |
Also in der Spiegel: Speigel Online artikel |
| #84 05:13pm 09/02/09 |
Strik3r
| #85 05:18pm 09/02/09 |
something just doesn't seem right about organising a car cruise for a bushfire appeal
why not just donate the $cash and the $petrol you would have wasted driving around unless of course they're going to collect toys/food/clothes and you're transporting them to the needy |
| #86 05:28pm 09/02/09 |
Same reason you have Car Wash Fundraisers or sausage sizzles...
Why not directly donate that money instead of wasting time/energy/water? |
| #87 05:57pm 09/02/09 |
cause it doesn't cost more to put the event on than it would raise, i guess that would be my first point ..
| #88 06:16pm 09/02/09 |
Yeah, because saying "Hey everyone meet here" on a forum is f***ING expensive...
| #89 06:23pm 09/02/09 |
what was the last cruise you went on?
every one I've ever done (mind you, these are 99% modified turbo vehicles - as was mine), I've had to fill up my tank before leaving I'd waste $50 in one day just on fuel alone i'm all for whatever gets more donations, even if its a cruise - just doesn't seem terribly SMRT |
| #90 06:27pm 09/02/09 |
épic™
tequila has spoken
| #91 06:37pm 09/02/09 |
hold out your cup and get your fill
| #92 07:41pm 09/02/09 |
Set up donations: 5 people donate, get $40-ish.
Set up a cruise with donations on side: 30 people donate, get $100+ If you set up events people will be interested in, the profit gained from the added numbers would be larger than the profit from not hosting the event.. :) |
| #93 08:26pm 09/02/09 |
The approach to Marysville:
Before: http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/3192/img2802eo1.jpg After: http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6476669,00.jpg |
| #94 09:11pm 09/02/09 |
i'd be in for some sort of cruz
| #95 09:25pm 09/02/09 |
Toolangi and Beechworth have been upgraded to Urgent Threats, but Redesdale and Churchill have been downgraded to Alert. Kilmore, Yae and Koetong are also at Alert.
| #96 09:38pm 09/02/09 |
My mate's family is frontpage on news.com.au His brother Macky (15yo) is the second from the left in pink shirt, sister Neeve (9yo) is four from the left. Uncle (37yo) is first from the left. Poor bastard. Haven't called him, wouldn't know what to say. I called his best mate and spoke with him, told him to pass on all the boys condolences. Will organise flowers and some sort of large card signed from the senior men teams at the soccer club. What can you do for someone like that though, seriously. |
| #97 12:03am 10/02/09 |
wow, skyline drivers are the biggest tools on the planet
| #98 12:14am 10/02/09 |
I am down for a cruise
| #99 12:48am 10/02/09 |
http://www.nytimes.com/2009/02/09/world/asia/09australia.html?_r=1
bigpicture have an update on it edit; f*** me http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/a23_17907277.jpg last edited by maxe at 08:33:04 10/Feb/09 |
| #100 08:33am 10/02/09 |
We shut all the mental health hospitals and cut back on services, and now we take our mentally ill and bang them away in council flats with other nutters and send a counseller around once a week. We make all this noise about mental health services and people are always into 'spreading awareness' but no one is really willing to do the hard yards and properly invest in spending in this area. A guy throws his kid off the Westgate bridge, and what do we blame? The bridge needed giant safety barriers of course! Then this never would have happened! There's no way the man could have snapped and simply thrown the kid into the path of an oncoming semi trailer, we need to spend 250 million on safety barries because the bridge is dangerous!
For a state that makes a hell of a lot noise about youth suicide and other serious public mental health problems, we really do sweet gently caress all to address the underlying causes. Wouldn't it be nice if we had a means of detecting and reaching out to messed up people BEFORE they hurt others? If we dealt with our firebugs, peadophiles, axe murderers et all prior to them acting out? A serious increase in spending in mental health services perhaps? No. We need giant pylons on the Westgate |
| #101 08:47am 10/02/09 |
Great point Doob. Completely agree!
| #102 09:00am 10/02/09 |
Red
On melted mag wheels (info from Ash Wednesday Fires but these were much the same):
"CSIRO experts later reported that, from evidence of melted metal, the heat of the fires after the change rose to 2000°C; exceeding that recorded during the Allied bombing of Dresden in World War II. In fact, the Ash Wednesday fires were measured at around 60,000 kilowatts of heat energy per metre, leading to similarities with the atomic bomb dropped on Hiroshima." |
| #103 09:10am 10/02/09 |
whilst I agree, what has that got to do with this thread?
unless of course you're saying the people who started the fires need mental help, with that I would also agree doesn't mean we can't dream of burning them in their own fires for a little bit |
| #104 09:12am 10/02/09 |
we better lock doob up before he makes more sense
| #105 09:13am 10/02/09 |
While what doob says does make some sense, public like to see actual things being done, like baricades built etc. Then they think the Government is doing something about it.
If the government just said "We'll now spend 20 Gajillion on mental health in repsonse to the bridge tragedy" there is no tangible action and is easily perceived by the public as taking no action. This fire s*** just gets worse. |
| #106 09:20am 10/02/09 |
what they've done is bought votes, pure and simple
| #107 09:30am 10/02/09 |
That's what politician's are for, right?
| #108 09:33am 10/02/09 |
s*** i lost half of my post
in regards to arsonists and the people saying that better preventative measures should have been taken to stem the loss of life and etc |
| #109 09:35am 10/02/09 |
what they've done is bought votes, pure and simple That's why our system sucks. The left and right vote for who they vote for no matter what. So the parliment caters for a center segment of people who are either educated centerists that neither major party fits (eg. the green vote) or the great unwashed (baby bonuses). And our stupid ass media particularly in Brisbane where all we have is a pathetic tabloid is more interested in stunts and 1 liners then anything real. But I am not sure what d00b's point and hence this path in the discussion has to do with bush fires ? |
| #110 09:36am 10/02/09 |
But I am not sure what d00b's point and hence this path in the discussion has to do with bush fires ? I think; unless of course you're saying the people who started the fires need mental help, with that I would also agree amirite? |
| #111 09:40am 10/02/09 |
yes when you light a fire you shouldn't just get a slap on the wrist and then be free to go about your day, the arsonists they have caught and are also hunting are all re-offenders - how do you think they investigate arson? one of the biggest parts is going well lets see what known fire bugs we have in the area and then go have a little chat about their whereabouts at the time the fire started.
http://img.waffleimages.com/262cfa58e7a0861257f0b268239f29c492336d80/0,,6477888,00.jpg last edited by d[o_0]b at 09:50:58 10/Feb/09 |
| #112 09:50am 10/02/09 |
has anyone noticed the sheer amount of falcons burnt by this fire
i mean, look at maxe's pic, i can count 5 falcons(/fairlanes) just there |
| #113 09:54am 10/02/09 |
thats because falcons are s***, obviously
| #114 09:58am 10/02/09 |
For a state that makes a hell of a lot noise about youth suicide and other serious public mental health problems, we really do sweet gently caress all to address the underlying causes. Wifey is a Psychologist and says that mental health services in Victoria are far better and advanced than QLD - she does drug & alcohol counseling, court ordered diversions and other scary crap. |
| #115 10:01am 10/02/09 |
"Hotter than Dresden" basically says it all. Isn't it said that Dresden was so hot, peoples skin was basically melting off?
| #116 10:08am 10/02/09 |
Married to a Psychologist?
You're a brave man. Just shows how crap the paint is on Ford's. |
| #117 10:09am 10/02/09 |
There's plenty of d*******s going on about arsonists on Whirlpool who clearly don't have a clue, but people seem to forget - most people claim it was arsonists, but a lot of time in reality it's 13 year old kids who are bored and really don't recognize what could potentially go wrong - or how bad it could actually get.
And seriously, what good does some of the barbaric punishments some people are suggesting really do anyway? Punishment needs to be deterrent, not retribution. And if it does turn out to be kids, who likely honestly didn't realize how it could turn this bad, what can you do? In that situation, do you honestly think that when they realize their actions may have killed 100+ people that won't be punishment enough? Sigh. Of course, yeah, there's some chance it was lit by an adult. Or, more likely, some d******* bogans who went "pft, total fire ban. f***it, lets have a barbecque anyway". |
| #118 10:22am 10/02/09 |
What the f*** is with the people staying behind to defend the home? there was a story on some guy who dropped his kids to the grandparents and him and his wife went back to defend the house and he died.
Why? I dont understand, why try and defend the house?, do these people not have insurance or something? Also all the people being upset that they have lost everything? do they also not have insurance?, yes I know you cant replace photos and stuff like that but they are just possesions, grab the realy sentimental stuff early and f*** off. IF you dont have insurance and you lose you house thats your fault, no sympathy from me, if you dont have insurance and decide to defend the house, that just makes you a double idiot. |
| #119 10:23am 10/02/09 |
the bushfire policy is leave early or stay to defend your home because its believed people will be safer at home than getting caught in their cars. The fire just moved to fast. People got caught unprepared
| #120 10:27am 10/02/09 |
More pics:
http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2009/02/bushfires_in_victoria_australi.html hey doob that post suspiciously looks like it has gone through the word filter on SA (ps the words "gently caress" ;) |
| #121 10:41am 10/02/09 |
yea i find myself saying 'loving' irl as well f***ing SA
| #122 10:44am 10/02/09 |
What the f*** is with the people staying behind to defend the home? there was a story on some guy who dropped his kids to the grandparents and him and his wife went back to defend the house and he died. That's my friend's family - I play soccer with the 18yo son. Ross is the father and town pump man. He dropped off his two other kids Macky and Neeve at his grandmother's house with (along with his uncle) because he thought they'd be safer there while he defended his home (which he managed successfully). Unfortunately he returned to the other house to find that the uncle, two kids and two other girls who were also sheltering there had died. It's a tragedy of unimaginable proportion which has devastated our entire group. |
| #123 11:05am 10/02/09 |
This would be a win in so many ways:
"Scrap the internet filter, give the cash to bushfire survivors" |
| #124 11:42am 10/02/09 |
When told to evacuate, do it!
It's a tragedy about the people getting caught in cars though. |
| #125 12:28pm 10/02/09 |
At the end of the day a house won't give a s*** if you are alive. So why give a s*** about it?
| #126 12:36pm 10/02/09 |
Punishment needs to be deterrent, not retribution Well, I would imagine bloody, violent retribution would act as a pretty good deterrent to anyone else considering doing the same. |
| #127 12:36pm 10/02/09 |
IF you dont have insurance and you lose you house thats your fault no. it isn't. |
| #128 12:53pm 10/02/09 |
This would be a win in so many ways:Hey, was I the first person to suggest this? If so, I'd like some sort of acknowledgment from "the Internet" |
| #129 12:56pm 10/02/09 |
no. it isn't. Explain how it isnt your fault if you lose your house becuase you dont have insuranace? You either didnt have insurance because you chose not to for whatever stupid reason (your fault), or you cant afford it, in which case you shouldbt have a house. I believe if you have a mortgage they pretty much require you to have house insurance? |
| #130 01:22pm 10/02/09 |
I think he means its not your fault that you lost your house, which is true
it is your fault that you didn't have insurance though you're both arguing different parts of the same point ROUND 1 - FIGHT |
| #131 01:28pm 10/02/09 |
dRanged
last edited by dRanged at 13:46:48 10/Feb/09 |
| #132 01:46pm 10/02/09 |
Is someone making waffles? I can smell waffles...
| #133 01:40pm 10/02/09 |
I believe if you have a mortgage they pretty much require you to have house insurance? If you borrow more than 80% you are required to have mortgage insurance. That's a lot different than house/contents insurance though. |
| #134 01:40pm 10/02/09 |
Yeah I know about mortgate insurance (I have payed it in the past) but I thought the bank required you to have house insurance when you have a mortgage. Considering they pretty much own the house and if it burns do all they have is the land if you cant pay the loan back.
| #135 01:43pm 10/02/09 |
i keep reading the topic as Victoria Fries
either way i guess |
| #136 01:55pm 10/02/09 |
Yeah I know about mortgate insurance (I have payed it in the past) but I thought the bank required you to have house insurance when you have a mortgage. Considering they pretty much own the house and if it burns do all they have is the land if you cant pay the loan back. Yeah, the mortgage insurer shares the risk that the borrower will default on payments to the lender. That covers the bank's loss, that's all they care about. In the event that you paid off 50% of your mortgage and you don't have mortgage insurance because you chose not to and you don't have house insurance because you chose not to - you are well and truly stuffed. House insurance will allow you to rebuild your house. Mortgage insurance only covers any payment you owe to the lender. |
| #137 01:56pm 10/02/09 |
here is my explanation... unless you started the fire that burnt your house down, the fact that your house burnt down isn't your fault. if you didn't have insurance then you will have to foot the bill of a new house yourself but the fact it burnt down isn't your fault.
| #138 02:21pm 10/02/09 |
Moral of the story, Have house insurance, Leave before the fire gets anywhere near your house.
| #139 02:23pm 10/02/09 |
here is my explanation... unless you started the fire that burnt your house down, the fact that your house burnt down isn't your fault. if you didn't have insurance then you will have to foot the bill of a new house yourself but the fact it burnt down isn't your fault. Of course, but if you cant rebuild becuase you dont have insurance thats your fault, thats what I meant by lose your house, you dont realy lose it if you have insurance, you get a new one. |
| #140 02:25pm 10/02/09 |
Moral of the story, Have house insurance, Leave before the fire gets anywhere near your house. |
| #141 02:26pm 10/02/09 |
Of course, but if you cant rebuild becuase you dont have insurance thats your fault no. it isn't. there is no fault in this situation. house insurance isn't compulsory. |
| #142 02:33pm 10/02/09 |
oh dear
he's not saying its compulsory, he's just saying that if you end up in a position where you are out on your ass simply because you CHOSE to not have your home insured and something then happens to your home.. it is your fault and I agree with him house insurance shouldn't be optional if you have any credit tied up in the house unless you can afford to lose it and not bat an eye lid, its not worth the risk of keeping it uninsured |
| #143 02:34pm 10/02/09 |
However alot of people that died were leaving but it all just happened so fast that they were caught out. Yeah thats pretty unlucky and no doubt alot of people though they had plenty of time. Its just that in alot of the storys on the radio and tv, the people had made a pre-determined decision to stay and defend the house, WTF? why? |
| #144 02:34pm 10/02/09 |
no. it isn't. |
| #145 02:44pm 10/02/09 |
Wow. Just wow. This makes me want to start a few fires of my own. Starting with right under a pew. With these guys chained to them.
http://is.gd/iZcf |
| #146 02:44pm 10/02/09 |
er demon, s*** happens in life, its no one elses responsibility to make sure you are prepared for s*** to happen, other than your own (or your families)
no insurance? no new money for house; |
| #147 02:48pm 10/02/09 |
responsibility isn't the same thing as fault.
| #148 02:49pm 10/02/09 |
you can't just say "no. it isn't." and expect that s*** to fly
how is it not their fault that they didn't have insurance? how is it not their fault that they can't rebuild their house? how is it not their fault that they didn't take the necessary precautions and plan for 'the world possible outcome' plan for the worst, hope for the best. answers; demon has none. |
| #149 02:51pm 10/02/09 |
yeh. i can.
| #150 02:52pm 10/02/09 |
so, who should pay for said houses that have burned down?
why should people bother with insurance? |
| #151 02:52pm 10/02/09 |
so, who should pay for said houses that have burned down? it's the individual householder's responsibility for thier reconstruction expenses... whether they are insured or not. why should people bother with insurance? for thier own reasons which would be many & varied. |
| #152 02:58pm 10/02/09 |
im confuzzled
| #153 03:00pm 10/02/09 |
It's not their fault it burnt down. It is there fault if they are left homeless with no items as a result of not having insurance.
| #154 03:00pm 10/02/09 |
Yeah you gotta wonder about the people that stayed to fight, however they may not have made that decision if they knew just how bad it was. You have to remember that this is the worst fire Australia has seen, they had no idea about that when they made the decision to stay.
If they were somehow told 'The worst fire in Australia's history that's moving at 100km/h with a fire front 10 meters tall is just over the next hill' - they probably would have left. |
| #155 03:06pm 10/02/09 |
for thier own reasons which would be many & varied. pretty sure the only reason I have home & contents insurance is just incase something happens to my home or its contents. it has nothing to do with how many times I've boned paveways mum |
| #156 03:08pm 10/02/09 |
some people don't understand risk or let emotion overrun rationale
| #157 03:10pm 10/02/09 |
pretty sure the only reason I have home & contents insurance is just incase something happens to my home or its contents. yes. those are your reasons. other peoples reasons may vary. last edited by demon at 15:11:33 10/Feb/09 |
| #158 03:11pm 10/02/09 |
Any examples of other reasons? I'm curious.
| #159 03:13pm 10/02/09 |
haha I saw the extra 's' in your post before you edited it out demon, therefore your point is invalid. now go to your room
| #160 03:14pm 10/02/09 |
Indirectly, by their omission, they are at fault for not being able to replace their house.
But the direct cause of the situation was the fire which was not lit by them. |
| #161 03:15pm 10/02/09 |
the direct cause of the situation was the fire which was not lit by them the direct cause of the situation was the fire which was not lit by them the direct cause of the situation was the fire which was not lit by them the direct cause of the situation was the fire which was not lit by them got it yet? f***ing hell you c***s are useless |
| #162 03:17pm 10/02/09 |
hang on, what?
| #163 03:18pm 10/02/09 |
i don't know why people are getting into an argument over semantics when these people have just had their entire lives reduced to ashes. show a little compassion.
that being the case i am not donating anything because they should have had insurance. |
| #164 03:20pm 10/02/09 |
the direct cause of the situation was the fire which was not lit by them is that like all the people in ingham didnt flood their own houses also? |
| #165 03:23pm 10/02/09 |
oh god I'm still trying to get maxe's post JUST HANG ON A MINUTE
| #166 03:24pm 10/02/09 |
Jeebus people, of course it isnt there fault the house burnt down, it is there fault that they are now getting interviewed on channel 9 and crying that they have lost everything.
If this happened to my house and they interviewed me I'd be like, yeah house is gone, we grabbed what we could, lost some stuff that cant be replaced but s*** happens, i've got insurance so we will be fine. Unless someone died, they have no reason to be on there knees crying at lost possesions. |
| #167 03:29pm 10/02/09 |
because im sure thats all they are crying about...
| #168 03:35pm 10/02/09 |
Insurrance is vaguely like gambling. There is a risk, you can choose to spend money (wager) and prevent a loss (reward) that might or might happen (chance).
Everyone in country Victoria has to know the very high risks, if they don't they must live in a cave. In fact I find it hard to believe that anyone involved didn't have insurrance ? People with no insurance (if they exist) gambled everything on the house not being totalled. They chose to save money and take the risk. People with insurance gambled a little each year that there might be a fire. But if it happened they'd get their houe and stuff back. Given that insurrance happens before the fire/flood/plane/asteroid/army ordenace totals your places, and will prevent the capital loss. It is the uninsureds action (or inaction) that caused the loss... ie. it (the choice to not insure) happened first. I find inappropriate that anyone would expect anyone other then their insurrance company rebuilds their private property or replace their belongings. That said if it's on offer who wouldn't take it. I don't have any issue with donations, so long as they are being aimed at the immediate problems (that no insurrance covers ... they are slow to act in my experience) or community things like the libraries that won't have any books, or the parks that no longer exist. Or supporting those that lost family (there is no insurrance for personal loss like that). i don't know why people are getting into an argument over semantics No point arguing with the flames... But seriously if even one person gets it through their head that they are resposible for protecting their own stuff ... it's a win. |
| #169 03:40pm 10/02/09 |
I'd feel sorry for you if you lost your home in a fire, really I would feel bad for you
but if you then complain that you can't afford another house AND you also have to keep paying off your mortgage on what is now essentially burnt land, purely because you chose not to insure yourself .. I can't feel bad for that that is your fault and you can't cry to anyone to fix that problem for you, govt. included s*** does happen, it happens to everyone - not just you if you get a free house and your mortgage paid off when you didn't have insurance are they going to give me a free car and pay off my old car that I didn't have insurance on if i write it off in an accident? no. the answer is no. |
| #170 03:48pm 10/02/09 |
I feel sorry for them regardless cos it's a c*** of a situation to be in no matter whose fault it is. And whether they are justified in asking for help or not, I can't blame them for asking. If you're in that situation and there's even the slightest chance you can get assistance as if you'd go "no I will forgo any chance of assistance - I and my family should suck it up because I didn't get insurance"
| #171 03:53pm 10/02/09 |
if someone doesn't have house insurance but thier house doesn't burn down are they still at fault?
| #172 03:54pm 10/02/09 |
yes, they are at fault for having needlessly wasted money on insurance! :D
| #173 03:56pm 10/02/09 |
;D
| #174 04:00pm 10/02/09 |
There is only "fault" if there is a problem.
| #175 04:02pm 10/02/09 |
If this happened to my house and they interviewed me I'd be like, yeah house is gone, we grabbed what we could, lost some stuff that cant be replaced but s*** happens, i've got insurance so we will be fine. You say that now, until it happens you will have no idea how you will react. |
| #176 04:02pm 10/02/09 |
oh so what's next obes? minimal can mean zero?!
| #177 04:04pm 10/02/09 |
If you can't get that people pour their hearts and souls into their homes and that feel gutted when it's all gone then you are a clueless f***ing d*******. A home isn't just a throw away item that can be replaced at the snap of your fingers even if it is insured.
There are things that people have lost that are of no cash value what so ever that they will never be able to replace. Even when a new home does get biult it's not the same home they busted their asses over for years sure it's a brand new roof over your head but people form bonds with the the most important things in their lives. You'd think in this country almost everyone would understand that given that aparently the great aussie dream is to own your own home. |
| #178 04:06pm 10/02/09 |
oh so what's next obes? minimal can mean zero?! Depends on the variable. Take temperature measured in 'C for example, can be positive or negative, so therefore minimal is clearly greatest possible negative number in that case. But anyway, another lame attempt at trolling. |
| #179 04:07pm 10/02/09 |
yes clearly
the funniest thing about this is you won't even know how dumb you are unless someone who wasn't in nappies 10 years ago explains this for you |
| #180 04:10pm 10/02/09 |
You say that now, until it happens you will have no idea how you will react. Of course, it would be emotional, but I can gurantee you I wouldnt be on my knees crying that I've lost everything, it just wouldnt happen, if I had family that died then yeah I probably would lose it like that. I just dont think that people should be crying about loosing possesions when people have died. |
| #181 04:09pm 10/02/09 |
I think you should go around telling them all personally, viper
set things right in your universe and stuff |
| #182 04:13pm 10/02/09 |
I think you should go around telling them all personally, viper Huh yeah maybe I should, It would be more of a job for Mr T though, like in those snikers ad's. "stop crying fools, its just a house" |
| #183 04:18pm 10/02/09 |
There is something pretty much all d*******s in this world share ... a lack of empathy.
| #184 04:24pm 10/02/09 |
There is something pretty much all d*******s in this world share ... a lack of empathy. I was going to say your Mum just to lighten the mood but decided against it |
| #185 04:31pm 10/02/09 |
I would totally still hold my hand out if i lost everything and didn't have insurance
its natural to want help when you are completely and utterly boned I just read in the paper on the train home that 80,000 people have donated so far, just online & that figure doesn't involve any in major donations like those from banks/supermarkets/etc (or personal donations made at redcross locations) its already at $17mil it makes me happy to live in this country and know that aussies give a f*** about people they dont even know no one in the world deserves what has happened to these people, not even the arsonists themselves (it'd be too nice for them to die in a fire - they deserve much worse imo) Temps are measured in kelvin. b0wned last edited by tequila at 16:39:03 10/Feb/09 |
| #186 04:39pm 10/02/09 |
Take temperature measured in 'C for example, can be positive or negative, so therefore minimal is clearly greatest possible negative number in that case. Temps are measured in kelvin. And no one has got 0 kelvin (yet) so mininal is still a little above 0. Minimal by definition implies "some" even if that some happens to be so small as to appear to be none. 0 by definition means none. ps. I am not saying give em a hug. Or they aren't right to be upset or even seeking vengence on the arsonists (if they exist). Just pointing out the government and or public aren't required to pay for it all, that's why insurrance companies exist. |
| #187 04:35pm 10/02/09 |
I just dont think that people should be crying about loosing possesions when people have died. You can't say one persons loss doesn't count because someone lost something bigger or more important. Plus, I am pretty sure they lost their possessions and they didn't just come loose and fall of the back of the car |
| #188 04:36pm 10/02/09 |
You can't say one persons loss doesn't count because someone lost something bigger or more important. Theres a f***en huge difference between loosing a house and a person. |
| #189 04:44pm 10/02/09 |
Theres a f***en huge difference between loosing a house and a person. Depends who the person is and what's in the house. You have to pick. Save Ivan Milat or ... the house that has the cure to all cancers written on the walls and you can pick only 1! |
| #190 04:48pm 10/02/09 |
Yes, but that doesn't mean the person who lost their house can't mourn the loss of their home, their memories, their belongings!
There is no way you can compare losing a house and losing a loved one, but that doesn't mean you should tell someone who lost all their worldly possession that they should suck it up and just be glad they are alive. Why can't they mourn the loss of their home, and be thankful they are alive? You stop people from mourning properly and you will find depression rates will go through the roof! And for god sake, it is LOSING/LOST not LOOSING/LOOSE last edited by Kat at 16:50:02 10/Feb/09 |
| #191 04:50pm 10/02/09 |
I don't think I agree that it is for the sake of god
| #192 04:52pm 10/02/09 |
You can't say one persons loss doesn't count because someone lost something bigger or more important. depends really - how much do you value human life? if you value human life at all you can say that one is important vs. one being completely unimportant imo we've already had this discussion at work (started off as why stay to defend a home vs. leave and protect you/your family) I can honestly say straight up, if I went back and found my home completely burnt down to the ground, then looked next door and my neighbours wife + kids were there crying in front of their home which is still standing but the man of the house died to keep it standing; I wouldn't give two f***s about my house because there's someone 30 feet from me who has lost a father, a husband etc if you disagree with me, answer me this; is there no one you've lost in your life that you wouldn't give up everything for just to have them back? I obviously think staying to defend your home is silly; here's some math to demonstrate why + life + home = nice + life - home = pretty bad + home - life = completely boned - home - life = who cares you're not even around to give a f*** if your house burnt down losing your house, your furniture, your (any material possessions basically) PALES in comparison to losing a person and by staying to defend material possessions you're putting a value on your own life. Its likely going to cost less than $1mil to replace the house - you don't even think your worth 1 million dollars? |
| #193 04:56pm 10/02/09 |
Teq sums it up perfectly.
| #194 04:59pm 10/02/09 |
I can honestly say straight up, if I went back and found my home completely burnt down to the ground, then looked next door and my neighbours wife + kids were there crying in front of their home which is still standing but the man of the house died to keep it standing; I wouldn't give two f***s about my house because there's someone 30 feet from me who has lost a father, a husband etc I completely agree with you. But when you leave the moment and you are faced with reality you don't have a house and everything you worked hard for and everything you collected over the years is gone. I know that losing someone vs losing a house there is no comparison. But I couldn't imagine telling someone that they have no right to cry because they lost their house where as Mr Jones down the road lost his daughter/wife/son, whatever. You can be thankful you are alive, while still mourning the loss of your house. I just don't agree that we should berate people because they ONLY lost a house. Yes, tell them that they should be thankful they have their lives, but don't tell them they have no right to mourn at all because if they shed one tear they are selfish pricks |
| #195 05:01pm 10/02/09 |
I have nothing to sy about the silly discussion on who lost most and who should cry and who shouldn't. Just thankful it wasn't my family or friends.
Coles have announced they are going to donate profits from this Friday to the victims. Do your weekly shopping this Friday at Coles, Bi-Lo etc. It costs you next to nothing out of pocket and its an easy way to help. They hope to deliver 2-4M from it. |
| #196 05:08pm 10/02/09 |
this has turned into a cliche internet discussion
ie. pathetic last edited by paveway at 17:13:58 10/Feb/09 |
| #197 05:13pm 10/02/09 |
Correct me if I am wrong ... but this is an internet discussion ?
| #198 05:36pm 10/02/09 |
paveway, your a cliche.
| #199 05:54pm 10/02/09 |
saying "your" when you mean "you're" is cliche.
| #200 05:55pm 10/02/09 |
that was my joke.
| #201 06:05pm 10/02/09 |
Correct me if I am wrong ... but this is an internet discussion ? there is internet discussions, and there is arguing about who is more entitled to be crying after a natural disaster come the f*** on saying "your" when you mean "you're" is cliche. it's very spook ps. i think we need more special 1 hour news episodes to tell me that there has been big fires in victoria last edited by paveway at 18:08:47 10/Feb/09 last edited by paveway at 18:14:51 10/Feb/09 |
| #202 06:14pm 10/02/09 |
There's been what in Victoria?
| #203 06:12pm 10/02/09 |
this is more spook imo;
| #204 06:18pm 10/02/09 |
Spook there is crying about natural disaster and then there is crying about internet discussions. Time and place! ... Time and place!
| #205 06:21pm 10/02/09 |
Mantorok
We should be talking about how Pastor Danny Nalliah is a complete d*******.
| #206 06:23pm 10/02/09 |
anyone see that photo in the paper today with the firefighter giving water to the koala..
was awesome |
| #207 06:24pm 10/02/09 |
pics or lying
| #208 07:19pm 10/02/09 |
| #209 08:24pm 10/02/09 |
thats pretty epic
| #210 08:27pm 10/02/09 |
That photo is awesome.
| #211 09:51pm 10/02/09 |
| #212 11:04pm 10/02/09 |
yeah awesome pic
| #213 11:54pm 10/02/09 |
ps. i think we need more special 1 hour news episodes to tell me that there has been big fires in victoria yeah i don't get the big deal, the vic burnt down like 12 months ago now. some people had to leave their drinks behind. whatever. |
| #214 12:07am 11/02/09 |
that photo kicks some serious ass
| #215 12:10am 11/02/09 |
Mantorok
Thundercracker posted them this morning.
| #216 12:59am 11/02/09 |
Sorry, must have missed that post
| #217 01:06am 11/02/09 |
There goes our Drop Bear reputations..
| #218 01:07am 11/02/09 |
one from digg, could be distressing for some viewers:
http://static.reuters.com/resources/r/?m=02&d=20090209&t=2&i=8183388&w=450&r=2009-02-09T141513Z_02_GM1E52917T601_RTRRPP_0_AUSTRALIA-WILDFIRES?rpc=64' last edited by infi at 01:27:03 11/Feb/09 |
| #219 01:27am 11/02/09 |
Another dead horse? Whats so special about dead horses? The Big Picture had a dead horse photo too.
| #220 07:45am 11/02/09 |
stop beating a dead horse you guys otherwise this will turn into a cliche internet discussion
| #221 08:43am 11/02/09 |
| #222 08:52am 11/02/09 |
Nice photo's there.
Those fires are spreading, his thread is on fire :/ |
| #223 09:58am 11/02/09 |
| #224 08:06pm 11/02/09 |
pARODY
I've seen 3 different false charities for this in the last 48 hours. People on facebook, myspace and MSN forwarding on stupid links where there are bank details to send money to places. Profiteering f***s making money off other people's suffering. |
| #225 08:34pm 11/02/09 |
Spencer
so sad.
my parents were lucky...they were worried about the lack of rain and fires and sold their place in kinglake in november but only moved out a few days before the fires. My mum ran the kindergarten there which is now gone, and most of the their friends and old neighbours are now dead or missing. I wonder how the fires are going to affect the housing market there..any idea? I went up there in december and honestly the place looked ready to go up in flames. Kind of feel sorry for the animals they left behind. I'm pretty sure rosie the cow was roasted :\ |
| #226 08:57pm 11/02/09 |
See this area titled 'Sherbrooke Forest Park'? That's where it is right now.
Terrys Avenue, Belgrave Yes, that's how close the fire now is to the massively populated areas of Melbourne. Population of Ferntree Gully is over 120,000 - and the wind is blowing North West - towards Ferntree Gully National Park. FWIW, I live just near the Boronia Rd/Dorset Rd intersection, which you can see just west of there if you zoom out a few levels. Oh yeah, and it reeks of smoke here. Edit: Ah, looks like they've got it back to 3.5ha in size, and they're saying it's now controlled. But not extinguished. Edit2: Yeeks: Resources committed to this fire are: last edited by Raven at 22:23:07 15/Feb/09 |
| #227 10:23pm 15/02/09 |
Belgrave is the end of my train line.. I hope you're OK out there Raven.
| #228 10:42pm 15/02/09 |
I'd like to say I trawled through the above 233 posts to check for a double post, but that would be a lie. Man charged with Churchill fires named |
| #229 01:02pm 16/02/09 |
I'm gonna go out on a limb here and ask why we they need so much money for the Fire Victims?
Stay with me here, Yes alot stuff was damaged, but if its private property, it should be insured, and if it isnt, you sure as hell shouldnt get a handout to rebuild it, its its government property, surely they are insured, if they arent, why would we give donations to fix it. The only legitimate thing that it could be rebuilding would be community centres that arent insured, but surely most of them would be insured though. I know a fair bit of the money would be going to immediate supplies and stuff like portable toilets etc, but surely that wouldnt be anywhere near the 64mil or something I last heard the red cross had gotten. So then is it all going to the actual victims with medical expenses? Well some would have private insurance, the rest would use the public system, is the red cross giving people money to pay for out of pocket expenses for medical bills? I just dont know where the money would be going, if anything it should be going straight to the volunteer firefighting organisations for better resources for the future. |
| #230 02:53pm 16/02/09 |
because there's thousands of people living in tent cities who don't even have a change of clothes you heartless f***
imagine if it was you, going from the lucky country to third world in the space of one hot summers afternoon You don't even have a credit card or wallet to go get some cash out and buy your kids an ice cream after they've just lost their Bike/Dog whatever-they-care-about-example-goes-here Amongst those thousands of people will be cases where people have lost everything and didn't have insurance, are you that heartless than you think they should just 'suck it up' because they couldn't afford/didn't have insurance? They shouldn't get their home paid for just beacuse they lost it in a fire but s*** - is it going to hurt the rest of us to chip in a few dollars and put them up in a rental house for a few months while they get back on their feet + rebuild their lives jesus |
| #231 02:58pm 16/02/09 |
teq, that's very true. But its becoming a really, really big pile of money.
2000 homes destroyed yeh? Lets say 85% were insured - surely that's a low figure. With 64M and rising, that's over 200k per uninsured house lost. The Red Cross could probably replace all uninsured private goods and pay for the temporary relief stuff at the moment without needing to dip into any reserves. Its a really massive relief fund for the scale of the disaster - as horrible as it is its no asian tsunami or volcano. There are thousands affected, not bazillions. Is there a point where they tell everyone that enough has been raised or do they just keep going? I haven't seen any targets mentioned, aside from "This is great, we have 56M now, lets try for 60!" last edited by Hogfather at 15:12:06 16/Feb/09 |
| #232 03:12pm 16/02/09 |
Yeah i thought It might be heartless.
because there's thousands of people living in tent cities who don't even have a change of clothes you heartless f*** Yeah I know money would go to immediate assistance, which I understand and they obviously need. You don't even have a credit card or wallet to go get some cash out and buy your kids an ice cream Why not? They dont have a job? They cant get to the bank? Amongst those thousands of people will be cases where people have lost everything and didn't have insurance, are you that heartless than you think they should just 'suck it up' because they couldn't afford/didn't have insurance? Kinda yeah, if some random person in QLD had their house burn down and lose everything, would they get a handout? I dunno maybe im too harsh, but If you have a job and insurance, you should be fine after the initial assistance, if you have a job and no insurance, then you should have to deal with it yourself after the initial assitance, if you have no job and no insurance, well then you probably dont have a house, and will probably need a bit of assitance longer term to help you out. Where the area's burnt realy low income areas? |
| #233 03:11pm 16/02/09 |
Why not? They dont have a job? They cant get to the bank? because your wallet burned, in a fire. along with every bit of ID and passport/photo evidence you have of your existence (thus making it difficult to get more id/bank cards etc) I can't imagine what it might cost for the redcross just to feed & cloth a few thousand people that need immediate assistance.. I half agree, I mean i think the cash hit $100Mil already so I can't see how it would all be spent but I'm sure there's costs we can't begin to imagine lots of people will need trauma counseling, i'm sure more than a handful are going to need full on rehab to ever walk again or talk again the red cross might donate to a veterinary charity or something for all the animals that were injured I'd kind of like to hope that more money than not actually gets spent on those in need but these charities don't operate for free, even if they are run by volunteers for the most part it'd be nice if at the end of it all everyone was looked after and they gave the cash to the CFA or someone similar to buy more water trucks or choppers etc my first thoughts when the govt announced their $10Mil package was 'what about the rest of it?' cause $10mil wont cover much but when it reached $100mil i got to wondering where they're going to spend it all too |
| #234 03:34pm 16/02/09 |
I dunno about your maths but there's a lot of costs involved. Latest I heard on the radio was $10 per person who lost a home and $7500 per injured person. That's sweet f*** all. Rebuilding is a very long-term project. You can't knock up these communities in a few weeks. As generous as everyone is, $70mil is hardly any money towards these mammoth objectives. |
| #235 03:43pm 16/02/09 |
OMG GIVE THEM ALL OF THE 12 BILLION HANDOUT
| #236 04:00pm 16/02/09 |
Mantorok
Where the area's burnt realy low income areas?No, but there were livestock farmers. What are they supposed to do to make money? You can't exactly sell the stock that burned to death, and even if they could afford new stock they wouldn't see a return on that stock for ages. |
| #237 04:24pm 16/02/09 |
if only they had a decent backup policy
| #238 04:29pm 16/02/09 |
OMG GIVE THEM ALL OF THE 12 BILLION HANDOUT no way, daddy needs a new bull bar |
| #239 04:36pm 16/02/09 |
You can't exactly sell the stock that burned to death Who can't.. I bought some beef jerky from the Vic markets that was smokey BBQ flavored. |
| #240 04:44pm 16/02/09 |
I'd be triple checking that was beef ^
| #241 04:46pm 16/02/09 |
yeah maybe im underestimating things. It just kinda annoys me that people give so much money to these once off things when people all over australia have bad s*** happen to the all the time and they dont get a handout.
| #242 06:49pm 16/02/09 |
worst bushfires in Australias history, just keep that in mind before you compare someone losing their job & cant feed their family vs. someone loses their family
| #243 07:00pm 16/02/09 |
dunno about that
people get given $7k every time a condom breaks |
| #244 07:04pm 16/02/09 |
just keep that in mind before you compare someone losing their job & cant feed their family vs. someone loses their family I was thinking more about people that have children with cancer and stuff like that. |
| #245 07:47pm 16/02/09 |
dunno about that heh I'll buy that for a euro. But seriously I'm f***in' sick to death of hearing about the bushfires. This doesnt mean my sympathy for the victims has wained but my interest about the whole thing has reached -> cgaff ffs to hell with media saturation and the fried horse it rode in on. |
| #246 08:02pm 16/02/09 |
wonder what the new bandwagon the media will jump on... maybe another yellow glasses wearing f***** that had a party?
| #247 08:04pm 16/02/09 |
they're already smashing that 13 year old father in the UK every other chance they get
| #248 08:29pm 16/02/09 |
yeah the radio jokes had me groaning...
"lol, next they'll be having sex at 1 day old!!!" |
| #249 10:25pm 16/02/09 |
But seriously I'm f***in' sick to death of hearing about the bushfires. This doesnt mean my sympathy for the victims has wained but my interest about the whole thing has reached -> cgaff I don't think it's so much the topic, it's the presentation. I actually lol'd the other night when they did the weather on-site from 'fire affected Yea', complete with victims in the background, and then cut to a Coca Cola ad. That's where our commercial television is at - and that's why I refuse to watch it. I think Channel 10 believes that The Anchorman is a documentary... |
| #250 04:17pm 17/02/09 |
If anyone's interested, 14 of us from the XC club went out to Redesdale today hoping to go riding - we had been told the fired had missed Mt Lofty, and only hit the edge of it.
We'd also been told the trails were still there - which was true, they were just under tons of leaf litter from dead trees and burned out fallen trunks and branches. You can see the level of damage at http://www.getdropbox.com/gallery/97682/1/redesdale-clubride?h=c91b15 if you're at all interested. |
| #251 07:01pm 20/06/09 |
| #251 |